• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-14-2014)
(e.g. Sep-15-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: CHICAGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 40.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:10
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:323
  • Car Parking Available
  • * Well-lit complimentary parking for hotel guests.* Motor coach parking available for groups.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:210
  • Total number of suites:14
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:52
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:134
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:210
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:10
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4

Gurnee’s premier destination for business and leisure!

The Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center serves all of Gurnee, Waukegan & Libertyville when it comes to hotel and banquet facilities. We are the closest hotel to Gurnee Mills & Bass Pro Shops, located across the street from the famous shopping venue. Six Flags Great America is a two minute drive. Great Lakes Naval Training Center is conveniently located 7 miles away. Travelers enjoy the
View More

Gurnee’s premier destination for business and leisure!

The Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center serves all of Gurnee, Waukegan & Libertyville when it comes to hotel and banquet facilities. We are the closest hotel to Gurnee Mills & Bass Pro Shops, located across the street from the famous shopping venue. Six Flags Great America is a two minute drive. Great Lakes Naval Training Center is conveniently located 7 miles away. Travelers enjoy the convenience of Chicago’s O’Hare International Airport (ORD) & Milwaukee’s General Mitchell Airport (MKE) easily accessible from the hotel.

Holiday Inn's“Kids Eat Free” is a great value when you stay. We have the area's largest indoor pool, fitness room and a full buffet breakfast. Our lounge is a favorite among guests serving an array of tasty tapas & libations. Dinner is served nightly at Spice Restaurant & is Gurnee’s top dining choice. Guests enjoy area golf courses & leisure activities minutes away. Our hotel has complimentary wireless Internet, premium movie channels & a free shuttle.

Nearby businesses include: Abbott Labs, Baxter Healthcare, Cancer Treatment Centers of America(CTCA), TAP Pharmaceuticals, Cardinal Healthcare, Baxter Pharmaceuticals, Grainger and Alliance Medical.

Nearby attractions include: Six Flags Great America, Gurnee Mills Mall, Bass Pro Shops and Great Lakes Naval Training Center.

