• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Oct-01-2014)
(e.g. Oct-02-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: CHICAGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:12
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. French
  4. Japanese
  5. Chinese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

No pets allowed except for service animals.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Willis Tower Skydeck
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Millennium Park
Distance From Hotel:1.2MI
Attraction:
Magnificent Mile
Distance From Hotel:1.2MI
Attraction:
Art Institute of Chicago
Distance From Hotel:1.3MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Valet parking is $45.00, includes unlimited in/out privileges. Oversized vehicles cannot be accommodated.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 45.00  USD)
  • Valet parking fee  ( 45.0 USD )

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:521
  • Total number of suites:9
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:210
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:311
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:521
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:12
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:10
  • FEMA Property Number:IL0107

Downtown Chicago Hotel - Spectacular River and City Views

Located in downtown Chicago’s exciting River North area and minutes from the Chicago Loop, the contemporary Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza Hotel overlooks the Chicago River and showcases iconic views of the Chicago skyline.

Defined by urban style and modern comfort, a recent $20 million redesign of this property sets the stage for an exciting Chicago experience for both business & leisure travelers. Ideally
View More

Downtown Chicago Hotel - Spectacular River and City Views

Located in downtown Chicago’s exciting River North area and minutes from the Chicago Loop, the contemporary Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza Hotel overlooks the Chicago River and showcases iconic views of the Chicago skyline.

Defined by urban style and modern comfort, a recent $20 million redesign of this property sets the stage for an exciting Chicago experience for both business & leisure travelers. Ideally situated near the Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier and Millennium Park, the Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza is the perfect base from which to explore Chicago. Catch a rising star in the nearby Theatre District, walk over to one of the myriad dining options just steps from the hotel or watch the sunset at Willis Tower before retiring to your luxurious guest room featuring breathtaking views of Chicago.

Business travelers will appreciate the skywalk linking the hotel to the Merchandise Mart and our close proximity to the Loop, Financial and Business district. Hotel guests have access to complimentary wireless Internet & a convenient 24-hour Business Center. The hotel offers 16 meeting rooms, with 25,000 sq ft of function space and can accommodate up to 1000 guests for a trade show or reception. Additionally, the hotel is just 3 miles from McCormick Place Convention Center and within 16 miles of both O'Hare Airport and Midway Airport.

