Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Nov-26-2014)
(e.g. Nov-27-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 126 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Business trip to Derby Excellent location, very central to leisure/restaurants in Derby. Very modern hotel inside and out. Mini gym useful addition. November 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Best hotel in Derby I enjoyed my stay at the Holiday Inn Riverlights Derby, the hotel is located in the heart of the city centre and is on top of the central bus station which is very convenient for commuting to work. There's some room for improvement; I noticed that the extractor was a bit loud in my room and asked a member of staff to take a look at it. Unfortunately, he wasn't able to fix the problem because the extractor was being used in the Kitchen and they could not stop the noise until the kitchen was closed, which was around 12:00 am. I had to attend an exam the next morning, so couldn't get a good quality sleep as I would have hoped. The other thing to consider is perhaps expanding the variety of the room service menu. It would be ideal if the whole Stressa menu can be for room service ! Lastly, the receptionist asked me if I would like a newspaper delivered to my room the next morning, to which I said Yes....the newspaper never came, and I checked out at 12:00pm. November 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very comfortable stay The overnight stay was everything I would expect from a hotel: a clean and spacious room, an undisturbed night's sleep, good food in the hotel restaurant and friendly and helpful staff. The only improvement that could be made is in advising guests how to get to the multi-story car park which serves the hotel more easily. November 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location, Great Staff, Awful Bed The hotel is in a really great location, although the downside is no onsite parking and having to use the car park at the Westfield. However it is close enough to be acceptable and doesn't cost too much. The staff were very good and friendly and overall the room was nice and comfortable. The one major downside was the state of the mattress in that it dips badly into the middle of the bed. I have stayed at this hotel several times over the last year or two and it appears to be the same in all the rooms. They really need replacing. November 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Good hotel and excellent staff We stayed here last weekend and had a most enjoyable time. Although we encountered a problem on our first night, this was remedied as soon as it was brought to the staffs attention. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Derby. October 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel in Derby centre Very nice hotel with excellent service and well located for the city of Derby. October 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by nice place handy to Intuit Derby mall nice place, very handy to the mall and downtown Derby city centre. the parking garage makes dealing with a hire car reasonable. good access to the highway as well. October 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay Everything about the stay was fantastic, except for the internet. A bit of investment there would help. October 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 房间布置 房间布置好。灯具设计简洁。大堂稍小。前台接待人员非常热情好客。早餐好象有血肠,但没注意是否有菜品名称。另有几位中国客人,好象中国客人挺多的。 October 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay! For a hotel of this nature, we were very pleased! The staff were fantastic, and the room was perfect. Breakfast filled us up for the day, and we left refreshed after a lovely stay. Highly recommended! October 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great rooms Continuing to enjoy my stay here, and will be back. October 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good service very clean The receptionist very helpful, the rooms very excellent, very clean. Breakfast Buffet everything you would want and need. A lovely family stay and close to Derby City Centre, we would stay again. Thank you. September 30, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by No riverlights A simple and comfortable hotel, suitable for modest business needs September 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location and friendly staff We were very impressed with the Holiday Inn during our short stay in September. Our only issue with our stay was our lack of knowledge of the city centre led to us taking more time than it should have done to find it. After arriving later than planned, we found the restaurant was closed but the receptionist checked with the Bar to confirm we could get sandwiches etc. We literally dropped our stuff of in the room and made our way to the bar. The bar staff were friendly and helpful dealing with our food order and making giving advise on timings. We loved that breakfast was available until 11 a.m. and found there was a good choice of food but we did find getting tea or coffee very hard work. On both mornings, we had drinks at least half way through our breakfast. We chose to stay in an Executive Room which worth the money; the room was big and we liked the seating area. The complimentary mini-bar was replenished and the room was cleaned upon our return during the afternoon. Check-out was a breeze Overall a great experience and we would recommend September 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT LOCALITY EXCELLENT STAY