• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-16-2014)
(e.g. Sep-17-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: CHICAGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:12
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. French
  4. Japanese
  5. Chinese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

No pets allowed except for service animals.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Willis Tower Skydeck
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Millennium Park
Distance From Hotel:1.2MI
Attraction:
Magnificent Mile
Distance From Hotel:1.2MI
Attraction:
Art Institute of Chicago
Distance From Hotel:1.3MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Valet parking is $45.00, includes unlimited in/out privileges. Oversized vehicles cannot be accommodated.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 45.00  USD)
  • Valet parking fee  ( 45.0 USD )

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:521
  • Total number of suites:9
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:210
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:311
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:521
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:12
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:10
  • FEMA Property Number:IL0107

Downtown Chicago Hotel - Spectacular River and City Views

Located in downtown Chicago’s exciting River North area and minutes from the Chicago Loop, the contemporary Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza Hotel overlooks the Chicago River and showcases iconic views of the Chicago skyline.

Defined by urban style and modern comfort, a recent $20 million redesign of this property sets the stage for an exciting Chicago experience for both business & leisure travelers. Ideally
View More

Downtown Chicago Hotel - Spectacular River and City Views

Located in downtown Chicago’s exciting River North area and minutes from the Chicago Loop, the contemporary Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza Hotel overlooks the Chicago River and showcases iconic views of the Chicago skyline.

Defined by urban style and modern comfort, a recent $20 million redesign of this property sets the stage for an exciting Chicago experience for both business & leisure travelers. Ideally situated near the Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier and Millennium Park, the Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza is the perfect base from which to explore Chicago. Catch a rising star in the nearby Theatre District, walk over to one of the myriad dining options just steps from the hotel or watch the sunset at Willis Tower before retiring to your luxurious guest room featuring breathtaking views of Chicago.

Business travelers will appreciate the skywalk linking the hotel to the Merchandise Mart and our close proximity to the Loop, Financial and Business district. Hotel guests have access to complimentary wireless Internet & a convenient 24-hour Business Center. The hotel offers 16 meeting rooms, with 25,000 sq ft of function space and can accommodate up to 1000 guests for a trade show or reception. Additionally, the hotel is just 3 miles from McCormick Place Convention Center and within 16 miles of both O'Hare Airport and Midway Airport.

