• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-19-2014)
(e.g. Sep-20-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: CHICAGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:8
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Hindi
  4. Punjabi
  5. Romanian

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

PETS ARE NOT ALLOWED. IF A PET IS FOUND IN THE ROOM, THERE IS A 250.00USD NON REFUNDABLE FEE PLUS 50.00USD PER NIGHT CLEANING FEE. PETS ARE NOT ALLOWED..

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Willis Tower (Formerly Sears Tower)
Distance From Hotel:0.25MI
Attraction:
Shedd Aquarium
Distance From Hotel:1.5MI
Attraction:
The Field Museum
Distance From Hotel:1.5MI
Attraction:
Adler Planetarium
Distance From Hotel:1.7MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Hotel Parking at the hotel $40USD per night with in and out privileges. NO TRUCK/BUS/RV PARKING ALLOWED ON PREMISES. Hotel is not affiliated with the city adjacent self-parking lot.
  • Valet parking fee  ( 40.0 USD )

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:145
  • Total number of suites:27
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:85
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:60
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:145
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:8
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:6
  • FEMA Property Number:IL1522

Downtown Chicago Hotel Near Willis Tower

Welcome to the Holiday Inn® & Suites Chicago - Downtown, conveniently located near the Chicago Loop, as well as prominent area attractions. Located off I-290 on South Canal Street, this downtown Chicago hotel is ideal for leisure and business travelers.

Vacationers are surrounded by Willis (once Sears Tower)Tower and the Museum Campus when they stay in downtown Chicago. Our hotel's location is also near the historic Navy
View More

Downtown Chicago Hotel Near Willis Tower

Welcome to the Holiday Inn® & Suites Chicago - Downtown, conveniently located near the Chicago Loop, as well as prominent area attractions. Located off I-290 on South Canal Street, this downtown Chicago hotel is ideal for leisure and business travelers.

Vacationers are surrounded by Willis (once Sears Tower)Tower and the Museum Campus when they stay in downtown Chicago. Our hotel's location is also near the historic Navy Pier Midwest's #1 tourist and leisure attraction. Just minutes away from, UIC Flames and the United Center home to the Chicago Blackhawks & Chicago Bulls, let’s not forget games with Chicago Bears, Chicago Cubs & Chicago White Sox!

Business travelers appreciate our hotel's location in Chicago, as we're near AzkoNobel, Bank of America, Hillshire, JPMorgan Chase, MillerCoors, PepsiCo, USG Corp, Chicago Financial District as well as McCormick Place. In addition, our hotel seats 2,000 sq ft of event space.

Whether business or pleasure brings you to Chicago Downtown, free Wi-Fi access keeps you connected, while an extensive fitness center lets you keep up your workout routine, and a seasonal outdoor rooftop pool provides great enjoyment for the entire family. For a great dining experience, visit Sunny's Bar & Grill. Clearly, with these choice amenities and prices, it's easy to see why guests prefer us to other hotels in Chicago, IL!

