Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-19-2014)
(e.g. Sep-20-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 721 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience in the center of Chicago My only complaint would be that there are not enough elevators for such a large hotel and the elevators are rather confusing. Otherwise, the experience was great. You can walk to the Merchandise Mart for shopping or to eat. You can catch the rail to anywhere in Chicago and even to either of the airports with a simple walk to the Merchandise Center that is all enclosed. April 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great location, service and value Stayed at the Holiday Inn recently for the first time. I was impressed. Great location and the staff was outstanding. Fantastic service. Good value. Highly recommended. Concierge was great and had excellent advice for things to do, directions around Chicago and so on. Very helpful. April 20, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Mixed reviews, but there are three gems here. First of all, I need to THANK JAY, TODD, and MS. D. These are examples of people that anyone would want working in their hotel. They were extremely polite and made me feel at home. They truly should be asked to give training to some of the other employees in the hotel. When I first got there, the key system was not working. I had stayed here last year and there were serious issues with the internet system. I began worry that this was simply a sign that this was going to be a repeat performance. So I waited for a bit, then walked back over to the counters and asked about how long it would be. They didn't know, so I went to the restaurant (where I had a delicious sandwich). I went back to check again and they told me that the computer system for the keys was down and they would have to wait until tech support could get it worked out. Again I flashed back to the horrible experience I had had last year, and asked if this was going to be the case with the internet as well as the key situation. Instead of answering the question, one of the ladies, responded, "Well, we have until 3pm anyway." I was taken aback. I looked at her and said, "That is not what I asked for." Instead of apologizing, she stood her ground and said, "Well, I was just saying that check in is not until 3pm so we don't have to have the keys ready until then." THis is NOT what I consider being hospitable, much less being mature. The saving grace was the truly heartfelt apologies that I got from Jay. "I'm so sorry" I saw him mouth as I walked away. I went to eat, and then someone came over and let me know that the key was ready within a short period of time from the experience with the rude lady. I went upstairs to the room, which was lovely, and settled in a bit and started hearing the elevator, walkie talkies, and some of the staff yelling to each other in Spanish. I eventually peaked my head out of the door to ask if they wouldn't mind keeping it down. They were on the elevator and did not respond, and they just let the doors close. I called down to the front desk and, thankfully, got Jay. He switched rooms for me. The room was just fine. He always gave me a smile when I saw him in the foyer. Very kind soul and deals very well with customers. He truly cares. Multiply this man! He will make things run so much more smoothly for your hotel! Ms. D was a sweetheart on the phone when I called for room service. Very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately, I didn't get her every time I called. The other times I called I either got a flat response from the person answering from the front desk that the restaurant didn't open for another...pause...four minutes. That offends my customer service sensibilities. Another time, I asked what wines were available, and the response was, "Red and white". I had to ask him to read me the list. He named the name of the vineyard, but not the wine. We went through this for quite some time as language was a bit of a barrier. But regardless of that, when asked what type of wine, it shouldn't be like pulling teeth to find an answer to a simple question, "What are your wines?" Todd was an excellent concierge. I am amazed with the way he was able to come up with addresses off the top of his head to any type of restaurant a customer would suggest. And, I enjoyed the Purple Pig that he suggested. He gave great directions to use the L and to the restaurant as well. He should be training some of the other concierge folks. Heck, all three of these people that I have named have special qualities that should be used to your advantage. I would come back because of them. The exercise room was fair. Whoever stocks it should be given more incentive to restock more frequently. Towels wer overflowing the bin and there were no more wipes to clean off the machines. There are a lot of ellipticals, though. A few free weights which were nice. The restaurant staff are pleasant as well. Thanks for reading this. April 19, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by yuck hotel For downtown Chicago I expected more. Older hotel with outdated features. TV satellite didn't work but about 25% of time. Bed was old and definetly worn out. Room service charge you tip doesnt tell you and then the delivery person request more. The bell man waving down cabs is very mouthy for someone working for tips. Want stay here again unless forced to. April 19, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice pool I ask for a good room, but we receve a standart The parking is far, uncover, no sheap, very unconfortable under rain. April 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel This Holiday Inn is centrally located. Short walking distance to many restaurants. If you are not picky about food, there is a food court nearby, mostly cater to lunch crowd. Food in the hotel was great in quality but it was also priced accordingly like any other hotel. CVS and Walgren are right around the corner, good for a quick stop for snacks. Very easy to get to/from the O'Hare airport. I used to take airport shuttle, but this time I took the CTA train, avoiding all the big city traffic for $7.25 round trip which is far better than airport shuttle and/or taxi. