• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-18-2014)
(e.g. Sep-19-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: HOUSTON
  • Distance From Hotel: 8.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:9
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

We are a pet friendly hotel. Seventy five dollars non refundable pet fee per room per stay.
Pet deposit amount  75.00  USD  per stay

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Reliant Park/Reliant Stadium/Reliant Center
Distance From Hotel:0.1MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:330
  • Car Parking Available
  • 24 Hour Parking Access with Patrol and Security Cameras.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2014
  • Total number of rooms:238
  • Total number of suites:6
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:76
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:162
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:207
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:9
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:11
  • FEMA Property Number:TX0683

Our Houston Medical Center hotel is among the best Houston South Loop hotels and Reliant Park Houston hotels. Near Minute Maid Park, the Astrodome, and Reliant Stadium, and just off the 610 loop, we offer top convenience and comfort. Our hotel near the Texas Medical Center is close to several Houston medical facilities, including the acclaimed MD Anderson Cancer Center and the Texas Childrens Hospital. Downtown Houston and several major corporations are just minutes away, as well as the
View More

Our Houston Medical Center hotel is among the best Houston South Loop hotels and Reliant Park Houston hotels. Near Minute Maid Park, the Astrodome, and Reliant Stadium, and just off the 610 loop, we offer top convenience and comfort. Our hotel near the Texas Medical Center is close to several Houston medical facilities, including the acclaimed MD Anderson Cancer Center and the Texas Childrens Hospital. Downtown Houston and several major corporations are just minutes away, as well as the George R. Brown Convention Center and the Toyota Center.

The popular Houston Museum District is just minutes from our Houston, Texas hotel near Hermann Park. Visit the Houston Zoo or the Childrens Museum, or take a short drive to the Houston Theatre District for a nights entertainment.

Our pet friendly hotel in Houston offers spacious Houston hotel rooms and suites with plenty of room for the whole family. Top hotel amenities in our recently renovated guest rooms include mini fridges and mini bars, and work areas with premium business features. Over 2,000 sq ft of meeting space and event facilities are available for business meetings, wedding receptions and special events.

If you're drawn to Houston by the sports, the exceptional medical facilities, the attractions, or the entertainment, The Holiday Inn Houston Reliant Park Area hotel is in the heart of it all. Let us be your first choice in Houston hotels!

View Less
Features
Our Houston Medical Center hotel is next door to Reliant Park and is conveniently located near Houston's Museum District, Minute Maid Park, the Astrodome, the George R. Brown Convention Center, Galleria Mall, and more!

