Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Oct-24-2014)
(e.g. Oct-25-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 459 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Room Ok but needs modernising Went to the Hotel for a two night stay as part of a city break with my husband and 15 month old daughter. Request for cot was met a was pleased to see that is was very clean and in great condition. Room was spacious and comfortable for a family and could fit the pushchair in at night. The bathroom needed updating and for the price of the room per night I expected a more modern facility. There was black around the mastic and the bath mat provided had seen better days. The staff made us very welcome at breakfast and happily warmed some milk up and in the evening when I asked for a cup of milk if or bedtime they provided this free of charge which I was really impressed about. May 20, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel for exploring Edinburgh . We enjoyed our stay whilst in Edinburgh as the hotel was close to a bus stop for a trip into town and Glasgow. The hotel staff were helpful and the experience was pleasant . The bed was comfortable and the bar was a good place to relax. We did find breakfast a bit noisy as there were several youngsters who would have rather been at the zoo! May 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Reed and Cooper break We had a great realxing bank holiday break in Edinburgh. The hotel was fab, food fantastic and great location for both Zoo and getting into the city. We especially loved the pool and asian resteraunt. The room was comfy and spacious for our family. A fantastic time had by all. May 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great visit This was my second time using Holiday Inn. The first was in Berkshire, but I have to say the Edinburgh one was really good the staff so helpful, I can't think of a complaint. The breakfasts were wonderful, and as for the Haggis well I couln't wait to go down eac h day. The swimmimg pool was also very good. Thank you so much. I hope to visit again later in the year when I visit my sister-in-law who is in a home near by. Please don't take the haggis off the menue!!! May 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Consistent Quality Wonderful visit as always with consistent standards and quality. Staff are always friendly and helpful and food of a high standard. May 12, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by So disappointed. This was the second time that I have stayed in this hotel. My first experience had been great so was happy to book again and pay much more to do so. My son and I where greeted by a great receptionist called Gavin who couldn't have been more helpful. Our stay went downhill when we went for dinner which was included in the price of our stay. The food choices where very restricted and I found it difficult to find something for us to eat. I was rudely questioned about my son's age as the waitress refused to believe that he was 12. My son's food was cold as it was a buffet and had been sitting out for far too long and mine was just disgusting. We ate in the Chinese restaurant the food that I ordered was not at all what I expected. I was asked 8 times if everything was ok and should have said at the time no it wasn't! I was extremely unwell the following day and on checking out the reception staff made no effort to enquire if we had enjoyed our stay. This was an extremely expensive one night stay and given that we where so hungry after dinner that we had to order room service which meant more money I will definitely not be staying at this hotel again. May 10, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Night Stop Not much to comment on really. We arrived very late and had to leave early and so our room was pretty much our only contact with the hotel. However, our room was very comfortable and we had a good night's sleep and that for us was the important thing. May 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Roaring Lion. Great time! You can catch the bus right outside the property and avoid pay parking in city centre. Great breakfast. Lovely. Thanks again. May 8, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT LOCATION FOR ZOO AND TRAVELLING INTO EDINBURGH Everything looked nice in the hotel on arrival. At reception the lady explained that my two 11 year olds would have to eat from the childrens buffet menu...chicken nuggets, chips etc. I asked for them to be able to eat of the adult carvery buffet as dont tend to eat nuggets, fish fingers etc. Was told yes that would be fine but it would be an extra £6.95 each for them. Even though I had paid for dinner bed and breakfast for us all. I must admit, that did annoy me as when I booked, I booked for dinner b&b. We ate in the restaurant, the carvery was cold, none of the food looked appetising and the staff behind the carvery were very disinterested in helping or changing the food that was finished. I certainly wouldnt have wanted to pay and extra £13 odd pound for my children to have the pleasure of eating up dried out food. The deserts were dried out and looked like they had been on display far too long. The waiting staff were very attentive when they finally realised we were waiting for a table. The breakfast was buffet and very nice. The views from the restaurant are outstanding. Overall the food was disappointing but the hotel is very handy for what we wanted, to visit the zoo. It would be perfect location for parents with young children The rooms, swimming pool etc were fine. The pool is small but adequate for children to have a swim and splash about. It was I must say full of children. Which was fine for us, however if no children with you and imagining a relaxing swim...mmm...No its not that type of pool. Well, not in the school holidays anyway. Hotel was clean and tidy. I didnt in the end get charged for the childrens meals as the waiters at the restaurant did not seem bothered where the children ate from. However be aware you may be charged for your childrens meals if they dont wish to eat nuggets etc. May 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Cheeky Wee Break! Had very good stay staff all very friendly and helpful. The hotel was very busy as it was school holidays but on arrival we were upgraded to an executive room without asking, most impressed. We didnt use the pool as there was a booking system in place because it was so busy, that was the only disappointment. Breakfast was very good a large choice of hot and cold foods all fresh and there was plenty space in the dining room. All in all a very good stay. May 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A Good Weekend