Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Oct-01-2014)
(e.g. Oct-02-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 735 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A great place to stay This is a nice hotel. It's within safe and comfortable walking distance of the train stations, neighborhood restaurants and the Lyric Opera. Helpful, friendly staff. Clean, well-appointed rooms and a nice bar with a beautiful overlook of the city. Connected by skywalk to Chicago metro mart with food court, day spas, shops. We'll be back. April 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service We had a few issues with our room, but the staff bent over backwards to get us in the right room and make us happy. A great location in Downtown Chicage for a great deal. Close to Merchandise Mart for easy breakfast and transportation around the city. I would stay again for pleasure. April 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Newly renovated King Corner Suite We were fortunate enough to stay in one of the newly renovated King Suites. The wall of windows allowed a beautiful view from the 20th floor. Also, being a corner suite, it was very quiet. The bed was comfortable and we were very impressed with the bathroom's decor. The new carpet smell was a bit overwhelming, but that was the price to pay for the new renovation. We enjoyed eating several dinners in the restaurant and found most of the entrees to be very good. I was extremely happy to find that they use organic chicken! Our last night there, a Friday evening, they seemed to be short-staffed and we had trouble getting someone to find our server (we asked for him 3 times# and finally had to ask another server to help us. This was a surprise, as we had previously been very pleased with the service. One drawback, we felt, was that there was not a public elevator from the parking area to the hotel. After a long drive, we weren't ready to climb the stairs with our luggage #we should have dropped it off curbside, but they were very busy!) to get to the hotel. Overall, the staff and accomodations were great. The location was very nice and I'd recommend this hotel to others. March 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Chicago Experience! This is a fantastic location and high quality Holiday Inn. Great views if you get an outer room. Every direction. The only thing we are less happy about is that they got rid of the valet parking a few years ago, and kept charging the same for parking ... or more. That reduced the VALUE overall of this hotel. But a great hotel. March 30, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 Disgruntled Priority Club Member We arrived promptly to the hotel at 3:05, the front desk said they upgraded us to a suite because of our platinum reward club status. However, the room was not ready right away. I asked how long it would be and I was told no more than an hour. I accepted the offer because it was going to take us awhile to gather our bags, park our car, and get some lunch. I went back to the front desk at the hour mark and the room was still not ready, but I was told it was put on rush. The woman took down my number and told me they would call when it was ready. At 4:30, I returned to the desk and they said the room was ready. I didn't leave the waiting area, so I was upset no one called me to notify me the room was ready. The room seemed to be a great upgrade. It had a separate dining room, living area, and a separate bedroom with a door for privacy. While sitting in the living area the hall noise was pretty loud, but thought nothing of it because it was during the day. We went to a concert and returned at one in the morning. I woke up in a panic at 4 a.m. because I heard voices and swore there were people in our room. I opened the bedroom door and no one was there. I received about five total hours of sleep because this continued through the night. In the morning I figured out why I kept hearing voices in such close proximity. The elevator is right on the other side of the wall of the bedroom. We ordered room service for breakfast and I asked if they had whipped cream to add to the pancakes. I was told they did and they would add it to the pancakes. Breakfast arrived without whipped cream. The rest of the food was delicious and the woman who delivered it was very pleasant. Two other service members were very helpful as well. The bellman Sarge was great and the concierge (I think his name is Todd). Looking back on this visit I would not have took the upgrade and would have liked a corner room. I'm more concerned about getting a good night's sleep rather than the size of my room. The room number was 1616, stay away from it. It's large and has a great view, but that is where it ends. In my eyes this was definitely a downgrade, especially for the waiting time involved. March 29, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worst Holiday Inn I have ever stayed in. Upon check in we were given a room and we went up to our "king size bed with a view" room and we walked into a room with double beds and no view. We went back down stairs and asked why we did not receive the room like we booked. He then proceeded to tell us that we booked off of a third party site (in which we didn't we reserved off