• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Aug-27-2014)
(e.g. Aug-28-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: CHICAGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:12
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. French
  4. Japanese
  5. Chinese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

No pets allowed except for service animals.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Willis Tower Skydeck
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Millennium Park
Distance From Hotel:1.2MI
Attraction:
Magnificent Mile
Distance From Hotel:1.2MI
Attraction:
Art Institute of Chicago
Distance From Hotel:1.3MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Valet parking is $45.00, includes unlimited in/out privileges. Oversized vehicles cannot be accommodated.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 45.00  USD)
  • Valet parking fee  ( 45.0 USD )

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:521
  • Total number of suites:9
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:210
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:311
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:521
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:12
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:10
  • FEMA Property Number:IL0107

Downtown Chicago Hotel - Spectacular River and City Views

Located in downtown Chicago’s exciting River North area and minutes from the Chicago Loop, the contemporary Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza Hotel overlooks the Chicago River and showcases iconic views of the Chicago skyline.

Defined by urban style and modern comfort, a recent $20 million redesign of this property sets the stage for an exciting Chicago experience for both business & leisure travelers. Ideally
View More

Downtown Chicago Hotel - Spectacular River and City Views

Located in downtown Chicago’s exciting River North area and minutes from the Chicago Loop, the contemporary Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza Hotel overlooks the Chicago River and showcases iconic views of the Chicago skyline.

Defined by urban style and modern comfort, a recent $20 million redesign of this property sets the stage for an exciting Chicago experience for both business & leisure travelers. Ideally situated near the Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier and Millennium Park, the Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza is the perfect base from which to explore Chicago. Catch a rising star in the nearby Theatre District, walk over to one of the myriad dining options just steps from the hotel or watch the sunset at Willis Tower before retiring to your luxurious guest room featuring breathtaking views of Chicago.

Business travelers will appreciate the skywalk linking the hotel to the Merchandise Mart and our close proximity to the Loop, Financial and Business district. Hotel guests have access to complimentary wireless Internet & a convenient 24-hour Business Center. The hotel offers 16 meeting rooms, with 25,000 sq ft of function space and can accommodate up to 1000 guests for a trade show or reception. Additionally, the hotel is just 3 miles from McCormick Place Convention Center and within 16 miles of both O'Hare Airport and Midway Airport.

