• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-17-2014)
(e.g. Sep-18-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: CHARLOTTE
  • Distance From Hotel: 8.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:10
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Portuguese

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:215
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary tour bus and truck parking available.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:174
  • Total number of suites:1
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:86
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:88
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:173
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:10
  • Executive floors
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:7
  • FEMA Property Number:NC0006

The Beautifully Renovated Charlotte University Hotel

The Holiday Inn Charlotte University is north of Center City and right on Interstate 85, making it convenient to the multitude of businesses and exciting attractions.

Charlotte University City is a prominent financial center, and houses such businesses as Electrolux, AT&T, TIAA CREF, Areva, IBM, Wells Fargo and Wal Mart. Carolinas Medical Center and UNCC are in walking distance or take the hotel shuttle which is available to
View More

The Beautifully Renovated Charlotte University Hotel

The Holiday Inn Charlotte University is north of Center City and right on Interstate 85, making it convenient to the multitude of businesses and exciting attractions.

Charlotte University City is a prominent financial center, and houses such businesses as Electrolux, AT&T, TIAA CREF, Areva, IBM, Wells Fargo and Wal Mart. Carolinas Medical Center and UNCC are in walking distance or take the hotel shuttle which is available to our guests during limited hours, excluding special events and concerts. Return from a long day to our elegantly decorated executive lounge for a drink and a view of Charlotte worth toasting! Finish the night with room service, free Wifi and HD channels on a sleek, 37 inch flat screen.

If you're here to get away from work for a change, we are just minutes from some spectacular hot spots! See a race at Charlotte Motor Speedway or visit the NASCAR Hall of Fame. Sit under the stars at Verizon Wireless Amphitheatre and hear your favorite bands or just go shopping at IKEA furniture and Concord Mills Outlet Mall. Our Red Sky Bistro will provide a fun atmosphere with amazing cuisine for your dining pleasure. Our new lounge is a fabulous venue for reliving the day and slowing down to a nice cool beverage. Take an longer break at the pool , which is open all summer.

Book today and experience what you have always deserved atHoliday Inn Charlotte University!

View Less
Features
Now beautifully renovated hotel, every square inch of the this hotel is fresh and guaranteed to be the biggest value for your dollar! From new rooms, to new restaurant, to new entrances and new smiling faces!

