Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Apr-20-2014)
(e.g. Apr-21-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 135 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable bed, clean & tidy rooms, excellent staff. stayed for my daughters wedding on the 3 &4 th may 13 staff could not have been more helpful. rooms were nice &clean. as was the rest of the hotel . May 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Would definately stay here again Myself and my husband were very pleased with our stay here. We were part of a quite a large wedding party and stayed over two evenings. The rooms were very clean, comfortable and staff very polite and helpful. There was plenty to choose from for breakfast too!! I would definately recommend to friends and family!! May 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff so courteous and helpful. We had a "de luxe" room on the ground floor, it was bright light and very comfortable. We had mineral water, chocolate and pair of slippers each, which came in very useful all provided free of charge. The breakfast was very varied and plentiful the only fault I can say is that the scrambled egg was AWFUL. It was pale and runny and oozed liquid when placed on our breakfast plate. Not nice. All in all our stay was very pleasant and we would definitely stay here again-steering very clear of the scrambled egg! May 12, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service. Very friendly staff. Very friendly and helpful staff, especially on reception. Room was comfortable. Food was fine. Nice pool area. Pleasant bar to sit in. May 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and good service Great location with easy access to local restaurants and short drive to coast. Good pool. April 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service Exceptional service nothing was too much trouble, good choice of food in restaurant at reasonable prices. Room was clean and bed very comfortable would gladly recommend this hotel as we have stayed here previously. April 15, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Worth a detour It is the people that makes Colchester South so good. Congratulations to Darren and the front team. The service is always swift, the choices are good and the breakfast set-up is very good. I recommend it. Nick April 15, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointment After I booked two rooms for two nights - I received an offer from Holiday inn for two nights for the price of one which would have saved me a lot of money. I called the hotel and booking dept but they could not change the booking. April 8, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable but cold and noisy. It was a cold day (snowing) but unfortunately the rooms were rather cold. The radiator was bearly warm when I stayed. The windows did not appear to be double glazed compared to other other hotels within the brand. My key card failed on more than one occasion, afer the second visit to reception I was rather frustrated but it did get resolved quickly. It was unfortunate that kids were allowed to run riot within the reception and down the corridors screaming at the tops of there voices whilst reception staff, clearly annoyed ignored them. I know they were part of the wedding taking place but still, not good. Although an older hotel compared to others of similar age, the pressure of the water in the shower was poor. Im not sure why as I was onlt on the second floor and was using the shower at 7 am on a sunday morning ! I compare to the Birmingham Holiday inn and that has amazing water pressure on the 6 th floor ! On leaving the duty reception did ask me about my stay and wanted me to speak to the duty manager. I did not have time and just wanted to leave as had work commitments. Albeit a Sunday but still, not impressed and if you want a comfortable night try and avoid weekends. April 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff and comfy rooms we found the staff very helpful and friendly. the rooms were tidy and had everything we needed. we felt able to ask for anything and would recommend to others. April 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wedding We had our wedding here on 30/03/13. It was a fabulous day, and the staff, food and amenities were fantastic. We would definately recommend having a wedding here. Thankyou to all at Holiday Inn Colchester April 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Gutes, günstig gelegenes Hotel mit Pool sehr freundliches Personal in allen Hotelbereichen (Rezeption, Restaurant, Fitness), reichhaltiges Frühstück; auf der ausziehbaren Couch im 4-Bettzimmer sollten nur Kinder schlafen, da die Couch wirklich sehr weich ist - das Doppelbett ist aber aber top (mit unterschiedlich festen Kopfkissen); das zum Hotel gehörige Fitnessstudio wurde abends und morgens gut von Anwohnern frequentiert (macht aber guten Eindruck), Schwimmbad (ca. 1,30m tief), Dampf- und Trockensauna sowie Jacuzzi völlig in Ordnung und meist leer (sehr angenehm); riesiger Sainsbury's ist an der gleichen Autobahnabfahrt (Richtung Colchester) Autobahn und Eisenbahnstrecke in unmittelbarer Nähe (waren aber auch nachts fast nicht zu hören) April 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service Second time of staying here. Staff are very friendly & helpful. The food is excellent, although a little pricey in the restaurant. The room is comfortable & clean. Will stay here again. March 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Poor service I stayed here on Monday this week and the resturant was busy, i had to wait over an hour for my food and when it arrived the order had been mixed up. When it was sorted the food was luke warm March 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by the wedding party staff were extremely friendly and helpfull. got greeted on arrivel and offered a complimentry glass of wine. check in was easy and the room was easy to find. room was clean and tidy as was the ensuite. the staff were appochable if you had any queries and were helpfull. the wedding party room was of a large size so had plenty of room to dance and mingle. The bar could of had a extra person serving as one wasnt enough so service was a little slow. Plenty of food to choose from and the hot food was hot. overall we had a fantastic stay and would reccommend to anyone. March 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Exceptional customer service and staff. Wonderful hotel. We stayed here for 5 nights on business in the area.Every single member of staff were professional, polite, knowledgeable, helpful and genuine in thier desire to make our stay perfect. From the housemaid to the manager and the reception staff and spa staff - everyone was kind and cheery and helpful and genuinely interested in all of their guests. Nothing was too much trouble and everyone was smiley and professional and that experience alone made it a very pleasant atmosphere indeed. In addition we had a fabulous quiet room, comfortable bed, lovely ensuite and the spa facilities were perfect - steam room was hot and swedish sauna hot and wonderful right up to closing time which was a helpful late 10pm. Very well done to everyone at Holiday Inn Colchester. An amazing