View Less
Features
The hotel has 521 spacious guestrooms and suites featuring free Wi-Fi and LCD TVs with premium cable. We offer room service, concierge services and on-site parking. Guests can work out in the complimentary Fitness Center, enjoy a swim in the indoor pool, relax in the sauna, savor Mediterranean and Asian inspired cuisine at ItaliAsia and unwind with cocktails in the chic Cityscape Bar.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 352 reviewers.
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Look Elsewhere I could go on about the meagerness of the amenities for a "boutique" hotel, or complain about the tacky design that feels dated and cheap. But what really got me steamed was having to spend 45 minutes on the phone with an offsite customer service agent to get my WiFI working. This is 2013. Come on. October 18, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely hotel, but just one disappointment On the whole, I thought this was a wonderful place to stay. Beautiful location right in the Gold Coast, close enough to walk to restaurants and action but in such a quiet residential neighborhood. The staff were all helpful and great, I very much enjoyed breakfast, and they were able to help me with almost everything that I needed. Fun relaxing atmosphere. My one disappointment was that I had booked a room with a fireplace specifically because I wanted the ambiance. When I got there, however, there was a sign inside the room that stated that the fireplaces were seasonal and only worked from Nov-March (this was mid-October and it was just getting chilly outside) Perhaps this is indicated on the website and i just missed it, but it was a disappointment. The front desk staff couldn't have been nicer, and made a request for me that it be turned on, but since it was the evening they had to let me know that the earliest they could get someone in would be the next day. Overall, a small thing, but it would have been nice if I could have either been warned when booking. I do recommend this place, though--just don't book a fireplace room before Nov 1st! October 17, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good location and hotel, really poor front desk staff I travel enough to hold a Platinum Ambassador card with IHG. At every IHG hotel, the card is recognised with a hello and I always get a reminder email two days in advance of my stay. With this hotel, there was neither an email or even a hello. The greeting was 'credit card and ID'. The service person on check out was equally bad. We chose this hotel late and expected to pay a premium because it was marathon weekend in Chicago. So, the price point was expected. Annoyingly, they advertise the hotel as no parking fees. When you get there, the lot next to the hotel is solely valet and costs $45/night, which is about the Chicago average for the area. When asked they hedge. So, Ieft the hotel less than completely positive. However, the location in Old Town is excellent. The rooms are nice and newly renovated, although the bathroom could be better. Go to this hotel,if you are okay with poor service and want the location with a decent sleep. For me there are better, there are better options in Old Town. October 17, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and interesting decor The rooms have a very interesting feel. The attempt is to make it feel similar to some Caribean/beach hotel. For the most part, it captures it fairly well, even complete with a hint of ocean/chlorine type of smell (pleasant version of it). The rooms are very clean, and continue with very bright, vibrant colors. They are also decently sized, include the standard amenities, are very clean, and the beds are very comfortable. There is a parking garage directly next to the hotel that is valet style - and is an OK value ($45 for 24 hrs). The room prices vary quite a bit depending on when you book the room and specials going on. Overall, for the city, it can be a little on the more expensive side depending on time of year and day of week but it is very conveniently located (about 1 1/2 blocks from the Division 'L' Redline stop - about 3 stops from downtown). There are several great restaurants and of course the beach located within a very short walking distance of the hotel. I have stayed here several times and would recommend to those who do not want to stay in the heart of downtown, but would still like to be able to easily access other parts of Chicago. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I cannot comment on the breakfast but is a pretty standard continental breakfast. There is a small lounge area also near the entrance. October 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic service and a comfortable room. My wife and I stayed here on a recent five day trip through Chicago. The hotel is well located and close enough to the red line to be convenient to most of the city. Our room on the 11th floor gave us a view of Lake Michigan and the surrounding buildings, without the noises of the street reaching our room. The room was clean and had a thermostat that really worked. The beds were comfortable and attractive. Most of all, the staff went out of there way to keep us happy. Hellping us with directions, even discounts to a great local resturant. Even after we left they were there for us. I left behind some of my prescription meds and they Fedexed them to me the next morning.Thanks so much to the whole staff you helped make this a great trip. October 16, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice decor with ridiculous parking Overall the Indigo was a nice hotel with cheerful and colorful decor - a nice change from the usual hotel colors. It was quiet and a pleasant setting. However, the parking situation was ridiculous - they use a separate garage next door and parking for 24 hours is $45.00. It took forever to get your car as well. Also I found it lacking that the hotel did not have complimentary coffee in the lobby in the morning. It