• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Dec-18-2014)
(e.g. Dec-19-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: FORT MYERS
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.5MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

A 100.00 non refundable fee is due upon check in. Pet must be under 25 pounds.
Pet deposit amount  100.00  USD  per stay

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Fort Myers Museum of History
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Burroughs Home
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Edison & Ford Winter Estates
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Centennial Park
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Accommodates motor coach buses, 16 wheelers and almost anything the same size or bigger.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:122
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:43
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:79
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:122
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Executive floors
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Downtown Historic District, Fort Myers hotel. You will know we are a step above the rest as soon as you walk into our large, renovated, contemporary style lobby. Soon you will be greeted by an outstanding front desk agent solely concerned with your satisfaction. After checking in, enjoy the Holiday Inn Downtown Historic District’s fully renovated guestrooms, business center, and Cafe Escape Restaurant & Bar. Enjoy high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the entire
View More
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Downtown Historic District, Fort Myers hotel. You will know we are a step above the rest as soon as you walk into our large, renovated, contemporary style lobby. Soon you will be greeted by an outstanding front desk agent solely concerned with your satisfaction. After checking in, enjoy the Holiday Inn Downtown Historic District’s fully renovated guestrooms, business center, and Cafe Escape Restaurant & Bar. Enjoy high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the entire hotel, meeting space, and even while relaxing by our tropical pool. Our business center offers two computers with printing capabilities and Internet access so that you can catch up on those personal or business needs. The Holiday Inn Downtown Historic District is located in Fort Myers near the River District, Edison Ford Estates, and is within walking distance of Lee Memorial Hospital, local businesses, dining, shopping, and entertainment. The Holiday Inn Downtown Historic District Fort Myers Hotel is just minutes from I-75 and approximately 20 minutes from the Southwest International Airport (RSW), so you can be at your home away from home in no time!
View Less
Features
Our renovated hotel is walking distance to the Edison & Ford Estates and Lee Memorial Hospital. Our well appointed, spacious rooms feature refrigerators and microwaves in every room. We have a 24/7 Business Center, Laundry Facility, and Fitness Center, an outdoor pool, and restaurant/lounge that serves breakfast and dinner. We are 3 blocks to government offices.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 323 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place for shellers We find this place to be great for a few days of shelling and just relaxing. Beach access is good, as well as access to shopping and restaurants in Sanibel. October 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Properity We have stayed at this facility several times over the past 20 years, it has become our go to place in Sanibel. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the staff is friendly and the proximity to the beach could not be better. I highly recommend this Inn to anyone looking for a relaxing get-a-way. October 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Beach Get Away Overall very awesome place to stay right on the beach. Beds could have been softer, but we were so excited to get up early we didn't sleep much anyway. October 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great location Was very pleased overall with this hotel. Would definitely recommend for the price and location. The hotel seems a little dated, but the staff was very nice. The room was adequate but nothing special. The a/c worked well, you couldn't hear any outside noise, the bed and pillows were very comfortable, and the blinds do a good job of darkening the room - so getting a good night's sleep was very easy. October 9, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by unfriendly staff and dated hotel no eye contact at check in or welcome or thank you for staying at check out, did not feel welcome at all October 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by hard beds super soft pillows extra firm beds and too soft pillows great food clean grounds great beach staff October 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Pretty Happy We stayed here for the first time Labor Day Weekend. Overall the Hotel is very nice. There were a few areas in our room that were not clean. We found someone elses Hair Scrunchie on the floor near one of the beds. We had used our towels for the pool the first day and were never left any replacement towels throughout our stay. We had breakfast our first morning at the hotel and the food was fantastic. I have to say I was a little concerned when we got there because they were short staffed and were not able to seat us right away. Once we were seated everything was fine. Our food was fantastic. My only other complaint is that the pool bar closes too early! I think this should be addressed because there is nothing better than having a relaxing drink by the pool after dinner. October 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beach House I Always Wanted I wanted 24 hours access to the beach during my stay and that is what I got. I felt more like I was staying at someone's beach house as opposed to a hotel. The experience was more than I thought it would be. October 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay! We had a great stay at the Holiday Inn. It had everything we were looking for and so relaxing and comfortable. Didn't have any problems so we did not need to call the front desk for anything but the staff we encountered while getting morning coffee or on the grounds were all friendly and greeted us with smiles. Clean, colorful and relaxing. October 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Just passing through We were on the way to Key West and visited a friend in the area. The Sanibel Holiday Inn was so delightful we wanted to stay longer. The pool and the beach are wonderfull. Room has everything you need and it all works September 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect location, clean and comfortable room. A family member told us we'd love the Holiday Inn in Sanibel and they were right! The grounds are beautiful and well maintained and there is direct beach access. Our room was comfortable and exceptionally clean and well maintained. From other reviews online, we requested a ground floor room with tile floors. It was convenient to have a guest