• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Apr-20-2014)
(e.g. Apr-21-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: FORT MYERS
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.5MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

A 100.00 non refundable fee is due upon check in. Pet must be under 40 pounds.
Pet deposit amount  50.00  USD  per stay

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Shell Factory
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI
Attraction:
Fort Myers Beach
Distance From Hotel:18.0MI
Attraction:
Imaginarium
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI
Attraction:
Edison & Ford Winter Estates
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Accommodates motor coach buses, 16 wheelers and almost anything the same size or bigger.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:122
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:43
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:79
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:122
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Executive floors
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Downtown Historic District, Fort Myers hotel. You will know we are a step above the rest as soon as you walk into our large, renovated, contemporary style lobby. Soon you will be greeted by an outstanding front desk agent solely concerned with your satisfaction. After checking in, enjoy the Holiday Inn Downtown Historic District’s fully renovated guestrooms, business center, and Cafe Escape Restaurant & Bar. Enjoy high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the entire
View More
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Downtown Historic District, Fort Myers hotel. You will know we are a step above the rest as soon as you walk into our large, renovated, contemporary style lobby. Soon you will be greeted by an outstanding front desk agent solely concerned with your satisfaction. After checking in, enjoy the Holiday Inn Downtown Historic District’s fully renovated guestrooms, business center, and Cafe Escape Restaurant & Bar. Enjoy high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the entire hotel, meeting space, and even while relaxing by our tropical pool. Our business center offers two computers with printing capabilities and Internet access so that you can catch up on those personal or business needs. The Holiday Inn Downtown Historic District is located in Fort Myers near the River District, Edison Ford Estates, and is within walking distance of Lee Memorial Hospital, local businesses, dining, shopping, and entertainment. The Holiday Inn Downtown Historic District Fort Myers Hotel is just minutes from I-75 and approximately 20 minutes from the Southwest International Airport (RSW), so you can be at your home away from home in no time!
View Less
Features
Our renovated hotel is walking distance to the Edison & Ford Estates and Lee Memorial Hospital. Our well appointed, spacious rooms feature refrigerators and microwaves in every room. We have a 24/7 Business Center, Laundry Facility, and Fitness Center, an outdoor pool, and restaurant/lounge that serves breakfast and dinner. We are 3 blocks to government offices.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 74 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 New Years Eve 2013 Our stay was great. Upon check in the staff was very pleasant and accomodating as much as they could be considering it was a full house and New Years Eve. The room was nicely appointed with king size bed, large, clean bathroom, Keureg coffee maker etc. The room was decorated lovely. The bed was very comfortable. The location of the hotel is centrally located to everything you could want. Lots of restaurants, bars and coffee shops within walking distance. We wish there would have been a small refrigerator for drinks. Also the shower didn't drain properly which we told staff at check out. I am certain that will be taken care of. Overally, a super stay and great New Years Eve spent in downtown Fort Myers. We would definitely stay at the Indigo again. January 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent hotel and perfect location! This is a very nice Indigo, with well appointed rooms and service. The location is unbeatable for downtown! Thank you! January 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A delightful experience Lovely hotel, clean rooms, polite and knowledgeable staff. A gem of a find in downtown Ft. Myers. Would go back, would definately recommend. January 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great Location - great location - friendly and helpfully staff - quiet und clean rooms December 21, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by could be so much more nice but not great; overall staff was not that helpful. wanted to like this boutique hotel but in the end, it was just ok December 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very comfortable room - nice size I very much enjoyed the location and the room, I stayed on a Friday and Saturday night, found it a little noisy around the time the bars closed and people came back. December 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by very nice wonderful location, very "hip". Would definitely stay at Hotel Indigo again. December 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Flush and Clean Indigo was very nice and lived up to the advertisement. I would definitely recommend this place. November 22, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice but needs more space Nice hotel with very odd set up! Elevators in strange place, not enough space for clothes when there are 3 people in a room. Rooftop is very nice. Service was great! November 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love it! I was surprised by how big and spacious the rooms were. Excellent quality - will definitely stop again! November 10, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Continues