• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-23-2014)
(e.g. Jul-24-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: CHICAGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:12
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. French
  4. Japanese
  5. Chinese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

No pets allowed except for service animals.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Millennium Park
Distance From Hotel:1.2MI
Attraction:
The Adler Planetarium
Distance From Hotel:3.8MI
Attraction:
John Hancock Observatory
Distance From Hotel:1.5MI
Attraction:
Art Institute of Chicago
Distance From Hotel:1.3MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Valet parking is $45.00, includes unlimited in/out privileges. Oversized vehicles cannot be accommodated.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 45.00  USD)
  • Valet parking fee  ( 45.0 USD )

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:521
  • Total number of suites:9
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:210
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:311
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:521
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:12
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:10
  • FEMA Property Number:IL0107

Downtown Chicago Hotel - Spectacular River and City Views

Located in downtown Chicago’s exciting River North area and minutes from the Chicago Loop, the contemporary Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza Hotel overlooks the Chicago River and showcases iconic views of the Chicago skyline.

Defined by urban style and modern comfort, a recent $20 million redesign of this property sets the stage for an exciting Chicago experience for both business & leisure travelers. Ideally
View More

Downtown Chicago Hotel - Spectacular River and City Views

Located in downtown Chicago’s exciting River North area and minutes from the Chicago Loop, the contemporary Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza Hotel overlooks the Chicago River and showcases iconic views of the Chicago skyline.

Defined by urban style and modern comfort, a recent $20 million redesign of this property sets the stage for an exciting Chicago experience for both business & leisure travelers. Ideally situated near the Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier and Millennium Park, the Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza is the perfect base from which to explore Chicago. Catch a rising star in the nearby Theatre District, walk over to one of the myriad dining options just steps from the hotel or watch the sunset at Willis Tower before retiring to your luxurious guest room featuring breathtaking views of Chicago.

Business travelers will appreciate the skywalk linking the hotel to the Merchandise Mart and our close proximity to the Loop, Financial and Business district. Hotel guests have access to complimentary wireless Internet & a convenient 24-hour Business Center. The hotel offers 16 meeting rooms, with 25,000 sq ft of function space and can accommodate up to 1000 guests for a trade show or reception. Additionally, the hotel is just 3 miles from McCormick Place Convention Center and within 16 miles of both O'Hare Airport and Midway Airport.

