• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Apr-18-2014)
(e.g. Apr-19-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: FORT MYERS
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.5MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

A 100.00 non refundable fee is due upon check in. Pet must be under 40 pounds.
Pet deposit amount  50.00  USD  per stay

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Shell Factory
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI
Attraction:
Fort Myers Beach
Distance From Hotel:18.0MI
Attraction:
Imaginarium
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI
Attraction:
Edison & Ford Winter Estates
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Accommodates motor coach buses, 16 wheelers and almost anything the same size or bigger.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:122
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:43
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:79
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:122
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Executive floors
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Downtown Historic District, Fort Myers hotel. You will know we are a step above the rest as soon as you walk into our large, renovated, contemporary style lobby. Soon you will be greeted by an outstanding front desk agent solely concerned with your satisfaction. After checking in, enjoy the Holiday Inn Downtown Historic District’s fully renovated guestrooms, business center, and Cafe Escape Restaurant & Bar. Enjoy high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the entire
View More
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Downtown Historic District, Fort Myers hotel. You will know we are a step above the rest as soon as you walk into our large, renovated, contemporary style lobby. Soon you will be greeted by an outstanding front desk agent solely concerned with your satisfaction. After checking in, enjoy the Holiday Inn Downtown Historic District’s fully renovated guestrooms, business center, and Cafe Escape Restaurant & Bar. Enjoy high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the entire hotel, meeting space, and even while relaxing by our tropical pool. Our business center offers two computers with printing capabilities and Internet access so that you can catch up on those personal or business needs. The Holiday Inn Downtown Historic District is located in Fort Myers near the River District, Edison Ford Estates, and is within walking distance of Lee Memorial Hospital, local businesses, dining, shopping, and entertainment. The Holiday Inn Downtown Historic District Fort Myers Hotel is just minutes from I-75 and approximately 20 minutes from the Southwest International Airport (RSW), so you can be at your home away from home in no time!
View Less
Features
Our renovated hotel is walking distance to the Edison & Ford Estates and Lee Memorial Hospital. Our well appointed, spacious rooms feature refrigerators and microwaves in every room. We have a 24/7 Business Center, Laundry Facility, and Fitness Center, an outdoor pool, and restaurant/lounge that serves breakfast and dinner. We are 3 blocks to government offices.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 171 reviewers.
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by the outside aligator pond My Daughter and I were spending a couple of days together for here 48th birthday.2 days at the Holiday Inn One at Room 240 which was an up grade that we paid for and Another Room! Because room 240 was taking the nexy day We had a fantastic dinner at the restaurant On the way back to our room the smell was over powering and made my Daughter sick! The wind must have changed because we smell it in our room too (That pond Should be CHECK!! November 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Problem Too much noise with the air cooling system. All the others things were good November 3, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not the best bang for the buck. Quiet and peaceful, great proximity to the beach. Had a Shell cleaning sink with no light for use after a day's shell collecting. Bar in back by the pool closed really early. Bathroom was teeny-tiny in our room. It all looks the same once your eyes are closed, but the accommodations were on Par with a budget hotel. On-site restaurant had limited dinner menu and what was there was priced like a 5-star. Counter staff was kind and helpful. November 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Casual but Nice Beachy Decor The staff was very friendly. Room was always very neat and clean after maid service. Location was convenient to the entire island. I liked that it was not an extremely large complex. Easy to get to the beach. October 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Sanibel's Best Another great stay! Staff at front desk the best! Paulette, Courtney, and Claudia always pleasant and ready to make your stay the best. Shelling seems to be the best here too. Always a relaxing and enjoyable visit. Thank you! October 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Anniversary weekend This was our first stay at Sanibel Holiday Inn. We were right behind the pool Tiki Bar and still had a quiet, pleasant, and wonderful experience. My husband asked for something not on the Star Grill menu and the chef made him the perfect dish, no questions, no refusal, customer satisfaction 100%. We are planning another trip there in 2 months. October 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Another Perfect Stay My husband and I have been visiting this Holiday Inn every weekend for the past few months, and each stay is better than the last! Still the BEST