Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-24-2014)
(e.g. Jul-25-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 127 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Breakfast The only negative to this site is that they don't have a complimentary breakfast. Otherwise it is a good hotel with probably the friendliest staff I have seen in a Holiday Inn. July 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Rainy Des Moines Staff was excellent and attentive. Could have done without being woken up by chainsaws cutting down a tree outside my room early in the morning. No fan in bathroom made for humid conditions Hotel needs updates. Overall comfortably though. July 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by review Staff was great. Room was clean and relaxing. The pool was amazing. The only 2 negatives I can even come up with were 1) the tv reception kept dropping out occasionally and 2) during the 3 day stay, I was able to get on the wi-fi only the first day. July 2, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Many Shortcomings Comment List for Room 424 on Saturday, June 21, 2014: 1. Someone had taken the batteries out of the thermostat, so the room was either way too cold or way too hot. 2. The tub faucet gave rusty water right after the water was turned on. 3. The tub drain worked verrrrry slowly. 4. The newly remodeled bath was way too crowded; my left shoulder was dislocated trying to reach the toilet paper (joke). 5. Many other guests (seemed like a convention for the homeless) held their smoking and drinking parties at both the front and back hotel doors. June 26, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by OK I stayed here and had been traveling a lot over the past 6 weeks so I have lots to compare it with. This place is OK, nothing terrible but certainly nothing had me say...'that was nice or that was good' as I did in most places over the past 6 weeks. I received a survey from Holiday Inn and after me filling out a longer than necessary survey, they suggested I rated them a 4.5 out of 5. That wasn't even close so I had to go back in and change that rating... June 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service, but hotel could use some updates. Our room could use updates -- sagging wallpaper, A/C difficult to regulate, water issues in the bathroom. However due to the great staff, we will likely be back if the price is reasonable. Housekeeping staff showed us true hospitality, checked if we needed additional supplies, and kept our room in clean, tip top condition. June 21, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel needs an update The lobby of the hotel smells of the attached pool so if you like that make sure you stay on the first 3 floors. I would also recommend you check your room for cleanliness before you get settled in for the night. Call the desk and make sure any issue are corrected. June 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall. Amiable staff and pleasant stay for the week. Relaxation on the road becomes a reality at the Holiday Inn. June 18, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Cold Shower I have been staying here for about 5 yrs, seems to be going downhill. My latest visit involved a cold shower, non-working wall thermostat and staff that couldn't seem to figure out my correct IHG Gold Elite Status. I will likely give them another chance as I have many other previous visits that were good, hopefully they will have picked up their game by then so I don't have to find another hotel for future visits to Des Moines. June 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by storm outlook had to pull over due to storm at home, company wanted us to wait out the storm in DM. A LOT OF MONEY FOR A SMALL SMELLY ROOM ,but the last room they had June 15, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not for people with disabilities This room was ok, but billed as a wheelchair accessible room. They had no other options. It was poorly accessible for my wife contributing to a significant amount of stress to my vacation. My sleep was interrupted for a work related issue that had nothing to do with the hotel and was essentially the only thing impacting my quality of sleep compared to other Holiday Inns. Breakfast buffet at the Bennigans was terrible. Bacon was about the only edible thing on the menu and was only fair. June 13, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Party on, dude ! Felt like I didn't quite "fit in" at the hotel the night I was there (not that it was my intention) but with the tailgate party and the baseball game going on in the back parking lot I guess it was more fun if you were in on it. For me, and I'm betting at least a few other guests, it was annoying, a little loud, using the pool (and even the elevator) was pretty much out of the question, and I didn't feel comfortable parking in the back until after dark when people finally quit playing ball back there. Not my best experience... June 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A Great Stay! Check-in was super easy and the staff was incredibly friendly. We got an upgrade room that a nice mini fridge and a microwave and they were able to grant us late check-out. The building hasn't seen an update in a while it seems, but the rooms were clean and the bed was really comfortable. My only beef is that the bedside lamps don't have extra power outlets in them and there wasn't one easy to access near the bed... but they did have free wifi. They have a very small fitness center, but it seemed clean and functional, as well as a pool. No problems with parking and this hotel is RIGHT off of 80/35, so easy to get to. We enjoyed our stay so much and it was so convenient that we have already rebooked for another say at the end of the month. June 10, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Overall poor quality After we checked in and were in our room, we discovered that one can not get AT&T cell service there. The 'free' internet worked sporadically. The shower did not drain. The a/c blew directly toward the head of the bed - offering a constant flow of air directly to our faces. Even though every other Holiday Inn Express we stayed in this trip was lovely and clean and offered a free breakfast, this one does not, but still charges high prices. June 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Stayed during state track meet I stayed for 2 nights during the high school state track meet and was very pleased with the Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites in Des Moines-Northwest. Though there were a lot of highschoolers there, I did not hear them! Desk staff was very helpful in obtaining a room for me on the second