• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-29-2014)
(e.g. Jul-30-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: CHARLOTTE
  • Distance From Hotel: 8.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:10
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Portuguese

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Charlotte Motor Speedway
Distance From Hotel:4.0MI
Attraction:
Discovery Place
Distance From Hotel:6.0MI
Attraction:
Carowinds Amusement Park
Distance From Hotel:21.0MI
Attraction:
Blumenthal Center Performing Arts
Distance From Hotel:8.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:215
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary tour bus and truck parking available.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:174
  • Total number of suites:1
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:86
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:88
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:173
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:10
  • Executive floors
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:7
  • FEMA Property Number:NC0006

The Beautifully Renovated Charlotte University Hotel

The Holiday Inn Charlotte University is north of Center City and right on Interstate 85, making it convenient to the multitude of businesses and exciting attractions.

Charlotte University City is a prominent financial center, and houses such businesses as Electrolux, AT&T, TIAA CREF, Areva, IBM, Wells Fargo and Wal Mart. Carolinas Medical Center and UNCC are in walking distance or take the hotel shuttle which is available to
View More

The Beautifully Renovated Charlotte University Hotel

The Holiday Inn Charlotte University is north of Center City and right on Interstate 85, making it convenient to the multitude of businesses and exciting attractions.

Charlotte University City is a prominent financial center, and houses such businesses as Electrolux, AT&T, TIAA CREF, Areva, IBM, Wells Fargo and Wal Mart. Carolinas Medical Center and UNCC are in walking distance or take the hotel shuttle which is available to our guests during limited hours, excluding special events and concerts. Return from a long day to our elegantly decorated executive lounge for a drink and a view of Charlotte worth toasting! Finish the night with room service, free Wifi and HD channels on a sleek, 37 inch flat screen.

If you're here to get away from work for a change, we are just minutes from some spectacular hot spots! See a race at Charlotte Motor Speedway or visit the NASCAR Hall of Fame. Sit under the stars at Verizon Wireless Amphitheatre and hear your favorite bands or just go shopping at IKEA furniture and Concord Mills Outlet Mall. Our Red Sky Bistro will provide a fun atmosphere with amazing cuisine for your dining pleasure. Our new lounge is a fabulous venue for reliving the day and slowing down to a nice cool beverage. Take an longer break at the pool , which is open all summer.

Book today and experience what you have always deserved atHoliday Inn Charlotte University!

View Less
Features
Now beautifully renovated hotel, every square inch of the this hotel is fresh and guaranteed to be the biggest value for your dollar! From new rooms, to new restaurant, to new entrances and new smiling faces!