View Less
Features
The hotel has 521 spacious guestrooms and suites featuring free Wi-Fi and LCD TVs with premium cable. We offer room service, concierge services and on-site parking. Guests can work out in the complimentary Fitness Center, enjoy a swim in the indoor pool, relax in the sauna, savor Mediterranean and Asian inspired cuisine at ItaliAsia and unwind with cocktails in the chic Cityscape Bar.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 370 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A Different Side of Chicago I booked this hotel for my mom while she was visiting me, since I just moved to the neighborhood. It's a cute design, and the neighborhood is quiet and just far enough from the touristy side of things without being too far. The hotel was quiet and clean with some of the friendliest staff. My mom loved her stay there. Unfortunately, I didn't find out until she checked out that there was a discount for those that live in the neighborhood. Unfortunately I missed out on that, and no retroactive discount was offered. November 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Yes to Erica and Her Manager We were in Chicago for personal family business. My wife and I were welcomed heartily by Erica, and she allowed us to check in a little early on arrival. My wife is from Cuba and the two of them had a great time . The room we got was very clean, but I understand why some people think it is dated (it happens). Ownership should pay more attention to the local market . Upgrade and then, up the rates , fit into the community you are located within . I know the manager cant do everything she can to make things happen magically ,(like the non performing and loud tv in our room and the cheap laminate floors in our room) Your engineering staff and housekeepers do an outstanding job of working with an aging building . We are coming back this week for another stay , so you must be doing something right. We love the staff . November 9, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by BMW Room was tiny No upgrades or changes were possible I am a platinum member and al I heard all weekend was "I am sorry but no" November 8, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very clean and comfortable beds Will stay here again, we visit family in this neighborhood often. Very comfortable beds, very clean and I love the lack of carpets in the rooms. Decor is odd but well kept up. Parking next door extremely convenient. One of our rooms was not yet ready after the 4 pm check-in, and the desk took $25 off our rate, which was nice. Cons: no real doorman. Bellman does double duty, but wanted to leave our checked luggage (we arrived before check-in) in an area open to anyone who walked by. November 6, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Bath area tiny & front desk less than hospitable Shower & toilet in cramped enclosure. Only room for one in lavatory area. Closet rod fell down in first room so moved to anoth room where cabinet door was off of hinge. Front desk less than helpful when reported trouble connecting to internet. Location was great as was Chicago in general! November 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location - fantastic staff !! Location is unbeateable and the staff is phenomenal! - they certainly go the extra mile and truly make you feel appreciated. I had a really good time November 1, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service but room furnishings a bit tired We had a very nice stay and the staff was great. Particularly Erica who checked us in and Alma who provided us with an upgrade to our room. The hotel is in a great location - close to the action, but a little bit removed from some of the crowds. We have stayed at other Indigo properties and have always been very pleased. Our only comment would be that some of the furniture and finishings in our room looked a bit tired and could have been nicer. All in all, a nice stay and good value. October 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, quiet, & reasonably priced I was greeted by friendly front desk personnel upon arrival whereupon I requested a quiet room location as I am a light sleeper. The room I was assigned did turn out to be quiet. This was my second time staying at the hotel and on both occasions the rooms were nicely decorated and immaculate in terms of cleanliness. The lobby has a nice sitting area in which to read or adjacent bar area in which to have a drink. I had breakfast in the dining area the next morning which was delicious. The only thing I didn't care for was the heating in my room. The heating/air conditioning in my room was not controlled by a wall mounted thermostat. Instead the room had a window mounted (lower) type of unit. It was too warm with the unit on despite my trying to turn down the temperature via a digital push button on the unit. As a result, I just turned it off for the night & made sure the covers were pulled up. Then I turned it back on in the morning to take the slight chill out of the air. This worked out fine for me and would not stop me from staying there again. Overall, I give the Indigo two thumbs up and look forward to staying there again . October 30, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good location, rooms quirky, walls thin with sounds carrying Service was good. Rooms were small and the walls were very thin. Design was unique, quirky. October 28, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice looking hotel, service issues The hotel itself is very nice to look at, located on a small street surrounded mainly by residential buildings. The location is near the subway, which makes traveling around Chicago as easy as it