• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-20-2014)
(e.g. Sep-21-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: CLEVELAND
  • Distance From Hotel: 8.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:12
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Polish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Hotel only allows service animals

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Cuyahoga Valley Scenic Railroad
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Great Lakes Science Center
Distance From Hotel:8.0MI
Attraction:
Cleveland Browns Stadium - Football
Distance From Hotel:8.0MI
Attraction:
Progressive Field - Cleveland Indians Baseball
Distance From Hotel:8.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:750
  • Car Parking Available
  • complimentary open surface lot

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:360
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:206
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:158
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:328
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:12
  • Executive floors
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5

See Cleveland, Ohio with Hotel's Free Shuttle

Experience warm hospitality just outside the city at the Holiday Inn® Hotel Cleveland - S. Independence. The hotel's prime location in Independence, Ohio puts guests at the crossroads of I-77 and I-480 for easy access to the Cleveland Clinic, Lake Erie, Cleveland Browns Stadium and other exciting attractions in downtown Cleveland.

Nearby, our hotel's guests can hike or take the scenic railway through the gorgeous Cuyahoga Valley
View More

See Cleveland, Ohio with Hotel's Free Shuttle

Experience warm hospitality just outside the city at the Holiday Inn® Hotel Cleveland - S. Independence. The hotel's prime location in Independence, Ohio puts guests at the crossroads of I-77 and I-480 for easy access to the Cleveland Clinic, Lake Erie, Cleveland Browns Stadium and other exciting attractions in downtown Cleveland.

Nearby, our hotel's guests can hike or take the scenic railway through the gorgeous Cuyahoga Valley National Park. Visit downtown Cleveland to dine and dance in the Historic Warehouse District, tour the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and take in a hit show at PlayhouseSquare, the second-largest theatre complex in the country.

For your next meeting, take advantage of our well-appointed event space and top-notch catering. If you upgrade to an executive-level room, you'll enjoy key access to a lounge with a free continental breakfast, beer, wine and hors d'oeuvres. In addition, our free shuttle goes to Cleveland - Hopkins International Airport (CLE), Alcoa, Lubrizol and other corporations near our hotel's location.

Whether you're in Independence, Ohio for business or leisure, you'll love convenient amenities like free high-speed, wireless Internet access. You can unwind in the heated, indoor pool and sauna and dance to live music at the Impulse Lounge. If you're running late, grab coffee and a muffin at the Seattle's Best Kiosk in our lobby. Reserve your room today.

View Less
Features
It's hard to beat our strategic location just outside Cleveland, Ohio. This hotel's property is near the intersection of I-77 and I-480, minutes from downtown and Cleveland - Hopkins Airport (CLE).