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 154 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable I was very comfortable & slept well... however, there was a constant noise (sounding like running water) from the bathroom (was not coming from my bathroom) - all night.. I had to keep the bathroom door closed all night to muffle the sound. Also, it was a little confusing getting to the hotel off I-77... If there were better signs it would have been simpler (thankfully my GPS got me there). I also requested 2 full sized beds - but they only had a king sized bed... luckily the couch had a pull out bed in it & my son slept there. Price wise... the cost was higher than the Richmond, GA location (where I stayed a week prior).. All in all it was a very good experience & I would stay there again. April 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by could not be better We notified the hotel of a late arrival, the person on the phone could not be nicer, they left the message and the desk person was very nice, greeted me by name, reconized my membership, and gave me all the infomation I needed. The next morning we had a great breakfast and left. I would use this hotel again as friends just moved there and we hope to see them often. April 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Beware the hidden fees This hotel is very nice. The rooms were clean and very comfortable. If it is not a new hotel it certainly feels like a new hotel. I love the breakfast choices at Holiday Inn Expresses and this hotel offered a great breakfast with lots of choices. The customer service was average. They certainly did their jobs but did not go out of their way to be polite. One concern I had was that an extra person charge of $20 was added to the room for a fourth person (my three year old daughter). This was not clearly noted in the pricing when I accepted through my I-phone booking (very convenient, thank you HIexpress) and complained to the front desk. I will admit it was in the e-mailed bill when I looked closely but at that point I had already accepted the room. I have not had this extra charge at other Holiday Inn Expresses in the past so I was surprised that this hotel added the charge but also felt that since this is not customary for most HIexpress hotels it should have been clearly marked in the pricing before I agreed. The front desk did remove the charge when I showed them the phone App and how it does not clearly explain the extra charge until after you've paid. I am a big fan of Holiday Inn Express hotels and always choose to stay at one when they are available. One of the reasons I like the hotel chain is the consistency of quality. This hotel wsa very good but stands out because most HIexpress hotels are excellent and don't play these kinds of pricing games. April 22, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Terrible road noise Nice clean hotel - little pricey for a small town interstate stop but it is right next to the Interstate ( 50 ft away) and my room vibrated every time a truck drove by . Way too noisey April 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Way Over Due! Excellent HIE Property I have stayed at Huntersville HIE many times over several years and have never had a bad experience.... check-in is always quick and professional with customer service their first thought. Large rooms, some with full size refrigerators, great location, a very nice Manager's Reception 2-3 times a week!!! They take time to make you feel welcome, at home and like family. They work with my company to accommodate our transient workforce and it is so appreciated. Most of us are Platinum status and rate this HIE right up at the top!! April 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by staff All staff were very kind & helpful. They made us feel welcome. April 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Oh my GOODNESS!!! A real WINNER! I can't express how wonderful this property was to my family. We arrived at 10:15 PM, tired, weary, and ready to unwind and relax. The front desk staff was primed, ready, and pumped to make sure we had nothing on our minds but relaxation. Tina was simply, amazing. The room was clean, comfortable, and roomy and inviting. We then headed off for a quick bite to eat in the direct area, frankly there isn't this kind of choice and selection in many areas. It was great, quick, and put us back in the room in no time. After a great night of rest, the shower was wonderful and the breakfast was a nice perk. I need to recommend this location, have no qualms or concerns, it was great! April 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service Rose and the entire staff made our stay very enjoyable and accommodating. Top remarks for all! March 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Repeat customer Everything was excellent--I will stay there again---4 things I would change 1.toliet 2. add grab bars 3. newer clock radio 4. larger TV March 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great room design, better than any other Holiday Inns I have stayed in. The room layout was very comfortable, with the sofa it was very relaxing to be able to sit on and watch TV in lieu of laying on the bed. Watching TV with Bi-Focals requires pillowing up to a sitting position. A suggestion for your morning breakfast. Your use of chlorinated tap water to make the juice leaves the chlorine taste. To me that was simply distasteful. Perhaps your can relay to the management that the use of a carbon filter would eliminate the chlorine taste. I would also wish tha chain would offer SOS in lieu of the sausage gravy. Just a thought from former service member. March 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Happy Customer I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel, the staff was fast and friendly even the late shift, my room was very clean and comfortable and the hotel is located to plenty of stores and restuarants and Charlotte NC was just a 20 minute drive away, I will definitely be staying at this location again on my next visit to NC! March 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Nice Hotel After a very long day, it was nice to be warmly greeted and to find a nice comfy bed in a clean room!! March 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent I was very satisfied with all aspects of this hotel. Cleanliness, Service and comfort. I highly recommend it. February 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service Very clean and comfortable room. The breakfast was good as usual. Thanks February 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Our " go to" place in the Charlotte area Arriving on a snowy afternoon, we were happy to find ourselves in a physically & emotionally warm atmosphere. And what a treat this was! The guest services representative, Bryan, welcomed us w/goodies & friendship. We were informed that we were upgraded to a suite which turned to be quite spacious. Looking