can be. Two things that I did not care for during my visit. The first is that there is only one ice machine, located on the 2nd floor (if I remember correctly; if not, it was the 3rd floor). If you are on one of the higher floors, it can be inconvenient to have to travel down there to fill up your ice bucket, especially since the elevators are not the fastest things in the world. Second issue I had was the elevators themselves. During my two-day visit, the two public elevators went out of service due to mechanical issues twice. While at first it was just inconvenient and we adjusted, by the end of our evening coming back to the hotel around midnight and to be told that we had to walk up to our floor (the 11th or 12th floor) was a bit annoying. One of the guests in my room is over 400 pounds and flatly telling them to just walk up the stairs is a bit rude and not understanding. I am sure there was a service elevator they could have offered my friend instead of making him climb those steps, having to stop multiple times. That experience with the evening crew cancelled out the pleasant experience we had with the morning crew that offered us an early check-in. October 25, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent customer service, wonderful view Very respectful staff, refreshing decor in a historic building. .. nice combination. We were on 14th floor with a view of Lake Michigan. (Hint. .1402 or 1403). I recommend you pay the extra $15 for breakfast. It is a full breakfast at their quiet little bistro, not a "continental" breakfast. Just a (less than) $10 cab ride from several up scale restaurants. I could have spent several nights exploring. I'm not used to these prices but compared to the competition, the value was there. Only minor gripes that aren't worth typing. When I go to downtown Chicago, I will book here without looking elsewhere. October 24, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed I have to say we have stayed there several times and have loved it, however, we were a bit disappointed this time. We were there visiting our daughter, in and out of our room through the day. The room smelled very musty, and wasn't the cleanest. It wasn't until we arrived back to our room late at night that we noticed the sheets were not fresh and crisp....seemed as though they had not been changed. We slept on top of the sheets. Having our room right across from the elevator was very noisy. I am not a complainer, however, your asking and I am giving you the truth about our experience. It's a great place, I hate to see it slacking. Do know if we will be back. Too many other choices. October 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice location, but service could be better I enjoyed stay in the hotel, but two things that stood out were a little disturbing. 1) The cool design of the room was spoiled by the usage - the fact that the room has been used for years was palpable. 2) The service was questionable: When I checked in, a reception lady was checking other guests and she asked them three times whether they are sure they want a bill on a different card - the receptionist did not know how to change billing cards and she was trying to convince the guests to keep the bill on the original card. We also were somewhat upset when the receptionist was trying to make sure that we return the umbrella we borrowed from the hotel - the implication that we may not return it was both upsetting and insulting. October 24, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Could have been better. The acoustics were very bad. We could hear everything (doors opening/closing, elevators, conversations . .) going on in the hallway making it hard to fall asleep and stay asleep. The room had a nice design but needed some TCL. The wooden framed bathroom mirror was discolored and warped. Dirty finger prints on the light switches and doors had been there for awhile. But the hair in the shower and bathroom floor was just a matter of cleanliness. October 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by This is a great place to stay I don't know why the rates here are so much lower than many hotels in the area. This is a terrific place right in the heart of the gold coast area. Surrounded by restaurants, shopping and even a grocery store, the location was perfect. And, its just a few blocks from lovely Lake Michigan! The service was efficient and friendly and the bed was very comfortable. I can't wait to go back. October 22, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by "Not your cookie cutter hotel"... ...this is what the coffee barista said to us as he explained the backwards writing painted on the walls and the mathematical significance of everything in the dining area. I'm not big into all things math, but I enjoyed the method in the madness behind the decor. The colors are refreshingly different, not the usual taupe and moss green of most hotels. It made me feel very much at home! The only downside was an unexplained loud, periodic vibrating noise in our ceiling (rm. 411) that actually woke me up. The bell hop, Ed, was amazingly helpful in explaining the parking on Chicago streets. We had a wonderful surprise on Saturday morning when we walked one block to the Starbucks and found a farmer's market at Dearborn and West Division!! October 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing Fall Getaway We loved our stay at The Hotel Indigo. We were welcomed on our arrival; which was a few hours early, and were surprised that we could check in early. Great service from the front desk staff, especially Andrew.Our room was great, just like the pictures. The decor was perfect and the kingsize bed was very comfortable. The