Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Aug-31-2014)
(e.g. Sep-01-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 196 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Helpful friendly staff. All of the staff were very friendly, efficient and helpful. Our children particularly enjoyed the breakfast and the staff. December 9, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Exceptional staff, room excellent We were both very impressed with the high standard of customer service from ALL staff.. The Hotel is well appointed in all areas and our room was excellent. We will definately be staying here again. Thank you December 7, 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Mr Honestly the room and the bathroom do not fit the standard of the hotel...very dirty on the roof ...bathroom is dirty...please if could be inspected then you will understand what I mean. December 4, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Bed wish I could take it home Will stay at Hemel Holiday Inn whenever I'm in the area November 14, 2012
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent staff expensive mistake. I have stayed at this hotel before and was extremely happy with the service i received. The facilities and location are ideal for me. HOWEVER, MY LAST STAY I WAS QUOTED A CHEAP PRICE ELECTRONICALLY AND DOUBLE CHECKED IT OVER THE PHONE. I WAS ACTUALLY CHARGED FOUR TIMES THE AMOUNT AND THEY CLAIM THAT THEY COULD DO NOTHING FOR ME. I ONLY REALISED THE ADDITIONAL CHARGE AFTER READING MY CREDIT CARD BILL. BE WARNED. Unfortunately i will not be using this company again. November 12, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by All-round excellent service This hotel gets consistently good reviews and I can only endorse them. Everything about our stay was excellent and the staff were cheerful and helpful.The local village is pretty with two reasonable hostelries, good food, real ale and good live music. The hotel is well located for visiting St Albans, a beautiful market town with a stunning cathederal. Hemel Hempstead is prettty, with a good shopping centre and an inexpensive, Oriental Buffet restaurant. The Grand Union canal is nearby and the scenery is beautiful. For Harry Potter fans, the Warner Brothers studios are approximately 20 minutes drive from the hotel and the roads are well sign-posted.. November 11, 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Double lock your doors A bit of a shock when the maintenance man unlocked the door and came in to our room without knocking! Not Happy Make sure you get down early enough for breakfast because we arrived at 9.20 but were asked to hurry up and get our hot breakfast because the chef wants to clear down, Chef turned hot lights off when we were getting our hot breakfast, They cleared all the toasting machines away so could not have any more. November 10, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very comfortable, convinient and relaxing Although I was disappointed last time but this time everything was perfect. We enjoyed our stay. November 5, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful short break location Our family of three stayed at The Holiday Inn using it as a base for visiting London. This proved to be one of the best short breaks on so many fronts. We stayed over the half term holiday (first weekend) and though we were only in the hotel at the 'front' and 'back' ends of the day, what we experienced was superb. Staff were very courteous and helpful: first impressions do count. Our room was somewhat dated but once the tv was fixed immediately by a member of staff it was absolutely fine. The leisure club was excellent: a good length pool, and sizeable sauna/steam room etc. As for breakfast it was as good as any 4 star hotel and we could not have asked for anything more. Yes, on the sunday morning it was very busy but everything still functioned and on monday it was a sea of calm. The short drive to Hemel station meant we could be in the centre of London in 30 minutes and by buying the London Travelcard under £12 each for all transport to and within London each day we were able to maximise our exploration of the capital. For value for money I do not think this hotel could be beaten and beyond that, the pleasant staff secured a great stay. I would put Holiday Inn Hemel M1 junction as the best value location we have stayed in and we will certalinly use it again when visiting London. November 4, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Proximity To Harry Potter! This is a great hotel which is not very far from the Harry Potter Studio Tour and as such there are lots of children casting spells with their newley aquired wands or robed in their favourite Hogwarts house colours. The hotel is also great because there is a family friendly pool and a new gym for the adults. November 4, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A good night The hotel was easy to find from the M25, and made a good base for our stay in the area. The breakfast croissants were the best we had ever had. November 3, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyable stay within easy reach of London We have been to this Holiday Inn several times before, the welcome we received this time was very mechanical from the reception staff. We were asked if we had stayed before and I was expecting a welcome back but there was no acknowledgement to my positive response. The room was very clean as per usual and was adequate for a family of four. The bathroom needs updating, the sink had a large crack in it and the bathroom had no lock on the door for privacy. The facilities in the room were very good, LCD TV, coffee, tea etc. This holiday inn is ideal for visiting London as trains are direct from either Hemel