staff at the front desk (Paulette, Claudia, and Courtney). Always a smile, friendly, pleasant, and willing to go the extra mile! Thank you to each person working there that makes this Holiday Inn simply the BEST!! October 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Overall a good trip This was our first trip to Sanibel, and the Holiday Inn is usually our first choice. We are platinum members, and upon arrival we asked if we could check in early at 2, and we couldn't as our room wasn't available. We asked if we could upgrade, and the desk attendant told us we had only paid for a standard room........I mentioned we were platinum members and were usually upgraded if it was available....We were given a free one hour bike rental for being a member. We were placed in the building close to the beach, with a side view, which turned out to be fine. The room was clean, nice and the bed comfortable. There was a fridge and microwave and table which were very helpful. The beach was nice, and I was pleased that umbrellas, chairs and beach towels were at no additional cost. The no see ums were terrible around 5 p.m., even if you were covered in bug spray..So after 5, it was best to stay inside. I was unaware the bugs were so bad on the island. Overall a nice hotel, and would recommend. October 22, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Just an average motel A good motel for a beach person No comfortable seating outside, except around the pool area Spent a lot of time on the wood benches. Computer hard wire connection would not work. RM 140 Wi-Fi not protected I normally use Hilton brand motels and never had a hold put on my credit. For a three night stay, Holiday Inn put almost $1300 hold on my Visa. Why?? Spent the night before at Best Western, Ft Myers Beach with no hold on credit. Front desk people were very helpful. October 21, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Staff was accommodating and very friendly. Room small...There should be a door to separate the sink/mirror area from other sleeping family members. October 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very pleasant surprise My wife and I really enjoyed our long weekend at the Sanibel Holiday Inn. The room was spotless and smelled fresh and clean. Our only quibble is a small one concerning the attached restaurant. We had to ask them to turn down the annoying music at breakfast so we could carry on a conversation. We will definitely be staying here again. October 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love this Holiday Inn the Best Repeat customer, and plan on many more visits! Beautiful landscaping, close to the beach, love the FREE lounge chairs and beach towels, and Paulette at front desk is absolutely the BEST. Always a smile, and a genuine attitude to make your stay the best. Thanks Paulette! October 10, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service Very pleased with their friendly service overall although wish their cleaning staff to finish up in timely matter while we were out for short while.. even we only stayed for two nights - weekend it has meet our basic needs overall October 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Beach-Front room We thoroughly enjoyed our stay! The beach was just steps away from our room and the accommodations were excellent. September 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Mike Russi Love this place.. I go at least once a year. I went for my 25 year anniversary. Great location, great beach love it!!!!!!!!!! September 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service Thank you so much for a wonderful stay. This was my 4th time at the holiday inn resort in Sanibel. Jesus, Claudia, all the front desk crew as well as the cleaning crew who work so had to keep our room clean and neat when we are at the beach are all to be commended!!! We look forward to visiting next year. Like the old motto of Holiday Inn the "best surprise was no surprise"!! Lech September 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Weekend Getaway We opted for a hotel right on Sanibel. The hotel is very pretty, tastefully decorated and well maintained. The grounds were constantly being cleaned and room service was punctual. A very short walk to the beach is lined with little activities such as Ping-Pong and a ring toss of sorts. There is a Tiki type snack bar at the pool which can easily be visited from the beach and of course they accommodate the kiddies in the group. Our room, which was just what you would expect, bed, TV table/desk and a luggage rack, was clean fresh and up to date. The hotel owned and provided beach towels along with a complimentary small beach tote were a pleasant surprise. We were located on the first floor right by the office and there was no disruptive noise whatsoever. Very peaceful and relaxing. If you are going to take advantage of the Starfish Bar and Starfish Grille on the premises, be prepared to dig a little deep for your meal. It is more of a dining experience which we tried once. The food is very good and the staff couldn't be more attentive. We plan to make this a regular visit. September 22, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great weekend get away I stayed here with a girlfriend to celebrate my birthday in September. The location was fantastic- right on the beach and close to many things on the isalnd. The property was very relaxing. We really enjoyed the tiki bar, sitting in the adirondack chairs, and sitting in the pool cabanas. The staff was always pleasant and more than helpful. The only thing I wasnt happy about was paying extra for a gulfview room that did not have a gulf view. The only thing we could see from our room was the pool. I don't know what