laundry on the premises. There is an outdoor shell sink for washing off shells. We enjoyed having the beach chairs and umbrellas set out in the morning. If we'd had more time, we would have lounged in the hammocks. We can't wait to return in the future. September 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by awesome stay nice view, comfortable room, excellent service. would definitely recommend to family and friends and really looking forward to visit soon September 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A great place to stay Overall, this was a great experience. Very nice grounds, eye appealing, relaxing. Great staff, nice clean rooms and AWESOME pillows! September 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Another great visit. This was a friend and my "fourth annual" trip to your property. And one more time we had a fantastic time. We have come down four years in a row to relax and soak up the sun. The staff, from the front desk welcome,to everyone we came in contact with,was great. Very friendly and helpful. The beds are very comfortable and we made use of the refrigerator and microwave in the room. Would recommend this place to everyone. Just expect to come down and be addicted to returning year after year. We are already talking about next years trip. Thanks again for a great stay! September 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great service and location the hotel is a bit dated but overall, a great experience. The housekeeping staff was very good. Our favorite part was the ability to relax and enjoy the beach. September 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Paradise What a great location on the Island. We had a wonderful stay and the view is superb. Starfish Grille was excellent and staff extremely friendly. Looking forward to our next visit. September 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely grounds and relaxing atmospher This is a great place to stay on a beautiful island. The grounds were lush and beautiful. The staff were smiling and friendly. The beach area was clean and beautiful with comfortable chairs for sunning and plenty of open beach for other activities. We enjoyed walking, looking for shells and even a little Snook fishing in the area behind the hotel. The bartender was friendly and knowledgeable. All in all, one of the best vacations ever. September 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyable Beach Resort I really loved Sanibel Island and this hotel's proximity to the beach. September 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by weekend getaway We had a lovely time at the Holiday Inn. Location! Location! Situated on the wonderful beaches of Sanibel Island it was a 2-minute walk to the white sands. The staff at HI were courteous and helpful. The room was clean and the beds were comfy. We'll be back. September 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect location with a very friendly staff. We loved our stay on Sanibel Island. The Holiday Inn met all of our needs and it was a great getaway. Our room had just been redecorated and had lots of amenities. We recommend it and we will be back. September 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great time Me and my wife had a wonderful time , it was better than we had expected. my wife told me that the beach and the view remind her of cancun mexico. we are already thinking of going back to Sanibel, this was our first time.she even asked me not to erase the address on my g.p.s. September 3, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Well, it's a room.... Room is small and dark, fairly clean although old and worn. A/C didn't work well, dehumidifer in room kept getting full and housekeeping didn't bother to empty it. We had to empty it every few hours. Parking is nice if you can find it. short walk to pool and beach, but the no-see-ums were TERRIBLE on the beach. Restaurant was ho-hum. Treat yourself to other local restaurants on the island instead. Lowest price on the beach and unfortunately reflected in the room and surly staff. Spend a little more to get more. No recognition for IHG rewards, crappied room given. September 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always a great stay We have stayed at the Holiday Inn numerous times and find it the best value on the island. Clean rooms, great location and friendly staff. We come back again and again and will continue to do so in the future. September 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by mattress uncomfortable both wife and I had stiffness in the morning was not a comfortable nite sleep August 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to "chill" My wife and I went to Sanibel Island for our thirtieth anniversary. It was a really hot/sunny week , just right for hanging at the beach and exploring the island! Sea shell "hunting"? Forget it . There is no "hunting" involved!!! Just look down! No hills...biking is fantastic. No signal lights....traffic flow is smooth. Sanibel-Captiva is a wonderful adult vacation destination. August 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The Gulf View We were very happy with this hotel. We would stay here again when in this area. August 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The Gulf View The hotel staff was very helpful and friendly. The beach was great and the staff was great with the beach chairs and umbrellas. The gulf view was great. The pool area was well maintained and the pool was great. The room was clean and well maintained. The grounds around the property were also well maintained. We would return to this property again. August 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful Grounds and Location Very enjoyable stay. The grounds are beautiful and kept up nicely. The beach is just a 2 minute walk away with private chairs and area for guests. The tiki bar was great and the bartender (Daniel) was awesome. The room was old, but extremely clean and nicely furnished. I only wish I had stayed longer! August 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Sanibel Nice location ! The location was very nice, great beach access and lots of seashells. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The Air Conditioning unit needed work. I kept waking up because of the noise and felt like someone was at the door. August 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by What I was Looking For I had been viewing the Sanibel Holiday Inn webcam from time to time the past few months and when I decided to take a August vacation, this was the first place that I considered. My wife and I were Looking for something relaxing and we wre not disappointed. This Holiday Inn is the perfect getaway! Be sure to check out the Island Cow for breakfast... August 26, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>
Newly renovated Hotel Lobby
Newly renovated Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
Newly renovated Hotel Lobby Newly Renovated Restaurant, Cafe Escape! Enjoy the pool at our Downtown hotel Downtown Holiday Inn Reception Area Welcome to the Holiday Inn
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Dec-18-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Dec-19-2014)
Check Availability
Loading