• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Nov-20-2014)
(e.g. Nov-21-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: CHESTER
  • Distance From Hotel: 7.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-00:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Polish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

No Dogs except Assistance Dogs

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Ellesmere Port Boat Museum
Distance From Hotel:0.35MI
Attraction:
Multi Screen Vue Cinema -
Distance From Hotel:4.0MI
Attraction:
Blue Planet Aquarium
Distance From Hotel:4.0MI
Attraction:
Cheshire Oaks Designer Outlet Village
Distance From Hotel:4.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:85
  • Car Parking Available
  • Hotel offers free parking

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2002
  • Total number of rooms:83
  • Total number of suites:1
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:31
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:10
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:83
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

Enjoy a peaceful canalside location at the Holiday Inn Ellesmere Port/Cheshire Oaks, set on the beautiful Wirral Peninsula.

All 83 fresh, modern Guest rooms at the wharf-style Holiday Inn Ellesmere Port/Cheshire Oaks hotel offer high-speed Internet and canal views. Cross bridges and locks to arrive at our tranquil island home and take a few short steps along the towpath to reach our heated indoor pool, sauna and 9 naturally lit meeting rooms.

Guests attending
View More

Enjoy a peaceful canalside location at the Holiday Inn Ellesmere Port/Cheshire Oaks, set on the beautiful Wirral Peninsula.

All 83 fresh, modern Guest rooms at the wharf-style Holiday Inn Ellesmere Port/Cheshire Oaks hotel offer high-speed Internet and canal views. Cross bridges and locks to arrive at our tranquil island home and take a few short steps along the towpath to reach our heated indoor pool, sauna and 9 naturally lit meeting rooms.

Guests attending weddings or conferences at Holiday Inn Ellesmere Port/Cheshire Oaks enjoy use of the private bar and lounge in our 270-person Mercer Suite. It's easy to reach meetings in Liverpool and Manchester thanks to convenient motorway connections. Liverpool John Lennon Airport is 8 miles from the hotel.

Meet cheeky monkeys at Chester Zoo, 6 miles from the hotel, and head to nearby Cheshire Oaks Designer Outlet for big-name fashion bargains. It's a short, picturesque stroll along the River Mersey to view historic vessels at the National Waterways Museum, and Chester city centre is 12 miles from the hotel.

Work up an appetite in the air-conditioned Fitness Centre at Holiday Inn Ellesmere Port/Cheshire Oaks before a full English breakfast in The Locks Restaurant, overlooking the canal. Tasty dishes like grilled tuna and sizzling steaks are available at lunch and dinner An you can mingle till late in Locks Bar.