to be a dive I decided to give this place another try. It was disappointing. The only reaaon it has 2 star is the staff and the location. The phone in the room didn't work, one of the two elevators was broken, the fountain in the lobby area was inoperative, some of the lobby furniture was ripped. The place is in need of a major renovation. At least this time I didn't have 3 buckets catching water dripping from the ceiling. I am sorry for the people but this place will fail. This hotel is a blight on the IHG brand. November 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by I've been here 8 times in the last year My mother is in a facility here, and I visit from out of town. This hotel feels comfortable. I love the staff - from the front desk to the rooftop bartender (Terry). Kudos to the owner. They run a great place. November 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by if you are staying in ft myers this is the place. the hotel was so different in style. I have been told it was an old office building. this makes the rooms nice and big. bathroom is also roomy. bed was very nice and we slept well. rooms are very clean and staff is friendly. the rooftop pool and bar is not to be missed. out of a score of ten, ten being the best I will give it a 9 1/2. October 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 5 Stars ! Awesome ! Exceeded all my expectations ! Had a wonderful time ! Loved the location as well . October 24, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Needs more drawer space Did not like the fact that there was little room to put clothing, no bathtub. several members of my family never had their rooms cleaned. There should also be a refrigerator in the room. We had medication that needed refrigeration. Did not like that we were charged automatically for amenities that were not used. October 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable and friendly my son had his room blocked for the night he got married and it was beautiful and very accomidating, everything was close that you could possibly need. I would stay there again, thankyou October 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Simply Awesome all around! I was surprised at the overall hotel experience. This place is like a hidden gem. You wouldn't know there was a hotel in this quaint downtown district. The quality, cleanliness, superior staff helpfulness made this a super stay! I wish our first room would of had a refrigerator and that the AC units would be a little quieter, but those are minor compared to all the elegance and comfort! Our 2nd night we had to move to a room without a balcony because of booking availability, but instead we were upgraded to an available suite for our inconvenience. What a beautiful apartment sized hotel room! Absolutely had everything you could need! We will be returning to this hotel every time we come to Ft Myers! October 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Was Very Impressed! I did an internet search for a last minute room in Ft. Myers and found your Hotel and booked on-line. I usually only search for extremely well known hotels that I have confidence in because I travel a lot. I will say that everything here surpassed my expectations at a more than fair price.. Warm friendly helpful and knowledgable staff at the front, clean updated rooms, and a wonderful pool area on the roof top. I actually said to myself if I was in the industry this is a kind of hotel I would want to own. Great job to the managers owners and staff - if I ever go back to the area I will stay there again. October 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Accommodating staff, clean room, great sky bar and atmosphere. Really enjoyed the pleasant staff and easy access to all the town had to offer. Comfortable bed and linens with very stylish flair. Nice room details to higher quality products in soaps, coffee, lotions, TV, writing desk, etc. Everyone had a pleasant demeanor. Would definitely come back when back in town. October 8, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not as clean as I expected/other issues For a boutique hotel, I expected more cleanliness. The floor in my room had not been swept well, nor had the mirrors or floor in the bathroom been cleaned well. The wingback chair in my room was dirty and dingy. The complimentary robes were a nice touch but were for very small people. The bed was comfortable and I did sleep well there. The front desk staff was very helpful. Making reservations was too time consuming via telephone through the corporate line. I was also double charged on my credit card for my room and now have to take the time to dispute that charge with the bank. October 3, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Trip To Ft Myers Indigo Nice location in old downtown Ft Myers Front Desk staff very poor Room was clean and neat but very small and cramped Bathroom was nice Airconditioning was very loud October 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 5 Star Hotel Great Hotel! I spend a lot of time travelling around the world on business and feel I'm qualified to rate your hotel 5 Star. October 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff & location Since the day we got to the hotel and the day we left the staff was amazing!!!! Extremely clean and modern . No doubt one of the best choice we made in a long time. September 5, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Fun Beachy environment The hotel has a fun beachy theme and the neighborhood was great. Lots of restaraunts to chose from. I was disappointed that the only bar in the hotel was on the roof and had a cranky bartender and closed at 9 or before. We were there for a work meeting and it would have been great to sit with my peers and have a cocktail. Not the case here! We were there off season and good luck finding any place open after 9 or 10! September 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Hotel