• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Aug-30-2014)
(e.g. Aug-31-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: DES MOINES
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:6
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

No Pets Allowed.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Pappajohn Sculpture Park
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:350
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary Parking in two above ground lots and underground garage parking available as well.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Business Center

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2010
  • Total number of rooms:251
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:67
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:159
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:251
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:6
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:12

Hotel in Des Moines Near Mercy Medical Center

Welcome to the updated Holiday Inn® Des Moines - Downtown - Mercy Campus hotel. Our downtown Des Moines hotel's location is close to the biggest attractions in town.

Business guests appreciate being near The Civic Center of Des Moines, state offices, the Capitol and local businesses. More than that, having free high-speed, wireless Internet access and a complimentary business center makes it easy to stay productive. Add in free
View More

Hotel in Des Moines Near Mercy Medical Center

Welcome to the updated Holiday Inn® Des Moines - Downtown - Mercy Campus hotel. Our downtown Des Moines hotel's location is close to the biggest attractions in town.

Business guests appreciate being near The Civic Center of Des Moines, state offices, the Capitol and local businesses. More than that, having free high-speed, wireless Internet access and a complimentary business center makes it easy to stay productive. Add in free parking and airport shuttle service and you'll see why our hotel is the best for Des Moines business travelers.

Since we're close to the Iowa Events Center, we're the best choice among downtown Des Moines, IA hotels for leisure travelers. Our vibrant city offers a wealth of things to do, and our dedicated staff can offer suggestions and directions to the historic Court Avenue District, East Village and the popular Pappajohn Sculpture Garden nearby in Western Gateway Park.

No matter what brings you to our hotel, our Des Moines staff is ready to make your stay memorable. From free parking to a fitness center and indoor pool, your stay is stress-free. Enjoy a nightcap or a delicious meal in our newly renovated lounge, Cityscape. Our rooms offer an oasis of comfort with fresh, updated style and amenities, and stunning views. Make your next visit to downtown Des Moines, IA a pleasure. Our hotel's staff is looking forward to your visit. View Less

