• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Aug-28-2014)
(e.g. Aug-29-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: CHARLOTTE
  • Distance From Hotel: 8.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:10
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Portuguese

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:215
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary tour bus and truck parking available.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:174
  • Total number of suites:1
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:86
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:88
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:173
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:10
  • Executive floors
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:7
  • FEMA Property Number:NC0006

The Beautifully Renovated Charlotte University Hotel

The Holiday Inn Charlotte University is north of Center City and right on Interstate 85, making it convenient to the multitude of businesses and exciting attractions.

Charlotte University City is a prominent financial center, and houses such businesses as Electrolux, AT&T, TIAA CREF, Areva, IBM, Wells Fargo and Wal Mart. Carolinas Medical Center and UNCC are in walking distance or take the hotel shuttle which is available to
View More

The Beautifully Renovated Charlotte University Hotel

The Holiday Inn Charlotte University is north of Center City and right on Interstate 85, making it convenient to the multitude of businesses and exciting attractions.

Charlotte University City is a prominent financial center, and houses such businesses as Electrolux, AT&T, TIAA CREF, Areva, IBM, Wells Fargo and Wal Mart. Carolinas Medical Center and UNCC are in walking distance or take the hotel shuttle which is available to our guests during limited hours, excluding special events and concerts. Return from a long day to our elegantly decorated executive lounge for a drink and a view of Charlotte worth toasting! Finish the night with room service, free Wifi and HD channels on a sleek, 37 inch flat screen.

If you're here to get away from work for a change, we are just minutes from some spectacular hot spots! See a race at Charlotte Motor Speedway or visit the NASCAR Hall of Fame. Sit under the stars at Verizon Wireless Amphitheatre and hear your favorite bands or just go shopping at IKEA furniture and Concord Mills Outlet Mall. Our Red Sky Bistro will provide a fun atmosphere with amazing cuisine for your dining pleasure. Our new lounge is a fabulous venue for reliving the day and slowing down to a nice cool beverage. Take an longer break at the pool , which is open all summer.

Book today and experience what you have always deserved atHoliday Inn Charlotte University!

View Less
Features
Now beautifully renovated hotel, every square inch of the this hotel is fresh and guaranteed to be the biggest value for your dollar! From new rooms, to new restaurant, to new entrances and new smiling faces!

