Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Aug-27-2014)
(e.g. Aug-28-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 198 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by No internet connection We were unable to reach a log in screen for the hotel Wi-Fi. I contacted the front desk and they simply provided the log in credentials. I restated my problem that I was not able to reach a log in screen, and then was told that they would try to 'reboot' the system. This did not help. I have never run into this situation before with any hotel Wi-Fi. Had trouble with sink faucets - they seemed backwards and could not easily get them to turn off, and they continued to drip all night. However, one redeeming factor of your property was the shuttle driver Donald. I would return to stay at this hotel based completely on his friendliness. Aside from that, I'd choose someplace different. August 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Iowa State Fair I was judging a horse show at the Iowa State Fair and had stayed here before. This trip was a good or better than the last. The Holiday Inn was accommodating of my late arrival time and my schedule. The staff were all nice and made the stay wonderful. Looking forward to my next opportunity to visit Des Moines. August 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding! My family and I stayed at the HI Downtown Mercy Campus for 4 nights during the Junior Olympic Games as part of the Team USA sport stacking group. We were EXTREMELY satisfied with our stay. The entire hotel was very clean, the rooms were quiet and comfortable, and the hotel restaurant and bar were both terrific. However, the best thing about the hotel was the staff. They allowed us to use the large banquet/breakfast room for our kids to stack together, and also allowed us to use it for a large birthday party for our son--thank you! In addition, the staff was always willing to shuttle us and others in our group to/from the event center, local restaurants and attractions, the airport, and even Mass on Sunday--thank you again!!! When the JOs come back to Des Moines in a few years, I hope this remains a host hotel! All of you are to be commended. (only minor complaint is that the elevators are very slow) August 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Met needs Was a good location for a meeting I was attending at Mercy. Front desk staff helpful with providing assistance with directions. August 12, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by sleeping was impossible The street noise in the room made it almost impossible to sleep. It sounded like you were trying to sleep in the middle of a race track. Less expensive hotels offer a complimentary hot breakfast but not this expensive hotel! There was no mini fridge or microwave in this room that is also complimentary at less expensive hotels. very disappointed in whole experience. It worked for the pinch we were in but we will not stay at this hotel again. August 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location Great location, nice and clean. A little noisy with ambulance traffic as it is close to hospital. August 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place - fantastic service! Everyone on staff goes out of their way to accomodate their guests! Great food - breakfast staff was kind enough to wait for everyone, even though we were late coming downstairs. Also, loved the appetizers! Only thing I did not like is that you cannot take stairs up or down to rooms, so eveeryone is stuck waiting for elevators. August 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and friendly staff. We loved the loved the location of this hotel. It was easy to get on and off the highway as well as to downtown locations. The staff was very friendly. The restaurant food was very good. bar was nice, Beds, pillows and room was comfortable. The only problem we had is the street noise. Since it is located right off the highway and near a hospital the traffic was very loud. We heard sirens and loud engines through out the night. the hotel was very full so we were unable to switch to the other side of the building. If street noise doesn't bother you, this is an A+ hotel. Otherwise you can bring your ear plugs. I think the hotel would benefit from upgrading the windows. August 5, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by see prior comments see previous comments. We were awakened numerous times by trucks, motorcycles and emergency sirens. Complained to clerk at desk, who said manager would call but received no response. August 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice spot My family and I did enjoy our stay here... The Front Desk Staff were at least a 20 on a 1-10 scale! Great customer service. Great problem solvers with a smile! Cleaning staff forgot a couple items for my room but overall were fine. Dinning staff was fine August 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by AAU The hotel was very accommodating. I was there to officiate a gymnastics competition and found the hotel's free internet service a plus. August 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome pool! This was the best pool I have ever had at any US hotel. It had an 8' deep end that my kids loved! Breakfast buffet was good but kind of pricey. Service was a little slow in the restaurant. Since most ordered the buffet, I wasn't sure why they couldn't keep up refilling our waters. Bathroom counters were very small! Made it difficult to get 3 people ready in the morning. Comfy bed and great friendly staff overall! July 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Front Desk Service I had some confusion on my registration (plus had just come from the hospital and was frazled) and the front desk was very understanding and was able to help me with check-in- thank you thank you!! July 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place to Hold a Two Day Conference I already said this. The hotel staff was great, was there for a conference held in the business rooms and even when our lunch break was late, they opened up the lunch buffet for us at a group discounted rate, which was very accomodating. Room was comfortable, bar area was great for socializing and networking after the conference on the first night. We had coffee, water at the tables, and were given pads of paper and pens so we could take our own notes at the conference. It was a great experience at this hotel. July 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Late arrival business trip Check in was swift and courteous, staff lovely, room large and clean, bedding very comfortable. THe only