• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Aug-30-2014)
(e.g. Aug-31-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: CHARLESTON
  • Distance From Hotel: 2.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:6
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Spanish
  2. French

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

The Holiday Inn does not accept pets, please accept our apologies. Only service animals as any guide dog, signal dog, or other animal individually trained to provide assistance to an individual with a disability are allowed.

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:232
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary parking is provided for our registered guests. Space available for Buses and RV's. No RV connections.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:178
  • Total number of suites:3
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:178
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:6
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:14
  • FEMA Property Number:SC0020

Stay Your Way at the Holiday Inn® Charleston-Riverview

This amazing Charleston, SC hotel's location is perfect for business and leisure travelers looking for lodging near some of the city's best attractions, restaurants, and shopping. Whether you are looking for long days on the beach, exciting nightlife, or beautiful historic sites our hotel allows you to stay your way.

Leisure travelers enjoy the many Charleston hotel deals that our property has to offer including our close proximity
View More

Stay Your Way at the Holiday Inn® Charleston-Riverview

This amazing Charleston, SC hotel's location is perfect for business and leisure travelers looking for lodging near some of the city's best attractions, restaurants, and shopping. Whether you are looking for long days on the beach, exciting nightlife, or beautiful historic sites our hotel allows you to stay your way.

Leisure travelers enjoy the many Charleston hotel deals that our property has to offer including our close proximity to many area attractions such as the Charleston Aquarium, Fort Sumter, Hunley Museum, and three of South Carolina's best beaches. After a long day of visiting Charleston return to the hotel for a relaxing dinner at our newly renovated restaurant.

Located just a few miles from CHS Airport our Charleston, SC hotel's location is perfect for business travelers looking to move in and out of the city with ease. These guests also enjoy the convenience of our 24-hour Business Center with free Internet access and 780-sq ft meeting room as well as our newly renovated Fitness Center that allows them to stay in shape while they are away from home.

Make reservations today to take advantage of our great hotel amenities including a seasonal outdoor pool, 24-hour Fitness Center, and complimentary scheduled shuttle service into the historic downtown area. Your Charleston travel plans are not complete without booking a room at the Holiday Inn® Charleston-Riverview.

View Less
Features
Our property offers close proximity to some of the city's greatest attractions and sites such as the Citadel, Charleston Aquarium, and fun beaches. We have the best Charleston hotel deals around!
Announcements
The Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview is now accepting reservations for the 2015 Annual Cooper River Bridge Run. This special event weekend fills quickly! We offer a complimentary hotel shuttle
View More
Announcements
The Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview is now accepting reservations for the 2015 Annual Cooper River Bridge Run. This special event weekend fills quickly! We offer a complimentary hotel shuttle beginning at 5:30am that transports to the corner of Anson St and Calhoun St where our guests can join the City Bridge Run Shuttle. We offer a grab and go breakfast in the lobbly the morning of the race.
View Less