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 139 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pleased I would recommend this place,Me my wife had brought our 9 year old granddaughter to huntersville for a bowling tournament,Staff was very nice and helpful. May 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay ! Clean,and friendly staff. They went far and beyond to make us feel at home. May 12, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by poor management/housekeeping I stay at a lot of HIEX hotels and I have stayed at this hotel before and had better experiences. My wife and I left the hotel at 10am on Sunday morning and returned at 8pm and the room had not been cleaned. I called the desk and was told it was too late to do anything about it but if I came down to the desk she would give me a new set of towels [not I will bring you a set of towels]. i went down to the desk and retrieved the towels but felt that there should have been an adjustment to my bill and there was not. In addition, the room was generally clean although the cord for the hair dryer should have been replaced a while ago as it was stretched way out of shape and it took a while to get all the knots out of it before it could be used. Seems like a well trained housekeeping staff would have noticed this and got it replaced. On leaving the next morning I noticed the housekeepers were cleaning rooms while watching TV, probably too distracted to notice problems. Also I had to wait 5 mins at an empty front desk before I could check out. The front desk shouldnt go unattended that long. May 11, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by breakfast The breakfast was so so, nothing special, juice watered down, not real juice, variety of items was less than average, nothing special. But the coffee was good, so that made up for everything else. May 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful King Suite Enjoyed the couch from which we could comfortably relax after our long drive from Florida and watch the large HD TV. Also appreciated the separate lighted vanity area adjacent to the bathroom as well as the mini-kitchen. Very friendly and helpful staff. Did not utilize but noticed that kitchenware is available from the front desk and appreciated that feature. Easy on and off the highway. Plenty of nearby dining choices. One of our favorite Holiday Inn Express stays, and we have had many! May 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A great stay This is a brand new hotel . Defiantly would stay here again . have stayed in many H inn Ex , this ranks among the best facility . April 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel & GREAT Staff I have stayed at this property two different times for 4 days each visit. The property is very clean and the rooms were very relaxing. The location of the hotel is very convenient to shopping and interstate access. I was verrrrry impressed and will certainly be staying here again in the future. The staff was most helpful and always eager to please their guests. If I could, I would give this property a 12 rating out of a 1-10 scale. I would definitely recommend this hotel. April 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Pleasant Stay Very comfortable accomodations. Good breakfast and coffee. Staff was very cordial and friendly. Location is convenient to several good shopping areas. April 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Disregard the "Not Bad, but Probably Won't Stay Here Again" review I am sorry, but it wasn't until I hit submit that I realized I was reviewing the Holiday Inn Express that I stayed at last week in North Carolina instead of the one I stayed at this past Tuesday night. I had no issues with the Holiday Inn Express in Huntersville and would stay there again. April 10, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not Bad, but Probably Won't Stay Here Again... Overall this is what I consider to be a typical Holiday Inn Express in terms of quality of rooms and amenities. They are fairly consistent across the country and if you like them you will like this one. I will share a few specifics that made my experience less than satisfactory. 1 - I was on the 3rd floor and the wireless internet connected at 11Mbps with low quality. I would expect better and it made doing work slower than it should be. It was late at night when I arrived, so I did not complain about it as I was tired anyway. 2 - The breakfast area is set up with 2 long tables and no 4 person or 2 person tables. When I arrived for breakfast around 8am, both tables had groups of people that were obviously there for some sort of meeting, and I had to sit at the end of one of the tables where I felt like I was being intrusive. I do not think breakfast at the Holiday Inn Express should be set up as family style dining... 3 - I am very confident I left a charger for my bluetooth headset device in my room as I put the headset on for a conference call prior to leaving the room and was on that call for the next hour until I reached my destination. When I went to put the device back in its case, it was not where I normally keep it. I called the hotel and the person that answered did not do or offer to do anything extra to help me. She basically said I would just have to wait to see if Housekeeping found it and turned it in. I searched all my bags and the rental car I had, and the charger was not found. I am confident it was left in the hotel room; but I did not ever get a call from the hotel. I did call back again and spoke to a different person who was at least sympathetic and made me believe she would go look; but I did not get a call. April 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always a pleasant stay! We stay here for several nights a couple of times a year....always a great stay, helpful staff and a pleasant environment to be in. April 9, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Front desk and bedding Front desk staff at check in was a rude trying to be funny. I did not appreciate. Just wanted the key. Bedding appear to have been slept in previously. Worst experience I have had at a HI in years. April 7, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good but........ My overall stay at your hotel was good but I have one major complaint. I worked night shift for the power plant in the area. The last time I stayed at this hotel, they had a cleaning crew come in later in the evening (after 6pm) to service the rooms of the people working night shift. This time they said they had an early crew that would clean the room from 8-9am. This doesn't work to well when you get off of work a 6am and would have to stay up for 2-3 hrs for them to clean the room. I don't know why this changed from the previous year. I never had my room cleaned once in almost 3 weeks. When I would ask for more towels the guys that was working the front desk always looked annoyed and kept telling me that I should just have the maids bring towels when they cleaned my room. I couldn't get him to understand that the hotel didn't have anybody serevicing rooms that worked for me. It was annoying enough that I more than likely will not stay at this hotel again. April 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff Everyone on the staff was great! I would stay here again. March 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Front Desk Employee - Brian We wanted to let this hotel know that Brian (I am 98%sure this is his name), was the most pleasant person we have ever met at a hotel. As we travbelled thru USA there was one chain the beach of Mrytle Beach I told them they should send their employees to see Brian to learn some hospitality. Thanks Brian for setting up my laptop for me!!!!! Hope to met again!!!!!!!!!! March 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great room. This was the nicest room we've had at a Holiday Inn Express yet. If I was on a business trip I could easily spend a week here. And it was less expensive than some. The people at the desk were very pleasant.. The only problem was that they didn't answer the phone, not when we called from the road or from our room. But, other than that, great experience all around. March 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by stayting at this hotel clean, quiet room. very comfortable bed. hotel staff friendly and helpful March 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and a lot of room We had a wonderful stay at this location. The staff guided us to some nice resturants in the area. We couldn't of asked for a nicer room. Will stay here on my next trip in this area. March 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quiet The property was great, breakfast worked well, and room was nice and clean. The greatest thing though was the low noise level. We, being in our mid 60's, loved it. March 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service I would recommend this hotel for anyone wanting to relax. The rooms are large and the beds are very comfortable. There is a variety of choices to suit everyone for breakfast and the hot foods are hot. The customer service representatives are friendly and knowledgeable about the area and what's going on. March 15, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by What a mess! By far this was the dirtiest Holiday Inn Express I have ever stayed at. Over 100 nights a year is my norm. Garbage in the hallway on Sunday night and it was there when I checked out on Wed morning! I brought it to the attention of the desk and he blew me off "we will look into that". The lobby bathroom were unusable due to no paper, toilets stuffed and plugged. This is a HIE I will avoid at any cost! March 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Recent stay in NC we recently visited the north Carolina area and stayed at the huntersville Holiday Inn. It was very clean, the room was nice and the bed was very comfortable. Check in was super efficient and the breakfast buffet in the morning was great. Overall great experience, March 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxing atmosphere and attractive room design We enjoyed the room layout. It felt like a studio apartment. The furniture and carpeting were attractive and clean. March 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Extended Stay Here Was Good Stayed here for 2-1/2 weeks in February while working at the Duke Energy - McGuire nuclear plant. The suite on the 5th floor was clean, spacious and quiet. The manager's reception food on Tuesday & Wednesday was tasty and very convenient on nights when I stayed in got ready for another long day at work. Un fortunately, I was never able to enjoy the full breakfast fare since our work day started too early, (and we were working 7 days a week). But, they did have enough breakfast stuff laid out so I could start the day with coffee, juice, cereal, a hot cinnamon roll, etc. My only wish was for in-house laundry facilities, but using the nearby laundromat worked out fine. February 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great People I checked in 2-18 at the end of a long day of driving and was hungry and tired. The person on the front desk was very friendly, made checking easy, recommended a good place to eat and was very attentive.. She made me feel like home although it was the first time I had stayed at your hotel. I can nassure you that I will return. February 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Treated like royalty Can't go into the details but these folks know how to go the extra mile. February 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice room & Soft & Clean Towels Was Visiting Davidson College & found this hotel in between CLT and the college (beautiful), right off I-77. This hotel had a Manager's Happy Hour on Tues. Food was so-so, but it saved me from having to go out to dinner. The fitness room was good, but it didn't have any towels left. I saw the outdoor pool but didn't try it. My room was spacious and it had a fridge and a microwave. The flat screen TV could rotate so you could watch it while sitting at the table of if you were on the bed. The bathroom was nice, except for the shower head. I don't know if they have water restrictions in the Charlotte area, but the shower pressure was weak. At least they had very nice, soft towels, and they smelled clean...not bleached out.. Ditto with the bed sheets and pillow covers. I was surprised at their breakfast offering in the morning. The scrambled eggs were actually fairly decent and I never have seen a machine that makes pancakes after pushing a button and delivers them on a conveyor belt. Check out was easy. I would definitely recommend the hotel for the price and proximity to the interstate. February 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by nice hotel I stay here when in the LKN area. Very comfortable and clean. Large, well laid out rooms. Very courteous staff. February 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient location Stayed here twice in one week (had to leave for one overnight elsewhere in the middle of the stay). Very typical Holiday Inn Express experience, which is overall a positive. Wish the pool had been indoors, since it was very cold while we were there. We stayed both times in a King suite with a couch and little kitchenette area, and didn't like how the bed was positioned to look right at the toilet in the bathroom - sort of an awkward and uncomfortable layout. Otherwise, though, it was a comfortable stay, and we were treated very well by the friendly staff. February 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Business Hotel I am a regular guest at this hotel because of the great staff. They are friendly, accommodating and always go out of their way to make sure I have everything I need. The hotel is spotless and the breakfast is always well-prepared. I book early so I always have a room....this one fills up fast during the business week! January 31, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Beautifully Renovated Hotel Entrance
Beautifully Renovated Hotel Entrance
Select to close.
Beautifully Renovated Hotel Entrance Lobby Lounge Lobby Lounge Lobby Lounge Beautifully Renovated Executive Lounge Lobby Lounge Comfortable atmosphere in the Executive Lounge Charlotte Center City
Select to close.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-29-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-30-2014)
Check Availability
Loading