Away Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in clean, comfortable surroundings with staff who couldn't have been more helpful and good food. Just 2 'niggles' - the enormous cost for broadband - don't mind paying, but reasonable rates. Secondly the system for breakfast, price is reasonable for the excellent full breakfast, but very expensive for just coffee and toast! May 1, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointing stay Stayed overnight at this hotel as my daughter had an interview at Napier University the next morning and it saved time getting to the interview early morning. We didn't book any meals there so cannot comment about the food. We considered the Chinese restaurant in the hotel but the menu was limited and pricey so we went across the road to the Chinese restaurant there which was fantastic. The room was basic standard. Unlike other Holiday Inns there was no shower gel/ soap dispensers and the tiniest piece of soap was present in the bathroom so thank goodness we had taken our own. We did not use the leisure facilities so cannot comment on that. The real frustrating part of this stay was the particularly bad service of a receptionist who i had asked to book a taxi for my daughter to take her to the University. We requested a time allowing her to get there in plenty of time for her interview. We arrived downstairs 5 minutes before the booked time and checked with the other drivers already there if their taxi was for us but they were for other customers and each driver that arrived at the hotel subsequently was not for us also. Five minutes after our booked time I went back to reception to check if the booking was made and frustratingly it had not been made. No excuse! There had been no one else at reception when we requested the booking so why such bad service? We managed to get her into a taxi which had no booking. The driver said this particular hotel is notorious for not booking taxis. Take heed! Stressful start to the day for my daughter. Not happy. Hotel is ideal situation if you want to visit the zoo but the gibbons provide a wake up call very early in morning. April 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Visit I was using the Holiday in as i had a wedding to attend in the zoo. The place was great, staff very plesent and welcoming. Room was really clean and i loved the bed. Place would be recommended to friends April 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great service and friendly staff Definitely recommend this hotel. Stayed one night for our daughters 2nd birthday before visiting the zoo next door. We used the swimming pool in the evening which was very clean. Buffet breakfast was great and set us up for the day. Staff were very friendly, especially the restaurant staff at breakfast. Great bus links into city centre. Details of bus service were provided by reception on request. Room was very spacious and clean and having ceebeebies available on tv was ideal for us. April 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best place in edinburgh Great value for money and fantastic family hotel, a bus ride away from city centre April 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great experience This hotel was brilliant and excellent value for money. Extremely helpful staff but just a bit disappointed not to come across ANY Scottish staff, they were all foreign, albeit nice though. My only criticism would be that we had to queue each time at reception for long periods of time as they seemed very busy and short staffed. Overall great. Would definately recommend and we will be back!! April 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location for Zoo, great facilities Right next door to Zoo, Indoor heated pool and other facilities were great, and well maintained. Meal in Bar was very good, reasonable priced. Room excellent and comfy bed. Breakfast was very good, great choice. well worth it April 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Edinborough weekend Comfortable rooms great service, convenient bus service to centre and airport. Extremely convenient for zoo. Only had breakfast but was to high standard. The only thing they could do was to have a fridge and perhaps a safe in the room which other holiday inns we have stayed in have. View from our room was of the car park but the view from the restaurant was good April 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great family hotel We booked a family room for a weekend break. The key reason for choosing this hotel was the swimming pool and the proximity to the zoo. The room was very clean and comfortable - the bed was big (king size) and firm, and there was a choice of soft or firm pillows. The shower was good - powerful with lots of hot water - and it was quiet, despite being a Saturday night. The staff were very helpful and friendly, and after a foot-sore day tramping round Edinburgh, we had a wonderful two hours in the pool, jacuzzi and sauna. The only negative point about the latter was the radio station being played in the background, which was definitely aimed at people about 30 years younger than us! Our breakfast the next morning was also very good. We would highly recommend this hotel for a family break. April 19, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by staff very helpful, lovely pool & friendly beautician I stayed in the holiday inn, at Edinburgh zoo for 2 nights during the school hols on a dinner bed & breakfast rate, twin room. The room was very warm at night, and we had some touble sleeping the first night. The restaurant was fab, with all the staff being very friendly. The service was excellent. The pool area was very clean, the staff again were really friendly & helpful, and my daughter had a beauty treatment, The beautician, like other staff, was really friendly. The room was a little disappointing, it was fairly small, but very clean with good facilities. All in all a great break, and i will return. April 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by fantastic birthday break I booked this as a secret escape for my daughters 16th birthday for a break away with spa treatment and was pleased when I found out it was the Holiday Inn and was very more that pleased with the price. Having never stayed in this chain before I didn’t know what to expect, our experience was absolutely amazing. When I emailed The hotel to find out some information and mentioned it was a trip for my daughters birthday they went out of their way to call me to confirm the booking and with prices and information on spa treatments available, when we arrived they had left a birthday card and gift in our room for my daughter, this was so unexpected and much appreciated, she was over the