• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-26-2014)
(e.g. Jul-27-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: CHICAGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:8
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Hindi
  4. Romanian

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

PETS ARE NOT ALLOWED. IF A PET IS FOUND IN THE ROOM, THERE IS A 250.00USD NON REFUNDABLE FEE PLUS 50.00USD PER NIGHT CLEANING FEE. PETS ARE NOT ALLOWED..

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Shedd Aquarium
Distance From Hotel:1.5MI
Attraction:
Adler Planetarium
Distance From Hotel:1.7MI
Attraction:
Navy Pier Chicago
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI
Attraction:
The Field Museum
Distance From Hotel:1.5MI

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:145
  • Total number of suites:27
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:85
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:60
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:118
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:8
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:6
  • FEMA Property Number:IL1522

Downtown Chicago Hotel Near Willis Tower

Welcome to the Holiday Inn® & Suites Chicago - Downtown, conveniently located near the Chicago Loop, as well as prominent area attractions. Located off I-290 on South Canal Street, this downtown Chicago hotel is ideal for leisure and business travelers.

Vacationers are surrounded by Willis (once Sears Tower)Tower and the Museum Campus when they stay in downtown Chicago. Our hotel's location is also near the historic Navy
View More

Downtown Chicago Hotel Near Willis Tower

Welcome to the Holiday Inn® & Suites Chicago - Downtown, conveniently located near the Chicago Loop, as well as prominent area attractions. Located off I-290 on South Canal Street, this downtown Chicago hotel is ideal for leisure and business travelers.

Vacationers are surrounded by Willis (once Sears Tower)Tower and the Museum Campus when they stay in downtown Chicago. Our hotel's location is also near the historic Navy Pier Midwest's #1 tourist and leisure attraction. Just minutes away from, UIC Flames and the United Center home to the Chicago Blackhawks & Chicago Bulls, let’s not forget games with Chicago Bears, Chicago Cubs & Chicago White Sox!

Business travelers appreciate our hotel's location in Chicago, as we're near AzkoNobel, Bank of America, Hillshire, JPMorgan Chase, MillerCoors, PepsiCo, USG Corp, Chicago Financial District as well as McCormick Place. In addition, our hotel seats 2,000 sq ft of event space.

Whether business or pleasure brings you to Chicago Downtown, free Wi-Fi access keeps you connected, while an extensive fitness center lets you keep up your workout routine, and a seasonal outdoor rooftop pool provides great enjoyment for the entire family. For a great dining experience, visit Sunny's Bar & Grill. Clearly, with these choice amenities and prices, it's easy to see why guests prefer us to other hotels in Chicago, IL!

View Less
Features
Parking in downtown Chicago can be quite expensive, take advantage of the Triple Play Package. Package includes room plus one overnight parking, breakfast and IHG Rewards Club points. This special offer is only available when making reservations in advance online or by contacting the front desk. No changes to existing reservations allowed. Minimum age of 21 to check in.
Announcements
UPCOMING EVENTS: *Taste of Chicago July 9-13 featuring some of Chicago's favorite foods. *PHISH and Pitchfork Concerts July 18-20 *Lollapalooza August 1-3 *Miley Cyrus at the United Center August
View More
Announcements
UPCOMING EVENTS: *Taste of Chicago July 9-13 featuring some of Chicago's favorite foods. *PHISH and Pitchfork Concerts July 18-20 *Lollapalooza August 1-3 *Miley Cyrus at the United Center August 14 *Chicago Air and Water Show August 16 and 17 *Chicago Jazz Festival at Grant Park August 28-31
View Less

