• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-10-2014)
(e.g. Jul-11-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: HOUSTON
  • Distance From Hotel: 8.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:9
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

We are a pet friendly hotel. Seventy five dollars non refundable pet fee per room per stay.
Pet deposit amount  75.00  USD  per stay

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Reliant Park/Reliant Stadium/Reliant Center
Distance From Hotel:0.1MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:330
  • Car Parking Available
  • 24 Hour Parking Access with Patrol and Security Cameras.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2014
  • Total number of rooms:238
  • Total number of suites:6
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:76
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:162
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:207
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:9
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:11
  • FEMA Property Number:TX0683

Our Houston Medical Center hotel is among the best Houston South Loop hotels and Reliant Park Houston hotels. Near Minute Maid Park, the Astrodome, and Reliant Stadium, and just off the 610 loop, we offer top convenience and comfort. Our hotel near the Texas Medical Center is close to several Houston medical facilities, including the acclaimed MD Anderson Cancer Center and the Texas Childrens Hospital. Downtown Houston and several major corporations are just minutes away, as well as the
View More

Our Houston Medical Center hotel is among the best Houston South Loop hotels and Reliant Park Houston hotels. Near Minute Maid Park, the Astrodome, and Reliant Stadium, and just off the 610 loop, we offer top convenience and comfort. Our hotel near the Texas Medical Center is close to several Houston medical facilities, including the acclaimed MD Anderson Cancer Center and the Texas Childrens Hospital. Downtown Houston and several major corporations are just minutes away, as well as the George R. Brown Convention Center and the Toyota Center.

The popular Houston Museum District is just minutes from our Houston, Texas hotel near Hermann Park. Visit the Houston Zoo or the Childrens Museum, or take a short drive to the Houston Theatre District for a nights entertainment.

Our pet friendly hotel in Houston offers spacious Houston hotel rooms and suites with plenty of room for the whole family. Top hotel amenities in our recently renovated guest rooms include mini fridges and mini bars, and work areas with premium business features. Over 2,000 sq ft of meeting space and event facilities are available for business meetings, wedding receptions and special events.

If you're drawn to Houston by the sports, the exceptional medical facilities, the attractions, or the entertainment, The Holiday Inn Houston Reliant Park Area hotel is in the heart of it all. Let us be your first choice in Houston hotels!

View Less
Features
Our Houston Medical Center hotel is next door to Reliant Park and is conveniently located near Houston's Museum District, Minute Maid Park, the Astrodome, the George R. Brown Convention Center, Galleria Mall, and more!

