• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-31-2014)
(e.g. Aug-01-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: CHICAGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:12
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. French
  4. Japanese
  5. Chinese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

No pets allowed except for service animals.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Millennium Park
Distance From Hotel:1.2MI
Attraction:
The Adler Planetarium
Distance From Hotel:3.8MI
Attraction:
John Hancock Observatory
Distance From Hotel:1.5MI
Attraction:
Art Institute of Chicago
Distance From Hotel:1.3MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Valet parking is $45.00, includes unlimited in/out privileges. Oversized vehicles cannot be accommodated.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 45.00  USD)
  • Valet parking fee  ( 45.0 USD )

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:521
  • Total number of suites:9
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:210
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:311
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:521
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:12
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:10
  • FEMA Property Number:IL0107

Downtown Chicago Hotel - Spectacular River and City Views

Located in downtown Chicago’s exciting River North area and minutes from the Chicago Loop, the contemporary Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza Hotel overlooks the Chicago River and showcases iconic views of the Chicago skyline.

Defined by urban style and modern comfort, a recent $20 million redesign of this property sets the stage for an exciting Chicago experience for both business & leisure travelers. Ideally
View More

Downtown Chicago Hotel - Spectacular River and City Views

Located in downtown Chicago’s exciting River North area and minutes from the Chicago Loop, the contemporary Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza Hotel overlooks the Chicago River and showcases iconic views of the Chicago skyline.

Defined by urban style and modern comfort, a recent $20 million redesign of this property sets the stage for an exciting Chicago experience for both business & leisure travelers. Ideally situated near the Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier and Millennium Park, the Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza is the perfect base from which to explore Chicago. Catch a rising star in the nearby Theatre District, walk over to one of the myriad dining options just steps from the hotel or watch the sunset at Willis Tower before retiring to your luxurious guest room featuring breathtaking views of Chicago.

Business travelers will appreciate the skywalk linking the hotel to the Merchandise Mart and our close proximity to the Loop, Financial and Business district. Hotel guests have access to complimentary wireless Internet & a convenient 24-hour Business Center. The hotel offers 16 meeting rooms, with 25,000 sq ft of function space and can accommodate up to 1000 guests for a trade show or reception. Additionally, the hotel is just 3 miles from McCormick Place Convention Center and within 16 miles of both O'Hare Airport and Midway Airport.