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 627 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Coolest Holiday Inn I've ever seen. The lobby and rooms are gorgeous. Modern clean design you'd see in a 4-star hotel. The rooms are a bit smaller than your average Holiday Inn, but so are most within Downtown Chicago. It's a little tricky finding the lobby if you're not familiar with the building. Not enough signage to let you know check-in is on the 15th floor. A little confusing navigating the building. Very convenient location for public transportation and connected to the Merchandise Mart through a walkway (which is brilliant during a Chicago winter) March 10, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Weird location; non-friendly front desk staff It was very hard to find the hotel. No signs. Staff were not friendly at the reception. March 9, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Parking Shocked that the parking (plus Valet tip) was half the price of the room (which was nice).....Never did figure out the TV and there were no directions that we could find. (We are NOT dummies!) We had to fill in all the blanks of the survey, but did NOT experience any of the services or food etc, so our answer is poor or average. Not sure if we would recommend it to others. March 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Used Livingsocial Deal We got a deal through the Livingsocial website, so for the price we paid, I felt it was a good deal for sure. It was your typical mid-grade hotel. Otherwise, I probably would not pay full price (I'd pay a little more for a more upscale hotel). However, it IS a great location situated on the river right in the middle of downtown between the Loop and the Mag Mile. Also, if you get a good room, the view of the city is really nice. Ours was facing the North, so we had a side view of the Hancock building in the distance. I was a little disappointed with this since we chose the "upgraded" skyline view for the deal. I was hoping for a view across the river either East or South. The lobby area was very nice, and I liked being able to look down from the walkways into the lobby and seeing all the levels. It's a good thing I read reviews on other websites, though, on how to get to the lobby. Otherwise, we would have been lost trying to figure out where to go. The lobby is on the 15th floor of the building which is not stated anywhere on the hotel website. Even though there are a couple of signs in the building lobby, they are small and easy to miss. The beds were okay. The comforter was thin, and the mattresses were average. The bathroom was good. One thing that did not make me happy was we asked a friend to drive down our car on the second night we stayed and park it with valet (she was seeing some friends in the city overnight) so that we could then drive our car back home, but they charged us for BOTH NIGHTS. That was an extra $90 charge! (since valet parking is $45 a night). I didn't understand that at all and was NOT happy with that. I did not get a chance to go to the pool, sauna, or workout room, so I can't comment on those. The bar has a great view of the city, but we did not have time to get a drink. I was able to go across the street to the Merchandise Mart (there is an entrance right on Orleans St. and you just walk right through) to grab some food. There are a lot of options there like McDonald's, Potbelly's, Dunkin Donuts, Starbucks, etc. A cab ride from the hotel to a major attraction about a mile away (Willis Tower, Hancock/Water Tower) was about $7. The stay would have been topped of if they offered a continental breakfast. I love staying at places that offer that. March 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great hotel but restaurant needs work overall I was surprised this hotel was a Holiday Inn. I expected the old school Holiday Inn blandness. The rooms are beautiful and the overall feel of the hotel was that of a higher star property. Some of the ppl that worked there were pretty short. The restaurant had most ly great food but the service overshadowed everything. It took, on average 15-20 minutes to ORDER at breakfast. Dinner was the same thing but the restaurant wasn't so busy and the manager on duty all nights we ate there ended up helping us. We have a young son and anyone with kids will know that you have a time limit from the time you sit down to complete boredom meltdown. Breakfast was torture. We ate breakfast and dinner in the hotel every night and no matter how early we went down, I was still chasing the one or two waitresses down to order, get the check, etc. It was really frustrating and I don't know i'd stay there again because of it. The pool was pretty nice as were some of the front desk ppl and all the guys working the entrance. March 7, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location, other things, well... The location is excellent and I found most people friendly. If I have to travel again I might stay, though when the weather gets better I will look around. The heater did not work properly in the room, though I was afraid to complain because of another experience I had a long time ago. I did try to change rooms but apparently there were no more rooms available even upgrade. Heater sometimes worked, sometimes it didn't. When the heater did work 3 times in 4 days, it heated the room up to 78F and would not turn off even though I tried to turn it off, and I had to open up the window to cool the room off. I woke up twice with the room at 69F even though the heater was set to 78F. My perfect temp is 73F but if I set it there the heater would never turn on. The bathroom sink is not very spacious to hold personal items. Thinking that if there is a small sink, maybe the coffee maker ought not to be there competing with personal items. As for the food, the only thing I ordered was the signature lobster dish one evening. The lobster was great but the rest though good was barely edible because there was wayyyy too much salt for my liking. And I paid $48 for it. March 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great time during our stay! My wife and I had a great time with Holiday Inn during our stay. Brad and Thomas were great managers and have excellent, professional commitment to guest satisfaction. Minor problem with a lunch meal, but it was solved immediately, and Thomas specifically went above and beyond what I ever would have expected. The in-house restaurant is under-rated in my opinion. Needs to be marketed better, perhaps with a combination deal for stays, short or extended. Great, precise menu for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The quality of the food was impressive, tasty, and very reasonable for being in downtown Chicago. The meals were cooked perfectly, and to perfection. Being off-season, we can understand