• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-23-2014)
(e.g. Sep-24-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: CHICAGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:12
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. French
  4. Japanese
  5. Chinese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

No pets allowed except for service animals.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Willis Tower Skydeck
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Millennium Park
Distance From Hotel:1.2MI
Attraction:
Magnificent Mile
Distance From Hotel:1.2MI
Attraction:
Art Institute of Chicago
Distance From Hotel:1.3MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Valet parking is $45.00, includes unlimited in/out privileges. Oversized vehicles cannot be accommodated.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 45.00  USD)
  • Valet parking fee  ( 45.0 USD )

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:521
  • Total number of suites:9
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:210
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:311
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:521
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:12
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:10
  • FEMA Property Number:IL0107

Downtown Chicago Hotel - Spectacular River and City Views

Located in downtown Chicago’s exciting River North area and minutes from the Chicago Loop, the contemporary Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza Hotel overlooks the Chicago River and showcases iconic views of the Chicago skyline.

Defined by urban style and modern comfort, a recent $20 million redesign of this property sets the stage for an exciting Chicago experience for both business & leisure travelers. Ideally
View More

Downtown Chicago Hotel - Spectacular River and City Views

Located in downtown Chicago’s exciting River North area and minutes from the Chicago Loop, the contemporary Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza Hotel overlooks the Chicago River and showcases iconic views of the Chicago skyline.

Defined by urban style and modern comfort, a recent $20 million redesign of this property sets the stage for an exciting Chicago experience for both business & leisure travelers. Ideally situated near the Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier and Millennium Park, the Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza is the perfect base from which to explore Chicago. Catch a rising star in the nearby Theatre District, walk over to one of the myriad dining options just steps from the hotel or watch the sunset at Willis Tower before retiring to your luxurious guest room featuring breathtaking views of Chicago.

Business travelers will appreciate the skywalk linking the hotel to the Merchandise Mart and our close proximity to the Loop, Financial and Business district. Hotel guests have access to complimentary wireless Internet & a convenient 24-hour Business Center. The hotel offers 16 meeting rooms, with 25,000 sq ft of function space and can accommodate up to 1000 guests for a trade show or reception. Additionally, the hotel is just 3 miles from McCormick Place Convention Center and within 16 miles of both O'Hare Airport and Midway Airport.