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 78 reviewers.
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Great price, but lacking some basics The hotel is very clean, rooms are clean. Furniture in my room was very worn and cracked, The room temp was tough to get consistent. It was either very cold or hot. Don't like how AC shuts off in the middle of the night due to in activity. I stay at this hotel because it is next door to my companies Houston offices and rely on the little store for breakfast. Choices were very slim, only had diet non caffeine cold drinks. I have stayed here a few times and it has always been a great value for the price, but this time I was very disappointed. August 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Terrific service I have nothing but praise for this hotel. We were in town for doctors visits. We were called immediately after checking in to see if there was anything that we needed. Upon checking out, we were told to have a great day. Actually, the clerk made my day. The room was clean and well supplied. The cost of the room was well below what we expected to pay compared to other hotels in the area. We will return next year!! August 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service at Candlewood Suites Loved my stay at Candlewood--great value, but best of all great staff. The service was outstanding! I completely recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to the Texas Med Center. It is wonderful in every way! August 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great value Easy access to 610. Very comfortable room with good amenities. Would definitely stay again for extended reasons. Good shower pressure. Slept well every night. Love the free laundry. July 31, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 Decent hotel for the money The staff is nice, the place is kept clean, but there are a couple things to consider. First the location is terrible if you are not in town for medical treatment at Medical Center, or going to an event at NRG. There is nothing around, it is a grimy part of town, and ugly. Also, I stayed here for nearly two months, and in that time only two out of five washing machines worked. The problem was brought to the attention of management, they brought out a repair guy, which accomplished nothing. When I left, two machines worked. That is annoying and inconvenient, especially when Candlewood makes such a big deal about this amenity. Read other reviews from between May and now and you will see many guests mention this, and one response even says it was taken care of, this is not true as of July 23rd. Besides them being broken it looks like they have never been cleaned, which was also mentioned to management, and not addressed. The internet is garbage, if you need good fast internet on your stay you wont get that here. There is a pool but they dont use it. Its hot in Houston, you may want a place with a pool. We got a good medical rate, we never felt unsafe, and like I said, they keep the place pretty clean and the staff is friendly, so if the location works for you and you won't be staying for an extended period you can probably save some money staying here. But for long stays where you need to have internet and washing machines, you may want to weigh your options. July 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service Staff was great!!!! Hotel was clean and rooms were comfortable. July 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT PLACE NO POOL gREAT PLACE TO STAY BUT THERES NO POOL. VERY CLEAN AND COMFORABLE NICE KITCHEN IN ROOMS July 24, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by very bad smell overall the hotel As I'm a platinum IHG member, I never experienced this stay in any hotel around the world. They have to change the carpet, the smell is bad and it is not upto the living standards, I have to change hotel, even i complain to the front desk, they can't do anything, I was surprised that management didn't bother to call and try to do something, July 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent, helpful staff We found the staff to be very customer friendly; always willing to help and to be available for assistance. July 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly Staff The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location was 10 min away from everything you need. Very clean and safe. No problems with my vehicle while sleeping. And pet friendly. I will be staying here again and would recommend this place to others. July 19, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Medical related visit The hotel is nice, but the staff should communicate with the residents when problem occur with transportation, and address issues regarding unsanitary problems in public areas. Housekeeping should be on call to address problems pointed out, to make the stay for guest and their visitors more enjoyable. July 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A comfortable place away from Home This is my second time with this specific Candlewood Suites. I felt so comfortable and safe, I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else. Everyone is exceptionally friendly and helpful. This property is being managed extremely effectively. Thank you for your dedication to your guests. July 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay We had a great experience here! Stayed for my husbands visit to MD Anderson and will return when we come back for radiation treatments. July 10, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Furnishings worn out Good staff and location. Chairs, sofas, and carpet were worn out and need to be replaced. Coffee maker did not work. July 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service with a smile The only negative about this hotel is that the mattresses are very hard. It would not stop me from staying at this establishment any time I'm in the Houston area. Excellent customer service, clean, and not far from shopping and restaurants. Really enjoyed our stay! June 30, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Three's a crowd! I have stayed at this property once and another Candlewood property once and both times I was given a room that was already occupied! This happened twice at the previous property. This is extremely embarrassing for both me and the other guest and I don't understand why the hotel doesn't know where and who are staying in their room's. Please train your desk personnel on the proper use of the booking software. June 24, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Bad experience, but not the worse. Were given smoking suite, because a "non-smoking" suite was "not available". The room smelled so strong of smoke, we couldn't stay in that room. "Miraculously", a non-smoking suite was available 5 