Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Oct-01-2014)
(e.g. Oct-02-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 61 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by großartiger Service sehr freundliches Personal, Gastronomie sehr gut, Zimmer geräumig und sehr sauber August 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Staff, great location! I have stayed several times in this hotel since Spetember 2013. I like its location, the rooms are spacious, clean, equipped with everything you need for a 3-4 night stay. For longer stays also suites with a small kitchen are available. I love the friendly and helpful Staff :) The only thing I sometimes had problems with were the beds (some plastic sheet laid underneath the regular bedsheet which made you swet all night) and the pillows. Although, if you wish, you can request different type of pillows at the Reception. Breakfast is rich, with various and delicious offerings. Food in their restaurant is also OK, some dishes did not win my taste, some were very delicious. Location is great: 1 minute walk to the mall and 5 minute walk to the city centre where you can find several stores, restaurants, food market, etc. In general: great hotel! :) August 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 ESSEN,Holiday Inn Everything I needed was here for this two night stay. I find the standard of Holiday Inn high and this was no exception. Service was excellent. July 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Long-term stay review Excellent, friendly and attentive staff. The hotel does not have very good ambience - it is not very modern in terms of decoration, in either the rooms, restaurant, bar or other common areas, but it is maintained and kept clean very well. There is nowhere to relax. The bar area is small and has high stools only. The gym is a bit disappointing. The breakfast is very good. The food in the restaurant is good quality but a limited selection and does not change enough for someone who has been staying for over a year. I have had problems with internet connection, both with poor wifi connection in some rooms and sometimes unusable wirer connection. July 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Preis - Lesitung passt nicht Für das gebotene war der Übernachtungspreis erheblich zu hoch. Bad: klein aber normal ausgestattet Frühstück: Durchschnitt - Sonderwünsche erfordern zu viel Wartezeit. Käseauswahl entspricht Discounter-Niveau. Frisches Obst war praktisch nicht vorhanden. Jetzt ist Erdbeerzeit aber diese fehlten komplett. July 6, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Äußeres, Zimmer und Umgebung leider enttäuschend Die meisten Zimmer und das Äußere des Hotels haben noch sehr den "Charm der 90er". Wenn das Zimmer auch soweit sauber war, so hatte es doch mehrere kleine Mängel: Riss im Vorhang, Knauf m Waschbecken fehlte, leicht modriger Geruch im Badezimmer, Duschvorhang (statt Duschwand), zu dunkle Dusche... Obwohl ich ein Zimmer nach hinten raus hatte (und es dadurch zumindest bei geschlossenem Fenster aureichend ruhig war) merkte man doch, dass die Schallisolierung der Fenster nicht die beste war. Der Frühstücksraum hat mir auch nicht gefallen - zu eng und einige Tische stehen förmlich im Engang des Raumes - nicht sehr gemütlich. Zu loben ist die Auswahl beim Frühstück (abgesehen vom Heißgetränk - zumindest wurde ich nicht gefragt, ob ich abgesehen vom auf dem Tisch stehenden Kaffee und der Teeauswahl etwas anderes möchte) und der nette Service. June 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff very friendly and offer great service Hotel is exceptional. I stay here every week and nothing is too much trouble for the staff. they remember your name and go out of thier way to assist you. Room spacious and very clean. June 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great room - felt a bit dated but the breakfast was excellent The room was quiet and dark so I had a good sleep. There was excellent selection of "gimmicks" in the bath room. The room felt a bit dated but was nonetheless good. The room itself was large and had a kitchenette - unfortunately there was a microwave only but no cooker and pots. The breakfast food selection was great and the only thing I was missing was "baked beans" and pan cakes :) June 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 stay in Essen, Germany hotel personnel is very friendly. The location close to the city center and shopping center is very convenient. Although i liked the huge size of the bedroom, I think it needs some updating and refreshing.The wi-fi connection was very weak and internet was almost not reachable. All in all I would recommend this hotel. June 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Super Lage, tolle Zimmer große Zimmer; schönes Bad; bequemes Bett und Kissenauswahl; sehr vielfältiges Frühstück - sogar mit Waffeln; zuvorkommende Mitarbeiter; rundum - alles perfekt ! June 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice for Business stay Good location , good staff , very nice restaurant . Perfect for Business trip in that area. I think a bit expensive during exhibition time June 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by confort and service At the Holiday Inn Essen I got excellent service, quick and efficient check-in, recognition of IHG status. My room was large (vestibule and sleeping room), soundproofing really excellent. Breakfast was at the level of the very best business hotels. Definitely to recommend. May 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable stay My stay was comfortable, but the cleaning staff do not do a good job sometimes. When your room run out of supplies, you may need to call the reception for replenishing, despite the fact that the daily room service have been in the room May 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Un hotel que cumplió mis necesidades y