Hempstead or a short drive to Watford Junction. It is also in an ideal location for the Tesco, cinema, McDonalds and pizza hut a short 1 mile drive away. Breakfast was expensive as children over 12 are charged full price of £10 each. ie £40 for a family of four just for breakfast. This charge needs to be reviewed by the whole company not just this hotel. There is a Garage and M and S service station next door to the hotel (20 yards away) which we have used in the past for breakfast etc due to this charge, however it was under refurb when we visited this time, due to open again at the end of November. There was a swimming pool, jacuzzi and sauna, great gym. Excellent facilities. Children had access to free popcorn on arrival, there were glasses and bottles of wine on the front desk however we weren't offered a glass on arrival, there was also coffee set up with cups for our departure, however No hot water to make a drink so pretty pointless. Never mind maybe next time we may get a treat. Would definitely stay here again and intend to, just hope the staff next time aren't as mechanical. A smile would be nice! November 3, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall excellent Once again our stay was superb. Such a friendly hotel with caring staff. Always look forward to staying at Hemel. The hotel shows very high standards and in three words I would describe our stay as excellent, excellent, excellent. November 2, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Handy and comfortable Very handy for Harry potter studio tour. Meal in evening was good quality and the pool was excellent. Only downside was we could not take dog in. October 28, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Late Booking This was a late booking made on the spur of the moment. We were both more than happy with the hotel and level of service we received and will be using this hotel again October 19, 2012
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Toilet, cleanliness First visit: Room was in a poor state. They moved us to another room at around midnight. Not very happy. Second visit: No toilet rolls or tissues when arrived. Had to call receptionist to get them. First thing in the morning toilet flush system stopped working. Had to wait full hour before I could flush. Very disappointed. October 19, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Pity about the bed!! Overall, a really good hotel and facilities. The staff were really top notch. The food was consistently excellent. Unfortunately the bed was probably the most uncomfortable one I have ever tried to sleep in. October 18, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by short stay My daughter and I stayed here when we were visiting the Warner Brothers studio Harry Potter Tour we had a lovely time it was busy but the hotel was still quiet we slept well and it was only 10 minutes away from where we needed to be. Hemel Hempstead itself is well worth a look! October 15, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Our cycling trip stay We were on a tight schedule for our cycling trip, your reception staff made the extra effort to ensure we had somewhere safe to store our bikes overnight and in addition made up a take away breakfast bag as we needed to be on the road early Sunday. Well done October 13, 2012
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Absolutely AWFUL... We booked a night at the hotel, based on customer reviews and on the availability of the leisure facilities. We have three children under 7 and we decided to take our middle child away for a treat on her own. She suffers with Autism so isn't great at staying at people's houses, and she has been through a lot recently so we figured a little holiday would do her the world of good. It was also our 10th wedding anniversary so it was to be a lovely weekend for us too. When we arrived I was pleased to see the little stand in reception offering goody bags and popcorn for their youngest guests. Our daughter was chuffed with her little bag of goodies and we were happy that she would be having a lovely time. How wrong we were.. We checked in and went strait to our room to show our daughter when she would be sleeping. Because of her condition she finds it hard to settle so making her comfortable was our priority. We opened the door and found a printout on our bed informing us that the pool would actually be closed the next day! I couldn't believe that we: a, hadn't been told this on booking and b, hadn't been told this on check in. So, off I went down to reception. The response I got was that it was ok because they would pay for us to go to the leisure centre which is 15 minutes away! Our daughter doesn't swim in public pools because she can't cope with the noise, which was why we had chosen a hotel with a pool. I then went back to the room to try and have a nice time regardless. But I soon realised that there was actually no bed in there for her. So, I went BACK to reception AGAIN. They told me they had made a mistake and gave me new room keys. Eventually we made it down to dinner ( our package included dinner and breakfast). We were asked to have the buffet carvery because they were so busy that the menu would take a long time to prepare...which is bad service in itself...but thee were only about 6 tables of diners and no more arrived whilst we were there! The starter was vegetable soup. Our daughter has severe allergies to peas so I asked whether there were any in the soup. The reply was that she 'didn't think so'...so we couldn't let her have it just incase. The carvery was awful - Yorkshires that were like bullets, veg like mush. Pudding was a choice of two cakes and we tried both, one was still frozen in the middle. The next morning we packed up to leave. I wasn't