Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Aug-23-2014)
(e.g. Aug-24-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 193 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay! Easy access to I 235. Very friendly staff that was at our service. If we ever come back to Des Moine,would stay here again! August 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasant Stay We had a very pleasant stay last weekend. The staff was friendly and seemed to enjoy their jobs. Room was decent ( just showing some age). Otherwise it was a great stay. The restaurant was great as well and our kids really enjoyed eating there. My husband did ordere a snickertini and halfway through found a dead fly floating in it but he's not the type to say anything. That was a minor mishap. The rest of our stay was great. Enjoyed the noon checkout as well. That allowed the kids to go swimming again on Sunday morning. August 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A Perfect Wedding Site! We traveled at least 8 hours to attend our nephew's wedding. This hotel was the wedding party's suggested accommodation. We were able to check in extra early . . . giving us time to eat lunch in the dining room, relax for a bit, and change clothes before heading to the church. The reception was held in the Tower of the hotel. Perfectly convenient! Our food was attractively served and delicious. The room was fresh and clean, the towels were fluffy and soft, and the mattress was extremely comfortable. August 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff We were staying here for a family surgery the staff went above and beyond. My son had to spend his birthday at the hotel the manager brought him cake so very nice of them. They also were fully booked and I found out we needed to stay one more night and they were able to find me a room. Thanks very very much. August 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very pleased Booked at the last minute and rate was really good, hotel staff were very accommodating and professional. Nice location and very safe. This location was just remodeled and was impressed with what they had done. Exceptionally clean, bed was very comfortable and the breakfast buffet was very very good. Next time I travel to Des Moines I certainly will stay there!!!! July 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly employees The staff at the hotel were so helpful and friendly. Restaurant inside serves excellent food. Rooms are average, but the rest makes up for it. July 18, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed and will not return The attitude of the staff was one of worst experiences we have had in our travels. We were at this location for business travel and stay at many ING hotels; we were shocked and disappointed at this place. We thought it was an isolated incident one day but each staff member we dealt with at this hotel was very unfriendly, curt and short with us. We are very friendly, we smile and laugh with everyone we meet; we were appalled with how the staff was just downright rude, unwelcoming and less than helpful. I don't know if the management of that hotel instructs everyone this way but I never write reviews or get that upset about this sort of thing, I thought maybe if it was just a few people having a bad day that would make sense. But seriously every person we came into contact with was rude and unfriendly all week. I also witnessed how they treated a few other couples, one being elderly I was disgusted and saddened that this hotels customer service could be so poor. I won't even touch upon the condition of the rooms and property. Not sure who to address this to being it a manager of this hotel or owner of this property but to not have working coffee makers in the room and then tell your guests they need to stand in line and CHARGE you $2/cup then not remedy your broken coffee maker is ridiculous. How much does it cost a hotel to put cheap free coffee in the lobby for your guests? How much does it cost to send business travelers who spend 250+ nights a year in a hotel away with this taste in our mouths? Our corporate travel department will certainly not be booking anyone we know at this property again. July 17, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel okay stay We stayed here for a convention downtown, location was nice. We needed a fridge and microwave which we did get our last night there. When I made the reservation I asked about them in the rooms and they said yes, but apparently I just asked out of curiosity because they told me I needed to have "request" one. Also had housekeeping come into our room twice without announcing themselves the morning of our checkout. Saturday night must have been a wedding and it was hard to find parking. Had breakfast at the restaurant once, went with the buffet because when we went to order and found out the menus in the room are not all current items or prices. We had it all planned what we were going to have but due to time we just had buffet. Food was good but paid more then we wanted. Our breakfast charge did not appear on our rapid checkout and when I went to the front desk had to wait around for at least 30min while they looked for it. I had to get going so their response was "just check with us later to see if we found it". Their response should have been "sorry for the inconvenience and making you wait, breakfast is on us", and not have made me wait or check back with them later. There was also 4 people checking out and only 1 person at the front desk. Overall I guess the stay was fine. July 15, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasantly surprised I chose this property based on its approximate location to the Des Moines YMCA. I did not want to deal with parking during the U.S. National Handball Championships held at the YMCA next to the river. I don't usually