View Less
Features
Coming to visit Six Flags Great America this Summer? Check out our Six Flags Great America Package! Our package includes two tickets, and complimentary shuttle service to and from the park! Thats right, don't pay to park! Let us do the driving. Additional tickets are available for purchase through Guest Services for $40 per ticket.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 119 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location This is a great location and a great effort is being made to make it a great hotel. There are a couple of drawbacks and opportunity areas. All rooms are NOT created equal! If you are a person who likes ice, and I do, be sure and stay on one of the floors that actually has an ice machine. If you are a person who relies on the small shampoo/conditioner samples, be sure you are not staying more than a single night, because there are no refills. If you are someone who needs access to a phone, it either doesn't ring in, or ring out, and after those features are fixed then you have a blinking red light that you have to cover with something because there is no way to clear that light. ( I called the desk, but this final issue was confounding) Some of the wallpaper was peeling off the wall, but the room was generally clean and the furniture was in good repair. I will probably stay there again because of the location and friendly staff, I just accept the short-falls. May 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by KailuaBoy We had an excellent time here. The jacuzzi in the room was awesome. Also close to a lot of eating facilities. The breakfast was perfect. The only problem we had was the tub kept getting clogged. May 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent! I greatly enjoyed the atmosphere- nice fireplace! The Waukegan Holiday Inn Express & Suites has a great upscale feel! May 1, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Wrong room? We booked this room as part of a group block. The night before arriving, we found out we may have an extra person with us. Unsure of the type of room we had reserved, I called the hotel. I was told we would have 2 queen beds and a sleeper sofa. When we checked in there was no sofa. There was no cot or rollaway available. It took 2 trips to the front desk, a phone call and an hour wait to get some linens for our extra guest to sleep on the floor. Had we known the room only had the 2 beds, our additional guest would not have made the trip with us and you'd be reading a very positive review on the facility. The beds were comfortable....but the floor not so much. For the hotel being full, it appeared the front desk was under staffed. We come to this area frequently for sporting events. This was the first time staying at the HIE. Unfortunately, on our next visit, we will try to go to one of your nearby competitors. The rooms were more accommodating for the price. April 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Our overall experience was excellent! If we stay in another state we are going to look another Holiday Inn Express. In the one we stay there are a lot of restaurant and Walmart really close. March 31, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel for business and pleasure I come to the area on business several times a year and always stay here if available. Clean rooms, great food, nice fitness center. Staff are friendly and very helpful. March 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Never been happier From check in to check out, completely satisfied!! I have stayed in hundreds of hotels and have never been more happier. March 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay for a great value! Upon checking in, we were promptly greeted. We were also offered the Priority Club Rewards program, which I signed up for. We had never even heard of it before, prior to that visit. We got an awesome first impression of the hotel. There was a large & comfortable lobby with a fireplace, couches, & tables. They had utensils & offered free coffee & hot cocoa 24/7. The hotel was grand & our jacuzzi room was spacious, clean, & smelled extremely good. Unfortunately, we did have a couple of issues, which were I soaked my socks by walking onto a wet spot on the carpet & our linens were damp. They smelled fresh & appeared to be very clean, so we believe they simply hadn't dried enough before being put onto the bed. Nicole, at the front desk, called to check on us about 30 minutes after settling into the room. We informed her of the wet spot, then later called her back to tell her about the damp sheets. She offered us a new room both times & we took the offer the second time around. She called & also personally walked up to make certain that our new room was up to our standards, which it most certainly was. Later that night, we used the jacuzzi & it worked great, except the jets wouldn't turn off, once we were finished using it. We called the front desk & someone came up to help us immediately. The button ended up being stuck inside, but the receptionist was able to get it resolved quickly. Both receptionists were very accommodating & made sure that our stay was a pleasant as possible. They addressed our issues immediately & were exceptionally nice. (No attitudes, which was great, since I don't take kindly to rudeness & we have certainly experienced that at SEVERAL other hotels before). Aside from the couple mishaps, we were satisfied with our stay & very pleased with the attention & hospitality that we received from the staff. The free breakfast was a bonus, as it was fresh & better than most continental breakfasts. We were even able to check out at a later time, for being Priority Club members. We definitely recommend this hotels to others & plan on returning in the very near future! March 12, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not a typical Holiday Inn Express experience... Myself and 10 of my customers booked our rooms at this location while attending nearby factory training classes. The basic amenities were fine... However, no hot water for showers (in the morning), the wind blowing snow into the rooms through the air conditioner at night and the manager seeming to run away (twice) when I attempted to talk to him about these issues made for a very poor experience. The breakfast was sketchy at best so my group had our breakfast elsewhere. This stay reflected poorly on me... After all, it was me who selected this hotel for my customers. I frequently bring customers to the factory and this is the first time I've stayed at this location. It will be difficult for me to trust this hotel/staff for future visits. February 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice! This hotel is very nice and new. I slept so good that it was hard to get up. Its not very far from the navy graduation either. February 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by general comfort My check in and check out experience was very nice. I asked for a later checkout and was granted this. February 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GreAt Service Awesome! Need softer pillows. Would have been nice to have been offered a warm dinner at least once a month. February 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Another Great Stay! This Holiday Inn Express is my only choice for lodging when visiting Northern Illinois. On my recent business trip, my clients were about 45 minutes west of the hotel but I never even thought about staying somewhere closer. Over the past three years, they has provided excellent service. This hotel was alxo my top choice for a vacation trip with my family last summer to Six Flags. The entire staff is great! February 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Express Waukegan Exceptionally clean hotel. We were disappointed that the Jacuzzi did not work during our entire 3 day stay as using the jacuzzi was one of the main reasons we selected this hotel. Also, very poor attention from the clerk at check-in on Dec 29, 2012. I was not recognized as a pritority club memeber and felt we were rushed through check=in as though he was short of time. We stayed here for the graduation of our Grandson from great Lakes Naval Boot camp. January 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great facilities. This is a great facility, with good amenities. All staff were very professional and helpful. January 2, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good Location I was working at Abbott Park and this location is very convenient, has restaurants and a Walmart close. They've discontinued their Wed. Managers reception, and I guess everyone is too busy to make the cookies in the afternoon. Breakfast is 6:30 to 10 rather than 6:00. Internet is HORRIBLY slow. Other than that, it's a clean average HIE. December 19, 2012
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Staff The lady that checked us in was very unfriendly and seemed to not know what she was doing. December 10, 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Handicapped Accessible Room with roll-in shower One of the outlets behind a beside table was inoperative, making it impossible for me to connect both the bedside table lamp and CPAP device. Consequently, I had a bad night's sleep the first night and borrowed a power strip from a friend for the second night. The bed was king-sized. While reasonably comfortable the edge of the mattress on both sides was rather stiff providing a lip which made it somewhat difficult to get out of. The toilet, a Mansfield, got clogged twice, requiring a call for a plunger on each night of our stay. When I thanked her, the desk clerk who brought up the plunger commented, "No problem. It happens all the time." Mansfield makes one of the worst flushing toilets that I know of. It made our stay rather unpleasant. I wonder how often this happens to other people. There was inadequate space around the vanity to put our toiletries. Some additional shelving or space is clearly needed. There was also no place in the shower to put our soaps, body wash, and shampoos. There was no Kleenex in the room. There was also no waste basket in the bedroom. We complained about this and a waste basket was brought in for our second night. When we first arrived, I was unable to use the remote control to turn on the television. The desk clerk came up to provide me with instructions and mentioned that the televisions had just been replaced and that the remote units were not exactly intuitive. There were no instructions for how to use the remote control. Overall, the room was well-appointed, clean, and generally of reasonable quality. The space was quite adequate for our needs, i.e., we did not feel crowded. The staff were friendly and helpful. We did not avail ourselves of the breakfasts and cannot speak to that. However, as is often the case, the devil is in the details. When it comes to the big, more obvious things this HI Express gets it right. But the miscellaneous details noted above made our stay not nearly as pleasant as we would have liked for it to have been. At the very least or most (depending on your perspective) your toilets should be replaced with better flushing ones. November 30, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice big room This hotel is great. Nice and clean. I was very disappointed that the jacuzzi wasn't working. That was the biggest reason I booked that hotel. It looked like a nice pool room in the pictures. November 23, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay We really enjoyed our stay. Great hotel in an excellent location. Our room was clean and very comfortable. November 16, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay!!! My Husband and I had a great time here!!! We stayed here to have a fun weekend at Six Flags. The hotel isnot far from the highway, food or shopping. we had a standard king room which was well appointed, comfy and clean. Hotel in located in quiet, peaceful area. I you are looking for a nice quiet and safe stay this is your place. We will definitely stay here again!!! October 27, 2012
<<prev 2 3 4 5
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Front Desk Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Lobby Lounge Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-14-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-15-2014)
Check Availability
Loading