View Less
Features
The hotel has 521 spacious guestrooms and suites featuring free Wi-Fi and LCD TVs with premium cable. We offer room service, concierge services and on-site parking. Guests can work out in the complimentary Fitness Center, enjoy a swim in the indoor pool, relax in the sauna, savor Mediterranean and Asian inspired cuisine at ItaliAsia and unwind with cocktails in the chic Cityscape Bar.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 424 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great views Great views from the corner rooms with a king bed and pull-out couch. I would recommend this hotel to anyone! Great location! Reasonable price! Eat at Gino's East, pizza place right behind hotel and M burger right across street and Grand Lux Cafe just down Michigan Avenue. June 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyed the stay We spent 4 days in Chicago celebrating my mother's 91st birthday. The room was comfortable and clean. All staff members were pleasant and helpful. We would not hesitate to stay at Crowne Plaza again. June 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always a good experience I love the Crowne Plaza. The guy who checked me in was polite and very accommodating despite my earlier arrival. Would definitely recommend to anyone. June 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Room, Location and Staff We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights and used our Priority Rewards Points for 3 of the 4 nights so we were surprised and delighted to be given a suite with excellent views of both the lake and downtown. From the front desk to room service all of the employees we interacted with were very professional and helpful. The only negative of the hotel is that their lobby is very (way too) small and lack luster and almost off putting as far as a first impression goes however it doesn't reflect what the guest rooms or customer service are like so we would definitely stay at the Crowne Plaza again. June 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and service The hotel was comfortable and conveniently located. We were impressed by our room's view and the hotel's prompt housekeeping service. June 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Awesome Location & Amazig Rooms The room, view, and amenities blew me away! I was upgraded to an amazing king suite for being a platinum member. June 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Property in a great location We sent our daughter and son-in-law for a weekend away to Chicago because their planned first anniversary trip was interrupted by news that they are expecting. Anyway, the kids loved their stay and referred to their room as the taj-mahal.They had a fabulous weekend in beautiful Chicago and we really appreciate it. Thank you Crowne Plaza! June 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Cgicago Breakaway WOULD RETURN AGAIN Perfect for a first-time visitor wishing to tour and for a business person wanting to do more than work Clients seen included tourists, business persons, airline staff Located within a $12 cab ride (with tip) from Union Station 3/4 block east of the Magnificent Mile Just west of a campus of Northwestern Hospital Lobby is minimalist (4 Reception Desks), one Doorman, one person to assist with luggage Clean entrance and reception area Helpful staff, assisted with arranging a city tour that we chose Elevators are situated in the middle of the building Room was on 28th of 40 floor building with a restaurant and indoor pool on the 40th floor Room was in an alcove close to elevators Room was furnished with walnut coloured furniture, queen bed, white duvet, sitting chair, night tables, desk & chair, 3 drawer bureau, safe, bar fridge, flat screen TV (channels limited but enough), Wifi for a fee Small walk-in closet Bathroom was smaller with shower/tub combination Room cleaning staff went about their work without disturbing US May 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Close to everything Great location. The room was a little small and the hotel is older but it was clean and the service was great. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. I would definitely stay here again. May 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Stay here often I absolutely love this hotel! Right in the heart of the Mag Mile, Super corner suites, I always try to book this hotel when in Chicago. May 27, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Mostly A Very Good Experience - 2 Conditions The hotel has a great location, the rooms are large, beds are very comfortable and staff is pleasant. I'd stay there again on two conditions: as long as I got a room on a low floor and AWAY from the elevators. Elevators - The elevators are unbelievably slow, you could wait 5 minutes for an elevator to reach you. So I found myself taking the stairs more than once. Not so bad if you are on the first few floors, but quite a hike if you are on an upper level. Room Location - My room was located near the elevators, so I could hear the noise of the elevators going up and down in the shafts. I'd be sure i was at the other end of the hall. Restaurant next to hotel has decent food, but service is lacking. Worth walking down the street to go elsewhere May 21, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Room was great, service could be better When we arrived we were told the room was not ready but did not receive any indication of how long it would be. We booked this hotel because of the rooftop restaurant for breakfast only to find the restaurant had been closed for 2 months (and there were still signs all over the hotel for it). May 19, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by noisy hallways We have stayed at your beautiful hotel many many times when we have appointments at Northwestern but this particular stay was not favorable. At 1:00 AM there was alot of action in the hallways with door slamming and loud yelling through the hall. Needless to say, we did not rest well and our stay was not good. I guess there was a party in different rooms and they were going from room to room with alot of drinking, I could tell. May 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by excellant service The bell staff are very friendly and helpful, gave us recommendations for places to eat. Room was very clean, comfortable. May 16, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Repair needed We stayed there the night before surgery and were only there about 8 hours. The room was comfortable enough but the air conditioner was broken when we got there at about 10:00 and the room was quite warm. Someone came to fix it which took about 15 minutes. We wanted to go right to bed but of course had to wait till he finished. Staff was friendly but it was not a good start to our surgery schedule. May 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Value in downtown Chicago Perhaps I am shooting myself in the foot with this review but anyhow here it is. I am becoming a regular in this hotel. Whenever I check websites from both IHG and other hotel chains I constantly have to conclude that this hotel offers a superb value given the location and the facilities. The rooms I stayed in always have been spacious and with a terrific view. Next to but also part of the hotel is the Elephant and Castle restaurant. A nice place where a good quality meal is available for a reasonable amount. Also the the fact that I was a return guest and priority club gold member was pro actively recognized with a nice gift and an upgrade. Is there nothing bad to mention about this hotel? Not really...the only thing that was a pity during my last stay is that they had closed the Sky lounge on the 40th floor as a breakfast location. Really too bad not to do anything with that lounge. Would also be a great location for cocktails at the end of the day. May 15, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Stay It was overall a nice stay. My stay was for work so I was not expecting too much. Thank goodness there were other restaurants around because the restaurant that was in the hotel had very bad service and took forever to get our food.. and since we were on a tight schedule it wasn't a great experience and the food was very so so. As for the rest, the rooms were nice, the beds were super comfy and the best pillows ever! May 14, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not worth the money!!!!! My husband and I stay on