• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Aug-22-2014)
(e.g. Aug-23-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: CHARLESTON
  • Distance From Hotel: 2.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:6
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Spanish
  2. French

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

The Holiday Inn does not accept pets, please accept our apologies. Only service animals as any guide dog, signal dog, or other animal individually trained to provide assistance to an individual with a disability are allowed.

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:232
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary parking is provided for our registered guests. Space available for Buses and RV's. No RV connections.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:178
  • Total number of suites:3
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:178
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:6
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:14
  • FEMA Property Number:SC0020

Stay Your Way at the Holiday Inn® Charleston-Riverview

This amazing Charleston, SC hotel's location is perfect for business and leisure travelers looking for lodging near some of the city's best attractions, restaurants, and shopping. Whether you are looking for long days on the beach, exciting nightlife, or beautiful historic sites our hotel allows you to stay your way.

Leisure travelers enjoy the many Charleston hotel deals that our property has to offer including our close proximity
View More

Stay Your Way at the Holiday Inn® Charleston-Riverview

This amazing Charleston, SC hotel's location is perfect for business and leisure travelers looking for lodging near some of the city's best attractions, restaurants, and shopping. Whether you are looking for long days on the beach, exciting nightlife, or beautiful historic sites our hotel allows you to stay your way.

Leisure travelers enjoy the many Charleston hotel deals that our property has to offer including our close proximity to many area attractions such as the Charleston Aquarium, Fort Sumter, Hunley Museum, and three of South Carolina's best beaches. After a long day of visiting Charleston return to the hotel for a relaxing dinner at our newly renovated restaurant.

Located just a few miles from CHS Airport our Charleston, SC hotel's location is perfect for business travelers looking to move in and out of the city with ease. These guests also enjoy the convenience of our 24-hour Business Center with free Internet access and 780-sq ft meeting room as well as our newly renovated Fitness Center that allows them to stay in shape while they are away from home.

Make reservations today to take advantage of our great hotel amenities including a seasonal outdoor pool, 24-hour Fitness Center, and complimentary scheduled shuttle service into the historic downtown area. Your Charleston travel plans are not complete without booking a room at the Holiday Inn® Charleston-Riverview.

View Less
Features
Our property offers close proximity to some of the city's greatest attractions and sites such as the Citadel, Charleston Aquarium, and fun beaches. We have the best Charleston hotel deals around!
Announcements
The Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview is now accepting reservations for the 2015 Annual Cooper River Bridge Run. This special event weekend fills quickly! We offer a complimentary hotel shuttle
View More
Announcements
The Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview is now accepting reservations for the 2015 Annual Cooper River Bridge Run. This special event weekend fills quickly! We offer a complimentary hotel shuttle beginning at 5:30am that transports to the corner of Anson St and Calhoun St where our guests can join the City Bridge Run Shuttle. We offer a grab and go breakfast in the lobbly the morning of the race.
View Less

