• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-28-2014)
(e.g. Jul-29-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: CHARLOTTE
  • Distance From Hotel: 8.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:10
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Portuguese

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Charlotte Motor Speedway
Distance From Hotel:4.0MI
Attraction:
Discovery Place
Distance From Hotel:6.0MI
Attraction:
Carowinds Amusement Park
Distance From Hotel:21.0MI
Attraction:
Blumenthal Center Performing Arts
Distance From Hotel:8.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:215
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary tour bus and truck parking available.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:174
  • Total number of suites:1
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:86
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:88
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:173
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:10
  • Executive floors
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:7
  • FEMA Property Number:NC0006

The Beautifully Renovated Charlotte University Hotel

The Holiday Inn Charlotte University is north of Center City and right on Interstate 85, making it convenient to the multitude of businesses and exciting attractions.

Charlotte University City is a prominent financial center, and houses such businesses as Electrolux, AT&T, TIAA CREF, Areva, IBM, Wells Fargo and Wal Mart. Carolinas Medical Center and UNCC are in walking distance or take the hotel shuttle which is available to
View More

The Beautifully Renovated Charlotte University Hotel

The Holiday Inn Charlotte University is north of Center City and right on Interstate 85, making it convenient to the multitude of businesses and exciting attractions.

Charlotte University City is a prominent financial center, and houses such businesses as Electrolux, AT&T, TIAA CREF, Areva, IBM, Wells Fargo and Wal Mart. Carolinas Medical Center and UNCC are in walking distance or take the hotel shuttle which is available to our guests during limited hours, excluding special events and concerts. Return from a long day to our elegantly decorated executive lounge for a drink and a view of Charlotte worth toasting! Finish the night with room service, free Wifi and HD channels on a sleek, 37 inch flat screen.

If you're here to get away from work for a change, we are just minutes from some spectacular hot spots! See a race at Charlotte Motor Speedway or visit the NASCAR Hall of Fame. Sit under the stars at Verizon Wireless Amphitheatre and hear your favorite bands or just go shopping at IKEA furniture and Concord Mills Outlet Mall. Our Red Sky Bistro will provide a fun atmosphere with amazing cuisine for your dining pleasure. Our new lounge is a fabulous venue for reliving the day and slowing down to a nice cool beverage. Take an longer break at the pool , which is open all summer.

Book today and experience what you have always deserved atHoliday Inn Charlotte University!

View Less
Features
Now beautifully renovated hotel, every square inch of the this hotel is fresh and guaranteed to be the biggest value for your dollar! From new rooms, to new restaurant, to new entrances and new smiling faces!

