• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-21-2014)
(e.g. Sep-22-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: DES MOINES
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:6
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

No Pets Allowed.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Pappajohn Sculpture Park
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:350
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary Parking in two above ground lots and underground garage parking available as well.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Business Center

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2010
  • Total number of rooms:251
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:67
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:159
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:251
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:6
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:12

Hotel in Des Moines Near Mercy Medical Center

Welcome to the updated Holiday Inn® Des Moines - Downtown - Mercy Campus hotel. Our downtown Des Moines hotel's location is close to the biggest attractions in town.

Business guests appreciate being near The Civic Center of Des Moines, state offices, the Capitol and local businesses. More than that, having free high-speed, wireless Internet access and a complimentary business center makes it easy to stay productive. Add in free
View More

Hotel in Des Moines Near Mercy Medical Center

Welcome to the updated Holiday Inn® Des Moines - Downtown - Mercy Campus hotel. Our downtown Des Moines hotel's location is close to the biggest attractions in town.

Business guests appreciate being near The Civic Center of Des Moines, state offices, the Capitol and local businesses. More than that, having free high-speed, wireless Internet access and a complimentary business center makes it easy to stay productive. Add in free parking and airport shuttle service and you'll see why our hotel is the best for Des Moines business travelers.

Since we're close to the Iowa Events Center, we're the best choice among downtown Des Moines, IA hotels for leisure travelers. Our vibrant city offers a wealth of things to do, and our dedicated staff can offer suggestions and directions to the historic Court Avenue District, East Village and the popular Pappajohn Sculpture Garden nearby in Western Gateway Park.

No matter what brings you to our hotel, our Des Moines staff is ready to make your stay memorable. From free parking to a fitness center and indoor pool, your stay is stress-free. Enjoy a nightcap or a delicious meal in our newly renovated lounge, Cityscape. Our rooms offer an oasis of comfort with fresh, updated style and amenities, and stunning views. Make your next visit to downtown Des Moines, IA a pleasure. Our hotel's staff is looking forward to your visit. View Less

