• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Nov-27-2014)
(e.g. Nov-28-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: CHICAGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-06:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:8
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Hindi
  4. Punjabi
  5. Romanian

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

PETS ARE NOT ALLOWED. IF A PET IS FOUND IN THE ROOM, THERE IS A 250.00USD NON REFUNDABLE FEE PLUS 50.00USD PER NIGHT CLEANING FEE. PETS ARE NOT ALLOWED..

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Willis Tower (Formerly Sears Tower)
Distance From Hotel:0.25MI
Attraction:
Shedd Aquarium
Distance From Hotel:1.5MI
Attraction:
The Field Museum
Distance From Hotel:1.5MI
Attraction:
Adler Planetarium
Distance From Hotel:1.7MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Hotel Parking at the hotel $40USD per night with in and out privileges. NO TRUCK/BUS/RV PARKING ALLOWED ON PREMISES. Hotel is not affiliated with the city adjacent self-parking lot.
  • Valet parking fee  ( 40.0 USD )

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:145
  • Total number of suites:27
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:85
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:60
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:145
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:8
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:6
  • FEMA Property Number:IL1522

Downtown Chicago Hotel Near Willis Tower

Welcome to the Holiday Inn® & Suites Chicago - Downtown, conveniently located near the Chicago Loop, as well as prominent area attractions. Located off I-290 on South Canal Street, this downtown Chicago hotel is ideal for leisure and business travelers.

Vacationers are surrounded by Willis (once Sears Tower)Tower and the Museum Campus when they stay in downtown Chicago. Our hotel's location is also near the historic Navy
View More

Downtown Chicago Hotel Near Willis Tower

Welcome to the Holiday Inn® & Suites Chicago - Downtown, conveniently located near the Chicago Loop, as well as prominent area attractions. Located off I-290 on South Canal Street, this downtown Chicago hotel is ideal for leisure and business travelers.

Vacationers are surrounded by Willis (once Sears Tower)Tower and the Museum Campus when they stay in downtown Chicago. Our hotel's location is also near the historic Navy Pier Midwest's #1 tourist and leisure attraction. Just minutes away from, UIC Flames and the United Center home to the Chicago Blackhawks & Chicago Bulls, let’s not forget games with Chicago Bears, Chicago Cubs & Chicago White Sox!

Business travelers appreciate our hotel's location in Chicago, as we're near AzkoNobel, Bank of America, Hillshire, JPMorgan Chase, MillerCoors, PepsiCo, USG Corp, Chicago Financial District as well as McCormick Place. In addition, our hotel seats 2,000 sq ft of event space.

Whether business or pleasure brings you to Chicago Downtown, free Wi-Fi access keeps you connected, while an extensive fitness center lets you keep up your workout routine, and a seasonal outdoor rooftop pool provides great enjoyment for the entire family. For a great dining experience, visit Sunny's Bar & Grill. Clearly, with these choice amenities and prices, it's easy to see why guests prefer us to other hotels in Chicago, IL!

View Less
Features
Parking in downtown Chicago can be quite expensive, take advantage of the Triple Play Package. Package includes room plus one overnight parking, breakfast and IHG Rewards Club points. This special offer is only available when making reservations in advance online or by contacting the front desk. No changes to existing reservations allowed. Minimum age of 21 to check in.
Announcements
Welcome RSNA to Chicago! RSNA Attendees, Exhibitors, Speakers and More.. The Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown is looking forward to welcoming you to Chicago, IL while you attend the convention
View More
Announcements
Welcome RSNA to Chicago! RSNA Attendees, Exhibitors, Speakers and More.. The Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown is looking forward to welcoming you to Chicago, IL while you attend the convention at the McCormick Place. Shuttle services will be provided by the Convention Bureau from the hotel to the McCormick Place. Contact the front desk for any additional information.
View Less

