Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Aug-01-2014)
(e.g. Aug-02-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 178 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly Front desk Wonderful temperature of their swimming pool! The best! August 22, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not impressed I was not pleased with my room at this location.... The bathroom mirror was dirty in addition to a VERY dirty cleaning towl left on the bathroom sink. I've stayed in MANY Holiday Inn's and this one was by far the worst. The carpets in the hallway and the elevator we not clean- they were dirty and had trash on them. The lobby was nice, clean and updated but the room was seriously lacking. August 22, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by dirty rooms outdated and dirty. location not convenient, no parking, hard to get to, noisy location in poor part of town August 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location downtown Great location in downtown Des Moines - the shuttle to the state fair was within walking distance two blocks away. I used points for the first time and the room was huge - it had a very comfortable king size bed, sitting area and a microwave and refrigerator. The entrance and public areas have been updated since our last visit a few years ago. August 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay. I seldom give 5 star reviews but this hotel earned it. polite helpful staff. The bar & restaurant were very good.. August 19, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Work Visit Comfortable beds...I just wish they would get king size pillows for king size beds! August 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Nice! My friend and me came to Des Moines for a concert at the Iowa State Fair. The hotel was very easy to find and in a good location. Room was clean and very comfortable. But the best experience was with the wonderfull staff! Eveyone was so friendly and helpful, giving us tips about the Fair and accomodating our schedule. Thank you all! Your excellent customer service was appreciated. August 19, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by No microwave/refrigerator/breakfast We missed not having a microwave & refrigerator-always did in the past. Also, no complimentary breakfast-also always offered that in the past. Room was clean and restocked the 2nd day we were there. August 17, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by not bed we booked we booked a room with 2 queen beds and got i with 2 regular beds August 16, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Front desk was very nice and accommodating. The hotel gets hard use and it showed in areas. I stay in hotels 3 nights a week for work. I know due to this hotel's location it gets a lot of very hard use and it showed. The rooms were clean however both the beds were well beyond broken in. Beds lacked support at all. In fact three of the four of us occupying the room ranging in age from 14-46 woke up very stiff and sore backs. Maybe this was just a lemon of a room but two things I really look at in the value of a room is: was it clean and did we get a good nights sleep. August 15, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not very happy with air conditioning and being on the side of I-235 I was there for work, and the air conditioner would come on like the motor was going out or something. (Rm 522) I would be in bed early d/t having to get up by 3am. Plus, I was on the interstate side, which the windows weren't very sound proof, so I had interstate noise on top of it. The staff were really nice and helpful, but, parking was horrible. I understand these things may be able to be fixed in the future, I know I will stay there again... Thank you! August 12, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not so comfy bed, but modern scenery The design of the hotel is great. It has a modern look that is attractive. However, the quality of service was less than expected. Not to mention, it was extremely difficult to relax with the type of bedding used. I would recommed updating the room bathrooms. They were slightly outdated. August 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Bed comfy but bathroom small I would recommend staying here. The location is great, right off the expressway. Could walk to conference center. August 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice location downtown Very handy location right off the freeway. Excellent hotel and friendly staff, probably the only downside is for the light sleepers you'll probably have a helicopter wake you up sooner or later. Definitely recommend August 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Wedding Stay The rooms are alright for one or two night. The beds are only double so when you have two adults in them in can be crowded. Was disappointed with the breakfast in the restaurant. We had our daughter's wedding reception in the top of the tower ball room. The staff was amazing. It was an elegant evening filled with wonderful memories that will be cherished. If you are looking for a place to hold a reception or large event, this is the place to have it. Could not have been more pleased with everything. The staff went above and beyond to accommodate all our needs and the needs of our guests that were attending from a distance. They continued to be present throughout the entire evening and did everything they could to make it wonderful. Thank you!!! August 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay! Easy access to I 235. Very friendly staff that was at our service. If we ever come back to Des Moine,would stay here again! August 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasant Stay We had a very pleasant stay last weekend. The staff was friendly and seemed to enjoy their jobs. Room was decent ( just showing some age). Otherwise it was a great stay. The restaurant was great as well and our kids really enjoyed eating there. My husband did ordere a snickertini and halfway through found a dead fly floating in it but he's not the type to say anything. That was a minor mishap. The rest of our stay was great. Enjoyed the noon checkout as well. That allowed the kids to go swimming again on Sunday morning. August 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A Perfect Wedding Site! We traveled at least 8 hours to attend our nephew's wedding. This hotel was the wedding party's suggested accommodation. We were able to check in extra early . . . giving us time to eat lunch in the dining room, relax for a bit, and change clothes before heading to the church. The reception was held in the Tower of the hotel. Perfectly convenient! Our food was attractively served and delicious. The room was fresh and clean, the towels were fluffy and soft, and the mattress was extremely comfortable. August 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff We were staying here for a family surgery the staff went above and beyond. My son had to spend his birthday at the hotel the manager brought him cake so very nice of them. They also were fully booked and I found out we needed to stay one more night and they were able to find me a room. Thanks very very much. August 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very pleased Booked at the last minute and rate was really good, hotel staff were very accommodating and professional. Nice location and very safe. This location was just remodeled and was impressed