in the River District Quite possibly the best value in Fort Myers. Beautiful modern interiors, extremely comfortable bed, gorgeous roof top pool with a view of the city and adjoining cool bar scene, downstairs uptown bar scene and delicious sister restaurant serving breakfast to dinner and beyond. Prompt and reasonable valet service and hotel is completely indoors for safety. Loved it!!! August 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Stay The Hotel Indigo was a great choice for our stay. It was located in the River District and close to all the boutiques and local stores. The hotel room was very clean and elegant and the bed super comfortable. I would recommend this hotel to anyone coming down to the Ft. Myers area. August 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location! My wife and I spent 3-days at the Hotel Indigo and had a wonderful time. The hotel is located in the heart of the River District. You can park your car and not need it again since everything is within walking distance. The hotel has a rooftop pool, restaurant, and bar with music. Below the hotel are restaurants, shops, and a Starbucks. We walked to the sports bar and listened to live music. We also enjoyed talking to the locals. Ford’s Garage, which was right around the corner, was a neat place to eat with great food and cool atmosphere. I am a platinum member so I was upgraded to a corner room that had 3 big windows with nice views. You can walk to shops, and lots of good restaurants. We have never been to Fort Myers before and we really liked hanging in the River District. The staff was very friendly and we definitely recommend you plan a 3-day vacation (or longer) at the Hotel Indigo in Fort Myers. July 10, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Actually the worst hotel experience I've ever had I know no one wants to read bad reviews and I think this may be only the third or so negative review I've given out of probably 100. But I want to give my honest experience and let you decide for yourself. I was born and raised in Fort Myers. I came back to celebrate a baby shower along with my husband and I thought that it'd be nice if we tried a hotel that was something different. Especially since we were attempting to make up for missing our anniversary and Valentine's day, as well as our last month together before our second child arrived. Since Hotel Indigo was rated number 1 there for Couples, after reading a few hours worth of reviews, I decided to try it. I normally use Hotwire to reserve a room, but I decided to go ahead and pay near to full price by booking with the hotel itself online (IHG). I also am a Priority Rewards member. Because I live in Fort Myers, multiple friends and family had heard of the hotel and wished me to give a recommendation after I tried it myself. My best friend's mom even was looking for a place for her wedding reception so I took it upon myself to note every little thing that was right or wrong about the hotel. We got in Saturday night around 10 pm. The staff, Kathy I believe, was very professional and polite. When I walked into the room, I was underwhelmed. The room was fine, I guess, but for the price I paid? I had asked for a corner room, but I'm guessing I didn't get it because the room was pretty small. The view was alright, just looking out over the river district with some bridges in the distance. But herein started the issues, which for your reading convenience, I will outline: Negative -The room's AC was off when we came in, so the room was sticky and hot. Lovely. -The moment we walked into the room we wanted a shower. We found that the shower made a terribly loud vibrating noise and called the front desk. They sent engineering up and the man was very polite and professional and told us he believed something was clogged. He said it'd take at least a half hour to fix and figured we were tired so suggested coming back tomorrow while we were out. We agreed and were left to take the shower with an incredibly unrelaxing and LOUD vibrating sound. -I asked if the engineering guy thought we should try to get another room, but he said the hotel was packed with basically no room free thanks to two wedding parties. Great, so we had no options. -The shower has no door, in a European style. I cannot say that that is a negative for everyone, but I wish that someone had noted it to me because it makes for a very messy shower. We had to have towels down everywhere because the shower was hitting the wall when we tested it and my poor tired and hot husband had to go down and get more. -We ordered a pizza and was told that we had to go down in get it, that he could not come up. Again, my poor husband had to throw on his clothes (we'd just finished our shower) and walk all the way down to get it. Kathy apologized, but we knew it wasn't her fault. Definitely just one more inconvenience on top of many. -We found that there was only a small wastebasket in our bathroom, and a tiny recycling bin in the living room. There was no trash can at all. We are all for recycling, but what about food, which can't be recycled? -In our room, there was no microwave, fridge, or even utensils. -The AC was LOUD! Woke us up coming on a few times. It wasn't always loud and was definitely newer, but beware of the possibility. -The next morning, we were woken up by the same vibrating sound at 7:00 am for 15 minutes as our neighbor took a shower and we were forced to wait until they were done so we could go back to sleep. -We were out all day and when my husband got back (I was elsewhere), forgot we had to call maintenance to fix our shower. So my husband had to go back out with a friend and wait an hour or two for the shower to be fixed. It was supposed to be a 30 min fix. The rooftop bar was of course, closed even though it was about 7 pm so he had to go all the way to a neighboring bar. -We were told by the front desk, Kathy, that the shower wasn't really something they could fix and