Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-30-2014)
(e.g. Oct-01-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 735 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Unexpected Gem I really did not expect a breathtaking view of the river and downtown, newly renovated rooms or an awesome bar and restaurant - but we got it. Concierge is super helpful. Hotel very nice and overall a great experience. Everything was clean and comfy. Wish the beds were as comfortable as Hamptons but they weren't bad. Would stay here again in a heartbeat. Evening view from bar is incredible! May 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Always a perfect choice I am an Ambassador Gold with IHG and have stayed at plenty of hotels. I love this hotel because of its location and wonderful staff. From the views in the bar to the comfortable rooms, overall this property is a great choice. The subway is connected to the building as well as the Mart plaza. It is right on the river and walking distance to everything. The Art Institute of Chicago is located downstairs and offers a museum. The staff I'd very friendly, accommodating and knowledgeable. I am a return guest each time I visit Chicago. The only disappointing feature is there is no gift shop in this hotel. I was looking to purchase some personal items and snacks and bill them to the room, but was informed that I couldn't since there was none and the nearest shops were in the Mart across the way. Small inconvenience, but not a deal breaker. May 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by River view with a cracked window One of the more affordable options close to the Loop and Magnificent Mile. We were on the 19th floor overlooking the bend in the river. This provided awesome nighttime city views. But the effect was marred by large cracks in the glass of one of the room's center windows. To get to the hotel, you must enter through a large but sparsely furnished lobby, and go to the back and around the corner to find the elevator to the 15th floor lobby. This is fine, but back by the elevator area there is not a single plant, any artwork or any furnishings at all. I suggest something be put in this very large, completely empty space. I guess because I am a Platinum Elite member, I was offered a choice of 500 points or a "goody bag." I chose the bag, which was a mistake. It contained only one small bottle of water and one small bag of trail mix. Service in the bar area was so-so, but the nice view compensated well. May 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to Stay! The hotel is centrally located and very easy to get around ---- walking distance to many resturants. The rooms were clean and the views were great! May 10, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Mediocre - no surprises Room was moderately, but not very, clean. Air conditioner was disruptively loud and difficult to figure out how to turn it off. Room smelled a bit musty. Generally a mediocre experience - I would not return (was only there because of a conference taking place in the same facility). This is Holiday Inn, so no big surprises there. May 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Conference Discovery I stayed at the Holiday Inn Mart Plaza for a 3-day conference. The hotel was a pleasant surprise. It is hidden away on the too floors of a high rise near the Merchants Mart, but worth the effort to find it. The hotel reminded me of the better mid-range hotels in Europe. There are great views of Chicago and the river and it is within easy walking distance of restaurants and tourist sites. If you like interior design, the location is ideal. The hotel concierge is the best that I have ever encountered anywhere in the world, and I travel frequently. He knows the area well and his recommendations were spot on. The only complaints that I had were that the towels in the room had stains on them and the food offerings were unhealthy and unappealing. Keep in mind though, I ate with the conference, catered by the hotel, not in the hotel dining room. May 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and fabulous service We enjoyed our stay. Staff was very helpful. Room was clean spacious, and very comfortable bed. Quiet rooms and fast elevator to and from floors. We had a small problem with a clock which was replaced in five minutes by the staff. We will use Holiday Inn rooms in future travel plans. We enjoyed the food. May 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Merchandise Mart Must Excellent accommodations attached to the Merchandise Mart. View is great from the lounge. Restaurant was wonderful. I'll commend the management for whom they chose to hire - everyone was pleasant, knowledgeable, and helpful. We enjoyed our stay. May 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful location, atmosphere and staff My daughter had her wedding reception here and we had a lot of family staying in the hotel. Everyone, without exception, had a wonderful time. The catering staff under Barbara Martin were magnificent and all of our requests were satisfied. We couldn't have asked for a better location, atmosphere, service and our concierge Russell was so helpful in getting everyone around town and