• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-13-2014)
(e.g. Jul-14-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: CHESTER
  • Distance From Hotel: 7.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-00:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Polish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

No Dogs except Assistance Dogs

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Port Sunlight Village
Distance From Hotel:12.7MI
Attraction:
Historic City of Chester
Distance From Hotel:10.0MI
Attraction:
Cheshire Oaks Designer Outlet Village
Distance From Hotel:4.0MI
Attraction:
Everton Football Club
Distance From Hotel:25.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:85
  • Car Parking Available
  • Hotel offers free parking

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2002
  • Total number of rooms:83
  • Total number of suites:1
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:31
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:10
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:83
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

Enjoy a peaceful canalside location at the Holiday Inn Ellesmere Port/Cheshire Oaks, set on the beautiful Wirral Peninsula.

All 83 fresh, modern Guest rooms at the wharf-style Holiday Inn Ellesmere Port/Cheshire Oaks hotel offer high-speed Internet and canal views. Cross bridges and locks to arrive at our tranquil island home and take a few short steps along the towpath to reach our heated indoor pool, sauna and 9 naturally lit meeting rooms.

Guests attending
View More

Enjoy a peaceful canalside location at the Holiday Inn Ellesmere Port/Cheshire Oaks, set on the beautiful Wirral Peninsula.

All 83 fresh, modern Guest rooms at the wharf-style Holiday Inn Ellesmere Port/Cheshire Oaks hotel offer high-speed Internet and canal views. Cross bridges and locks to arrive at our tranquil island home and take a few short steps along the towpath to reach our heated indoor pool, sauna and 9 naturally lit meeting rooms.

Guests attending weddings or conferences at Holiday Inn Ellesmere Port/Cheshire Oaks enjoy use of the private bar and lounge in our 270-person Mercer Suite. It's easy to reach meetings in Liverpool and Manchester thanks to convenient motorway connections. Liverpool John Lennon Airport is 8 miles from the hotel.

Meet cheeky monkeys at Chester Zoo, 6 miles from the hotel, and head to nearby Cheshire Oaks Designer Outlet for big-name fashion bargains. It's a short, picturesque stroll along the River Mersey to view historic vessels at the National Waterways Museum, and Chester city centre is 12 miles from the hotel.

Work up an appetite in the air-conditioned Fitness Centre at Holiday Inn Ellesmere Port/Cheshire Oaks before a full English breakfast in The Locks Restaurant, overlooking the canal. Tasty dishes like grilled tuna and sizzling steaks are available at lunch and dinner An you can mingle till late in Locks Bar.