Holiday Inn 800 number), and we are not guaranteed that room. By this time my patience was thin. He then told us that guests from the previous night had decided to stay longer and they had no king size beds available, that we would have to stay in two doubles, a queen or a full. So we requested the room with two doubles that we just had went into and then he told us that this particular room was already booked and someone was staying in that room. So if we wouldn't have went back downstairs and asked for a king room someone would have came to their room and we would have been in it. I then asked for a queen size room and his response was we have NONE. So we ended up having to settle for a FULL size bed. The next day we went to the front desk and ended up in a king size bed for the next few nights. In that room we couldn't keep the thermostat off of 74 and it was a miserable experience. We even had maintenance come up and unlock one of the windows so we could get some cooler air but the window didn't open far enough to get any air. I was so disappointed in this hotel and it was not clean or nice like other Holiday Inns that i have stayed at in the past. I think it was completely overpriced for the rooms that we stayed in. The staff was very rude to us upon questioning different things. March 28, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 Needs Improvements This hotel is way over priced for what you get. Small TV screens in the rooms, no refrigerators, charge the customers for the use of computers in the business center, unable to upgrade a Platinum Priority Club member, $40 daily parking not even covered, had to scrape ice from the winshield and paid for parking too, charge $35 for eggs and pancakes for breafast with added service fee and tip already included for over $40 for breakfast like a 5 star hotel which this place is far from that. It states on the website the $20 million dollars were spent in renovations, I would have hated to see it before then. Will never stay here again. March 26, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by FLOODED ROOM & HORRIBLE FOOD! - "It's just rain water" My friend and I purchased our room reservation through Groupon for our stay in March 2013, and specifically paid the extra money for a "room with a view" through Groupon. Our initial impression of the hotel was stunning and we were incredibly excited to start our vacation! When we arrived at our room we were quickly disappointed. The first thing we noticed was the giant brown stain on the valance above the window followed by the stuffy, musty, mouldy smell. We quickly looked around the room to see if there was anything else wrong with the room, but nothing else was found so we decided not to worry about it since we weren't going to be spending much time in the room anyway. We turned on the air conditioning to get the air circulating in the room and went about our stay. The next night we returned back to our room around 1am and were ready to go back out again when an intoxicated patron from the wedding downstairs managed to push our room door open. We were standing in the doorway ready to exit ourselves, so we were shocked to see this drunk man on the other side literally pushing our door open and standing in the way of the door. I quickly shut and locked the door on him. He was still trying to get in by turning the doorknob repeatedly so I yelled through the door that I was going to call hotel security if he didn't leave. After a couple more seconds of trying the doorknob he did leave, and after 5 minutes of waiting to make sure he was gone we left our room. While walking to the elevator we ran into a bellman and reported the incident. We told him that there was an intoxicated person wandering through the hallways trying to get into open hotel rooms. HIs response was "What do you want me to do about it? You should tell security." and he rudely turned away and kept walking without any more of a response. We were shocked! We expected him to at least ask if he could help, that he would let security know, that he would keep an eye out. etc. or at least SOMETHING along those lines. Instead it was pretty clear that he wasn't interested in what we had to say and even though was an employee of the hotel was not willing to do anything to help make us feel secure. We returned to our hotel room that same night about 30 minutes later because it was raining outside and went to sleep. Around 5am we woke up startled - our room had FLOODED! The rain from the storm outside was leaking through the blinds and valance and the floor, furniture and our luggage beneath the window was soaked with water. Again, we were shocked! At that point we quickly realized the reason for the huge brown stain on the valance - this wasn't the first time this had happened! It was very frustrating and maddening to know that we were placed into this room even though this problem has occurred before and hadn't been fixed, not to mention just being annoyed with the problem itself. We quickly called the front desk and explained the situation. We said we wanted to speak to a manager right away and that we needed a new room. 15 minutes later a maintenance man showed up to look at the problem... his response "Yup, it's leaking." We again asked to speak