• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Oct-21-2014)
(e.g. Oct-22-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: CHARLOTTE
  • Distance From Hotel: 8.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:10
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Portuguese

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:215
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary tour bus and truck parking available.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:174
  • Total number of suites:1
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:86
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:88
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:173
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:10
  • Executive floors
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:7
  • FEMA Property Number:NC0006

The Beautifully Renovated Charlotte University Hotel

The Holiday Inn Charlotte University is north of Center City and right on Interstate 85, making it convenient to the multitude of businesses and exciting attractions.

Charlotte University City is a prominent financial center, and houses such businesses as Electrolux, AT&T, TIAA CREF, Areva, IBM, Wells Fargo and Wal Mart. Carolinas Medical Center and UNCC are in walking distance or take the hotel shuttle which is available to
View More

The Beautifully Renovated Charlotte University Hotel

The Holiday Inn Charlotte University is north of Center City and right on Interstate 85, making it convenient to the multitude of businesses and exciting attractions.

Charlotte University City is a prominent financial center, and houses such businesses as Electrolux, AT&T, TIAA CREF, Areva, IBM, Wells Fargo and Wal Mart. Carolinas Medical Center and UNCC are in walking distance or take the hotel shuttle which is available to our guests during limited hours, excluding special events and concerts. Return from a long day to our elegantly decorated executive lounge for a drink and a view of Charlotte worth toasting! Finish the night with room service, free Wifi and HD channels on a sleek, 37 inch flat screen.

If you're here to get away from work for a change, we are just minutes from some spectacular hot spots! See a race at Charlotte Motor Speedway or visit the NASCAR Hall of Fame. Sit under the stars at Verizon Wireless Amphitheatre and hear your favorite bands or just go shopping at IKEA furniture and Concord Mills Outlet Mall. Our Red Sky Bistro will provide a fun atmosphere with amazing cuisine for your dining pleasure. Our new lounge is a fabulous venue for reliving the day and slowing down to a nice cool beverage. Take an longer break at the pool , which is open all summer.

Book today and experience what you have always deserved atHoliday Inn Charlotte University!

View Less
Features
Now beautifully renovated hotel, every square inch of the this hotel is fresh and guaranteed to be the biggest value for your dollar! From new rooms, to new restaurant, to new entrances and new smiling faces!