View Less
Features
The National Waterways Museum brings together a unique fleet of historic boats with rich collections and archives to tell the story of Britains canals and waterways. The historic docks at Ellesmere Port provide the perfect setting. With its stunning location on the banks of the Mersey and the Manchester Ship Canal, extensive in-door displays, boat trips and historic buildings.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 232 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay in Chester Reception staff and check-in proved to be very good. Access by direct lift to Reception desk saved time. Interior looked superior with highly polished surfaces and classic design. Room provided was excellent in every way - everything required was available. "Little Things" do mean a lot - chocolates, Sleep-Well gift, bottled water, bathroom toiletries. Lots of pillows and comfortable bed. Pool and Gym were available if needed. Breakfast was everything a "full English" could provide. Staff on hand to ensure you had all the food you require. Extras could be provided by chef who was waiting at the end of the buffet. Parking was not cheap but cheaper than Chester generally. Would recommend Crowne Plaza without reservation. September 24, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Littleselki I don't get away much (ever) as have two small children so wanted something a little more luxurious however we the room and hotel was perfectly comfortable and clean which ticked most of our boxes. For the price would have maybe expected a better view and maybe oh I don't know jacuzzi bath. Perhaps I am out of touch with prices and value for money though. All in all a very enjoyable stay but would either go standard room or try somewhere new. September 20, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location An excellent location for a trip to Chester, staff are very friendly. Didn't use the hotel bar or restaurant as there are so many local bars and restaurants within a short walk, although the breakfast is very good value for money. Found the car parking facilities were poor, not enough spaces for customers we had to use a public car park which was very close and had to return each day with a new voucher which isn't ideal. September 20, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very Good but Expensive Day at the Races You'd expect hotels to bump up rates on race day and Crowne is no exception. Nearly £200 for a basic room is pricey. However, the hotel is very good, rooms excellent and food surprisingly excellent. Service was first class everywhere. Centrally located just 5 mins from race course or city centre. Overall very good and I guess the price reflects the popularity of race day! September 20, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend stay Overall the hotel was great....but the water pressure for the shower was so weak I had to run around to get wet!! The hotel reception staff were very friendly and smiley when booking in and when checking out. Centrally located so good for the city centre. Had a great nights sleep as It was very comfortable and quiet. I thought it a little expensive. September 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent service we stayed for a spa package and were not disappointed. The girls at the spa were wonderful, ambience was amazing and we both felt so relaxed. we had an afternoon in the sauna and Jacuzzi-one thing I would suggest is maybe upgrading the Jacuzzi/pool area as it is a little dated. This did not affect our trip, and we were treated very well with a late check out that was much appreciated and needed! we will definitely go back. Thankyou! September 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Weekend to go to the races Found the Hotel & facilities to be excellent, all staff were very friendly and helpfull. Location could not have been better for the races and going out in the evening. The only down side was that the room we were in we could here the mobile conversation of the person in the next room through the door that would be used if it had been booked as a family room. However slept like a log on both nights so was only a minor issue. Will definitely go back again. September 6, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel let down by a couple of staff and poor Sunday breakfast We stayed Friday and Saturday nights - the hotel location was very good and the room was comfortable and clean but the television channels (except the main five channels) were very different from the ones listed in the room guide. The bar had two wall mounted televisions and both constantly showed (the same) football matches. Would have better switched off. Staff were friendly and helpful with two exceptions. The waitress in the main dining room on the Saturday evening was very wooden and looked fed up.The man who greeted us at the entrance to the breakfast room on Sunday morning seemed arrogant and also failed to order our hot drinks. The Sunday morning breakfast (at around 8am) was very poor as the hot food had clearly been under the heaters for a long while and was hard and shrivelled. Overall, for the five-star price for the rooms, we were disappointed and cannot recommend this hotel. September 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable but dissappointing The room was reasonably comfortable. On the negative one of the cups had not been washed properly and had dribble runs down the side of the cup which was really off putting. At 3 in the morning we were woken by a disturbance in the corridor of banging and knocking until eventually I went out and asked them to stop. On the positive the breakfast was very nice and the hotel is in a good location for town. September 4, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by One night stay Booked this hotel as a birthday treat for me and my best friend to enjoy a massage and chilled night in a posh hotel. Massage spa was brilliant- staff really friendly and would recommend the shell massage to anyone! for the price of £89 a night the room was good but not worth the price especially as breakfast not included and i was told WIFI had a charge!! room was clean and comfy just not as luxurious as I would expect for £89 a night! Staff very nice and helpful September 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Fabulous hotel and staff Stayed for 3 nights in twin room (26-29 August). The room was immaculate and cleaned everyday. The cleaners do an excellent job. Clean towels and bed linen was provided everday. Very comfortable bed. Very pleasant staff at reception desk and in the restaurant. Breakfast was excellent with lots to choose from. Only disappointment was that the chiller cabinet in the room wasn't working. Reported it twice but it didn't get resolved, but that's a minor issue. Would definitely book this hotel again. September 1, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Health Spa... Nice overnight stay, made use of the gym etc, food was acceptable, but £7+ for a pityfull size starter dish King Prawns! August 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Welcoming and comfortable We only stayed for one night, but the room was comfortable, clean and had everything that we needed. The staff were very welcoming and professional. Breakfast was good with lots of choice. Five minute walk to Chester town centre. Would definitely stay again. August 30, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by A calamity of errors Quite frankly the worst experience ever encountered at the IH group hotel, for a premium hotel this was quite disappointing. Parking was full and the alternative was excessively far away. Check In, not the room I booked twin not double. Bar service was cold, the most grumpy barmaid of the year without a doubt. Breakfast now it was 15GBP extra and was worse than a greasy cafe, bones!!! in the sausages and not much meat. All in all a poor show, I doubt I will return! August 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Hotel But For The Parking We stayed here for a night whilst visiting Chester arriving at 3:30pm, thirty minutes after the recommended booking in time. Sadly it was not a good start. Arriving at the hotel car park to be met with an electronic