to a manager and he said he would get someone for us and that he would be right back to "fix the problem." He returned a few minutes later with two big white buckets to put under the drips and new keys for a new hotel room. Finding out that luggage is soaked at 5am, that we now have to pack everything up and move rooms, etc, was incredibly frustrating. We chatted with the maintenance man and pointed out the original stains on the valace, which were now an even darker brown, and said that if this has happened before then guests should not be booked into the same room if the problem isn't fixed. He pointed up, underneath the valance, where there were streaks of black mould along the curtain tracks. We responded saying it was disgusting, his response: "Well it's only rain water." Again it was clear that the staff was not interested in being helpful. I told him that regardless of whether it was rainwater or not, it was unacceptable. He placed the buckets under the water and left. We took pictures of the room, and state of our luggage, and quickly packed up to get into the new room. Once we got all of our luggage to the new room the new room keys did not work and we had to move all of our stuff to the lobby to get the keys adjusted. It was at that point that we were told there was no manager on duty and that we would have to wait until the morning to speak to a manager. We were given a breakfast voucher, new room keys, and then moved everything back up to the new room. Even though it was now 6:30am, we were initially very pleased with the new room - except for the toenails that were on the floor in the bathroom and the fact that we had paid for a "room with a view" and now had a view of a brick wall. We were annoyed by the change of view, and disgusted by the toenails, but ignored it because we just wanted to get to bed and were happy to be away from the water and mould. We cleaned up the toenails ourselves the next morning. The next morning we spoke with the manager and explained the situation. She was not made aware of the situation from the overnight staff yet also did not seem surprised when we explained it. Her reaction (or lack there of) made it pretty clear to us that this has happened before which frustrated us even more. She was apologetic when we asked for a refund because at that point we decided to stay at a different hotel. She then notified us that because we purchased our reservation through Groupon she was not able to refund us any money. Instead she did offer to cover the cost of our parking in the parkade for our entire stay, which we were gracious for and accepted. The next day we went for breakfast at the hotel restaurant which we had received a voucher for. At this point we had brushed off the past few negative experiences and were have an amazing time in Chicago! We ordered an omelette and an eggs benedict with 2 orange juices. The food was extremely disappointing and we were again shocked to get the bill and see that our tasteless, runny, mushy sub-par breakfast was incredibly expensive! Thankfully we had a voucher, otherwise I never would have paid that much for that meal. We ate at Melis for the rest of the week and had amazing meals where our bills were not even close to amount that the hotel charged. Your food quality versus pricing should definitely be revisited! We did love the lobby bar and enjoyed the pool in the hotel but did have one more negative experience upon our departure. As we were packing up to check out we asked for a bellcart to be delivered to our room. The bellman promptly came to the room and when I told him that we still needed 1 more minute just to double check that we didn't leave anything in the room he rolled his eyes and said "Really? Cuz we need the cart. How long are you going to be?" I became frustrated at the staff again but made an effort not to snap back to his rude actions and comment. I mentioned that if he's busy he doesn't have to stay and wait, that we'll load everything ourselves so that we're not wasting his time. He again rudely rolled his eyes, said something under his breath, and then turned and walked away. At that point I was definitely ready to leave the hotel! I've stayed in many hotels, and not in any way expect princess treatment, but I've also worked in several hotels. As a staff member I would never respond to these situations the way the staff at this hotel did. That being said, the staff at the lobby bar, at the front desk and the concierge desk were extremely friendly, helpful and knowledgeable! We did love our visit to Chicago and unfortunately our hotel experience was the only negative part of our trip. I hope that in the future the hotel addresses not only the customer service problems from some aspects of the staff but also the overall condition of their rooms. March 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place to Stay while in Chicago!!! Stayed for St Patty's weekend 2013. Rooms have been recently redone. Nice job! Service was excellent. Congiere was very helpful and very knowledgeable each time we approached him. Breakfast buffet was good but $21 is a bit much...for that price would have expected a chef there to make fresh omelets. I would suggest you add a sign on subway platform to show the direction the hotel is in. Also