View Less
Features
Parking in downtown Chicago can be quite expensive, take advantage of the Triple Play Package. Package includes room plus one overnight parking, breakfast and IHG Rewards Club points. This special offer is only available when making reservations in advance online or by contacting the front desk. No changes to existing reservations allowed. Minimum age of 21 to check in.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 492 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable weekend stay Good location. Room was not ready when I showed up shortly after 3PM, but I did get my room in less than 15 minutes after I made a bit of a fuss. Quality of breakfast food was not quite up to the level I had previously experienced at other Holiday Inn Express properties. Had to ride the elevator from the 15th to the 2nd floor to get ice or use the vending machines. As a senior citizen, I wish the hand bar above the tub was located in the middle rather than the back. Staff was friendly and helpful. Computer and printer in the Business Center worked perfectly for printing my boarding pass. Bed was very comfortable. July 16, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Only if you need this exact location The only reason I would stay here is if I needed this exact location. I stayed on the 12th floor, room 1203 I believe. The room is more or less the size of a large closet. You have about a 3ft perimeter of walking space around the bed and that is it. My room was street view, and there is a parking garage across the street that has one of those bell/alarms that goes off any time someone leaves the garage, which is quite often. The place is ok as far as cleanliness goes. The area behind the front desk was dirty with a layer of stuff on the tiles and a few small pieces of paper trash. The room was about par. The bathroom tissue had one roll of good stuff and the replacement rolls were thin and scratchy. If you need this exact location like I did it may be worth it. Next time I come for work I will just stay in the other holiday inn a few blocks away. They did not seem to care that I was a platinum rewards member with a healthy point balance. I even booked the higher rate room for the extra points and probably ended up with the smallest room they have. July 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent value and location The hotel location is excellent and close to everything. Chicago is very walk-able and this location is ideally suited to shopping, dining, and sightseeing. The hotel includes free breakfast and wi-fi, making it an exceptional value. I would highly recommend this property and would definitely stay here again. July 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent customer service! I would definitely recommend this hotel to my friends and family. the customer service was awesome. I was traveling with a toddler and arrived a couple of hours before check-in. I called and was told room wasn't ready but I could store my luggage there if I wanted to. By the time I arrived there, the room was ready, which was only about twenty minutes from when I called. So I was able to check-in and freshen up before heading out to enjoy the town. It also rained while I was there and the staff provided me with an umbrella. The rooms a little smaller than most, but overall it's a great hotel. July 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable beds, great staff very friendly staff, very accommodating. the room was very clean and comfortable. July 12, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Mixed Feelings The location of the hotel is great, the staff are very friendly and responsive, but I cant get past the fact that the room size is extremely small. If you are traveling alone or with just one more person I would say they are adequate. Any more than two and you are tripping over each other. The hotel it's self does not offer the same amenities I am accustomed to at a Holiday Inn Express. Less is not always more! July 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service and location Staff was excellent, very friendly and helpful. Location is also excellent. Very pleasant stay. July 10, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by great location, but..... Very excellent location. Rooms are really, really small....family of four very crowded, can't hardly move in room and bathroom is like a closet. Nice and clean though. Heard a lot of street noise into the night. Breakfast a bit sub-par for HIE, kept running out of things and had to ask staff to replenish. No cinnamon rolls at all on Sunday! However, I would stay again for location and price. July 9, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Zealous (Targeted?) Parking Enforcement Area Beware Out-of-State Visitors! This hotel seems to be in a targeted city parking enforcement zone. Soon (5 min) after arrival, while car in possession of valet, received $60 city ticket for one missing tag (my State does not enforce front tag requirement). Welcome to Chicago (not)! Staff claimed surprise, but seemed too coincidental. Rooms are small and street noise provided a few unwanted wake-up calls. Won't be back....with or without a car July 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awsome Front Desk service As visitors for two days, we can not say enough good things about the ability and desire to assist us in directions and recommendations by the front desk staff. They helped us with directions, suggestions on places to eat and drink...entertainment, parking, and local favorites. July 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by everystaff member was wonderful- every staff member we saw said good morning. all had smiles! you could see that everyone loved their job. room was so clean! after being out all day-we came back to our room being cleaned- even our dirty laundry left on the floor was neatly folded. fresh sheets,and towels and refilled coffee packs ready. you can feel the staff cares about the whole experience we had. the front desk even helped my son find the perfect place to have lunch. they knew what bus # and the stop to use, to get us every where we wanted to go. from the early check in to the last minute- this hotel went way above my expectations. thank you so much for everything you all do. ms.virginia you rock! July 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Wonderful Stay My spouse is disabled. We had the best customer service and room conditions we could have ever asked for! The rooms were clean. The staff was more than helpful with everything from information about the area to assisting with transportation, shuttles, etc. July 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Staff and Location Location is great for shopping in Chicago and the staff is very helpful and friendly. Room was small, but well designed and clean. Hard to get room to keep a comfortable temp and the windows didn't really block outside noise very well. But, would tell others to stay at this hotel based on price, staff and location. July 2, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Won't be back! The overall design of the rebuild was based on getting as many people as you can into a small space. I would have paid more for a larger and more comfortable room. It reminded me of the "sleeper" compartment on Amtrak. The staff were great, but the accommodations were unacceptable. chuck hodge Maine July 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good location and good value My stay was consistent with other HI Express locations: good location and good value based on the services offered. June 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Family Vacation - great location and service We have a family of 5 and used reward points to book 2 rooms on the 8th floor. The rooms are small but clean and served our purpose. The service from the front desk to the cleaning staff was great. They made us feel welcome and assisted as needed. The breakfast allowed us to eat for free before starting each day with a variety of items. The location is great for walking to shops and various places to eat. We ate across the street at Pizzeria Due and really enjoyed the food and service. The parking situation was not clear to me until arrival. Its a public parking garage around the corner for $44 per day or valet for $48. We chose the public parking and the walk was minimal but still a bit of a hassle - probably should have went with valet. Overall we would definitely recommend it based on the location, service and price. June 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service Staff was friendly and attentive. Hotel lobby and room were very clean. Rooms were small. Nice breakfast buffet. Close to all the attractions of downtown Chicago. June 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by small but nice room was a bit cramped but qwas told that on check in . got checked in at 10am since our roomwas ready get since got to the city then. June 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Superb Cleanliness, Very Comfortable Bed, Great Breakfast and Service Overall, my wife and I were very pleased, due to what I noted in my review title above. All the same, we had a few minor quibbles. 