View Less
Features
The National Waterways Museum brings together a unique fleet of historic boats with rich collections and archives to tell the story of Britains canals and waterways. The historic docks at Ellesmere Port provide the perfect setting. With its stunning location on the banks of the Mersey and the Manchester Ship Canal, extensive in-door displays, boat trips and historic buildings.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 346 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel in an ideal location. Central Chester We really enjoyed our stay and were delighted with the fact that the Hotel reserved car parking spaces free of charge as we were part of a Group Booking. The Hotel is maintained to a very high standard throughout, staff are extremely courteous. They willingly provided directions and assistance when required. June 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend Away This is the first time I have stopped in this hotel and would highly recommend it. The location is first class vey close to the centre. the staff were very helpful and friendly and the interior of the hotel modern and fresh June 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Smart, comfortable and practical Perfect hotel for business. Easy and fast check-in and check-out. Outstanding quality in service provided by staff. Nice atmosphere June 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, good hotel, exceptional staff It was good to have a city centre hotel that provided car parking. On entering the hotel I was greeted by two of the best members of reception staff I have come across. They alone set the standard for the rest of my stay. I was also helped on the next day of my stay with yet another excellent member of reception staff. The room was comfortable and serviced well each day. The food was good and the staff capable, helpful and friendly. The swimming pool opens at 6 am, which is a very useful time - too many hotels open their pools too late to allow you to have an early morning swim before work. This hotel's best asset is definitely their staff, each and every one of them. I look forward to coming back to this hotel next time I am in the area. June 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Internet Everything was excellent apart from the Wifi which you had to keep coming out of and logging back into which was a nusiance June 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Easy access to City Hassle free stay in comfortable room with great access to town. Refitted rooms are a big improvement. Good breakfast choice and very attentive staff throughout. June 17, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by A dissapointing stay The staff are very friendly however, I found that the quality of the room fell far short of what I would expect from a 4* hotel. June 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel, nice room, disappointing gym. I really enjoyed my stay at the Crowne Plaza Chester. The room is very spacious with the equipment that you need to feel comfortable: Iron, press, etc... The room is complimentary tea and coffee as well as delicious biscuits which is great when you are after a long trip and check in late the hotel. The breakfast is fine and complete. My tip to you: Take the breakfast vouchers if your reservation does not include breakfast. One big minus: The gym is not well equipped if you wish to do a proper weight training. There is only one bench and dumbbells up to 20kg :( June 16, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poor parking arrangements and no free wi fi Hotel car park was full so had to reverse down access ramp and pick up a voucher for the next nearest car park. This car park is of a very old design and requires you to guess where a space is and then do a three point turn when you find that that area is also full. Eventually found a space but would not feel safe returning to car late at night or early morning. (This car park is locked 11.30 pm to 6.30 am). Took a while for reception to find a room: rooms available on 2nd floor but receptionist insisted on 1st floor room. Thought I had booked a double bed but room turned out to be twin beds. Decided to grin and bear it in view of time taken so far. Shower curtain was hanging off, sink plug did not work, bedside phone did not work. No view from very small window in room. Wi Fi was chargeable. (Thought it was free for IHG Club members). Asked the usual "was your stay okay" and receptionist seemed surprised when I said I found it very disappointing. Offered to refund car parking fee of £7.50. Didn't accept the offer as it was more disappointing than that. Have stayed in many IHG hotels before: this was the most disappointing stay. June 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Hotel The hotel is in a great location, a few minutes walking distance to all local attractions with convenient parking. The staff, service and facilities were excellent (we spent a rainy day in the pool etc trying to keep a two year old amused!). We had a family room (3 beds) on the "club" floor that was immaculate, spacious, comfortable and well maintained throughout our three-day stay. I highly recommend this hotel and will stay there again. June 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable, central hotel with exceptional Seavice Every time we return to Chester, about three times a year, we choose to stay at this hotel. The staff are very helpful, the service is good, the rooms are airy and pleasant, the beds are comfortable and there is car parking on site,what is there not to like??!!. June 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Birthday Celebrations Friendly & helpful staff. I would def recommend and stay again - thank you June 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Night in Chester A last minute decision to have a night out in Chester and booked the Crowne Plaza, which was the right choice. Great friendly staff and lovely rooms. Would return again. June 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent City Centre Hotel Great location and very good hotel overall. Rooms not overly large but very comfortable with everything to hand. Shouldn't be charging for WiFi though in hotel of this level. Will be my first choice when back in Chester next. June 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service Friendly and efficient staff, being 7 months pregnant during my stay they ensured I was taken care of June 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Chester