• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-21-2014)
(e.g. Sep-22-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: CHARLOTTE
  • Distance From Hotel: 8.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:10
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Portuguese

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:215
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary tour bus and truck parking available.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:174
  • Total number of suites:1
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:86
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:88
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:173
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:10
  • Executive floors
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:7
  • FEMA Property Number:NC0006

The Beautifully Renovated Charlotte University Hotel

The Holiday Inn Charlotte University is north of Center City and right on Interstate 85, making it convenient to the multitude of businesses and exciting attractions.

Charlotte University City is a prominent financial center, and houses such businesses as Electrolux, AT&T, TIAA CREF, Areva, IBM, Wells Fargo and Wal Mart. Carolinas Medical Center and UNCC are in walking distance or take the hotel shuttle which is available to
View More

The Beautifully Renovated Charlotte University Hotel

The Holiday Inn Charlotte University is north of Center City and right on Interstate 85, making it convenient to the multitude of businesses and exciting attractions.

Charlotte University City is a prominent financial center, and houses such businesses as Electrolux, AT&T, TIAA CREF, Areva, IBM, Wells Fargo and Wal Mart. Carolinas Medical Center and UNCC are in walking distance or take the hotel shuttle which is available to our guests during limited hours, excluding special events and concerts. Return from a long day to our elegantly decorated executive lounge for a drink and a view of Charlotte worth toasting! Finish the night with room service, free Wifi and HD channels on a sleek, 37 inch flat screen.

If you're here to get away from work for a change, we are just minutes from some spectacular hot spots! See a race at Charlotte Motor Speedway or visit the NASCAR Hall of Fame. Sit under the stars at Verizon Wireless Amphitheatre and hear your favorite bands or just go shopping at IKEA furniture and Concord Mills Outlet Mall. Our Red Sky Bistro will provide a fun atmosphere with amazing cuisine for your dining pleasure. Our new lounge is a fabulous venue for reliving the day and slowing down to a nice cool beverage. Take an longer break at the pool , which is open all summer.

Book today and experience what you have always deserved atHoliday Inn Charlotte University!

View Less
Features
Now beautifully renovated hotel, every square inch of the this hotel is fresh and guaranteed to be the biggest value for your dollar! From new rooms, to new restaurant, to new entrances and new smiling faces!