was a nice enough hotel if you want to be on the Gold Coast and out of the chaos of downtown. I am not sure I would stay there again unless i needed to be in the area. October 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic bed and helpful staff Spent a night at the Indigo after the theatre and had a very relaxing evening. Comfortable, large bed, helpful staff and and overall great experience. October 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and welcoming. Pleasant surprise...decor was special. Room was spacious for two, although the shower area was small. Staff was very helpful. October 9, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by cute hotel in a wonderful location The hotel is located in a very cute area of Chicago. Very easy to walk to the Lake, or head into downtown. I enjoyed it because it was not a massive large hotel where its gets crazy at check in. check out and no long wait for the elevators like other large city hotels. My only concern was when we arrived there was no one to assist with our luggage that was stressful, my husband had to get a cart and do it all himself. At check in the girl, said " you can leave bags here and Ill watch them while you bring some upstairs" I wanted to be like, well couldn't you call someone to help!" Also they did not explain the whole parking situation that was frustrating to me. I love the small hotel charm but with that I also expect them to be welcoming and able to assist more since its not a large conference hotel. Room decor is cute, very beachy feel. Would I come back, yes. The other staff members I encountered were very friendly at check out, as well as at the bar, and housekeeping. Room was clean which is important to me as a frequent traveler. October 7, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel, needs work on guest experience We enjoyed our stay at the hotel in general - room was spacious, fairly clean and the design was nice. Good location and proximity to the Loop (within walking distance). Overall however, the staff were not very friendly and didn't add to our experience. When we asked the front desk for a restaurant recommendation one evening, the guy at the desk said to just walk down the road a find something. This was disappointing as in the past some of the best dining experiences come from hotel staff recommendations. None of the staff went out of their way to help us out or make us feel at home. October 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Our Anniversary We had a wonderful time at Hotel Indigo and look forward to staying there again! Everyone was friendly and helpful and the room was warm and inviting. The location was perfect for us! October 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service The overall experience was good. The only negative was the coffee maker did not work and the television did not work. The staff fixed the TV but after about two hours of use it stopped working for the second time. September 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by ASIS Conference Corporate Stay Nice clean contemporary hotel conveniently located to conference center, dining and attractions. Our staff enjoyed it. September 30, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by A Tale of Two Shifts The room was great for the most part, comfortable bed, nice sized room... the staffing was a whole other story. This really came down to two very different shifts and a clear distinction between the two. The Bad (would rather end positive): The morning staff was not very good, one morning I got The Aster breakfast - I knew I wasn't going to be eating lunch so I wanted a little bit heavier. The potatoes were overcooked (they crunched), the bacon tasted like char and the toast was burned... the only time the staff came back to my table was to hand me my check and they quickly walked away. I also called in the morning my first day there and told them I would need a cab (I was told the night before to call before I came down since getting a cab can take a while)... when I got downstairs I told the man working I had called down a few minutes earlier for a cab and he had no idea what I was talking about. I spoke to a manager the next night and told her what happened (she was fantastic) and she left a note to have a cab there the next morning at 8, when I called down in the morning the cab had already been scheduled. My problem the last morning came while standing outside waiting for the scheduled cab... several cabs had driven by and I walked inside and asked for about the cab and the girl at the desk said that the cab company had called and said they were running late... if they called and told her I think she should have come out and informed me they were running late. I couldn't wait for the scheduled cab any longer and ended up asking another guest who I could tell was going to the same place I was going for a ride. The Good: The night staff was great. I called down for room service the night of my burned breakfast and ordered food and told the man who answered what happened in the morning. He apologized profusely, after taking my order immediately handed me to the desk manager and brought my food up in a short period of time. About 15 minutes after bringing the food up he called me to make sure everything tasted okay. The desk staff at night was great as well, always had a smile when I walked in and were quick to answer questions. The night manager was great as well, when I shared with her the issues that I had she immediately started putting e-mails together for other managers. If I was basing my stay off only the people working in the morning I would have been very disappointed, but the people that worked at night were great and made up for the lack of service in the morning completely. September 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by My first time in Chicago The neighborhood was excellent. Was pleasantly surprised by the farmer's market on Saturday morning just one