room was clean and the bathroom was just the right size. The location was perfect, close to the water, walking distance to downtown and the Lincon Park Zoo. We checked out some great shows during our visit The Million Dollar Quartet at the Apollo Theatre and the duelling piano's at Howl at the Moon. We would definitely recommend Hotel Indigo to friends and family and would stay here on our next visit to Chicago. Great Time!! October 20, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Last stay 2 yrs. ago ranked 5 star but now, the sparkle isn't there. Check in staff mediocre,not welcoming. I was treated to phone conversation betwn customer already checked in requesting a change of bedding. They were asked to describe why. WHOA! I immediately went up to room and ripped back the sheets. I also had apparently the same finding and, get this, I was asked over the phone to describe what it looked like. OH, Pleeze. The shams could take a washing also but they weren't as disturbing as the bottom sheet. The shower (no tub) (708) needs tile at floor level cleaning. The sink stopper was disconnected and I wasn't going to be on site plumber . The toilet worked well when it wanted to. Also, is it too much to ask that the pillow cases be ironed.? This isn't a hunting cabin! And why was the bedside lamp near the a/c disconnected on check-in? The hallway carpet is looking dingy. Buck up Indigo...be deserving of ;your IHG affiliation. Bar tendress was an exception to the above. Overall, I will return cuz it is 3 blocks down the street from my girlfriend. October 18, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Look Elsewhere I could go on about the meagerness of the amenities for a "boutique" hotel, or complain about the tacky design that feels dated and cheap. But what really got me steamed was having to spend 45 minutes on the phone with an offsite customer service agent to get my WiFI working. This is 2013. Come on. October 18, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely hotel, but just one disappointment On the whole, I thought this was a wonderful place to stay. Beautiful location right in the Gold Coast, close enough to walk to restaurants and action but in such a quiet residential neighborhood. The staff were all helpful and great, I very much enjoyed breakfast, and they were able to help me with almost everything that I needed. Fun relaxing atmosphere. My one disappointment was that I had booked a room with a fireplace specifically because I wanted the ambiance. When I got there, however, there was a sign inside the room that stated that the fireplaces were seasonal and only worked from Nov-March (this was mid-October and it was just getting chilly outside) Perhaps this is indicated on the website and i just missed it, but it was a disappointment. The front desk staff couldn't have been nicer, and made a request for me that it be turned on, but since it was the evening they had to let me know that the earliest they could get someone in would be the next day. Overall, a small thing, but it would have been nice if I could have either been warned when booking. I do recommend this place, though--just don't book a fireplace room before Nov 1st! October 17, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good location and hotel, really poor front desk staff I travel enough to hold a Platinum Ambassador card with IHG. At every IHG hotel, the card is recognised with a hello and I always get a reminder email two days in advance of my stay. With this hotel, there was neither an email or even a hello. The greeting was 'credit card and ID'. The service person on check out was equally bad. We chose this hotel late and expected to pay a premium because it was marathon weekend in Chicago. So, the price point was expected. Annoyingly, they advertise the hotel as no parking fees. When you get there, the lot next to the hotel is solely valet and costs $45/night, which is about the Chicago average for the area. When asked they hedge. So, Ieft the hotel less than completely positive. However, the location in Old Town is excellent. The rooms are nice and newly renovated, although the bathroom could be better. Go to this hotel,if you are okay with poor service and want the location with a decent sleep. For me there are better, there are better options in Old Town. October 17, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and interesting decor The rooms have a very interesting feel. The attempt is to make it feel similar to some Caribean/beach hotel. For the most part, it captures it fairly well, even complete with a hint of ocean/chlorine type of smell (pleasant version of it). The rooms are very clean, and continue with very bright, vibrant colors. They are also decently sized, include the standard amenities, are very clean, and the beds are very comfortable. There is a parking garage directly next to the hotel that is valet style - and is an OK value ($45 for 24 hrs). The room prices vary quite a bit depending on when you book the room and specials going on. Overall, for the city, it can be a little on the more expensive side depending on time of year and day of week but it is very conveniently located (about 1 1/2 blocks from the Division 'L' Redline stop - about 3 stops from downtown). There are several great restaurants and of course the beach located within a very short walking distance of the hotel. I have stayed here several times and would recommend to those who do not want to stay in the heart of downtown, but would still like to be able to easily access other parts of Chicago. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I cannot comment on the breakfast but is a pretty standard continental breakfast. There is a small lounge area also near the entrance. October 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic service and a comfortable room. My wife and I stayed here on a recent five day trip through Chicago. The hotel is well located and close enough to the red line to be convenient to most of the city. Our room on the 11th floor gave us a view of Lake Michigan and the surrounding buildings, without the noises of the street reaching our room. The room was clean and had a thermostat that really worked. The beds were comfortable and attractive. Most of all, the staff went out of there way to keep us happy. Hellping us with directions, even discounts to a great local resturant. Even after we left they were there for us. I left behind some of my prescription meds and they Fedexed them to me the next morning.Thanks so much to the whole staff you helped make this a great trip. October 16, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice decor with ridiculous parking Overall the Indigo was a nice hotel with cheerful and colorful decor - a nice change from the usual hotel colors. It was quiet and a pleasant setting. However, the parking situation was ridiculous - they use a separate garage next door and parking for 24 hours is $45.00. It took forever to get your car as well. Also I found it lacking that the hotel did not have complimentary coffee in the lobby in the morning. It was a nice enough hotel if you want to be on the Gold Coast and out of the chaos of downtown. I am not sure I would stay there again unless i needed to be in the area. October 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic bed and helpful staff Spent a night at the Indigo after the theatre and had a very relaxing evening. Comfortable, large bed, helpful staff and and overall great experience. October 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and welcoming. Pleasant surprise...decor was special. Room was spacious for two, although the shower area was small. Staff was very helpful. October 9, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by cute hotel in a wonderful location The hotel is located in a very cute area of Chicago. Very easy to walk to the Lake, or head into downtown. I enjoyed it because it was not a massive large hotel where its gets crazy at check in. check out and no long wait for the elevators like other large city hotels. My only concern was when we arrived there was no one to assist with our luggage that was stressful, my husband had to get a cart and do it all himself. At check in the girl, said " you can leave bags here and Ill watch them while you bring some upstairs" I wanted to be like, well couldn't you call someone to help!" Also they did not explain the whole parking situation that was frustrating to me. I love the small hotel charm but with that I also expect them to be welcoming and able to assist more since its not a large conference hotel. Room decor is cute, very beachy feel. Would I come back, yes. The other staff members I encountered were very friendly at check out, as well as at the bar, and housekeeping. Room was clean which is important to me as a frequent traveler. October 7, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel, needs work on guest experience We enjoyed our stay at the hotel in general - room was spacious, fairly clean and the design was nice. Good location and proximity to the Loop (within walking distance). Overall however, the staff were not very friendly and didn't add to our experience. When we asked the front desk for a restaurant recommendation one evening, the guy at the desk said to just walk down the road a find something. This was disappointing as in the past some of the best dining experiences come from hotel staff recommendations. None of the staff went out of their way to help us out or make us feel at home. October 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Our Anniversary We had a wonderful time at Hotel Indigo and look forward to staying there again! Everyone was friendly and helpful and the room was warm and inviting. The location was perfect for us! October 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service The overall experience was good. The only negative was the coffee maker did not work and the television did not work. The staff fixed the TV but after about two hours of use it stopped working for the second time. September 30, 2013
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 14 next>>
Welcome to Chicago Downtown Hotel
Welcome to Chicago Downtown Hotel
Select to close.
Welcome to Chicago Downtown Hotel Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza & Chicago River Dining in Chicago Downtown Navy Pier - Attraction in Chicago Downtown Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza Front Desk Wolf Point location on the Chicago River Chicago Theatre - Attraction in Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile - Attraction in Chicago Downtown Art Institute of Chicago Boat Tour on Chicago River Millennium Park in Chicago Downtown Wrigley Field - Attraction in Chicago Downtown Chicago River and Orleans Bridge Hotel Lobby John Hancock Center - Attraction in Chicago Downtown Shedd Aquarium - Attraction in Chicago Downtown Buckingham Fountain in Grant Park Willis Tower - Attraction in Chicago Downtown Adler Planetarium - Attraction in Chicago Downtown View of Chicago Downtown View of Downtown Chicago & Hotel Parking Theatre in Chicago Downtown Hotel with skyline and Chicago River. Field Museum - Attraction in Chicago Downtown Millennium Park in Chicago Downtown Welcome to Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-16-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-17-2014)
Check Availability
Loading