• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-16-2014)
(e.g. Sep-17-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: CHARLESTON
  • Distance From Hotel: 2.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:6
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Spanish
  2. French

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

The Holiday Inn does not accept pets, please accept our apologies. Only service animals as any guide dog, signal dog, or other animal individually trained to provide assistance to an individual with a disability are allowed.

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:232
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary parking is provided for our registered guests. Space available for Buses and RV's. No RV connections.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:178
  • Total number of suites:3
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:178
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:6
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:14
  • FEMA Property Number:SC0020

Stay Your Way at the Holiday Inn® Charleston-Riverview

This amazing Charleston, SC hotel's location is perfect for business and leisure travelers looking for lodging near some of the city's best attractions, restaurants, and shopping. Whether you are looking for long days on the beach, exciting nightlife, or beautiful historic sites our hotel allows you to stay your way.

Leisure travelers enjoy the many Charleston hotel deals that our property has to offer including our close proximity
View More

Stay Your Way at the Holiday Inn® Charleston-Riverview

This amazing Charleston, SC hotel's location is perfect for business and leisure travelers looking for lodging near some of the city's best attractions, restaurants, and shopping. Whether you are looking for long days on the beach, exciting nightlife, or beautiful historic sites our hotel allows you to stay your way.

Leisure travelers enjoy the many Charleston hotel deals that our property has to offer including our close proximity to many area attractions such as the Charleston Aquarium, Fort Sumter, Hunley Museum, and three of South Carolina's best beaches. After a long day of visiting Charleston return to the hotel for a relaxing dinner at our newly renovated restaurant.

Located just a few miles from CHS Airport our Charleston, SC hotel's location is perfect for business travelers looking to move in and out of the city with ease. These guests also enjoy the convenience of our 24-hour Business Center with free Internet access and 780-sq ft meeting room as well as our newly renovated Fitness Center that allows them to stay in shape while they are away from home.

Make reservations today to take advantage of our great hotel amenities including a seasonal outdoor pool, 24-hour Fitness Center, and complimentary scheduled shuttle service into the historic downtown area. Your Charleston travel plans are not complete without booking a room at the Holiday Inn® Charleston-Riverview.

View Less
Features
Our property offers close proximity to some of the city's greatest attractions and sites such as the Citadel, Charleston Aquarium, and fun beaches. We have the best Charleston hotel deals around!
Announcements
The Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview is now accepting reservations for the 2015 Annual Cooper River Bridge Run. This special event weekend fills quickly! We offer a complimentary hotel shuttle
View More
Announcements
The Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview is now accepting reservations for the 2015 Annual Cooper River Bridge Run. This special event weekend fills quickly! We offer a complimentary hotel shuttle beginning at 5:30am that transports to the corner of Anson St and Calhoun St where our guests can join the City Bridge Run Shuttle. We offer a grab and go breakfast in the lobbly the morning of the race.
View Less

