• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Aug-20-2014)
(e.g. Aug-21-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: CHESTER
  • Distance From Hotel: 2.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT+01:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 16
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:2
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Afrikaans
  2. English
  3. Spanish
  4. Indonesian
  5. Polish
  6. Portuguese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Guide Dogs Accepted

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Chester Race Course
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI
Attraction:
Broughton Retail Park for Shopping
Distance From Hotel:4.0MI
Attraction:
Chester Zoo
Distance From Hotel:7.0MI
Attraction:
Crusaders Rugby League @ Wrexham AFC
Distance From Hotel:7.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary on-site parking for residents and members only. For those guests wishing to leave their cars, please contact reception for details.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all IHG® Rewards Club members
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Business Center
Standard Room Wireless Fee for Non Members:£ 16.00 16.0  GBP

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:143
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:143
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:2
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:2

Choose the convenient Holiday Inn Chester-South hotel to get to meetings with ease and relax in our health club.

Manchester Airport is 35 miles away from Holiday Inn Chester-South, which is just off the A55 road and has a complimentary car park. Take a dip in our heated pool, or relax in the courtyard garden.

It's easy to keep on top of work at Holiday Inn Chester-South with wireless Internet in all Guest rooms and public spaces. Chester Business Park is next
View More

Choose the convenient Holiday Inn Chester-South hotel to get to meetings with ease and relax in our health club.

Manchester Airport is 35 miles away from Holiday Inn Chester-South, which is just off the A55 road and has a complimentary car park. Take a dip in our heated pool, or relax in the courtyard garden.

It's easy to keep on top of work at Holiday Inn Chester-South with wireless Internet in all Guest rooms and public spaces. Chester Business Park is next door with companies Bank of America, Marks and Spencers Finance and Regus located there. Your meeting in the city centre is only 2.5 mile drive away. The industrial town of Ellesmere Port, with major firms like Shell and General Motors, is 8 miles away.

You'll feel revived after a workout in the Spirit Health Club at Holiday Inn Chester South.