desperate to hang around as our experience had been so awful and I was just gutted that not only had our anniversary been awful, but our daughter had not experienced any of the things we had told her she would an we couldn't make her understand why. As we were leaving the room with our bags and our 6 year old, the cleaners were in the room opposite. The door was wide open and their conversation was clear to understand, including a very bad expletive that I wouldn't have wanted an adult to hear, let alone a small child. At reception I was told I would be offered another night at the same hotel as a complimentary token ( not to include dinner or breakfast), and indeed, the voucher arrived a few days later. But, to be honest, I couldn't take my daughter back incase we experienced the same thing, and I wouldn't want to risk it happening to my other children either, so I can't see us using it. October 12, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasent stay Stayed at Holiday inn Hemel 3rd - 5th October on a dinner deal. We have stayed at this hotel before and this is our 4th or 5th stay here. Rooms are clean and comfortable. We had breakfast in our room one morning and can thoroughly recommend it (well worth the tray charge). We had dinner on Friday evening which was very nice, though we did have to wait a good 15 minutes before we received our wine, and I am guessing only then as I asked twice! There were only 3 other couples in the restaurant so there was no clear reason for the delay apart from the waitress chatting and laughing! They did get our order muddled up, wrong starters at first and then gave us the wrong steak but as a couple, swapping steaks is not really an issue, little mistakes are easily made, and easily forgiven. The following morning I had to get up and ask someone for tea and coffee, as we were ignored by the again 'busy' chatting waitresses. This however did not spoil our weekend break and I would still recommend this as a nice place to stay. October 12, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by How a hotel should be. My partner and I stayed one night at the Holiday Inn, Hemel Hempstead and could not have asked nor expected a better service. The room was spotless and thoughtfully furnished which was conducive to a good nights sleep. The food was excellent with plenty to choose from. The staff were very helpful and understanding. We will always use Holiday Inns in future. L J Coles October 5, 2012
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Hemel Hempstead visit At diner we found the dining room freezing cold & the chairs uncomfortable. Breakfast was OK but we never received the tea we requested, left in the end without. September 26, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by No complaints My friend & I enjoyed a very comfortable weekend stay at this hotel, using it as a base for days out. Quiet, well-lit (but nicely dark at night), well-equipped room with 2 armchairs & gorgeously comfortable beds. Excellent food & good service. Would have been nice to have : a magnifying mirror in the bathroom a shower cap & more toiletries biscuits - though we didn't need them! Would definitely recommend & would stay again. September 24, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely hotel and great staff Second time I have stayed at this hotel, the first time was with my wife on our wedding anniversary. The hotel facilities are great and the staff made our stay really enjoyable, so much so that we popped back for another visit a month later but this time we took our 4 young kids and stayed in the hotels family room, which is like a hotel within a hotel. Would highly recommend a visit, we will one day pop back for another family weekend break. September 24, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel great staff This hotel is one of the best we have stayed at we'll worth paying the extra for the breckfast September 22, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by WiFI & TV What stopped me giving this property an excellent rating was that I was unable to log on to the wifi in my room using the correct username and password and the digital TV picture kept freezing, rebooting etc. I did not eat at the hotel so am unable to comment re food etc. September 15, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great room fast and friendly service upon arrival after a look around the hotel discovered a good amount of facilities to wind down and relax which was needed after a long drive down earlier in the day great room plenty of space and very clean would recommend to anyone. September 5, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay Excellent venue & location. Great staff. Food variety to suit all pallets. August 11, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Olympian Gold for HI Hemel Hempstead First, and not the last, time I've stayed at Hemel. From the moment I walked in, I was made to feel like a valued customer. Front desk were effecient but managed to be fun/friendly as well. My room was very comfortable, I liked the option of being able to open windows and/or use aircon. The rooms/corridor are quiet - despite some guests. I only ate in room or at the bar (with a big screen - watching the olympics was a must). The food was good quality and overall there was enough variation in the menu for most. If I have one compliant its that there are not enough vegetable options - I'd happliy drop chips for veg. The leisure facilities were very busy but good - nice to have a reasonable hotel swimming pool. Considering the hotel was very busy due to the school holidays, olympic's and general business, the hotel exuded calm. Thank-you for a pleasant stay. August 9, 2012
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 next>>