• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-09-2014)
(e.g. Jul-10-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Resort

  • Location: Resort
  • Closest City: FRONT ROYAL
  • Distance From Hotel: 4.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

We only accept service animals trained to perform a specific task per the ADA. We do not accept any pets. Local kennels are available in the area.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Front Royal Canoe Co.
Distance From Hotel:10.0MI
Attraction:
Fox Meadows Winery
Distance From Hotel:10.0MI
Attraction:
Charlestown Races and Casino
Distance From Hotel:40.0MI
Attraction:
Dinosaur Land
Distance From Hotel:8.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:400
  • Car Parking Available
  • Self Parking in Well Lit Parking Lot. Separate Meetings and Events Parking Available.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:124
  • Total number of suites:26
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:124
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:7

Sunny skies illuminate the lobby of the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows. Our hotel in Front Royal, VA is conveniently located near attractions and businesses.

Travelers’ have plenty to see during their stay in the Front Royal, VA area. Our hotel’s location is convenient to Interstate 81 and Interstate 66, Axalta Coating Systems, Virginia Inland Port, Sysco, American Woodmark, Valley Health and Rubbermaid. We’re also located adjacent to the rolling fairways
View More

Sunny skies illuminate the lobby of the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows. Our hotel in Front Royal, VA is conveniently located near attractions and businesses.

Travelers’ have plenty to see during their stay in the Front Royal, VA area. Our hotel’s location is convenient to Interstate 81 and Interstate 66, Axalta Coating Systems, Virginia Inland Port, Sysco, American Woodmark, Valley Health and Rubbermaid. We’re also located adjacent to the rolling fairways of nationally recognized, Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club. If you’re looking for family fun, check out the natural wonders exhibited at Skyline Caverns and Luray Caverns, take a leisurely drive on Skyline Drive or take a short ride to Shenandoah National Park or Andy Guest State Park.

Since our hotel’s location is in Front Royal, we’re perfect for government travelers. We’re located near the U.S. Department of Customs & Border Patrol Canine Center, ATF, Smithsonian Conservation Biology Institute and FBI. Whether vacation or business brings you to our hotel in Front Royal, Virginia, our amenities will satisfy your needs. Use the free high-speed wireless Internet access. Make use of our Business Center computers. Take time to enjoy the indoor heated pool, whirlpool and sundeck, as well as on site Fitness Center. Delicious made-from-scratch dining options are available at Houlihan’s Restaurant + Bar, located on the lobby level.

View Less
Features
Overlooking Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club and its signature 18th hole waterfall, the Holiday Inn & Suites at Blue Ridge Shadows Resort is a full-service, conference hotel featuring a Houlihan’s Restaurant + Bar.
Announcements
We are proud to be the 2013, 2012 and 2011 winner of the prestigious IHG Torchbearer award. Our GPS address is 7632 Winchester Road, Front Royal, VA. Let us create a memorable golf
View More
Announcements
We are proud to be the 2013, 2012 and 2011 winner of the prestigious IHG Torchbearer award. Our GPS address is 7632 Winchester Road, Front Royal, VA. Let us create a memorable golf experience for your small or large golf group; for a customized golf package contact our Golf Package Specialist, Toll Free, at 844-336-GOLF(4653).
View Less

