• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Oct-22-2014)
(e.g. Oct-23-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: CHICAGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:8
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Hindi
  4. Punjabi
  5. Romanian

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

PETS ARE NOT ALLOWED. IF A PET IS FOUND IN THE ROOM, THERE IS A 250.00USD NON REFUNDABLE FEE PLUS 50.00USD PER NIGHT CLEANING FEE. PETS ARE NOT ALLOWED..

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Willis Tower (Formerly Sears Tower)
Distance From Hotel:0.25MI
Attraction:
Shedd Aquarium
Distance From Hotel:1.5MI
Attraction:
The Field Museum
Distance From Hotel:1.5MI
Attraction:
Adler Planetarium
Distance From Hotel:1.7MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Hotel Parking at the hotel $40USD per night with in and out privileges. NO TRUCK/BUS/RV PARKING ALLOWED ON PREMISES. Hotel is not affiliated with the city adjacent self-parking lot.
  • Valet parking fee  ( 40.0 USD )

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:145
  • Total number of suites:27
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:85
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:60
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:145
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:8
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:6
  • FEMA Property Number:IL1522

Downtown Chicago Hotel Near Willis Tower

Welcome to the Holiday Inn® & Suites Chicago - Downtown, conveniently located near the Chicago Loop, as well as prominent area attractions. Located off I-290 on South Canal Street, this downtown Chicago hotel is ideal for leisure and business travelers.

Vacationers are surrounded by Willis (once Sears Tower)Tower and the Museum Campus when they stay in downtown Chicago. Our hotel's location is also near the historic Navy
View More

Downtown Chicago Hotel Near Willis Tower

Welcome to the Holiday Inn® & Suites Chicago - Downtown, conveniently located near the Chicago Loop, as well as prominent area attractions. Located off I-290 on South Canal Street, this downtown Chicago hotel is ideal for leisure and business travelers.

Vacationers are surrounded by Willis (once Sears Tower)Tower and the Museum Campus when they stay in downtown Chicago. Our hotel's location is also near the historic Navy Pier Midwest's #1 tourist and leisure attraction. Just minutes away from, UIC Flames and the United Center home to the Chicago Blackhawks & Chicago Bulls, let’s not forget games with Chicago Bears, Chicago Cubs & Chicago White Sox!

Business travelers appreciate our hotel's location in Chicago, as we're near AzkoNobel, Bank of America, Hillshire, JPMorgan Chase, MillerCoors, PepsiCo, USG Corp, Chicago Financial District as well as McCormick Place. In addition, our hotel seats 2,000 sq ft of event space.

Whether business or pleasure brings you to Chicago Downtown, free Wi-Fi access keeps you connected, while an extensive fitness center lets you keep up your workout routine, and a seasonal outdoor rooftop pool provides great enjoyment for the entire family. For a great dining experience, visit Sunny's Bar & Grill. Clearly, with these choice amenities and prices, it's easy to see why guests prefer us to other hotels in Chicago, IL!

View Less
Features
Parking in downtown Chicago can be quite expensive, take advantage of the Triple Play Package. Package includes room plus one overnight parking, breakfast and IHG Rewards Club points. This special offer is only available when making reservations in advance online or by contacting the front desk. No changes to existing reservations allowed. Minimum age of 21 to check in.
Announcements
Chicago Downtown Upcoming October Events are as follows: AAO American Academy of Ophthalmology Oct 17-20, Chicago Bears vs. Miami Dolphins Oct 19 and Cher D2K Tour at the United Center Oct 24.
View More
Announcements
Chicago Downtown Upcoming October Events are as follows: AAO American Academy of Ophthalmology Oct 17-20, Chicago Bears vs. Miami Dolphins Oct 19 and Cher D2K Tour at the United Center Oct 24. November 2014 Pack Expo will be held at the McCormick Place Nov 1-5. Shuttle service will be provided.
View Less

