• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Nov-27-2014)
(e.g. Nov-28-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: EDINBURGH
  • Distance From Hotel: 4.8KM
  • Local time zone: GMT-00:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Hindi
  4. Indonesian
  5. Maltese
  6. Punjabi
  7. Polish
  8. Chinese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets are not allowed in the hotel, with the exception of guide dogs for the blind and hearing dogs for the deaf.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
The Old Course - St. Andrews
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Edinburgh Zoo
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
North Berwick Seabird Centre
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Museum of Scotland
Distance From Hotel:4.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:200
  • Car Parking Available
  • 200 Car Parking Spaces, some under cover. Security cameras scan car park 24 hours a day. Additional space available in adjacent car park from 5pm to 10am.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all IHG® Rewards Club members
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Standard Room Wireless Fee for Non Members:£ 16.00 16.0  GBP

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:303
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:211
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:92
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:281
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5

Choose the leafy surroundings of Edinburgh Zoo and extensive conferencing facilities at the welcoming Holiday Inn Edinburgh hotel.

The landscaped grounds of Edinburgh Zoo and views of the Pentland Hills await you at Holiday Inn Edinburgh. Set on the handy A8 road, the hotel is 3 miles from both Edinburgh city centre and Edinburgh Airport. Leave your car in our complimentary car park and hop on a local 24-hour bus for a short journey into Edinburgh. Our Spirit Health and
View More

Choose the leafy surroundings of Edinburgh Zoo and extensive conferencing facilities at the welcoming Holiday Inn Edinburgh hotel.

The landscaped grounds of Edinburgh Zoo and views of the Pentland Hills await you at Holiday Inn Edinburgh. Set on the handy A8 road, the hotel is 3 miles from both Edinburgh city centre and Edinburgh Airport. Leave your car in our complimentary car park and hop on a local 24-hour bus for a short journey into Edinburgh. Our Spirit Health and Fitness Club has a heated indoor pool, sauna and a relaxing spa.

You'll find wireless Internet and dedicated staff in our 14 smart meeting rooms for up to 130 guests. Nearby business parks include South Gyle and Edinburgh Park, home to major companies such as RBS, HBOS and HSBC, and your city centre meeting is a 15-minute drive away. All of our elegant Guest rooms have high-speed Internet.

Book a Zoo Package for tickets to see the animals, including the Giant Pandas in neighboring Edinburgh Zoo, and ask our friendly staff for tips on places to visit. The Royal Mile and Edinburgh Castle are a 15-minute bus ride away, with rugby games and concerts at Murrayfield stadium, 1 mile away.

Under-18s stay free when sharing a room with their parents, and under-13s eat for free. Help yourself to a hot Scottish breakfast in our Trader's restaurant and order Asian specialties in Sampan's.

View Less
Features
With the Holiday Inn Edinburgh next door to Edinburgh Zoo, there is no better way to stay and see the new giant pandas recently arrived from China. The Zoo Package includes entry to see Tian Tian (Sweetie) and Yang Guang (Sunshine) in their fabulous new Panda enclosure. New this year is the upgraded penguin enclosure, and the return of the famous Penguin Parade.
Announcements
Announcing the first Giant Pandas to the UK for 17 years at Edinburgh Zoo. Stay overnight at the Holiday Inn Edinburgh the nearest hotel to Edinburgh Zoo and walk across to see Tian Tian (Sweetie)
View More
Announcements
Announcing the first Giant Pandas to the UK for 17 years at Edinburgh Zoo. Stay overnight at the Holiday Inn Edinburgh the nearest hotel to Edinburgh Zoo and walk across to see Tian Tian (Sweetie) and Yang Guang (Sunshine) in their fabulous new enclosure. Panda Package available.
View Less