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 120 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel Generally, very nice room, nice hotel, clean, and modern. We arrived in a snow storm during very cold weather. The hallway on our floor (1) was cold. The room was comfortable. It was a very nice place to stay. January 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by IHG personified With no reservation, my wife & I stopped and requested a room. Sarah on the front desk greeted us with a beautiful smile. Noted our IHG gold card, provided us with a great room for the night at a great price. At Sarah's suggestion we had dinner close by. Great meal and great price. Room was very clean, comfortable. Definitely recommend this hotel. January 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely, Snowy Weekend We spent last weekend at the Holiday Inn Express in Woodstock. It was a lovely weekend - snow and all. From walking in and being greeted by Kevin at the Front Desk, to the delightful, friendly hostess at the Breakfast Bar and the very pleasant Cleaning Staff - all in all a very good stay. Hotel was clean, amenities were good. We enjoyed the workout room both mornings of our stay and found the equipment very user-friendly. We will be back! December 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by One of the best Holiday inn Express experiences we have had Our stay at this Holiday inn Express was one of the best experiences we have enjoyed at this hotel chain. The staff was knowledgeable, the hotel was clean, and the staff willingness to assist us in any way we needed was exceptional. The management and staff are to be commended for a well run facility December 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Surprise We were not expecting to find a gem along the I-81 corridor. This hotel was a welcome surprise. It is beautifully appointed and makes an impressive first appearance. The room was very comfortable and well laid out. The front desk staff was very courteous and went out of their way to make our stay a pleasant one. We will stop here again on our frequent trips on I-81 December 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Location and Very Good Property This property is a class act. Very good staff and amenities. No IHG Rewards Club Member recognition for corporate rate guests unfortunately. Strange, as the corporate rate we pay this property is higher than most. November 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by One of the best HIE's we have stayed in Couldn't fault it at all. Thanks also for the dinner recommendation - Sal's. November 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A Model Holiday Inn Express In the delightful little hamlet of Woodstock in the rolling hills of Virginia's Shenandoah Valley, there once was a rather unremarkable little chain hotel. With few options around, I'm sure it reigned supreme in the area back in its day. Perhaps that made it lazy and complacent. It is no more. The former hotel's demise is your gain, though, because it was extensively renovated and re-opened as a Holiday Inn Express. And not just *any* Holiday Inn Express: this is what Intercontinental Hotels Group wants you to picture when you picture HIEx. This is a chain of hotels I frequently stay with, and this is to me the best in the HIEx brand family. When you arrive, you walk into a spacious, well-decorated, open and airy lobby, with a fireplace in the center and lots of comfortable seating. There are huge windows that bring in plenty of daylight. Whoever did this design did a bang-up job, and you might not notice at first that this grand entry is a much newer addition to that former other-chain-hotel. I think they did an awesome job integrating it but also in making a bold and appealing new lobby and breakfast room. It sits conveniently at the end of the hotel where you drive in from the main drag. The original L-shaped blocks of rooms from its tenure as a different hotel remain, which is actually to your advantage as a guest. Why? Because this was a poured concrete hotel, not stick-built with 2x4s (like the hotels nearby): that means you will not feel your room vibrate and shake when the guests above you walk to the bathroom. Since I stay in hotels about 150 nights a year, I relish the chance to be in one where my room is solid and the noise of hotel activity is pretty well insulated. Of course, here's the trade-off in converting that old ordinary chain hotel into this much nicer Holiday Inn Express: the elevator is down in the elbow of the L-shaped block of rooms, which made sense given where the lobby once was. (I'm sorry for this hotel and for guests who might consider staying here that the elevator was enough of an issue to (apparently) knock some stars off the Yelp! rating. I'd say it's not deserved.) There's a very decent fitness center with two treadmills, a stationery bike, and an elliptical machine. Not all hotels are thoughtful enough to have a water cooler, but here, they do. The pool is outdoors, and fair-weather only, but it's nestled nicely in the crook of the L-shape without being right up against the building. It's decent. Don't worry about any carry-over from the age or amenities of the former hotel: there are no ghosts of its previous iteration remaining because the hotel was completely renovated and completely redecorated. Even though it's now been around a few years, this hotel manages to keep giving off a fairly "new" feel to me, and I say that having stayed here for years. The rooms are a comfortable size. I think by now most (if not