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 814 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Chicago Getaway My husband and I had a fun stay at the Chicago-Mart Plaza River North. We had a very nice dinner at the restaurant - very tasty - before going to see Million Dollar Quartet (great show)! All the employees from the check-in, to the waiter, to the maid, to the bellman were wonderful. They are renovating at this hotel but it was of no inconvenience to us. The room was very clean and well appointed. The lobby and restaurant looked very attractive and updated. We also took advantage of going to the colonnade at the Merchandise Mart for a quick breakfast before our day. My husband enjoyed the workout area while I went to a Chicago Haute' Couture Club meeting at the hotel. The hotel also accommodated us with a late checkout. We love the location and have stayed at this hotel before and will definitely stay again. February 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent value for the money; useful, comfortable, clean hotel This isn't a luxury hotel. I was in Chicago on business and wanted a clean, quiet, comfortable hotel close to the Loop area for a reasonable price, and that's exactly what I got. The staff were courteous and attentive without being annoying. I had an excellent weekend stay with no hassles or problems. January 31, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by No amenities. The best part of staying here was the walkway directly to the merchandise mart. What I didn't like was the cost of food and drink. Most hotels now offer a continental breakfast, but all this hotel offered was coffee in the room. Also, the whole building was a "dead zone" for my phone. I couldn't make personal calls or business calls from anywhere in the hotel which was frustrating. I had to go outside. Also, very limited restaurants in the area. January 29, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Bad Experience Finding this hotel was difficult since they have no SIGNS on it! Found out that valet parking was $45!! Outrageous that the site never told us this. We have stayed at other Chicago hotels and have had parking included. Hotel is on the 15th floor, which was confusing. Checking in was fast, but we were never guided where to go or where anything was. We were given 2 keys and that was it, no thank you. Maybe you should try replacing your customer service people with robots, they'd probably be more consistent with information and do a better job for less cost. The room and view looked nice. We tried ordering room service/dinner 4 times before asking for a manager and getting someone to help. No one seemed to answer the call when dialing "4" as their menu said. The room next door was very loud at night and we were unable to get rest. The front door has a 1" gap on the bottom letting in noise and a draft. In the morning, we went to make coffee, to only find empty coffee packs, they'd never been replaced! I wonder what else they missed! I tried explaining this to Edgar at the front desk, he asked to see my reservation confirmation and said it wasn't their fault. He also told me to speak to the restaurant manager if I waited an hour for dinner, they were seperate entities and he had nothing to do with the restaurant. I told him it was billed under the same Holiday Inn bill. He said that's the way it's done. Valet wait was 50 minutes. So much for a $45 parking. The valet driver came barreling in so fast in my vehicle, I truly thought he'd run over a guest or hit one of the three cars in the way. He veered out just in time, but left me unimpressed to say the least. I would never stay here again. It was a dissaster. I travel for work and stay at many hotels all over the US. This has been the worst stay I have ever had. January 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Business Trip and Brought My Wife I had a business trip and my wife actually took advantage of the room Definitely recommend this hotel January 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by My Go-to Hotel This property is walking distance to my corporate office in Chicago. The price is reasonable and staff are just plain nice. The front entrance is getting a makeover and going to be quite nice. I would give an excellent rating if the pillows were comfortable, some feel like rocks. Why not try better pillows with only four on the bed. January 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Staying in Holyday Inn Chicago-Mart Plaza River North I stay in this hotel every year, I went again a few days ago, the Hotel and Restaurant good as always, however having eliminated the normal Parking Lot has created havoc for people who need to reach the car more than once every day. I used the valet parking and had to wait long time every time I needed to reach the car. Obviously valet parking was being used for too many people because the closing of normal Parking Lot. January 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service and great rooms We have stayed here several times in conjunction with shows at the Merchandise Mart and would highly recommend it to anyone! Staff is exceptionally helpful, rooms are comfortable with beautiful views of the Chicago River, and the food is very good. Close to several really good restaurants in walking distance. It took some getting used to the lobby being on the 15th floor but we will continue to go back. Valet parking is a little steep since they lost the use of their parking lot due to construction, but there are several other garages close by. January 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice rooms. The staff is friendly and they do what they can to help you. It's close to anything you want to do. January 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by remodeled rooms are luxurious The food in the restaurant has improved significantly over the year, but then it had a long way to go. The only issue I had with the stay was that I had to leave a day early because of a family emergency I had to pay for that night everyone even though I checked out at 11:00 January 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Anniversary retreat Absolutely perfect. We booked a King Suite