• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Oct-25-2014)
(e.g. Oct-26-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: DUBUQUE
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. German
  2. English
  3. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pet Friendly Hotel. One time pet cleaning fee of USD 35 per stay.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Five Flags Civic Center
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Stone Cliff Winery
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Chestnut Mountain Ski Resort
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Spirit of Dubuque & Celebration Belle River Cruise
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:210
  • Car Parking Available
  • PARKING RAMP; 3 LEVELS, 2 LEVELS COVERED. Top level enters off of entrance drive. Middle level enters off of 4th street. Lowest level enters off of Iowa St. The Top and Middle level have direct entrance to hotel and elevators.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:193
  • Total number of suites:18
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:65
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:128
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:175
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:6

Dubuque Hotel Located amidst Midwest Beauty

Experience the alluring culture of Dubuque, the "Masterpiece on the Mississippi," from our inviting hotel's property. Situated near the Diamond Jo Casino and eight miles from Dubuque Regional Airport, the pet-friendly Holiday Inn® Dubuque / Galena hotel is near stunning riverfront scenery, thrilling attractions and bustling corporate areas of downtown.

For guests visiting Dubuque, Iowa on business, the hotel's proximity to the Grand
View More

Dubuque Hotel Located amidst Midwest Beauty

Experience the alluring culture of Dubuque, the "Masterpiece on the Mississippi," from our inviting hotel's property. Situated near the Diamond Jo Casino and eight miles from Dubuque Regional Airport, the pet-friendly Holiday Inn® Dubuque / Galena hotel is near stunning riverfront scenery, thrilling attractions and bustling corporate areas of downtown.

For guests visiting Dubuque, Iowa on business, the hotel's proximity to the Grand River Center and major corporations is perfect. We're across from Prudential Retirement, two blocks from IBM's Technical Services Delivery Center and near Alliant Energy and John Deere. Complimentary Wi-Fi access and almost 10,000 sq ft of on-site meeting space help you work comfortably from our accommodations.

You'll find fun at every turn in Dubuque, Iowa. The hotel's location is one mile from the America's River Project, a 90-acre campus of attractions celebrating the Mississippi River. You can ride the historic Fenelon Place Elevator, take a sightseeing cruise on the river or ski on Sundown Mountain. Fun-loving guests will also delight in the hotel's address near the Diamond Jo Casino and Mystique Casino.

In Dubuque, Iowa, you can explore many great places, but you'll always love returning to the hotel for a relaxing dip in the heated, indoor pool and whirlpool and a delicious dinner at the on-site restaurant. Book now for unbeatable comfort and convenience.

View Less
Features
For easy access to the best of Dubuque, this hotel is the place to stay. Located downtown, we have a 24-hr free shuttle, and we're within walking distance of the Port of Dubuque and other attractions.
Announcements
Hotel will be host hotel for Dock Dogs World Championships November 11-16, 2014. Event will be held across the street in the Five Flags Arena. There will be hundreds of dogs in the hotel during
View More
Announcements
Hotel will be host hotel for Dock Dogs World Championships November 11-16, 2014. Event will be held across the street in the Five Flags Arena. There will be hundreds of dogs in the hotel during this event. As pets are allowed in all guestrooms, no guarantee can be made that any location will be pet-free.
View Less

