• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Apr-19-2014)
(e.g. Apr-20-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: CHESTER
  • Distance From Hotel: 2.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-00:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 16
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:2
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Afrikaans
  2. English
  3. Spanish
  4. Indonesian
  5. Polish
  6. Portuguese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Guide Dogs Accepted

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Tatton Park and Gardens
Distance From Hotel:35.0MI
Attraction:
Oulton Park - Racing track
Distance From Hotel:25.0MI
Attraction:
Llandudno Coastline
Distance From Hotel:40.0MI
Attraction:
Conway Castle
Distance From Hotel:40.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary on-site parking for residents and members only. For those guests wishing to leave their cars, please contact reception for details.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all Elite IHG® Rewards Club members
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Business Center
Standard Room Wireless Fee for Non-Elite IHG® Rewards Club Members:£ 16.00 16.0  GBP

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:143
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:143
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:2
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:2

Choose the convenient Holiday Inn Chester-South hotel to get to meetings with ease and relax in our health club.

Manchester Airport is 35 miles away from Holiday Inn Chester-South, which is just off the A55 road and has a complimentary car park. Take a dip in our heated pool, or relax in the courtyard garden.

It's easy to keep on top of work at Holiday Inn Chester-South with wireless Internet in all Guest rooms and public spaces. Chester Business Park is next
View More

Choose the convenient Holiday Inn Chester-South hotel to get to meetings with ease and relax in our health club.

Manchester Airport is 35 miles away from Holiday Inn Chester-South, which is just off the A55 road and has a complimentary car park. Take a dip in our heated pool, or relax in the courtyard garden.

It's easy to keep on top of work at Holiday Inn Chester-South with wireless Internet in all Guest rooms and public spaces. Chester Business Park is next door with companies Bank of America, Marks and Spencers Finance and Regus located there. Your meeting in the city centre is only 2.5 mile drive away. The industrial town of Ellesmere Port, with major firms like Shell and General Motors, is 8 miles away.

You'll feel revived after a workout in the Spirit Health Club at Holiday Inn Chester South.