the view was on the second floor, but first floor rooms should not be considered gulfview by any means. September 19, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Unhelpful staff I thought the staff at the Sanibel hotel were most unhelpful, no late check outs available to Platinum Priority Club members, the room was cleaned on the last day before we had even checked out (we were on the beach). No balcony or patio chairs available. No safe key made available. September 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great girl's getaway. This was our third annual girl's getaway to Sanibel's Holiday Inn. We have always had a good experience here and I can't believe it has been "luck" each time. We have not run into any of the problems that other guests have talked about. The rooms are decorated nicely and the bedding is very comfortable. We enjoy having the refrigerator and microwave for nights when we just don't feel like going out for a meal. The safe is nice extra touch also. The staff has been very friendly and courteous. We stay here for about two weeks each year just to kick back and relax. We like to sleep in in the mornings and the staff are very nice about not bothering us. The chairs and umbrellas are great and the gentleman that works down on the beach is very friendly and helpful in answering any questions we ask about the island. The only "con" I have is that the two weeks go by way too fast, but we are already planning our fourth annual trip back next year. Thanks to the entire staff for a great visit! September 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful place to relax My friend and I decided on Sanibel Island for our annual Thelma and Louise roadtrip. I was fortunate to find the Holiday Inn. The property was exactly as appeared on your website. The hotel staff made our stay very comfortable and relaxing. We did so enjoy the Tiki Bar located near the pool. I will definitely travel to Sanibel Island again. September 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and confortable suite Was incredible, good price and clean hotel... I want to come back again!!! September 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Calm and Relaxing Stay We have been coming to this Holiday Inn for the last three years now. Service is excellent, the staff is friendly, the rooms are clean. My husband and I both have stressful jobs but we were finally able to relax as we floated around the pool. Walking on the beach is another favorite activity of ours. This is a great place to hang your hat for a weekend. We plan on returning again next year! September 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by convenient location well kept hotel. convenient to many dining options including on site. close to shops. nice pool and beach September 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great friendly service Got everything I asked for: a room with a gulf view, room clean, staff friendly and attenttive. Labor day week end hotel was busy, pool was clean, poolside bar was outstanding. THe 5 star resurant althoug a littel pricy food was great, breakfest wasthe best meal srved in my ipioion. Beach side was the best I have seen on the island the staff kept it clean , orderly. THe umbrella man was very accommadating. I would highly reccomend this hotel to my family. September 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend Stay Great Service and accommodations again. The resturant still needs work. I felt they were understaffed for a long weekend Saturday. Our server was not the issue. He was great (The Frenchman). September 5, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by poor attitude and poor customer service No upgrade to platinum member. Rude front desk personnel parking lot room. No response from management makes this shameful after placing complaint with hi management. We were assured response in 24 hours. Still no response more than a week later. Hotel near empty so no reason to not upgrade platinum member. Was told policy no platinum members get upgrade when paying with points. Hilton honors would love to have me back. Claudia front desk skills are people poor. August 31, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Sanibel Island Property HI The room is very, very small...the decor has not been updated in many years. The phone is the room is from 1987. The restaurant was nice, the food was good and the staff was great. The rooms need to be improved and upgraded to the level that HI is attempting to portray throughout the US. Overall the property is in good condition but I would not stay there again because of the room size. There was no exercise facility on site. August 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome Accommodations I recently stayed here on a girls' weekend; and, this hotel is awesome. It is on the beach and the rooms are a great size. I especially enjoyed the hammock just before the beach. Both the Star Tki bar and the Starfish Grill were great! Looking forward to my next stay. August 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Vacation oriented I had a small family reunion in Sanibel at another family condo, but the majority of us stayed at your Holiday Inn. Perfect accomodations. Best Holiday Inn I have ever stayed at. I would definitely stay with you again. Thanks for making our stay so enjoyable!!! August 28, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>
Newly renovated Hotel Lobby
Newly renovated Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
Newly renovated Hotel Lobby Welcome to the Holiday Inn Newly Renovated Restaurant, Cafe Escape! Enjoy the pool at our Downtown hotel Reception Area
Select to close.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.