View Less
Features
The hotel has 521 spacious guestrooms and suites featuring free Wi-Fi and LCD TVs with premium cable. We offer room service, concierge services and on-site parking. Guests can work out in the complimentary Fitness Center, enjoy a swim in the indoor pool, relax in the sauna, savor Mediterranean and Asian inspired cuisine at ItaliAsia and unwind with cocktails in the chic Cityscape Bar.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 443 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Room was great, service could be better When we arrived we were told the room was not ready but did not receive any indication of how long it would be. We booked this hotel because of the rooftop restaurant for breakfast only to find the restaurant had been closed for 2 months (and there were still signs all over the hotel for it). May 19, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by noisy hallways We have stayed at your beautiful hotel many many times when we have appointments at Northwestern but this particular stay was not favorable. At 1:00 AM there was alot of action in the hallways with door slamming and loud yelling through the hall. Needless to say, we did not rest well and our stay was not good. I guess there was a party in different rooms and they were going from room to room with alot of drinking, I could tell. May 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by excellant service The bell staff are very friendly and helpful, gave us recommendations for places to eat. Room was very clean, comfortable. May 16, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Repair needed We stayed there the night before surgery and were only there about 8 hours. The room was comfortable enough but the air conditioner was broken when we got there at about 10:00 and the room was quite warm. Someone came to fix it which took about 15 minutes. We wanted to go right to bed but of course had to wait till he finished. Staff was friendly but it was not a good start to our surgery schedule. May 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Value in downtown Chicago Perhaps I am shooting myself in the foot with this review but anyhow here it is. I am becoming a regular in this hotel. Whenever I check websites from both IHG and other hotel chains I constantly have to conclude that this hotel offers a superb value given the location and the facilities. The rooms I stayed in always have been spacious and with a terrific view. Next to but also part of the hotel is the Elephant and Castle restaurant. A nice place where a good quality meal is available for a reasonable amount. Also the the fact that I was a return guest and priority club gold member was pro actively recognized with a nice gift and an upgrade. Is there nothing bad to mention about this hotel? Not really...the only thing that was a pity during my last stay is that they had closed the Sky lounge on the 40th floor as a breakfast location. Really too bad not to do anything with that lounge. Would also be a great location for cocktails at the end of the day. May 15, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Stay It was overall a nice stay. My stay was for work so I was not expecting too much. Thank goodness there were other restaurants around because the restaurant that was in the hotel had very bad service and took forever to get our food.. and since we were on a tight schedule it wasn't a great experience and the food was very so so. As for the rest, the rooms were nice, the beds were super comfy and the best pillows ever! May 14, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not worth the money!!!!! My husband and I stay on the Mag Mile about 4 times a year. This was our second visit with the Avenue and it was such a disappointment. We stayed in a King Suite....from the peeling wallpaper to the lack of normal room supplies it was not worth the money. We had three adults in the room and when we requested another blanket for the pullout sleeper the maid who delivered it to the room and was VERY rude about the request. Then we requested more glasses (only two provided) the maid who delivered those was also rude. I stopped by the Concierge to ask about the best place to watch the Kentucky Derby and he actually picked up the telephone and received a call while speaking with me! Worst service EVER. If you are hungry then please leave the Elephant and Castle alone......dirty, dirty, dirty not the mention that the food is awful and over priced. This will be our last stay here and I have already purchased plane tks to return in August we just won't be returning to this hotel. By the way, this is the first BAD review I have ever given a Hotel. May 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and very nice rooms. This is the second time that we've stayed at this hotel for a weekend in downtown Chicago. The rooms have been very nice. They are spacious for a downtown Chicago hotel, clean, and the beds are quite comfortable. Our favorite part about this hotel, however, is the location. It's just around the corner from Michigan Blvd, and is easy walking distance from Millennium Park, Water Tower Place, lots of great restaurants, Navy Pier, and a few of our favorite theatres. The staff is friendly and accommodating. The valet parking is nice. The overnight price is comparable to most parking in the area, though it would be nicer if they offered a discount for Priority Club members:) Overall, my wife and I would highly recommend this hotel. May 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel, excellent staff, perfect location Everything I want in a hotel. Comfortable room, cozy bed, slept all night. Woke up refreshed and ready for the day. I liked it so much I will return. May 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by one issue - wake up call We did not receive our wake-up call but the taxi was there at 5a.m. as requested. It could have been a large problem as husband set alarm for 4:30 p.m. (my phone alarm saved the day) Only other thing was honor box charges. I stored a gingerale for myself