out the window @ an impending snowstorm & icy roads had us deliberating about dinner plans. Then we remembered that Bryan told us about a Manager's Reception from 6-7PM. We thought there would be snacks. What a surprise to find freshly-made salad w/dressing, an assortment of pizza slices, pasta & beverages to wash all of this down. The server, Marilyn, was so welcoming & gracious. It was a perfect ending to a long travel day. Needless to say, this experience will bring us back to this location. What a staff!! February 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Huntersville HI Facilities need a little updating but staff very friendly and helpful February 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Business Stay a Positive Experience I have stayed several times over the last 3 years at the HIE in Birkdale, NC and while I seldom eat the breakfast, use the pool, exercise room, business office or laundry - my room always is clean, the check-in and check-out is professional, quick and accurate. The convenient location works great for me, but at the top is the quiet comfortable stay and a great staff. Thanks for easing the days for a 100+ night a year road warrior! January 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Spacious clean room I stay at this property every time I am in the area and have always had a great experience. The rooms are spacious, modern and clean. January 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Hotel Everything was good, are room was away from the traffic so it was very quit to sleep. January 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean room & comfortable; great staff Staff were very friendly and room was clean. Quiet place and convenient location if looking to stay north of Charlotte. Next to Interstate but still quiet. January 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Front Desk The girl working the front desk, I think her name was Maryland was very polite, friendly and knowledgeable of the area. The breakfast was good except for the pancake machine was out of order and only one side of the toaster worked. Jill January 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Poor breakfast......comfortable room We have stayed at nicer Holiday Inn Express hotels...but this one was adequate for our needs. The breakfast however.....was poor. Bacon overdone.....no pancakes available......orange juice empty or not working. Just not up to Holiday Inn Express standards. Cinnamon rolls were good. Didn't complain about breakfast because we were minutes from checking out and needed to be on our way. January 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Property This continues to be consistantly an excellent place to stay. The rooms are nice, it's quite and the staff is out of this world. I have never asked for anything that it has not been taken care of and with a friendly face. Also the breakfast is above reproach. I would recommend this property to anyone traveling through the area. January 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good stay. Front desk staff was great! We needed a roll away which she was quick to take to our room. Room was overall clean but the tile in the roll in shower could use some special attention. Breakfast was the traditional that we have come to expect from Holiday Inn Express properties. Usually there is some fresh fruit available, but not this time. Would stay again if traveling through the area. Not the easiest to find when coming off the interstate. Can't turn left at one of the intersections...we listened to the navigation system even if it oddly took us in the opposite direction to compensate for the intersection where we couldn't turn left. Once we understood the lay of the land it all made sense. January 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by clean rooms very nice rooms and clean will definitely stay again January 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable stay Helpful, friendly staff, was understanding and supportave as we had a verry bad experience elsewhere in Huntersville. Thanks, we will not forget your hospitality. December 30, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable Bed, Good Breakfast Our first time at this hotel (months ago) was great, this time the room was not as clean. Hope that changes. December 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyed Our Stay We were all tired from walking all day and it was so nice coming into our hotel room. It was big, nicely decorated, and very clean. The king size bed and pillows were VERY comfortable. Our daughter even enjoyed sleeping on the couch's pull out bed. I recommend only a child to sleep on the pull out bed because a heavy adult may feel the bars underneath the mattress as I did when I sat on it. The free breakfast was great. Sausage patties, scrambled eggs, pancakes, toast, bagels, cereal, oatmeal, apples, hot cinnamon buns, orange, apple, and cranberry juice, milk. The only 2 negative things I can say about our stay is, in the morning we had to go down stairs to get a toothbrush/toothpaste (we forgot ours#. I was hoping someone would bring it up to our room. AND..when leaving we had to wait in a long line #8 people in front of us# to check out. There were 8 people checking IN at 11am #even though CHECK-IN hours are 3pm) and we waited 10 minutes to get to the front of the line. It would have been nice if they would not check in people during check out time, or have another staff person to assist people. November 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by More than We Expected This was the first time we've stayed in a Holiday Inn Express. We usually stay at Hampton Inns or something similar as they include a breakfast and are nice. This time we were looking for something centrally located to the Charlotte Motor Speedway, The Carolina Raptor Center, and The Renaissance Festival, and Lake Norman. We were glad we found this HIE. What a great deal and it was more than we expected. The hotel was clean, staff was pleasant, and the breakfast was better than a continental breakfast. The rooms were like a studio apartment with a sofa, sink, & refrigerator and nicely decorated. The location is great with lots of restaurants close by. November 19, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Guest Stay Decent place. Nice room. Front desk staff great. They say my resonse is too short. What if that was all that I had to say? Review people are sooooo strange. November 15, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Beautifully Renovated Hotel Entrance
Beautifully Renovated Hotel Entrance
Select to close.
Beautifully Renovated Hotel Entrance Lobby Lounge Lobby Lounge Lobby Lounge Beautifully Renovated Executive Lounge Lobby Lounge Comfortable atmosphere in the Executive Lounge Charlotte Center City
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-17-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-18-2014)
Check Availability
Loading