expectativas en este viaje de negocios Buen equilibrio de calidad y servicio. Precio algo elevado pero aceptable dado el período en que estuve alojado. May 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel The hotel was great, especially being sold out for our conference. Every staff member I encountered was superb, in their service and helpful attitude. My company will return. May 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Essen - City Centre I was on business trip. Fast and easy registration, clean and big single room, nice view. Good selection of breakfast food. Simple, but very effective business mini-center. Excellent service! Very pleasant expirience! May 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Essen - City Centre I was on business trip. Fast and easy registration, clean and big single room, nice view. Good selection of breakfast food. Simple, but very effective business mini-center. Excellent service! Very pleasant expirience! May 11, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Please fix the wifi Wifi not working in rooms. Please change the menu in the restaurant once in a while. April 22, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by No clean up room, uncomfortable room. Only good location to go to messe. I stayed 7 nights for my business, but my room didn't cleaned up. They just changed the towels. They left dirty cups on the table or put them on the floor near the door. The staff didn't know until I went to the reception and complained face to face. I asked them two times by phone. But they didn't trust me what I said. Then I picked coffee cups and glasses up to the reception and took the manager to my room. Then they noticed how dirty my room was. It was too late. I left there on the next day. Also I asked the reception(concierge) some places where I wanted to visit for the references of my business. But they said "I don't know". That's all. They were completely not friendly. I didn't hear any apology from any staff at all. They just said their house keeper did. I don't recommend this hotel to my friends. I chose this hotel, because Holiday Inn Dusserdolf was great. All stuffs were kind, friendly and great, the room was very comfortable. I trust the quality of Holiday Inn. But Holiday Inn Essen City Center was terrible. February 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Had a good stay During me stay at holiday in, I had a good sleep and cleaned room. Also the service at reception and Bar was very good. December 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by a warm welcome as always It was a pleasant stay in the Holiday Inn in Essen, Germany. Friendly people, good room. Just as always a warm welcome. December 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel for an exellent price We stayed one night for our Christmastrip in Essen en we want to let you know that this Hotel is very good in quality. And the price is sharp. We had a very pleassant stay in this Hotel. Just on the other side of the shoppingstreet. Next year we come again. November 27, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by disappointed experience Although it is a Holiday inn, I would say it is less than a Holiday Inn Express. The pillow with the tag firm is actually soft, therefore, I got 4 soft pillow, which made me sleep badly. The staff told me that there should be some complimentary tea, but none in my room. I was told to ask for some from the bar by myself... The room is big but old. Nonetheless, I will avoid this hotel in the future. November 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Hotel Staff was very pleasant and helpful, hotel located very close to shopping center, movie theater, and the metro train station. Restaurant and bar were fabulous! Decent prices for an amazing meal. Room was very comfortable and secure, and we will be staying there again as we have business trips in Essen every year. November 2, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by lumpy bed and runny scrambeled eggs At check in since we were quite early, the room was not ready, but it was 11am and we were on a single night stay traveling light so no big deal. The staff was friendly and polite. This location is a 12 Euro cab ride or similar metro fare for 4 people to the Essen Messe center. When we came back about 4-5hrs later the staff had changed, but again very friendly. We got our rooms and found the hallway on our floor to be smelling of fresh carpet and the walls were spotless and freshly painted or so they appeared. Signage on the floor was very easy to read and understand where our 2 rooms (4 people) were at. We booked one 2x single bed (for 2 men) and a queen bed for ourselves. Both rooms were spotless and in good condition. Just a note, you have to step up into/down when getting out a good full step. Be sure to check the shampoo container before you goto bed. Mine had just enough to wash my hair and then it was all gone. One other note, TV is limited to 30 volume units with no way to over ride it. Extra pillows seem to be in short supply. I asked for some and then went out to eat (Burger King is 5 mins walking distance from the hotel) and when I came back I went up to my room and waited to see if they would deliver the pillows. They didn't, so went back down and asked and the desk agent had to ask the manager who said they did not have any more "hard" pillows. Then it was decided that we could raid a empty room for pillows. Nice decision making there! The bed felt lumpy and the separate comforter covers were not as nice as one big cover would be. The pillows left something to be desired. If you want a super soft pillow then their "soft" will do. If you want regular "soft" their their "hard" will do the job. You get one of each. Our room stayed warm enough without having to turn on the heater. Airco was shut off for the season and windows are a bit odd in their opening style. (one