and it recorded everything it touched as used. Provide some space in refrigerator for use by customer. Box was full of very overpriced items and inconvenient and unable to be used to keep medicine and/or other items cold. May 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location!! No vending machines! A few SNOBBY employees! I would highly recommend this hotel is you are a tourist in Chicago! The location is a block away from the Magnificent Mile. While you can tell the hotel is really old, the rooms are huge and everything is updated. They have a great attached restaurant which is the best location for breakfast every morning. Some of staff members were a bit rude and snobby....WHY, I don't know! THEY work there: I AM the customer, so I pay their salary! Go figure! One MAJOR drawback is that there's NO vending machine and NO gift shop/store located in the hotel. I was at the front desk when I guess another guest called the front desk and the RUDE front desk person told them "use tap water out of the bathroom". Jeez, seriously???? With all that being said, I would stay there again and highly recommend. May 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel with Great Service I arrived mid day and my room was actually ready. Hotel is very up to date and clean. I was upgraded to a corner suite with great views of the city. Easy walk to shopping and dining options as well as Navy Pier and the beach. I will be returning to this hotel again in the summer with the family in tow. May 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Unbeatable location and friendly staff in Windy City The corner suite on high floor is around 55sqm large. Seating area with television set Bedroom with very comfortable bed, open dressing Small bathroom with fridge like light and tiny bathtub. TempleSpa amenities (I like them). No vanity set. No bathrobe. Superb view over the city Corporate design with few atmosphere, but does the job Very quiet Good - Unbeatable location - Very friendly staff - Great view - Fast wifi Bad - Sky Lounge is currently closed. Not the charm of a trendy boutique hotel, but the Crowne Plaza Magnificent Mile definitely does the job. May 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Magnificent Mile location The Avenue Crown Plaza is in an excellent location to Michigan Ave shopping and dining. Our visit, 4/26-4/28, was a short stay but got to every place we needed to by foot. Watertower is a couple of blocks north and Walgreens with a grocery section is about a block. We come to Chicago once a year for a long weekend and never rent a car. Note that parking in this Magnificent Mile area is $50/night, A shuttle booked inadvance online for round trip is $56! There are lots of great places to eat around the area, but Watertower has an interesting concept of a food bar with a large selection of choices and you can pay for what you select and lots of space to sit down. Shopping is great but plan to spend some bucks. The hotel can give directions of how to get to places. Quiet, peaceful rooms with a fair amount of space in the suite. Had a great time. May 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and clean Excellent location, clean & comfortable room, staff at check in were very helpfull. Would love to know make and model of bed / mattress, really comfortable! May 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic staff Great location, spot on The Magnificent Mile. The staff make me feel like I'm home every time I stay at The Avenue. April 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great corner room! Loved the room set up...awesome water pressure! I have thick curly hair...great deal right off the Mag Mile...would definitely stay here again...friendly staff very helpful...good breakfast in restaurant... April 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by price Was a bit pricey when you added in the cost of parking at the hotel. I guess it's the price you pay for convenience and hopefully safety? April 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Large, Comfortable Room We stayed in a Deluxe double queen room. It has a full size leather sofa and chair, as well as a desk with another chair. This made is super comfortable to relax after our busy day. The bathroom was adequate, but a bit small. It did have a area outside the bathroom where you could get ready--big mirror and long countertop for spreading out your cosmetics, etc. It did not have movies on demand and the pool is only open in summer. The location was perfect, right off Michigan Ave. and convenient for buses or subway. It is near a large hospital, so you hear a good many ambulances. Overall, we would absolutely stay here again. The room was quite large and the beds were very comfortable. April 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great room and friendly staff. We greatly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The room was very nice and beds were comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful, especially since it was our first time in Chicago. The only thing I was missing and would have preferred is the in-room movie option on the TV, so we could enjoy a movie in the evening. Other than that, we had a great time and would most definately stay here again! April 17, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location and helpful staff. We stayed at the Crowne Plaza for my brother-inlaw`s 40th Birthday. We could not find anything bad about this property other than the pool was only seasonal. Drew at the front desk was most helpful with places to eat and directions on how to get there. We will stay at the Crowne again in the future. April 15, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good location but hotel needs improvement Cons: 1) found hair in both shower and on bed sheets 2) floor smelled of cigarettes despite the fact that it was a non-smoking floor 3) paper thin walls - could hear people using washrooms and toilets flushing - made for a very unpleasant experience 3) requested a kid-friendly room ahead of time - did not materialize 4) fluorescent light bulbs in room made room appear cheap and dingy 5) dingy hallway and elevators 6) slow elevators 7) wi-fi was $9.95/day, but did not end up charging us for it. This is confusing. In this current day and age, wi-fi should be free and available to guests throughout the hotel 8) website promised complimentary continental breakfast. Turned out it was not available. 