• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Nov-28-2014)
(e.g. Nov-29-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: DES MOINES
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-06:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:6
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

No Pets Allowed.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Pappajohn Sculpture Park
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:350
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary Parking in two above ground lots and underground garage parking available as well.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Business Center

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2010
  • Total number of rooms:251
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:67
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:159
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:251
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:6
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:12

Hotel in Des Moines Near Mercy Medical Center

Welcome to the updated Holiday Inn® Des Moines - Downtown - Mercy Campus hotel. Our downtown Des Moines hotel's location is close to the biggest attractions in town.

Business guests appreciate being near The Civic Center of Des Moines, state offices, the Capitol and local businesses. More than that, having free high-speed, wireless Internet access and a complimentary business center makes it easy to stay productive. Add in free
View More

Hotel in Des Moines Near Mercy Medical Center

Welcome to the updated Holiday Inn® Des Moines - Downtown - Mercy Campus hotel. Our downtown Des Moines hotel's location is close to the biggest attractions in town.

Business guests appreciate being near The Civic Center of Des Moines, state offices, the Capitol and local businesses. More than that, having free high-speed, wireless Internet access and a complimentary business center makes it easy to stay productive. Add in free parking and airport shuttle service and you'll see why our hotel is the best for Des Moines business travelers.

Since we're close to the Iowa Events Center, we're the best choice among downtown Des Moines, IA hotels for leisure travelers. Our vibrant city offers a wealth of things to do, and our dedicated staff can offer suggestions and directions to the historic Court Avenue District, East Village and the popular Pappajohn Sculpture Garden nearby in Western Gateway Park.

No matter what brings you to our hotel, our Des Moines staff is ready to make your stay memorable. From free parking to a fitness center and indoor pool, your stay is stress-free. Enjoy a nightcap or a delicious meal in our newly renovated lounge, Cityscape. Our rooms offer an oasis of comfort with fresh, updated style and amenities, and stunning views. Make your next visit to downtown Des Moines, IA a pleasure. Our hotel's staff is looking forward to your visit. View Less