with what they had done. Exceptionally clean, bed was very comfortable and the breakfast buffet was very very good. Next time I travel to Des Moines I certainly will stay there!!!! July 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly employees The staff at the hotel were so helpful and friendly. Restaurant inside serves excellent food. Rooms are average, but the rest makes up for it. July 18, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed and will not return The attitude of the staff was one of worst experiences we have had in our travels. We were at this location for business travel and stay at many ING hotels; we were shocked and disappointed at this place. We thought it was an isolated incident one day but each staff member we dealt with at this hotel was very unfriendly, curt and short with us. We are very friendly, we smile and laugh with everyone we meet; we were appalled with how the staff was just downright rude, unwelcoming and less than helpful. I don't know if the management of that hotel instructs everyone this way but I never write reviews or get that upset about this sort of thing, I thought maybe if it was just a few people having a bad day that would make sense. But seriously every person we came into contact with was rude and unfriendly all week. I also witnessed how they treated a few other couples, one being elderly I was disgusted and saddened that this hotels customer service could be so poor. I won't even touch upon the condition of the rooms and property. Not sure who to address this to being it a manager of this hotel or owner of this property but to not have working coffee makers in the room and then tell your guests they need to stand in line and CHARGE you $2/cup then not remedy your broken coffee maker is ridiculous. How much does it cost a hotel to put cheap free coffee in the lobby for your guests? How much does it cost to send business travelers who spend 250+ nights a year in a hotel away with this taste in our mouths? Our corporate travel department will certainly not be booking anyone we know at this property again. July 17, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel okay stay We stayed here for a convention downtown, location was nice. We needed a fridge and microwave which we did get our last night there. When I made the reservation I asked about them in the rooms and they said yes, but apparently I just asked out of curiosity because they told me I needed to have "request" one. Also had housekeeping come into our room twice without announcing themselves the morning of our checkout. Saturday night must have been a wedding and it was hard to find parking. Had breakfast at the restaurant once, went with the buffet because when we went to order and found out the menus in the room are not all current items or prices. We had it all planned what we were going to have but due to time we just had buffet. Food was good but paid more then we wanted. Our breakfast charge did not appear on our rapid checkout and when I went to the front desk had to wait around for at least 30min while they looked for it. I had to get going so their response was "just check with us later to see if we found it". Their response should have been "sorry for the inconvenience and making you wait, breakfast is on us", and not have made me wait or check back with them later. There was also 4 people checking out and only 1 person at the front desk. Overall I guess the stay was fine. July 15, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasantly surprised I chose this property based on its approximate location to the Des Moines YMCA. I did not want to deal with parking during the U.S. National Handball Championships held at the YMCA next to the river. I don't usually take meals at my hotels, but was happy I chose the hotel restaurant and draft beer from the lobby bar. The room was quite comfortable and I enjoyed the visit. July 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT SERVICE VERY NICE AND CLEAN STAFF WAS VERY FRIENDY. GREAT PLACE VERY NICE July 2, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Hotel I was there on business, I normally stay in another hotel brand but decided to try Holiday Inn again. Very sorry to report I was not very satisfied. I checked in and ordered room service, only to find out the menu in my room was outdated and they didn't have the ingredients to make what ordered. I then ordered a pizza from Dominos only to find out there is a policy tha requires me to leave my room and go "pick-up" my pizza at the front desk. Being there on business I require internet access. It was SLLOOOOOWWWW! I called the help line and was told they had some equipment that was down and had no idea when it would be back up. They didn't tell me ths at the front desk when I checked in otherwise I would not have checked in. All I received was the standard answer "we're sorry". Me too for staying there. June 26, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly service and great helpful staff Had a great time and enjoyed the premises and amenities at the hotel. They took good care of our crew. My only complaint was I had a room on the freeway side, even tho the view was great of the downtown area and the state capitol; the windows seals were failing and allowed wind whistle and ambulance sirens / traffic noise to be above ambient noise levels. Fix the windows and this would have been a 5 star establishment. Also I am a priority club member but did not receive the points because the room was booked under a business account, I would like Holiday Inn to find a way to still reward their members with some kind of points when they stay under these circumstances. June 24, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Older Hotel Under Renovation - Great for a meeting/ Horrible for Night's Stay The hotel is an older Holiday Inn property that is currently undergoing rennovations. We were hosting a 1 day meeting at the facility and the meeting staff was helpful and made all the arrangements as asked in a timely manner. The luncheon we had served was well cooked and presented nicely. However, there is only so much that can be done about an older hotel. While I applaud the changes that they have made so far to the public areas of the hotel, there was still the "smell" throughtout the 8th floor, not to mention the a/c never did cool down and the hot water in the shower never did get hot. Calls to the front desk brought apologies, but there were no other rooms to move to. Also, due to it's location to the hospital, the traffic #sirens/helicopters/etc# is quite loud and disruptive. Would I stay here again? Probably not. Would I recommend the meeting staff or venue for a meeting? Yes definately. June 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable accomodations, friendly staff. Thank you for the "welcome packet" with water and snacks. The continental breakfast was good with a variety of selections. Easy access and sufficient parking is available. June 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Mostly good service I had to remind them at check in about the complementary gift bag, but the front desk is the exception to most of the staff. The two older ladies that work in the restaurant, during breakfast, have always been great. Tamara has always been a welcome smile when relaxing in the bar, after working all day. She has always made us feel appreciated. June 18, 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 next>>