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was big, bed was comfortable. Bathroom was clean though the water pressure was low. Not sure if this was just my room, or this was for conserving water. If you are a lady who is particular about shampooing your hair, you might want to inquire about the water pressure first. Internet access was free without extra charge, a great feature. April 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean room and comfortable bed For several years, I have been traveling to Chicago about every six months for business and I always stay at the Holiday Inn Merchandise Mart. I am never disappointed. The rooms are always clean and comfortable and the service is excellent. I highly recommend this hotel to others! April 14, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great location This Holiday Inn is a great location to go to the Bridal market- you don't even have to go outside. April 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place! Stayed during Easter break with kids....4/2013! Package room deal with free parking and in out privileges was AWESOME ... Especially with kids! Service was exceptional all the way around and the pool area was great for the kids. Hotel lounge with its night- time city view was wonderful! Total convenience to the "El" also a plus! Highly recommend ... Free breakfasts for two and free for kids also a plus! Renovated rooms .... AWESOME!! 5 stars! April 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent value I find this Holiday Inn convenient for my business travel and relatively cheap for the location. They have great views from the bar and some lighter food options, which is important to me eating out every evening. Decent exercise facilities. Clean rooms. Comfortable bed. Wireless works great. April 10, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by stay over Easter 2013 Nice and clean room. Friendly staff in general. However, at 8:00 am housekeeping would knock on the door and within 2 seconds attempt to enter the room. They should have known we hadn't checked out yet. When bringing this up at the front desk, the staff spent their efforts correcting my statement (I incorrectly stated room service instead of housekeeping), rather than actually listening and addressing the issue. April 10, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel, Centrally Located Beautifully clean rooms with excellent views of the skyline. I was able to walk to the Magnificent Mile and other area hot-spots. The room and bathroom were immaculately clean and visually appealing, with new appliances and soft sheets and pillows. Aside from the crowded pool (lots of kids), my stay was great. I'd definitely stay here again. April 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Top Shelf Staff/Location The staff was top shelf, front desk, etc were very helpful. Can't beat the location overlooking the river, we didn't have a car and walked to all. Parking is expensive,( 42.00 per night) so if you dont need a car, walk cab train it. Only issue is rooms have paper thin walls. Heard every arguement from next door and fighting late night. Not sure what you can do but overall good choice and price was right. April 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Our first choice when visiting Chicago! We enjoy staying at the Chicago-Mart Plaza (Riverview) when we visit Chicago. The hotel is very close to our family's home - all within walking distance. Beside the convenience, we always find the accomodations and staff to be friendly and accomodating. We look forward to our next visit! April 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Stay at the Holiday Inn Chicago Mart I was at the Holiday Inn Chicago Mart for an event, and decided to stay the night and make a day of it with my daughter. The ballroom space was fantastic and the staff was so great to our organization. The staff and room was excellent and the price was too. I highly recommend this location for a stay and an event! April 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff and clean rooms Overall the stay was good, the staff was friendly, the room was clean and had enough space to relax. The bed was reasonable but could have been more comfortable. The location was extremely convenient and if I ever come back to this part of Chicago I'll check with this hotel. April 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A great place to stay This is a nice hotel. It's within safe and comfortable walking distance of the train stations, neighborhood restaurants and the Lyric Opera. Helpful, friendly staff. Clean, well-appointed rooms and a nice bar with a beautiful overlook of the city. Connected by skywalk to Chicago metro mart with food court, day spas, shops. We'll be back. April 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service We had a few issues with our room, but the staff bent over backwards to get us in the right room and make us happy. A great location in Downtown Chicage for a great deal. Close to Merchandise Mart for easy breakfast and transportation around the city. I would stay again for pleasure. April 