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 524 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Litttle Hotel for a Great Price Loved this hotel, the service was great, nice little room, thoroughly enjoyed my stay in Chicago. Had a great sleep here as well!!! August 10, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Terrible experience Tiny rooms. Poor service. Price fluctuates wildly from day to day. I will never return here again. Ever. August 10, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed Extreme small room without a wardrobe, not even a hanger. The carpeted floor urgently needs to be renewed (nobody knows what else lives in this carpet). Toilet paper seems to be a luxury good in this hotel. I strongly recommend to bring your own! If used towels are put on the floor they usually are exchanged - this is not the case in the Holiday Inn Express in Chicago. Staff was friendly but not always cooperative (I asked to help my wife with her luggage as I had already mine and the two of my children, but nobody felt the need to assist her). They don't recognize your IHG membership if you did not directly book with them. Breakfast was very good. Broad variety of things. That is probably the best thing in this hotel! All in all: bad rooms, bad room service, personnel not always helpful, breakfast almost perfect - not my first choice and definitely no recommendation. August 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best location and value in Chicago Staff and location are best in Chicago. Any attraction, theater, dining experience that you visited Chicago for are just steps away. When in Chicago, this is the only place to stay. August 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect place to stay if the Mile is your destination The hotel was perfect for my stay. Both business and pleasure on the Magnificent Mile. Free breakfast was great. The bed was comfy. The room was warm and inviting. Makes for a great trip. August 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service, Perfect Location Rooms are very small. We had to book two rooms for our family of four. restrooms are very small, the shelf to place toiletries would not hold two people's belongings. Regardless, when in Chicago, you don't spend that much time in the room, so these are only minor challenges. All other aspects of the room were fine. Although you do have to log in to access the wifi each time you close out the device you were using, again a minor detail. Now the good stuff. Staff was awesome. Very friendly and engaging. offered great recommendations for dining and entertainment to fill in gaps we had not already planned. We utilized valet parking all week and rode public transportation to all the sites. Location is great. August 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding staff and soft bed. I will stay in this hotel and other Holiday Inns because of my experience in Chicago. The staff paid attention to every detail from the moment we walked in the front door, and the service was excellent until checkout. August 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by NEAT PLACE TO STAY loved the staff, the biscuits and gravy were great. the SIZE of the room is a bit small but when you learn the history of the hotel you understand why then. everything was great. August 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Choice for us We had a great stay! Everything was taken care of for our weekend in downtown Chicago for pizza tasting... Giordanos won 3-2! We will be back. August 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Very nice and very good service Hotel is bit small but it's super convenience location. Staff are super kind and I was quite surprised. In the morning I have to checked out early in the morning and one of lady front desk staff gave me fruits and drinks. Thank you so much I should ask her name...it was "T" something...I don't remember. Anyways, I would like to visit this hotel again and I had super good memories.. August 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff and nice hotel We got in really late and got put in a room that was facing a wall with no view. Since this was my wife and my vacation we wanted to be able to see a bit of Chicago and the sun and the staff was amazing about it and got us switched the next day. Throughout the whole stay the staff was great. Everything else was good and breakfast was great. Awesome stay. August 4, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday inn express My husband and I checked out immediately after seeing the room . It was very small and cramped. They advertised a queen bed but there is no way that bed was a queen. We laid on it and there was hardly any room in between us. We are not large people either. There was a hair on the sheet inside the bed which grossed me out. The staff was nice but we weren't spending that kind of money to stay in a shoebox. August 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Gute Raumaustattung, feundlicher Service, WIFI Freundlichkeit, Kompetenz, Sauberkeit, nicht sehr komfortable Frühstrück August 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to Stay The staff is wonderful nice hotel location is great for the Magnificent mile will stay again. August 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service My husband is claustrophobic. We were unaware of the elevator, hallway, and rooms being very small. Our fault because we didn't even think about this issue because of the downtown facility. We were placed in a room on the 9th floor and he just could not make it to the room. After alerting the staff about the fact he couldn't make it to our room they accommodated his