Plaza This a great Hotel once inside, doesn't look much from the outside. The location is great. Just off the main shopping street. Rooms were nice. May 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay couldn't complain about the stay, was great the service was first class and we were really looked after. May 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Quality Staff Our stay at Crowne Plaze was great. Please see Trip Advisor for full review. May 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Professional The staff in all areas of the hotel were attentive, professional and very friendly. Definitely recommend as a place to stay! May 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Komfortables Bett, aber das Badezimmer ... Wir waren in Chester zu einer Hochzeit eingeladen und suchten deshalb ein Hotel in der Nähe des Racecourse. So fiel die Wahl auf das Crowne Plaza, wobei von vornherein klar war, dass wir die Annehmlichkeiten des Hotels sowieso kaum nutzen würden. Das Bett im recht großen Gästezimmer war 1 mit Sternchen. So gut haben wir selten in Hotelbetten geschlafen. Ganz toll! Eine Enttäuschung war das Badezimmer. Duschvorhänge sollten aus allen modernen Hotels verbannt sein, aber hier traf man noch auf solch ein Exmplar.. Schlimmer noch die Position der Toilette neben der Badewanne. Selbst als kleiner Mensch hat man hier Schwierigkeiten sein Geschäft in Würde zu verrichten. Das passt nicht zur großzügigen Gestaltung des Gästezimmers. Das Design des Badezimmers ist für uns definitiv mangelhaft. Sein Zustand zeigt überdies, dass das Hotel etwas in die Jahre gekommen ist. Das Rezeptionspersonal war sehr freundlich und zuvorkommend. May 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic modern but comfortable hotel with excellent staff I cannot thank the hotel staff enough for making our stay at the hotel so fantastic from the helpful lady on check in who gave us complimentary drink as our room wasn't quite ready to the lady in the restaurant who helped us on the last day by giving us some ibuprofen as all the shops were still closed. I would say all the staff were very helpful and went out there way to make our stay as stress free and enjoyable as possible. We stayed in the hotel with our 2 young children and we were made to feel very welcome. During our stay in Chester the weather was terrible the hotel made our stay very enjoyable as the children loved the swimming pool. Our room was huge with plenty of storage and the beds were extremely comfortable. We stayed in a Club room and thought it was amazing value for money. This is our first family stay in a Crowne Plaza but we will definitely staying again and have already recommended to family and friends. May 28, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor value This hotel is poor value for money. Apart from its location, this hotel has nothing much to offer. The rooms are average, service mediocre and toon service poor. May 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Professional, courteous and frirndly reception staff I received and excellent welcome and the check out was swift and efficient. Will certainly book again. Excellent location as well. Very good breakfast spread with one little exception - no muesli at the time of my sitting but not an issue. May 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Terrific Staff Very rarely do I stay at a hotel where without fail, all staff are cheerful and helpful. It is always a pleasure to stay at this hotel. May 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely helpful staff and really comfy bed Stayed for one night on the rare occasion myself and my hubby have a night away. Will defo be returning to this hotel, the room was very comfy and the staff where really helpful. Chester is also a lovely place to visit. May 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic Hotel We really enjoyed our stay at the hotel. Although one night was not long enough. The hotel is in a fantastic location. The staff where very helpful and polite. Breakfast was excellent. The swimming pool was a big hit with all the family. Our five year old son said it was better than the Crown Plaza in Vilamoura where we stayed last year. Needless to say we will be back later in the year but this time for 2-3 nights. May 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely relaxing stay My weekend stay with my 11 year d daughter was a complete relaxation. The staff were amazing and could not have been any nicer. Overall I would recommend the the executive suite although my last stay on the 4 th floor was a nicer room !! The staff in the restaurant are lovely however clearing plates and glasses they were a bit slow especially at breakfast. However I would definitely stay again thank you for a great stay May 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel, great staff and great location Wonderful experience all around, I have nothing bad to say about the hotel, its employes or the location. May 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Went to Chester for a short break. Lovely hotel. No complaints at all Couple of observations... Went for breakfast at 9.40 and was made very aware that it stopped at 10. Wasn't given a menu so didn't know I could have omelette , salmon etc. was sat at an unset table and had to ask for cutlery. I feel very stupid that I didn't know the fridge was full of stuff that wasn't complementary...I know I should have realised but never mind. I wasn't charged for the 2 items we had so no probs there. I would stay at the hotel again. May 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great stay stay here on 25/04/14 for one night, we were on the four floor which is the quite floor. the bedroom was big and clean and the bed was very good had a great night sleep, the bathroom walk in shower, bath-towels, shower cream, hand cream was all there. there is a free safe in room, air-con in room. we had a very nice stay here and the hotel is very close to Chester centre. we had a meal there and the food was very good nice bar with lots of drink and good price. we would come back to this hotel. May 5, 2014
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 13 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Reception Area Attractions Front Desk Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Stay for Less
Close
Check In
(e.g. Nov-20-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Nov-21-2014)
Check Availability
Loading