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Newly renovated King Corner Suite We were fortunate enough to stay in one of the newly renovated King Suites. The wall of windows allowed a beautiful view from the 20th floor. Also, being a corner suite, it was very quiet. The bed was comfortable and we were very impressed with the bathroom's decor. The new carpet smell was a bit overwhelming, but that was the price to pay for the new renovation. We enjoyed eating several dinners in the restaurant and found most of the entrees to be very good. I was extremely happy to find that they use organic chicken! Our last night there, a Friday evening, they seemed to be short-staffed and we had trouble getting someone to find our server (we asked for him 3 times# and finally had to ask another server to help us. This was a surprise, as we had previously been very pleased with the service. One drawback, we felt, was that there was not a public elevator from the parking area to the hotel. After a long drive, we weren't ready to climb the stairs with our luggage #we should have dropped it off curbside, but they were very busy!) to get to the hotel. Overall, the staff and accomodations were great. The location was very nice and I'd recommend this hotel to others. March 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Chicago Experience! This is a fantastic location and high quality Holiday Inn. Great views if you get an outer room. Every direction. The only thing we are less happy about is that they got rid of the valet parking a few years ago, and kept charging the same for parking ... or more. That reduced the VALUE overall of this hotel. But a great hotel. March 30, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 Disgruntled Priority Club Member We arrived promptly to the hotel at 3:05, the front desk said they upgraded us to a suite because of our platinum reward club status. However, the room was not ready right away. I asked how long it would be and I was told no more than an hour. I accepted the offer because it was going to take us awhile to gather our bags, park our car, and get some lunch. I went back to the front desk at the hour mark and the room was still not ready, but I was told it was put on rush. The woman took down my number and told me they would call when it was ready. At 4:30, I returned to the desk and they said the room was ready. I didn't leave the waiting area, so I was upset no one called me to notify me the room was ready. The room seemed to be a great upgrade. It had a separate dining room, living area, and a separate bedroom with a door for privacy. While sitting in the living area the hall noise was pretty loud, but thought nothing of it because it was during the day. We went to a concert and returned at one in the morning. I woke up in a panic at 4 a.m. because I heard voices and swore there were people in our room. I opened the bedroom door and no one was there. I received about five total hours of sleep because this continued through the night. In the morning I figured out why I kept hearing voices in such close proximity. The elevator is right on the other side of the wall of the bedroom. We ordered room service for breakfast and I asked if they had whipped cream to add to the pancakes. I was told they did and they would add it to the pancakes. Breakfast arrived without whipped cream. The rest of the food was delicious and the woman who delivered it was very pleasant. Two other service members were very helpful as well. The bellman Sarge was great and the concierge (I think his name is Todd). Looking back on this visit I would not have took the upgrade and would have liked a corner room. I'm more concerned about getting a good night's sleep rather than the size of my room. The room number was 1616, stay away from it. It's large and has a great view, but that is where it ends. In my eyes this was definitely a downgrade, especially for the waiting time involved. March 29, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worst Holiday Inn I have ever stayed in. Upon check in we were given a room and we went up to our "king size bed with a view" room and we walked into a room with double beds and no view. We went back down stairs and asked why we did not receive the room like we booked. He then proceeded to tell us that we booked off of a third party site (in which we didn't we reserved off Holiday Inn 800 number), and we are not guaranteed that room. By this time my patience was thin. He then told us that guests from the previous night had decided to stay longer and they had no king size beds available, that we would have to stay in two doubles, a queen or a full. So we requested the room with two doubles that we just had went into and then he told us that this particular room was already booked and someone was staying in that room. So if we wouldn't have went back downstairs and asked for a king room someone would have came to their room and we would have been in it. I then asked for a queen size room and his response was we have NONE. So we ended up having to settle for a FULL size bed. The next day we went to the front desk and ended up in a king size bed for the next few nights. In that room we couldn't keep the thermostat off of 74 and it was a miserable experience. We even had maintenance come up and unlock one of the windows so we could get some cooler air but the window didn't open far enough to get any air. I was so disappointed in this hotel and it was not clean or nice like other Holiday Inns that i have stayed at in the past. I think it was completely overpriced for the rooms that we stayed in. The staff was very rude to us upon questioning different things. March 28, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 Needs Improvements This hotel is way over priced for what you get. Small TV screens in the rooms, no refrigerators, charge the customers for the use of computers in the business center, unable to upgrade a Platinum Priority Club member, $40 daily parking not even covered, had to scrape ice from the winshield and paid for parking too, charge $35 for eggs and pancakes for breafast with added service fee and tip already included for over $40 for breakfast like a 5 star hotel which this place is far from that. It states on the website the $20 million dollars were spent in renovations, I would have hated to see it before then. Will never stay here again. March 26, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by FLOODED ROOM & HORRIBLE FOOD! - "It's just rain water" My friend and I purchased our room reservation through Groupon for our stay in March 2013, and specifically paid the extra money for a "room with a view" through Groupon. Our initial impression of the hotel was stunning and we were incredibly excited to start our vacation! When we arrived at our room we were quickly disappointed. The first thing we noticed was the giant brown stain on the valance above the window followed by the stuffy, musty, mouldy smell. We quickly looked around the room to see if there was anything else wrong with the room, but nothing else was found so we decided not to worry about it since we weren't going to be spending much time in the room anyway. We turned on the air conditioning to get the air circulating in the room and went about our stay. The next night we returned back to our room around 1am and were ready to go back out again when an intoxicated patron from the wedding downstairs managed to push our room door open. We were standing in the doorway ready to exit ourselves, so we were shocked to see this drunk man on the other side literally pushing our door open and standing in the way of the door. I quickly shut and locked the door on him. He was still trying to get in by turning the doorknob repeatedly so I yelled through the door that I was going to call hotel security if he didn't leave. After a couple more seconds of trying the doorknob he did leave, and after 5 minutes of waiting to make sure he was gone we left our room. While walking to the elevator we ran into a bellman and reported the incident. We told him that there was an intoxicated person wandering through the hallways trying to get into open hotel rooms. HIs response was "What do you want me to do about it? You should tell security." and he rudely turned away and kept walking without any more of a response. We were shocked! We expected him to at least ask if he could help, that he would let security know, that he would keep an eye out. etc. or at least SOMETHING along those lines. Instead it was pretty clear that he wasn't interested in what we had to say and even though was an employee of the hotel was not willing to do anything to help make us feel secure. We returned to our hotel room that same night about 30 minutes later because it was raining outside and went to sleep. Around 5am we woke up startled - our room had FLOODED! The rain from the storm outside was leaking through the blinds and valance and the floor, furniture and our luggage beneath the window was soaked with water. Again, we were shocked! At that point we quickly realized the reason for the huge brown stain on the valance - this wasn't the first time this had happened! It was very frustrating and maddening to know that we were placed into this room even though this problem has occurred before and hadn't been fixed, not to mention just being annoyed with the problem itself. We quickly called the front desk and explained the situation. We said we wanted to speak to a manager right away and that we needed a new room. 15 minutes later a maintenance man showed up to look at the problem... his response "Yup, it's leaking." We again asked to speak to a manager and he said he would get someone for us and that he would be right back to "fix the problem." He returned a few minutes later with two big white buckets to put under the drips and new keys for a new hotel room. Finding out that luggage is soaked at 5am, that we now have to pack everything up and move rooms, etc, was incredibly frustrating. We chatted with the maintenance man and pointed out the original stains on the valace, which were now an even darker brown, and said that if this has happened before then guests should not be booked into the same room if the problem isn't fixed. He pointed up, underneath the valance, where there were streaks of black mould along the curtain tracks. We responded saying it was disgusting, his response: "Well it's only rain water." Again it was clear that the staff was not interested in being helpful. I told him that regardless of whether it was rainwater or not, it was unacceptable. He placed the buckets under the water and left. We took pictures of the room, and state of our luggage, and quickly packed up to get into the new room. Once we got all of our luggage to the new room the new room keys did not work and we had to move all of our stuff to the lobby to get the keys adjusted. It was at that point that we were told there was no manager on duty and that we would have to wait until the morning to speak to a manager. We were given a breakfast voucher, new room keys, and then moved everything back up to the new room. Even though it was now 6:30am, we were initially very pleased with the new room - except for the toenails that were on the floor in the bathroom and the fact that we had paid for a "room with a view" and now had a view of a brick wall. We were annoyed by the