View Less
Features
The hotel has 521 spacious guestrooms and suites featuring free Wi-Fi and LCD TVs with premium cable. We offer room service, concierge services and on-site parking. Guests can work out in the complimentary Fitness Center, enjoy a swim in the indoor pool, relax in the sauna, savor Mediterranean and Asian inspired cuisine at ItaliAsia and unwind with cocktails in the chic Cityscape Bar.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 426 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Welcome Relief! After spending a 4 nights in a 5 star hotel/conference center venue where I was nickel and dime-d for every service offered, I was glad to be able to come to the Holiday Inn Express for a night when my flight was canceled. Free wi-fi, free continental breakfast, a very small (but adequate) fitness room (free), GREAT service-- I was happy! The staff was friendly and prompt, my room met my needs well (the bed was DEFINITELY more comfortable!), and I was within walking distance of multiple places of interest in Chicago. The concierge ordered a taxi for me at the time specified, gave great recommendations for local restaurants and sight seeing hot-spots, and everyone was very accomodating! A MUCH better value than the conference center stint! April 24, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by housekeeing great The lady who cleaned our room did a great job. Outside of European hotels these are the smallest double rooms I have ever stayed in The street noise on the 8th floor bad, bring your ear plugs April 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Spring Break with son The staff at this hotel were friendly and very helpful. While on my way to Chicago apparantly the visa card I brought with me had a fraud alert and was canceled while in transit. When I tried to check in the card would not work. They provided me a phone and space until I was able to get my visa company to allow me to use the card while in Chicago and only by swiped transactions. Not one of the staff even remotely made me feel as though I was lying when I said there was nothing wrong with my card. Very nice people and very understanding and patient with my concerns. Room was small but was only there for the musuems so that didn't matter to my son and I. April 18, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by READ REVIEWS AND MAKE INFORMED CHOICE I wish I had read most or all the reviews on this particular property. I wouldn't have been surprised as to what I discovered or experienced, mainly because most reviews were consistant with what others experienced. So lets start out with the room. Small. I was told it was about 200 sqare feet of room. And well, had I been booked in a room ending in 11 (example, 1411) then the room would have been only a mere 100 sqare feet. But to be fair, the room was decorated nicely. However, there is a lot I have come to expect from a Holiday Inn Express. This room fell short. Size and expectations. It did have a safe, which was nice. However, I could not unpack the luggage. No where to place the luggage except on the floor or on the bed. Priority club membership was not recognized. Honestly, that didn't matter to me. Mainly because I could care less about the free bottle of water or small bag of chips. The service by the staff and the breakfast was in line with Holiday Inn Express. Good service, and was much appreciated. Parking is an issue and expensive. However, I learned during my stay that its the city which controls parking rates and not the hotel. So thats not their issue. Would I stay at this hotel again? Maybe. If its on business and a short stay, then I may. The hotel does have a historical charm to it. But for pleasure, no. April 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice location Great location, heart of Magnificent Mile. Great cost April 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great small hotel convenient little hotel in good Chicago location, staff extremely friendly and co-operative and willing to help. April 15, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worst night ever First off, I did not bring my normal wallet since I was traveling. Had my credit card, medical card, AAA card, but since I wasn't driving did not bring my drivers license. They would not let me check in. Seriously?! They would have put us on the street had my dd not had her credit card and license with her. She had to pay for the room. Inexcusable! The room was very tiny which is fine but the doors made a huge "boom" when closed and all night long I heard Boom, Boom, Boom. People talking outside the room at all hours. Sirens and horns going off all night. Clearly, not well insulated. April 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service Although the room was small (I knew that prior to booking), the hotel staff and service were great! Great location to everything, easy to walk to shopping, local sites; and easy to get a taxi. We had a great time! April 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Express - Miracle Mile The location of the hotel is fantastic with easy access to Michigan Avenue and public transportation. The staff was extremely helpful, especially Fran who provided excellent restaurant recommendations and info for travel. April 10, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Inexpensive basic hotel The free breakfast was our main reason for choosing this hotel along with location. The location was great, and the breakfast on site made our trip less expensive and more convenient to get going in the morning. The rooms are terribly small though. If you're not spending much time in the room, they are manageable. For two people the single bedrooms are even smaller - like a large walk-in closet almost!! The two beds in a room are a bit larger, but still very small. The beds were comfortable, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. I would stay again for the price, location, cleanliness, and breakfast. April 10, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Service Hotel staff very attentive and cordial. Overall very enjoyable stay. My room was very very small, but probably not unexpected for Downtown Chicago. April 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great service great stay/ staff was attentive. Breakfast was good and staff attentive to needs April 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Thanks Everyone! My daughter and kids and I spent a few days in Chicago and we had a great time. Everyone at the hotel was extremely helpful and friendly, answering our questions about locations, etc. I took a fall outside a restaurant (watch that step outside Chili's) and got a few stitches, but all is well. Your staff was very considerate and asked if they could help. Anyone complaining about the