with a beautiful view of the city and the river. Room very quiet and comfortable. Staff very attentive and friendly. Centrally located with easy access to the museums, shopping and some very good restaurants. The consierge very helpful in getting us where we wanted to go without getting lost. A very enjoyable weekend and will definitely do it again. Thank you. January 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very comfortable The facility was very accomadating a provided at comfortable stay for my wife and I. We would definitely return for another visit. The one problem we encountered was the lack of signage to direct us to the property. January 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very good Experience, would stay again This was my first time staying in Chicago so booking a hotel online you never really know what your going to get. This was a great experience and I would stay again. Location was very close to train station and close to many bars/restaurants. The room was very clean and newly remodeled for a modern feel and a TERRIFIC VIEW of the city. We ate at the co-located restaurant for breakfast and once for dinner and the food was great. The one downfall was that there was no hot-tub/jacuzzi. It was very very cold during my visit and after walking around in the freezing temperatures it would have been nice to have. However, there was a very nice large pool, sauna and workout center. January 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service; friendly staff I enjoyed my stay. I'm a Chicago native but have lived in the south for decades. Your hotel had a noticeable touch of southern hospitality. That's rare in the northern regions......Thanks January 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good price and location Good price for the hotel and location wasn't bad either (near subway lines), however we were charged for making local phone calls without knowledge. Usually local calls are included in hotels, but in this case they were not and we did not know this until we were checking out. Other than that, the stay was comfortable and the other guests weren't noisy. January 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Helpful on a difficult weekend! The staff was very helpful to us in getting us checked in and then checked out. It was a difficult weekend due to the extreme winter weather with the cold an snow and the staff was very calming. Overall we were very pleased with the service and the accommodations. I did have an experience at the restaurant that service was a very slow and the prices seemed way high for a breakfast in a hotel. January 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Thank you! Dear IHG, The two rooms I reserved at the last minute because of really hazardous Chicago weather, was for a night out on the town for my wife, her twin sister, my daughter, and future daughter-in-law. This night was dedicated to my daughter who is in the US Army and will be leaving soon for Afghanistan. The Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza stepped up and upgraded both rooms without being asked, the result was they had a great time and memorable experience. From what I was told the view was awesome. I thank the IHG organization for everything they did and will continue to be a loyal customer for as long as I am "on the road" Thank you once again. January 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Satisfied Great hotel and location.... The staff at this hotel went out of there way to help me with anything i needed! Very friendly staff! January 8, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by worst nye experince ever i stayed at this hotel for New years eve this year and had a terrbile experince. Now i did the same package deal the year before and had an awesome time. This year was totally different. I had to valet my car for $45 no other option was avaible for me. The year before we had gotten complientary parking with our stay. I had to carry my i.d and key card with me at all times in the hotel. They were checking id's and keycards before you got onto the evelvator. It was annoying becasue if you left it in your room hopefully someone else has there keycard with them. Then upon cehcking out when was when i found out about the $45 fee for valet. I was extremly upset because i didnt plan on spending that money.I was told it was under my confirmation letter under the amineties . Last time i checked amienties tell you what is included with your stay . As if that wasnt bad enough i waited 35-40 mins for my car to be brought to me. Upon my car arriving i had to clean about 6 inchs of snow off my car myself after a valet just brought me my car. When i have to pay $45 for valet i shouldnt have to clean my own car off of snow. I was not happy at all this the customer service of the hotel. When i called and asked to speak with a manager . i believer her name was Kathy, She was of no help to me and basically told me there wasnt anything she could do or be willing to do. I work in the service industry and i would never let a customer leave as unhappy as i did. With the valet it was only me that had to clean off there car literally very car had inches of snow all over it that was brought to its owner. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone becasue simply of its staff, not on the appernce of the hotel . The room was fine and clean . But the staff was beyond rude and should be sent to a class on proper customer service January 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great View Great view of the river and downtown! The front entrance is under contruction and made it difficult to get cars in and out but the valet crew did a good job keeping up. The staff was first rate and did an excellent job. January 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Getaway The experience at the hotel was overall a very good one. We had dinner outside and returned to to have drinks at the bar located inside. Very nice bar with a great view ofr drinks and conversation. The bad parts started with breakfast at Italiasia, worst serves ever! The food didn't make it any better, I asked for a well done steak and got medium rare. The silverware was dirty