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 117 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Have corkscrew will travel. Everything was just wonderful. Beautiful hotel. Friendly and helpful staff. I had brought my own bottle of wine and nobody could track down 1 corkscrew in the whole place. Weird..... Luckily I had one out in the car. Have corkscrew will travel! August 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel! We loved this hotel. It is clean and in a great neighborhood. Next to shopping and restaurants! August 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay near UNC-C We love staying here close to the campus of UNC-C. The hotel is very clean and convenient and the staff are friendly and helpful. Our only complaint is that they have removed all of the vending machines from the hotel and the only place to buy a soft drink is at the front desk to the tune of $2 for a 12 oz. drink! August 21, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not up to par I stayed at this property for 5 nights. My room was attractive and clean, and the staff was friendly. However, check-in was inefficient; some people waited 20-25 minutes for the only clerk on duty most of that time. The temporary check-in area was messy -- papers and files piled on tables behind the "desk." That made me a bit wary of entrusting my credit card information to an apparently disorganized staff. The noise from the ice machine (which sounded like a train crash) awakened me repeatedly, and the walls between rooms are thin; I could hear the television next door so clearly that I knew what channel they were watching. On the first morning, the 6:30 breakfast was not available. I asked the desk clerk about service, and she had someone come take my order. This made me late to my first meeting. The next day the food was ice cold because no one had lit the Sterno beneath the serving dishes. I skipped breakfast the rest of the week, even though my employer had paid for it. The staff seems stressed and disorganized -- not a happy bunch. August 7, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by On Line. Booking I booked on line for two rooms and was noted that I needed to show my AAA card to get the rate, These rooms were for my guests from out of town and I submitted my credit card to pay for them. When I went by to show my AAA card I was told I would have to fill out paper work so they could use my card. It didn't save me any time booking on line. If I had know I would have this much trouble I would have gone elsewhere. I think if this is your policy I will not book any one else with Holiday inn August 5, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice room...not clean The room and facilities were really nice. The furniture was modern looking and the room had a wonderful "vibe" to it. The lobby was under construction and it would have been nice to know that going in. However, there were plenty of signs telling me which way to go. The negatives were: 1. No remote in my room. A replacement was quickly brought up after I called the front desk 2. In looking for the remote I lifted the bed skirt, BIG MISTAKE!! It was filthy, water bottle, jewelry, dust, dirt, trash and all kinds of junk. 3. Most importantly: The shower had 4-5 hairs at least 5-7" long. One hair in the corner I can deal with but this was bananas! This was enough to make me not want to ever stay there again. I notified the front desk and she apologized and offered me a free breakfast. How about some reward points instead! August 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great place to stay I enjoy over night, quit, close to good restaurants. July 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Charlotte Pride The newly renovated room was superb. The staff was very helpful and professional from check-in to check-out. I received excellent dining recommendations and directions to the car wash. Although I didn't have a chance to eat breakfast during my weekend stay, I'm sure it was good. July 30, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Decent hotel but not for price I booked a room for three nights while I was waiting to move into my new house. There was hair everywhere, in the sheets, on the floor, in the bath tub, hanging off of the shower head and removable shower nozzle, on the towels, and even in the toilet. You could tell the housekeeping was poor because there was dirt left everywhere and nothing had been dusted in a long time. And two ladies at the front desk and one of the housekeepers did not have the best attitude, but it was not overly offensive or anything. The hotel was under renovations so it was very inconvenient to use only one elevator and the noise was very loud. However the location was very nice and everything else seemed to go smoothly. It cost more than I would have liked though, and the breakfast was nothing to brag about, especially since it was tucked away in a corner on the 7th floor. There were also no vending machines that I could find. July 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by guest experience - family reunion My family had a wonderful reunion at this hotel. Our rooms were clean and comfortable and the baths were well stocked. The free wi-fi was reliable and everyone was able to use their electronic devices simultaneously without a problem with drops. The food served for breakfast and during the family banquet was hot, delicious, and plentiful. The staff was courteous and helpful. They knew the Charlotte area and was able to recommend and discuss area highlights. The facilities were under renovation, but the staff ensured that we had a great vacation and reunion. July 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Repeat Visitor The breakfast menu was limited. I found little things wrong in my room (the shower handle came off) and this has been consistent in all of my stays at this hotel, but I have never reported it. Overall I like the direction the property is going. July 16, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by One dirty hotel This is one very dirty property and the front desk staff is worthless. This is one hotel to avoid. July 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice surprise We had a nice clean comfortable room. Although there was a restaurant in the hotel, we got carry out at the Chinese restaurant that was conveniently located next door. No reflection on the restaurant...we just like Chinese. July 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Execptional I travel a lot for business and this property is top notch. Unlike a lot of Holiday Inns this one had a concierge lounge. In addition the employees are really nice and willing to do