View Less
Features
The hotel has 521 spacious guestrooms and suites featuring free Wi-Fi and LCD TVs with premium cable. We offer room service, concierge services and on-site parking. Guests can work out in the complimentary Fitness Center, enjoy a swim in the indoor pool, relax in the sauna, savor Mediterranean and Asian inspired cuisine at ItaliAsia and unwind with cocktails in the chic Cityscape Bar.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 443 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Experience I was very pleasantly surprised with your hotel's entire experience. Our rooms were newly renovated and smelled of new carpet and fresh paint. Beds were very comfortable and quiet. Roomy bathrooms. Really liked having a safe and refrigerator in the room. Great location. May 14, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor A/C operation The first night the A/c did not operate properly, the front desk was informed in the morning and it was still not working properly when we returned 8 hours later. Maintenance was called again and the unit was reset. It functioned for about 30 minutes, then quit working for the rest of the night. May 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good, comfortable, stay Staff was very welcoming and professional. Facilities were in good condition and clean. My room was right next to elevators, but never heard any noise. I'd stay here again. May 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay inCentral Chicago Centrally located - was easy to access points of interest, transport etc. Appreciated being allocated a suite after travelling in the States for 5 weeks. Clean with friendly staff. Restaurant a good back up if you wish to eat in hotel. May 5, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Hotel has a great location. The front Office staff and housekeeping staff are extremely friendly and considerate. The physical appearance of the hotel is not what you would expect from a Crowne Plaza Hotel. The electrical wires in my room looked like a bowl of spaghetti. I stayed twice at the hotel in April (total of 8 nights) and one of the elevators was out of service both stays. No sign or info and wasted a lot of time waiting for the elevator. Why is there no room service even if you have a restaurant/bar in the hotel? May 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The most comfortable bed and pillows!! I got the best nights sleep ever at this location. The king size bed was so comfortable and the pillows were even better. Not some cheap foam versions. These were quality pillows. friendly cleaning staff , great location and just all around a great place. I will stay here again in the future. May 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Sweet Deal in Chicago Never having been to Chicago before we took our chances and booked this hotel. We only knew that we should be close to the Magnificent Mile and then we'd be in the heart of everything that Chicago has to offer. Well we were very delighted and surprised at just how great the location of this hotel is. One block off the Mile, towards the lake and within walking distance to hundreds of restaurants, the theatre, attractions and tours. Our room had just been renovated and was very tastefully done. Clean as a whistle. The beds were so comfortable and the linens so fresh and crisp. The bathroom was spotlessly clean with a brand new look. Very friendly and helpful staff. Nice lobby with a fireplace. The Elephant and Castle Restaurant downstairs was a great place to enjoy a nightcap once we arrived back home in the evening. We had dinner here on our last night and it was delicious - great pub food. I will spread the word about this place and all the positive things it has going for it. Nothing negative to say except for the price of parking. May 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Nice Room Nice large room. It was a good value for the price, plus I believe it was newly remodeled. The only complaint I had was they were still remodeling rooms near ours so it was a little loud. April 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Watch for the limo ripoff. Our stay at the Crowne Plaza was generally satisfactory from room and dining standpoints. What left a negative feeling was the cost and irresponsibility of the limo service to the airport. The bellman said it was the same as a taxi ($38 + tip) but the driver demanded $55 when we arrived at O'Hare. The driver also seemed to think that freeway driving was a blood sport, tailgated and switched lanes to gain a few minutes. We were in no hurry. Our suggestion if going to O'Hare or anywhere else from the hotel is to get a regular taxi and ask for the fare, first. If you are shown a black Chevy Suburban say "No" and look for a Prius instead. April 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff really polite What we liked: the location, the staff, the room , everything was perfect. What we didn't like: they have nooooooooooo room service (we love it for breakefast) and there´s a daily charge if you want to use the internet, even if you're an IHG member. April 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Value and Great Location We got a very good discount on the room. We picked this hotel because of the price and the loction, within 2 blocks of the Prentice Women's Hospital. We took advantage of the Hospital's discount with a parking garage across from the hospital and paid $25 per day rather than the $60 valet price at the hotel. We were able to walk to the hospital and restaurants, so the car was never out of the garage. The only negatives with the hotel were a leaky toilet, which was fixed immediately, and a sagging mattress which we put up with. April 26, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 Night out in downtown Chicago Didn't like the stay at all. Informed that I'm getting a non-smoking room and also signed a form showing 'fine' for smoking in non-smoking room What i got is room in non-smoking area after a 'smoker' checked out!!. Front desk was helpful in quickly findign another room but the experience basically killed the vacation mood. Also new one was renovated one but not at all comfiy. Don't recommend to stay other than it's very convinient location. April 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great hotel I requested a room on a high floor which I got, the room was clean, bed comfy and the hotel is located just off the magnificent mile so was close to the shops and the nightlife. I think the hotel is very good value. There was a bit a wait for the lifts in the morning as they are small and very busy! We were on the 35th floor and had to let a couple of lifts go as they were already full other than that the hotel met my needs perfectly and I really enjoyed my stay April 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT ROOM BEING A PLATINUM MEMBER AS WELL AS A AMBASSADOR MEMBER I HAVE HAD THE PRIVILEGE OF BEING UPGRADED TO THE PRESIDENTAL SUITE.WHAT A TREAT I BROUGHT MY WIFE WITH ME ON THIS TRIP AND WHAT A PLEASURE TO HAVE SUCH A WONDERFUL ROOM WITH A MILLION DOLLAR VIEW OF LAKE MICHIGAN AS WE ENJOYED 3 DIFFERT SUNRISES DURING OUR STAY SO IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR A GREAT ROOM AND A GREAT PROGRAM TO EARN FREE NIGHTS THIS MAKES IT ALL WORTH WHILE. GREAT STAFF THANK YOU FOR A GREATB STAY!!!! April 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay.... prime location & great staff! Although we stayed on a busy weekend for the hotel (hockey frenzy) and it took about 5 minutes to catch an elevator from the 27th floor, but the staff remained friendly and helpful, nice room. Just minutes away from the Water Tower and just a block away from prime shopping on the Magnificent Mile!!! April 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Quick, Easy and Nice This hotel has a wonderful location, just a block or so off Michigan Ave. When I checked in around 4, my