room size is just too picky. It was compact, but we had a great time and the kids loved it! The breakfast was great--everything you would order in a restaurant and got us off to a good start each morning. We would come back again for sure, but I would watch my step next time! ps: rooms were immaculate every day. April 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location Good hotel for the money. Close to food, shopping and public transportation. Room was a bit small without a single chair, but I didn't fly to Chicago to sit in my room. I would stay here on my next visit to Chicago. April 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient location Hotel is located two blocks from the Magnificent Mile. Room was small but adequate. Room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good. April 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place to stay I like the Hotel and it was very convenient to everything we came to see and experience. The Hotel staff was very friendly, accommodating and happy to help in any way. The rooms are clean and conforable and I especially like the view of downtown. April 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best experience! My friend and I were recently in Chicago for spring break. After looking for several hotels, we found this hotel in particular to be the best value. Upon our arrival we were greeted by the front desk and check-in was quite simple. Our room was very comfortable and clean. In fact, house keeping was excellent and offered to completely change our bed after just one night. The day of our check-out the hotel offered to hold our luggage until it was time for us to leave. We found this quite helpful considering we had a 6 hour gap between our check-out and train departure home. We will definitely use this hotel again once were back in Chicago. April 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff and location I have stayed here previously because of its location. The Staff were most congenial and helpful in every way! The room was small and cold despite thermostat adjustments. The reading lights that were attached to the headboard were marginal for reading; one did not stay in position. A nightstand would have been nicer. Pillows were marginal as well. Bed just okay. Overall it was an average experience. I thought the price was very expensive. March 25, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Unbelievable Staff I travel the country constantly with my job and although this trip was for leisure I had one of the best experiences with a staff and their service ever. It seemed like ever person on the staff from the front desk to the engineer was always in a great helpful mood and all were perfect with my children. I have to say one person on the staff in particular went well above and beyond to help us have a great trip (Kimmie). She saw a situation we were in that she could have easily turned the other way and gone about her normal routine but she stepped in and helped us to continue to have a great vacation. March 25, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location but not the best I've experienced I always stay at Holiday Inn or Holiday Inn Express because I'm assured of excellence at all levels. There were several problems here: the shower curtain was set too high too keep the water from the shower in without great effort. It would not hurt to lower them another 4 to 5 inches. Additionally the rooms are not soundproofed well at all. You could hear the elevator going up and down all night and anyone walking in the hallways as well as the street noises all night. The rooms (we had a suite) were clean and very well maintained and when we had a problem with he heater, the response was outstanding. The staff were all wonderful and the food great and - the location for a visit during the St. Patrick celebration the best. So - if they just fixed the shower curtains, I would be okay with the noise. It is a lovely hotel of the old school so the sound issues are understandable. March 24, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Never Again - Absolutely Horrible Room This is the worst experience I have ever had at a Holiday Inn Express. After going out of my way to stay at Holiday Inn Express Hotels in order to collect points for free stays, Holiday Inn did NOT go out of their way to make my accomodations in Chicago a pleasant one to remember. But I will remember this one!!! The room was like staying in a box. The single small window we had opened up to the inside of brick walls. The so called couch was a bench seat with a cushion. The bathroom had a single sink with not place to set your toiletries on. They didn't even have a fold out stool to set your suitcase on. The large screen TV was attached to the wall right next to your bed. (Don't try to get up in the middle of the night to go to the bathroom .....you most likely will knock yourself out by hitting your head on the TV attached to the wall). NEVER AGAIN IN CHICAGO !!!!!! March 22, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by clean & welcoming Found everything to be quite good re:service to cleaning to food etc. If in Chicago again will book this hotel. March 21, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Very poor customer service I am a Platinum Member and stay a HI all around the world. This was one of the worst experiences staying at a Holiday Inn Express. The evening front desk person was very abrupt and gave incorrect information to the guests. My travel companions also had issues with the front desk. Due to being misinformed by the front desk, I decided to change rooms and forgot an item in a drawer; however, when I asked the hotel to go and retrieve the item, I was told there was nothing in the room even though no guests had to check into the room. When I inquired further I was met with abrupt answers. At no time did the hotel management even bother to speak to me about the incident (0nly the housekeeping department). The director of operations actually made a very strong suggestion that I had just misplaced it. The item being of sentimental value as well as monetary, I thoroughly checked through all my bags and luggage several times. Unfortunately, the item is still missing, but the hotel has done absolutely nothing. Even though the hotel is in an excellent location and is historic, I will not be gracing their premises again, not because of the missing item, but because of how poorly the situation was handled and the poor attitude of both front desk personnel and management. March 18, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Fair deal for the price Ok, Here is a pro and con list about this hotel Pros 1. Great Location! 2. Reasonable Price 3. Free Breakfast 4. Friendly staff- they easily accommodated our early check in and late check out as well as providing us with a mini fridge shortly after arriving. 