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 56 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great hospitality by Yvonne Small I was in Houston for the OTC conference and spent 5 nights. Room was quite comfortable and I experienced a warm ambience. Very timely shuttle service and most importantly experienced home away from home. Special thanks to the warm front desk and especially the smiles and great hospitality by Yvonne Small. Will definitely recommend this hotel and for sure will stay in Candlewood for my next OTC . May 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Exceptional Personal Service Upon check-in, we immediately recognized the friendliness and warm hospitality extended to us (and our 2 Shi Tzu dogs) by the hotel staff. The room was spacious, clean, and temperature-controlled. Yvonne, the manager, went above and beyond in her efforts to insure that our stay was pleasant and comfortable, informing us of the shuttle service and times from the hotel to M.D. Anderson, and back. It was not until the next day, when we were at our son's house in Dallas, did we realize that we had left behind two large groups of hanging clothes in the hotel closet in Houston. The hotel had already tried to notify us, but had attempted to call our home phone. The end result was that Yvonne and her very kind staff, packed our clothes in a box, went immediately to the Fed Ex office, and we had our "left-behind" items within a couple of days. We always prefer Candlewood Suites (and other IHG hotels) because of their pet-friendly attitude, and always outstanding customer-oriented service. May 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Experience Candlewood @ Houston Medical Center was a great experience. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The grounds and the rooms were very neat and clean. I will definitely stay at Candlewood Houston Medical Center the next time I am in Houston. Thank you so much for making my stay enjoyable! April 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Candlewood suites We have been staying at Candlewood for about three years now and have never thought about staying anywhere else. This is our home away from home. April 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay This hotel is a great place to stay, we were involved in an event at the Reliant Arena, just a short drive away (5 minutes). This property is tucked back into the middle of a city block with a nice iron fence surrounding the outside. Felt very secure, and protected from outside traffic. Highly recommended, we will be back next year for the Stock Show. Thanks! March 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel!! I highly recommend this hotel. It is very clean, has a great workout room and laundry facilities, and the staff is very friendly. The rooms are very clean and the kitchen is definitely a plus. The hotel is quiet, has plenty of parking, and is located near restaurants. March 20, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Non-smoking room Have stayed here on several occasions for medical visits to M. D. Anderson. Have had bad experience on last 2 visits. Called Feb. 16, 2014 to make reservations for a visit on March 10, 2014. I called the direct number and was transferred to the reservation service. Requested the 1 bedroom suite with separate bedroom and was told one was available, but was wheel chair access only.(which we did not need) Requested non-smoking also. Upon check in was given room 122(smoking room). The furnishing are very worn and need to be replaced. It appears the property is not maintained as well as it was a year ago. March 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very friendly The suite was very spacious, clean, and modern, but what impressed me the most was the kindness of the staff and the genuinely warm welcome. February 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff room needs some attention Staff were very friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. The chair in the living room needs to be replaced, the upholstery was very worn. Also the ventilation in the bedroom was poor, making the room really stuffy. February 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comortable & Relaxing My first stay at a candlewood was a very pleasant surprise. The facilities were always very clean, and the staff always friendly and helpful. I will glady stay at candlewood again. February 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Convenience Hotel was very good. Staff very friendly. The shuttle to MC was fantastic. Made life a lot less stressful during stay. January 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great service Had to have eye surgery at MD Anderson and stayed there for 8 days..the room was comfortable and the staff was very friendly... the girl at the front desk (cherie)was very compassionate and so nice...also the guys who drove the shuttle was very good...really liked Felix...maybe cause he was from Louisiana!!! would stay there again...Thanks guys for making our stay comfortable... December 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay!!! We had a wonderful stay at the Candlewood! My mother had surgery at MD Abderson and had to stay with you guys for a week. She said the rooms were great and she felt right at home. I stayed for two days and had a wonderful stay. The lady at the front desk (Chree) was wonderful and so nice to us. My mother will need to make several more trips to Houston over the next year and we will make every effort to put her in a room at the Candlewood. Thanks again for the great stay!! December 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The only place we'll stay for MD Anderson visits! My wife recently had a week of testing and appointments at MD Anderson. Our experience at Candlewood Suites Houston Medical Center made the stay pleasant and stress-free! The room was like having our own little 1-bedroom apartment with most all the comforts of home. The property was exceptionally quiet -- we were on the 4th floor and heard virtually no noise, which was so welcoming to come "home" from a long day at MD Anderson and just be able to relax, nap and rest. The free laundry area and fitness room were great bonuses! Large kitchen and bathroom. Having the bedroom off by itself was great -- my wife could rest while I watched television in the living room without disturbing her. Taco Bell, Whataburger, and Golden Corral right in the parking lot, if you don't feel like cooking. Huge pantry and large desk area separates the kitchen and living area. Staff was very friendly and quick to answer any questions. The shuttle to MDA is such a great service -- takes away a big stressor of having to drive and negotiate parking at the huge medical facility. All in all, it felt like staying in a small condo rather than a hotel. Can't say enough good things. Thank you, Candlewood Suites!! We will be back in February or March. December 1, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasant extended stay Pleasant and reasonable, helpful staff, comfortable bed. Sofa not comfortable and toilet seat not steady, otherwise very pleased. November 29, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Room, General Appearance, Staff Room was clean and neat as was the entire hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful. November 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great bed and service The room was very clean and well kept. The bed is very comfortable. November 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place to Stay I am currently undergoing treatment at MD Anderson, and have stayed at this Candlewood Suites several times. In fact they are the only place I will stay (either alone or with my family) when I go to Houston. The location is close to the medical center, the rooms are always clean and comfortable, and the staff is really helpful and courteous. I will continue to stay here. November 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service! The staff was very helpful. I was pleasantly surprised of the room amenities. The proximity to the Texas Children's Hospital is very close and having the shuttle transportation is one less worry when we travel with my son for medical reasons. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. October 21, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not great! I stay at IHG properties nation-wide and am a Platinum member. The experiece at this property was sub-par. Young guy at the desk took a long time to check me in - lots questions slowing things down like my phone number that is already in my Platinum profile, was I there for business, etc, etc. No breakfast included. Bathroom has lousy one bottle that was supposed to be both shampoo and conditioner. No hand lotion provided. Property smelled musty like it had sustained water damaged. Will not be back. October 18, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable Room - Service and internet could be much better I've stayed at this property several times over the past months and the room accommodations are good. I like having the kitchen area and the recliner. It would be nice to have a heavier blanket on the bed and a luggage rack for the suitcase. I always have to use the chair for a luggage rack which is very inconvenient. The area of most opportunity though is the staff. I asked 2 different people if the Golden Corral restaurant that is in their parking lot serves breakfast and no one knew. For a limited service property to not be able to answer questions about F&B options in the area is inexcusable. I asked on my last stay if they recycled and again was told "I don't know". The biggest issue I have with this last stay is with housekeeping. I left gym clothes hanging on the back of the bathroom door. I called later the same day, before a guest had entered that room and was told they hadn't been turned in and I should check back later. I called again 2 days later and wast told the same thing. It should be obvious to the manager that the housekeeper took the clothes. They weren't expensive but there is definitely a problem here. Today I called and asked for the GM to call me - 2 hrs. later no call. October 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable and incredibly friendly staff During our stay, there was a thunder and lightning storm that completely blew out the cable. It took a day and a half for the cable company to finally show up and fix it. They were extremely apologetic. Everything else was great! October 2, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Handicap room was not available as reserved I made a reservation for my 85 year old grandmother and myself while we were down there for my uncle's surgery. We arrived at the hotel after 10 grueling hours at the hospital and told that we were not scheduled for a handicap accessible room. The clerk argued with me until I showed her my on-line reservation where it clearly stated that the room was suppose to be handicap. The clerk then called the manager on the phone and I had to talk with him as well. They explained that it is best to not make your reservations on-line because you do not always get what you want or need (which made no sense). After a 30 minute conversation with the clerk and 2 phone calls to the manager, we received the handicap room that they initially said was unavailable. We were told that we could not have the room for 7 nights as we planned and had to check out after 5. We had no other problems after our initial check in but this was unacceptable. September 20, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by BeWare This is a very nice hotel but after a long day of traveling and attending a charity event, they claim they had no record of my reservation. After showing an email confirmation and guest services talking to them the manger still would not honor my reservation! Then charged me without my consent. Did I mention I've been a IHG Rewards club member since 1992? So if you stay here just beware!!!! September 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very very clean and courteous staff. I was amazed at how clean the facility was. With my medical issues we have had to stay at many extended stay places and this place is by far the BEST!! The staff was very courteous especially one of the shuttle drivers. I apologize that I didn't get his name but he took me several times to my appointments. He was always courteous and very helpful in making sure I was secure by his hand in getting in and out of the van. I also appreciate the shuttle being free:-) September 2, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Stay Somewhere Else I would not recommend this hotel. First, it is not in the medical center. It is outside the 610 loop. Its somewhat close, but not in the medical center. I would not consider it in a safe area of town. We stopped at a SB down the street and literally under 5 minutes our car was broken into and everything stolen. We decided to check out early and were refused a receipt. We were charged the additional night even though we should not have been. We cannot dispute the charge because we cannot prove we checked out early. I tried arguing for the receipt at the time, but after having had our car broken into and visiting our sick mother in the hospital, we just decided to leave. I would not recommend this hotel, or Houston for that matter. August 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The best Candlewood Title says it all. The best I've stayed in.... And I've stayed in a few. August 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, comfortable room I had a 3 1/2 day conference to attend at a nearby hotel from , but due to the price of the other hotel and having to dine out every meal, I decided to try Candlewood, where at least I could avoid dining out 1 meal per day. Turns out Candlewood was less than 5 minutes from my conference and I was able to return to my room for lunch as well. The staff was very friendly upon my arrival and my departure. I was very pleased with the room and the bed was wonderful. My only complaint about the room is there wasn't a skillet for cooking,only pans and I had brought a frozen skillet dinner with me. Oh well, I managed. The other problem I had the first night was finding the hotel. It doesn't sit right on S Main, but rather behind some other business and although my GPS insisted I had "reached my destination" I missed it. My GPS was right, but the sign is hidden by a tree and I went right passed it. Not once but twice on the third time around I phoned the hotel and got right there. I would recommend this hotel and plan on staying there again when I have my next conference. August 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service We had appointments at the hospital that detained us for about 30 minutes longer than expected and were not charged for an extra day. Always great staff. The only thing I would have to slightly complain about is the mattress and the bedspread. The spread is very heavy and the mattress was pretty worn and uneven. But overall our stays here have been exceptional. We might get a better rate somewhere else but this hotel is just too wonderful to give up! July 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Just Right The location of this hotel was perfect for where I had to work for the three days I stayed there. I found the hotel to be just right. Friendly staff, safe and secure, clean, quiet (though you can see a freeway-you can't hear it), and the area is chock full of restaurants, many of which you can walk across the parking lot to... The price was significantly lower than other hotels in the area with no loss of quality. Please keep in mind this is an extended-stay type of property, so there is no daily maid service - works for me. Loved the place. It fit the bill and I will definitely stay there again if I have to go back to this area. June 14, 2013
<<prev2 3 next>>
Holiday Inn Houston Reliant Park Area
Holiday Inn Houston Reliant Park Area
Select to close.
Holiday Inn Houston Reliant Park Area Relax in our Houston Holiday Inn Lobby Hotel Near Rice University  -Greater Houston CVB Spacious Comfortable Elegant Houston Hotel Lobby Holiday Inn Houston Reliant Park Area Lobby Seating Area Houston Astros Play Near Hotel -Greater Houston CVB Holiday Inn Houston South Loop -Greater Houston CVB Galleria Mall Hotel -Greater Houston CVB Houston Zoo Hotel Accommodations -Greater Houston CVB Houston Museum of Fine Arts -Greater Houston CVB Texans Football at Reliant Stadium -Greater Houston CVB Holiday Inn Houston Reliant Park Area Elegant Lobby Seating
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Select to learn more about this hotel's reviews.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-10-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-11-2014)
Check Availability
Loading