View Less
Features
Chester Zoo tickets can be purchased with reception on check in for a discounted price.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 173 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Anniversary Weekend Break My wife and i bookesd the hotel for our wedding anniversary weekend, from the moment we arrived the staff were very helpful and welcoming. before we arrived i phoned and asked if i could have some champagne and flowers put in the room for a surprise for my wife on our arrival, which the staff did with no fuss at all, the flowers were stunning. The room was very comfortable and overlooked the race course which the staff did for us as it was our anniversary, nice little touch. We have already decided to go back and stay for our anniversary at the Crowne Plaza next year as the experience was so enjoyable. April 26, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place to stay Stayed at this hotel a few times before and would not look anywhere else. Good location and good service Wish they would fix the noisy doors on the Lower Ground level! April 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great weekend Needed a quiet relaxing weekend to re-charge batteries. Got great service; good facilities; and good food. Staff were very friendly and efficient. Good value also. Good location April 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Exceleent service and good value We stayed for the one night in Chester and went to the zoo the following day. Big savings on the room and zoo package highly recommended. Great location easy to find and ammeneties were first class especially the pool which we all enjoyed without costing another penny. Breakfastt was su[erb ad set us up for the day. Definately return to this great hotel. Hotel was a bit on the warm side at night even with the heating turned off minor niggle April 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic staff Make this a great hotel Had a lovely stay; Staff made us welcome from the start; room was lovely; Late check out was a massive plus and the location is perfect for a night out in Chester> Bit pricey for every time but for a treat, fab! April 12, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Execellent Easter Break My family and I have recently stayed at the Crowne Plaza Chester, which we all thoroughly enjoyed. We stayed on the all inclusive package, which was a fantastic deal. The staff coiuldnt do enough for us; they were polite, obliging and very helpful. The kids particularly enjoyed going in the pool, which is ideal for children. I would recemmend this hotel to any family, its fab! April 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location Almost in the middle of Chester this hotel must be hard to beat. Within easy walking distance of shops, restaurants, race track and the beautiful Chester city walls. Breakfast was outstanding as was the service. Our special dietary request was catered for without any problem and in fact with a smile. We had some treatments in the Spa that were a very special treat. A truly lovely 3 night break that could not be faulted. Would certainly return and recommend. April 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent friendly and helpful staff Lovely clean well-maintained hotel filled with such wonderful helpful staff for whom nothing was too much trouble. I stayed with a large conference so the hotel was full and VERY busy and yet the staff were unflappable, always smiling and looked happy in their work. For a large chain hotel, this one had an individual friendly happy atmosphere rather than the usual polite but uninspiring corporate feel. I would definitely recommend and would love to stay again (if only I didn't live so close that only a conference could really justify it!). Only disappointment was the swimming pool which is small. March 31, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not impressed Frequently understaffed and an overpriced conference meal which was poorly managed (late, less than 10 waiters for over 200 people, not very tasty or value for money, the whole meal took to long to serve and while waiting for coffee (either because it was not ready or because they had different priorities) the staff decided to pick up the dirty dishes of people who had left and when I asked for my coffee I had to wait 10 minutes further). The hotel was clean and suitable for the conference however. I am surprised I was sent a feedback form to post online as I turned two feedback forms in with many of my comments, many negative. Perhaps they are so honest they want me to post them? March 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxed, comfortable and great service My stay at the Crowne Plaza was for a conference being held there. Facilities were excellent and without exception the staff went out of their way to be helpful, welcoming and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. A very pleasant stay. March 30, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff but very "tired" bedrooms The staff at Crowne Plaza Chester have been well trained and are extremely customer-focussed while also being friendly. I have stayed at this hotel many times over the past 3 years. The location of the hotel is very convenient for all the town centre restaurants, shops etc. On the negative side the bedrooms are poorly furnished by today's standards and the sitting chair is often permanently soiled. I have written to Crowne Plaza previously regarding this complaint but have never received an acknowledgement. March 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Central City Location First Class Hotel in a Central location easy walk into Chester town centre. Extremely helpful staff I highly recommend this hotel One comment the steam room by the pool was out of order the day I stayed. I think they should have a sign stating why the steam room is out of order and how many days they have waited for this to be repaired. This would show how open and honest they are and I believe encourage them to make the repair. Otherwise another perfect stay March 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Situation In Chester This was probably our 4th or 5th stay at hotel. Everything was as expected - comfortable room, good leisure facilities and excellent location. The only thing to spoil our stay was the absence of robes in our executive room and a poorly stocked mini-bar. We mentioned these problems at reception at about 7.30pm as we left for a meal out and were promised that they would be rectified. On returning later, the robes had been delivered but sadly, the mini - bar had not been re-stocked. We only had 2 bottles of wine, one bottle of water and a chocolate bar. It is not the service we expect when staying in an executive room. March 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall Service From checking in through to checking out the following day, the staff I encountered always greeted me with a smile and a warm welcome. The staff were extremely helpful and at all times and conducted themsleves in a pleasant and professional manner. Should I need to stay in Chester again, I will choose the Crowne Plaza over any other hotel. March 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great location in a lovely town Excellant location , short walk into Chester . Very helpful and friendly staff .Rooms well furnished and a good