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 190 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice hotel The room was very nice with comfortable beds. Will definitely stay there again. October 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Repeat Performance I have stayed at this property multiple times over the last several years and am impressed with the consistency of service and value. Reservations have always been correct, the greetings are prompt and welcoming, the rooms clean and comfortable, and the price is competitive. The breakfast are what you tend to see in many hotels, but again, the area is clean and well cared for. Whenever I am in the Dubuque area, I try to stay here. The only reason I do not is if it is full, which has happened on occasion, but then the staff works with me to find rooms near by. This consistency is what impresses me most with this property. October 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Really nice hotel, pool, breakfast. My granddaughter and I really enjoyed our stay here. We went swimming twice, and had the pool to ourselves for a little while both times. The breakfast was better than most 'continental' offerings, and included hot scrambled eggs and biscuits and gravy, along with yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal...lots of nice options. Unfortunately there was a family with rambunctious kids in the room above us so there was lots of bumps and thumps both late at night and early in the morning. I suggested, at checkout, that they put families on the 1st floor. The guy at the front desk apologized, said they always try to do that but were filled to capacity and had to put people where there was room. He was very considerate and listened to my complaint. This is a big deal. Sometimes they will just shrug you off. Sometimes they put on a fake reply. Sometimes they get crabby. This was handled exactly how I would want it to be. We will stay here again, absolutely. Just will ask for the top floor next time! :) September 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Unexpected Delight Didn't know what to expect since we hadn't stayed at a Holiday Express before. We were delighted in the stay in Dubuque. The room was comfortable, clean and had a frig and microwave which was so great for warming up our evening hot chocolate. September 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable The bed was very comfortable and I loved the choice of pillows. The room was clean and modern. The surroundings were quiet. The staff was very friendly. Breakfast was better than most. I loved the warm cinnamon rolls. I would definitely stay there again. September 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and Comfortable My husband and I prefer Holiday Express suites, because of the extra space. We had two television sets. One in front of the queen size bed and the other in front of the couch. It was cozy to sit together on the couch & watch a little bit of TV. The room looked and smell clean. In fact, the entire hotel smelled clean with no mildew smell you get in some motel/hotels. I think there could be more of a selection on breakfast but still wasn't too bad. The down side: Swimming pool was very cold to dip into and the Jacuzzi was extremely hot. Otherwise, I recommend this place. September 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to spend a night We spent Labor Day weekend here and the hotel was very clean. The rooms were great. The people here are very friendly.. Breakfast had good choices. The pool was good, it would be nice if they had an outdoor pool. Not far from the river. Allot of restaurants close by. Will go back again! September 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Stay Wonderful experience at your Dubuque-West location. Very clean rooms - great bed - delicious breakfast - wonderful staff. I have already made reservations for 10/26 and am bringing along 3 more families. September 5, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel room cleanliness great. Noise level not so great. This is our usual stop when staying in DBQ. The rooms are always clean and it is a relaxing stay. I didn't call and complain but on this particular visit there were several guests having a party in the parking lot complete with lawn chairs a blanket and cooler, which went on into the night right under my third story window. Just when I thought they were going to call it a night the room next door was then occupied by one of the partiers who obviously had too much to drink and watched his TV very loudly until 1:30AM. My 9 year old daughter was able to fall asleep due to the rhytmic noise of the wall unit air conditioner. I unfortunately was not. None of which was the fault of the hotel. Just inconsiderate adult behavior. That aside the food was unusually poor at the buffet in the morning including no fruit to be found, cold pancakes and light yogurt only. Coffee was good. September 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay for the Price! Everything was clean and comfortable. If anything could be changed (which was very minor) would be the walls were a little thin....but really not a big deal. Would definitely stay here again! September 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Value for the Money We were pleasantly surprised by the HI Express-Dubuque West. The advertised breakfast is "continental" so we were expecting the usual sweet rolls and bagels with coffee. Since we traveled with our 90 year old Dad, we were very pleased by the extras (eggs and biscuits with sausage gravy) available for breakfast. The room also was substantial and very comfortable. All in all, a pleasant getaway and a really great value at the price. September 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly & comfortable We checked in at 11AM, well before checkin time, and they accomadated us immediately. Very friendly staff. Room had a bit of a musty odor, but that was the only negative about our stay. Our room was one door down from elevator and vending, so I was concerned that the noise level would be loud, but none of heard a sound all night. Group with little children next door to us, and we never heard them either. We made use of the sofa bed as extra sleeping room in our suite, and bedding was provided for that as well. Would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone!! August 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel This hotel was wonderful. The staff was friendly and happy. I had a wonderful stay. August 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome service The staff at this particular hotel are just awesome! They greet each customer and really made me feel welcome! I travel a lot and it is difficult to find this type of service. If I ever come back to Dubuque, I will definitely stay here! August 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by What we wxpected with one exception We expected a warm welcome at check-in, a clean room with a comfortable bed, a yummy breakfast, and express check out. All those were great. The desk chair was an instrument of torture -- the most uncomfortable chair in any hotel/motel room I have seen. The design is all wrong. August 22, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Mixed reviews, overall good Had an issue with the wimpy pillows. Desk person handled immediately and to our satisfaction. Dryer was under our room. At 9:30 we called, told they were to run until 10. 