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 34 reviewers.
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Maybe a second chance? I might give this hotel a second chance, but it will be hard to decide. After waking up to a very strong smell of cigarette smoke at 6am and not being able to get back to sleep, not sure I want to risk it. I called the front desk after I woke up and got a response of, I'll have housekeeping check it out. That really did me no good at that time, since I only stayed the one night. What the front desk clerk should have done, was leave the desk area for a few minute to determine if he could find out where the cigarette smoke was coming from. There should have been no chance for cigarette smoke around my room, since all rooms around me were supposed to be non-smoking. I also had to sign the check in form saying I would not smoke, or be charged a fine. They should have found this rule breaker and made them pay, not have me pay by having to endure this smell for over two hours. July 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and comfortable We stayed for a few days of vacation. The front desk staff were excellent. The kitchen was great for making some simple meals. We had a relaxing time. July 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Autumn it just seems that the guests are heavy footed in the hallway and in the rooms above the one I stayed in...otherwise I love the Candlewood Hotel...the room was excellent and so was the service from the front desk...I have no real concerns...I have recommended this hotel to others before... June 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by chef stay I made my reservation here because it was 2/3 of the way home after going to PA to visit my mother. It was convenient to get back to 77 south to 85 south to Atlanta. Very comfortable and I slept very well after 7 hours drive to this destination. The staff was great and the facilities were fine. The room was great. Clean and comfortable with a frig and range. Everything you need!! June 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by nice accommodations enjoyable time in the Lake Norman, Cornelius area. and your fine facility made much of it possible. no surprises. room clean, spacious and well appointed with kitchen, microwave, refrig. Brett, our reservation contact, was very friendly. I would definitely recommend this venue to family and friends. thank you. June 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by nice and quiet Excellent stay as per normal when in the Charlotte area. June 12, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not recommended If you are looking for a place where you can sleep with fido -- and don't mind a room where other animals have been present -- this is your place! We were treated to the sound of dogs barking when we were trying to sleep and we had the distinct feeling that the nasty perfume that had been applied to our room was present to cover up animal odors. Eeeek. June 2, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poorly Managed and Maintained Hotel I had a series of difficult experiences with this hotel and its staff. First of all, when I called the hotel to price my room, I was given a rate, I thanked the receptionist, and proceeded to call other local hotels for comparison. When I called back to book a room, that same person flat out hung up on me, twice, without even talking to me. Forced to call Candlewood national reservations, to complete my reservation, they would not give me the rate that I had been initially quoted. I had to finally request Candlewood national customer service to intervene and complete my reservation at the rate I had been quoted. When I arrived, I told the front desk clerk that I wanted to pay cash for the room and she said that the debit card I used to guarantee the reservation would not be charged, because she had not run her authorizations, yet. However, when I checked my bank account, the card had been charged. She then backtracked and told me that the authorizations were run at a fixed time, every day, but she assured me that she had cancelled the charge. I will not know for about a week, whether or not that is true, either. The room, itself, smelled from someone having cooked bacon, the wastebasket was full, the outer drapes on the window did not close to keep the room dark in the early morning, and the bathroom faucet leaked. My experience with this Candlewood hotel was disappointing, from beginning to end. I did not receive anywhere close to the value that I expected. There is no reason I should have to pay for this experience. Management should refund the money I paid for my stay. However, they will probably put a sunny spin on their response to my review, while telling the world why it is not possible. May 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasant Stay The time I spent at the hotel was very good .. very clean and comfortable. The room was excellent. The room service and the staff were friendly and efficient. I had no complains at all....I recommend this hotel!! April 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasant stay They fulfilled the extras I requested very well. The suite was large with a full kitchen. The full-size fridge was very convenient since we were moving a lot of refrigerated foods during this trip. My only ding is about the Candlewood chain, not this particular establishment; that is, the lack of breakfast offering. Competitively priced hotels offered at least a free continental breakfast, some even a hot breakfast. The standard excuse given is that they do not offer breakfast because they give you a full kitchen doesn't really hold because they do not stock the kitchen with any food except popcorn (very nice breakfast). The other Candlewood hotel I stayed during this trip at least had bananas. I have to admit though that the coffee was good. March 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, Comfortable, Convenient...A Very Nice Extended Stay! I came to Charlotte to have a medical procedure done, and was very glad to have chosen to stay at Candlewood Suites for my initial recovery period. The staff were very pleasant, helpful, and accommodating...even placing a recliner in my room, as my upper body had to always remain elevated. As a non-smoker, I was delighted with the fresh smell of my rooms...there was not even a hint of stale smoke smell. The kitchenette was fully equipped and ready (plates, cups, pots, utensils, can opener & other tools, etc.), the full-size refrigerator had ample space and an ice-maker, the stove worked perfectly, and the table and chairs were comfortable. I had internet access, cable TV, the option to change out linens if desired, and a laundry and exercise room down the hall. However, mostly I just wanted peace and quiet to rest, which is what I got, and what I did. I was so pleased with the accommodation that I stayed an additional three nights beyond what I'd planned...for a total of five (5) nights. Most impressive of all was the sincere caring and encouraging demeanor of the staff...they always had a smile and asked if I needed anything. I heartily recommend Candlewood Suites! It's clean, comfortable, convenient, and I felt right at home. Thank you, management and staff, for a wonderful, restful stay! March 11, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not What I expected just not what I was looking for, I guess it works good for crews working out of town, didn't realize room doesn't get serviced everyday. We all learn. January 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by everything was fine everything okay--staff friendly, room clean, full size refrigerator was nice to have, no problems January 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place Everything about our stay was excellent but I will have to say that the bed left a lot to be desired. Continental breakfast would be a nice addition. January 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good location, nice staff Front desk clerk helpful and room was outstanding. November 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by I am staying again I really enjoyed my stay. I was very impressed with the room and all it had to offer. I would stay there again and again. I would also tell family and friends to stay there. Highly recommended. Only small thing would be a bigger coffee maker or more coffee in the room. But more was available in the cupboard. November 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly service, great accommodations Extremely nice hotel for a great price! Staff was very friendly. Especially enjoyed our little welcome gift! November 12, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Great room and bad customer service The staff reserved the wrong room. If I could have stayed without having to deal with the staff it would have been an excellent stay. October 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by TV VIEWING My last stay I had a ballgame I wanted to watch. Having ESPN would have been nice. October 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Suite! Wonderful Staff! Great Value! Being that this was our first time staying at the Candlewood Suites (Lake Norman, NC), we didn't know what to expect as did others. However, to our amazement, we were definitely impressed with the hotel staff, the rooms, and the awesome access to a free laundry facility within the fitness room! Both my husband and I are into fitness so it was especially convenient to wait for our laundry while we have our workouts even with our little 6-year-old daughter who also enjoys working out at her age. Although we were here on business, we had a wonderful time! The hotel was close to restaurants and shopping centers. So it was really a plus! Although, I know I can't have it all, I wish the room came with a stove that had an oven (I like to bake and broil). That would absolutely make it divine. In addition, just a suggestion. I think the non-smoking rooms and smoking rooms, should be kept on separate floors. With the smoking on the upper floor (smoke rises) to keep the smell out of the halls . Overall, our stay was enjoyable! It's a great suite with a full kitchen for a great value. The key? Great staff and very personable! We hope to return again in the spring. October 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Felt safe and Comfortable Bed When I stay in a motel, I'm looking for safety, comfort and value. The motel was in a beautiful setting. I felt safe in my room and the bed was very comfortable. I liked the Candlewood Cupboard - something I hadn't seen before. I would recommend this motel. August 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great service and wonderful People Had the best stay very friendly staff and very accommodating .We will definitely be back when in the he area August 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Exercise Equipment I like staying at this hotel because it's close to work. But, the exercise equipment is in horrible shape and needs to be replaced. The equipment is falling apart and sounds like it's going to break at any minute. You have updated the rooms and other areas, now it's time for the exercise equipment!!!! July 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by BEST VALUE We had never stayed at Candlewood Suites before and wow were we impressed. The staff was very friendly. Our room was the perfect, full size frig and oven, microwave and sink. Very clean and comfortable. We will definately stay there again. July 18, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by wonderful staff The staff at this hotel highly exceeds expectations. They go above and beyond to make your stay a good one. The comfort and cleanliness of the hotel is average with the exception of the wonderful awesome working area in the one bedroom suites is great! February 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent hotel wonderful staff Had a bad experience at another hotel, and came to this hotel. And they were extremely nice. Made sure that I was comfortable, excellent hotel and excellent staff. Highly recommend January 16, 2013
<<prev2
Beautifully Renovated Hotel Entrance
Beautifully Renovated Hotel Entrance
Select to close.
Beautifully Renovated Hotel Entrance Lobby Lounge Lobby Lounge Lobby Lounge Beautifully Renovated Executive Lounge Lobby Lounge Comfortable atmosphere in the Executive Lounge Charlotte Center City
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-28-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-29-2014)
Check Availability
Loading