• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Apr-19-2014)
(e.g. Apr-20-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: CHICAGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:12
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. French
  4. Japanese
  5. Chinese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

No pets allowed except for service animals.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Millennium Park
Distance From Hotel:1.2MI
Attraction:
The Adler Planetarium
Distance From Hotel:3.8MI
Attraction:
John Hancock Observatory
Distance From Hotel:1.5MI
Attraction:
Art Institute of Chicago
Distance From Hotel:1.3MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Self parking or valet parking is $45.00, includes unlimited in/out privileges. Oversized vehicles cannot be accommodated.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 45.00  USD)
  • Valet parking fee  ( 45.0 USD )

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:521
  • Total number of suites:9
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:210
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:311
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:521
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:12
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:10
  • FEMA Property Number:IL0107

Downtown Chicago Hotel - Spectacular River and City Views

Located in downtown Chicago’s exciting River North area and minutes from the Chicago Loop, the contemporary Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza Hotel overlooks the Chicago River and showcases iconic views of the Chicago skyline.

Defined by urban style and modern comfort, a recent $20 million redesign of this property sets the stage for an exciting Chicago experience for both business & leisure travelers. Ideally
View More

Downtown Chicago Hotel - Spectacular River and City Views

Located in downtown Chicago’s exciting River North area and minutes from the Chicago Loop, the contemporary Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza Hotel overlooks the Chicago River and showcases iconic views of the Chicago skyline.

Defined by urban style and modern comfort, a recent $20 million redesign of this property sets the stage for an exciting Chicago experience for both business & leisure travelers. Ideally situated near the Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier and Millennium Park, the Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza is the perfect base from which to explore Chicago. Catch a rising star in the nearby Theatre District, walk over to one of the myriad dining options just steps from the hotel or watch the sunset at Willis Tower before retiring to your luxurious guest room featuring breathtaking views of Chicago.

Business travelers will appreciate the skywalk linking the hotel to the Merchandise Mart and our close proximity to the Loop, Financial and Business district. Hotel guests have access to complimentary wireless Internet & a convenient 24-hour Business Center. The hotel offers 16 meeting rooms, with 25,000 sq ft of function space and can accommodate up to 1000 guests for a trade show or reception. Additionally, the hotel is just 3 miles from McCormick Place Convention Center and within 16 miles of both O'Hare Airport and Midway Airport.

View Less
Features
The hotel has 521 spacious guestrooms and suites featuring free Wi-Fi and LCD TVs with premium cable. We offer room service, concierge services and on-site parking. Guests can work out in the complimentary Fitness Center, enjoy a swim in the indoor pool, relax in the sauna, savor Mediterranean and Asian inspired cuisine at ItaliAsia and unwind with cocktails in the chic Cityscape Bar.
Announcements
Take advantage of fantastic deals when you stay with us now through April. Get 2000 bonus IHG Rewards points for just $1 when you book our Parking and 2000 Points Package, or 1000 bonus IHG
View More
Announcements
Take advantage of fantastic deals when you stay with us now through April. Get 2000 bonus IHG Rewards points for just $1 when you book our Parking and 2000 Points Package, or 1000 bonus IHG Rewards points for just $5 when you book our 1000 Bonus Points with Breakfast Package. Some black-out dates may apply.
View Less