sightseeing etc. Would highly recommend this hotel for an event or just for an overnight stay! May 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by business trip made easy and comfy Loved the hotel service, location, staff and the feeling of being safe in a large city. Very good with information when I asked, helpful with my needs of storing luggage and Kyle was amazing getting my bag ready for the airport. Nice buffet breakfast and clean rooms. Convient to walk everywhere and the view was great. Thanks! May 2, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Easy access to training location ~ but paperwork processing is poor This is my second time at this hotel in a month. They could not get my company paperwork or process it so I had to pay out of pocket. I was luckier than some in the training as I was not double charged. Watch your statements! April 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice room, decent price, good location, excellent staff Just stayed here one night, but found it to be a fairly traditional hotel room with nice amenities and nice views of the river and Chicago. Desk staff was friendly and efficient. Had the breakfast buffet and thought the staff was very good, the food good, but the price a little high (even for Chicago). My only recommendation is to replace the desk chairs in the rooms if they were all as old and non-functional as the one I had. The chair was non-ergonomic, very low to the ground, would only rise about 2 inches and made it difficult to work at the desk. While I appreciated all the outlets for my electronics, when I sat down my knees were above the seat of the chair and I felt like a small child trying to reach up to the table and I'm 6'4" tall. Maybe it was just the chair in that room (2561), but I doubt it. Otherwise, a nice stay. April 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by almost perfect?? As a business traveler, I am on the road a majority of the time. One of the things I missed at your hotel is one small item that would have made my stay just about perfect- the Fox News Channel. As a weary traveler these small comforts of "Home" can always make a person feel more relaxed and at ease when staying at a hotel. CNN, MSNBC or the BBC just don't cut it for me. I am a constant traveler, a road warrior by definition- I am a conservative- I vote- and I want my FNC! I also write reviews on the Hotels I stay at...just saying. ;-) April 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Loved it Loved it, had a relaxing time. Id recommend to anyone April 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel, once you find it We stayed for three nights during a recent long weekend in the city. It was very difficult for us, as people unfamiliar with large inner-city driving, to find this hotel. It is signed poorly and the directions on the website were not that helpful. In the end, we basically found it by mistake, after nearly 30 minutes of wandering around downtown Chicago at rush hour. We did see some signage the next day, but it's low (on the outside of a concrete planter) and easily blocked when people are standing on the corner waiting to cross the street. What the website directions don't tell you is that this hotel basically sits on top of another building, so from the street level you think you've just pulled up to a school. Anyway, once we found the hotel things got much easier. We let the valets park the car and check-in was a breeze. We had booked a skyline view, so we were given a room on the top floor. The room was great. Housekeeping was a bit too excited to get into it each morning (2 of the 3 days we stayed the housekeeper knocked then walked in without waiting for a response) but we also failed to put out the Do Not Disturb sign. Note: If you want to sleep in, hang out the sign. The hotel is very conveniently located to a variety of public transportation options. We didn't use the in-and-out valet privileges; we just left the car parked and rode the CTA. It was incredibly easy to get to and from the hotel, particularly on the Brown line. Staff-wise, we very much appreciated Russell, the concierge. He always had a quick, thorough answer for our questions. He even recommended a superb Thai restaurant the night we just felt like getting delivery and taking it easy in our room. Overall the hotel is great. Our stay was very affordable and the inconveniences we experienced minor. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in downtown, especially as it is located centrally north-south to all the primary attractions. April 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Stay It has been my Quest to go to Chicago at least once in my life. Well my wife and I and very good friends of ours made it last weekend, and what else can I say but a awesome time and a awesome Hotel. This Hotel and Staff really knows how to take care of there guests. I would highly recommend this Hotel and plan on staying there in our next trip to Chicago. If I had to pick one downside and really it is not that bad, the bed could be a little more comfortable, but with so much to do in Chicago we did not sleep much anyways. I hope your stay is as enjoyable as our 's was. April 