block (I think North). Very walkable neighborhood with plenty to do. Really close to the Red Line as well. As for the hotel and staff. Very courteous staff and hotel was accommodating. The room felt very home-like and was comfortable. The bar in the lobby was well stocked and the bartender made for great conversation as well. I'd recommend staying here if you want to experience a very nice part of Chicago in a convenient way. September 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by modern stylish and superlocation great hotel, near loop but in quet area. beautiful design, modern adn with good taste. Large clean rooms,supercomfy beds. To recommend and to go back! September 27, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Light and airy! I stayed at Indigo for one night. The staff were friendly and helpful and held our luggage upon arrival and departure as we ventured off to see the city. They're 1 block from the train which made it very accessable to downtown restaurants. The only downfall to the room was that the window shades are so transparent the sun beams right in. They didn't have a black out shade. Other than that, I would stay here again. September 24, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Chicago stay Comfortable, calming environment. Staff was thoughful and made us feel welcome. Only negative was that the shower head broke off in the middle of using. September 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service, comfortable beds and awesome location Lisa at the front desk was amazing! She told us about great restaurants and night life near the hotel. The rooms were spacious and bright and the beds were comfortable. I would definately stay here again! September 19, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Very Effective Fire Alarm Unfortunately, we got little sleep our last night at the hotel as the fire alarm on our floor went off four times between 12:30 and 2 AM. It's quite effective in waking one up! After the second burst, I called the front desk....no awareness of a problem. On the third alarm burst, I got up to check the hallway, but saw/smelled nothing. On this occasion, the front desk agreed to send up "Security". The Security man called my room several minutes later to tell me that he found nothing, but questioned whether it was the alarm on my iPhone!?...Itold him that it would be the most powerful iPhone in existence. I didn't bother reporting in when the alarm went off one more time. When checking out the next morning, the front desk clerk was ignorant of the problem, but speculated that it was a resident using the fire escape to smoke...must not be the first incidence. Unfortunately, this last night's experience left a bad taste in what had been a pleasant stay. September 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Excellent hotel and price We stayed one night over Labor Day weekend. Such a refreshing hotel, unlike any I've seen before. The lobby was very colorful and inviting. Oh, yes, Dan, our doorman, was friendly and helpful. Our room was great, roomy, decorated beautifully. We enjoyed the experience of the cozy lovely neighborhood. We will stay here again. September 6, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Ambivalence The hotel itself is very attractive but not all the staff are so nice and worse not all the rooms are acceptable. I stayed for three nights and originally I was given a very dark room that had a view of the inner staircase. I understand that not all rooms are well lit but when someone is staying three nights with family, it is expected that the room will not be the worst in the hotel. The front desk receptionist changed my room to something much nicer but she did so grudgingly, replying initially that there were no other rooms available. It was only after I said that our family was staying for three nights that she eventually offered another room. On that same day, we also had a cleaning woman and engineer come in unannounced into our room. For a boutique hotel, it is expected that the service will be first rate. With the exceptions of the bellmen, the service was mediocre at best and quite disappointing. I don't know if I would stay at the hotel again. September 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Able to use airmiles which made trip possible Good location, cheerful decor and great staff. It was extremely hot during our stay in the city and room air conditioner was not working properly. The first night was unbearable hot. I spoke with the staff who offered to have it checked however advised that often during a heat wave the city put caps on the amount of energy consumed so they may not be able to remedy the problem. We had another 3 nights after that in the sweltering heat. I spoke with another guest in the elevator on our last night and she advised that her room was freezing (and she liked it that way). I'm disappointed that our issue with the heat was not resolved. One of the friendly staff (Aurelio) recommended a breakfast place close to Willis Tower where we intended to go and it was fabulous. Thank you Aurelio for asking what our plans were. September 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great location but not motorcycle ready The hotel was great and the location was great. The bed was comfortable and the room overall was comfortable. The shower could use some work with peeling paint and trim. There were signs that this hotel was an old hotel remodeled. The shower pressure and shower head were great though. The keurig coffee system was great since my husband drinks decaf and I drink regular coffe however a few more options would have been preferred other then intense or decaf. I never checked with the front desk so I don't know what options are available. The Aveda shampoo, etc. were a nice touch. The biggest issue was that we rode our motorcycle and the hotel seemed at a loss for handling it. The garage initially would not allow us to park the motorcycle nor offer any