Features
You're going to love the changes we've made. Fresh, updated design, a stylish and open lobby and newly renovated restaurant and lounge may be different, but our Des Moines, IA hotel's staff continues to offer friendly and efficient service.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 129 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by No TV, no telephone dialtone Eager to rest after delayed flight and late arrival; however, could not watch television, nor set wake-up. Not in a hurry, even thought I might take in Iowa State Fair, but struck out for northeast Missouri home forenoon. August 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and good breakfast selection Bed were very comfortable pillows were great Breakfast bar was very diverse August 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful Hotel We had a pleasant stay at the Hotel there in Des Moines. It was very easy to schedule our stay there and the check in was very smooth. The breakfast was awesome! August 12, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Smelly and Damp As a bi-weekly user of IHG properties, this will definitely be a property I will not return to. The room was so damp the carpet was moist, awful smell, ceiling above the shower was dripping from the upstairs bathroom. Because of the dampness of the room the bathroom door would not close because it was so warped. Hallway was littered with towels in the morning from housekeeping and just yuck!! Major renovations need to be done at this property and sooner than later... August 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Express - Des Moines At Drake Univ One of the best Holiday Inn Express facilities, excellent location, extremely nice grounds, within walking distance to several restaurants, comfortable beds and pillows, very clean rooms, very pleasant stay August 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by An alright place to stay. I think the only reason for the price I paid was due to location. I've stayed in much nicer properites for quite a bit less. Other than that, this property is simply a place to stay, nothing exceptional. My biggest complaint would be not having a clean room available at check-in. Both the individual checking in ahead of me and myself were delayed because at 3pm rooms were still not available for check-in. August 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent value and great location My daughter and I stayed at this hotel while visiting Drake University during Iowa Private College Week. We were only 2 blocks from campus. We will certainly stay there again on future visits. August 7, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Rennovation needed We chose this hotel strictly for the location during the AAU Junior Olympics. Most of the staff were pleasant and the bathroom was clean. However, the carpets are stained and the room always smelled musty. We bought air freshener clips to mask the odor. This hotel needs to replace all the carpet, add mini refrigerators to the room and eliminate the sliding doors on the first floor. August 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service and good location for Drake University Great hotel with good service near Drake University. We go there all the time (when it's not booked) during our Des Moines visits. On occasion, they do have events and it can be noisy, but that has not been our general experience. August 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place to Stay This was a good hotel for walking over to Drake Univ...The breakfast was fine...the kids enjoyed themselves...we just wish they had a pool for the last day of stay.... August 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable room The whole experience was good but, want to add that in the handicapped room we were changed to, did not have an exhaust fan in bath. Got very foggy and needed to wipe down mirror each time to see. August 7, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Good Value As we have come to expect from most of our holiday inn express experiences, we had a nice stay. However, this is the very first IHG we stayed in where we will not return. Some of the front desk staff was unfriendly. Upon checking in, we were told our room may not be ready yet? It was already 6pm and that is unacceptable! Throughout the entire hotel (with the exception of our room) it was filthy. The floors and stairways, as well as the elevators had not been cleaned/vacuumed and there were stains everywhere. Although our room was fairly clean, there were "hairs" in the tub and it looked as though it had been "cleaned" with a dirty cloth. The best experience was the breakfast and the value for the room we received. The breakfast staff (I did not get the young girls name) was extremely friendly, welcoming and accommodating. August 6, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Mixed Review The reason we chose this hotel was it's proximity to Drake Stadium for a track event. So for that reason, we liked the hotel. However, our room always had a musty odor and we bought air freshener clips to help cover that. The beds were comfortable. The carpets were stained. The bathroom was a decent size. Did not like the sliding door of our first floor room opening onto a courtyard. And with that came night time noise from other families and children. Overall, the hotel just needs to update and replace all carpet. Also, add a second ice machine and vending machine. Many times during our stay the ice machine was out of ice. August 5, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by COMFORTABLE BED, HOUSEKEEPERS PLEASANT !! YOUR BREAKFAST EXPERIENCE NEEDS LOTS OF HELP. YOU RAN OUT OF FOOD--THE PEOPLE WERE TRIPING OVER EACH OTHER TO TRY AND GO BACK AND FORTH TO THE FRONT DEST TO HEAT AND PREPARE MORE FOOD, THEY NEED A BIGGER KITCHEN AREA, AND A BIGGER OVEN TO PREPARE FOR THEIR GUESTS. THEY WERE FRUSTRATED, AND ASKED US TO REPORT THIS TO YOU. AS YOU KNOW, FOOD IS ONE OF OUR BASIC NEEDS, AND PREPARATION FOR THE QUALITY AND AVAILABILITY OF IT IS ESSENTIAL !! WE HAVE BEEN AT YOUR OTHER LOCATIONS --WE WERE SHOCKED AT YOUR INABILITY TO SERVE A PROPER BREAKFAST. YOUR ADVERTISEMENT DOES NOT RING TRUE AT THIS LOCATION. ON ANOTHER NOTE, ASHLEY, AT THE FRONT DESK WAS A JOY TO WORK WITH. SHE HAS A MOST PLEASANT TELEPHONE VOICE,AND IS AN ASSET TO YOUR COMPANY. August 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Location I was so impressed with the location and size of this hotel A property on the Drake campus and convenient for walking and dining. Nice atmosphere July 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service Excellent service, staff was friendly and helpful at every interaction. Very clean in every area which makes for better sleep. Excellent! July 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great check in service We were greeted. The clerk did not know I was a Priority Club member