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 233 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Staff very helpful and comfortable room Although the hotel was clean, comfortable and the staff helpful in getting us cabs, etc. we were quite a distance from the restaurants, shops and the market. The name of the hotel "historic downtown" is a little misleading in that we thought we would be near the area where the market, etc was going to be. March 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great hotel, Great city I had not stayed in Holiday inns for awhile, express yes, but not the full service. I was highly impressed. Absolutely beautiful hotel, with excellent ammenties, food, room, service, staff etc. I love Charleston. I lived there for 13 years in 70/s and 80's. Was married there and think the world of Charleston. Your hotel is in a great location, walking distance to everything, and excellent value. Again highly impressed and will defintely stay there again. March 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Experience We have stayed at this location 3 times. Each time has been an enjoyable experience. The room, the staff, and the location are excellent. On our last stay, we went to dinner and a jazz concert. We were able to walk to the restaurant and the theatre. Walking the streets of Charleston is quite an experience. We had a wonderful time. February 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, good value Room was as expected, bathroom shower was awesome. Good temp control. Not sure the valet parking was a good value. February 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 5 Stars Our stay at the Charleston Historic Downtown was, by far, our best Holiday Inn experience to date. It is new, modern, clean and very professionally run - a classic and charming place. We thank our host, Brennan for his attentive service and knowledge of the city - every Holiday Inn should have a Brennan and be managed as he so expertly does at the Charleston Historic Downtown. DM February 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel Great hotel, good location, good staff. Nothing else to say. February 24, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Come on - you can do better Arrived late on a Friday, around 9pm. Very friendly staff at reception and valet parking. The hotel booklet in the room said that the bar was open till 11pm so I went down at 10pm (hadn't eaten) to find the bar already shut. Saturday morning, I went down for breakfast and ordered oatmeal. After 15-20 minutes, a bowl of uncooked oats arrived. I have photos to prove it! I sent them back and the F&B Manager brought me another bowl which was a little better but still not looking like anything like cooked oatmeal. He explained that they had to follow the Holiday Inn cooking instructions, so I would suggest they are wrong. I sent back the second bowl too. The people themselves in the hotel are great - very welcoming and friendly. The rooms are good too but the Food/Bar mishaps plus the distance to walk to the main points of interest in the town mean that I wouldn't stay there again but I'm sure that with a little refocusing, this hotel could be much better. February 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by New HI Property in Charleston New HI Hotel on upper Meeting provides excellent value within acceptable walking distance from downtown. Location on upper Meeting just shy of the Crosstown is a bit of a walk from the Market and other Calhoun/Broad St activities. In house restaurant is nice for the idea of quick meal & drinks (only experience) but is far out matched by the abundance of restaurants on King St. Walk to hotel is acceptable for groups, suggest taxi for others. Rooms were comfy for rest and business purposes. February 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent property. Great restaurant. Highly reccommended This is a modern hotel well located in the historic district close to the Visitors Centre and the cruise ship terminal. Also close to Avis, Budget and Enterprise car rental depots. The rooms are large and well appointed. Quality bedding and linen. Friendly and helpful staff. Excellent food in restaurant for breakfast and dinner. Good value for money. Would happily recommend this establishment. February 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay Nice room great staff very convenient to upper king January 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Slight glitch but handled well Our room was not cleaned one day and we noted a note under door stating that we had the "do not disturb" sign on door. The note nor the sign were there when we left the room and a cart was in the hallway. Upon our return, I called the Front Desk to request the room cleaned. I was impressed with the speed of response, the non defensiveness of all staff involved and the fact that Nicole from Front Desk came to the room to check the status of the room and our response. I worked in the Long Term Care industry and know and appreciate good Customer Service! January 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Priority, what's that? My wife and I spent a night here this past weekend. While, like others, we were surprised at the walking distance to downtown, we found cutting over to King St. made the journey much more enjoyable. ~ The room was great; clean and roomy. My only complaint is my status as a Priority Club / IHG member. At check-in there was no recognition for being a member other than a comment, "I see you used some of your points for this stay." No thank you for being a member, no complimentary water or token of appreciation that we've always received in the past. At check out I asked the gal at the desk about my concern and she stated, "We've been told by corporate that we don't do that anymore." When the manager came by and overheard our conversation, he gave me two bottles of water and thanked me for staying, but never really clarified my concern. I'm not sure when the policy changed, but recognizing club membership isn't a priority any more, you're just another guest. January 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent hotel After a 10 days trip with 9 differents hotel nights, I can compare ... This hotel is excellent , with a great and gentle staff. Good location from down town( less 1 mile) Nice and comfortable room and bed. The only small thing is the breakfast . There is no breakfast buffet , just a la carte breakfast . Good value. January 20, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by far away hotel located too from away from the main historic district, dicey neighborhood January 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice downtown hotel The Holiday Inn was situated close to downtown. The room was less expensive than those at nearby hotels. It was clean and handsomely furnished, like it had recently been remodeled. The bed was a bit on the stiff side but still comfortable. Staff were friendly and professional. January 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Premier Mid-Town Lodging Magical weekend in Mid-Town Charleston. Location, location, location--new restaurants, clubs, galleries and excellent weather too. The view from the suites are memorably breathtaking. December 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding Staff Everyone we encountered was friendly and professional from the valet parking person to the maintenance lady. This is a new facility on the edge of a developing tourist mecca. Potential use of the free tourist trolley offsets location. We were able to use a Travelzoo offer which made the weekday one-night stay very attractive. The rooms are new and noise from the hallway and adjoining rooms are a distraction. Recommend a higher floor to avoid street noises and a room facing the bridge for a better view. December 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by December Fun The Charleston Holiday Inn was a perfect place for a short December getaway from the