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 580 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A bit of nostalgia My husband worked in this building years ago as a mail boy. What a surprise this was when we stayed here on his birthday. The building is beautiful. How nice that the original doors were kept from the offices that were converted to rooms. The experience was quite relaxing, the room was very clean and comfortable and the Jacuzzi was a very nice touch. November 1, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by huge room and good service Our room was huge and comfortable. Managers reception was fun. Restaurant closeby was excellent. Very early wake-up call and the staff had a cab waiting to take us to Amtrak station. Good stay if short! October 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 40th wedding anniversary My wife of 40 years and I stayed at this property 10/26/13 and it was outstanding. I had let them know about the occasion and when we checked in they said they were waiting for us, we had a great room and flowers. The staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome. This was the tail end of our bucket list trip to Graceland and elsewhere driving about 3700km from our home in Belleville, Ontario. The hotel is real close to the rock and roll hall of fame (a must see) and restaurants of all kinds within a few minute walk. A real special thanks to Autumn and Hope for the great hospitality! October 28, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable accommodations; poor service This has been my go-to hotel for business/leisure stays for more than 10 years. I was so disappointed with the staff during my Oct. 5-6, 2013 stay, I will look for alternative downtown CLE lodging for future use. Desk staff were unprofessional in service and appearance on arrival and departure days. Staff walked away from the desk despite numerous guests waiting in line. Staff answered telephone calls while guests waited at desk. Apparently "on break" or "off duty" staff interrupted co-workers for non-work conversations while co-workers were addressing guests. October 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by More than you expect My recent stay at this hotel included the challenge of parking a rental truck in the downtown area. While I though this would be a problem, there was no issue for the staff. They made all the arrangement necessary for me to park the truck in front of the building. The staff was FANTASTIC!!! The room was beautiful! One rarely sees a hotel room with hardwood floors and high ceilings. Nestled in the downtown area, this has got to be one of the best kept secrets in Cleveland. They provided me directions to a great pub for dinner (best onion rings I've ever eaten). The hotel is quiet, comfortable, and has a TV that is 'snow' free...a welcome plus. Next time I'm in Cleveland, I'm going back to this hotel!!! October 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice beds Very nice beds but the advertised Queens were actually Fulls October 25, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful hotel but rude staff Made a reservation several months in advance, but unfortunately, the credit card I used was stolen a few days before our trip. I called the hotel to see what I needed to do, and was told that because I booked in advance, the room was already paid for on said card and I would only need to bring another card for them to hold for "incidentals." However, upon arriving at the hotel, I was rather rudely told that that this was not the case, and that my card had been declined (obviously the card had been cancelled by this time). The card we then used to pay for the room was charged twice. After several trips to the front desk trying to solve these issues, things were finally resolved. We were treated quite rudely by some (though not all) of the workers at the front desk. If I had been given the correct information on the phone in the first place, this all could have been avoided. On the plus side, the hotel is beautiful and the room was one of the nicest I've ever stayed in. October 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by decor, staff, breakfast, and bed wonderful I stayed at this Holiday Inn Express for 9 years every Sunday thru Thursday and I enjoyed myself then and staff always treated me like family but they had issues with décor, and cleanliness. Those problems are gone. You were able to keep the old charm of the building and the new décor is very relaxing, the new furniture is very complimentary to the old charm and the staff once again treated me like family. The breakfast bar was hot and fresh and the servers very professional. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and I would not have done that previously. Keep up the great work. October 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great choice!! Great location. Within walking distance to many attractions. Staff was incredibly helpful and friendly!! Rooms are very large. Will definitely choose this hotel if or when I return to Cleveland again!! October 20, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 10/13/2013 HHI Express Cleveland, OH We've stayed here many times and this property continues to decline. The cleaniliness is below average, the air conditioner did not work(even though we called the front desk to have it resolved), main service pounds on the door at 8am when checkout is 11 am. Very doubtful we will stay at this dump again. October 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Front desk staff My husband and I we're coming to Cleveland from the Holiday Inn Express in DuBois, PA. Due to some miscommunication from DuBois and us making a wrong turn (or two), we pretty much some most of Cleveland while missing the first quarter of the Lions Browns game. In desperation, we called your facility and connected with Melanie Lampkin. This young lady went well above and beyond her responsibilities. She stayed on the phone with me for a good 15 + minutes and assured me she was going nowhere until we got to our destination. She was patient, polite and knowledgable. I cannot stress how much we appreiacted her help and guidance. The Holiday Inn family is very fortunate to have Ms. Lampkin as part of its staff. In this day and age when it's much easier to brush someone off and continue with your immediate responsibilites - what a breath of fresh air. She was stellar!! October 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overview Central downtown location within walking distance of several attractions. Large room. Good service when needed. Clean and fashionable. Needs two nightstands for the bed instead of one. Overnight parking in nearby garage was convenient but an additional $14/day. October 14, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed Requested crib and extra pillows and blankets for baby when placing reservations, was told they didn't have cribs so I had to lug a play pen. No extra blankets or pillows were in room as requested, had to call for them, clerk said they had a crib available. Parking was not easily identified for hotel, and space in front of hotel is limited for unloading, again, had play pen to lug along with luggage. Staff were confused with reservations. Room doors don't have door closures so every time someone opened a door it slammed shut very loudly waking the baby and us every time. The room was very nice though. The breakfast was very limited and uninteresting looking. October 14, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Billing I redeemed points and paid for half the bill through my company. It was hassle to get a receipt for the paid portion. 