• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-15-2014)
(e.g. Sep-16-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: CHICAGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:12
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. French
  4. Japanese
  5. Chinese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

No pets allowed except for service animals.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Willis Tower Skydeck
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Millennium Park
Distance From Hotel:1.2MI
Attraction:
Magnificent Mile
Distance From Hotel:1.2MI
Attraction:
Art Institute of Chicago
Distance From Hotel:1.3MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Valet parking is $45.00, includes unlimited in/out privileges. Oversized vehicles cannot be accommodated.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 45.00  USD)
  • Valet parking fee  ( 45.0 USD )

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:521
  • Total number of suites:9
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:210
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:311
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:521
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:12
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:10
  • FEMA Property Number:IL0107

Downtown Chicago Hotel - Spectacular River and City Views

Located in downtown Chicago’s exciting River North area and minutes from the Chicago Loop, the contemporary Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza Hotel overlooks the Chicago River and showcases iconic views of the Chicago skyline.

Defined by urban style and modern comfort, a recent $20 million redesign of this property sets the stage for an exciting Chicago experience for both business & leisure travelers. Ideally
View More

Downtown Chicago Hotel - Spectacular River and City Views

Located in downtown Chicago’s exciting River North area and minutes from the Chicago Loop, the contemporary Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza Hotel overlooks the Chicago River and showcases iconic views of the Chicago skyline.

Defined by urban style and modern comfort, a recent $20 million redesign of this property sets the stage for an exciting Chicago experience for both business & leisure travelers. Ideally situated near the Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier and Millennium Park, the Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza is the perfect base from which to explore Chicago. Catch a rising star in the nearby Theatre District, walk over to one of the myriad dining options just steps from the hotel or watch the sunset at Willis Tower before retiring to your luxurious guest room featuring breathtaking views of Chicago.

Business travelers will appreciate the skywalk linking the hotel to the Merchandise Mart and our close proximity to the Loop, Financial and Business district. Hotel guests have access to complimentary wireless Internet & a convenient 24-hour Business Center. The hotel offers 16 meeting rooms, with 25,000 sq ft of function space and can accommodate up to 1000 guests for a trade show or reception. Additionally, the hotel is just 3 miles from McCormick Place Convention Center and within 16 miles of both O'Hare Airport and Midway Airport.