staffing augmentation, (due to limited guests in the Inn at this time of year), and some delays we experienced in the restaurant. Totally understandable. Great views from our room. I can't wait to come back and stay with Holiday Inn again! Keep up the great improvements to this facility. We see the long-term impact, and they are paying off! Thanks a bunch! March 2, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Welcome to Chicago You can certainly tell you're in Chicago when you stay at this hotel. $45 to park your car and the staff at the restaurant could care less if you are happy with their service. February 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Magnificent view from the window Wonderful view from the SKYLINE VIEW room. Easy access to subway and The Loop. Buffet breakfast was not the best one, very low quality food. However the one a'la carte is good. I needed to print one page in the business centre, they charged me $5 for this... quite a lot. Overall experience was good. February 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful view! I found this hotel to be very welcoming, helpful and had a beautiful view of the city. The lobby is amazing and made the hotel look more expensive. The rooms and hallways did not match how expensive looking the lobby looked but it was acceptable. There was no hot tub which was really really disappointing :( but that was only real complaint for the actual hotel. The valet parking was absolutely horrible. They were extremely rude to the customers. Waiting outside for my car to come around the valet men were swearing and making fun of many of the customers that were coming out of the hotel due to the fact that they could not figure out the new turning door system. This new turning door system was not helpful and would stop if the sensor was not directly on the person. After waiting over 2 minutes the this new door would not turn and not one valet service man noticed or helped. My friend decided to try pushing the door open not knowing what else to do and a valet man screamed at her to stop and continued to make comments as we finally were able to enter the building. That is not how customers paying for a hotel should be treated. I have worked in customer service a bunch and know how to explain to a customer that they are wrong or doing something wrong in an appropriate way. Other than that though the hotel was very nice and the desk service clerks were extremely polite and helpful! thanks February 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent special event banguet We had my son's wedding there and everything was great. Food, service, facilities, staff. Could not have had a better experience. Thank you to the staff February 26, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by overight stay Everything was fine right up until I left my Nook reader there accidentally and no one in the housekeeping staff could manage to find it. It never left the room, so I know that's where I left it, probably on the bed after reading in bed that night. Disappointing to say the least. Hoping whatever staff member that "found" it is enjoying it. February 26, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Had better stays While our room was larger, considered an upgrade, it was freezing no matter what we did. Our coffee maker was situated nowhere near an outlet so we were walking around the room with it, laughing, looking for an outlet and a usable surface! The shower was odd too in its configuration. We love this hotel and find it to be the nicest Holiday Inn ever. This upgrade was not a great idea. The other standard rooms are better. February 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT ACCOMODATIONS The room was good, service at the front desk was slow, there is a great deal of entering information even after you have a reservation. You have to ask for a printed receipt. It wasn't offered. There is never enough help a the front desk. I have never been able to log into the wi-fi, its difficult. I have stayed 3 times in the last two months and I am very comfortable. The food is great, drinks at the bar very nice atmosphere. February 22, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Waste of Money Watch out for getting charged $45 for parking!! Usually they comp parking at places like this or would comp Platinum Members. Food wasn't good for dinner or breakfast and is way over priced!! Drive a few miles away and stay at a different Holiday Inn and save a ton of money!!!! February 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding View Outstanding view - corner room with windows all around. Would go back again. A fridge in the room would have been nice. February 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Valet Parking The Valet Parking needs to be address. It took 45 minutes for the staff to bring me my car after I checked out. I understand at that time it was busy with numerous guest that had checked out, but the waiting area cleared out three time before I received my car. The staff did not have any organization to the way that the guests cars were retrieved. Several guests that requested their cars after me and received their cars prior to myself and other guests. The Valet Staff needs to be better managed. February 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful choice of stay Loved the view from the romm on the 21st floor, the size of the beds, the room, the comfort of the beds. Loved the friendlyness of the staff, as well, therestaurant buffet breakfast was delicious. February 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by AWESOME STAY!!!! My boyfriend & I came here for our 1 Year Anniversary & let me tell you the Holiday Inn blew us away with every bit of our stay. Our room was a corner room on the 23rd floor overlooking the city & river,comfortable bed,loved the bar on the 15th floor. We had a wondeful time & enjoyed our stay greatly.All staff was beyond helpful! Thank you Holiday Inn,we will be back. February 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel To Stay Excellent staff, service and hospitality. Comfortable rooms with the best location. I will stay here again. February 10, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Dark and odd room usability Room- new concept dark, no drawer space, towels arevdeeper yhan towel bars.meaning they sit where everyone's have been. Sink looks like Doctors office and stays wet after you reach into it to activate drain. Whoever chose these items, and the flooring that looks dirty must not understand the traveler, or functionality. No perks at check in or mention of being a Gold member. When asked at checkin what perks for Gold Rewards was told none, but maybe sometime soon. Nice as I check in on 1st floor, told I have 15 minutes to leave car as valet needs spaces ( I'm booked in for 4 days) then