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 98 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by spacious rooms everything was great but the mattress in room 341 needs to be replaced October 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Große Suite mit sehr guter Austattung - Sehr gutes Hotel für einen längeren Aufenthalt - gut Ausgestattet Küche und ein tolles Zimmer September 30, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by OK For a stopover These hotels are usually great. Sadly this one was a little lacking but good value never the less. Staff were very good and they did there best. Maybe a refresh will help. September 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good experience Candlewood Suites aren't fancy, but they're comfortable. I stayed for business and was impressed with the hotel overall. Having a kitchen was great. Staff was very friendly. September 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay It was a comfortable stay and I would recommend this Hotel. September 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay! We have stayed at this hotel twice a year for the past 3 years and have never been disappointed in either our suite or the staff. The staff goes out of their way to accommodate you and the suite is very nicely appointed. We would definitely recommend this hotel and plan on staying again in the spring. September 24, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not up to par We travel for business and try to always stay at Candlewood Suites. Our stays are generally from 1 to 2 weeks at a time. One of the high points at Candlewood Suites is the professionalism of the staff. Unfortunately, the staff at this facility seemed under pressure. Apparently they were over-booked and this stress showed in all areas. For example: One day (when I was working in my room) I brought towels to the front desk around 8 AM and asked for replacements. I was advised that there were none available but to check back in an hour. I did - still no clean towels. I called later that day - no towels. Finally, I went back to the lobby at 2:30 pm and was given half of the number of towels I brought in. As I was leaving to go back to my room I noticed 5 boxes sitting in the lobby area. This was the order I was waiting for - the one I had asked to be told as soon as it came in. I have no idea of how long is was there and when I would have been told about it if I hadn't gone to the lobby trying to get towels. This was only an example of the problems we encountered during our stay. We wanted to stay an extra night and, although we are platinum elite members, this was not available. Will we stay here next year - probably. We just hope that they have their bookings in order and we will book an extra night for the end of our stay when we make the reservation. September 22, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Bed very uncomfortable and room smelled as someone smoked in room Believe title says it all. Would not stay here unless major changes in bedding and odors addressed. September 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Quiet Hotel with friendly staff We found this hotel online when looking for someplace near our daughter's new home-it's 3 miles away! Not only was that a plus, but the hotel was nice and quiet, something we appreciate for we usually don't get to our room till late. The only negative was there was no Gideon Bible available-only a phone book, not the Good Book. Hopefully one will be in the drawer our next trip! August 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasant stay I love this and give my full love to this and like to suggest all to come and enjoy a home like comfort ..too good and secure hotel August 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location The rooms are spacious and kitchen area helps when traveling with families! Great area to get to and from the things in University area and Concord for shopping! August 19, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice stay Stay was nice, room was clean and staff very nice. The kitchen with the full size frig was great for the long stay. August 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient Hotel This hotel was exactly what we needed for the night we stayed there. Although it is probably used for folks who stay longer than one night, it served it's purpose and was excellent. Room was big and bed was comfy. The only thing I would suggest would be to have the outside of the tub cleaned when cleaning. It didn't appear to have been wiped down or cleaned in a while. Otherwise, everything else was perfect! August 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful stay We were pleasantly surprise by the condition of the hotel and the room. Would definitely book here again. August 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice room with view Nice area though not very many stores or restaurants. Comfortable room with a nice quiet view. August 9, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Will not stay here again Unfortunately, this stay was doomed from check-in. There was just issue after issue after issue and was not a relaxing weekend with family and friends. Basically our reserved suite was given away, the choice we were left with was problematic for our group, there were amenities that were missing from our rooms, there were cleaning issues that were present, repairs that were needed, privacy issues, you name it. The front desk attendants were very nice but everything that was wrong was still wrong and an inconvenience. It's ironic that we paid more to stay at this sub-par location than we paid to stay at another of these properties that was absolutely wonderful. The other location was the one that made us feel comfortable selecting to stay at this property on this trip. I took pictures but don't have them on this computer to upload. August 8, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by beds ok towels cound be replaced at least daily and linenen when needeed August 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great facility The facility is the best in town for cleanliness and value I have stayed few times and recommend it to friends, August 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic Staff Mandi and her staff are fantastic. The fitness center at the hotel is quite small, but they do offer kettle bells and other equipment for rent. If you require a more intense work out, the hotel works with a local gym and provides you with FREE access with your room key. You can also rent out different kitchen appliances for FREE at the front desk. The gazebo and grill were a great amenity and the on-site FREE laundry is the absolute BEST! Would stay here again. July 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Phish Easy and comfortable stay. Close to PNC Music Pavillion July 29, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointment I've stayed in Candlewood Suites in Omaha, New York, New Jersey and here. This by far was the least favorite of them all. Limited options in the cupboard, alarm clock issues, phone buttons not working, distinct odor when entering the room. Fitness center limited. I'll be in the area over the next 6-7 weeks, I'll be staying elsewhere. July 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and smelled really clean and fresh. Our 1st time ever staying at Candlewood and we just loved it; when we entered our room, it was so nice to smell how clean and fresh the room was. The bed was very comfortable and relaxing and we heard No noise at all and that was such a Blessing after traveling and being extremely tired. I would most definitely recommend Candlewood Suites. July 15, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Air broken and check out time Didn't have a good experience this time with our stay. The air was broken so there was really no sleeping the first night. Next day we were able to move to a different room but it was very inconvenient moving from one room to another. Also because of my gold rewards status I was told during my previous stay that check-out time was 2pm but this stay I was told 12pm. I'm not sure why the change. July 14, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed, Great Staff Staff was very friendly and accomadating. The Room however needed some TLC. If you need a suite for 2-3 nights at a good value, not a bad pick. If for an extended stay, check out the rrom first. My room wasn't the best. However, it was very quite and the airconditioner was very cold, for a hot summer night. July 9, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Just really dirty dirty and smelled really bad - smelled like bug spray June 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and cleanliness Over all experience was great. I enjoyed lay out of the room. Very cozy bed and convenient area June 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay This is a great place to stay. Clean, comfy and nice staff. Highly recommend !! . June 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Internet speed, lacking in some areas Good location in what appears to be a new business development. Very little around it, so it was quiet. There's a Hungry Howie's pizza location in the same parking lot, which is convenient. It's close to numerous restaurants, multiple grocery stores and UNC Charlotte. Great Internet speed, among the best I've experienced, allowing me to stream video in HD. However, the TV selection is extremely poor, with only about 25 channels. No NBC Sports Network, Fox Sports 1, Golf Channel or local RSNs. Had issues with the laundry on a couple of occasions, once where the washer was broken, the other time when the dryer didn't work. The cupboard didn't have milk available the entire length of my stay, which was three weeks. Exchanging towels was often an ordeal, with the front desk clerks often pointing you to the laundry room rather than taking the towels from you and doing that job themselves. There were multiple occasions when there were no fresh towels or wash clothes available and I had to come back later for them. Amazingly, there is no guest printer. I twice tried to get things printed, and it involved emailing the document to the personal email address of the front desk clerk. One time she couldn't open the document, the other time I received the copy, but it was in landscape format. An unacceptable situation. There needs to be a printer available as there is in every other Candlewood Suites I've stayed. The room itself was fine and a standard Candlewood setup. The room was clean on arrival, with the exception of the toaster. When I removed it from the cupboard there were crumbs all underneath it and in the cupboard. But there was a good selection of plates, bowls, silverware, etc., and the refrigerator is large. Microwave was large and worked well. You needed to set the thermostat far below the actual temperature you wanted, but it worked fine and the room cooled quickly. The bed was comfortable, with multiple types of pillows. I got two full-service cleans during my stay. The first time the housekeeper didn't arrive until close to 6 p.m. and seemed rushed. She never vacuumed the floor, which needed it. The second time I was also present and it was a thorough cleaning in the morning, including vacuum. June 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good find I've stayed at extended stay hotels before. This one was the cleanest June 22, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great price, nice accommodations Highly recommend printing out directions. GPS is unreliable and hotel is set back from road with minimal signage. Very difficult to find, but worth getting there. June 18, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 next>>
Beautifully Renovated Hotel Entrance
Beautifully Renovated Hotel Entrance
Select to close.
Beautifully Renovated Hotel Entrance Lobby Lounge Lobby Lounge Lobby Lounge Beautifully Renovated Executive Lounge Lobby Lounge Comfortable atmosphere in the Executive Lounge Charlotte Center City
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-21-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-22-2014)
Check Availability
Loading