SURPASSED ALL EXPECTATIONS WOULD STAY AT HOLIDAY INN FOR FUTURE VISITS TO DERBY September 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel Used this hotel as a base for a day trip to Alton Towers. The hotel is furnished to a high standard and is modern and very comfortable. The staff are very accommodating and efficient. September 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay, friendly staff Perfect location, a great hotel. Lovely room and the staff were very helpful. September 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good visit Good visit although the check in was at 2 pm we got there at 3 pm and the cleaning staff was still cleaning the room!! when we looked in the fridge a bottle of water been used, but saying this the staff kindley stoked the fridge with new water and extra things too!! September 10, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Schlafen kaum möglich Das Hotel ist super - wäre da nicht das allnächtlich auftretende Geräusch das mich jede Nacht um den Schlaf bringt... September 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Large room with seating for 3 people Stayed in an executive double room which was large enough to accommodate 2 adults and a teenager without being on top of each other. Would have preferred a proper bed for the teenager rather than a put-up bed which aren't particularly comfortable. Hotel is situated on top of the bus station and you have to park in the nearby car park which whilst not ideal is only a few minutes away. Staff very polite and efficient at resolving any issues August 28, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Bed was hard and my card was removed from power slot I left a card in the power slot to let my computer charge while I was gone. When I returned the card was removed from the slot with no sign of it. After I called the front desk at least 3 times, I was told that the maid did not remove it and it was implied that I "must be mistaken". In the days to follow, I asked the front desk agent if my card had been located and it hadn't. When I asked to speak with the manager, I was told the manager was gone for the day and left my information with the agent. I was never contacted regarding my card and definitely planned on leaveing a poor review after that point. When I asked said front desk agent if the maid didn't remove the card who did? He replied "It must have been the ghost." As you can imagine, I did not find this funny because it was the same agent who said that I must've been mistaken. To me, it wasn't that the card was removed from the slot, it was the idea that: 1. Someone removed something from my room while I was gone and 2. Why would the card be removed from the room and then discarded #I'm assuming#. It wouldn't have been as bad if the bed wasn't like sleeping on a carpeted floor with no underpad. The bed left me with chronic headaches stemming from a stiff neck and back. I will be finding a different hotel next time I visit Derby. It wasn't all negative though. The breakfast was consistently good on a daily basis. August 22, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great Room and dissapointing Service. Lovely clean hotel with great modern decor, unfortunately unable to try the Breakfast due to some error when checking in with one of the front desk staff members, They confirmed we had breakfast included in our stay. we later find out the next morning that apparently there was a code on the list which any member of staff didn't know about. The customer service skills was very disappointing from the restaurant staff, none of them was concerned or made the effort to inform us about this situation, we was left feeling very embarrassed and angry in front of all the other diners. We originally booked for 2 nights but left a day early due to this disruption because we was lead to believe on booking this 2 night stay we had breakfast included which was also confirmed by a staff member on checking in, we was then told she had made a mistake. We was really looking forward to trying the breakfast as we have been in many Holiday Inn's and this looked the best by far. overall fantastic room but customer service was lacking. Would stay here again but make sure breakfast was sorted first. August 20, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Service Not what I expected ordered room service never delivered WiFi was down was basically told to leave with it. August 18, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Lots of issues Stayed at this hotel for my business trip to Derby. Upon checkin I was allocated a room which was already occupied, I opened the door and found clothing scattered on the bed. I got another room which was fine until the air con started making loud buzzing noise. I then got another room which also had the same problem. Finally on the 1st night with them I got a fourth room which was ok until the aircon started making the same loud buzzing noise at 450 am. On the 2nd day, I got allocated a exec room which was fine except that there were hair strands in the bath tub. I told the duty manager who came to clean the bathroom. On the 3rd day, the bathtub yet again had hair in it. August 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best in Derby by far !! I have tried all of the other Holiday Inns in and around Derby whilst on business. This one is by far the best. Its new and fresh, the rooms are very well appointed. If you can stretch to an exec room they are superd with a little lounge area with sofa and