take meals at my hotels, but was happy I chose the hotel restaurant and draft beer from the lobby bar. The room was quite comfortable and I enjoyed the visit. July 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT SERVICE VERY NICE AND CLEAN STAFF WAS VERY FRIENDY. GREAT PLACE VERY NICE July 2, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Hotel I was there on business, I normally stay in another hotel brand but decided to try Holiday Inn again. Very sorry to report I was not very satisfied. I checked in and ordered room service, only to find out the menu in my room was outdated and they didn't have the ingredients to make what ordered. I then ordered a pizza from Dominos only to find out there is a policy tha requires me to leave my room and go "pick-up" my pizza at the front desk. Being there on business I require internet access. It was SLLOOOOOWWWW! I called the help line and was told they had some equipment that was down and had no idea when it would be back up. They didn't tell me ths at the front desk when I checked in otherwise I would not have checked in. All I received was the standard answer "we're sorry". Me too for staying there. June 26, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly service and great helpful staff Had a great time and enjoyed the premises and amenities at the hotel. They took good care of our crew. My only complaint was I had a room on the freeway side, even tho the view was great of the downtown area and the state capitol; the windows seals were failing and allowed wind whistle and ambulance sirens / traffic noise to be above ambient noise levels. Fix the windows and this would have been a 5 star establishment. Also I am a priority club member but did not receive the points because the room was booked under a business account, I would like Holiday Inn to find a way to still reward their members with some kind of points when they stay under these circumstances. June 24, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Older Hotel Under Renovation - Great for a meeting/ Horrible for Night's Stay The hotel is an older Holiday Inn property that is currently undergoing rennovations. We were hosting a 1 day meeting at the facility and the meeting staff was helpful and made all the arrangements as asked in a timely manner. The luncheon we had served was well cooked and presented nicely. However, there is only so much that can be done about an older hotel. While I applaud the changes that they have made so far to the public areas of the hotel, there was still the "smell" throughtout the 8th floor, not to mention the a/c never did cool down and the hot water in the shower never did get hot. Calls to the front desk brought apologies, but there were no other rooms to move to. Also, due to it's location to the hospital, the traffic #sirens/helicopters/etc# is quite loud and disruptive. Would I stay here again? Probably not. Would I recommend the meeting staff or venue for a meeting? Yes definately. June 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable accomodations, friendly staff. Thank you for the "welcome packet" with water and snacks. The continental breakfast was good with a variety of selections. Easy access and sufficient parking is available. June 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Mostly good service I had to remind them at check in about the complementary gift bag, but the front desk is the exception to most of the staff. The two older ladies that work in the restaurant, during breakfast, have always been great. Tamara has always been a welcome smile when relaxing in the bar, after working all day. She has always made us feel appreciated. June 18, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Bit stingy Bit stingy with offering continental breakfast. At these prices everyone should get a continental breakfast. June 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Downtown stays So far during my travels to the Des Moines area I have stayed at each Holiday Inn, and even though they are all nice, this is the one that I truly recommend. The staff is great, the restaurant has quite good food at more than reasonable prices, and the bar has a good selection of beverages if one needs a night cap. Rooms are comfortable and very clean with up to date amenities. The Internet works well regardless of what floor you are on, and are right alongside the downtown area. June 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by staff and service Bartender was very unpleasant. Good place for a bar but get a new bartender. June 14, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Clean but noisy The interstate runs just outside your window if you are not on the parking lot side of the hotel so it was extremely noisy. It is near Mercy Hospital so we heard sirens several times throughout the night as well as the helicptor leaving and returning. Geared more for adults than children. We were with an athletic team. There was no area for us to gather as a group. Very small area in the shallow end of the pool and quickly goes to 8ft deep. The couple tables that were in the pool area had dirty dishes and leftover pizza boxes on them for several hours and were actually still there when the pool closed. Rooms were clean. Staff was friendly. June 8, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn-Mercy Hotel is worn out.... This property should be a 1 star or less. They are spending money fixing the common areas such as the bar area, which is a good strategy, because if you drink enough, you may miss out on the musty smelling rooms, windows that let in all the wonderful sounds of Helicopters and ambulances heading towards Mercy Hospital. (1 block away) Did I mention you can hear every car, truck and Harley that drives on I235 if your blessed with a view of Downtown Des Moines (South) I have tons of Priority Club points