Features
You're going to love the changes we've made. Fresh, updated design, a stylish and open lobby and newly renovated restaurant and lounge may be different, but our Des Moines, IA hotel's staff continues to offer friendly and efficient service.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 165 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice property Stayed here as part of a weekend at Drake. Liked walking to campus. Breakfast above average. Room fine. Staff very nice. Bathroom crowded -- property was not built as a Holiday Inn. Breakfast room is on the first floor, between two guest rooms, and across from others. Noisy starting at 6 a.m., and sometimes noisy at night if folks are gathered inside talking, playing cards, etc. I asked desk clerk to quiet "them" down one night after 10, and she said, "Certainly," and the noise disappeared. Maybe stay away from this room when booking. Special Drake rate seemed reasonable. November 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service We stopped at the Holiday Inn Express after travelling several hours in horrible weather. It was very refreshing to arrive and the staff what very hospitable. October 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable bed and pillows, friendly staff Staff helped with directions, recommended restaurants, and helped with wake up call ( regarding time to airport, etc. October 27, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by ed nice and comfortable. It is not fancy. A bit overpriced for what is offered but I have stayed here many time for business and it meets basic needs. The staff is great. October 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay!! Love this hotel, great location and very friendly staff. October 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly Staff Front Staff and others at hotel were very helpful and friendly. October 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Greta place to Stay @ Drake Overall great hotel while visiting students at Drake. October 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by overall comfortable very nice and friendly environment. staffs are cooperative, enough food, reasonable price, good location, lot of restaurants are available nearest of the hotel. October 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location When Visiting Drake University Located basically across the street from Drake, convenient access to and from the Interstate. Nice hotel for the money. It is not new, but is overall well maintained. Very helpful and friendly staff. Pillows could use some improvement. October 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel location and service Very conveniently located hotel. Staff was super friendly and helpful. Rooms and amenities are fine, price cannot be beaten. October 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel in Heart of Des Moines This is a really nice, clean comfortable hotel, with great service and especially good breakfast options. October 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay. Excellent value Very nice HI-E, easy access to downtown and Interstate, plenty of local amenities. Very quiet and safe location just off campus of Drake University. Have stayed two other times and never any complaints. Bathrooms could use a little more attention to detail and a little better lighting. Highly Recommend this Holiday Inn-Express location! October 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly Staff Overall good value; breakfast and staff attention was great. October 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always Nice Place to Stay The staff at the hotel are always pleasant no matter the time I arrive. Very convenient to the school campus. October 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Satisfied and content Love staying at this hotel because the staff is very friendly and they attend to my every need. October 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay, close to Drake Great Hotel in a very convenient location for Drake University activities. October 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location Great location. Close to downtown and restaurants. September 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasant Experience Very comfortable and priced right for the business traveler. Samantha was very helpful during my pre and post arrival. She was a pleasure to work with and she took care of everything per my request prior to arrival. GREAT Job!! September 23, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Dorm Room This place is a dump. Worst express I've ever stayed at September 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place to stay Nice place to stay. rooms were clean and comfortable . A nice diner and other restaurants within walking distance. I would stay there again. September 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff and location Visiting student at Drake U, so location was the best, the room was great, don't know if could have asked for a small fridge, but room very comfortable, free wifi and great towels and bed, afternoon cookies a really nice surprise! Very friendly and helpful staff . Would highly recommend. September 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice room Our room was clean and we slept very good. The breakfast was also good. September 3, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Just passing through We stayed one night in this hotel on our way to the farm progress show. This hotel will fulfill your needs if all you want is a place to sleep. It is located near a college, and staffed by college kids (based on my experience), so it seemed to have a different feel to it ........ not sure why. But, again, it provided a place to sleep for the night, which is all I was expecting. Nothing fancy about the hotel, just a basic place to stay. September 3, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Carpet soaked Second time at this property. The staff makes it pleasant enough. They do a good job with what they have to work with. Rooms are tired and old, but the bathroom was very clean. I knew I had a problem when i opened my room door and the ac fan was running full blast. I was too tired, at 12:30 am, to do anything about the mildly damp and musty odor. I soon found out why the fan was on so high when i tried to quiet it a bit walking over to the unit under the window: squish, squish. The carpet was soaked, presumably from the day's rain. But it was only me, and I'd be gone in 8 hours or so. No real issue, just don't go the that side of the room. I do wish the room would have smelled better, though. The Breakfast room is spacious and not near as compact as most HIEs. The long straight countertop is easy to navigate with other guests, unlike the L-shaped counters at many HIEs. Good selections. Clean room and attentive support person. When I mentioned the wet carpet upon checkout, the only comment I got was that they were waiting on the University for repairs. That, I did think, was an inadequate response. Let's see if property management responds to this note/review. August 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by convenient location This hotel is right next to the Drake University campus. We have stayed here multiple times and will definitely return! August 28, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Decent value Hotel is a little tired, but it is a good value and close to Drake. Room had a very musty smell, likely from an overworked AC unit. Towels were a little old. Breakfast was just OK, but likely due to us going at peak time when items were limited and the room crowded. We have stayed here before becauce our son is at Drake, and we have stayed there on travels through Des Moines. No big amenities, but it's a decent bed close to the highway, so a good value. August 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice room and friendly staff We stayed two nights and were very pleased with the hotel August 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Place to Stay Great location for Drake events. Friendly staff and comfy beds. August 27, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by old and i need of a face lift nice place near Drake, however they need to redo the hotel and get it updated! August 25, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Old, tired, not up to HIE Standards, Make them update, or don't let them be flagged an HIE I am pretty loyal to IHG. Due to geography, I mostly stay in HIE properties. The point of staying in a chain property is because I know what to expect. They are supposed to have brand standards across all properties. Apparently, this hotel slipped by. This used to be a hotel owned by Drake University and at some point it became a HIE. It is in dire need of updates. All of the finishes, floors, windows, bedding and especially bathrooms. It was almost bad enough that I went to a different hotel. But, I was only there for one night so I figured I could make it. The bathroom was old and worn out (see pics). When the room is this old, it looks dirty, whether it actually is or not. Plus with the crumbling ceiling and rust spots in the bathtub, I don't think they are keeping up on their maintenance. If a property can't do regular maintenance properly, then I question their ability to do effective cleaning. This property also seems to have electrical problems. There seems to be "mini/micro" surges that would flicker the lights and cause my noise machine app to skip. Very annoying and made it difficult to sleep. The staff I dealt with at the front desk and the breakfast area were both great. IHG in general does not seem to be consistent across brands. I have stayed at really nice HIEs and then ones like this. Regular Holiday Inns are always hit or miss. IHG, please do a better job of enforcing brand standards. I want to know that I will always be getting a similar level of quality/comfort when I stay at HIE. August 24, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>
Hotel Holiday Inn Downtown Des Moines, Iowa
Hotel Holiday Inn Downtown Des Moines, Iowa
Select to close.
Hotel Holiday Inn Downtown Des Moines, Iowa Entrance hotel Holiday Inn Downtown Des Moines Hotel Lobby Holiday Inn Downtown Mercy View from Hotel downtown Des Moines Atrium- Lobby hotel downtown Des Moines Holiday Inn Front Desk Hotel Holiday Inn Downtown Des Moines, Iowa Cityscape Lounge Lobby Level Downtown Des Moines Hotel Holiday Inn Scenery / Landscape view of downtown Des Moines from Holiday Inn Hotel Downtown Des Moines, Iowa Holiday Inn
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Nov-28-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Nov-29-2014)
Check Availability
Loading