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 293 reviewers.
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Wedding reception The Wedding reception was handled very well by the staff. July 22, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, comfortable room We found everything to be a bit above average. We would definitely stay here again and do recommend the hotel. July 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Old Hotel, Great View! You have to remember this hotel is around 50 years old. But, it has been upgraded in the past couple of years. The location is terrific, with views of the entire area. The elevators were quick and readily available. A big surprise was the restaurant. We ate dinner and breakfast there and both times the quality of the staff and food was excellent. That, along with the view, would make the restaurant a place to eat, even if we were not staying there. July 20, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by older stuffy hotel and staff I was told this was the hotel to stay at in the area, it is an older property and it showed. The rooms are nothing to write about, the restaurant was just ok, but my biggest complaint is the staff. I travel all the time and live pretty much in Holiday Inn properties, the bartender was not that great, just there to do a job, not personable at all, and when I checked out the guy at the desk was really kind of rude to me. I would not go back to this hotel unless I had no other choice in the area. The sales staff was good to work with as I was planning on staying for awhile, but that is the only good thing I can say about this hotel. July 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The View Listen, this is an older property so the rooms are a little small but they have been refreshed and you simply cannot beat the view of the harbor or the customer service for the price. July 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great room, personnel, food and location Impressed by the young lady at the front desk; warm, friendly and confident. Room was large and well-furnished. Really impressed with breakfast buffet. If you book online, take advantage of the $10 breakfast deal. It's well worth it and about half the price of what you'll pay at the restaurant. July 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by clean hotel This hotel was very clean and I would recommend it. July 17, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by A view but no air. The room had a beautiful view of the Ashley River but the small balcony was not available to enjoy. The sliding glass doors were permanently fixed CLOSED. There was no way to get any fresh air. Quite disappointing in a location like Charleston where the semi tropical climate is a reason to visit. July 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by View and Staff Make the Difference Title says it all. Location is also a big plus, $6 flat fee for cab anywhere downtown or take the shuttle just over the bridge and you are in the thick of it. Just a few minutes out to Folly Beach too so if you rent a car you have plenty of free parking available too. July 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by New travels Not the first visit to Charleston, but first visit to Holiday Inn Riverfront. Found it to be very well located, close in to all downtown with many other routes easily accessible. Restaurant on top level is beautiful and most enjoyable. Rooms are nice and price is quite reasonable. July 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great view of Charleston! The lobby is nicely done. The staff is very helpful and polite. The location is good especially since you get the view. It might be time for the rooms to get renovated! But they are clean and comfortable. The restaurant has amazing views but the food could use a refresher! We would stay here again and have recommended it to friends already! July 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always great! My husband and I have stayed here many times. It is always clean and the staff is always friendly. Kelli was so helpful when I was setting up our reservations. I was using rewards points and a free night. She set it up to where we didn't have to change rooms and we had a great view of all the fireworks. We will definitely stay here again. Thanks to Kelli, the front desk staff and the cleaning staff yall all did a great job and made our vacation stay better. July 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Charelston All around a wonderful stay. The views on the 12th floor were amazing! A short drive to downtown was not a problem at all. They do have a shuttle but we were staying in town later than it ran, so we chose to drive. July 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel Stay The hotel was very clean and in a great, very central location. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and ready early. Beautiful views from the windows. Balcony's are permanently locked so you can't go out on them. July 5, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Antiquated Building The building itself really does the staff an injustice in receiving good overall ratings. This building is in need of some serious renovations; especially for the price per night. There were paint flakes coming off the ceiling etc. Upon entering the hotel there was a busted light fixture in the stairs. This hotel has about 14 floors with only 2 public elevators. The wait time for an elevator was horrible. During check in and check out times the lobby area and elevators were extremely congested. My room had a wet carpet smell in it. I also could look at the toilet and tell where it had been cleaned as if the rag was too wet; there were dry water streaks on the toilet. Extremely disappointed, so much I didn't bother to utilize any of it's amenities. July 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Guest Services We were staying for a wedding, and the staff was super helpful with every single detail. They were friendly and over the top accommodating! July 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Customer Service My family and I had a great time at your hotel. We were in town for a wedding and your property was close to the venue. The staff was EXCELLENT and gave GREAT customer service. The only issue we had was the cleanliness of the room. Upon arrival, the floor needed vacuuming, the shower and sink/vanity had hair in/on it. The closet cabinet smelled like urine and the top of it was full of dust. With all that being said, the hotel staff (2 front desk agents and the HK Supervisor) came and thoroughly cleaned my room while I was out. I really appreciated the concern and quick response. I had 2 other rooms and they were great. Liz and Charisse were Awesome, as well as the evening agents. I would definitely stay at this property again, despite any of the issues I had with my room. I highly recommend this property for anyone that reads this review. You will be given EXCELLENT CUSTOMER SERVICE... July 2, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor electric outlets and slow elevators Attended a friend's wedding. Iron, blow dryer, and steamer would not work. Had to go to another person's room to do these things. Only two elevators in 15 floor hotel so they were VERY slow. Rooms were outdated. Room service was slow and