5. Upgraded TVs! 6. Trader Joe's literally across the street. 7. Rooms were clean. Cons 1. Rooms are tiny! Could not easily have 2 people in the room unless you are sleeping. 2. Very Loud! Noisy neighbors, housekeeping vacuuming and such at 8 a.m. Could hear conversations in the next room and heard anyone who walked down the hall. Heard neighbors shower. Heat and air was also very loud. 3. Room was stuffy. too warm or too cool. hard to get it just right, also shower made room steamy, did not seem to have a good fan system/ 4. Those upgraded tvs, they were installing them at 10:30 p.m. 5. Hard to get to from airport. Its either a long subway ride, which is a pain with luggage or an expensive cab ride or shuttle. 6. Nothing really wrong with the hotel itself with this one, but my husband smelled Pot once night at the hotel(which is non smoking) So overall the hotel was ok, it is good if you are a single traveler and want to be downtown. I was not feeling well during our trip and was unable to relax and rest because of all the noise. March 16, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location. Small room. Very happy to find the location of this Holiday Inn Express adjacent to Magnificent Mile in Downtown. Cost was reasonable and all staff were very friendly. Sorry to say that the standard room is minute, with barely enough room to walk around the bed! If you are just using the room for sleeping, that is, a base for exploring the downtown area, it couldn't be bettered, but spend any time in there at your cost! March 13, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by centrally located, historical landmark, new life - very centrally located on magnificent miles - interesting contemporary decor - great room layout - good breakfast and free wifi March 11, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Would you enjoy sleeping in a closet? It is unforgivable that Holiday Inn allows this location to describe their facility on the Holiday Inn web-site, without stating that the rooms are so small, that you will need to walk sideways to move between your bed and the desk chair. Never before have I slept in a hotel room so small. I am an avid fan of Holiday Inn, and a Platinum member, so I fully understand what a Holiday Inn Express is, and what to expect. That said, this place has the smallest hotel room that I have ever stayed at. When I complained to the Manger On Duty, she said, "Oh, don't you know about this hotel"????? OMG! The bathroom sink was like a large waste-basket. There was no "lip" on the sink and nowhere to put your toilet kit, except on the toilet itself, if you closed the lid. The suitcases sat on the floor, and we had to step over them to get to the bathroom. None of this is an exaggeration and if you do enjoy sleeping in a closet, this is the place for you. March 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful I loved every minute in this place. It is very clean and close to everything. I will come again. The staff are wonderful. March 7, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by This is a micro-hotel pretending to be a real hotel !!!!! I wish the hotel description had said, "this hotel has rooms that are so small, that you will need to walk sideways to squeeze between the bed and your desk. So cramped are the bathrooms that the sink is more of a bucket than it is a sink. There is nowhere to put your bathroom items as the sink has no level surface on it, its more of a big bucket." Now, imagine all of this and then think how bad it was to have two people in this mirco-room, and there was no place to put your two suitecases, except on the bed that you were sleeping in, or on the floor so you could trip on them in the night!!!!!!! Had I known this, I would never have stayed at this hotel. After one night in this micro-hotel, I asked for the manager. The lady at the front desk told me that she was the Manager on duty. I gave her my complaints and she said, "didn't you know about this hotel? The rooms are all very small". How can any hotel, much less Holiday Inn, put up a description and never mention that the hotel rooms are micro-sized??? Don't stay here if you are looking for an experience that is any better than sleeping in a shoe-box! I have never ever seen a hotel with rooms this small, and to not state this on the Holiday Inn web-site, is nothing better than a lie! March 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fabulous Staff I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express-Magnificent Mile from 2/23/13 - 2/27/13. The hotel is nicely updated but it is the original Cass Hotel so while the rooms are nice they are on the smaller side. The set up makes good use of the space but, at least in my room, there was no desk which might be something to take into account if you are traveling on business. The best part about the hotel was the wonderful staff. We arrived along with a bunch of other guests checking inn and everyone was taken care of quickly and our bags were safely stored away until our room was ready (and they called our cell phone to let us know when the room was ready). We went to the concierge multiple times for restaurant suggestions, extra blankets, advice on travel times, etc., and each person on staff at the time provided wonderful assistance. The accommodations are nice and comfortable but the staff really makes this place!! March 4, 2013
<<prev 9 10 11 12 13 ... 15 next>>
Welcome to Chicago Downtown Hotel
Welcome to Chicago Downtown Hotel
Select to close.
Welcome to Chicago Downtown Hotel Wolf Point location on the Chicago River Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza Front Desk View of Downtown Chicago & Hotel Parking Hotel Lobby Millennium Park in Chicago Downtown Field Museum - Attraction in Chicago Downtown Adler Planetarium - Attraction in Chicago Downtown Willis Tower - Attraction in Chicago Downtown Shedd Aquarium - Attraction in Chicago Downtown Welcome to Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza & Chicago River Buckingham Fountain in Grant Park John Hancock Center - Attraction in Chicago Downtown Dining in Chicago Downtown Navy Pier - Attraction in Chicago Downtown Millennium Park in Chicago Downtown Hotel with skyline and Chicago River. Boat Tour on Chicago River Magnificent Mile - Attraction in Chicago Downtown Chicago Theatre - Attraction in Chicago Downtown Art Institute of Chicago Chicago River and Orleans Bridge Theatre in Chicago Downtown Wrigley Field - Attraction in Chicago Downtown View of Chicago Downtown
Select to close.
Select to learn more about this hotel's reviews.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-23-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-24-2014)
Check Availability
Loading