• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Nov-23-2014)
(e.g. Nov-24-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: CHARLOTTE
  • Distance From Hotel: 8.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:10
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Portuguese

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:215
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary tour bus and truck parking available.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:174
  • Total number of suites:1
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:86
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:88
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:173
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:10
  • Executive floors
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:7
  • FEMA Property Number:NC0006

The Beautifully Renovated Charlotte University Hotel

The Holiday Inn Charlotte University is north of Center City and right on Interstate 85, making it convenient to the multitude of businesses and exciting attractions.

Charlotte University City is a prominent financial center, and houses such businesses as Electrolux, AT&T, TIAA CREF, Areva, IBM, Wells Fargo and Wal Mart. Carolinas Medical Center and UNCC are in walking distance or take the hotel shuttle which is available to
View More

The Beautifully Renovated Charlotte University Hotel

The Holiday Inn Charlotte University is north of Center City and right on Interstate 85, making it convenient to the multitude of businesses and exciting attractions.

Charlotte University City is a prominent financial center, and houses such businesses as Electrolux, AT&T, TIAA CREF, Areva, IBM, Wells Fargo and Wal Mart. Carolinas Medical Center and UNCC are in walking distance or take the hotel shuttle which is available to our guests during limited hours, excluding special events and concerts. Return from a long day to our elegantly decorated executive lounge for a drink and a view of Charlotte worth toasting! Finish the night with room service, free Wifi and HD channels on a sleek, 37 inch flat screen.

If you're here to get away from work for a change, we are just minutes from some spectacular hot spots! See a race at Charlotte Motor Speedway or visit the NASCAR Hall of Fame. Sit under the stars at Verizon Wireless Amphitheatre and hear your favorite bands or just go shopping at IKEA furniture and Concord Mills Outlet Mall. Our Red Sky Bistro will provide a fun atmosphere with amazing cuisine for your dining pleasure. Our new lounge is a fabulous venue for reliving the day and slowing down to a nice cool beverage. Take an longer break at the pool , which is open all summer.

Book today and experience what you have always deserved atHoliday Inn Charlotte University!

View Less
Features
Now beautifully renovated hotel, every square inch of the this hotel is fresh and guaranteed to be the biggest value for your dollar! From new rooms, to new restaurant, to new entrances and new smiling faces!