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 329 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed noisy air conditioner 1. The bed was very comfortable-enjoyed it. 2. The room itself was much smaller than expected, very disappointing for an Holiday Inn Express. 3. There was no refrigerator or Microwave oven in the room. 4. The air conditioner was sort of an antique, very loud when running, creating an unpleasant competition between hearing and watching television or being comfortable. 5. The staff was very friendly and accommodating as much as they could. 6. I have paid much less for a much better quality stay at many Holiday Inn Expresses. June 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay in Charleston Great place to stay while visiting Charleston. Location is excellent for getting around to all the sights. RACHEL was especially accommodating in getting us in and recommending places to go and places to eat. MIKE was friendly about asking how our stay was and making conversation when we were checking out. We really felt welcome at this hotel. Well Done!!! June 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good location Great location. Was unhappy about the "occupancy tax" applied to my bill. Other than that, I have no complaints. June 25, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Gold Rewards Member Disappointed I wholeheartedly agree with all of the points made by Steven I. As a person who knows what Holiday Inn Express should be, I was disappointed. I stay at them all over the country, and have achieved Gold status in my rewards membership. If you are not used to the standards of the Holiday Inn Express, then you will likely find this place just fine. But the main disappointments are that the rooms are ridiculously small by comparison. The air conditioning unit was woefully in need of service. All through the night and the next morning everything had a damp and wet feel to it. The breakfast bar was extremely crowded and poorly kept up with. The facility and rooms were acceptably clean and tidy, and the staff seemed very friendly, but that's about the best I could say for the property. Because of where it is located in the city scape, do not imagine that you will easily stroll to anything. However, everything is a very short taxi or shuttle service ride. June 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Lage ok Die Lage des Hotels war ok, sehr vorteilhaft war daß die Trolley direkt vor dem Hotel gehalten hat, somit konnte man kostenlos nach Charleston fahren. Das Hotel selbst ist ok, das Personal war sehr nett und hilfsbereit wie in fast allen Holiday Inn`s. June 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service Totally satisfied with our stay...i had some medical procedures performed @ MUSC June 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Room and Breakfast We were very pleased with our stay. Very nice room and a great breakfast. Easy access to downtown. June 18, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by leisure vacation would not come back, rooms small, breakfast too crowded, too far away from historic district June 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient to beautiful Charleston and MUSC Thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this Holiday Inn Express. Staff is lovely, very efficient, knowledgeable and helpful in every way! June 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay!!! This is a great hotel in a wonderful area, surrounded by TONS of history! As usual, the breakfast is THE BEST! June 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Bachelorette Weekend This was a great hotel, but was a little far from downtown. You will have to taxi to and from the downtown area. Overall it was a nice, clean hotel and the staff was extremely friendly! June 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Staff - Good Location This hotel was in a convenient location relative to to downtown Charleston w/ out the full downtown price - the included breakfast was passable and added to the value - the staff was all very friendly and attentive - I would stay here again in a heartbeat June 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service This hotel was clean. The hallways felt dated, but the room was generally clean. I thought the towels were not great, but towels seem to be that way in all hotels now. The common areas were very clean, and the breakfast was an added bonus. The best thing about this hotel was the staff. We made a booking mistake online and showed up at the location (Holiday Inn Meeting St./ Historic District) we originally booked. Due to our mistake, there was not a single room available. But the staff immediately contacted the Ashley River location and booked us a room. Once we arrived at the Ashley River location, the staff could not have been more accommodating. Great service! Also, despite what people say, you can walk to some restaurants and other sights from the Ashley Street location. We easily walked to Hominy Grill. The location is not as far away from the city center as it seems. June 5, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 Good location and beds, but poor service - old building Staying in Charleston, SC can be expensive and while this hotel is not the cheapest, you still don't get what you paid for. My advice, skip this hotel and invest in a better hotel. Pros: Comfy bed and pillows, location Cons: Dark and tiny bathrooms, unfriendly breakfast staff and cleaning staff, cleaning staff forgot to completely close our room door, so anybody could have entered, luckily we came to our room in the afternoon instead of the evening as planned, chaotic breakfast June 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Service and breakfast were good. We traveled here from Tennessee to go on a cruise. We stayed here for one night. Our room was clean, the staff was courteous at check in , check out and at the breakfast bar. If we were to come back into this area, we would stay here again. June 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very n ice property just off US route 17 we had a 2 night stay while visiting Charleston. We parked at hotel and took FREE shuttle to the downtown area which saved the hassle and cost of parking there. There was a big b-fast room with the std fare. We got a handicap room.and used