inaccurate. However, overall the staff was very nice and accomodating. When we needed something they were very responsive. Cleaning service was very friendly. July 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The Best Charleston View We were thrilled with the wonderful view from the top of the hotel. It was exhilarating! Tamara was attentive at the bar and Josh was so helpful with the shuttle to downtown. The hostess at the rooftop restaurant was dull and listless by comparison, and left us with a bad impression. I don't think she wanted to be there and it showed. That aside, everything about the hotel was wonderful. July 1, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed, dirty carpet. Nice staff. If they clean the carpet then the room was fine.The bed was comfortable. The view was nice. The hotel restaurant was awful. No fresh food. Frozen then cooked poorly. Cheap wine choices and at the time they were getting rid of some of the wine on the menu and the waitress could only say "we may have a glass left of that one or yes we have some glasses left of the other". The one we chose that she told me they had available was old and vinegary so we ordered a different wine that we made sure was from a freshly opened bottle. Go to downtown for dinner and breakfast. June 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Great location and staff We were very pleased with the location and view. Great staff. Expect a little older property but still a very nice staff overall. June 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great view The best part of our stay was the view from the dinning room and the food. June 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Reasonable and comfortable My husband and I enjoyed our stay here. It's a nice, comfortable room at a reasonable rate. The tour companies pick up here. They say the round Holiday Inn. If you are looking for a stay in a historical hotel, this is not the hotel for you. If you are looking for a hotel outside the expensive historical district, this is a good bet. Close to the historical district, angel tree, Folly Island. Easy to get to. Restaurant was ok. View was great. June 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel - horrible Restaurant The view is amazing, and it's convenient for Holiday Inn guests....but the food???? I'm pretty sure they are using the same food service as a diner I frequent back in Jersey. Let's start with the rolls - diamond shaped rolls which are supposed to be warmed. When warmed properly - the slightly sweet glaze on top adds flavor. These were barely warmed - leaving an ugly sticky pasty bumpy half glaze. Those rolls I've seen at my local diner in Jersey too. Exactly the same. I ordered the Salmon with Teriyaki ginger sauce. Comes with salad so I opted for Caesar. Caesar salad - about on par with an average caesar salad at any chain. Not great but not bad. The salmon - grilled - but overcooked and dried out. But hey - a teriyaki sauce might help re-moisten it. Nope, not a chance. No teriyaki sauce was gonna help this. The teriyaki sauce was in a little cup on the side -not even over it at all. And - it was a salty teriyaki - very little sweet or ginger - and THIN. Like water thin. A nice thick glaze with some sweet would have helped a little. Nope, not a chance. The veggies with the salmon? A carrot/broccoli/cauliflower mix. Overcooked too - broc was dark olive green - not bright green, carrots were mushy, and I don't like cauliflower. Get some fresh broc and steam and drizzle a little garlic butter glaze folks - it would have been a big improvement. This seemed like it would have been from a frozen bag and overdone. Mashed potatoes. Parts hot, parts cold, I don't think they were freshly made but I could be wrong. Service - was just fine. Greeter, server - courteous and pleasant and helpful. Folks - if you're staying at the Holiday Inn - don't bother. Go have a drink in the lounge to soak in the view. For dinner - you could do better elsewhere. You see these other reviews? That are bad? Please believe them. It's not good. Which is really a shame, because honestly - if it was GOOD - they'd attract way more than hotel guests and have a nice little gem here. June 27, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Poor location This hotel is between the lanes of a busy highway. You have to enter and exit using the left lanes with traffic moving in excess of 60 mph. Because of the location, you can't even go for a walk. The fitness center sign said it opened at 5:30 which was incorrect. It opened later not allowing time for a morning workout if you had to be somewhere in the morning. The location is unfortunate because the rooms were clean and comfortable and we had a nice view of the water from our room. June 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT STAFF Due to attending a wedding, we needed a early checkin and the staff did a super job at arranging a room for us allowing us to make the wedding without any problems. June 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Guest services Everything went well. Good staff, good food, good shuttle service. No problems. June 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by I would stay again Staff at front desk were friendly and helpful in checking us in to the hotel. The shuttle to downtown Charleston was convenient and safe. The room was somewhat small, but probably do to the fun round shape of the hotel! Pool area was clean and my daughter enjoyed swimming that evening. The view from hotel restaurant was really nice and we even caught a few dolphins giving us a little show! Overall, I would stay again. June 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excelent Stay We have stayed at this hotel several times. If they keep up the good work we will return every year. June 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Expected for value in comparison to other Charleston Hotels Given what I paid, the hotel met my expectations, in relation to other hotel prices in the area. Furniture and decor seemed outdated/cheap. The bar does not have an outdoor smoking area to relax at, however the view is magnificent.. There seemed to be a lot of elderly and sick people staying at the hotel. Maureen and the breakfast staff were incredibly attentive. Great experience at breakfast. June 23, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview at night
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview at night
Select to close.
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview at night Charleston Historic Carriage Tours East Battery St Michael's Steeple Middleton Plantation Waterfront Park Boone Hall Plantation Drayton Hall USS Yorktown at the Patriots Point Naval & Maritime Museum. Rainbow Row Hotel Lobby Lobby Lounge Concierge Desk Lobby front desk area. Exterior landscape view of the Holiday Inn Riverview. Hotel entrance. View of the Ashley River Downtown Charleston views from the Holiday Inn Riverview. Views of the Ashley River Bridge from the Holiday Inn Riverview Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview exterior
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Stay connected with free high speed internet at Holiday Inn ®. Click to learn more.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-30-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-31-2014)
Check Availability
Loading