• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Oct-24-2014)
(e.g. Oct-25-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: CHARLOTTE
  • Distance From Hotel: 8.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:10
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Portuguese

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:215
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary tour bus and truck parking available.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:174
  • Total number of suites:1
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:86
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:88
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:173
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:10
  • Executive floors
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:7
  • FEMA Property Number:NC0006

The Beautifully Renovated Charlotte University Hotel

The Holiday Inn Charlotte University is north of Center City and right on Interstate 85, making it convenient to the multitude of businesses and exciting attractions.

Charlotte University City is a prominent financial center, and houses such businesses as Electrolux, AT&T, TIAA CREF, Areva, IBM, Wells Fargo and Wal Mart. Carolinas Medical Center and UNCC are in walking distance or take the hotel shuttle which is available to
View More

The Beautifully Renovated Charlotte University Hotel

The Holiday Inn Charlotte University is north of Center City and right on Interstate 85, making it convenient to the multitude of businesses and exciting attractions.

Charlotte University City is a prominent financial center, and houses such businesses as Electrolux, AT&T, TIAA CREF, Areva, IBM, Wells Fargo and Wal Mart. Carolinas Medical Center and UNCC are in walking distance or take the hotel shuttle which is available to our guests during limited hours, excluding special events and concerts. Return from a long day to our elegantly decorated executive lounge for a drink and a view of Charlotte worth toasting! Finish the night with room service, free Wifi and HD channels on a sleek, 37 inch flat screen.

If you're here to get away from work for a change, we are just minutes from some spectacular hot spots! See a race at Charlotte Motor Speedway or visit the NASCAR Hall of Fame. Sit under the stars at Verizon Wireless Amphitheatre and hear your favorite bands or just go shopping at IKEA furniture and Concord Mills Outlet Mall. Our Red Sky Bistro will provide a fun atmosphere with amazing cuisine for your dining pleasure. Our new lounge is a fabulous venue for reliving the day and slowing down to a nice cool beverage. Take an longer break at the pool , which is open all summer.

Book today and experience what you have always deserved atHoliday Inn Charlotte University!

View Less
Features
Now beautifully renovated hotel, every square inch of the this hotel is fresh and guaranteed to be the biggest value for your dollar! From new rooms, to new restaurant, to new entrances and new smiling faces!