View Less
Features
The hotel has 521 spacious guestrooms and suites featuring free Wi-Fi and LCD TVs with premium cable. We offer room service, concierge services and on-site parking. Guests can work out in the complimentary Fitness Center, enjoy a swim in the indoor pool, relax in the sauna, savor Mediterranean and Asian inspired cuisine at ItaliAsia and unwind with cocktails in the chic Cityscape Bar.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 486 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice and convenient stay in Magnificent Mile area Convenient stay, hotel is of good quality, albeit small rooms. To be honest you will spend all of your time outside anyways. There is a range of shops underneath including a supermarket, convenient to stock up. August 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Rest between meetings Great location and hotel has everything needed. Staff is helpful and friendly. I won't stay anywhere else. August 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall experience was very good We enjoyed our stay. Hotel was excellent and the staff made the stay even better. The location is in the middle of all we wanted to do. We did struggle with the standby feature of the air conditioner. Too many times when the room was too warm. August 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great customer service Loved the hotel! The food was outstanding and the room was very comfortable. August 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location Located in the heart of the River North area, it is easy to walk to just about everything one would desire to see/do/eat in a 2-3 day stay. The rooms are small, but it's Chicago...you won't be spending much time in the room anyway! The hotel and rooms were clean and stylish; the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. I'll be looking to stay here again when I return to my favorite city. August 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location Very friendly staff, the expected amenities of a Holiday Inn Express with an incredible location Downtown Chicago! August 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Right in the heart of downtown shopping I am a picky hotel consumer. This Holiday Inn was affordable, clean, and very close to everything in the city. I would stay here again. August 22, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Small room, expensive parking, slow elevators, but great location I'd booked this room for a business trip, hoping to finish up in the office early enough to enjoy some of the Chicago nightlife. Ended up working too late and just using the hotel to crash. The negatives: The room is SUPER-small. Just enough room for the bed. And overnight, the HVAC system (I think) kept WHOOSHing intermittently. I'm not a light sleeper, but it managed to wake me a few times. The elevators were also inadequate for the number of people at the hotel. LONG lines and wait for the elevator. Luckily, I had gotten a room near the ground floor and learned to use the stairs. Lastly, upon checking out, the parking deck around the corner charged $38 for an overnight stay. No validation or arrangements with the hotel. The service was fine, the problems are just with the facilities themselves. On the positive side, the hotel is located right in the middle of everything, so if you need to be IN the city, I guess it's a good value. But if you're looking to sleep or relax, find another place to stay. In the future, I'd stay a couple miles out and just plan a little mass transit time to see the sights. August 22, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Enjoyed staying at this property. You can't beat the price and location. The rooms and bathroom are small. I would not recommend more than 2 people in the room. The staff was extremely nice and pleasant throughout our stay. August 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, excellent service This address is within walking distance of many fine shops and restaurants. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Price is reasonable compared to other hotels in the vicinity. August 19, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, wonderful staff but room is incredibly small We recently stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in downtown Chicago. The staff at the hotel were wonderful. Very helpful and went out of their way to make sure you were comfortable and had everything you needed. The location was also great. However, the rooms were so small that it was a bit uncomfortable staying for three nights. There were two adults in the room and we had to climb over each other and our luggage to get anywhere in the room. If you are staying for one night, it is probably OK. However, if you are staying for more than one night, you may want to look at spending perhaps $10-$20 more per night to get a standard sized hotel room or forgo a hotel that provides breakfast. August 18, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Room small but good! Our room was a corner room facing Wabash Ave. Although the room was quite small, it was very comfortable. The coffee maker was on a very small table between the bed and the bathroom wall. The bathroom was a standard size and quite nice and clean, but there was no hair dryer (at least I couldn't find one). Otherwise the hotel was quite nice in a good location and the staff was excellent! August 18, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good value, but really small cramped rooms This Holiday Inn Express is in an old historic hotel. Rooms are clean, staff is pleasant, but rooms are small, elevators are small and very slow. This hotel has absolutely no extra amenities. You get a clean room and a free breakfast...nothing else. Good for short overnight stays. Rooms are too small for families. August 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Chicago's Best Kept Secret Perfectly located, close to everything and an excellent staff and services for a very reasonable price, what else can you look for?! August 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by good place to stay Strong recommend and easy to access downtown. staff are very friendly and kind. love this place and I will definitely visit again. August 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hospitality and amazing night's sleep! The staff was beyond exceptional. From the housekeeping, to the breakfast staff (they make great coffee), to the front desk staff. It was our first time in Chicago. We were intimidated by the city and it's train system. The front desk staff helped us navigate our way through the city and the train system. We had a blast and got to experience more of Chicago because of it! The location of the hotel was perfect. We were so close to everything. We also loved the firm and soft pillows. The bed was so comfortable. We rested well! The room was smaller than we had expected (ONLY reason for the 4/5 rating), but we weren't in it much. We also got the most affordable room, so what did we expect?? I called to see if they could bring a fridge in the room. The did so right away. We were impressed. In the morning, they had a delicious breakfast. We went to breakfast at different times each morning. It was always fresh. We