View Less
Features
Chester Zoo tickets can be purchased with reception on check in for a discounted price.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 273 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very comfy bed but room too hot The hotel is very nice, staff friendly and helpful. Lounge is okay, they could serve drinks a bit later than just til 8pm. Location is perfect as its right in the heart of Chester. Restaurants and Shops just a minute walk away. Really enjoyed my 3 weeks stay. Only downside was the room temperature. It was way too hot in the room all the time. Had to run the air conditioner 24h on 16C to reduce temp to a normal level. March 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great city, nice hotel, slow check out We enjoyed a great visit to chester and they loved the City, the hotel location rooms, food and staff were very pleasant and if anything exceeded our expectations' even after making allowances for the building work obviously going on in the lobby and reception. However when we came to check out we were very surprised to see that there was only 1 person on the check out desk.At 7.20 am on a busy workday, with 2 people already ahead of us, we became concerned about our schedule. The check out lady did her best to clear the people ahead and us as quickly as possible and admirably remanded calm, We suggested someone else was called and so did other people in the ever growing queue. As a queue of several more increasingly frustrated people built I'm sure the last person in the queue had a very long wait. I have waited in posting this complaint in the hope my survey and my complaint to the customer services team would get a response, but no reply, which is very disappointing ? Nobody checks out of a hotel extra earlier than they have to and especially at 7.30 am!, and I'm sure every person in the checkout queue that day was late for their next appointment. I have checked in and out of hundreds of hotels, including huge and really busy ones and because this was totally avoidable and can only be down to bad management, I have to say that this was one of the most frustrating and awkward hotel check out experience I have experienced. Even worse I left embarrassed for my guests and to hear my important customers discussing and asking why I recommended this hotel? Lovely hotel and great location, nice staff, just recommend if you stay here that you check out 30 mins early that's all! Sorry Crown plaza Chester, but you get my worst check out experience to date award! March 2, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by in need of refurburbishment We booked this hotel as we pass it regularly when we visit Chester,on checking in we were asked if we would like a room upgrade due to my husband being a ambassador member .we agreed thinking we would have a superior room .When we went to the room we were both so disappointed ,the room was small and poky and was nothing like we have experienced in crown plazas before , all in all a disappointing hotel February 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Hotel Excellent Hotel in a fantastic location I highly recommend this hotel staff are first class, friendly and very helpful. The interior of the hotel is modern and tasteful the bedrooms have the largest bed I have ever slept in and the room was spotless if you want to chill out and relax the spar is the place to visit. In the morning the self service buffet breakfast was fantastic . We visit Chester a few times a year and will make the Crowne Plaza out first choice hotel . February 26, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by NOT GOOD ENOUGH Being a Platinum PC Member for the last few years, I always go out of my way to stay at an IHG property - the Crown Plaza Chester being the first visit, with me booking 2 rooms here. I must point out that the hotel was going through quite a significant renovation during my stay, so I accepetd that there would be noise through the day time and some disruption around the hotel. Upon Check-in, it was acknowledged that I was a Platinum member, however, no complementary room upgrade was offered (the hotel seemed far from full). I also had to 'suggest' that I was given access to the Club Lounge. I entered my room, and straight away realised why there was a renovation taking place - the room looked like my granny's living room from the 70s - not what I expect from such a standard of hotel. The bed was very comfortable, though. After unpacking and taking a shower, I had a drink in the Club Lounge, and was advised by a fellow patron not to have any of the snacks as they had been out since the lounge opened #it was now just gone 8pm#. I met with a colleague to go down for dinner. We decided to eat in the restaurant, however we were informed that the restaurant was now closed as it was gone 9.30. We both checked our watches, and it was 9.31pm, but the restaurant manager firmly informed us that there was a firm cut off time for closing, and that should we wish to eat, then we should use the bar. Time being against us, we ate in the bar area. Post the meal, the barman asked if we would like dessert, we duely said yes, and he returned a few mins later with the menu. We made our choices, but after some time, the barman had not taken our order, so we went to the bar to order, only to be informed that we would now only be able to have dessert served in our room!! I was under the impression we were staying in a high standard of hotel, not a borstal! Breakfast the follwoing morning was decent, as was the service, however the pettiness of the previous evening had made its mark on me. Big, big let down... February 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT CHILLED OUT EVENING YET AGAIN HAD A WONDERFUL STAY,STAFF ARE ALWAYS WILLING TO HELP AND TO DO THE LITTLE BIT EXTRA WHEN THE NEED REQUIRES . ALWAYS WILL RECOMMEND STAY AT THE CROWN PLAZA,CLEAN AND COMFORTABLE. CHESTER ALSO A LOVELY CITY. February 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable rooms, sleep well. Stayed during business trip. Good comfortable rooms. Overall good and staff