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 349 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel !!! Enjoyable stay, the staff was friendly & helpful, nice decor & hotel was walking distance to to magnificent mile for shopping. December 3, 2012
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Mixed Emotions The location and price was great. The breakfast was fine as was the service during the breakfast. The maintence men were polite and pleasant. The maids were very friendly and efficient. However the building is old and the rooms and bathrooms are small and cramped. The toilet seat was chipped and cracked which made it appear to be dirty. Some of the desk staff were friendly and helpful while others were indifferent and uncaring. When I tried to make a request for the shuttle to the airport the next morning the the clerk told me that it was not possible not once but several times. Only after I told him that I would walk over to the Intercontinental to make the reservation would he even attempt to make the reservation. At that point he attempted and was succesful the first time. Jim November 30, 2012
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Nice location but room is like a college dorm As a Platinum member I've stayed at many Holiday Inn properties, including in Chicago. Unfortunately, this property was my least favorite. Though room size was extremely small the amenities made if feel like a college dorm. The bathroom was nicely decorated but impractical---'how about installing real shelves?' The biggest issue was lack of heat in the room. Maintenance came up to work on it prior to our leaving for dinner. We arrived back 10pm and at 1030pm the hotel offered to move us to another room. We declined as we were in bed and were using the extra blanket. Overall, this hotel should be fewer points than other downtown Chicago locations---I've paid the same amount several times on the same weekend at the two downtown Crowne Plazas. Our fault for trying something new, it appears. November 29, 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not bad Wifi is very slow - so if you plan to stream video or calls - don't. Rooms are VERY tiny. Bathrooms are also tiny. Breakfast is great and staff is excellent. If it were not for the upromise extra savings, I probably would pass on the hotel. November 29, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A Gem of a Hotel My friend and I were very pleased staying at this hotel. The front desk staff was super especially Shaun..... we thought he lives at the hotel since we always saw him. From the moment we stepped into the hotel we were greeted and felt welcomed. The rooms were clean and everything worked. While the room is a standard size room the bathroom was a little smaller than what we expected, but the bathroom was clean and served our purpose. The location is excellent and close to restrauants and other points of interest. I would definitely recommend this hotel for its friendly staff, cleanliness and ease of location. November 24, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location! This was a great location. The reason I gave some lower scores was because I was with my mother and the rooms were so small . Just a chair for desk, other person in this double room had to sit on bed. The staff was great, especially the door man. November 19, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent hotel The hotel and location are excellent. The only thing i didnt like was when we made the check in a young lady with red hair put us in a room in the fourth floor. We asked to changed to a higher floor and she didnt offer a solution. Three or four hours later, other lady (called princess) and a man estudied our suggestion and fixed our problem correctily and quickly. I would like to highlight the work of all the personal (except the young lady of red hair, who was very rude). Excellent location, excellent housekeeping service, excellent rooms in the fifthteen floor, very clean, secure, and excellent breakfast. I will return to this hotel because its excellent. November 16, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very small room. The website indicates that this hotel has smoking rooms. Upon the check-in we were informed that the hotel is a smoking free property, which is contrary to the information on the website. I have made a request for a double bed room and, upon the check-in were informed that no double bed rooms were available. On the second night a in a single bed room we received an email confirming the double room. Too late, since we were already placed in a single bed room. Kind of disorganized. November 15, 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Ok but there are better We chose this hotel only because the MART location was booked. I would not return unless I had no choice. There are better options in Chicago. November 10, 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, Modest Accomodations Although I stayed for a single night, it was clear to me that the hotel's forte is its proximity to all the action in downtown chicago. The accomodations were sufficient for my (and I would imagine most people's) purposes; a place to rest one's head at the end of a long day. Of course, considering that real estate is at a premium downtown, I wasn't too upset that the hotel lacked a pool/sauna/hot tub. The staff were pleasant and professional and so I have only good things to say about them. All around, my experience was good, especially considering the price. My needs were met. November 9, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great option for those planning on more time visiting Chicago than staying in their hotel At a very reasonable price, this Holiday Inn Express was in a great location. It's in the heart of downtown, and a short walk to many great attractions. And the price is very reasonable! That being said, the rooms are not very large, parking is expensive and the wireless internet is very slow. With a nice breakfast bar, clean and comfortable (but not large) room and great location, this Holiday Inn Express would be great for anyone planning on spending more time out visiting Chicago, rather than those planning to spend their trip holed up in their hotel room. It has everything you need for a comfortable stay, in a great city. Just don't plan on watching any Netflix movie or expect streaming internet, because it's just too slow! I could barely connect to accomplish my work tasks, but they do provide a business center, which I imagine has quicker internet. All in all, I was pleased with my stay and would be happy to return. November 7, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best "little" hotel in Chicago! The rooms are very cozy, but provide all the amenities. November 7, 2012