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Third Time at This Hotel For those who haven't stayed here the location atop another building is truly unique. The Hotel is close to downtown, has good access to bus routes, is a short walk or cab ride from Union Station and has easy access to the Food Court and Mass Transit Station within the adjacent Merchandise Mart. For visitors who enjoy walking then the Chicago River walking path lead to the Lake Michigan Shoreline and also provides convenient access to Michigan Drive (Golden Mile) en-route. Unless rooms were unavailable we wouldn't stay anywhere else. The in house restaurant is great for dinner and the bar (which we haven't used) provides nice city views. April 22, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Clean Hotel, Terrible WiFi The hotel is fine, but the WiFi is absolutely awful. I was there for work and not having working WiFi made it rough. The staff seemed to think that the WiFi worked perfectly, but it was like using dial-up and I often couldn't even connect from the lobby or in my room. I tested the network speeds once when I could get on and it was literally slower than 3G (the service you get on your phone). The second time I asked about it at the front desk, the woman had a real attitude about it. April 20, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Business trip I was here for business. I found the room to be large and comfortable. I was happy to have a view of the river. This location is perfect for business and I plan on returning soon. April 20, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable rooms! I will start off by saying that I have had and will continue to have weekly stays here for business travel. I've now stayed 3 weeks in a row. Location for me is key - I am working IN the Sun Times building, so I never even have to leave the property. Yes - there is construction of a new parking garage, and the noise level is fairly high. Yes, there is also construction being done across Orleans St, so be prepared to hear jackhammers if your room faces that direction. Note that its basically silence after the 'work day' and the construction guys go home. Remember that we are in Chicago, so you will hear some traffic and occasional ambulance/fire truck. Rooms have been clean - but one room I've been in (room 1712) had EXTREMELY low water pressure from the shower, and water would only come out of the main shower head - not the portable one no matter what I did. Other rooms seem to be good with water pressure - so I am not sure what the situation is with 1712. I'd recommend that if maids are coming in after stays - simply check the basics (water pressure included) and if the water pressure is low - just get Maintenance! You don't have to be a rocket scientist to notice low water pressure. The views are spectacular from the corner rooms. Pretty neat to be able to see the Sears Tower and the Hancock Building all from the same hotel room. Cityscape Bar is insanely priced for drinks. Beer that should cost $8-9 for a 6 pack, actually costs $8-9 PER BEER. I realize we are in downtown Chicago, but holy moly - thats crazy for a single beer. If you are a beer drinker - you are better off looking for local bars in the area - there are a few with good food as well. Food price is not outrageous - I dont mind paying $30 for a decent steak dinner, but the price of beer is nuts. Parking - its tough for me to choke down $45 a day for parking - valet or not. I know that is relatively good for downtown Chicago, but being an out-of-towner - it still seems high. Valet guys have all been VERY polite and attentive - no complaints there. Looking forward to being able to self park in the future though. Overall - remember that this is a Holiday Inn - not a $300-400/night boutique hotel. I've stayed at the boutique hotels and while nice - this Holiday Inn suits me just fine. Will likely choose this location when travelling for pleasure as well - the value is there for a location like Chicago. *** I am attaching a photo from my room I had most recently. April 18, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by April 2014 bussiness trip The mattress in this hotel need to be replaced. I have stayed at this hotel three times in different rooms over last month. All three times bed was semi conformable to uncomformable. The last time I got a king bed that was worse experience as the center of bed was a hill with sides of bed valleys (very saggy mattress). I will not be staying at this hotel again even though it is closest to where I need to work sometimes in Chicago. April 12, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Average Average, not sure how they got 4.5 star rating. Stayed here for 15 day while working at Merchandise Mart. It was very and didn't have to go out side if the weather was bad. Things I liked They hve a nice bar with a nic view of the river. Parking was a good price $45 per night. Nice pool Place was clean View of the river. Close to everything I needed to get to. Staff was very nice I checked out late evening and they gave me a $75 credit for a day and I didn't ask for it. Things I didn't like. No frig or iron in the the room. Had to pay $25 to have them bring a frig to the room. Phone was