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 173 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay we brought a baseball team to the location, staff was nice, rooms layed out great and was very clean July 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very Accommodating Staff The hotel was attractive. After I got into my room, they decided to change my room. I am a light sleeper and because there was a large party coming the next day, they decided to change my room. Two staff members helped me move and escorted me to my new room. Great hospitality! The only complaint I had was that the room was not adequately dusted and that dust mites were abundant. So I asked that my sheets be changed and they did so accordingly. I should have pointed out that the headboard and night tables were very dusty but I didn't realize this until after they changed my sheets. The only criticism I had about the food was that the eggs were microwaved. However the sausage and bacon and other breakfast options were great! I will stay here again! July 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best stop from Ohio to South This is our second stay at this HHI and been very pleased both times. This is 8 hrs from Cleveland area and 4 hrs further to Charleston or Hilton Head. Rooms are all suites. Very clean and comfy! Breakfast is always a plus with great coffee! July 15, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Clean Rooms and Comfy Bed The bed was extremely comfortable. As a traveler on the road and just needing a place to spend the night I thought the price could be lower. July 8, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Shower did not work! I had to be moved to a second room next door as my shower did not work, the shower lever was not there! I unpacked and then was going to take a shower at about 12:30 as I was to be at my sister's at 2 p.m. for a cookout for my mother's 86th BD. As I discovered the shower did not work I called to the front desk and they sent someone up from housekeeping to "show me how to operate the shower", which was stupidity at the highest. It was a maintenance problem, but housekeeping is to report any nonworking defective items to maintenance and obviously this had not been done. Anyway, I was an hour late getting to my mom's BD party and the housekeeping personnel was extremely rude. I let it be known this had upset the timing of my day greatly as I had to repack and move next door! I also was not told of the 3-day change of sheets, etc., and had to call down for more towels the second day. Minor problems, but overall a good stay. July 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable spacious rooms The room was comfortable, clean and spacious. My only less than favorable comment would be the breakfast dining area was small. However, the dining area was clean with a good selection and quality of hot and cold breakfast items. The front desk staff was friendly and accomodating. Overall, this Holiday Inn was much better than average. I would choose this Holiday Inn again. July 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very clean My wife and I were very impressed the overall facility July 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by quite place to relax and unwind. we were very pleased with the service we got . new to the ares, we were looking for a clean, quiet place to stop off in our journey to Pennsylvania.great job to all the staff, June 30, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not a good place to stay! This hotel was the worst Holiday Inn Express we have ever stayed in. The breakfast selection was horrible and the attendant was unfriendly and left the area quite gross. We booked a double room were given a king with a pull out sofa! For the price we paid it is ridiculous to have your kids sleep on an uncomfortable pull out sofa! Not to mention wasps were constantly getting into our room by the air vent. Very bad experience!!!! June 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff Thought the staff here was so nice and accommodating. I interacted with 4 front desk personnel and each one was nicer than the next. Overall I thought the room was really nice and spacious. And the breakfast was surprisingly good, and again the people making and serving the breakfast were fun and nice. Would definitely stay here again. Only thing is that I could hear some sort of mechanical whirling, perhaps from the elevator when I woke up, but it wasn't that noticeable. June 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean room and comfortable size Nice hotel for a short stay. Didn't like the pool hours. Pool closed at 9pm which is early compared with other hotels. June 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff The hotel was very comfortable. The staff friendly and helpful. We would stay again if we were in the area. June 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great customer service Clean and comfortable. Close to a variety of restaurants. Bryan at the front desk was personable and enthusiastic. This is the best hotel in the area. June 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Where are the eating utensils? The upgraded suite was great and had plenty of leg room to stretch out. However, if you're going to offer a suite with a large refrigerator and microwave, why not stock the room with plates, bowls, eating utensils, salt/pepper packets and napkins? If I'm staying for more than one night I usually go out and get fruit/snacks for my stay. I want to eat those in the room, but can't unless I go downstairs (usually after the eating area is closed) and ask the front desk to supply me with items that shoud be in the cabinets already in the room. Overall, a nice hotel and staff. Breakfasts are getting a little boring with little variety with just eggs/bisquits, gravy, sausage and bacon. But, I guess that is an IHG thing. June 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by nice hotel choice in huntersville well kept property ..friendly staff, room very comfortable.with good quality bedding. shopping and eating very close and a lot to chose from. June 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Home away from home We were made to feel at home and comfortable. The staff was helpful, friendly and accommodating. The suite was spacious, clean and lacked nothing that we needed. June 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent choice in area Everything was up to the usual high HIX standards. Staff was extra friendly and accomodating. Room was in excellent shape, very clean and comfortable. Very attractive property in a quite setting just off the main highways, with easy access to several restaurants. Would stay here again. June 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by food included Was welcome surprise to find Tues and Wed the managers reception