9) website promised a pool. Turned out it was closed for the season. This was one of the primary reasons we chose this hotel. False advertising. Pro: 1) friendly check-in staff 2) excellent location Would I stay there again? No. April 15, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 good location room is a little bit old, but comfortable. The heater is very noisy! Could not sleep any more unless turned it off. No Priority Club rewards and no one tell me the reason. April 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Total Satisfaction Our room was large and had a very good floor plan for the placement of its furnishings, including a comfortable sofa. A request for extra pillows was made at the front desk and within 10 minutes, four extra pillows were delivered to the room. We have stayed at this location previously, due to its proximity to Northwestern Memorial Hospital. The staff has went out of its way to make all of our stays as comfortable and hassle free as possible. April 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent hotel We stayed here for 3 nights and had no problems with anything. The hotel is in a great location and the staff were great. They helped us with the best ways of getting to the different places we were going and recommended some good restaurants. They were able to store our luggage as we arrived early and we had no problem getting a later checkout. We were upgraded to a corner suite and the cleaning staff were wonderful and friendly. You will hear some sirens but they did not bother us at night and you are staying in downtown Chicago so we expected this. The only thing that disappointed me was the restaurant on the top level was closed but the downstairs restaurant was great (we had breakfast, supper and some snacks). I would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again. April 14, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Un-impressive and Disapointing Slightly worse than any average hotel. Poor looking lobby. Terribly slow elevators looking like service elevators. In regards to the bedroom: very small bathroom with bad plumbing (loose faucet and water backing up), and the room was less than clean (spider webs and dust). I am very disapointed in this hotel. It took away from my "romantic getaway". Will never go there again. Platinum Member April 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fun weekend in Chicago We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Crowne Plaza. The location was perfect for where we wanted to be. We could easily walk to Navy Pier and many destination points on Michigan Ave. Plus Gino's East (a recommendation to us) was one block away. Also the Irish Pub that was located in the Hotel was also nice. The room was very spacious, clean and a great view of the city. The staff were very nice and helpful. I would definitely stay here again and recommend this hotel to others. April 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place to Stay I can't say enough about this hotel! We were just there for about a week while my son had surgery at Luire Children's Hospital. It was walking distance to the hospital and felt very safe. The hotel staff were great!! Everyone went out of their way to be most helpful! The room was very clean and comfortable and very nice to come back to after being at the hospital. We will definately stay here again and again. If you are there to shop you are walking distance to all the shops on the Magnificent Mile!! April 10, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointing I find it absolutely amazing that, smack in the middle of one of America's largest cities, there was no cell phone reception in my room. Moreover, when I brought this to the attention of the front desk, I was met with apathetic shrugs. Rooms are small and run-down. Maid service was solid. I will never stay here again. April 10, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly Service and great location! This hotel was clean, comfortable, and right on the Magnificent Mile. We were just a few blocks away from Lake Michigan, various places to shop, many places to eat and tons to do. I will definitely stay here again. April 7, 2013
<<prev 9 10 11 12 13 ... 16 next>>
Welcome to Chicago Downtown Hotel
Welcome to Chicago Downtown Hotel
Select to close.
Welcome to Chicago Downtown Hotel Navy Pier - Attraction in Chicago Downtown Dining in Chicago Downtown Chicago Theatre - Attraction in Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile - Attraction in Chicago Downtown Art Institute of Chicago Millennium Park in Chicago Downtown Wrigley Field - Attraction in Chicago Downtown John Hancock Center - Attraction in Chicago Downtown Shedd Aquarium - Attraction in Chicago Downtown Buckingham Fountain in Grant Park Willis Tower - Attraction in Chicago Downtown Adler Planetarium - Attraction in Chicago Downtown Theatre in Chicago Downtown Field Museum - Attraction in Chicago Downtown Millennium Park in Chicago Downtown Hotel Lobby Welcome to Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza Wolf Point location on the Chicago River Chicago River and Orleans Bridge Hotel with skyline and Chicago River. Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza & Chicago River Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza Front Desk Boat Tour on Chicago River View of Chicago Downtown View of Downtown Chicago & Hotel Parking
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Earn at least two free nights, 50,000 bonus points or 10,000 miles. Book Now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-01-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-02-2014)
Check Availability
Loading