all) of the rooms have been upgraded to flat panel TVs. The rooms I've stayed in have always had a microwave and fridge. The bedding has a more luxurious feel to it, and I like the HIEx tactic of giving you (and marking well) two soft and two firm pillows. I also like the HIEx bathroom amenities that tie in with their big cinnamon roll push: the soap, shampoo, conditioner, and lotions have a nice whiff of cinnamon to them. Speaking of cinnamon rolls, this place does a great breakfast. They've occasionally had a little trouble with their pancake machine but the breakfast room attendants get it back up and running pretty quickly. Plenty of full-sized yogurts, milk, biscuits and sausage gravy, coffee, bacon, eggs, breads and juices...and, of course, cinnamon rolls. I think you can get your fill here before heading out to start your day. One of the best things on top of all these other great things here is the hotel staff: I get to see them all, what with checking in and out at various times. They are just awesome: friendly, gracious, welcoming, accommodating. I do not have much patience with bad service and I'm not going to blow smoke up your skirts on this: these folks have all shown the highest level of customer service each and every time I've been here. I'm willing to believe that there are two sides to every story, and of course sometimes a guest will have a bad stay and a bad interaction with hotel personnel. I just can't imagine who that would be among the staff I've been around at this hotel, though. When you stay at this Holiday Inn Express, you really do get to Stay Smart, because I think the owners decided to play smart when designing and running it. November 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Super travel night Everything looked new, fresh, clean. We will be back when we're in the neighborhood. November 5, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by First impressions As a Platinum member there are a few expectation that must be met. 1. Identify and thank the Platinum member with a greeting and/or a complimentary scooby snack 2. Offer an upgrade. Upon check in it was apparent that an upgrade was available. 3. Slide bill under the door. None of these were done. Sound spoiled? i think not. I spend Way tooooo many night in your hotels to want for anything November 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Service Beyond the Norm Guest Services Representative Helen was wonderful. When we mentioned the purpose of our short get-away was to see fall leaves, but were so far disappointed, Helen recommended Story Book Trail. She gave us perfect directions to this unmarked and possibily only known to locals, wonderful trail on top of a near by mountain. The scenic lookout was spectacular. The path on the mountain was paved and easily accessable. Her recommendation for dinner was also spot on. You have a wondeful employee who made our week-end get away a complete success. Thank you Helen and thank you Holiday Inn Express. October 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Airy, sparkling clean, roomy, hotel atmosphere This was our favorite hotel on our 3,600-mile+ road trip in the USA. October 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and comfortable hotel. Have stayed in this hotel many times while traveling. Always a comfortable bed. Always clean rooms and a friendly staff. Service is top quality they even call your room an hour after you check in to see if everything is to you likng. Definately recommend staying here. October 25, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good place to stay but could be GREAT! The hotel is very clean and comfortable. I would definitely stay here again the next time I'm in this area. However, I would encourage them to consider training their staff regarding the parks and amenities in the area; when I asked for great places to hike, the person at the front desk didn't have any information for me. At a minimum, she should have suggested I visit the local Chamber of Commerce, or send me to the Ranger Station in Edinburg (5 miles south). Also, their breakfast could be greatly improved by adding a few details -- such as brown sugar, raisins and nuts for the oatmeal (or at least a variety of flavors of oatmeal), a variety of syrups and other topping for the pancakes, and a variety of fresh fruit (only had bananas . . . in apple country no less!). October 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by convenient for Ballooners We stayed here twice in connection with our balloon ride with Valley Ballooning. Their meeting place is minutes away. Hotel has smoking rooms, which we liked. Staff was helpful and recommended places to eat in Woodstock. October 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable beds, super service This was a nice, clean facility. Great staff. Very helpful. Great location. October 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best of the best Holiday Inn Express...VERY CLEAN Would highly recommend the Woodstock-Shenandoah Valley Holiday Inn Express. This motel was one of the cleanest we have ever stayed in. My husband was very impressed about this place and commented more than once about it! Which is not a man thing...but definitely would stay here again on our way south. Thank you and hope to visit soon! October 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service, comfort and breakfast I am sorry, that I did not get the name of the young man at the desk. I thing his name was Kevin? Anyway he was the only person at the desk, and he was very busy. He welcome everyone with a smile