minutes later!?? The room's phone NEVER worked the entire time we were there. It was supposed to have been fixed, but never was. I couldn't even call the front desk or get a wake-up call! If you don't like, or are sensitive to overhead lighting, you will not be thrilled at the fact that the "entire building" was wired so you had to have the overhead lights on for all lighting! The lamps and light fixtures were not separate. Bed was comfortable, but room was small. Liked the recliner in the living area, but A/C had a unit in the living area that had to be turned on with the main A/C, and blew cold air on anyone sitting on or near the couch. We had a very hard time, and were having to constantly get up and down, to adjust the A/C. The shuttle van, while very much appreciated, was difficult to get in and out of, as it was very high off the ground. The manager, Yvonne, did try to personally accommodate the guests, but in the end, the phone never worked, and we never got a lamp, a somewhat minor inconvenience, especially compared to the phone not working. Also, at check-out, Yvonne offered a few extras that were greatly appreciated. June 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Business trip Overall a good place to stay. Staff was nice and helpful. Laundry facilities were broke. Good value. Very clean. June 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Room, great location Complete at home services provided with ease comfort and pleasant professionalism June 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Medical Center nearby Nice hotel with no freeway noise. Easy to get to medical center and restaurants. Hotel has shuttle to the medical center M-F starting at 7 AM June 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome Staff Entire staff was very accomodating...Thet were helpful and understanding. anytime day or night the great service remained the same... June 6, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Try another hotel in the medical center Horrible. Will not stay at this location again. Arrived late, staff, not helpful at all. Had to change rooms at least three times in 24 hours May 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great hospitality by Yvonne Small I was in Houston for the OTC conference and spent 5 nights. Room was quite comfortable and I experienced a warm ambience. Very timely shuttle service and most importantly experienced home away from home. Special thanks to the warm front desk and especially the smiles and great hospitality by Yvonne Small. Will definitely recommend this hotel and for sure will stay in Candlewood for my next OTC . May 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Exceptional Personal Service Upon check-in, we immediately recognized the friendliness and warm hospitality extended to us (and our 2 Shi Tzu dogs) by the hotel staff. The room was spacious, clean, and temperature-controlled. Yvonne, the manager, went above and beyond in her efforts to insure that our stay was pleasant and comfortable, informing us of the shuttle service and times from the hotel to M.D. Anderson, and back. It was not until the next day, when we were at our son's house in Dallas, did we realize that we had left behind two large groups of hanging clothes in the hotel closet in Houston. The hotel had already tried to notify us, but had attempted to call our home phone. The end result was that Yvonne and her very kind staff, packed our clothes in a box, went immediately to the Fed Ex office, and we had our "left-behind" items within a couple of days. We always prefer Candlewood Suites (and other IHG hotels) because of their pet-friendly attitude, and always outstanding customer-oriented service. May 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Experience Candlewood @ Houston Medical Center was a great experience. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The grounds and the rooms were very neat and clean. I will definitely stay at Candlewood Houston Medical Center the next time I am in Houston. Thank you so much for making my stay enjoyable! April 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Candlewood suites We have been staying at Candlewood for about three years now and have never thought about staying anywhere else. This is our home away from home. April 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay This hotel is a great place to stay, we were involved in an event at the Reliant Arena, just a short drive away (5 minutes). This property is tucked back into the middle of a city block with a nice iron fence surrounding the outside. Felt very secure, and protected from outside traffic. Highly recommended, we will be back next year for the Stock Show. Thanks! March 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel!! I highly recommend this hotel. It is very clean, has a great workout room and laundry facilities, and the staff is very friendly. The rooms are very clean and the kitchen is definitely a plus. The hotel is quiet, has plenty of parking, and is located near restaurants. March 20, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Non-smoking room Have stayed here on several occasions for medical visits to M. D. Anderson. Have had bad experience on last 2 visits. Called Feb. 16, 2014 to make reservations for a visit on March 10, 2014. I called the direct number and was transferred to the reservation service. Requested the 1 bedroom suite with separate bedroom and was told one was available, but was wheel chair access only.(which we did not need) Requested non-smoking also. Upon check in was given room 122(smoking room). The furnishing are very worn and need to be replaced. It appears the property is not maintained as well as it was a year ago. March 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very friendly The suite was very spacious, clean, and modern, but what impressed me the most was the kindness of the staff and the genuinely warm welcome. February 26, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 next>>
Holiday Inn Houston Reliant Park Area
Holiday Inn Houston Reliant Park Area
Select to close.
Holiday Inn Houston Reliant Park Area Relax in our Houston Holiday Inn Lobby Hotel Near Rice University  -Greater Houston CVB Spacious Comfortable Elegant Houston Hotel Lobby Holiday Inn Houston Reliant Park Area Lobby Seating Area Houston Astros Play Near Hotel -Greater Houston CVB Holiday Inn Houston South Loop -Greater Houston CVB Galleria Mall Hotel -Greater Houston CVB Houston Zoo Hotel Accommodations -Greater Houston CVB Houston Museum of Fine Arts -Greater Houston CVB Texans Football at Reliant Stadium -Greater Houston CVB Holiday Inn Houston Reliant Park Area Elegant Lobby Seating
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-18-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-19-2014)
Check Availability
Loading