broke. Someone knocked one the door and came right in and said sorry I didn't anyone was in here. Was not maid service and they didn't say why they were there. They just left. Gym mostly treadmill one universal machine, looking over pool. Most of the other hotels along the river have a much better gym with good sellection of machines and view overloking the river. Elavators a pain. One set to the 15th floor then walk to the other side of the hotel and go to floor your room is on. April 12, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Under construction!! This hotel made me nervous the second I laid my eyes on it. The building appeared to be under construction. We would prefer to self park so I paid ahead of time for parking and I was forced to use their valet because the parking garage was being worked. Our plan was to come and go throughout our stay and we didn't want to call for our vehicle every time we felt the need to site see or eat. It was just a hassel! And on to the room. The bed was disappointing! It was smaller than your typical hotel bed and it was hard! I couldn't get comfortable for the life of me. The "premium view" that I paid extra for was a view of the construction below. I woke up to jack hammers below our window. Everything was dusty in our room and my kids were drawing their names in it! The construction was taking place in the rooms too! We walked past many construction workers with buckets of paint and tools. It wasn't what I was expecting for the price I paid to stay right downtown. Overall we were not satisfied and wouldn't recommend this place. I would like to add that this hotel had one of the nicest pools I've seen at a hotel! April 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable beds and clean rooms AWESOME experience (again). Keep up the good work. We have been coming for the last 12 years, twice a year. No complains whatsoever. April 11, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Decent Hotel This hotel is decent. I've stayed in better, I've stayed in worse. The best thing about it is the location, but even that could be better. The hotel is still at minimum several blocks from anything worthwhile doing in Chicago, unless you're spending your whole time at the Merchandise Mart. The rooms were average, nothing special. The worst aspect of the rooms is the 2" gap at the bottom of the room door. This allows any sound in the walkways to enter in the room at volume. I heard a number of people's conversations as they walked by, even with the t.v. on and sitting in the chair by the window, and made it difficult to go to sleep before midnight. The staff is average. Most could benefit from customer service refresher courses though. Because the hotel shares the building with businesses and a school some areas are not clearly designated, and the staff does not seem to be eager to assist wayward visitors. The valet staff says to give them 10 to bring your vehicle to the door, but better make it 20-30. Overall rating would be a 6/10. As I stated in my first sentence, I've stayed in better, but I've also stayed in worse. April 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by When in Chicago... ...this is the place to stay, bar none. Perfect location. Perfect Experience. April 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very comfortable Having been upgraded to this very spacious and newly decorated room was most enjoyable. The view was spectacular. The bathroom was especially lovely with the walk in shower and large mirror over the sink unit. April 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Rough Around the Edges, but alright otherwise The rooms and hotel are beginnig to show signs of wear. Our room had a broken toilet paper holder, adn the paint was peeling a bit. Otherwise, the stay was great. The staff was always nice and helpful, allowing me to work in the resteraunt long after it closed. The venue for the conference was well suited, and seemed to fit the bill nicely. The breakfast seemed a bit overpriced for th ebuffet,but it was good food. April 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Weekend We sure enjoyed our weekend in Chicago. the hotel is in a great location. The staff were very friendly and willing to answer any questions we had. We will stay again when we are back in Chicago. The hotel is so close to many great restaurants, within walking distance. We plan to try the hotel bar next time, great view of the area. April 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great view and friendly service Wonderful and friendly service. Room was on the 22nd floor. Amazing view of the city. Room was clean and comfortable. Surprised though that there was no continental breakfast. The only restaurant available charged 19.99 for breakfast. Should have brought bagels or something. We would've spent more money there if there was also casual dinning as well as a higher end restaurant. Location was a bit farther than walking distance to go downtown so cabs and tipping became expensive. It was a bit confusing to find but cabbies had no problem! Totally worth the money, just wish it was closer to downtown. April 2, 2014
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 ... 26 next>>