message on a small screen stating the car park was full. Not a problem except you then have to reverse back down a slope, across a path avoiding pedestrians and other traffic. Reporting to reception we were then given a voucher and directions to another car park. Luckily the rest of the stay was very good but please sort out the car parking and buy some spaces and access to the car park next to you. August 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A very pleasant stay Reception staff attentive and helpful. Accommodation was clean and well presented Breakfast was very good and generally the facilities available were well appreciated by myself and family. August 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great position and quiet! Hotel is perfectly positioned to take advantage of Chester's beautiful city amenities, whether for business or pleasure. The hotel itself is extremely comfortable and offers excellent room comfort. Bedding is quiet luxurious with beautifully soft pillows. A plus to have a choice of pillows. Would always stay here on visits to Chester! August 27, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Chester Exemplary service from Front Desk staff. Excellent room and service. August 24, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and clean comfy beds Would definitely say here again. Easy to get into town centre 3 mins on foot. Clean and comfy rooms and beds. August 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent as usual This is my third stay here and, as usual, it was excellent. Staff are extremely helpful and courteous. They also remember their guests: my co-worker left a package for me at front desk more than 2 weeks ago, yet the concierge remembered and brought it up to my room. The only recommendation I have is to improve the internet service. The wireless strength is good but internet connectivity drops intermittently. Not sure if this is a mechanism to prevent excessive use of bandwidth e.g. streaming. All, in all, this hotel is great: good rooms, courteous staff and great location. August 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service and great location. Stayed for a weekend to go to the races and meet up with friends. All the staff were friendly and gave excellent service with helpful tips for our stay. The breakfasts were excellent; variety of choice and fresh and appetising. The room was of a good size with a fabulous king size bed. Great location for the races as it was a 5 minute walk and also handy for the city centre. August 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Large family room, good pool and restuarant My wife and I, along with our two children aged 8 and 1 stayed here for two nights. Family room in exec floor was spacious, clean and comfortable although a little dark. Location was excellent for strolling around Chester city centre- less than 2 min walk to town hall. Pool area clean, well maintained and great fun for the children- shallow pool very nice indeed. Restaurant was good for breakfast. We had one dinner here which was good but made better as the children ate free! Exec lounge was well stocked, open 5-8 pm but children not allowed. However, we were given the same perks in Silk's bar- which was a nice option. Minor downsides- car parking, although widely advertised is expensive at 7.50 per day and the wifi at 10 per smart phone per day even more so. Overall, I would definitely recommend staying and would do so again. August 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Mid week getaway Lovely to get such a good size king size bed!! Food all good, don't know why the room rates vary so much each time you looked on line never knew when you did get the best price! All hotels now put a card in the bathroom about doing their thing to save the environment with the washing of towels etc and although we did hang ours up to re-use and didn't leave them on the floor we got clean towels. Also a new bar of soap each day for both shower and sink, that did seem a huge waste, other than that couldn't fault it and it was lovely to be back in Chester. Would use again. August 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic service This is our first family visit and we were thoroughly impressed. The service was fantastic, the room was perfect for our family requirements. We could not fault the hotel at all. All the staff we met were extremely helpful and friendly. Easy walking distance to the shops. Thank you so much for making our visit so special. August 19, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by 40th Anniversary We stayed at the Crowne Plaza, Chester, for our 40th anniversary, including a performance of Othello in the open air at Grosvenor Park.. The hotel provided everything one might expect of a CP & the help we received from reception staff was exemplary in every way. Daniel in particular was a star. August 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by what more do you need? Thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Crowne Plaza, Chester. From the moment we entered the hotel until the moment that we left the staff made us feel most welcome. The room has all that we needed to ensure that our short visit was as comfortable and relaxed that we could wish for, with the king size bed making for a great nights sleep. We would recommend this hotel to anyone and look forward to returning in the near future. August 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by First Class as Always When you arrive at this Hotel thr welcome you get at reception is so good that you are at ease immediately. The Rooms are good and the food is the best we have had at a Crown Plaza.The Hotel is situated in a perfect place for shopping in Chester and we look forward to our next visit in October. August 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable stylish hotel Stayed at the Crown Plaza for 2 nights. Close to town centre. Breakfast good. Nice spa/pool facilities. Room decent size and very comfortable. A very pleasant weekend. Hair dryer in room. No safe in room though, although can leave valuables in safety deposit boxes in reception. August 10, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Dirty room, dirty executive lounge and no reply from email to manager. I am writing today to complain of the poor standard of cleanliness which I received from company. I visited for one night and stayed in room 408 on the executive floor. On entrance to the room the room had looked like it was of a good standard of cleanliness as the bed was made and the room had been cleaned. However, on closer inspection there was a couple of things which hadn’t been cleaned properly for example, there was a little bit of faeces still in the toilet. However i just flushed it and it went away, this did not bother me. I was then picking up an item of clothing of the floor in which I seen that there was still some stuff underneath the arm chair in the corner of the room. I then left it and went to the executive lounge which on first impression was a really clean and nice environment to be in. However, we experienced some things here as well. For example, there was a fly (in which i do understand it is hard to stop this) which kept landing on the food which was supplied. After about 30 minutes off us being in there a member of staff entered to clean and replenish the refreshments however there was a really awful smell which I believe may have been coming from the dish washer which made the environment hard to stay around. We then left to go out into Chester instead. August 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by fantastic experience Loved the hotel the minute I stepped foot in there, very friendly staff and everything you needed as there, lovely weekend was enjoyed and would thoroughly recommend it August 2, 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 9 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Area Attractions Front Desk Reception Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Have pizza and soda delivered to your room with our in-room pizza package.  Book Now!
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-13-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-14-2014)
Check Availability
Loading