complaints I had were my own fault. I did not notcie where to park and at that late hour was uncomfortable trying to find it (hotel is not in a business area and parking is not marked and is under the hotel). The other is that I was 5 minutes late for room service when I arrived in my room and was starving and couldn't get assistance) vending machines not desired). Other than that very good stay July 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay Great rooms. Check in and check out with ease. The front desk staff were very friendly, courteous and very helpful with recommendations for the downtown area. It was so great to have a shuttle service to take us where we needed to go. Kudos to Holiday Inn Downtown-Mercy Area! Highly recommend this hotel. July 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Family with a patient at Mercy Hospital Price was nice for family members with a family member in Mercy Hospital. Close to the hospital as well. July 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Uninformed about bed sizes Great overall, but the desk clerk by phone told me the HC room had a QUEEN-sized bed, when in fact the online statement of “DOUBLE” was correct. It seemed other guests had slept in the center, and as two had to sleep in a double bed, we both were tilted toward the middle, so sleeping was not great. July 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel We enjoyed our stay at this Holiday Inn. Clean, friendly and quite. July 13, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Too many loud guests We stopped driving to stay overnight on our way to Denver. There was a wedding, baseball teams and rodeo people staying there. Every time we got on the elevator all of the buttons were pushed and we had to stop at each floor whether someone was getting off or not- thanks to unsupervised boys who apologized the one time they got caught. The hostess at the restaurant sat our party of 4 in a booth even though there were open tables, we were ordering the buffet so it was inconvienient to get in and out. The buffet food wasn't very good anyway. The bacon was undercooked and greasy, the scrambled eggs were over cooked. July 11, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by OK for one night Toilet ran all night, air conditioner was loud the whole time, our phone wouldn't work and they couldn't fix it, no fridge in room, pool needs updated and no hot tub. July 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by wonderful bed and service.. wonderful stay. I would stay again and recommend it to others. July 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Considerate and professional staff I needed to have a comfortable and convenient place to reside while husband was a patient in Mercy Hospital.I found the Holiday Inn offered a cozy and comforting atmosphere to relax after a hectic wait at my husbands bedside. The staff was very considerate to my needs and added the extra time I had to stay. Their recommendations on other areas the shuttle could take me also helped as I was not familiar with the area. July 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice accomodations Very nice hotel, the only thing was the noise. Lots of ambulances and road noise. When ac was running all noise was cut out. Staff was very helpful when my husband got sick and we needed a clinic. July 2, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Lots of noise and front desk was bordering rude about it We checked in to a loud wedding reception being held over us. And the night before we checked out another loud party. If you like to go to sleep before midnight on Friday or Saturday this is not the hotel for you July 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient to other locations, great service The staff helped me out by setting up a meeting room that I was using. The next day, they adapted the room based on how they saw I needed to make arrangements within the room. They were able to provide other supplies as needed. Also, front desk was very helpful in tracking down other information and materials I needed. Housekeeping staff is wonderful and do good work. The location is close to the Mercy Medical Center, DMACC campus and the highway system so you can get to other places quickly. July 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by stay review Stay was great, however, outside freeway noise was more than I expected. If you are a light sleeper, just be aware, it is next to hospital. July 1, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location, But That's About It Before I dive too much into, I have to disclose that there was a wedding of 300 people the night I stayed. This killed any experience outside of the room in the hotel. Room was clean, the AC was spectacular, and the TV/Internet worked fine. I was disappointed that there was no hot tub in a hotel that large. Biggest complaint would be the parking. We actually had to wait for a spot to park in the underground, crowded garage that had 300 attacking birds living in it. June 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by business convention location and able to walk to convention center and other area sites. free parking and internet. ACHV was very user friendly. able to cool room temperature so sleeping was comfortable. stay at this hotel when in Des Moines for business. enjoy eating at restaurant located in hotel. June 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Des Moines Recon Trip Last summer's bus trip for an Omaha Storm Chasers / Iowa Cubs baseball game was our first time to the Greater Downtown Des Moines area. We decided then we wanted to explore the city/ river walk more in depth. I had won a silent auction at the game for a one night stay w/ breakfast at the Holiday Inn Downtown-Mercy Hotel, so we made plans to make a weekend trip. Upon arrival our room wasn't ready so we went downtown and had lunch at a local microbrewery. The doorman offered the hotel's shuttle service, which in the future we will accept. Once checked in, we found our room next to the vending machines and elevator. Had we paid full price for the room, we would have asked for another room. The room itself was very clean, smelled nice, and spacious. The bed was comfortable and the shower met my husband's height requirement. Our breakfast the next morning included the breakfast bar and was very tasty. Our server was a delight. Overall, we were very satisfied with our accommodations, and the staff was the friendliest I have experienced in a very long while. We will stay here again and highly recommend this hotel. June 21, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>