Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Oct-24-2014)
(e.g. Oct-25-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 111 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel Used this hotel as a base for a day trip to Alton Towers. The hotel is furnished to a high standard and is modern and very comfortable. The staff are very accommodating and efficient. September 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay, friendly staff Perfect location, a great hotel. Lovely room and the staff were very helpful. September 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good visit Good visit although the check in was at 2 pm we got there at 3 pm and the cleaning staff was still cleaning the room!! when we looked in the fridge a bottle of water been used, but saying this the staff kindley stoked the fridge with new water and extra things too!! September 10, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Schlafen kaum möglich Das Hotel ist super - wäre da nicht das allnächtlich auftretende Geräusch das mich jede Nacht um den Schlaf bringt... September 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Large room with seating for 3 people Stayed in an executive double room which was large enough to accommodate 2 adults and a teenager without being on top of each other. Would have preferred a proper bed for the teenager rather than a put-up bed which aren't particularly comfortable. Hotel is situated on top of the bus station and you have to park in the nearby car park which whilst not ideal is only a few minutes away. Staff very polite and efficient at resolving any issues August 28, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Bed was hard and my card was removed from power slot I left a card in the power slot to let my computer charge while I was gone. When I returned the card was removed from the slot with no sign of it. After I called the front desk at least 3 times, I was told that the maid did not remove it and it was implied that I "must be mistaken". In the days to follow, I asked the front desk agent if my card had been located and it hadn't. When I asked to speak with the manager, I was told the manager was gone for the day and left my information with the agent. I was never contacted regarding my card and definitely planned on leaveing a poor review after that point. When I asked said front desk agent if the maid didn't remove the card who did? He replied "It must have been the ghost." As you can imagine, I did not find this funny because it was the same agent who said that I must've been mistaken. To me, it wasn't that the card was removed from the slot, it was the idea that: 1. Someone removed something from my room while I was gone and 2. Why would the card be removed from the room and then discarded #I'm assuming#. It wouldn't have been as bad if the bed wasn't like sleeping on a carpeted floor with no underpad. The bed left me with chronic headaches stemming from a stiff neck and back. I will be finding a different hotel next time I visit Derby. It wasn't all negative though. The breakfast was consistently good on a daily basis. August 22, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great Room and dissapointing Service. Lovely clean hotel with great modern decor, unfortunately unable to try the Breakfast due to some error when checking in with one of the front desk staff members, They confirmed we had breakfast included in our stay. we later find out the next morning that apparently there was a code on the list which any member of staff didn't know about. The customer service skills was very disappointing from the restaurant staff, none of them was concerned or made the effort to inform us about this situation, we was left feeling very embarrassed and angry in front of all the other diners. We originally booked for 2 nights but left a day early due to this disruption because we was lead to believe on booking this 2 night stay we had breakfast included which was also confirmed by a staff member on checking in, we was then told she had made a mistake. We was really looking forward to trying the breakfast as we have been in many Holiday Inn's and this looked the best by far. overall fantastic room but customer service was lacking. Would stay here again but make sure breakfast was sorted first. August 20, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Service Not what I expected ordered room service never delivered WiFi was down was basically told to leave with it. August 18, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Lots of issues Stayed at this hotel for my business trip to Derby. Upon checkin I was allocated a room which was already occupied, I opened the door and found clothing scattered on the bed. I got another room which was fine until the air con started making loud buzzing noise. I then got another room which also had the same problem. Finally on the 1st night with them I got a fourth room which was ok until the aircon started making the same loud buzzing noise at 450 am. On the 2nd day, I got allocated a exec room which was fine except that there were hair strands in the bath tub. I told the duty manager who came to clean the bathroom. On the 3rd day, the bathtub yet again had hair in it. August 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best in Derby by far !! I have tried all of the other Holiday Inns in and around Derby whilst on business. This one is by far the best. Its new and fresh, the rooms are very well appointed. If you can stretch to an exec room they are superd with a little lounge area with sofa and comfy chairs, much better than any other exec room I have experianced in a long while. If you need to be in Derby and are deliberating...stop...seriously book the Riverlights. PS: They also have smoking rooms ..... August 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Quality very please with the hotel, very accessible to to shopping centre and alton towers . August 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly and helpf service staff The bathroom amenities are basis but adequate. The air conditioning can be improved. My room is on top of the bus terminal but with the window closed the noise level is minimum. August 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent hotel We were so impressed with the cleanliness, and staff we have booked to stay again this next weekend on our return trip to the airport, even though it is out of our way. The comfort and cleanliness was excellent! Holiday inn have really uped their game plan and its paying off! Well done! August 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyable I have been stopping in this hotel for 5 months due to work commitments and have enjoyed my stay. The Staff are very helpfull and always willing to help. Nothing is a problem to them all and the food in the restraunt is excellent. August 12, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by A Modern Holiday Inn Express of Innovative Design Spoiled by Poor Service This hotel has an innovative design that takes full advantage of what is a cramped space in a corner site. Extensive use of glass walls makes it feel light, airy and spacious. The room (316) was the best I have ever encountered in a Holiday Inn although the furniture is cheap and already beginning to show signs of wear. The room design avoids the ubiquitous dual function bathroom toilet door seen in other Holiday Inns. At check in one lady was busy with a group of 6 or 8 and the second lady ignored me; so I put myself forward and then checked in with no problems. I was asked if I wanted a newspaper which I answered in the affirmative but it was not delivered the next day. I had requested firm pillows and received an email confirmation but on entering the room, one was marked soft though it obviously wasn't and the other was marked firm. The pillows, although