the Mag Mile about 4 times a year. This was our second visit with the Avenue and it was such a disappointment. We stayed in a King Suite....from the peeling wallpaper to the lack of normal room supplies it was not worth the money. We had three adults in the room and when we requested another blanket for the pullout sleeper the maid who delivered it to the room and was VERY rude about the request. Then we requested more glasses (only two provided) the maid who delivered those was also rude. I stopped by the Concierge to ask about the best place to watch the Kentucky Derby and he actually picked up the telephone and received a call while speaking with me! Worst service EVER. If you are hungry then please leave the Elephant and Castle alone......dirty, dirty, dirty not the mention that the food is awful and over priced. This will be our last stay here and I have already purchased plane tks to return in August we just won't be returning to this hotel. By the way, this is the first BAD review I have ever given a Hotel. May 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and very nice rooms. This is the second time that we've stayed at this hotel for a weekend in downtown Chicago. The rooms have been very nice. They are spacious for a downtown Chicago hotel, clean, and the beds are quite comfortable. Our favorite part about this hotel, however, is the location. It's just around the corner from Michigan Blvd, and is easy walking distance from Millennium Park, Water Tower Place, lots of great restaurants, Navy Pier, and a few of our favorite theatres. The staff is friendly and accommodating. The valet parking is nice. The overnight price is comparable to most parking in the area, though it would be nicer if they offered a discount for Priority Club members:) Overall, my wife and I would highly recommend this hotel. May 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel, excellent staff, perfect location Everything I want in a hotel. Comfortable room, cozy bed, slept all night. Woke up refreshed and ready for the day. I liked it so much I will return. May 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by one issue - wake up call We did not receive our wake-up call but the taxi was there at 5a.m. as requested. It could have been a large problem as husband set alarm for 4:30 p.m. (my phone alarm saved the day) Only other thing was honor box charges. I stored a gingerale for myself and it recorded everything it touched as used. Provide some space in refrigerator for use by customer. Box was full of very overpriced items and inconvenient and unable to be used to keep medicine and/or other items cold. May 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location!! No vending machines! A few SNOBBY employees! I would highly recommend this hotel is you are a tourist in Chicago! The location is a block away from the Magnificent Mile. While you can tell the hotel is really old, the rooms are huge and everything is updated. They have a great attached restaurant which is the best location for breakfast every morning. Some of staff members were a bit rude and snobby....WHY, I don't know! THEY work there: I AM the customer, so I pay their salary! Go figure! One MAJOR drawback is that there's NO vending machine and NO gift shop/store located in the hotel. I was at the front desk when I guess another guest called the front desk and the RUDE front desk person told them "use tap water out of the bathroom". Jeez, seriously???? With all that being said, I would stay there again and highly recommend. May 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel with Great Service I arrived mid day and my room was actually ready. Hotel is very up to date and clean. I was upgraded to a corner suite with great views of the city. Easy walk to shopping and dining options as well as Navy Pier and the beach. I will be returning to this hotel again in the summer with the family in tow. May 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Unbeatable location and friendly staff in Windy City The corner suite on high floor is around 55sqm large. Seating area with television set Bedroom with very comfortable bed, open dressing Small bathroom with fridge like light and tiny bathtub. TempleSpa amenities (I like them). No vanity set. No bathrobe. Superb view over the city Corporate design with few atmosphere, but does the job Very quiet Good - Unbeatable location - Very friendly staff - Great view - Fast wifi Bad - Sky Lounge is currently closed. Not the charm of a trendy boutique hotel, but the Crowne Plaza Magnificent Mile definitely does the job. May 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Magnificent Mile location The Avenue Crown Plaza is in an excellent location to Michigan Ave shopping and dining. Our visit, 4/26-4/28, was a short stay but got to every place we needed to by foot. Watertower is a couple of blocks north and Walgreens with a grocery section is about a block. We come to Chicago once a year for a long weekend and never rent a car. Note that parking in this Magnificent Mile area is $50/night, A shuttle booked inadvance online for round trip is $56! There are lots of great places to eat around the area, but Watertower has an interesting concept of a food bar with a large selection of choices and you can pay for what you select and lots of space to sit down. Shopping is great but plan to spend some bucks. The hotel can give directions of how to get to places. Quiet, peaceful rooms with a fair amount of space in the suite. Had a great time. May 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and clean Excellent location, clean & comfortable room, staff at check in were very helpfull. Would love to know make and model of bed / mattress, really comfortable! May 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic staff Great location, spot on The Magnificent Mile. The staff make me feel like I'm home every time I stay at The Avenue. April 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great corner room! Loved the room set up...awesome water pressure! I have thick curly hair...great deal right off the Mag Mile...would definitely stay here again...friendly staff very helpful...good breakfast in restaurant... April 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by price Was a bit pricey when you added in the cost of parking at the hotel. I guess it's the price you pay for convenience and hopefully safety? April 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Large, Comfortable Room We stayed in a Deluxe double queen room. It has a full size leather sofa and chair, as well as a desk with another chair. This made is super comfortable to relax after our busy day. The bathroom was adequate, but a bit small. It did have a area outside the bathroom where you could get ready--big mirror and long countertop for spreading out your cosmetics, etc. It did not have movies on demand and the pool is only open in summer. The location was perfect, right off Michigan Ave. and convenient for buses or subway. It is near a large hospital, so you hear a good many ambulances. Overall, we would absolutely stay here again. The room was quite large and the beds were very comfortable. April 18, 2013
<<prev 8 9 10 11 12 ... 15 next>>
Welcome to Chicago Downtown Hotel
Welcome to Chicago Downtown Hotel
Select to close.
Welcome to Chicago Downtown Hotel Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza & Chicago River Dining in Chicago Downtown Navy Pier - Attraction in Chicago Downtown Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza Front Desk Wolf Point location on the Chicago River Chicago Theatre - Attraction in Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile - Attraction in Chicago Downtown Art Institute of Chicago Boat Tour on Chicago River Millennium Park in Chicago Downtown Wrigley Field - Attraction in Chicago Downtown Chicago River and Orleans Bridge Hotel Lobby John Hancock Center - Attraction in Chicago Downtown Shedd Aquarium - Attraction in Chicago Downtown Buckingham Fountain in Grant Park Willis Tower - Attraction in Chicago Downtown Adler Planetarium - Attraction in Chicago Downtown View of Chicago Downtown View of Downtown Chicago & Hotel Parking Theatre in Chicago Downtown Hotel with skyline and Chicago River. Field Museum - Attraction in Chicago Downtown Millennium Park in Chicago Downtown Welcome to Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-31-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-01-2014)
Check Availability
Loading