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by DON'T STAY HERE My girlfriend and I stayed a Friday through a Sunday in August at this hotel and I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND it to anyone! Upon checking in, the room, with a Queen size bed, was about the size of a walk-in closet with no room for luggage, or even to move around. The walls were paper thin and the windows weren't insulated allowing every bit of noise into the street side room. We went to sleep Friday night and woke up Saturday morning with bug bites all over our feet and a few on our legs (see photos!# The hotel management only offered to clean our clothes and only upon MY request were we offered a room upgrade to a King room #not very much bigger than the other room, so not worth paying for if you do stay here.) I asked for a reimbursement of the first night or a free night certificate and was told that was not an option and they had done all they could do. Ridiculous, especially when I'm a Platinum member who stays at priority club properties more than 100 nights a year! Again, DO NOT STAY HERE, there's a Crowne Plaza about 3-4 blocks away that is MUCH, MUCH, MUCH better with a much friendlier staff and better accomodations! November 6, 2012
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Chicago Holiday Express Magnificent mile The rooms were very small and the bathroom very small. Great location. November 4, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, great service.Small rooms. The tinest, smallest rooms I have ever seen. You hit your head on the wall mounted TV getting in and out of the bed. You could not hang clothes in the closet due to the dresser being located there. Only one elevator was working the whole time we were there causing complaints from several guest. We heard they were awaiting a part from Canada. October 28, 2012
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Guest Our stay at the Chicago Holiday Inn Express was below what you would expect for a Holiday Inn. It was an old hotel, and the room size was by far the smallest We have ever stayed in other than a hotel several years ago in Paris. the bed was comfortable, but room size barely allowed you to walk sideways around toe bed to get from one side of the room to the other. To top it off, one of the two elevators was out of order 3 of the four days we stayed there, and caused quite a jam up in the morning and again in the early evening. Not good. October 26, 2012
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Terrible room and elevator experience I travel several days out of the year (200) and this had to be one of the worst stays I can remember in years. I was given a room on the 10th floor when one of the two elevators was not functioning. I got to my room and it was like a closet vs the standard Holiday Inn Express rooms I have stayed in all across the country. This complete stay can only be summarized as PAINFUL for my family. October 26, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff! The staff is friendly, helpful and very nice!! This is the reason that I have stayed their more than this time. October 24, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location, comfortable rooms, coffee available 24 hours Have stayed here for several years. Like the location and ease of finding. this year price was dropped upon arrival from quoted price when booking room. Nice surprise. Staff was helpful, friendly. October 24, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location to Magnificent Mile and awesome free breakfast. I am a travel agent and travel all over, I was very well pleased with this hotel. I was torn between staying at this hotel and another hotel but chose this one because I was traveling with my family and the free breakfast option was what got me to chose this hotel.I was surprised at the service it was amazing I don't think there was but one time of arriving and leaving that there wasn't a bellman to greet me and open the door for me. This is the kind of service I would expect at a 4 star but not necessarily from the Holiday Inn Express, I was blown away by the service. I couldn't have asked for a better location either it was centralized to where I was going, which was Michigan Ave for shopping. I would say that the size of the room was a little small but I was with 4 people, and we weren't in the room much, it had double beds. I will definitely be returning to this specific hotel every time I stay in Chicago!!! October 23, 2012