night when I only had reservation for one night. Super comfy beds and pillows. Wish that they had continental breakfast available. June 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service and great place to stay. Great place for a convention, all staff are attentive, always service with a smile, food is delicious and served in a timely manner, accomodations are excellent. No complaints, would recommend the Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Des Moines- Northwest as the place to stay in Des Moines. Thank you for a great experience. May 30, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Disrepair Every thing in the suit was in need of a remodel. Light switches where hanging loosely in the wall. The shower nob was broken. One remote for two tvs. The parking lot had huge holes in it that bottomed out my mini van. Huge parts of siding where falling off the outside of the building. The room hadn't been cleaned properly in who knows how long. There was stuff on the floor by the broken sliding glass doors. To include some sort of lotion bottle. The thank you for being a member was nice. May 21, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by ok hotel we normaly stay at holiday inn express . in my opinion a better value. they were booked. May 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good place to stay, but This is a good place to stay. Good value, good location and great staff. The one thing that would make it great is if they had towel racks in the bathroom so when you want to re-use a towel there is a place to hang it! Otherwise, the room is good, the common areas are clean and quiet even with a seemingly full house and the overall effect is very relaxing. We would stay here again (maybe bring our own towel rack)! May 19, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Weird toilet seats The property, as a whole, fine. The toilet seta, however, don't fit the toilet bowls so that sitting on the seat causes it to lose its grip on the bowl, making the whole seat shift suddenly to the right. Very uncomfortable and somewhat disconcerting in the middle of the night. May 19, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff, good place. For the most part, there isn't that much difference from one hotel to another. One of the big differences is the staff and their attitude. The attitude of most hotels is great, and this one is even better. They were very accommodating, friendly, and helpful. Good place to stay. May 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Des Moines Stay 04-13-14 Great Stay, Great Hotel Service. Bennigan's Service at 9:30 pm made me feel like I was a inconvenience April 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Been years since staying here I used to not like this hotel due to always under construction, but gave it a try after 8 year hiatus. Much better staff, facilities and no construction! Still needs cosmetic work, stil very much in the 70s carpet and feel to it in lobby and hallways, but rooms were better than I remember, will be back when in town for business! April 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by First impressions are important As I exited my car and walked to the entrance, I noticed a portion of curbing that had crumbled and all the pieces were still there. This appeared to be in this condition for awhile. April 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by holiday inn The hotel and staff were great. the next time im in des moines i will be staying there. thanks March 27, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Dated and poor Internet This is an older building in the midst of renovations. Though the room was adequate, the Internet was not functioning well - it worked for a few minutes then was down for quite a while. I finally had to leave the hotel and find another business with a good wireless connection to get work done. The sink in the bathroom hardly drained. I left with the impression that the ownership of this property was doing the minimum necessary to keep it going. I will not stay there again when visiting Des Moines. March 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Red Wing Collectors Society MidWinter Get-Together 2014 It is always a pleasure to stay at this property. We meet here every Feb. for our RWCS MidWinter Get-Together. The staff is alway so accomodating and pleasant. And, we love the proximity of the Benningan's Restaurant. They, too, are always SUPER to deal with. We'd recommend this property to business as well as leisure travelers. March 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Nice Hotel Very nice lobby with fire place and flat screen tv Rooms very clean and staff very friend.....good stay ! March 9, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Dissapointed. To the point I was not impressed with this Holiday Inn. Very disappointed to be honest. Found one of 3 elevators on the property would "SHUTTER and Delay in opening". Not comforting ride. Other occupants in elevator expressed similar concerns. Upon arrival in room that was a SUITE w/ Jacuzzi tub, we found paper and wrappers in chair, a screw on/off beer cap under fridge. Microwave had food residue on glass turntable. Had issue at 130am Sat morn with smoke detector in bedroom area "CHIRPING". Called front desk and "NIGHT MGR" promptly arrived to remove the smoke detector off the wall. Maintenance returned in the morning and hung back on the wall. Detector should have been cleaned, vacuumed, and serviced but it was only put back on the wall. Also had "NOISY" fan in bedroom from HTG/AC UNIT. Fan needs replaced or pulleys tightened. Upon checkout, I looked under the bed and found "dust bunnies", two pens, a sock. ON A POSITIVE NOTE, I FOUND THE FRONT DESK SUNDAY MORNING TO BE VERY COURTEOUS AND HELPFUL IN GETTING ME A TAXI, and LATER A RIDE IN THE SHUTTLE VAN. The shuttle driver/maintenance was very courteous, and helpful, with a good sense of humor. There is a need for quality assurance at this location. Spent Fri March 7, 2014 in Holiday Inn located in Cedar Rapids, Iowa and it was awesome. Far exceeded my expectations. March 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice hotel at a great price The lobby is very nice as are the rooms. They appear to be newly updated. The service was excellent. The rooms were typical of every other hotel we've stayed in, clean, but not spotless. Bed was very comfortable. As nice as the lobby and room was, the pool area needs some work. The painted mural is awesome, but the pool is actually crumbling, although it didn't bother my 12 year-old son too much! Overall, an excellent place to stay. February 26, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 next>>