size. March 20, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good base for a visit to Chester Very friendly welcome. It has all the amenities you will require during your stay and is very well situated, being only a couple of minutes walk from all the shops and places of interest in the city center. The only drawback is the limited on site car parking, a couple of times I have had to use the nearby NCP. March 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Chester Crown Plazza One of the best hotels I have stayed in. Spacious rooms and layout. The decor was just stunning in a grand way around the bar and restaurant areas. The staff were absolutley brilliant. The hotel is situated literally a stones through away from Chester's famous shopping area so carrying christmas presents back was no issue at all and we made 2 trips on foot into the town centre. Look out for a busker with a violin in the main shopping area as this will probably be the world renowned Ed Alleyn Johnson. We saw him on our last trip and that just topped of a brilliant weekend. March 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A good stay My Five nights at Chester Crowne Plaza were very comfortable. I could not fault the room or bathroom. Breakfast very good apart from the day my poached eggs got lost which was quickly resolved. Had a package including dinner with a good choice on the menu. I enjoyed the stay and as the hotel is in the centre of chester so did my wife as Chester is good for shopping. March 7, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Parking issue My husband and myself had looked forward to this weekend away as booked by our daughter as a present. She had paid for the whole weekend including car parking. On arrival there were no parking spaces in the hotel car park. We were given a pass to put in the car window and told to park in the short stay car park. We did this and being a Saturday it was quite busy. We proceeded to park the car and the car parked in the adjacent bay was over the white lines. This gave us no alternative but to go over the lines ourselves. You can image how furious we were on Sunday morning to find that we had been issued with a £50 parking fine. This, on top of the fact that my daughter had already paid £15 to park, put a total dampener on the weekend. I also wish to say that on the Saturday night I requested a bathrobe and had to wait 25 minutes before this was received. I put the lights on which illuminate the underside of the bedside cabinet and the carpet was dirty, very, very dusty. The cooked breakfast on both Sunday and Monday morning was cold. There was plenty to choose from but a hot breakfast should in fact be hot. Out first experience in Chester was spoilt by the fact that we now have a £50 fine to pay, the first my husband has received in over 40 years of driving. (The hotel did refund the £15.00 car park cost but the weekend was still spoilt by having received the ticket) March 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Stayed for a night with husband before he went off on his travels. Hotel very clean and in an excellent location, main shopping area just a few minutes away. Staff very friendly nothing too much trouble. We chose an executive room which allows you to use the Club Lounge, serving canapés and drinks 5-8pm. This was ideal because we could have a few canapés to stop hunger pangs before our evening meal (9pm). This is our second visit and we will be visiting again. February 24, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Birthday stay in Chester We both enjoyed our stay tremendously. After initial confusion over the parking the Reception staff were excellent as were the facilities. We enjoyed the leisure facilities and the night life that Chester had to offer, just 5 minutes away! Look forward to staying again. February 20, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Over Charged We have enjoyed many nights at the Plaza and always enjoyed our time at the hotel. sadly ! following our latest visit i recieved a bank statement informing me that I was now overdrawn and would be charged for the service? After investigating the causation of my overdraft I found the hotel had overcharged my account. When i got through to the accounts team, I recieved no apology and was informed that my monies would be repaid into my account within 5 day's. I did explain the problems i now faced with my bank but was informed " that was your problem" sadly i do not know if I can trust the staff at the Plaza to manage my finances correctly and will have to have a long think about returning. February 18, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely hotel We have stayed here on many occasions. The hotel is in a central location so walking to the city is a few minutes away. The reception staff are very nice and nothing is too much trouble. All the staff are always happy to help. The rooms are very clean with a good size bathroom & comfortable beds. One down side the last two times we have stayed breakfast has been a problem. There is not enough staff walking & therefore tables are left with dirty plates. This also means you have to wait for a table. Good choice of breakfast & the chef cooks alternatives such as omelettes very nice. All the staff work very hard just more needed including a staff member to re-stock rather than the manager trying to do it. Look forward to our next visit. February 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend Break That Really Was My Wife and I booked a weekend break here planning to combine a weekend break with a reunion with old friends.From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome by the very polite and helpfull receptionist. Our room was comfortable and spotlessly clean and ,after going out for a short walk,we went into the club lounge for canapes and drinks. The lounge was cosy with a good atmosphere and a good selection of drinks and nibbles which were frequently replenished.That night we ate in the hotel restaurant (Silks)and were impressed by the choice on the menu and by the food and service itself.we were also impressed by the hotel`s late weekend breakfast- served till 11.30 Sat+Sun. My Wife had used the pool.sauna etc and had commented on how clean both the pool and changing room areas were. Then Sat evening was when our weekend took a turn for the worse and the hotel staff came into their own.On our way out my Wife fell breaking and dislocating her elbow.After spending many hours with her at the Countess of Chester hospital I returned to the hotel tired and upset by myself at approx 1.30 am.The night receptionist was most helpful,arranging for the sandwiches I had ordered to be waiting for me in the bar while I took my Wifes things back to our room.The barman himself was a great help offering sympathy and support.The same thing can be said about the staff at breakfast-very helpful.We had already been given a complimentary late checkout at 2pm but the receptionist,who was already aware that my wife had undergone surgery and was still in hospital, kindly offered to let me keep thed room and car parking space until 6 pm if it would help. I had already packed the car up and had arranged to visit friends while waiting to hear if my wife could come home, but her offer was very much appreciated. I would like to pass on my thanks to all the staff at the Crowne Plaza, Chester for their help and