Features
You're going to love the changes we've made. Fresh, updated design, a stylish and open lobby and newly renovated restaurant and lounge may be different, but our Des Moines, IA hotel's staff continues to offer friendly and efficient service.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 138 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Place to Stay Great location for Drake events. Friendly staff and comfy beds. August 27, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by old and i need of a face lift nice place near Drake, however they need to redo the hotel and get it updated! August 25, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Old, tired, not up to HIE Standards, Make them update, or don't let them be flagged an HIE I am pretty loyal to IHG. Due to geography, I mostly stay in HIE properties. The point of staying in a chain property is because I know what to expect. They are supposed to have brand standards across all properties. Apparently, this hotel slipped by. This used to be a hotel owned by Drake University and at some point it became a HIE. It is in dire need of updates. All of the finishes, floors, windows, bedding and especially bathrooms. It was almost bad enough that I went to a different hotel. But, I was only there for one night so I figured I could make it. The bathroom was old and worn out (see pics). When the room is this old, it looks dirty, whether it actually is or not. Plus with the crumbling ceiling and rust spots in the bathtub, I don't think they are keeping up on their maintenance. If a property can't do regular maintenance properly, then I question their ability to do effective cleaning. This property also seems to have electrical problems. There seems to be "mini/micro" surges that would flicker the lights and cause my noise machine app to skip. Very annoying and made it difficult to sleep. The staff I dealt with at the front desk and the breakfast area were both great. IHG in general does not seem to be consistent across brands. I have stayed at really nice HIEs and then ones like this. Regular Holiday Inns are always hit or miss. IHG, please do a better job of enforcing brand standards. I want to know that I will always be getting a similar level of quality/comfort when I stay at HIE. August 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable quiet room Good for overnight stopover while travelling. Front desk was very efficient and welcoming. Drake Diner next door had wide selection for supper. Bed was comfortable, blockout curtains helped us sleep in. Room was spacious. Several options at free breakfast August 19, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Stay at the Drake The staff was great... However, the room was in disrepair w/ peeling paint on the bathroom ceiling, dated furnishings, and a very old, loud A/C unit. If it had been extremely hot, I doubt the unit would have effectively cooled the room. This hotel is in desperate need of updating - other Express Inns at which I have stayed have been in much better condition. August 18, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by poorly maintained we chose this hotel because we usually know what to expect from a Holiday Inn Express. This inn was the exception. Poorly maintained especially in the bathroom, The door knob was so loose that I was unable to open the door after closing it. Finally was able to get the door open and report to the front desk. Desk person came down with a screwdriver and tried to fix but could not. Toilet ran thru continually and was very annoying. cleaning staff was exceptionally loud early in the morning. August 17, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Okay The hotel and staff met expectations, but we did not feel comfortable with the surrounding area. August 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed The beds were very comfortable and the room was as well in terms of temperature and the like. The greatest concern was the bathroom cleanliness and upkeep. The biggest problems were blood stains on the wall and also the fact that the larger towel were not replaced for the second night of our stay by the staff responsible for that function. August 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by One of the best! We always stay at this hotel when coming to Adventureland! Its a little farther but definitely worth the drive. Super quiet and clean! August 15, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by No TV, no telephone dialtone Eager to rest after delayed flight and late arrival; however, could not watch television, nor set wake-up. Not in a hurry, even thought I might take in Iowa State Fair, but struck out for northeast Missouri home forenoon. August 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and good breakfast selection Bed were very comfortable pillows were great Breakfast bar was very diverse August 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful Hotel We had a pleasant stay at the Hotel there in Des Moines. It was very easy to schedule our stay there and the check in was very smooth. The breakfast was awesome! August 12, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Smelly and Damp As a bi-weekly user of IHG properties, this will definitely be a property I will not return to. The room was so damp the carpet was moist, awful smell, ceiling above the shower was dripping from the upstairs bathroom. Because of the dampness of the room the bathroom door would not close because it was so warped. Hallway was littered with towels in the morning from housekeeping and just yuck!! Major renovations need to be done at this property and sooner than later... August 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Express - Des Moines At Drake Univ One of the best Holiday Inn Express facilities, excellent location, extremely nice grounds, within walking distance to several restaurants, comfortable beds and pillows, very clean rooms, very pleasant stay August 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by An alright place to stay. I think the only reason for the price I paid was due to location. I've stayed in much nicer properites for quite a bit less. Other than that, this property is simply a place to stay, nothing exceptional. My biggest complaint would be not having a clean room available at check-in. Both the individual checking in ahead of me and myself were delayed because at 3pm rooms were still not available for check-in. August 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent value and great location My daughter and I stayed at this hotel while visiting Drake University during Iowa Private College Week. We were only 2 blocks from campus. We will certainly stay there again on future visits. August 7, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Rennovation needed We chose this hotel strictly for the location during the AAU Junior Olympics. Most of the staff