change of view, and disgusted by the toenails, but ignored it because we just wanted to get to bed and were happy to be away from the water and mould. We cleaned up the toenails ourselves the next morning. The next morning we spoke with the manager and explained the situation. She was not made aware of the situation from the overnight staff yet also did not seem surprised when we explained it. Her reaction (or lack there of) made it pretty clear to us that this has happened before which frustrated us even more. She was apologetic when we asked for a refund because at that point we decided to stay at a different hotel. She then notified us that because we purchased our reservation through Groupon she was not able to refund us any money. Instead she did offer to cover the cost of our parking in the parkade for our entire stay, which we were gracious for and accepted. The next day we went for breakfast at the hotel restaurant which we had received a voucher for. At this point we had brushed off the past few negative experiences and were have an amazing time in Chicago! We ordered an omelette and an eggs benedict with 2 orange juices. The food was extremely disappointing and we were again shocked to get the bill and see that our tasteless, runny, mushy sub-par breakfast was incredibly expensive! Thankfully we had a voucher, otherwise I never would have paid that much for that meal. We ate at Melis for the rest of the week and had amazing meals where our bills were not even close to amount that the hotel charged. Your food quality versus pricing should definitely be revisited! We did love the lobby bar and enjoyed the pool in the hotel but did have one more negative experience upon our departure. As we were packing up to check out we asked for a bellcart to be delivered to our room. The bellman promptly came to the room and when I told him that we still needed 1 more minute just to double check that we didn't leave anything in the room he rolled his eyes and said "Really? Cuz we need the cart. How long are you going to be?" I became frustrated at the staff again but made an effort not to snap back to his rude actions and comment. I mentioned that if he's busy he doesn't have to stay and wait, that we'll load everything ourselves so that we're not wasting his time. He again rudely rolled his eyes, said something under his breath, and then turned and walked away. At that point I was definitely ready to leave the hotel! I've stayed in many hotels, and not in any way expect princess treatment, but I've also worked in several hotels. As a staff member I would never respond to these situations the way the staff at this hotel did. That being said, the staff at the lobby bar, at the front desk and the concierge desk were extremely friendly, helpful and knowledgeable! We did love our visit to Chicago and unfortunately our hotel experience was the only negative part of our trip. I hope that in the future the hotel addresses not only the customer service problems from some aspects of the staff but also the overall condition of their rooms. March 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place to Stay while in Chicago!!! Stayed for St Patty's weekend 2013. Rooms have been recently redone. Nice job! Service was excellent. Congiere was very helpful and very knowledgeable each time we approached him. Breakfast buffet was good but $21 is a bit much...for that price would have expected a chef there to make fresh omelets. I would suggest you add a sign on subway platform to show the direction the hotel is in. Also add a sign at the entrance of the Merchandise Mart/subway entrance to explain that you have to walk to the end, got up the escalator one floor then elevator 15 floors. March 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Newly renovated Our room was apparently newly renovated. Very comfortable and clean. A little noise from the atrium but overall a nice place to stay. We had a nice view of the river. Bar was very expensive but they have a captive audience. March 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by St Patrick's Day visit We had a very nice stay, the room was perfect and remodeled in nice contemporary fashion. I noted during the reservation process that parking was a bit high but the front desk provided a nice breakfast coupon to offset the parking costs. To me that was a nice way to demonstrate their efforts to ensure we enjoyed our stay as rates seemed to be higher that weekend due to the St Patty's Day festivities. Thanks all!! March 22, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by The View The view is absolutly breath taking. We love sitting in the bar and taking in the view sipping on a cold one with kobe sliders to munch on! Great place for couples to get away!! March 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Contemporary Decor Beautifully decorated and fairly recently done. (Appears they are doing one floor at a time.) Only issue was noisy neighbors that could be heard in the hallway, but I guess that should have been expected with being there for St. Patty's Day. March 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful experience! We enjoyed our stay very much. We chose the pre-pay parking package and it worked out extremely well. The hotel staff, house keeping, bell hops, and concierge service were all very polite and extremely helpful. I love the location at the intersection of the rivers downtown; we were close to a lot of restaurants, shopping, and attractions. The room was very nice, the bed extremely comfortable, and the décor updated. Thank you Holiday Inn Chicago-Mart Plaza for making our stay an enjoyable one! March 22, 2013
<<prev 18 19 20 21 22 ... 25 next>>