1) the single bed, greatly comfortable as it was, was NOT the queen size bed we had promised to us in our reservation, and which we had confirmed earlier that very same day - it was only a double size bed. 2) the furnishings, clean and adequate as they were, seemed rather sparse. Luggage had to be placed on the floor and there was very little room for toiletries on the bathroom sink. I suppose this is what comes with an "Express." 3) the thermostat was a bit of a challenge. Any setting over 70 degrees would trigger the heater. Any setting at 70 or less would trigger the air conditioner. We finally settled on 70 as the most comfortable, definitely better than the 68 it was at upon arrival. 4) parking must be a problem in this part of Chicago. I don't know how it compares to other hotels in the area, but we had to pay a large extra parking fee for a public garage adjoined to the hotel. Upon arrival, it took a little convincing of the valet person that I was okay with parking my own car if he could simply direct me to the entrance of the public garage. Otherwise, staff was very courteous and eager to be helpful. Everything else about the bathroom was excellent, as well as everything else connected to the bedding. Small as the bed was, it was very clean and very comfortable. I ironed a few items of clothing, and the iron worked very well. Though I had to search for the blow-dryer, it was predictably located and found in the enclosure under the bathroom sink, seeing as there was no room for it to be located on or around the sink above. June 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good location for leisure traveler The location in the Magnificent Mile/River North area is excellent for leisure travelers--Convenient to Magnificent Mile and the Loop. Rooms are fairly small which is typical for the age of the building, but comfortable. Would be nice to have some counter space in the bathroom. Staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was standard Holiday Inn Express fare--very adequate but not outstanding. Wireless is free but constantly drops out, so you continually have to login. Certainly would recommend to others and would stay there again if opportunity arose. June 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Cheerful, Smiling, Helpful employees Great customer service. Great location. Comfortable bed, clean rooms. Employees were very knowledgable about the area and gave great tips for sightseeing and places to sightsee and eat. June 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location! The location of this hotel was perfect for our vacation in Chicago! Only a few blocks from just about everything. The rooms were not huge, but they served their purpose and the bed was very comfortable! June 25, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Only if it is your last option The best part of this property is its location --- June 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel- Small Room, Breakfast Bar needs help The Hotel was nice and in a good location. Staff was very friendly The room was small and not very noise insulated from hallway noise. The breakfast was good other than they were always out of juice and a few other items. I stayed 4 nights. June 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Experience of Stay at Hotel Staff was friendly and very helpful. Went out of there way to answer our questions and help us with planning our day.. Room was very small, but this was expected from reviewing comments on hotel website. No different than staying in older European city hotels. The location of hotel is perfect for visiting Chicago and taking advantage of tourist and entertainment sites and restaurants. June 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, fabulous value, good service We enjoyed our stay and loved the location. We were able to walk to nearly every attraction that interested us and there were plenty of food and shopping options nearby! June 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great locaiton The hotel is in a great location, the interior is clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. everything lived up the the quality of Holiday Inn express and I would absolutely recommend staying here to friends and coworkers for business or leisure. This is a historic hotel, so the rooms are small. My room was behind the elevator so it was a little noisy, but I would still recommend staying here in the future. June 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, great value, modern rooms I will certainly be staying at this hotel if/when I return to Chicago. Great value for the location and the quality of the rooms. Historical building with modern renovations and comfort - delighted by extra comforts in the efficient room. Breakfast bar was unimpressive, but acceptable, and parking is at the many corner garages, but everything else was great. June 22, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Staff and Cleanliness I've stayed here between 7-10 times in the past 5 years. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The business center is always convenient, especially with an available printer and paper all free of charge. When I do go for the free breakfast, there are always excellent choices and plenty of coffee and other beverages to drink. I do like the fact that the menu includes some southern dishes like grits for all types of visitors. I did not a slightly bad experience in getting up in the mornings every day with minor backaches though. I am not quite sure if it was the age/conditions of the mattress or if I was just suffering from various arthritic and female problems that weekend I stayed there. However, I am still willing to give this hotel a few more chances before writing this hotel off for future stays. This hotel is so great for my budget and room comfort levels that I am always optimistic about staying and booking future visits there. The only other complaint/concern I have is that these rooms tend to be small. However, one can always feel cozy if they're traveling by themselves and only need one bed. Cannot testify to those rooms with 2 beds, but I have heard one guest many years back commenting about the size of the room she stayed in with some of her family members. Best of all, this hotel is right along various bus, subway, and L-train routes. Wherever I go, I only have to walk no more than 1-2 blocks to get back to the hotel. Therefore, I can also say that it's centrally located to go just about anyway in and around Chicago. June 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful time in Chicago at Holiday Inn Express® We had a wonderful time in Chicago and the Holiday Inn Express was a great place to stay. The price was right, the staff was so friendly and helpful from the moment we walked in to the time we left. Thank you for a great place to stay. June 20, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 18 next>>
Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown Hotel near Willis Tower (Sears Tower)
Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown Hotel near Willis Tower (Sears Tower)
Select to close.
Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown Hotel near Willis Tower (Sears Tower) Willis Tower overlooking Holiday Inn Suites Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago Downtown Skyline: Lake Michigan Welcome to the Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown The Cloudgate (The Bean) at Millineum Park just minutes away Chicago River Chicago Cubs baseball at Wrigley Field Chicago, Illinois Adler Planetarium located in Chicago at the Museum Campus Famous Ferris Wheel at Navy Pier Chicago Field Museum in Chicago at the Museum Campus Millennium Park Cloudgate also known as
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Select to learn more about this hotel's reviews.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-19-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-20-2014)
Check Availability
Loading