needs immediately. We were placed in a room on the 2nd floor where he could use the stairs to get to the room. The staff were sympathetic and excellent in making our stay as pleasant as possible. It would be difficult to find a staff as friendly and efficient as this one! July 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Option for Short Stay We stayed in this hotel for an overnight after a local concert and it met our needs just fine. The staff was warm and welcoming and the room was very comfortable. The only potential shocker is that the room size itself is very small but it's perfect when a couple of people just need a nice room to sleep and shower in while out and about visiting Chicago. I'd definitely stay here again. July 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent stay This is a great hotel so close to all the things Chicago has to offer. The staff are wonderful and always greet you with a smile and "hello" as you come and go. Fran at the front desk is great at helping with anything you need and booked us last minute tickets for the Wrigley Field tour. The rooms are small, but give you everything you need. My only tiny complaint would be some type of bedside table in the room we stayed in. Other than that - its all you need and was clean and quiet (we stayed on 12th floor). I would definitely recommend this hotel and if I ever return to Chicago, it would be my first choice! Thank you to the staff for making our stay a great one. July 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Choose a room with 2 beds We really enjoyed our family vacation in Chicago while staying at the Holiday Inn Express Downtown. Very convenient location for shopping and nightlife. Staff is fabulous. Each staff member we came in contact with was kind, polite, and helpful. This included Front Desk, Doorman, cleaning, and food service. Only complaint was that one of our rooms was very close quarters. I realize it is an old building that has been renovated, but when 2 people cannot hardly walk past each other without touching, that is cramped. The room with 2 double beds had ample room. Even though our room was cramped, I would stay there again, just request a room with 2 beds. July 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Superior Staff!!! Let me preface my comments with the fact that we were not acquainted with this facility prior to our making our reservation. That said, we were not prepared for the small size of the rooms. All things being equal however, the size of the room was not a critical factor. What I do want this review to reflect is the superior service provided by the entire staff. That to me should speak volumes. The staff went to great lengths to ensure that all of our requests and needs were met with expedience and satisfaction. For that reason alone, this location should be considered by anyone visitng the Windy City. The location is ideal for travelers doing business in the vacinity of the Magnificaent Mile. July 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent hotel We vacation in Chicago every summer and have stayed at a variety of hotels. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful no matter what time of day or night. While rooms may be small, we don't spend much time in it, they have everything we need. Easy off/on access to I-90 and close location to the L makes this an amazing place to stay. This just became our hotel of choice!!!! July 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Leisure Trip to Chicago We found the hotel, quaint, on a relatively quiet street and not too far from anything we needed to enjoy while exploring Chicago. From check-in to our final day we had fantastic service. it felt like a home away from home. Fran is an amazing, friendly and personable employee and we really appreciated everything he told us and helped regarding tickets and transportation. You rock!!! Across the street is Starbucks and a Trader Joes if you need anything, how convenient. The beds were very comfortable and pillows were awesome. The rooms were small but seriously, we weren't planning on performing cartwheels during our stay ha ha ha. Resting your head in a place that feels comfortable after a long day of exploring is exactly what they offer. Never a problem getting a cab out front, the door men certainly took care of that, and fast! Breakfast was delicious each morning, offering something for everyone, no disappointments. A lounge with big screen tvs to enjoy your coffee/tea and breakfast before heading out the door. Thanks again for a wonderful stay. If travelling to Chicago again . . we will definitely stay with you! July 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by We will definately stay again. My daughter and I stayed for a fun girls trip. We loved the location and could walk to everything. We will definitely return. July 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and good service We were there for a long weekend and everything was good. The only comment is about the bathroom having the closet door broken and only bath amenities for one person and we were two. Breakfast good, as always. Good location and very kind staff. Recommended. July 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent as always This is a great little hotel that is well positioned for workers and travellers alike. A clean environment from the moment you walk in the front door right through to your bathroom. The staff are great and welcoming and will help you out with local knowledge too on how to get somewhere are places to dine. July 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The staff is this hotels greatest asset!! Short cab ride from the Union Station. We were