10:30 we called and they were shut off immediately. Rooms and personnel were good. Didn't care for selection for breakfast. However, it might have just been the day we were there. August 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by very nice The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good. The pool area was clean and nice. August 20, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable room our stay was ok, what we had a problem with was that we were there for two nights and after our first night we did not get our room cleaned which we felt was needed due to a lot of trash. We talked to the front desk about it and was told that we had our "do not disturb" sign out which had been remove by 10:15 am, the front desk stated that he would get the trash removed but could not get anything else done to the room as housekeeping had already gone home. We left and went to a wedding and reception and when we got back at 11:00pm nothing had been touched. Did not like being told something would be done and then not doing it . August 17, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Front Desk Staff At check in I was told my rate had increased from what I had booked on line. Check in staff preferred to argue rather than solve the problem. During stay my wife became very ill (no fault of motel), when I requested a late checkout, the response was "that's not gonna happen". Property was nice, front desk personnel were not. August 16, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Breakfast Area Dress Code should be enforced while breakfast is served. At the minimum shoes should be worn. Bare feet should not be allowed and guesting wearing boxers is a bit strange. August 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Stay Top notch HI Express. Good staff, great room, good price. Breakfast selection could have been better, but other than that, excellent place August 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Friendly Staff Staff was great and friendly, the beds were so comfortable, I never say that about Hotel beds! Loved the pool! August 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by I'll stay here anytime! The rooms are clean, staff is attentive and the rooms are a comfortable size... The price to value was awesome. August 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by West Dubuque July We really enjoy this property. Exceeds our expectations. Thank you. August 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by phenomenal stay We had a very good experience staying at this hotel! From the time we checked in on friday to the time we left on Sunday. Very clean rooms and a great breakfast! We make annual trips to Dubuque and this will definitely be our new hotel of choice! August 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Spacious Room, Microwave, Fridge in the room Awesome room. Very spacious....we have small baby boy of 15 months. He was able to roam easily and play. Room also has microwave and fridge so you can keep baby food in good condition. August 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great room, comfortable beds, beware of pet policy... check in was slow. then room key didn't work, had to wait again to get key activated, turns out the Desk Attendant had written down the wrong room for us on the key, so we were at the wrong room. Unwanted hassle with two cmall children and a pet. we chose here because pet friendly, but were informed on check in that the pet could NEVER be unattended in the room. This changed the plan of the weekend a lot for our small family get away. Couldn't go to the pool as a family because had to have someone with the dog, couldn't all go to breakfast together because someone had to stay with the dog. If the weather hadn't been so cool that weekend, we would have checked out early due to this snag. But we were able to let our pup hang out in our car while we took in the River Museum, Cave and Trolley cars in Dubuque. Breakfast was good, well attended by staff keeping things supplied. Except during check-in and the key snag, all other staff was great. NICE room, comfortable bed. 2 tv's (Kids could watch what they wanted!!!) would stay here again, but caution pet-bringers to look at the fine print...we've never encountered the "no pets alone in the room EVER" policy before. August 2, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by noisy room our room was right next to the lobby and breakfast room, it was very noisy. Bed was way too soft and uncomfortable. Didn't even try the breakfast cause it looked so gross, went to the fast food restaurant next door instead. August 2, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by 'The good and bad Our rooms was nice, clean and comfortable. Overall met our needs. The staff here needs some serious service training. We laughed at arrival that the front desk manager could barely make eye contact with us and was not very friendly, then seemed irritated when we ask him for the internet access code the next morning. The worst moment was an employee standing next to the coffee bar in the breakfast area the next day, right next to our table, having a 20 minute rant to another employee about how they werent getting paid enough for what they were being asked to do...all while people waited for hot coffee. Augh. Kudos to "Doug", and employee who typically cleans rooms and came to the rescue. July 28, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Overall OK - A Couple Issues I've stayed in a number of HI Express locations, and this one, while clean and newer, just didn't live up to the other ones I've visited. The mattresses were very firm, firm enough to not allow me to sleep well at all. The multiple pillows were a bonus, but didn't help any when it came time to snooze. We also found the daytime desk manager to be cold and short. Not rude, just not forthcoming about making our stay pleasant. Asked for tourist information and locations to eat, and he simply handed us a phone list. Just seemed to not want to be there or maybe had to deal with something unpleasant and was taking it out on everyone else. The breakfast was VERY good, fresh scrambled eggs, biscuits & gravy, bagels, bananas, etc. Don't expect it to be put out early though, the sign said 7:00 and they wheeled it out at 7:00 to the minute! July 26, 2013
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 next>>
Newly renovated lobby
Newly renovated lobby
Select to close.
Newly renovated lobby Holiday Inn Dubuque Relax in the TV lounge with a 52 Gather with family and friends in the many lobby seating areas. Our friendly and professional staff looks forward to your arrival Relax in the TV lounge with a 52 Holiday Inn Dubuque welcoming Main Street entrance Dubuque's Historic Town Clock Fenelon Place (4th Street) Elevator Celebration Belle Grand River Center/Riverwalk Washington Park Gazebo, Clock Tower, and Court House 'The General' at Eagle Ridge Wisconsin Bridge
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-25-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-26-2014)
Check Availability
Loading