willing to help. One improvement could be better breakfast choice as selection was limited. January 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service Very enjoyable stay,excellent room,room service and a lovely lady on front desk,Thankyou. January 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by 11/01/2014 We stayed for one night for my wife's birthday. The hotel staff were really friendly and we were given a free bottle of wine in our room when we mentioned the reason for are stay. The hotel is just yards from the town centre shops, pubs, wine bars and restaurants. Breakfast is buffet style with loads to choose from and very good quality. January 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good room with a fantastic view over the racecourse and mountains Short break away from home life, enjoyable stay with good facilities, made use of the pool and sauna which was quiet and clean, went out for dinner but made use of the breakfast which is an excellent buffet style. Only let down was that the hotel is very warm and stuffy, the heating needs turning down in the room for a good nights sleep, the pillows need reviewing as they are too plump and can give you neck ache. I would still recommend this hotel and would return with my own pillow. January 9, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Housekeeping staff excellent Unfortunately, the rest of the staff didn't live up to the quality of the housekeeping staff. Terrible organisation of breakfast and reception and forget your Priority Rewards - they barely know what they even are!!!! Overpriced and inefficient! January 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by nice hotel This was our 7th visit to Crowne plaza Chester and overall it is still a lovely hotel with great amenities and very good location for Chester centre itself. However we felt the service was not as good as usual, we visited between xmas and new year and it was not that busy but we waited 50 minutes for 2 drinks in the bar that we had ordered......not acceptable for a 4 star hotel. January 3, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Fails to live up to the standard you would expect. Without doubt, this is a hotel that does not live up to its reputation. My wife and I stop over in Chester once a month and usually book into the abode. I thought we would have a change but regret doing so. Our room was not ready on our arrival. We were offered a complimentary drink at the bar but after 25 minutes had to go back to reception to check if the room was now ready. Once entering the room I was quite shocked. I did not expect to see wall paper peeling away from the wall, as it was in a number of places. The bathroom cleanliness left a lot to be desired. No safe for personal belongings and a TV for which the remote only worked if you gave it a tap! All in all a very poor hotel indeed, The Abode seems to have set a standard that the Plaza can only dream of. January 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable quiet room and friendly service in convenient location. Travelling by rail for a short break we caught a bus to the city centre and walked through the historic city for 10 minutes to find the hotel tucked away in a road close to the shops with the ring road on the far side which would give easy access by car and the hotel has parking under. Our room was a good size and very comfortable and on the quiet city side. The hotel reception and public areas all well kept and with the style we expected with Crowne Plaza from staying at other hotels in the chain. The bar and restaurant and food were all good and provided that special feel that we enjoy from treating ourselves to a break. We took advantage of the fixed price dinner menu each night after enjoying a drink in the bar. Every member of staff we met was cheerful and helpful. The position of the hotel meant we could be in the city centre in five minutes and Chester is ideal for a short break being a compact place with lots of history to discover, the river, several art galleries and excellent shops both independent and upmarket chain stores. January 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel This is a local hotel to me, as we had a Christmas meal booked with friends at the hotel we decided to stay over. Nice welcome from the staff and gave us a pass to use a car park as theirs was full. I upgraded to the club room, both the room and the lounge where nice and we enjoyed both. The lounge had the normal beer, wine and nice snacks 5pm to 8pm.... in fact the food was so nice I had too much before my meal! Wish I had time to use the Jacuzzi as looked inviting. Will use again now I know how nice the hotel is. December 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by No 1 for sausages I stayed at this hotel for a works Christmas Do. Very impressed. Staff very friendly and helpful. Room extremely comfortable. Liked the "sleep therapy" provided. Breakfast was great - I never have sauages when I stay at hotels because they always tend to be bland - but the sauages looked good so I tried them excellent - I even went back for more which is a first for me. I have stayed at hotels in America, London, France, Italy, Prague, Spain. Harrogate, Durham, the Lakes all part of famous chains and this rated with some of the best and as mentioned above none of them provided sauages to your standard. December 22, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Loud music totally spoiled our stay We were on the 4th floor but the loud music from downstairs, until midnight, made a joke of the " good night sleep" campaign. Also club room was dirty. Complained to duty manger but not heard back yet. December 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location With partner for short break. Excellent location. Hotel clean and really warm. Breakfast was good -if a little greasy. Only downside for me was the EXPENSIVE £15 PER DAY charge for wifi. They need to move with the times on this one as most places do it for free. December 8, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by friendly staff enjoyed our stay, food