to 15th floor to check in then back down to 1st to move car . Really Not Fun! February 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by show @ merchadise mart this location was perfect. the service and food was good. my biggest objection was $45 a day for valet parking. February 7, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Unhelpful staff; The front desk gentleman whom we check-in with was so unhelpful that it was rude. We had driven several hours otherwise I would have turn around and left. Our family travels a lot and my husband is a rewards platunim member. There really is no excuse for rudeness, at the time we checked in there were no other customers other than myself and my daughter. Another encounter with the front desk later in the visit was equally as unpleasant. On the other hand the gentlemen working the concierge desk were polite and helpful. I would never stay at this hotel again or recommend it and after two nights we left and checked into a different hotel where the staff actually treated us respectfully. We can certainly pick a different hotel chain to do business with. February 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Chicago Getaway My husband and I had a fun stay at the Chicago-Mart Plaza River North. We had a very nice dinner at the restaurant - very tasty - before going to see Million Dollar Quartet (great show)! All the employees from the check-in, to the waiter, to the maid, to the bellman were wonderful. They are renovating at this hotel but it was of no inconvenience to us. The room was very clean and well appointed. The lobby and restaurant looked very attractive and updated. We also took advantage of going to the colonnade at the Merchandise Mart for a quick breakfast before our day. My husband enjoyed the workout area while I went to a Chicago Haute' Couture Club meeting at the hotel. The hotel also accommodated us with a late checkout. We love the location and have stayed at this hotel before and will definitely stay again. February 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent value for the money; useful, comfortable, clean hotel This isn't a luxury hotel. I was in Chicago on business and wanted a clean, quiet, comfortable hotel close to the Loop area for a reasonable price, and that's exactly what I got. The staff were courteous and attentive without being annoying. I had an excellent weekend stay with no hassles or problems. January 31, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by No amenities. The best part of staying here was the walkway directly to the merchandise mart. What I didn't like was the cost of food and drink. Most hotels now offer a continental breakfast, but all this hotel offered was coffee in the room. Also, the whole building was a "dead zone" for my phone. I couldn't make personal calls or business calls from anywhere in the hotel which was frustrating. I had to go outside. Also, very limited restaurants in the area. January 29, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Bad Experience Finding this hotel was difficult since they have no SIGNS on it! Found out that valet parking was $45!! Outrageous that the site never told us this. We have stayed at other Chicago hotels and have had parking included. Hotel is on the 15th floor, which was confusing. Checking in was fast, but we were never guided where to go or where anything was. We were given 2 keys and that was it, no thank you. Maybe you should try replacing your customer service people with robots, they'd probably be more consistent with information and do a better job for less cost. The room and view looked nice. We tried ordering room service/dinner 4 times before asking for a manager and getting someone to help. No one seemed to answer the call when dialing "4" as their menu said. The room next door was very loud at night and we were unable to get rest. The front door has a 1" gap on the bottom letting in noise and a draft. In the morning, we went to make coffee, to only find empty coffee packs, they'd never been replaced! I wonder what else they missed! I tried explaining this to Edgar at the front desk, he asked to see my reservation confirmation and said it wasn't their fault. He also told me to speak to the restaurant manager if I waited an hour for dinner, they were seperate entities and he had nothing to do with the restaurant. I told him it was billed under the same Holiday Inn bill. He said that's the way it's done. Valet wait was 50 minutes. So much for a $45 parking. The valet driver came barreling in so fast in my vehicle, I truly thought he'd run over a guest or hit one of the three cars in the way. He veered out just in time, but left me unimpressed to say the least. I would never stay here again. It was a dissaster. I travel for work and stay at many hotels all over the US. This has been the worst stay I have ever had. January 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Business Trip and Brought My Wife I had a business trip and my wife actually took advantage of the room Definitely recommend this hotel January 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by My Go-to Hotel This property is walking distance to my corporate office in Chicago. The price is reasonable and staff are just plain nice. The front entrance is getting a makeover and going to be quite nice. I would give an excellent rating if the pillows were comfortable, some feel like rocks. Why not try better pillows with only four on the bed. January 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Staying in Holyday Inn Chicago-Mart Plaza River North I stay in this hotel every year, I went again a few days ago, the Hotel and Restaurant good as always, however having eliminated the normal Parking Lot has created havoc for people who need to reach the car more than once every day. I used the valet parking and had to wait long time every time I needed to reach the car. Obviously valet parking was being used for too many people because the closing of normal Parking Lot. January 25, 2014
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 22 next>>
Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown Hotel near Willis Tower (Sears Tower)
Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown Hotel near Willis Tower (Sears Tower)
Select to close.
Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown Hotel near Willis Tower (Sears Tower) Chicago Downtown Skyline: Lake Michigan Willis Tower overlooking Holiday Inn Suites Chicago Downtown Hotel The Cloudgate (The Bean) at Millineum Park just minutes away Hotel reception area Area Attractions Area Attractions Area Attractions Area Attractions Front Desk of Holiday Inn and Suites Downtown Chicago Welcome to the Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-26-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-27-2014)
Check Availability
Loading