and to top it off my girlfriend had hair in her eggs! Wouldn't recommend that restaurant to anyone. January 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Family Weekend Had a nice spacious room and great place to call home for the weekend. Kids had fun in the pool (although it was really too warm, the room itself was more like a sauna), Mom and Dad enjoyed a drink in the lovely bar looking out to the city lights, we loved the beautiful lobby decorated for the holidays and really liked the proximity for all our downtown stops (skating at millennium park, Hawks game at United Center, shopping at Water Tower Place) ! Thank you for a wonderful, memorable family weekend! January 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyed the view The room was wonderful. We had a king suite at the corner. Love the view. Enjoyed ourselves January 1, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Customer Services Check in staff have no customer service skills what so ever. I stood in line and the recognition I receive was a nod and not a welcome from the agent (Edgar) I was ask for my CC and ID with no please, I was given a key with no direction to the elevators. No mention of the hotel amenities. Basically, I paid for my room and given a key but have to figure out where is my room, the restaurant, pool/exercise room. Maybe if I worn my Tux, I would of receive a more welcoming reception. As far as I remember being in a hospitality industry is you have to treat your guess regardless of their appearances. It was freezing cold during my visit and guys at the front can't even call a cab. I have to call my on cab while 3 guys talking and warming up in the lobby area. I have work, managed various hotel chain and I didn't experience any of the standards guess services provides. Sorry to say but will not be back and recommend this property. December 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by More than I expected This stay was more than I expected from a Holiday Inn from the bar to the modern style rooms and great location. December 25, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Overall very average.place Very average stay. Nothing pops out as being over the top. The lounge was not the best experience. Waitstaff, gave excuses to not being informed or that they just started their shift. Ordered, soup... But received the wrong one. Staff argued with me on its kind. Once they decided to go to kitchen and check. They quickly discovered I was correct. The kitchen had put the wrong soup in the wrong spot. But, a little common sense and one would be able to figure out soups! I became a number, and with no name. This was however, my 2nd week staying in this month. And yet no one knew my name. Bellman, watched the elevator close twice on me and my luggage... But took a third time of it closing for him to help me. Again, nothing over the top...simply average and in some cases below! December 25, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Great customer service The hotel is in a perfect location with great views. Nice downtown Chicago location. The staff is very friendly and customer oriented. Despite a billing error (two visits in a row), the staff took immediate action to make corrections in a timely manner. Say hello to Carmen at the front desk. She was very helpful getting things squared away. Even arranged for a gift basket of snacks upon my second arrival. December 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great room and views This is our 4th time staying here and we love it. We always get the king executive room cause its so spacious, comfortable and has wonderful views of Chicago skyline and river. We usually come in the summer, but this time we came in December and it was so festive and pretty plus great rates. This is where we will always stay whenever we spend a few days in Chicago. December 22, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend at Holidan Inn MM I have stayed at this hotel many times but not recently. This visit was disappointing, in that I asked for two adjoining rooms with a view, I got two adjoining rooms with a view of the west end of the Merchandise Mart. Remodeling was in progress and the noise was annoying in the afternoon, but very quiet at night. The doormen were very accommodating, though the cab access and traffic flow was very awkward, confusing and slow. December 19, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not the nicest The hotel itself was fine and the room was nice, but the staff was not the nicest. When we checked in we were looking for down alternative pillows/blankets because of an allergy and the front desk staff member looked at us and said, "I don't think we have that." We asked him to call and ask, which he did begrudgingly, just to find out that their hotel doesn't even use any down. Then, after checking us in, he didn't even tell us our room number. I had to ask another staff member who told me, "Oh yeah, that's the second time he's done that today." It just seemed like their staff didn't want to be there. December 19, 2013
<<prev 11 12 13 14 15 ... 28 next>>
Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown Hotel near Willis Tower (Sears Tower)
Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown Hotel near Willis Tower (Sears Tower)
Select to close.
Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown Hotel near Willis Tower (Sears Tower) Willis Tower overlooking Holiday Inn Suites Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago Downtown Skyline: Lake Michigan Welcome to the Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown The Cloudgate (The Bean) at Millineum Park just minutes away Chicago River Chicago Cubs baseball at Wrigley Field Chicago, Illinois Adler Planetarium located in Chicago at the Museum Campus Famous Ferris Wheel at Navy Pier Chicago Field Museum in Chicago at the Museum Campus Millennium Park Cloudgate also known as
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Anywhere Check-In is a simple process that will help you start enjoying your travel earlier.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Nov-27-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Nov-28-2014)
Check Availability
Loading