just not to turn the shower head all the way, just do it at half way and it won't vibrate (which by our second shower, we had figured out.) We felt like this was like a doctor telling us "your arm is broken, so don't use it". -Thoroughly annoyed so far, I asked my husband to go down and find the manager. The front desk, still Kathy I believe, said the manager was out (this was on Sunday) and said she could do nothing. So there went any hope of actually redeeming our vacation in any way, since apparently their employees are powerless. -Later on that night, friends came to visit and brought food. When we said we had no utensils or even trash cans, and mentioned the whole shower bit, they noted that they hoped we had not paid much for something so ghetto. I told them sadly we had, but likely never again. My husband noted he supposed we were paying for location and novelty. -The next morning, Monday at 9:55 am we had the pleasure of being woken up by a fire alarm. Over the speaker we were instructed to leave the building and dragged ourselves out of our beds in our pajamas and walked all the way to the parking garage because we figured whatever had happened, we didn't want to wait outside downtown on a Monday morning with bed hair and PJs. We passed a fire truck or two on the way and figured it was legit or at least a false alarm. I was about to leave to my mom's house when my husband decided to let the hotel know where we were whereupon Kathy informed him it was a test. Furious that no one even told us about this, we walked all the way back to the hotel. -As soon as we got in, we wanted nothing more to do with this place and took a shower. The vibration was gone, even at full blast so Kathy must have been ill informed. However, now the shower was for some reason unbearably, scalding hot so we had to put it as close as possible to the Cold setting and it was STILL too hot. We just took a shower anyway, and packed up our things. -Before we left, we went to see Guest Service Relations and complained about the shower, the fire alarm (which it turned out was NOT a test, I suppose Kathy was misinformed or confused but it WAS a false alarm) and the utensils and trash can. We said we had a long list of little things but though she seemed disappointed we didn't enjoy our stay, she basically indicated up front that she was "unable" to credit our account and that she couldn't do much since our stay was over - and she apologized for being out over the weekend. She also said the shower thing had only popped up this weekend and seemed to indicate other guests had been affected. Abbey also said that she couldn't really do much because while all of it was unfortunate, it "wasn't really their fault" and they had done the best they could. She offered a gift certificate of unknown value and her deepest apologies. We did not want a gift certificate as why would we ever want to stay here again? And mentioned we had family here who we really could not recommend this hotel to. She suggested they used it and said she'd like to offer us a free breakfast but breakfast was over so really, again, she couldn't really do much. We just accepted that the gift cert would be mailed to us and vowed never to stay there again. Positive -AWESOME bed! Would have loved to have one morning in it where I didn't have to get woken up. Would have rated sleep quality 5 without the interruptions. -Good quality of what furniture is in there, though obviously used and in some places, minorly damaged -Good location and nice style -Pretty quiet. Stayed in room 502. Final thoughts When we come down from now on, we will most likely be looking at other non IHG hotels because we have never had a bad experience before at even the lowliest hotel. We don't travel a whole lot and our standards aren't really very high, but we at least expect a spacious, comfortable room with a nice view if we are going to pay full price. As well as a level of customer service that this hotel was unable to give. I doubt other Hotel Indigos are like this one, but I would never pay full price for this place unless you are just there for the location and amenities. I took a risk hoping for an excellent experience and got burned. Here's hoping you don't. May 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice hotel - great location - cute roof top bar Location really says it all - this hotel is located in the most adorable section of Fort Myers - I wouldn't call it downtown exactly - although I guess it probably is. You are not anywhere near the beach - but then if you wanted beach - you shouldn't stay here. Nope - you are in a charming walking area, chock-a-block with cute stores and night life. The hotel itself is inside of a circle of shops and restaurants - it actually has 3 different entrances - but the GPS had no issues finding them, the valet service was prompt and pleasant, check in was painless and fast, and I thought our room charming. Bed was comfy - and while the view was nothing - I don't need a view if what I want is a good night's sleep. Bathroom did not have a tub - instead it had a walk in shower with a lovely massage head - very nice, and good quality soap and shampoo. For our purposes - perfect. My sisters made good use of the roof top terrace, which apparently has free drinks for women on certain days - and I did look at the tiny pool - just to see it. May 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location, walking distance to all the downtown events Excellent staff, great location and central to to downtown Fort Myers , Walking distance to nightlife and Restaurants and the waterfront. April 23, 2013
<<prev2 3 4 next>>
Newly renovated Hotel Lobby
Newly renovated Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
Newly renovated Hotel Lobby Welcome to the Holiday Inn Newly Renovated Restaurant, Cafe Escape! Enjoy the pool at our Downtown hotel Reception Area
Select to close.
Kids stay and eat free at Holiday Inn ® hotels.  Click to learn more.