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 83 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great value All good at this property. Clean, comfortable. Nice staff. No negatives. December 14, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by No cream for coffee and... The checking and check out process was great (Jose is very professional and courteous). The room was clean and comfortable. We were there just on night to wait for our flight the next morning. I was disappointed in the morning when I went down to drink coffee and and there was no cream. I ask the front desk and the lady said; "sorry we are out of cream". cupboard was together with the laundry room and it was hot and smell like detergent. The floor was filthy and there was papers on the floor. I never seen any hotel; not even other low price chains in this condition. December 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place to Stay Spacious room and bathroom. Tastefully decorated. The room was clean and inviting. Reasonably priced. The bed was SO comfortable. Having the kitchen was great and saved me some money on eating while I was there. Very thankful to have found this place. They are also pet friendly, which is important to me, as I am usually traveling with my 4-legged companion. The staff was polite and helpful. I received excellent treatment and service. I will definitely stay here again when I am in the Charlotte area. November 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by All the conveniences Nice updated Candlewood with all the usual convenience - full kitchen, fresh coffee, laundry, etc. Helpful, friendly staff. I love Candlewood. November 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Well maintained property. Very pleasant recently remodeled room. Helpful front desk; permitted late check out as Priority Club member. November 21, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by My hotel stay Before my arrival to the hotel, my husband and I lost our way trying to find the hotel- it was dark and rainy, which made it harder to locate the hotel- so I called the hotel (4) times for assistance with no response. When we finally found the hotel, there was no one on the desk... I knocked on the office door- and finally the office person came to the desk- when giving us the room- we were tired after driving 11 hours to reach Charlotte NC- we wanted to rest- the room had the worst smell- it did not appear to have been cleaned- there were stains on the wall and toilet... the room was really gross!! I went down to get new linens and to complain about the room- the office personnel, offered me a different room- which also had an odor- the last room offered was where we stayed the night. The back stairwell was full of stains and did not appear to have been cleaned as well as the hallway and elevator... taking the elevator to my floor- I saw a hugh dog brought in by his owner, which immediately caused my allergies to flare... I am so disappointed in my stay in Charlotte and this hotel, words cannot describe....If anyone should need a place to stay when traveling to Charlotte- this hotel will not be on my list of best places to stay. There also appeared to be no one available in housekeeping- we had to wait for the office person to bring up linen, which took some time. November 21, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly Staff Over all the stay was nice. The front desk staff was very friendly and polite. The room was nice size and the kitchen area was great. My really only 2 complaints would be they don't offer king size beds and the bed spread had two cigarette holes. It was funny they stress the $250.00 charge an non smoking, but my blanket told a different story. I reported it so I would not be charged later. I have asthma so smoking is not my friend. Thought they would have came up an replaced it , but they didn't and I didn't think I needed to ask. We are an average size couple and the bed seem to be a full. It was very uncomfortable. I have Queen beds through out my home; so i didn't think it would be a problem, and we both rest comfortable. In our master is a King of course. I would not stay again simply because of the bed size. If you are sleeping alone it will be okay. Thanks November 18, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and Affordable This hotel provided good value. The location was a bit far from downtown but maybe I should have researched this a little better. For anything in northern Charlotte it would be fine. November 15, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Nice place I was in Charlotte for business for 3 nights. I tried Candlewoods for the first time. I really enjoyed it. My room was great it was clean. My bathroom was not to spiffy. While getting ready to shower I found a used towel hanging behind the bathroom door. There was also a lot of long black hair on the bathroom floor. The sink and sink area was cleaned but the floor and behind the door was missed. Other then that it was all good. Great place for diabetics that cant go out and eat alot. Stay in and cook your own, I did and I loved it! November 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Check-in was bumpy, but room was EXCELLENT At check-in, the clerk was having trouble logging into the system and couldn't find my confirmed reservation. I arrived about ten minutes before the 3pm check-in time, but I don't think that was the problem. Something was preventing her from doing her job, and it did not make a good first impression. Once in the room, I was completely satisfied with the decor, the cleanliness and the comfort of my room. The bathroom was HUGE! The shower was probably the biggest/best I've ever seen in a hotel room, and the towels were soft, luxurious and very absorbent. The linens on the bed were fabulously comfortable. The whole room was very stylish and functional. I VERY much enjoyed my stay, and will probably book again next year when I return to Charlotte. November 12, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Our "go to" Charlotte area hotel. We have been staying at this Charlotte location in October for about 8 years. The staff is wonderful and we are treated each year as long-lost family members (in a good way). The manager, Gale, always makes sure that our stay is enjoyable. Two of our favorite staff members had recently moved to different locations within the IHG brand; Mike and Sarah are missed by us. This location has gone through some changes the last few years. The renovation for the most part has been positive. This year I noticed the bedding had been upgraded and the overall look of the hotel has been improved. We will continue to stay at this location in the future (and have already booked our room for next October)! November 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by VERY SURPRISED IN A GOOD WAY I almost cancelled my reservation based on negative reviews. I am glad that I didn't. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean. The bed was extremely comfortable and the sheets and towels they use are wonderful. They are not your typical hotel sheet and towels. The room was very quiet. I think they painted the hall walls that day because when you walked in the hallway you could smell fresh paint, however, once in the room you did not smell the paint at all. I personally cannot say anything negative about this hotel. I really like the idea that I had a mini kitchen in the room and was surprised to see a dishwasher in the room. They are very pet friendly. I am definitely going to stay there on my next visit to Charlotte. October 23, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Horrible Receiption Personality It was a horrible first experience I have ever had with IHG hotels worldwide over 10 years. The recceiption services was very bad, not friendly at all. A receiption woman was chatting on the phone for over 10 minutes while we were waiting at the front desk for checking in. Three other staffs were at the front counter doing nothing , but no one came to host us. I will NEVER recommend this nasty place to anyone. I will never come back to this place. October 12, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel! Great Candlewood Suites! Great staff, I checked in late as my flight was late but the front desk made me smile! Room was clean and comfortable. Will stay again! A drive from the airport but that was ok. PS - Staff greeted me as a Gold Elite member which I appreciated! October 1, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Appearance The room had been recently remodeled and was very comfortable and clean. The bed was GREAT. The lobby and check in area is small and not very receptive. We stood in line quite a long time to get checked in and on the day of check out the computers were down and we stood in line again for a long time. Check in and out process was delayed. They said they would email my receipt to me but the next day I had to call twice to get the receipt and finally a young lady who was most helpful faxed it to me. September 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Place to Stay Third time my husband and I have stayed here. This is the hotel of choice everytime we stay in Charlotte, NC> Bed comfortable, room amentities excellent, staff friendly. Highly recommnend September 26, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay Room was clean, comfortable and was nice to have the kitchenette. September 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by clean and comfortable The room was clean and comfortable. Easy to get to with stores and restaurants easily accessible. Will definately stay here again. September 10, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice n comfortable I didn't know what to expect, but this hotel was nice. The room was clean, however the pillows were terrible. The staff was friendly and nice. I would definitely stay there again. September 8, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by rude staff! lady at front desk was very rude when i call to ck room type,couldn't upgrade to a larger room because i was using points. Maid left 1 towel in room.when i asked her for towels she told me to get them from front desk. the front desk asked if i had the used towels.There were 2 people at front desk that was nice.don't think i will stay at that hotel the next time i am in Charlotte.I like the Candlewood stayed at a few never had bad service until this one. September 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by just what I need Very comfortable and clean room. Helpful staff. Location near my work. Easy to relax after a long day. September 3, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointing While the room I eventually stayed in was clean, and the staff responsive, I noted the following issues during my three night stay: * Although this is supposed to be a smoke free facility that charges a $200. penalty to those who smoke in their rooms anyway, for "cleaning", the first room I was given reeked of cigarette smoke, and I had to ask to be be moved. * There is no breakfast service of any kind other than the Candlewood Cupboard, and there are no restaurants within walking distance. I found the Candlewood Cupboard to be poorly stocked and overpriced. There was for instance no milk available. Plan to stop for groceries before you arrive. * Wired Internet connections do appear to be available, but in my room at least the data port was a cheapo 6 pin telephone grade RJ11 socket, rather than the industry standard 8-pin RJ45. Your standard twisted pair Ethernet cables will NOT work here. The common areas were dirty and not well kept. September 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Charlotte nc stay I am sure this is the section that I am meant to complain in. I honestly dot have anything bad to day. It's a hotel not my house and I am just staying there for one night. Thank you for making us feel welcome. August 31, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not bad for the price Location was great. Room was ok for the price. My only problem was there was an oder. At first I thought it was the chlorine from the pool-but there was no pool. I don't know what or where the oder came from. Other than that it was an ok experience. I would stay there again but on the other side of the building! August 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Janet S., Cincinnati The micro suites were great for us 2 couples from Ohio - roomy, clean, nice bedding. Not only were the staff friendly, but a change we had to make in booking went super-smooth. I liked the location - close to downtown, but off the main artery. Our overall experience was very good. August 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by good value, clean rooms The room was very clean, the front desk staff was very helpful and courteous. The only con is the pillows. They were horrible. August 21, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not a good Visit This Time We decided to stay at your location based on proximity to an event we were attending in the area. We have stayed at this property before and found it to economical and convenient. On our last visit (8/2/2013) we were put in a room that the floor was soaked through near the air conditioning. The tub was not clean when we first arrived, the floor needed to be swept in the kitchenette area and there were not enough towels in the room. We will come back again, just wont get this room! August 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and Great location Stayed in Charlotte a lot this year at Holiday inn Charlotte airport but from now on when I'm in Charlotte it will definitely be Candlewood Suites from here on out. August 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Glad we gave it a try! This was our first stay in a Candlewood Suites. It was just one night so we thought we'd give it a try. So glad we did. Everything was great! We signed up for the Rewards Club because we plan to seek out Candlewood Suites whenever we travel now. August 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Time and a Awesome place to stay Everything was great. The people that you have on staff were awesome. There was a young lady who was training at the font desk. She was new to me I've been there a lot, But she is going to be another great person on your team. Her people skills were outstanding and as always the extra call to them room, to make sure that everything is fine with the room goes a long ways to make a person fill good. Your team of people that has been put together,r and the way they all work together is refreshing. July 8, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 next>>
Beautifully Renovated Hotel Entrance
Beautifully Renovated Hotel Entrance
Select to close.
Beautifully Renovated Hotel Entrance Lobby Lounge Lobby Lounge Lobby Lounge Beautifully Renovated Executive Lounge Lobby Lounge Comfortable atmosphere in the Executive Lounge Charlotte Center City
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-21-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-22-2014)
Check Availability
Loading