personal experience - every single member of staff behaved impecably and gave an excellent service with a smile. If we could roll out this customer service model acroos the rest of the UK - this country would, once again, be a pleasant place to live. Very well done! March 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel and fantastic customer service A very pleasant stay. The staff were lovely and nothing was to much trouble. The rooms are clean and spacious. We had a relaxing meal in the resturant which offered a varied choice on the menu and specials board, all reasonably priced. Breakfast is a must have. The hotel is in a lovely rural location just out of town. We highly recommend a visit to this hotel you will not be disapointed. February 15, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff Ideally aimed at the business traveller during the week the Hotel has good rooms and food on standard but the strongest aspect is the friendliness of the staff. The lack of free wifi in the rooms is a bit of drawback - the charges looks high but this is the only gripe I have having stayed there a lot over the last three weeks. I will return. January 22, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Cold Bedroom!! Room service and food good. Room and bathroom very cold on arrival. When I checked the radiator was switched off. Took quite some time for room to heat up after turning radiator on. Spent the evening under the quilt to keep warm. Carpet very dirty behind sofa. January 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic welcome I have stayed at many Holiday Inns throughout the Uk and Europe, however this one takes some beating. The welcome and hospitality exceeded any other experience. The staff worked as a team which produced a most enjoyable relaxing stay. The location may be slightly out from the town but the facilities and welsome make up for this I have been back to hotel on 4 further occasions and have recommended to friends and family - Well done Colchester January 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely friendly staff, a great stay A very warm welcome with information given regarding the party we were attending there. Staff fully informed us about what facilities there were and when avaliable. Swimmingpool great, the children loved it as well as the sauna and jacuzzi. Food good and reasonable prices. Overall a great place to stay. January 16, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed We booked into the HI Colchester for two days over the New Year period. The quality and standard of cleanliness in our room was disappointing and extremely sub-standard for the Holiday Inn Group. We have stayed in many Holiday Inn Hotels as you are pretty much guaranteed a clean, pleasant and comfortable stay. Not in this instance. The staff were very nice and the manager attempted to resolve our issues, but I think it was beyond his control. We had paid the premium for an executive room but were initially given an 'accessible double' (not sure why). The dressing gowns resembled screwed up, frayed, grey cardboard . These were kindly replaced by housekeeping with two more screwed up, frayed, grey dressing gown shaped pieces of cardboard. We did not use them. There was a lot more disappointment to our stay, specifically with regard to the rooms, but I will write to Holiday Inn Complaints Office directly for a response, rather than airing negative comments on a review website. On a positive note, the general appearance of the hotel and grounds is very good and the staff were polite and cheerful. January 8, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Twixmas Break Stayed in the hotel for 3 nights between Xmas and New Year for a short break. The receptionist, when we checked in (28/12 apx 15.00), was excellent. The greeting was genuine and very helpful eventually culminating in being allocated what she described as being the 'largest room in the hotel'. A second highlight was breakfast on the last day when we requested smoked salmon and poached eggs. The chef cooked them to perfection. Well done Only slight blot was that the full restaurant menu was not available as it 'was Christmas'. We were not told of this until looking for a table for dinner and lead to an unanticipated drive in to Colchester Generally the stay was as you would expect and given the price was extremely good value. January 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by FRIENDLY & HELPFUL STAFF WE WERE WARMLY WELCOMED AND THE STAFF WERE EXCEPTIONALLY FRIENDLY, POLITE AND VERY HELPFUL IN ALL ASPECTS. January 8, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good value for money Advance booking meant a good deal obtained, everything we needed for a comfortable night's sleep, but bathroom could have been cleaner/fresher. January 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable Rooms / Excellent Service Arrived late Boxing day night, was welcomed with a smile, went into bar area, bar staff made us chips. Went to room, family room, beds all made and very comfortable. Room was nice and warm, had requested 2 pillows each on booking and this they remembered. In the morning went past reception to breakfast, again a friendly smile from the receptionist and a warm 'good morning'. Breakfast 1st Class, well done, even fried an egg for me! When we left was told have a great new year which was a nice gesture. Now comes the best bit. The next day 27th, hotel phoned us as my son had left his DS and games in the room and the room service lady had found it and passed to reception, Reception called me and sorted it all out for me. Now that is service!! Well done. Cannot thank you enough! January 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Exceptionally friendly staff I've stayed here a number of times and ALL the staff go out of their way to be friendly and helpful. December 19, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff and excellent customer service I stay in many holiday inns. This one is quiet and comfortable. The staff are very friendly. November 26, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff and excellent breakfast The staff were very friendly and welcoming and the room was clean and comfortable. The corridors are a little dated and in need of refreshing as is the leisure club but overall its good value for money and the staff give it that extra touch. Good breakfast with a nice selection and all was hot and very enjoyable. November 23, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff excellence and service We asked for an unusual request when we had to take my disabled elderly mother to visit a sick relative in Colchester.She couldnt be left on her own so had to have an extra bed in our room.This was no trouble to the team who upgraded us to give us even more room.The free wine on arrival was a bonus after our long drive .The only downside was that we couldnt park outside the hotel entrance to drop my mother off as some wedding cars seemed to have monopolised the drive.So more disabled parking slots please as this is the second visit and they all seem to be taken again ( hopefully with genuine need) Food and service was excellent again. November 12, 2012
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>