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 329 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Solid Hotel -Great service. The staff were very helpful and inviting. -Location is downtown. Can be difficult to navigate to the hotel but it's downtown, no big deal. -Rooms are good not great. It's a downtown hotel so a smaller room size is understandable. Bathroom, in the style of room we had did not have the sink in it. The sink was in the entry way near the bathroom. Other than that the size of the room was adequate. No real complaints but nothing to get excited about. Bed- Here is where we had the lowest opinion. We stayed in a single King. The bed size was great, however, the mattress felt old and worn through/lumpy. Not a quality mattress. Very disappointing. We were only in town for 1 night so we just dealt with it, but I would recommend asking how old the mattresses are in the room you book. -Restaurant had good food, and stayed open late. Dinner is decently priced; breakfast was over priced. -Parking was easy. Parking was $16, valet was $22. For our 1 night $22 was an easy choice. -We went to a Hornets game. Walking a block down the road and not having to deal with any parking was AWESOME. November 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Convenience Nice area. Great room. A little noisy during weekend nights from bars and weekdays from traffic. November 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location in Downtown Charlotte Great people. Good breakfast. I would stay here again. November 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room I was in town to attend a couple of Halloween parties and found the hotel very convenient to the parties' locations. The room was very comfortable and up-to-date. November 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxing stay, great staff Excellent place to stay. Will deffently stay there again November 1, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Clean hotel, friendly staff, great location, but a few reservations Overall, this is a nice hotel. Staff was friendly and hotel was clean. The location downtown was also great. My main reservation is in regards to parking. The hotel charges a fixed daily amount for parking, and the amount charged is simply egregious. The fact that a hotel would not provide free parking for its guests is baffling. Furthermore, each time you want to exit the hotel, you need to get your parking validated, but this process isn't systematized. You have to wait in line with all the other guests checking in, which isn't particularly convenient when you're in a rush to head out for the day. They should have a separate line for current guests needing to get their parking validated. Finally, they don't let you take your own luggage up to your room with a cart (I was told this was hotel "policy"). You either schlep everything yourself sans cart or have a bellhop navigate your luggage in a cart to your room. This also seems strange to me, but perhaps this is standard practice and I just don't stay in enough hotels to adequately compare (that said, all the other hotels I've stayed in allow guests to take their luggage on their own in a hotel cart). October 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Modern, Clean, Great Service I would come back to this hotel, it is modern, clean, and has a great staff who is attentive and accommodating. Very good location as well. October 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Uptown efficiency Another excellent stay at Holiday Inn City Center. The construction outside made access a little interesting but once inside the hotel it was business as usual. The concierge level amenities are a nice corporate perk but could use a little spark of creativity. October 27, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by NRPA Conference 2014 I booked months in advance but paid twice what others paid for same room for conference at last minute. The ac in the room had backed up and the floor was soaked and the room smelled musty. Staff fixed it the following day but I had to have two industrial fans running all day to help dry out the room - made it impossible to work in room. The water pressure was very bad so toilet took over 3 minutes to fill and was very loud. The view was the roof of the lower part of the hotel with all the large hvac units. Front desk staff said at least it wouldn't be loud. However, the shuttle guys and the front desk staff were very nice and the hotel was an easy and pleasant walk to the conference center. Still, I would not stay there again. October 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good service great location Clean comfortable room with great service and location. October 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great accommodations--great location On this short stay I used the TV, internet, and in-room coffee maker. The room was clean, accommodations were comfortable, and it was well worth the cost. October 24, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Family Affair We stayed at this property as a part of a wedding party. The main saving grace was the hotel staff. Everyone I encountered was helpful and kind. The room was cramped and the bathroom sink was out in the common area with no counter space whatsoever. The setup made it very difficult for two people to get ready at the same time. The noise from the street and the hallway was extremely loud (no sound proofing). It made it impossible to get a good nights rest. For these reasons I think I would consider trying somewhere else the next time I am in town even if the price was a few dollars more. October 23, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not What I Paid For First, the staff were very courteous. That pretty much covers the nice things I can say. I reserved a King size bed for one person. The first room I was in had 2 double beds. I decided not to argue the point because I was tired after driving 3.5 hours after a long day. I arrived around 11:00 pm. After finally settling in, and wondering why the clothes rack in the closet was so low, I tried to relax and go to sleep. That was impossible because there was apparently a BBQ festival going on and the road traffic outside my window was very disruptive. The staff were very kind and moved me to a different room on a higher floor on the back side of the hotel. Except for the bellhop constantly laughing at my complaints about the noise, the move was uneventful. I was finally able to get some sleep after 2:00 am. That gave me about 4 hours of sleep before I had to get up and get ready to take an exam. The other part of this is that the new room was only a single queen bed, not a king. The closet in this room also had a rack that was too low. Guess what? I was given a handicap room. That would have been great except I am not handicapped. When I asked, the desk clerk said that is how the room was reserved. My confirmation email, however, says nothing about a handicap reservation or requirement. I stayed two nights. The second night, in the second room, I did not get a full night's sleep because my "neighbors" were out knocking on doors at 3:00 am. I do not know how long this went on, but about the time I reached for the phone, I heard someone in the hallway telling the girls to be quiet because people were trying to sleep. I guess I was not the only one being disturbed. I do not plan to stay at this Holiday Inn again and do not recommend that anyone who needs a quiet room do so either. That's really too bad too, because I have always thought of Holiday Inn as a good choice. I guess things do change over time. October 22, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel Great location, kinda tricky as to were to access the parking deck, but once you do locate it everything falls right in place. The beds have very firm mattresses, if you like that you will be in heaven. The breakfast in the morning is a must! The staff