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 243 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Gereat Service and Staff The service and friendliness of staff really differentiate this hotel. Well done to all on this. All the staff we encountered were very helpful and friendly, with a genuine caring attitude to make sure everything was as good as it could be. If travelling by foot then entrance into the hotel is not particularly well signposted and a little confusing but not an issue really. Warm welcome from reception, with membership recognised and acknowledged, in a genuine way it did not feel like going through the motions. Very well done on this. Meals were good in the restaurant and service very good. We had booked Dinner, Bed and Breakfast package which represents good value for money, with a good range of choices. Added to this kids eat free so it works out as a very good option if travelling with the younger ones. Drinks prices at the bar are a little on the expensive side, and same could probably be said for dining if you aren't on the inclusive deal, but prices are probably what you expect in hotels with captive market. Good rooms, slightly let down by small bath and minor housekeeping attention to detail issues, otherwise this would be perfect. Great views across the city from the rooms on the high floors, if you are fortunate enough to be on the right side for this. Overall highly recommended and would be happy to stay there again, the staff really made a difference and went that extra mile. Well done and thanks. November 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quiet location Convenient location for the city centre by bus from the stop outside, or taxi. The rooms are comfortable and quiet and have great views of the city. Attentive,efficient staff November 11, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Edinburgh Good value for money and location. Staff did enough no more or less. November 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel with great staff. Booked room at reception with competitive rate and great services and great staff. Loved my stay!!! November 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Edinburgh Break Oct 23- Nov 4 2014 We chose the Holiday Inn because we had stayed before (1st time) and were very impressed with all facets of the Inn. Returning proved to be the correct option because all our expectations were fully met. Its location is important because we do not require a car and the excellent bus service meets all our requirements. We shall certainly use the Holiday Inn again when we return to the City. November 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent value for money We chose the prepay option and booked 21 days in advance. We did not use the hotel facilities other than our room and our stay was comfortable and excellent value. Reception staff were extremely helpful in resolving a specific prior arrival request which had been overlooked. This oversight was handled efficiently to ensure our requirements were met. Very good customer service here in resolving a customer problem. November 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent stay A warm welcome from Lee on arrival and upgraded to a suite which was very spacious. Once again no problems and a very enjoyable stay. November 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by PLEASANTLY SUPPRISED Enjoyed our stay very much and would return if visiting Edinburgh November 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service Restaurant staff were excellent throughout our stay as were the receptionists. I would not hesitate to go back November 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by fantastic place to relax Superb hotel, easy access by bus into central Edinburgh, hope to stay here again soon. November 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable staging post A comfortable staging post on a long journey. Generally up to Holiday Inn standards (ie good) but staff were overly fawning instead of being crisply businesslike. Music in the bar/restaurant was more reminiscent of a rock concert that calmingly atmospheric - wailing women (and men) are not music! Lighting levels in the restaurant suggested they had something to hide. November 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great customer care spent 3 nights at the Holliday Inn Edinburgh west, Very friendly and helpful reception staff, good food, good quality room what more could you ask for. November 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great value, good location We chose this hotel as it was close to the city centre and not far from the zoo (the H I at the zoo had poor reviews). The hotel was excellent value for money, was spotlessly clean and our room on the sixth floor had spectacular views of the city. The only thing that let it down was the chaos in the restaurant at dinner and the lukewarm breakfast in the morning. Solve these food based issues and you'd get 5 stars from us! Special mention for Lee on reception who went out of his way to make our stay special for our daughter's birthday. Overall don't hesitate to stay here, but probably find somewhere else to eat. November 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room, excellent facilities I thoroughly enjoyed a single night at this hotel. Upon arrival, I found reception to be extremely friendly and willing and able to provide relevant information and answers to my questions. The room was quite large and very comfortable. Variety of pillows was greatly appreciated. In general, the hotel was clean, quiet and comfortable and staff were absolutely delightful. Only criticism was in relation to the bathroom being very small and the grout in the tiles needs some attention. Restaurant was too dark, making it very difficult to read the menu but the food was quite nice. All in all, a very enjoyable