moon. We ate in the carvery and it was fantastic, the food was beautiful and the staff very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was great too loads of variety. Our room was very spacious and comfortable and the hotel is spotlessly clean. All staff are very helpful and accommodating, the best part was the spa, pool and sauna, we loved this and used it a lot, it was the most relaxing break I’ve ever had and will definitely return soon. A very big thanks to all Staff at the Holiday Inn Edinburgh for making my daughters 16th and unforgettable one for her and myself. April 18, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Hotel near the zoo We stayed here for 2 nights in 2 rooms 2 adults & 2 teenagers. I asked for 2 rooms next to each other in a quiet part of the hotel which was at the back overlooking the car park & the rooms were fine, quiet with no noise & great blackout curtains for a good sleep. No fridge which we could have done with & take your own hair dryer as though they provide one in the drawer it is ok for men but not us ladies -not powerful enough & no nozzle for direction. Did not eat here as too expensive for breakfast & evening meal for 4 as my kids to old for deal of £29.99 for 2 adults & 2 meals for children under 10 or 12 years I think.. Car park free until 10am when zoo opens then you have to pay then free again after about 5pm there are some spaces that are for free all the time but they are mostly taken & tight to get into if you have a big car ok in a mini or Peugeot 205 etc..... Overall a good hotel would stay again. Pool and gym far too small. The pool needs to be bigger.we had to book to go in the pool which we did but in my opinion it is only big enough for 12 people & there were about 26 people in there - far too many for the size of it so only stopped in for 10 mins as couldn't do anything. I tried to ring to book into the pool from my room but the phone did not work so I walked down 4 flights of stairs to book - but I do like exercise. The lifts are small says fit 7 people but 4 is more realistic. Reception staff though efficient at check in & check out were not forthcoming with information unless asked specific questions & no information in the rooms. You can get into the zoo half price after 3pm if staying here but no one tells you this & it is not advertised anywhere. The are bus stops right outside the hotel which take you into Edinburgh. The beds are comfortable we had 2 rooms with kingsize beds which were great. Good hotel but leisure facilities need to be better. Enjoyed our stay there but we ate out for breakfast, lunch & evening meals so can't comments food only it was expensive. Did not really acknowledge my priority club membership I have received vouchers for 10 per cent off the restaurant bill in other holiday inns but nothing offered here although I did get the rooms cheaper through priority membership April 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Everything 5* We have two children. It was the best low-mid range hotel we have used. Swimming facilities were good room was immaculate and food was great for the girls. They loved the view from the room over the zoo. Absolutely five star could not recommend it highly enough. We had the panda package which ,are our visit to the zoo effortless April 16, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Very rude staff Me and my mother took a trip to Edinburgh for my birthday in April 2013. We stayed in this hotel due to it's close proximity to the zoo. The hotel itself was clean but very aged. The pool area was lovely as were the staff around the pool. The bar staff were lovely and very hospitable. However, MOST staff in the restaurants were very very rude. This completely tainted the trip as we had breakfast and evening meals both nights of our stay. April 15, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Service, food and cleanliness could be better Food was lukewarm. At the time we arrived children's food was extremely poor. Very little left of anything. Pasta dried up, a handfull of chips etc. Chef filled them up after we were finished! I felt dining room service could have been sharper. My daughter was finished before we ordered drinks! There was dust and a couple of hairs at the edge of the bath and one glass had toothpaste in the bottom of it!! I took this to reception the following morning. I have never experienced anything like this before and certainly wouldn't have expected it in this hotel! It was very disappointing. We also had to book a slot to go swimming. Again I have never experienced this before. Although very disappointing I can understand for healthy and safety however the reasons for doing so. April 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Extremely handy for the Zoo and on major bus route to city centre We were extremely satisfied with this hotel. Comfort, service and facilities all high quality, plus on a major bus route to the city centre which was efficient and reasonably priced. April 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic Family Break We enjoyed a 2 day break visiting the zoo and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast and evening meals were super and the rooms were just right. We will certainly be back to stay at this hotel again in the future. April 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Break We enjoyed our stay and had a great time at Edinburgh. We will definitely be back in the near future. Can't resist the panda's and we enjoy the quality and comfort of the hotel. My son especially loves the swimming pool, jacuzzi and sauna. April 13, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable Room was clean and tidy but very small hardly any room at one side of the bed to step out if you were half asleep you would have bumped the wall. April 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Family stay - the way it should be done - superb!!! Absolute superb visit. Stayed one night to visit the Edinburgh zoo. Every member of staff was friendly (polite & friendly, balloon & high fives for the kids, informative & helpful). Parking was great - actually in the zoo car park. Room was perfect. Used the pool & hot-tub with my daughter, stayed up late & the set-up was very child friendly with nice bars and food and open plan- with a cracking view. had nice pictures & pencils to keep kids occupied. Breakfast was world class! Location is 2nd to none for the zoo & we nipped into the city centre & back with a 5 minute cab- couldnt fault anything - quite the opposite, hence why ive taken time to write the review - give praise when its due and these guys all delivered, great effort. keep it up. April 11, 2013
<<prev 11 12 13 14 15 ... 17 next>>