support during this time. We will definitely return when my wife`s arm has healed. Thanks again. February 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Family stay in Chester I booked 2 rooms for an overnight stay for my husband and I and our daughter, husband and 2 small children. The king-size bedrooms were just what was needed - plenty of room for our daughter's little ones, who like to share the bed with them. We booked the dinner, b&b rate and were quite happy with menu offered. The restaurant was child-friendly, with the children's menu FOC when eating from set menu. Breakfast was good, with plenty of choice and available until 11.30. Reception staff very helpful, offered travel cot if needed for children. We also enjoyed using the swimming pool and sauna. February 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful staff, Lovely Atmosphere Stayed for two nights, very comfortable room with good amenities. Hotel had a very pleasant atmosphere. Didn't dine in but made use of the wonderful spa (highly recommended). All of the staff we encountered were polite, friendly and very helpful. All four in our party thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we all await the chance to return. Thanks for a lovely weekend. February 15, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by good hotel, poor reception staff i live in hotels around the country fourtysix weeks of the year so feel reasonabley qualified to comment, something i do not normaley do but on this ocasion i felt the need to, i stayed here for two weeks buisness required it to be the case and i have not recently stopped at a hotel where the receptionist's mostly from a country other than england are so full of ther own self importance they seem to have totaley forgoten that they are there to help and assist there guest's not these ladies if you should make the mistake it would seem as i did and that is to book by a third party like me last minute .com you could not be allocated premier points or even have the room you booked because they did not deem it fit or reasonable to do so i could say a great deal more but won't other than saying on my last evening before check out i witnessed yet another dispute with a receptionist and guest that got very unpleaseant for both parties concerned pureley because the receptionist concerned had forgoten what she and her coleagues are there for and are employed to do and that is to give a service to the (paying) guest that stay at (there) hotel, would i stay at this hotel again absolutely not perish the thought definateley no, no, no, there's plenty of choice around chester without having you stay spoiled by stayig at this place urgh, February 10, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Past its Sell by Date My wife and I stayed for a weekend at the end of January. We were allocated an upgrade to an executive suite, beware, they are at the extremities of the building and are cold and dowdy. The deal was for a bed and breakfast package in an executive room., However, we were told on checking in our breakfast must be continental, taken in the executive lounge. This came as a surprise as there was no mention of this on their web site. Upon mentioning our dismay to the duty manager on the second day, we were given compilmentary breakfast vouchers. Adding to our feeling of being second class guests, but welcome. In our room 339 the central heating was not controlable. As it snowed on the Friday we contacted reception several times requesting the issue be addressed. I must say that the stories from reception why the heating was as it was were bizarre, nevertheless a duty manager called out maintenance who rectified the problem. The staff are the redeeming feature of this hotel. I could write negative paragraphs of this hotel, but to be fair, it is old and needs refurbishment (I had to insert toilet paper in the space between the window and the frame to stop draught and noise, bathroom towel rail bar fell off, toilet seat loose ...) I think the staff tried to make our stay pleasant and to a degree, succeeded, but for them it would have been a nightmare. February 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by overall lovely hotel stayed here in january, the staff are first class and very friendly especially in the dining area. the rooms are very clean and nice and the location to the city centre is second to none. overall the hotel is excellent and the bar prices were not really different to the local city centre pubs. February 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Welcoming, warm and friendly; my favourite place to stay We stayed for 5 days over New Year 2012, and we much needed the rest and the comfortable pampering after an arduous and stressful time throughout the prior year. We've stayed many times before and the hotel is always consistently excellent; we are always greeted politely and it may well be a good marketing ploy, but the staff know us the moment we walk through the foyer. That is always the start to a great break, it makes you feel welcomed, special and individual. We stayed on Club level 4, where there is much peace and quiet to be enjoyed; even on New Years eve with the whole of Chester celebrating, our family had no troubles or problems with any noise whatsoever. In fact, the whole evening of New Years eve was a joy with the various functions guests paying lots of attention to our 2 young sons, it felt a very happy, welcoming and joyous place to be and made for the most memorable New Year we have enjoyed for a long, long, time. The rooms [on Club level, anyway] are always spotlessly clean and are contemporary and spacious, and are so relaxing....it really is a pleasure to stay here. The bar and restaurant staff are always willing to go that extra yard for you, nothing seems too much trouble; I witnessed a slightly inebriated elderly member of the public insulting and berating a member of staff, causing trouble for them when there was no need to and yet the member of staff was polite, professional and conciliatory when really they should have not tolerated-for a moment-such behaviour. That imbues good feelings, you know that you will be treated well if there is even the slightest of problems. Extra marks for Chris and Magda, Wayne and the other reception members of staff whose names I did not catch; Chris has been welcoming us for 2 years now and it was his initial welcome there that has made us return time after time. They all are an asset to the company. I'd recommend to anyone [and I do....we've had loads of friends and family visit here since we started staying here] that you visit and choose the club level, as a special treat for yourself and your family; between 5 and 8 PM, the family group can use the facilities of the main bar, under club 'criteria' and that is a real bonus, as there is so much space for the children to sit and eat. I can't wait to go back and our family always talk about the next time we are going. Thank you to all the staff, for making some great memories and happy times for us. January 24, 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 next>>
Swimming Pool
Swimming Pool
Select to close.
Swimming Pool Chester Zoo - Area Attractions Mural of Chester located in the Lobby Area Landscape Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Have pizza and soda delivered to your room with our in-room pizza package.  Book Now!