and food are amazing! October 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome. I had read mixed reviews of this property and upon arrival there were no worries. This is a great property with exceptional customer service. October 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great People and Concierge Lounge I was extremely impressed with the customer service approach and attitude at this location. From the hotel Manager to the concierge lounge staff, I found everyone willing to "go above and beyond". This location has separated itself for most others with the extras they offer to your best customers. I will go out of my way to stay there again, and to recommend this hotel to others. October 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Charlotte Hotel was conveniently located to my conference. Room was exceptional. Had breakfast buffet which was more than adequate. October 20, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by not safe doesn't feel safe at all and too much construction going on without any parking to check in October 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place to stay This is a very nice, central place to stay in Charlotte. This staff is friendly and courteous. The rooms are very comfortable and up to date. October 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Central PA Another great stay in Charlotte-Center City...See you in May 2015 with the rest of the crew! :-) October 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location and Service I had an awesome experience at this hotel. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Make sure to eat at the hotel restuarant the food was great as well. Hotel is in walking distance to the EpiCenter and is not too far from the stadium. October 16, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Renovations until 12-2014 Watch out for the renovations until 12-2014.... Nice clean rooms though! October 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location and good value For the location it was great! Lower then most of the others in the area. Safe walking distance to a lot of local bars, epicenter, etc. If you want to visit Uptown Charlotte I highly recommend. The only issue I had I their fridge was in an enclosed cubby. This made he area around it very warm. Which I believe prevented it from working properly. Did not do the best at cooling. I do like that they provided one though. Staff was friendly and helpful. They charge around 12 a day if your staying in the room for the parking garage. I think its a pretty good deal considering how difficult it is to find safe parking. Most thing are within walking distance too. October 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place very affordable Excellent location for a downtown visit. Staff is very courteous and friendly. Hotel was very clean and comfortable . October 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Gracious attentive staff and a very pleasant stay Although I was raised in suburban Atlanta, for most of the past 40 years (other than a year in New Orleans) my husband and I have lived in the country and vacationed on an even quieter island in Scotland or in the mountains of Virginia. So coming to ANY city can be quite a change! Holiday Inn made everything as delightful as possible. The only thing Holiday Inn can NOT do is put mufflers on the motorcycles, silence visitors to bars enjoying a 2 a.m. walk in the streets, or mute the exuberance of hotel guests who have had a pleasant evening! The sounds of their revelry add, er, pizzazz, to one's dreams, or lack thereof. I have trouble sleeping even at home, as the cat leaps in and out of bed acrobatically, etc., so this is no reflection on the Holiday Inn! We ourselves got up early and were NOT as quiet as church mice. My niece Adria's wedding music was DEFINITELY not quiet in the ballroom. I hope people in the floors above were able to sleep! In any event, the wedding and reception were just perfect thanks to the staff's able assistance. I would say the only confusion arose over the elevators. At times, folks were nearly frantic! It is not that they cannot read the instructions, I reckon, it is just confusing! Thank goodness for cell phones, although even with cell phones misapprehensions were still passed along... thanks. October 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place We stayed here for a wedding we attended arrived earlier than 3pm our room was all set. Checked in and saw someof the sites that Charlotte had to offer Nascar ahll of fame and a few of the many many restaurants. Upon check in Room was clean, bathroom was clean and staff was wonderful. A bit of a walk to get to the parking garage but with the amount of eating we did I was ok with the extra walking :). During our stay we had to move rooms but that was to be closer to the wedding party. Both rooms were great. Would stay here again no problem... Attended a wedding, visited with family October 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel Enjoyed my stay. The restaurant and bar was very nice and I enjoyed the food there. The front desk staff were very friendly when I checked and the parking/valet staff were friendly and helpful too. October 10, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by No hot water, lack of organization or concern I recently held my wedding ceremony and reception at this property. During the entire process we experienced issues with miscommunication and disorganization. We originally went with this venue due to it being a "package deal" and therefore less stress. However, most of the staff at this location caused more stress, even up to the last days before the wedding (issues with food and payment)! My guests also experienced confusion and stress both with booking and staying in the rooms. Many were told they could not have the agreed upon rate for the event when they called the front desk to book. Therefore, we were constantly having to contact the person in charge of booking to rectify the situation. Additionally, during our stay several guests, including myself, had issues with the hot water over a couple of days and one even had the air conditioner leak into the room. I was not compensated at all for this and some my guests were offered free parking for a day or breakfast (not what I consider sufficient). Also, many of my guests experienced other rowdy guests staying at the hotel. They were not able to sleep throughout the night due to this and many had to get up early for a long drive home. Again, nothing was done about this. During our rooftop reception, I had to remove 4 different guests that were staying at the hotel who attempted to "crash" my wedding since they allow guests access to the rooftop during events up there. I found this to be unacceptable and again, nothing was done about it. Despite all of the issues we encountered the rooftop venue was beautiful and our guests had fun, however, I don't know that I can say that I would choose this place again due to all of the negative experiences we had and the lack of customer care by some staff. October 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by nice but parking pretty far from lobby The hotel was nice and close in downtown. The parking garage was about a block away if you don't use vallet. October 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay Clean room, comfortable bed and great service. Will definitely come back again. October 7, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>
Beautifully Renovated Hotel Entrance
Beautifully Renovated Hotel Entrance
Select to close.
Beautifully Renovated Hotel Entrance Lobby Lounge Lobby Lounge Lobby Lounge Beautifully Renovated Executive Lounge Lobby Lounge Comfortable atmosphere in the Executive Lounge Charlotte Center City
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Nov-23-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Nov-24-2014)
Check Availability
Loading