experience and I would definitely stay here again. October 31, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Great service. Comfortable room with spectacular view. Good transport links for our theatre break. Ideal for early morning hospital treatment. October 31, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable bed and good concierge service helpful staff, nothing too much trouble and they were flexible to meet my requests. However the two double bed room was squashed and the bedroom very small - actually difficult for me to get in to the toilet past the door. We were on the 6 floor so dependent on lift access for which we had to wait significantly at busy times. On the up side the view was amazing - panoramic view of Edinburgh from the sea to the city. October 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by No surprises. A friendly and relaxing refuge after a busy day, consistent with many visits over a long period. Even though staff changes occur from time to time, the new faces seem to blend in with the overall atmosphere and join with regular staff members very quickly to help make a visitor seem genuinely welcome. Full marks to Management October 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A great place to stay One of the best Holiday Inns we have stayed in. The staff were so helpful both at reception and in the Restaurant. Wish we had stayed longer, and look forward to staying there again. Please thank the staff for us for a wonderful stay and for their caring attitude. October 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great stay I'll be back.I havent got 50 characters to write about. October 17, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by our stay hotel was fine but had problems with bathroom flooding and I was disappointed with the level of compensation. October 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent stay! We had an excellent stay at the hotel. The staff were very accomodating and willing to help and the room was superb! The views over Edinburgh are spectacular and we loved it! Would definately stay here again. October 16, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not so Good I was very disappointed in my stay. On Check in no information was given about the hotel, about breakfast or dinner or even check out. We asked for some details of how to get to the city centre, how long it would take and what was round about to eat ect. reception staff were not informative at all. When getting to the room, first impressions were ok. we didn't expect luxury although we did expect a clean bathroom and shower. Hairs on the walls of the shower, hairs in the sink and mould on the handle and bottom of shower screen. Very offputting!! When checking out no one asked how our stay was. I worked in a Holiday inn a few years back and this particular stay has put me off altogether. October 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great great hotel, friendly staff, clean room and fantastic breakfast October 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by good stay After a recent ten day stay, I can attest to the superb restaurant staff and desk staff. All my requests, needs were rapidly met and sometimes anticipated. One of the best Holiday Inn facilities I have stayed in. Would recommend and would return. October 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Perfectly adequate conference hotel Title of review says it, pretty much. Staff very helpful, comfy room, decent food at lunch and dinner, not quite so good at breakfast. Conference suite kept well supplied with coffee, tea and nibbles. Fairly unpreposessing exterior but better within. Pretty fair situation for access to city centre either by taxi or bus. October 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Excellent stay at Holiday Inn edinburgh west, except for Vegeterian dinner It was a very Good, pleasant and homely stay for me and my wife at Holiday Inn Edinburgh west. However, My wife and me being a pure vegetarian from India the dinner at Hotel restaurant was not much liked by both of us. Rest every thing we liked and we were impressed with. October 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Arrived late and staff could not have been more helpful, both at reception and in the bar/restaurant. They were quite happy to serve us food, although it was getting close to time for last orders, and were happy to make recommendations etc. from the menu. October 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly, efficient and attentive staff Easy to find. Ample parking. Comfortable rooms. Quiet hotel (Monday night stay). Everything you would expect from Holiday Inn ie decor, room size, facilities etc. Not exceptional, just good standard of hotel for business travel. But what makes this hotel is the staff who should be commended. From check in, to room service, bringing iron/board, bar, check out... every single person was friendly, attentive, knowledgable. There is a Holiday Inn near Edinburgh Zoo which is much bigger and has better facilities... but doesn't have the personal touch you get with Edinburgh City West. I stay in a LOT of Holiday Inn's (and other chains) for business purposes and I can't remember ever having a better staff-customer experience. October 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great service Service in hotel was generally excellent, and the staff in the dining room at breakfast and diner were attentive, efficient, and friendly. October 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great views We were upgraded to a room with a view of the castle which was fantastic. October 2, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Front Desk Pool Image Panoramic Views of the Pentland Hills
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Nov-27-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Nov-28-2014)
Check Availability
Loading