whatever it takes to make sure you are taken care of, July 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Staff and Service I was mislead by the counter person. She said that the Resturant was being updated and where it was located Temp. She said that they were serving Hot Breakfast there. We went there and our bill was $21.57 for Breakfast! Was I ever ticked!!!!!!!! We were on a 10 day trip and this was the first stay where some kind of breakfast was included. June 18, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by xxx good location bad service poor staff feedback no sleep noisy poor response from management June 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by It was a pleasant stay!!! The staff was welcoming and always pleasant. The room was clean and comfortable. Would definitely stay here again. June 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Room was newly renovated, flat screen tv. Comfortable beds. All ammenities were excellent. Front desk team members were extremely helpful throughout the check in and check out process. Enjoyable stay! June 14, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Front Desk Staff Not Able to Follow Billing Instructions The company I worked for reserved the room with a corporate AmEx card. Upon checking in I provided my Debit Card for the incidental charges. Not two, but three times, the front desk billed the room to my debit card rather than the Corporate AmEx card on file. I approached them three time and they had to contact my bank to have the charges reversed. In each of those time, they claimed the issues was resolved. It turned out to be a MAJOR headache until after the third time they got it right. June 14, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel under construction Hotel allowed two rental trucks to take up 8 parking spots all week. AC did not work in my room upon check-in, was offered reward points for the problem, however a week later and still nothing posted to my account. Front desk claimed they could not print a receipt when I checked out, apparently they could not log in to a computer and another was "down". I made a second trip back to the hotel before leaving for the airport to see if they could yet print my receipt and I was again told no, but that I could get it on-line. A week after check-out I logged into my priority club account and the bill still not available and was instructed to call the hotel. Called the hotel and now they claim to be emailing me a receipt. Not holding my breathe... June 14, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great rest place The was can and very comfortable. Breakfast was over priced for what most Hotel give you free. Overall a good place to rest. June 7, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by minor disappointment The pros were clean room and great location. We moved are reservation from Belmont Holiday Inn to the University Holiday Inn location. Location to UNC Charlotte was one reason, but another reason was the availability of on site restaurant & lounge. I think we should have been informed of the renovation of the restaurant. The restaurant was relocated to what appeared to be a small meeting room. Therefore the disappointment. Luckily the hotel location was excellent and we were able to access local restaurants. I would definitely recommend this property once the renovation is complete. June 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A 5 star experience at a affordable price The hotel and rooms are newly rentivated. Everything is gorgeous! May 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by The whole room was great. Everything was great except for the remodeling inside and outside. May 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service! We enjoyed this hotel, it is nice, clean, upgraded and the staff make it. Caroline at the front desk was over and above nice and helpful! May 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable room and great service The staff was great in service and the room was clean and comfortable. May 25, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Construction, Construction, Construction. I was devistated when I arrived at the property to see almost the entire first floor under construction. No one told us or even discounted the price due to all the inconviences that we had to encounter. There are so many hotels in the area that if I had know the extent of the construction I would have stayed elsewhere. I was appauled when I was sitting at the 4 seat bar, having a beer and asked where the rest rooms where and being told they are under construction and you have to go up to your room to use a rest room. Also the breakfast area, had one person working. I sat down and no one came to the table for 15 minutes. I got up to ask the person at the cash register if I could have coffee and he said yes be with you in a minute. 10 minutes later I got up and left. Terrible service. Overall I would not recommend this property till the construction is completed and all the bugs worked out. May 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service Hotel was very clean and service in all areas was good. Highly recommend. May 10, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by It was ok, but nothing special The room was fine, and the service at the desk was good. The breakfast service was lacking at first, but got a little better as more people came in. May 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Room, Disappointed with Service We arrived to a lobby area in renovation that the hotel had nicely curtained off so as to remove the view of the work being done. Pleasant enough check in. Later in the evening we went to look for the ice machine and beverages. According to the book in the room it would be easy to find. After not finding the beverages, we went to the front desk. He proceeded to offer a limited selection of the smallest of bottles (10oz?) for a whopping $2. He explained the renovations caused the lost of the machines. $2.00? I think they should had been at cost but it appears that there is a profit to be made during inconvenience. I would go there again, just take my own beverages. May 2, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 next>>
Beautifully Renovated Hotel Entrance
Beautifully Renovated Hotel Entrance
Select to close.
Beautifully Renovated Hotel Entrance Lobby Lounge Lobby Lounge Lobby Lounge Beautifully Renovated Executive Lounge Lobby Lounge Comfortable atmosphere in the Executive Lounge Charlotte Center City
Select to close.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-28-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-29-2014)
Check Availability
Loading