options. The hotel manager had to work out the details wiht the garage which was frustrating. The staff for the most part were very helpful. The front desk staff in the morning would not listen to our checkout questions and tried to keep repeating the canned repsonses never answering our questions. She was very indignant but really the only non-helpful person. September 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great location We enjoyed everything about this hotel. The staff were helpful, friendly and accommodating. There was a wonderful variety of dining and shopping experiences close by and we felt safe walking. We also were so thankful to be within a reasonable walking distance to the city tour bus which ran later in the evening in that general area when we were there. A true Chicago experience and I would stay in there again when we return! The package deals are great value. September 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by friendly staff and refreshing decor From the moment we entered the hotel the staff was very friendly and accommodating. The decor was refreshing and fun compared to typical hotels. The area was beautiful and very warm neighborhood feel...so many things and restaurants within walking distance. Thomas at the front desk was awesome and just excited to help us out when we had questions. Would highly recommend and can't wait to go back. August 28, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Overall Good Place to Stay This time our experience at the Hotel Indigo wasn't quite as good as in the past, though I will still recommend it. When we went to check in the hotel, the computer system was down, so that wasn't possible. Due to our particular circumstances that day, it would have been really nice to be able to get a room. We left our bags and went ahead on the business we had there. We phoned the hotel later in the afternoon, after what was normal check in time, and were told the computers were still not working, but should be back up in an hour or so. When we finally arrived there again, everything seemed to be working, and we were allowed to check in. The room we had was a bit nicer than the ones we have had previously, and appears to have had a bit of renovation. Don't know if that is the particular room we had, or if there are renovations going on. There was a flat screen TV, which is something definitely new (and needed) for this hotel. In the morning, my husband couldn't get the hairdryer to work. Before I needed it, he went to the desk, and another was very promptly delivered to the room. Unfortunately, it appeared the problem wasn't the dryer, but the outlet in the bathroom, so the hairdryer had to be used elsewhere in the room. My husband did encounter a snarky employee when he attempted to use the guest computer to print out boarding passes. He asked for the password, and while he thought he understood the heavily accented woman at the desk, he couldn't get access. He went back to the desk and asked the man who was there then to please write it down since he must have misunderstood. The man did write it down, but only after making a comment to the effect that if he didn't understand it the first time, writing it down probably wouldn't help. We will probably stay here again when we come back to Chicago, primarily because the location is good for us, and the price is usually reasonable, but the service was definitely lacking on this trip, compared to our previous visits. August 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by No problem too big I am an admittedly tough customer but the staff were always on top of my needs. An unexpected work deadline forced me to need additional work accommodations and when the business center was incapacitated, Andrew and Chris at the front desk went above and beyond to let me use the front desk facilities and complete my deadline quickly. The staff was always courteous and helpful. I would stay here again! August 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by all was perfect Everything was ok and breakfast on payment was correct. Staff really kind and helpfull, room clean and spacious. We suggest this confortable hotel! August 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful Room and View We loved our first stay so much that we booked again .....this visit was even better than the first ....( didn't think that was possible !) A beautiful room with a beautiful view . ....I will be back again and again l Thanks again Tom !!!!! August 24, 2013
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 13 next>>
Welcome to Chicago Downtown Hotel
Welcome to Chicago Downtown Hotel
Select to close.
Welcome to Chicago Downtown Hotel Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza & Chicago River Dining in Chicago Downtown Navy Pier - Attraction in Chicago Downtown Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza Front Desk Wolf Point location on the Chicago River Chicago Theatre - Attraction in Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile - Attraction in Chicago Downtown Art Institute of Chicago Boat Tour on Chicago River Millennium Park in Chicago Downtown Wrigley Field - Attraction in Chicago Downtown Chicago River and Orleans Bridge Hotel Lobby John Hancock Center - Attraction in Chicago Downtown Shedd Aquarium - Attraction in Chicago Downtown Buckingham Fountain in Grant Park Willis Tower - Attraction in Chicago Downtown Adler Planetarium - Attraction in Chicago Downtown View of Chicago Downtown View of Downtown Chicago & Hotel Parking Theatre in Chicago Downtown Hotel with skyline and Chicago River. Field Museum - Attraction in Chicago Downtown Millennium Park in Chicago Downtown Welcome to Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza
Select to close.
Have pizza and soda delivered to your room with our in-room pizza package.  Book Now!
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-27-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-28-2014)
Check Availability
Loading