add a sign at the entrance of the Merchandise Mart/subway entrance to explain that you have to walk to the end, got up the escalator one floor then elevator 15 floors. March 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Newly renovated Our room was apparently newly renovated. Very comfortable and clean. A little noise from the atrium but overall a nice place to stay. We had a nice view of the river. Bar was very expensive but they have a captive audience. March 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by St Patrick's Day visit We had a very nice stay, the room was perfect and remodeled in nice contemporary fashion. I noted during the reservation process that parking was a bit high but the front desk provided a nice breakfast coupon to offset the parking costs. To me that was a nice way to demonstrate their efforts to ensure we enjoyed our stay as rates seemed to be higher that weekend due to the St Patty's Day festivities. Thanks all!! March 22, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by The View The view is absolutly breath taking. We love sitting in the bar and taking in the view sipping on a cold one with kobe sliders to munch on! Great place for couples to get away!! March 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Contemporary Decor Beautifully decorated and fairly recently done. (Appears they are doing one floor at a time.) Only issue was noisy neighbors that could be heard in the hallway, but I guess that should have been expected with being there for St. Patty's Day. March 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful experience! We enjoyed our stay very much. We chose the pre-pay parking package and it worked out extremely well. The hotel staff, house keeping, bell hops, and concierge service were all very polite and extremely helpful. I love the location at the intersection of the rivers downtown; we were close to a lot of restaurants, shopping, and attractions. The room was very nice, the bed extremely comfortable, and the décor updated. Thank you Holiday Inn Chicago-Mart Plaza for making our stay an enjoyable one! March 22, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by No cancel policy will cost you $$$ My travel plans changed bringing me into the city a day later than my reservation so I called to cancel one night. Reservations person was curt, inflexible and unwilling to cancel one night. Nice hotel, great restaurant, have stayed there often, bu will never confirm a two night stay there again because of their no cancellation policy. March 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Time in Chicago at the Holiday Inn Hi - we went to this Holiday Inn because of the access to the Merchandise Mart. The access was very easy, the room was really very nicely done and we would do this again. Beautiful views and lovely lobby. I would strongly suggest staying here to anyone. March 16, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful experience! We enjoyed our stay very much. We chose the pre-pay parking package and it worked out extremely well. The hotel staff, house keeping, bell hops, and concierge service were all very polite and extremely helpful. I love the location at the intersection of the rivers downtown; we were close to a lot of restaurants, shopping, and attractions. The room was very nice, the bed extremely comfortable, and the décor updated. Thank you Holiday Inn Chicago-Mart Plaza for making our stay an enjoyable one! March 16, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by You get what you pay for! Got a very good price for a good location in downtown Chicago. The room was clean, but pretty beat with lumpy pillows and a lumpy mattress. Looks like it hadn't been signficantly renovated in many years. A nice restaurant and bar there. Exercise room was big, but not much by way of wiight-lfting equipment. March 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful View This is the third year we have stayed at this Holiday Inn location. We were greeted as Priority Club members and given excellent treatment. The room was beautiful. We had the best view ever and it was during a snowstorm. Felt like we were on the Polar Express. Had a wonderful time. The only downside is the parking. It is not easy entering the hotel from the parking lot. March 11, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not a good experience The room was larger than any other chicago hotel ones, which was great, and the location was great for me to do some shopping and use the amtrak service to get there. However, there are many things which disappointed me. It didn't have a microwave. I'm not sure whether the room was cleaned before I stayed - all the furnitures were dusty. Although the room light was not that bright, I could see the dust everywhere on the tables and chairs. The toilet cover was dirty, too. The staff at the reception was very rude though the manager later took care of the issue. I asked the room with the view, but with no luck. I like HI or HIE in general. However, I don't think I will stay here again and recommend it to my friends with the price I paid and the service I got. I'd rather go back to other hilton hotels in downtown chicago. March 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Easy access at a