can't wait to go back and stay here. We had an amazing time. We felt like we were well taken care of. Kind of like we were part of a large family. It was nice and unlike any other hotel stay we have ever had. August 14, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location Watch out------ROOMS ARE VERY SMALL elevators are slow....the hotel os 100 years old and looks it August 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and location From the minute we walked in the front door the staff made us feel welcome and comfortable. They went out of their way to answer all our questions. Made reservations for us on the tour boat and a very nice restaurant. The location of this hotel was great, we were able to walk to almost everything we wanted to do. The room was clean and quiet, beds were comfortable and we were able to control the temperature to our comfort. This was my daughters first trip to Chicago and the hotel staff helped make it a great trip. August 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Solid, but overpriced This is a solid hotel, but the value was not what I've come to expect from a HI Express. However, a music festival was in town and they may have bumped up the rates due to the festival. Front desk staff was extremely nice and helpful, a few of the valet/porter staff were not as nice. Breakfast was a standard complimentary HI Express offering. Room was very compact, due to the property being a historical hotel. However, the space was sufficient for what we used it for...sleep...it was clean and comfortable. Bathroom was clean. Internet was fast enough, but a little quirky to connect. Parking charges were in my view, excessive, but in line with other hotels in the area. August 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Room Room was small but adequate. Bed was too soft. Staff was helpful. Tried to reach the hotel from the airport and the system needs improvement. Called another Holiday Inn Express at the airport for information and they were totally unhelpful. August 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Extremely professional I would return to this hotel just to be treated so nicely by the excellent staff again! Always helpful with local recommendations and quick and polite when inquiring about guest services. Clean, quiet and friendly! August 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Room My stay in the hotel was very satisfactory, excellent location and excellent treatment from the staff of the hotel, my only complaint is about the room, i expecting a room more bigger than it was, I found it quite small ( in the picture of the page web don't look like really is or was) August 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Litttle Hotel for a Great Price Loved this hotel, the service was great, nice little room, thoroughly enjoyed my stay in Chicago. Had a great sleep here as well!!! August 10, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Terrible experience Tiny rooms. Poor service. Price fluctuates wildly from day to day. I will never return here again. Ever. August 10, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed Extreme small room without a wardrobe, not even a hanger. The carpeted floor urgently needs to be renewed (nobody knows what else lives in this carpet). Toilet paper seems to be a luxury good in this hotel. I strongly recommend to bring your own! If used towels are put on the floor they usually are exchanged - this is not the case in the Holiday Inn Express in Chicago. Staff was friendly but not always cooperative (I asked to help my wife with her luggage as I had already mine and the two of my children, but nobody felt the need to assist her). They don't recognize your IHG membership if you did not directly book with them. Breakfast was very good. Broad variety of things. That is probably the best thing in this hotel! All in all: bad rooms, bad room service, personnel not always helpful, breakfast almost perfect - not my first choice and definitely no recommendation. August 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best location and value in Chicago Staff and location are best in Chicago. Any attraction, theater, dining experience that you visited Chicago for are just steps away. When in Chicago, this is the only place to stay. August 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect place to stay if the Mile is your destination The hotel was perfect for my stay. Both business and pleasure on the Magnificent Mile. Free breakfast was great. The bed was comfy. The room was warm and inviting. Makes for a great trip. August 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service, Perfect Location Rooms are very small. We had to book two rooms for our family of four. restrooms are very small, the shelf to place toiletries would not hold two people's belongings. Regardless, when in Chicago, you don't spend that much time in the room, so these are only minor challenges. All other aspects of the room were fine. Although you do have to log in to access the wifi each time you close out the device you were using, again a minor detail. Now the good stuff. Staff was awesome. Very friendly and engaging. offered great recommendations for dining and entertainment to fill in gaps we had not already planned. We utilized valet parking all week and rode public transportation to all the sites. Location is great. August 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding staff and soft bed. I will stay in this hotel and other Holiday Inns because of my experience in Chicago. The staff paid attention to every detail from the moment we walked in the front door, and the service was excellent until checkout. August 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by NEAT PLACE TO STAY loved the staff, the biscuits and gravy were great. the SIZE of the room is a bit small but when you learn the history of the hotel you understand why then. everything was great. August 7, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 17 next>>
Welcome to Chicago Downtown Hotel
Welcome to Chicago Downtown Hotel
Select to close.
Welcome to Chicago Downtown Hotel Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza & Chicago River Dining in Chicago Downtown Navy Pier - Attraction in Chicago Downtown Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza Front Desk Wolf Point location on the Chicago River Chicago Theatre - Attraction in Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile - Attraction in Chicago Downtown Art Institute of Chicago Boat Tour on Chicago River Millennium Park in Chicago Downtown Wrigley Field - Attraction in Chicago Downtown Chicago River and Orleans Bridge Hotel Lobby John Hancock Center - Attraction in Chicago Downtown Shedd Aquarium - Attraction in Chicago Downtown Buckingham Fountain in Grant Park Willis Tower - Attraction in Chicago Downtown Adler Planetarium - Attraction in Chicago Downtown View of Chicago Downtown View of Downtown Chicago & Hotel Parking Theatre in Chicago Downtown Hotel with skyline and Chicago River. Field Museum - Attraction in Chicago Downtown Millennium Park in Chicago Downtown Welcome to Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-15-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-16-2014)
Check Availability
Loading