mountains. Great location was a short walk from the Visitor's Center on Meeting Street and the trolley to downtown was across the street. We used valet parking and the guys were all attentive, quick and personable. We thought the staff were excellent from the front desk to the bar. We were there mid week in early December so it was quiet, but we enjoyed every moment of the trip. Very comfortable bed and we always had a great sleep well into the morning. December 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Delightful staff & great experience Had only one night to stay in Charleston & this hotel was a great choice. It was close to what we wanted to do & the staff was ready & able to answer all our questions. Don't usually sleep well the first night in any location but I slept great on the comfortable bed. Had in room refrig & coffee pot. Restaurant is open breakfast & dinner. Did both & very satisfied. Price moderate. Easy walk for convenient lunch place. Trolly available but didn't use. Worst part was GPS brougt us in through questionable part of town. Spoke to the staff & they were very reassuring about the safety of the location. We felt very comfortable walking on Meeting St & King St & the connecting streets. December 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel in one of our favorite cities! This hotel is located in the Midtown area, which has a vibrant young nightlife. It has its own restaurant with great chefs. Plus there are other superb, UNIQUE restaurants in the area. One can hop on a free trolley right across the street to reach the historic district south of the hotel. We loved the look and feel of this hotel. The second floor has a library, the pool, and the gym. It is a wonderful hotel. December 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Quiet downtown room The room was surprisingly quiet, especially given that the hotel is located adjacent to a busy city street. The hotel just opened this year, so the amenities are brand new (relatively speaking). The hotel is located near the Upper King Street area, which has seen a large increase in the number of shops and restaurants in the past 5 years. It's a bit of a walk (~15-20 minutes) to get to the Market Street area. Enjoyed the stay very much. December 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Walking distance to everything! Great Staff, Loved the rooms! We live in one of the Charleston suburbs and have already stayed at this new HI 3 times as we love to have a staycation and be able to walk (safely) around downtown Charleston. The staff here is always warm and welcoming, the rooms and hotel are done in a very modern décor and the on-site restaurant is great. We choose the valet parking option for $16/day as it's very convenient. This location is sort of the "upper King St" area so it's on the developing edge of downtown which some people might not be totally comfortable with but we always feel very safe walking around and this area is quickly becoming the trendy area of downtown with very neat pubs, popular restaurants and just a very modern city feel to it. We definitely recommend this Holiday Inn! December 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay and great staff We stayed here for the week of Thanksgiving on a getaway to Charleston. We were touring the historical sites around town and we really enjoyed the hotel and the friendly staff there as well. The hotel is in like new condition all around and is very nicely decorated throughout the property. Easy in and out from the interstate and main highways in town. We ate breakfast there every day in the restaurant and the food was very good and the service was top notch as well. Nice to have a restaurant and lounge on site for a night cap and a good breakfast. The property is on the edge of the historic district so it's a little ways to get to most things but not that big of a deal. We usually took a cab at night when out eating and used the local trolley during the day to get to the sites we wanted to see during the day. Charleston is a great place to see a lot of history in a small area. Hotel is one of the nicer IHG properties we've stayed at recently and we would definitely stay again when in the area. I stay in a lot of hotels and this is one of the best I've seen in awhile. December 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay! What a welcoming feel when you walk in the door. Everyone was so friendly! Jamie at the front desk took the time to recommend a restaurant and even write directions. Everything was clean. Would definitely stay again if I was in the area. Plus I have never seen the amount of bathroom amenities as this hotel had in any hotel I've stayed in! November 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by valet parking having the car valet parked was great after a long trip and a lot of traffic. Also having trolley near the front door to take us downtown shopping was great. Breakfast in am was served by pleasant waitstaff and very good. Thanks November 22, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location This hotel is very modern and clean throughout. The room was quiet and easy to maintain an ideal temperature. The staff are attentive and nothing was too much trouble. Located right in the middle of the historic district you can walk almost anywhere to see all the main sights. I would have liked to have been told that beverages were not included in the price of breakfast but overall an enjoyable stay. November 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Loving Charleston Wonderful hotel. Trolley stops right outside the hotel with transportation (free) throughout the downtown. The hotel's staff is wonderful, friendly and helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed out stay there. There were 6 women, three rooms, two rooms were connected which made for great socializing. Easy to find from highways 17 and 26. November 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay People might say not close enough to the action. I found the walk manageable plus there is a free trolley outside the door. The rooms and linens were to die for and super clean. The staff so helpful and the breakfast great for the price. I would highly recommend . On Meeting Street and King Street one over. Thanks for a great experience. November 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay all around, location and ammenities were superb Couldnt have asked for a better stay in Charleston. When looking at otehr choices they were either way overpriced or not convenient to the areas we wanted to see. THis location had it all, the rooms were great and staff was very nice as well. Would definitely stay here again. November 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great time in Charleston We had a great trip to Charleston and I'd definitely stay at the Holiday Inn again. The hotel is brand new and the receptionist was super friendly. November 1, 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 9 next>>
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview at night
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview at night
Select to close.
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview at night Charleston Historic Carriage Tours East Battery St Michael's Steeple Middleton Plantation Waterfront Park Boone Hall Plantation Drayton Hall USS Yorktown at the Patriots Point Naval & Maritime Museum. Rainbow Row Hotel Lobby Lobby Lounge Concierge Desk Lobby front desk area. Exterior landscape view of the Holiday Inn Riverview. Hotel entrance. View of the Ashley River Downtown Charleston views from the Holiday Inn Riverview. Views of the Ashley River Bridge from the Holiday Inn Riverview Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview exterior
Select to close.
Stay connected with free high speed internet at Holiday Inn ®. Click to learn more.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-22-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-23-2014)
Check Availability
Loading