greeted by an extremely polite and helpful staff. All of them were very helpful with directions, bus schedules and suggestions for local events and attractions. We were greeted everytime we entered the hotel. The doormen\baggage handlers were polite and helpful as well. I will certainly stay here when I return to Chicago. July 22, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by poor custom service The problem with this hotel is not the small rooms or the limited breakfast; it is the custom service. I will certainly never stay at this hotel again. My original booking was made in March for a stay in July. At that point, I made an online reservation for a standard room. I called that day or the day after to request two double beds as it was not an option to do so online. In early June I called to add an additional night and again requested two double beds. I was told this request would be guaranteed. I arrived at the hotel last Friday (over an hour before stated check-in time) only to find out that my room contained a queen bed (which was actually the size of a double). After inquiring about my specific request for two doubles, I was told there was no record of any of my phone calls. That response was quickly taken back when I stated there had to be some confirmation that I called to add an additional night. Clearly I called, and it is not my problem that my preference was not noted. After much back and forth, I was told by an extremely rude manager that my preference could only be guaranteed had I paid an extra rate. As I see it, I never had a chance for anything other than a queen bed since my preference was never recorded. I was told I could not move to a room with two double beds as the hotel was sold out but I would be the first to be called if another room became available. I was put in a room that accommodated a roll-away but then we had absolutely no room to move around. I received a phone call around noon the next day stating that another room with a king bed had become available. When I went down to get the key, I was greeted by an apologetic front desk clerk who said she had called the wrong room and the newly available room was actually going to be given to the family next door. I should note that she used my name in the original phone call and I had been told the previous day that I would be the first to be notified. I was furious at this point and, after a few more phone calls, got an additional room. I was grateful for that but, honestly, this should have been offered in the first place. Or, if the hotel was truly full, a room with two double beds should have been found for me at a nearby hotel. July 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service. I went to Chicago on vacation and was busy out on the town most of the time. The room was very small but the bed was incredibly comfortable. It is probably the most comfortable bed I've ever had at a hotel room. Since all I really wanted the room for was to sleep, the small room didn't bother me at all and the bed made the room completely worth the money. However, it was a little bit noisy in the morning since the walls were rather thin. When we checked in it was really late and the person at the front desk was a bit short with us but later we went down to ask about restaurants and there was different person there and she was so helpful. When we checked out, everyone went above and beyond for us to hold our bags for the day so we could go around town before our plane left. Overall we had a great time staying here and would definitely come back. July 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Business Stay Location was great for visiting the Magnificent Mile, shopping, eating, and seeing sights. Unfortunately I had a 20 minute walk to my place of business. This was not the hotel's problem though, as it was the last hotel with room availability that could be direct-billed by my office. July 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to getaway for a long weekend. This hotel is at the perfect location - everything is in walking distance. We walked to the Taste of Chicago, Navy Pier, and along Magnificent Mile. The breakfast room/lounge area was spacious, very clean and modern too. The rooms were tiny, but we weren't in our room long anyway. They have small elevators, so be prepared to cram in because the hotel was overbooked each day we were there. July 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service The staff were very courteous and accommodating. The room was clean, well kept, and the breakfast was a welcome addition. The location made it perfect to access for shopping the Northwestern University Medical Center July 20, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 19 next>>
Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown Hotel near Willis Tower (Sears Tower)
Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown Hotel near Willis Tower (Sears Tower)
Select to close.
Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown Hotel near Willis Tower (Sears Tower) Willis Tower overlooking Holiday Inn Suites Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago Downtown Skyline: Lake Michigan Welcome to the Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown The Cloudgate (The Bean) at Millineum Park just minutes away Chicago River Chicago Cubs baseball at Wrigley Field Chicago, Illinois Adler Planetarium located in Chicago at the Museum Campus Famous Ferris Wheel at Navy Pier Chicago Field Museum in Chicago at the Museum Campus Millennium Park Cloudgate also known as
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-22-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-23-2014)
Check Availability
Loading