and will not stay even for free at this Hotel again. June 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location and Delicious Desserts! This hotel was in a good location. It was right in the heart of Des Moines, so it was easy to get to places within the city. I definitely recommend the onsite hotel for desserts. After eating dinner elsewhere, my young daughter and I wanted dessert. They do not have a written dessert menu for the restaurant, but they do have several desserts available. I got the chocolate cake, and my daughter got a brownie sundae. Both were excellent. The next morning, we had the breakfast buffet, which had a variety of items, but the food was just okay. I would stay here again and definitely get a dessert! June 6, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by No morning lobby coffee. No morning coffee in the loby - Bad, Bad, Bad. Will avoid this hotel in the future. June 2, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed This hotel is antiquated to say the least. As Priority Club members we inquired re: an upgrade to which the staff made NO verbal response but the "how dare we" came across loud and clear. We were subsequently given a larger room that appeared to not have been freshened in weeks. Aside from trash on the carpet, there were spider webs in the corners, and the in-room coffeemaker had, at best, only been rinsed since it had last been used. The bathroom was tiny, inconvenient, and poorly lit. We ate dinner onsite. Martinis tasted pre-mixed; Caesar salad was room temperature, over-dressed, and the lettuce was noticeably old and flabby. Sandwich was ill-conceived, poorly executed, and underwhelming. Bartender/waitress commented on the inconvenience of a minor change in our order. May 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good breakfast We had breakfast in the restaurant, which was delicious with large portions but the down side was the service was really slow. I don't know if it was because we didn't have the buffet or maybe our waitress wasn't aware we were seated in her section. She was pleasant and accommodating. May 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great shuttle driver Always great front desk staff but our shuttle driver was fabulous, great people skills May 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by nice and quiet for being downtown always appreciate the great service as a Priority Club member. Beds are always comfortable and quiet, so I always wake up refreshed. May 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice stay Check in was reasonably easy. Just a little glitch with a young woman with an attitude. She wasn't outright rude, but she had an attitude and wasn't friendly. I received my Priority Club bag and went to my room which was very nice, clean and comfortable. Love the choice of soft or firm pillows. I love the remodeling that has been done. The new bar area and restaurant is beautiful and welcoming. I ate two nights at Genevieve's and it was delicious both times. When I returned home, I realized that I had left my IPAD charger in my room. I called and the young lady with attitude answered. (Yes, I recognized her voice) I explained my situation and she told me that I needed to speak to housekeeping on Friday. I asked if the housekeepers turn in lost items at the desk and again, she informed me that I needed to contact housekeeping on Friday morning. End of conversation. I called on Friday morning and asked for housekeeping. I left a message on their voice mail and now today is Tuesday and I still haven't heard from the housekeeper, manager or anyone else concerning my charger. Even with the noise from the construction and the helicopters flying overhead, I love the hotel. My job requires me to travel to Des Moines at least 8 times a year for about three days each visit. Unfortunately, I don't feel very welcome at this hotel most of the time. They check me in only because that is their job, not because I am a person and they need people like me to keep the hotel in business. I am over 65 with white hair. I guess I should be used to it by now. May 21, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Slow, poor service The hotel itself was fine. We just had horrible customer service at many different levels. First dining experience was miserable....although we were a fairly large group we were the only ones in the restaurant and that was COMPLETELY OVERWHELMING for the staff. Took FOREVER to get our checks!!!!!! Staff was not responsive to noise complaints.....when LOUD, disruptive guests were complained about they did not reprimand them but actually moved the poor person who could not get any sleep!!! Paper thin walls, noisy hallways. Just overall poor service!! One bright spot.....Dan the bartender :-) May 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Expereince Came into Des Moines for just one night but spent most of the day of my stay at the hotel and most of the next morning for meetings. The staff treated me and my team members like superstars! No request to small, no worries and always a smile. What a great staff, a wonderful hotel and an excellent place to have a meeting in Des Moines. April 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Snickertini!! We were in town to visit our son who is studying at a local university. As always, the staff were very accomodating and helpful! The hotel is under renovation, but the work was almost complete. We LOVED the new design of the bar area. It is so much more inviting than the old bar and lounge area. Also, the bartenders were so amazing, friendly and fun! I HIGHLY recommend the snickertini! I looked forward to my nightly snickertini and visit with the bar staff each night we were in town. Thanks so much for another great stay!! April 26, 2013
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 next>>