comfy chairs, much better than any other exec room I have experianced in a long while. If you need to be in Derby and are deliberating...stop...seriously book the Riverlights. PS: They also have smoking rooms ..... August 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Quality very please with the hotel, very accessible to to shopping centre and alton towers . August 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly and helpf service staff The bathroom amenities are basis but adequate. The air conditioning can be improved. My room is on top of the bus terminal but with the window closed the noise level is minimum. August 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent hotel We were so impressed with the cleanliness, and staff we have booked to stay again this next weekend on our return trip to the airport, even though it is out of our way. The comfort and cleanliness was excellent! Holiday inn have really uped their game plan and its paying off! Well done! August 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyable I have been stopping in this hotel for 5 months due to work commitments and have enjoyed my stay. The Staff are very helpfull and always willing to help. Nothing is a problem to them all and the food in the restraunt is excellent. August 12, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by A Modern Holiday Inn Express of Innovative Design Spoiled by Poor Service This hotel has an innovative design that takes full advantage of what is a cramped space in a corner site. Extensive use of glass walls makes it feel light, airy and spacious. The room (316) was the best I have ever encountered in a Holiday Inn although the furniture is cheap and already beginning to show signs of wear. The room design avoids the ubiquitous dual function bathroom toilet door seen in other Holiday Inns. At check in one lady was busy with a group of 6 or 8 and the second lady ignored me; so I put myself forward and then checked in with no problems. I was asked if I wanted a newspaper which I answered in the affirmative but it was not delivered the next day. I had requested firm pillows and received an email confirmation but on entering the room, one was marked soft though it obviously wasn't and the other was marked firm. The pillows, although apparently all firm, were of varying size and quality. The room was not as clean as I would have expected with dust on a number of the chrome areas including the table light stand. I like the bathroom coloured night light idea. Overall the bathroom is well designed but the lighting was inadequate; something the Manager later acknowledged. I found the hot water temperature inadequate to sustain the shower without constantly having to turn it up and I would have preferred it hotter for shaving as well. Towels are showing signs of wear and it was very disappointing to find a hole in the bed sheets (see picture). I followed the instructions on the card for the wired internet but it did not bring up the hotel's connection login and at first the reception line rang out but when they eventually answered they were unable to assist and had a bad attitude so I insisted that the Duty Manager was called which they were reluctant to do. I lost an hour in total as a result of this shambles. On returning to the hotel at around 9.55 pm on Saturday I requested some extra sachets of coffee and sugar. The receptionist took note and said they would be delivered by the Duty Manager. I tried to call 3 times between 10.05 pm and 10.20 pm to change the order from sugar to Sweetex but once again the phone was not answered. The items were not delivered. I was going to give up and retire for the night but made one last call at 10.40 pm which was answered and the receptionist blamed the Duty Manager. The Duty Manager then arrived a couple of minutes later and stated that she had not received any earlier message. So someone was lying. I put all this to the Hotel Manager the next morning but she did not seem unduly concerned nor has she responded to my request to be advised of the outcome of her investigation (nearly 4 days later). I eschewed a standard "Is there anything I can do for you" offer as I was only staying one night and it wasn't appropriate anyway. Breakfast was very good - orange juice form a high concentrate was almost "real" and the scrambled eggs were definitely real and not from powder or boxes which I have experienced in other Holiday Inns. The restaurant is invitingly well designed (see picture.) However staff did not approach me for a coffee order; everything else is self service but that is not a problem. Not much in the way of cheeses or meats but plenty of cereal choice and hot food that was indeed hot under the warmers. Overall, this is an above average Holiday Inn Express very well located next door to the bus station and about 15 minutes walk from the train station. There is a big shopping mall more or less across the road but you won't find any shops there that you wouldn't see in a dozen other cities up and down the country. It was good value for money on the IHG Advance Purchase rate. It would certainly have merited at least 4 stars were it not for the poor service highlighted above. Local pubs are a bit rundown but there seemed to be a number of reasonable choices for dinner. I enjoyed the food in a local World Buffet called Cosmo, which was good value at £17.39 including unlimited coke. (Pictures will not load but will try to edit later.) August 6, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 next>>