quite good reasonable value, great location for shopping and city centre December 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, great hotel Had a couple of days here last week, and loved it. Impressed by the cleanliness of the room (showers had NO gunge!) and public areas.....not something that you get in hotels these days. Massive bed, plenty of room to put things. All the staff from reception to housekeeping so friendly and good at what they do. The hotel is minutes from the centre of Chester, so ideally placed for sightseeing. Being a northern girl now living further south, it was nice to be back among "my own kind". Thanks for an enjoyable stay. December 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great break food was wonderful, bed large and comfortable, very clean room and hotel, staff were the real deal absolutely marvellous and made the week end. November 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location Very nice hotel. Very close to the Chester city center. Excellent rooms and service. November 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Stay A group of us 8 girls stayed at the Crown Plaza for a christmas shopping weekend. Thoroughly enjoyed it staff excellent, position is only a couple of minutes walk from the shopping area and christmas market. Excellent pubs and clubs would recomend to everyone. If there was a negative remark it was the lack of cocktail knowledge behind the bar, the staff tried their complete hardness mind to do them by looking on the internet but i think some training could do with being done as they were quite a while with them with obviously not having enough training.... but hey overall the hotel i would definately stay again when traveling to chester..... November 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by No need to look elsewhere.....another great great night in The Crowne Plaza, Chester I stay in Chester on a regular basis. (I have a ladies boutique in the centre of the city and often stay over after charity/fashion events). I have stayed in most of the big hotels. However, as soon as I stayed in the Crowne Plaza I never booked anywhere else! Whether it's business, or a leisure break with my family, I would always choose them. Bedrooms and lesuire facilities are modern and clean! Staff cannot do enough (especially Christopher on reception), breakfast is amazing and will set you up for the day! November 27, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by My stay Came for a day training conference and stayed the night Conference facilities and food provision was excellent Unfortuantely the plumbing in the ladies bathroom facilites could not cope with the queues and failed to flush repeatedly! Staf on reception helful and re-arranged rooms when original allocation was not as requested. Leisure facilites excellent November 25, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by uncomfortable bed Bed uncomfortable room ok club lounge not as good as other crowned plaza Manchester airport November 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by An Enjoyable Experience. My friend and I recently stayed at the Crowne Plaza while on a shopping trip to Chester. I cannot speak highly enough of the service given to us during our stay. The hotel is conveniently situated being just a 3 minute walk to shops and cafes etc. and the staff are all friendly and helpful. The food was so good that we ate in every night. To sum up, it was excellent value for money and I will certainly be staying there again in the future. November 18, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Location Central The hotel was easy to find, and the staff were very attentive, the only issues was I had to keep changing my key card for my room and the club lounge. I think it's time to upgrade your card generator as this is not the first time. November 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely stay My boyfriend and I stayed here for 1 night on a Saturday. The online booking company told us there were only twin rooms available but we needed a hotel last minute so booked the room anyway. However, upon check in, we asked if there were any double rooms available and straight away our request was granted. The girl in reception was warm, helpful, chatty and accommodating. We loved the room. It was a standard but was spacious, comfortable with a fab TV and lovely shower. We had plans for the evening but I could happily have stayed in the room all night, ordered room service and relaxed. Only wish we'd brought swimming gear so that we could've used the spa! There were only 2 minor drawbacks. 1 was that you have to pay for parking which you wouldn't expect with a 4 star hotel and the 2nd was that room service forgot a glass of wine I ordered in the evening. This was, however very quickly remedied and offered complimentary by way of apology which I thought was excellent service. The location us perfect for Chester City Centre as well. We will definitely stay again. November 14, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent staff and food Got the simple things correct. The staff were all extremely friendly and personable. Lovely food in the restaurant in a comfortable relaxing environment were children were catered for and accepted fondly. Breakfast was superb with all one would expect and some nice little extras. Only negatives; no free wifi in communal areas, very strange and only a minor issue , the location of plug sockets in the rooms for kettles/chargers etc. overall though, very well done. November 4, 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 10 next>>
Mural of Chester located in the Lobby Area
Mural of Chester located in the Lobby Area
Select to close.
Mural of Chester located in the Lobby Area Swimming Pool Terrace Garden Landscape Chester Zoo - Area Attractions Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Have pizza and soda delivered to your room with our in-room pizza package.  Book Now!
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-20-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-21-2014)
Check Availability
Loading