room was not ready, but the staff was kind enough to upgrade my room. Nice hotel for business travel. The staff was helpful in guiding me with the "L" public transit system. April 14, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Would be 4 stars if it weren't next to the hospital... Great location, other than being right next to the hospital. It is so loud with the ambulances--we were woken up MANY times throughout the night. April 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend stay Great location for Michigan Blvd shopping! Hotel needs some updating but all in all a great value for the cost. April 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Devil in the details First up, I've come to expect when staying at a mid-line hotel like a Holiday Inn or HIE, the sheets are changed occasionally during an extended night stay. However, for upper level brands like Crowne or Intercontinenal I feel the room should be FULLY serviced daily. Second, I realize HVAC is tough to master but the room literally swung hot and cold. When the heater was on, it sounded like a jet on take off roll. When I adjusted the temperature to avoid the blast furnace , it would get cold enough I'd need to wrap the blanket around me working at the desk. Now, for the latter, granted it was COLD outside and the rooms offer great amount of windows but had the thermostat worked properly, the comfort zone of the room would have been realistic. Most annoying, and it's petty to some is the hotel stopped doing room service from the on property "Elephant and Castle" restaurant in the lobby. So, I used Grub Hub, a popular delivery service on a few occasions. The hotel would not allow the delivery person to the room, despite having called me from the front desk and verifying that I had indeed ordered food, was waiting for it and my requesting they be sent up. I can understand for security purposes you can't have people wandering halls of the hotel #ironically however, you can simply walk in from the street straight to the elevators, so if the delivery guys hadn't checked in with the desk, they could have simply come up to the room# but here's a clue. If I wanted to get out of my sweats, put on shoes and go down to the lobby, I could have gone OUT to eat. The purpose of ordering food for the room is to avoid going out. Chicago has fabulous places to eat past the front doors of the hotel, so it should be plain that when I've ordered something to be delivered. As I said, petty but annoying enough to me. If the goal is security, send an escort with the guy. April 6, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Guest Room is good, but the calmness is not good. Reception Staff were very friendly. Guest Room is good for us. But noise from the outside of the room was experienced. One is from the repair work at the next private space in the late afternoon. Another is from the outside due to the emergency mobiles such as ambulance, police. Sometimes we were stopped sleeping in the late night. April 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location, with spacious rooms and comfortable beds A very good choice, if you are looking for excellent location and very good value for money. Breakfast better eaten around the corner at Cornery Bakery (did not open in time and service was slow in adjacent hotel pub)) April 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed besides great bed, bathroom and guest room clean and roomy. Great water pressure in shower and nice towels. Was on 25th floor, nice view of city All staff very friendly April 5, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Bed was comfortable but the washroom was under construction We understand that hotels need to be updated, however lets not book a room that is not finished its a very poor reflection on the Crown Plaza. April 3, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Room & Parking Our room was very small. We constantly had to move a chair away from the desk in order to get to the other side of the room. This property charges $60 parking a day (no option for self-park, all valet). We had to wait 40 minutes to get our car from the valet. For the parking fee charged, we expected a much better service. April 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by The Staff will greatly enhance your stay Good location, good value, great staff, great on-site pub and within walking distance to everything you would need to do. The only negative is the $60/day parking, but that's Downtown Chicago for you. On the positive side, you had unlimited in and out priveleges which is a big plus if using this as a central location for visiting! April 2, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Elevators are Limited One of the three elevators down. The two working are very small. Wait time was long. April 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Very comfy and located in the heart of downtown. Only downside was the elevator situation. We waited 20 minutes just to get to our room on the 28th floor, and were crunched for time because we had show tickets. I'd recommend requesting a room on the 13th and lower because those elevators were much faster. At one point we took the elevator to the 13th floor and stairs the rest of the way because it was so incredibly slow. Otherwise an excellent stay. March 31, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Many restaurants and stores within walking distance. Very clean. Traffic and sirens very loud even on the 24th floor. March 30, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Average experience Room was nice and clean, and beds were comfy. However, the lights in the bathroom flickered on and off and only one outlet in the bathroom worked. Which off a woman trying to style her hair can be a task. Additionally the heat did not work, and at 2am when the room was freezing we had to call down for someone to fix it. The positive was that the maintenance guy was pleasant and even brought up a space heater to warm up the room. March 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location! We stayed at this property for 3 nights during a Trade Show at a nearby hotel. The staff is very friendly and the rooms were surprisingly large for an older property. I was worried about being near a hospital, but the room was quiet at night. Great location! Shopping and attractions are within walking distance as are great restaurants. Parking is pricey, but cheaper parking is only a few blocks away. March 29, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 16 next>>
Welcome to Chicago Downtown Hotel
Welcome to Chicago Downtown Hotel
Select to close.
Welcome to Chicago Downtown Hotel Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza & Chicago River Dining in Chicago Downtown Navy Pier - Attraction in Chicago Downtown Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza Front Desk Wolf Point location on the Chicago River Chicago Theatre - Attraction in Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile - Attraction in Chicago Downtown Art Institute of Chicago Boat Tour on Chicago River Millennium Park in Chicago Downtown Wrigley Field - Attraction in Chicago Downtown Chicago River and Orleans Bridge Hotel Lobby John Hancock Center - Attraction in Chicago Downtown Shedd Aquarium - Attraction in Chicago Downtown Buckingham Fountain in Grant Park Willis Tower - Attraction in Chicago Downtown Adler Planetarium - Attraction in Chicago Downtown View of Chicago Downtown View of Downtown Chicago & Hotel Parking Theatre in Chicago Downtown Hotel with skyline and Chicago River. Field Museum - Attraction in Chicago Downtown Millennium Park in Chicago Downtown Welcome to Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Earn at least two free nights, 50,000 bonus points or 10,000 miles. Book Now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-23-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-24-2014)
Check Availability
Loading