apparently all firm, were of varying size and quality. The room was not as clean as I would have expected with dust on a number of the chrome areas including the table light stand. I like the bathroom coloured night light idea. Overall the bathroom is well designed but the lighting was inadequate; something the Manager later acknowledged. I found the hot water temperature inadequate to sustain the shower without constantly having to turn it up and I would have preferred it hotter for shaving as well. Towels are showing signs of wear and it was very disappointing to find a hole in the bed sheets (see picture). I followed the instructions on the card for the wired internet but it did not bring up the hotel's connection login and at first the reception line rang out but when they eventually answered they were unable to assist and had a bad attitude so I insisted that the Duty Manager was called which they were reluctant to do. I lost an hour in total as a result of this shambles. On returning to the hotel at around 9.55 pm on Saturday I requested some extra sachets of coffee and sugar. The receptionist took note and said they would be delivered by the Duty Manager. I tried to call 3 times between 10.05 pm and 10.20 pm to change the order from sugar to Sweetex but once again the phone was not answered. The items were not delivered. I was going to give up and retire for the night but made one last call at 10.40 pm which was answered and the receptionist blamed the Duty Manager. The Duty Manager then arrived a couple of minutes later and stated that she had not received any earlier message. So someone was lying. I put all this to the Hotel Manager the next morning but she did not seem unduly concerned nor has she responded to my request to be advised of the outcome of her investigation (nearly 4 days later). I eschewed a standard "Is there anything I can do for you" offer as I was only staying one night and it wasn't appropriate anyway. Breakfast was very good - orange juice form a high concentrate was almost "real" and the scrambled eggs were definitely real and not from powder or boxes which I have experienced in other Holiday Inns. The restaurant is invitingly well designed (see picture.) However staff did not approach me for a coffee order; everything else is self service but that is not a problem. Not much in the way of cheeses or meats but plenty of cereal choice and hot food that was indeed hot under the warmers. Overall, this is an above average Holiday Inn Express very well located next door to the bus station and about 15 minutes walk from the train station. There is a big shopping mall more or less across the road but you won't find any shops there that you wouldn't see in a dozen other cities up and down the country. It was good value for money on the IHG Advance Purchase rate. It would certainly have merited at least 4 stars were it not for the poor service highlighted above. Local pubs are a bit rundown but there seemed to be a number of reasonable choices for dinner. I enjoyed the food in a local World Buffet called Cosmo, which was good value at £17.39 including unlimited coke. (Pictures will not load but will try to edit later.) August 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good service up to date modern rooms, clean and tidy. hotel recommended August 2, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient for the Centre of Derby Immaculately clean, tidy, spacious with warn and welcoming attitude from Staff. Bedroom with en-suite was of a high standard. Good breakfast choices only let down by quality of sausages and scrambled egg. if these 2 items were fixed it would be excellent breakfast. Pancakes and Omelette can be ordered for free. Parking is in a mutli-storey and costs £7.50 after subsidy by the hotel. Upon booking we were not aware of this situation and cost. The above points are to be constructively critical but overall a good stay. August 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff and rooms Room was excellent, staff were superb. ordered room service fro breakfast, was spot on. Will definitely stay again. July 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Helpful staff and nice clean room The location of the hotel is excellent right in the middle of Derby. It was easy to get the car parked. We found the staff were pleasant and very helpful. The room was big and very clean. We would definetly stay ther again next time we come to Derby. July 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable stay Attentive staff, comfortable. Areas of improvement: provide wash clothes and lotion in the rooms. July 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great room good location Nice hotel clean central enthusiastic staff see you soon July 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Poor bed and noisy air conditioning Bed could have a new mattress, it had a large dip in the middle and the air conditioning had a mind of its own, it would come during the night even though it was turned off. July 8, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by FAWLTY TOWERS REBORN! beyond sad, patronising and condescending unattentive staff. July 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent staff Staff were excellent with great Derbyshire charm. When a significant problem was identified the frontline staff did what they could to help. Breakfast was poor and the minimal continental food was limp and from the day before. Second cup of coffee had to be searched for. The view from the restaurant on the 4th floor was great and if you can get a room away from the side of the bus station the bedroom would be much nicer. June 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasantly surprised Hotel was fresh and clean, staff were extremely friendly and courteous, room was perfect, spacious and very clean, bathroom immaculate looked brand new. Wouldn't hesitate to re-book. Meals were very good surroundings very pleasing. June 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service and location love the experience at Riverlights. great location, service and staff. breakfast is also a great starter for the day. not the 1st time here and definitely not the last. June 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Night! The staff were very friendly and welcoming upon arrival. The room was very clean and comfortable, with plenty of space. The bar and waiting staff were very friendly and offered good advice on places to visit etc. The breakfast was lovely with plenty to choose from. We had a great night, thanks! June 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Hotel Hotel is in the centre of things but not noisy. Staff very friendly room very clean.. Toiletries have been changed since last visit not really enough for 2 people. June 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great hotel but get a room without a linking door if possible Great hotel use this often overnight for evenings out but not liking the link doors to the next room along gets very noisy at times as noise travels through the door space more than a wall and I would not want to stay more than a night or two because of that risk of noise I am a business traveller too and stay away in week Also and I doubt I would use this for a lengthy stay June 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely modern hotel in Central Location The hotel itself is quite difficult to access via road if you don't know the area but the welcome was good and the hotel is fresh, clean and of a good standard in a very central location in Derby. However, the restaurant, whilst keeping the clean lines and modern looks of the rest of the property suffers from poor service and is not what you would expect from a Holiday inn in terms of food quality. May 27, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 next>>