with pizza and pasta served in the lobby/breakfast room as well as beer and wine chits. May 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service, Breakfast, and Comfort The service here was absolutely wonderful, They had a variety of breakfast options and everything was wonderful! The room was very nice and the beds were very comfortable! April 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable I was very comfortable & slept well... however, there was a constant noise (sounding like running water) from the bathroom (was not coming from my bathroom) - all night.. I had to keep the bathroom door closed all night to muffle the sound. Also, it was a little confusing getting to the hotel off I-77... If there were better signs it would have been simpler (thankfully my GPS got me there). I also requested 2 full sized beds - but they only had a king sized bed... luckily the couch had a pull out bed in it & my son slept there. Price wise... the cost was higher than the Richmond, GA location (where I stayed a week prior).. All in all it was a very good experience & I would stay there again. April 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by could not be better We notified the hotel of a late arrival, the person on the phone could not be nicer, they left the message and the desk person was very nice, greeted me by name, reconized my membership, and gave me all the infomation I needed. The next morning we had a great breakfast and left. I would use this hotel again as friends just moved there and we hope to see them often. April 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Beware the hidden fees This hotel is very nice. The rooms were clean and very comfortable. If it is not a new hotel it certainly feels like a new hotel. I love the breakfast choices at Holiday Inn Expresses and this hotel offered a great breakfast with lots of choices. The customer service was average. They certainly did their jobs but did not go out of their way to be polite. One concern I had was that an extra person charge of $20 was added to the room for a fourth person (my three year old daughter). This was not clearly noted in the pricing when I accepted through my I-phone booking (very convenient, thank you HIexpress) and complained to the front desk. I will admit it was in the e-mailed bill when I looked closely but at that point I had already accepted the room. I have not had this extra charge at other Holiday Inn Expresses in the past so I was surprised that this hotel added the charge but also felt that since this is not customary for most HIexpress hotels it should have been clearly marked in the pricing before I agreed. The front desk did remove the charge when I showed them the phone App and how it does not clearly explain the extra charge until after you've paid. I am a big fan of Holiday Inn Express hotels and always choose to stay at one when they are available. One of the reasons I like the hotel chain is the consistency of quality. This hotel wsa very good but stands out because most HIexpress hotels are excellent and don't play these kinds of pricing games. April 22, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Terrible road noise Nice clean hotel - little pricey for a small town interstate stop but it is right next to the Interstate ( 50 ft away) and my room vibrated every time a truck drove by . Way too noisey April 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Way Over Due! Excellent HIE Property I have stayed at Huntersville HIE many times over several years and have never had a bad experience.... check-in is always quick and professional with customer service their first thought. Large rooms, some with full size refrigerators, great location, a very nice Manager's Reception 2-3 times a week!!! They take time to make you feel welcome, at home and like family. They work with my company to accommodate our transient workforce and it is so appreciated. Most of us are Platinum status and rate this HIE right up at the top!! April 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by staff All staff were very kind & helpful. They made us feel welcome. April 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Oh my GOODNESS!!! A real WINNER! I can't express how wonderful this property was to my family. We arrived at 10:15 PM, tired, weary, and ready to unwind and relax. The front desk staff was primed, ready, and pumped to make sure we had nothing on our minds but relaxation. Tina was simply, amazing. The room was clean, comfortable, and roomy and inviting. We then headed off for a quick bite to eat in the direct area, frankly there isn't this kind of choice and selection in many areas. It was great, quick, and put us back in the room in no time. After a great night of rest, the shower was wonderful and the breakfast was a nice perk. I need to recommend this location, have no qualms or concerns, it was great! April 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service Rose and the entire staff made our stay very enjoyable and accommodating. Top remarks for all! March 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Repeat customer Everything was excellent--I will stay there again---4 things I would change 1.toliet 2. add grab bars 3. newer clock radio 4. larger TV March 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great room design, better than any other Holiday Inns I have stayed in. The room layout was very comfortable, with the sofa it was very relaxing to be able to sit on and watch TV in lieu of laying on the bed. Watching TV with Bi-Focals requires pillowing up to a sitting position. A suggestion for your morning breakfast. Your use of chlorinated tap water to make the juice leaves the chlorine taste. To me that was simply distasteful. Perhaps your can relay to the management that the use of a carbon filter would eliminate the chlorine taste. I would also wish tha chain would offer SOS in lieu of the sausage gravy. Just a thought from former service member. March 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Happy Customer I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel, the staff was fast and friendly even the late shift, my room was very clean and comfortable and the hotel is located to plenty of stores and restuarants and Charlotte NC was just a 20 minute drive away, I will definitely be staying at this location again on my next visit to NC! March 7, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>
Beautifully Renovated Hotel Entrance
Beautifully Renovated Hotel Entrance
Select to close.
Beautifully Renovated Hotel Entrance Lobby Lounge Lobby Lounge Lobby Lounge Beautifully Renovated Executive Lounge Lobby Lounge Comfortable atmosphere in the Executive Lounge Charlotte Center City
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-24-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-25-2014)
Check Availability
Loading