opens to vent position only and the other opens fully as well as vent). You have a hardwire internet connection in the room though I saw what appeared to be WIFI repeaters in the hallway. Breakfast was nice, self made waffles are great! The cut fruit was to young and hard as a rock. The pears were a mix and match of soft and hard. Lots of hot food to choose from and all kinds of meats cold and hot to choose from. 3 fruit juices, tomato juice and water are to drink along with coffee on your table or tea on the buffet. But watch out for the scrambled eggs. These were as watery as the container they came out of and will just slide down your throat like water or slime. But overall this was really impressive for such a small serving area. Staff are polite and quick to clear your plate after you leave it to go and get another one for your next round at the buffet. October 30, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by too many worse things this time I have booked 2 x 2 single double bed rooms on your website and we got completely different ones ( french double bed 5 feet ). Furthermore we have found the hot water maker, coffee cups and the other things on the bottom of the wardrobe where others place shoes and where the dust of the clothes are falling down. We have been said that this is wanted like it is now... no comments on this, because this is disgusting only. The worst thing was that we had no heating for 2 days, it was cold in the room and in the bath. On the second day we have been offered to move, but we thought not to make too much problems with moving and that the heating will be ok at night again, but it wasn't. We have been offered to get 1 x breakfast each off for this disaster only. For a **** hotel this is poor as we are guests since several years. Other hotels offer more as compensation. I don't know what to say about the comment of the woman who was responsible for the hotel the morning of departure. She said that we don't need to sleep in this hotel and we can look for another hotel if we don't like this. October 19, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great breakfast buffet We stayed at this hotel for a night (booked with Movie Park). I had my worries about the parking for the night, but there are free parking in front of the hotel and the nearby streets. There is also a huge parking garage behind the hotel and you can park your car from 8pm to 6am for €3. We got a big room with 2 single beds and an armchair which was converted into a bed for our 5-year-old daughter. The mattresses were OK, but I'm used to better ones in other 4-star-hotels that I've been to. The breakfast buffet was the highlight of our stay. We loved the choices offered at the buffet. Although it was crowded, the staff worked really hard in re-filling all food and beverage containers. We sat near the kitchen and the cook/chef came out a lot of times to inspect the food!!! Altogether, we had a pleasant stay and another bonus is that the hotel is located in front of a huge shopping mall! October 17, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Embittered in Essen Holiday Inn, On arrival we were nicely upgraded to one of the apartment rooms, but the front desk failed to tell us that the bed in this apartment was a "waterbed". We have never heard of a water bed option in a Holiday Inn hotel! The first night when we went to bed we were shocked. It was a "very slushy " waterbed and extremely difficult to roll over or get out of. We called the front desk and informed them of our shock. The front desk offered a room just like the one we were in but with twin beds (they stated room 331). Due to the late hour they said we could move to it in the morning. In the morning we were informed that 331 was occupied and all they had for us was a single standard room with twin beds that were not movable to put together as a double. Since there was a conference in Essen that week, the hotel was sold out and we were forced to stay in this hotel and with this waterbed even though it was terribly uncomfortable. We then realized that the sofa opened up to a sofa-sleeper so we asked if sheets and a mattress pad could be provided. The staff were unresponsive saying it might be difficult to find sheets and a mattress cover! This made us feel as though we were in a cheap hotel with a waterbed and only a few sheets! They did leave sheets in our room while we were at dinner that night but we had to make up our own bed. (We had to pull out the sofa and make it up). The pull out sofa was very uncomfortable but better than the horrible sleep on the waterbed! This is an unacceptable business arrangement - especially at the inflated rates charged during the area conference. We stayed 4 nights during a business trip; imagine having to conduct business with little sleep due to sleeping on a pull out sofa! To add to the difficulty of sleeping on the sofa, the last morning the hotel did not have HOT WATER. When we asked the front desk about the cold shower, all they said was they would look into it. When checking out, others were at the desk complaining of having no hot water too. This Hotel shows a 4 star rating; I recommend reviewing that rating, and at least getting rid of the waterbed. Extremely disappointed. October 14, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Verf noisy and unfriendly staff Staff unfriendly expensieve parking Windows directly near à busrental and recylebins September 25, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient location and comfortable bed This hotel is a good spot for a trade fair in Essen. I did not find staff concerned at all when I had no hot water in room. This can rarely happen and usually manager is taking special care of his customers especially when they are members. This was not the case. Very disapointing. Otherwise you can enjoy a good breakfast and wifi is fine. September 24, 2013
<<prev2 3 next>>