and gave each guest his full attention. GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE!! The breakfast staff was also great, they also where very busy and opened another room so guest with have a place to sit. They went around to each table and ask if everything was okay. OH, yes we where recognize as IHG members when we where checking in. October 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience I booked this location for my family and my extended family to visit the Caverns. The staff was wonderful, the rooms were clean, comfortable and had a good décor. I wish all Holiday Inn met these standards. October 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great value Great price, comfortable clean room and bathroom, nice shower, nice location and friendly staff. October 4, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Well worth it. A very nice facility, spacious room, clean and comfortable. We will defenately return. October 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by rest Very home like staff was very worm and friendly. I felt very rested. September 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay! Awesome Beds....but the Breakfast Could Be Improved. We absolutely loved our stay the this location! Best were awesome! Room was very clean and the price was great! But one thing needs to be improved on...the free breakfast items. While not totally bad, a few items like the omlette need to be done away with. Other than the breakfast, the place was great! we will definitely stay again! Staff was super friendly and the rooms were up to par with top vacation hotel resorts. They updated the bathrooms which are big. Also the beds are some of the most comfortable you will ever sleep on. We got the KING room and do not regret it at all! Thanks for the amazing stay!!!!!! September 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by King Non Smoker On this trip the bed was one of the best beside my own bed and they are very close. It was like sleeping in my own bed. The room was quiet, clean and extremely comfortable as well. Holiday Inn you do a great job. Keep it up! September 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable and nice. Stay there. We were tired and we had a goodnight's rest. September 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service, great room, great place to stay!!! I can definitely recommend the Woodstock Holiday Inn!! Very pleasent and helpful staff, nice clean room and the price is right. I stayed there a few times in early 2009, right after it was built, while moving from NY to NC. On my recent stay on 9/19/13 and 9/21/13 the facility and room was just as nice as it was when it was new almost five years ago. Outstanding!!! September 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Woodstock - I'll be back A nice property and conveniently located for the interstate traveler. The room was in excellent shape and allowed for a very relaxing night. A variety of restaurants are close by making it simple to check-in, drop the bags and get a bite to eat without wasting a lot of time. September 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place Best Holiday Inn Express we have stayed in. Great staff. September 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay In years of traveling, only our second stay at a Holiday Inn Express. Front desk staff friendly, courteous, and helpful. Recommended a great local restaurant. Room was large and comfortable. Always appreciate a refrigerator. Complimentary breakfast above average for properties offering the same amenity. HIE is starting to make a believer out of me! September 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by overall great i picked Holiday inn express due to using your hotels before. all of them that i have stayed at provide me with great service and a restful sleep. the breakfast that is offered covers all my family needs. this trip i had my cousin with me, he had never used your hotels before. after the hot pancakes for breakfast he said he would use Holiday inn express from now on. that i think says it all! August 29, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 next>>
We work with a number of local Hot Air Balloon companies
We work with a number of local Hot Air Balloon companies
Select to close.
We work with a number of local Hot Air Balloon companies Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club located adjacent to the hotel After checking in, enjoy 18 holes of golf at Blue Ridge Shadows Picture taken during a local Hot Air Balloon Festival Holiday Inn & Suites and Houlihan's Restaurant + Bar Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club's back 9 plays near the hotel Hotel and Golf Course during a local Balloon Festival Our front desk staff is here to assist you Hotel Lobby is beautifully decorated Beautiful hotel lobby with Gas fireplace and homestead feel
Select to close.
Awards

Torchbearer Award

Torchbearer Award


The Torchbearer Award is given to hotels that have achieved the highest level of excellence in all aspects of operations - from quality to customer satisfaction. Created to honor the best of the best as measured by our guests, this award is presented to hotels that raise the bar even further. These outstanding hotels “carry our torch”, and represent the highest achievement in quality and service.

Stay connected with free high speed internet at Holiday Inn ®. Click to learn more.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-09-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-10-2014)
Check Availability
Loading