all the bars to wash our clothes [onsite laundry] and put them to dry June 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Another great stay. We recently had to return to MUSC for testing. We always stay at Holiday Inn Ashley River. This hotel is close to MUSC and offers a patient discount which is greatly appreciated. We have always found the staff friendly and helpful. The rooms are very clean, beds are comfortable and you have the choice of soft or firm pillows. A breakfast is provided with a good variety of choices. Coffee is available in the lobby 24 hours a day. I highly recommend this Holiday Inn. June 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by HIE Ashley River The hotel was very convenient for transportation with the trolley right out front. The staff and breakfast were excellent. The only complaint was the air conditioner that sounded like a train every time it came on and a bathroom fan that was very loud and went on when you turned on the light. June 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Staff made it great Checked in on Memorial Day weekend. First room "View" was a little lacking ... view of McDonald's and the Hotel Dumpsters. Asked staff for a move, and they accommodated me well with a view of Ashley river and it's yachts. May my whole stay awesome! Local food choices are limited, but within a 5 minute drive of everything downtown. Recommend using Charleston bus system. Had a marvelous time overall!! June 1, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Dissapointing holiday Not a hotel I would visit again, rooms were small air conditioner was loud, not a very good value. May 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 2 night stay - perfect Great hotel and perfect location for attending the Spoleto events in Downtown Charleston. The bedding is excellent and wonderful choices on the breakfast buffet. Tables were cleaned quickly and items were refilled as needed. Would surely stay again and recommend it to others. May 29, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Over-priced .... This is the smallest "king" room we've ever had at any Holiday Inn location. WAY too much money for this room. The staff and breakfast werer both very nice. May 24, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Re-Model Except I recognize the hotel had a recent re-model and the cosmetic improvements were great, however, you should have changed out the A/C at the same time. Our thru the wall A/C unit sounded like a WWII bomber taking off. Otherwise the service was friendly and very helpful but don't advertise the hotel as new unless it's new. May 23, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Average Disappointed I could not get a rollaway bed even though i asked in advance. Breakfast food was fair and was not refilled rapidlly. Staff was courteous. no recognition for rewards club May 21, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor TV Reception in All Rooms & Public Areas We stayed at this property during the previous week and experienced problems with dogs barking at night on the first floor. This week we were given two rooms on the sixth floor. We immediately noticed that the television reception on some channels was poor, with distortion in the images and the sound. A call to the front desk resulted in a prompt visit by two men from the maintenance staff who told us that the problem existed all through the hotel property, blaming it on the cable provider. I asked the front desk to contact the cable provider immediately to have the issue corrected and was given their assurance. We were there for two days and the issue remained unchanged. The TV in the breakfast area displayed the same reception quality issues. My disappointment is that the hotel staff did not have the ability or the desire to have the cable provider fix the problem. I'll bet they demand better service at their homes. The other aspects of the stay were comparable to other Holiday Inn Express properties. May 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely hotel It was a very brief stay but we enjoyed it greatly. May 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by our stay Our check in was very uneventful quick and once we got to the room saw no fridge. I asked Staff Nathan and he was very helpful. One was available and was sent right up to our room. Each day Mike met us with the special smile of his. He so very helpful. Really All the staff no matter what we asked for they were ready and helpful. Was a very great experience. Yes would recommend to friends and family. May 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Awesome place to enjoy! Ronnie and staff made our stay exceptional! May 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable Comfortable beds. Air conditioner noisy. Convenient location. May 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Three Great Nghts Stayed 3 nights, The room was clean and very comfortable. The staff was very helpful The breakfast each morning was good and was always filled to feed the amount of people who were there. I am a light sleeper, I found the room A/C cycled on and off to often, but it didn't bother my wife. If I return to Charleston I would stay at this Holiday Inn May 6, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 12 next>>
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview at night
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview at night
Select to close.
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview at night Charleston Historic Carriage Tours East Battery St Michael's Steeple Middleton Plantation Waterfront Park Boone Hall Plantation Drayton Hall USS Yorktown at the Patriots Point Naval & Maritime Museum. Rainbow Row Hotel Lobby Lobby Lounge Concierge Desk Lobby front desk area. Exterior landscape view of the Holiday Inn Riverview. Hotel entrance. View of the Ashley River Downtown Charleston views from the Holiday Inn Riverview. Views of the Ashley River Bridge from the Holiday Inn Riverview Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview exterior
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Earn at least two free nights, 50,000 bonus points or 10,000 miles. Book Now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-16-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-17-2014)
Check Availability
Loading