until he saw my card and saw in the computer that I had been a member over 10 years. At another hotel in Abilene Kansas we were even given bottles of water because we were members. Des Moines hotel only gave us internet service and late check out which we did not use since we were awakened so early because of banging doors. July 24, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Terrible experience For the third stay, we have encountered service that I find unacceptable in a Holiday Inn. The front desk personnel is rude and does not appear to be glad you are a hotel guest. For reward members they do not inform you of the points or treat bag option. The rooms SMELL. The beds are not comfortable. The a/c systems are highly ineffective. The rooms are clean and the breakfast options are good - but that is the only positive comment I can make. This last stay we cancelled our days after the first night and went to HI - Mercy also in Des Moines. That is an awesome HI. July 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service, hotel very comfortable. I liked the hotel. It was comfortable and I had a great stay. The hotel also provided a free breakfast which was wonderful, a variety of good food. Just great. People were very nice. Staff real good. I would stay there again. July 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice, Clean Rooms Spacious and clean rooms. Easy to access. Breakfast area could be bigger . . . went once and had to leave because it was full. Came back a short time later and was able to eat. Loved the diner next door for dinner. Heard a thumping noise off and on throughout the night that made sleep a little difficult. Overall, a nice place to stay. July 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by No pool The lack of a pool or workout room is a disadvantage for this hotel. The breakfast room would have been cleaner if the gal had cleaned the tables after us during some of her way too frequent in and out visits that were to the point of being annoying. July 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place to stay Nice hotel, very friendly and attentive staff. I do wish the fitness center had more than 1 treadmill. Breakfast was good, the room was very clean and quiet and my stay was very nice. July 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quaint building This is not a typical Holiday Inn Express. It is in a former Drake University building. Loved that room looked over nicely landscaped courtyard and I could open the sliding door wall for fresh air sleeping. Small like a boutique hotel. A pleasant surprise. Wish I could' ex stayed around to explore the neighborhood. July 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Stay My stay at the Holiday Inn was outstanding. Employees there were helpful in many ways. They give me direction when needed and one personally led me to a store. I received information on where to go and where not to go for food. My room was always clean and had a good smell to it. I noticed that each cup was changed each time room was cleaned. While, walking to my room each employee I met spoke to me as if I was important to them. It was a home away from him feeling they gave me. Thanks July 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Bull rider Great Hotel. The rooms were over the top clean!! Cleaning service was excellent and so very polite! However, this was the first time I did not get recognized as a IHG Platium reward member. I usually get a bottle of water and a cookie, lol.. I would stay there again! July 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Unique, college neighborhood, good value We stopped here on a cross-country I-80 trip, and were very pleased. The price is lower than most HIExpresses, and it is located in a college neighborhood, not a motel strip, close to I-235. The well- reviewed Drake Diner is right next door, with longer hours than expected and a full bar. The building is relatively small and non-commercial, one block from the campus of Drake U, which makes for a very pleasant walk thru the campus, with a small movie theater on a nearby street. We ate at Jethro's BBQ, about 3/4 mile walk to the opposite corner of the campus - $25 for a tasty, generous, three-meat dinner with sides for two, and a very good selection of beers on tap. The toilet and bathroom counter seemed very low, there is no refrigerator as in many HIEx, and the room air-conditioner is of the noisy type, But all in all one of the most pleasant stops on our trip. June 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Conceniently close to Drake University The Holiday Inn Express worked because we were in Des Moines for my son's orientation for Drake University, where he is starting this fall. The proximity to the campus was the key to our choice. The breakfast was fine, the parking lot large and the staff extremely friendly and helpful. Just avoid booking the room directly across from the breakfast area unless you are a very early riser, since things get noisy there starting at around 6 A.M. June 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable, clean room and excellent breakfast The room was very comfortable and clean. Bed was just the right firmness and pillows were great; some were marked as firm and others soft, giving patrons a choice. Breakfast choices were excellent, including fresh pancakes and eggs. Room was quiet and shade could be pulled so that room remained dark until person was ready to start his day. June 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Musty smell in room Room was clean and comfortable but there was a musty smell in the room -- don't know what it was coming from -- there is no pool at this motel. Other than the smell, the room was OIK. June 22, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Staff not helpful This hotel is located in a bad part of town.Staff was not helpful with the problems we had with the power going out. There hospitality promise is something they don't seem to care about.With all the hotels in the area I would avoid this one. June 19, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Hotel Holiday Inn Downtown Des Moines, Iowa
Hotel Holiday Inn Downtown Des Moines, Iowa
Select to close.
Hotel Holiday Inn Downtown Des Moines, Iowa Entrance hotel Holiday Inn Downtown Des Moines Hotel Lobby Holiday Inn Downtown Mercy View from Hotel downtown Des Moines Atrium- Lobby hotel downtown Des Moines Holiday Inn Front Desk Hotel Holiday Inn Downtown Des Moines, Iowa Cityscape Lounge Lobby Level Downtown Des Moines Hotel Holiday Inn Scenery / Landscape view of downtown Des Moines from Holiday Inn Hotel Downtown Des Moines, Iowa Holiday Inn
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Kids stay and eat free at Holiday Inn ® hotels.  Click to learn more.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-30-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-31-2014)
Check Availability
Loading