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, don't stay while construction is going on next door. Great location, clean, very small room but that's ok for the price downtown. Both days woken up at 7 by jack hammering at adjoining parking garage. It goes ALL DAY! I asked about it at front desk and they just said "yeah, sorry about that, it's really loud" and did nothing to help. Pay a little more and stay anywhere else. Trust me. October 22, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by it depends on your purpose the location of this hotel is amazing with this price. although the room was small, the staffs were very good and friendly and breakfast was good. the overall value is definitely good and positive. if you will stay by yourself or two adults spending time outside of the room, this hotel is great. but if you will be with your family, especially with a kid or baby, this hotel room is too small for you. there is NO extra space in a room. plus, a flat screen TV did not work well. i just used that room to sleep. so, it did not bother me. but if you want a comfort roomy space, this hotel is not for you. on my purpose, this hotel is good (4 out of 5 starts) with this price tag. for the family, this hotel will be poor (1 or 2 out of 5 stars). October 19, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Maginficent Mile perfect location ! The staff was so so wonderful, hard to find this in other places. October 18, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Super service and value All the hotel staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were done nicely especially considering that this is a older property with smaller room sizes. The beds were quite comfortable, and rooms were quiet which made for good, restful sleep. Finally the breakfast had multiple items to choose from which accommodated our varying tastes. October 18, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Brilliant location The downsides are that you might want more breakfast choice but for HIE regulars you should be used to it. It is what it is and more than suffices for me but each to his own. Tea, coffee, juice, fruit, toast, muffins, bagels and a small hot section - good choice of seating area (sofas with TV or tables). Most staff were very friendly and welcoming and the manager was very helpful in making sure our Ryder Cup tickets were safe and sound. The rooms were two double beds and enough space for what you need. Very clean/tidy. The locaton (like Europe) was the real winner. Located next door to Rush Street and Mag Mile near some top restaurants (Giordano's/Uno's), opposite a Starbucks and two/three blocks either way from the tube. Would definitely stay at the hotel again for both the hotel and the location. A great city and a superb starting point to explore it from. October 18, 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by small room, lot of traffic and noise outside Lots of traffic and noises from outside and I was on the 15th floor. Discovered on last morning that both windows were open at top by about 2 inches. Couldn't budge windows so I guess next person has same experience. will probably be drafty when it gets cold. No chair to relax in other than desk chair with little room between bed and desk. Great staff and great breakfast. October 15, 2012
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 Overated Messy in the front desk. Multiple reservations, staff was not aware of reservations and charging between corporate and personal card. Breakfast very poor. Aircon unit in the room very noisy. Was charged different to what i was told over the phone because they apply variable pricing which basically means that any day of the week they can decide to apply a different rate which is completely obscure and non transparent to the customer. Be ready to have a couple of phone calls back and forth. October 15, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel!! We were in Chicago to watch the Chicago Marathon and could not have found a better place to stay!! Great location for watching all the runners, wonderful accommodating staff, too. Jackie, Shaun, and the other personnel at the front desk were very professional. Always there to please. The front door gentleman and the person who would get our car was always prompt and very helpful with directions. The room, though small, was very comfortable and stylish. It had everything we needed. We will definitely come back!! Also, really enjoyed the breakfast--very tasty!! An overall great experience!! October 12, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and comfortable This hotel is quaint and the location is perfect. Rooms are exceptionally clean and the beds are comfortable. Can't say enough about the staff - very helpful and friendly. Just know that the rooms are very small. But, when you're in downtown Chicago, how much time is spent in the room anyway? We make this our "go-to" hotel when visiting family in Chicago. October 11, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location & very good service. Had a pleasurable stay in Chicago thanks to the Holiday Inn Express & staff. Great location for a great value! Room was very comfortable and the front desk staff & concierge were extremely helpful, personable & pleasant. Will definitely stay again sometime. October 10, 2012
<<prev 9 10 11 12 13 next>>
Welcome to Chicago Downtown Hotel
Welcome to Chicago Downtown Hotel
Select to close.
Welcome to Chicago Downtown Hotel Wolf Point location on the Chicago River Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza Front Desk View of Downtown Chicago & Hotel Parking Hotel Lobby Chicago River and Orleans Bridge Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza & Chicago River Hotel with skyline and Chicago River. Welcome to Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza Dining in Chicago Downtown Art Institute of Chicago Shedd Aquarium - Attraction in Chicago Downtown Theatre in Chicago Downtown Navy Pier - Attraction in Chicago Downtown Wrigley Field - Attraction in Chicago Downtown Millennium Park in Chicago Downtown John Hancock Center - Attraction in Chicago Downtown Boat Tour on Chicago River Adler Planetarium - Attraction in Chicago Downtown Millennium Park in Chicago Downtown Buckingham Fountain in Grant Park Willis Tower - Attraction in Chicago Downtown Chicago Theatre - Attraction in Chicago Downtown Field Museum - Attraction in Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile - Attraction in Chicago Downtown View of Chicago Downtown
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Stay connected with free high speed internet at Holiday Inn ®. Click to learn more.