great value This hotel has a great location as it is just across the Chicago River from the Loop and adjacent to the Merchandise Mart. The pool area was wonderful, although a hot tub would have made it even better. I was able to get a great rate online which helped make the final cost look good even with an expensive parking fee. March 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love the remodel Stayed in a newly remodeled room overlooking the river. The remodel looks great. Views, as always, were wonderful too. Be sure to check out Bavette's restaurant near the hotel. March 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location, Small Rooms, overall good value We have stayed at this hotel on two separate visits. My husband and I both do work in the city and really like the location for professional purposes, but also for our leisure/relax time as well. Great view from the cityscapes lounge/bar in the evening, and the food was fairly good. However, *some of the staff on both visits were a little snippy and we felt like they spoke down to us, particularly one of the male managers at the reception/front desk. The restaurant and bar staff were great though. The rooms are a little small, but for the location and price - that was expected. Overall, we will continue to come back due to the overall value, unless we find something better. March 5, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by We Tried I haven't stayed at a holiday in awhile. The bell man and concierge services at the hotel were very nice and helpful. Our room however, had a adjoining door and we could hear EVERYTHING next door. It was disturbing. I called to management to complain and switch rooms and they did nothing. When we ordered room service for breakfast the first time it was very good. The next time they got our order wrong and gave us ham in our breakfast order and we're vegetarians. They did take it back. However, I wasn't feeling great that day after eating the meat thinking it was something else. The bed in the room was decent and we had a nice view. I will think long and hard before I go back again. March 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasantly surprised! I was pleasantly surprised at how lovely this hotel was! My room had a lovely view of the city, it was extremely quiet and comfortable. The bed was very hard and not particularly comfortable. The towels were not plush and the heating system was old and noisy. The staff could not have been more pleasant or accommadating and over all it was a bargain for Chicago!!! Breakfast was not included and it is always a plus to have a free breakfast! I would definitely recommend this hotel and I would stay there again! March 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by what a view this is the 3rd time and 2nd in rm 2312. What a town! March 1, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by It was nice but could have been alitte bit more relaxing There city view room with the king bed that over looks the chi river and dt chi had uncomfortable pillows and sheets on top of the cheap bathroom and tub that a small low class one star place would have. I did think the building was nice but not the actual room and board . February 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Nice Hotel and Great Views This was my first time staying at the Holiday Inn Chicago-Mart Plaza, and I was extremely pleased with my stay. The hotel was very clean, and my corner room was huge!. The wraparound windows provided great views of the Chicago skyline. I did not eat dinner at the restaurant, but i did for breakfast. The food was great! I think that this will now be my go-to hotel whenever I need to travel to Chicago in the future. February 27, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by not bad, comfortable. cold pool! A group on deal got me a good deal on this hotel. Took my daughter whose primary concern was swimming. The pool was very cold; I would say low 70's at best. We tried to brave the temps but too cold. Went and told the front desk who said they would have someone check it out right away. We went back an hour or two later but it was no better at all. So, that was pretty disappointing, especially to my 11 year old daughter. Ordered room service. She got a grilled cheese, it was on the burnt side, well-done. Not so good and they include gratuity and taxes so the 5 dollar kids meal is closer to 8 bucks. I wasn't too hungry so I ordered a kids pizza which was just a microwave pizza, so you can imagine how that tasted. Room was clean though, nice bathroom. Heat kicked on every few minutes which was kind of annoying, but we got used to it. Decent view of the city and it was quiet so not a bad value for the money if it's under 100 bucks! February 27, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Updated accomodations We stay here every time we travel to Chicago. This is a very nice Holiday Inn. The rooms have been updated. They are clean and comfortable. The "gift" for being a Priority Club member was comical. There was quite a fuss made over us...then gave us 1 bottle of warm water and a single serving bag of M&Ms. Why bother? Silly...give your guests free coffee or % off breakfast... February 24, 2013
<<prev 19 20 21 22 23 ... 26 next>>