were pleasant and the bathroom was clean. However, the carpets are stained and the room always smelled musty. We bought air freshener clips to mask the odor. This hotel needs to replace all the carpet, add mini refrigerators to the room and eliminate the sliding doors on the first floor. August 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service and good location for Drake University Great hotel with good service near Drake University. We go there all the time (when it's not booked) during our Des Moines visits. On occasion, they do have events and it can be noisy, but that has not been our general experience. August 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place to Stay This was a good hotel for walking over to Drake Univ...The breakfast was fine...the kids enjoyed themselves...we just wish they had a pool for the last day of stay.... August 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable room The whole experience was good but, want to add that in the handicapped room we were changed to, did not have an exhaust fan in bath. Got very foggy and needed to wipe down mirror each time to see. August 7, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Good Value As we have come to expect from most of our holiday inn express experiences, we had a nice stay. However, this is the very first IHG we stayed in where we will not return. Some of the front desk staff was unfriendly. Upon checking in, we were told our room may not be ready yet? It was already 6pm and that is unacceptable! Throughout the entire hotel (with the exception of our room) it was filthy. The floors and stairways, as well as the elevators had not been cleaned/vacuumed and there were stains everywhere. Although our room was fairly clean, there were "hairs" in the tub and it looked as though it had been "cleaned" with a dirty cloth. The best experience was the breakfast and the value for the room we received. The breakfast staff (I did not get the young girls name) was extremely friendly, welcoming and accommodating. August 6, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Mixed Review The reason we chose this hotel was it's proximity to Drake Stadium for a track event. So for that reason, we liked the hotel. However, our room always had a musty odor and we bought air freshener clips to help cover that. The beds were comfortable. The carpets were stained. The bathroom was a decent size. Did not like the sliding door of our first floor room opening onto a courtyard. And with that came night time noise from other families and children. Overall, the hotel just needs to update and replace all carpet. Also, add a second ice machine and vending machine. Many times during our stay the ice machine was out of ice. August 5, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by COMFORTABLE BED, HOUSEKEEPERS PLEASANT !! YOUR BREAKFAST EXPERIENCE NEEDS LOTS OF HELP. YOU RAN OUT OF FOOD--THE PEOPLE WERE TRIPING OVER EACH OTHER TO TRY AND GO BACK AND FORTH TO THE FRONT DEST TO HEAT AND PREPARE MORE FOOD, THEY NEED A BIGGER KITCHEN AREA, AND A BIGGER OVEN TO PREPARE FOR THEIR GUESTS. THEY WERE FRUSTRATED, AND ASKED US TO REPORT THIS TO YOU. AS YOU KNOW, FOOD IS ONE OF OUR BASIC NEEDS, AND PREPARATION FOR THE QUALITY AND AVAILABILITY OF IT IS ESSENTIAL !! WE HAVE BEEN AT YOUR OTHER LOCATIONS --WE WERE SHOCKED AT YOUR INABILITY TO SERVE A PROPER BREAKFAST. YOUR ADVERTISEMENT DOES NOT RING TRUE AT THIS LOCATION. ON ANOTHER NOTE, ASHLEY, AT THE FRONT DESK WAS A JOY TO WORK WITH. SHE HAS A MOST PLEASANT TELEPHONE VOICE,AND IS AN ASSET TO YOUR COMPANY. August 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Location I was so impressed with the location and size of this hotel A property on the Drake campus and convenient for walking and dining. Nice atmosphere July 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service Excellent service, staff was friendly and helpful at every interaction. Very clean in every area which makes for better sleep. Excellent! July 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great check in service We were greeted. The clerk did not know I was a Priority Club member until he saw my card and saw in the computer that I had been a member over 10 years. At another hotel in Abilene Kansas we were even given bottles of water because we were members. Des Moines hotel only gave us internet service and late check out which we did not use since we were awakened so early because of banging doors. July 24, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Terrible experience For the third stay, we have encountered service that I find unacceptable in a Holiday Inn. The front desk personnel is rude and does not appear to be glad you are a hotel guest. For reward members they do not inform you of the points or treat bag option. The rooms SMELL. The beds are not comfortable. The a/c systems are highly ineffective. The rooms are clean and the breakfast options are good - but that is the only positive comment I can make. This last stay we cancelled our days after the first night and went to HI - Mercy also in Des Moines. That is an awesome HI. July 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service, hotel very comfortable. I liked the hotel. It was comfortable and I had a great stay. The hotel also provided a free breakfast which was wonderful, a variety of good food. Just great. People were very nice. Staff real good. I would stay there again. July 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice, Clean Rooms Spacious and clean rooms. Easy to access. Breakfast area could be bigger . . . went once and had to leave because it was full. Came back a short time later and was able to eat. Loved the diner next door for dinner. Heard a thumping noise off and on throughout the night that made sleep a little difficult. Overall, a nice place to stay. July 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by No pool The lack of a pool or workout room is a disadvantage for this hotel. The breakfast room would have been cleaner if the gal had cleaned the tables after us during some of her way too frequent in and out visits that were to the point of being annoying. July 17, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Hotel Holiday Inn Downtown Des Moines, Iowa
Hotel Holiday Inn Downtown Des Moines, Iowa
Select to close.
Hotel Holiday Inn Downtown Des Moines, Iowa Entrance hotel Holiday Inn Downtown Des Moines Hotel Lobby Holiday Inn Downtown Mercy View from Hotel downtown Des Moines Atrium- Lobby hotel downtown Des Moines Holiday Inn Front Desk Hotel Holiday Inn Downtown Des Moines, Iowa Cityscape Lounge Lobby Level Downtown Des Moines Hotel Holiday Inn Scenery / Landscape view of downtown Des Moines from Holiday Inn Hotel Downtown Des Moines, Iowa Holiday Inn
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-21-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-22-2014)
Check Availability
Loading