3 calls almost 20 minutes with multi on hold sessions. Just to get a copy October 13, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Okay Place to Stay The room was wonderful! However, parking across the street (in the parking garage) in the dark was not ideal. Also, there was no continental breakfast the day we stayed for some reason. We were given a small discount for the inconvenience. October 13, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Getting Better... We stay here about 2 nights a year every year for the past 5 years & I haven't always given this hotel great reviews. It was a rocky transition to the Express. This year we have seen improvements, especially with the addition of security out front. Due to this, our stay felt a lot more pleasurable as security has thwarted much of the homeless pandering around there, as well as an increased police presence. We stay here for the location & the architecture of the hotel. We love 4th Street & enjoy walking there for the night life. As for the rooms...well the first night we stayed in a smoking room & the bed was horrendous. The second night we stayed on the 14th floor & the bed was much better & felt much newer. That doesn't make sense. Our 14th floor room had a jacuzzi which was well designed & beautiful...but can you please replace the horrendous floor tile??? UGH. Overall, we were treated very well & we will continue staying there. Cleveland is awesome & everyone should experience it. I just hope the police will continue to work on eliminating this homeless/pandering issue. October 12, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A good overall stay Room was spacious and clean, the jacuzzi tub was great! Bed was comfortable. Staff was friendly for limited interaction, helped us with toiletries with no hesitation and called us a cab willingly. The breakfast was great, tons of choices! Location is awesome in the downtown area. The fitness center was a closet sized room, and the menus in room for ordering out are way outdated. We ordered food and the girl on the end of the line hadn't ever heard of half the things we wanted. All in all though, a good place to stay and the building/locale was great. October 9, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Terrible hotel Worst customer service I've seen from any company. Had my room charged twice on my card after finding human feces in our bed. The front desk laughed at me(Melanie). We didn't find anything funny about our stay here. Will never stay here again. October 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Stay Here Great day. When you need to stay in Cleveland area, do yourself and favor and stay at this hotel. The location is awesome and the people are the best I have encountered in recent years. It's simple. Stay here. Go well and be awesome. October 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great location I live 25 miles away from this location so don't have occasion to stay downtown often. But I must say if I stay downtown again, I will choose this property. The rooms were spectacular with the high ceilings, hardwood floors, and large windows that afforded a nice view of downtown. I will not hesitate to recommend to my business associates in the future. Staff was attentive, helpful, and friendly as well. Hats off to all! October 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Nice room fantastic location. Staff was very friendly and accommodating Highly recommend !! October 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location and Staff This hotel is is a fantastic location -- right by 4th street with all restaurants down the street from shopping and the casino .. walking distance from progressive field and browns stadium! The staff at this hotel is friendly and greets everyone with a smile. It's nice and they all seem to love what they do!! October 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Location Makes Cleveland a Walkable City We stayed in Cleveland for five days without having to rent a car, and were able to walk from this ideally located hotel to the theater, the museums, the stadiums and many fine restaurants. The high ceilings in this hotel make it feel regal -- and the staff is truly above average. We are especially thankful to Jeanette for her energetic, efficient, friendly and really clean attention to every detail in the breakfast bar. The only "problem" was spotty wi-fi. October 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and excellent accommodations What a fantastic hotel with extremely friendly staff, large comfortable beds and fantastic breakfast. I would highly recommend it and will be staying there lots. Great location to lots of restaurants and activities. October 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Will stay here again We were in town for the Browns game and chose a place within walking distance of things. I arrived first, then when my friend got there, he thought the room smelled of smoke. (He just finished chemotherapy treatments and was very sensitive to such smells.) I called the front desk and asked if the room was indeed non-smoking, and the woman immediately offered the choice of either having someone come up and use some deodorizing spray, or another room. We opted for the other room, and she brought keys for the new room immediately. Very courteous and concerned, and quick as well. Every staff member we came in contact with had the same concern for guest comfort. The included breakfast was very good, as well. The only drawback, and it's very minor, is the elevators could be claustrophobia-inducing. I guess that's the way they were in 1890s office buildings, which is what this hotel originally was. All in all, a very positive experience. October 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay! My son, brother, nephew, and I recently stayed at this hotel and had a great time. We flew into town to go to the Browns game and had a wonderful time and experience in Downtown Cleveland!! I would highly recommend this hotel!! Staff was very helpful, accommodating and friendly!! Browns Fan October 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by One night in September I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in downtown Cleveland for one mid-week night in the last week of September. I was in town for a conference at the Cleveland Convention Center, and was only needing a hotel for pre-conference overnight sleeping. The Convention Center is only about four blocks away, well within easy walking distance. The hotel is in a renovated downtown building, not at all what one would expect from a Holiday Inn Express. The hotel staff were very pleasant, helpful, and accommodating. The room (two beds) was much larger than I expected, and was nicely acquainted. The bed was comfortable enough, and the entire room was very clean. The provided breakfast was the usual fare, but the food tasted good, and the breakfast area was roomy and pleasant. You do have to pay for the overnight parking, but it is good for 24 hours, with "come and go" privileges, so it work well for me as I would have had to pay for parking for the conference anyway. The cost of the stay was affordable in comparison to other downtown hotels, and the amenities would match most other locations. The only real downside I could see is that the walls are a bit thin, and I could easily hear loud conversations in the next room or the outer hallway, so it may not be as restful during a busy weekend or convention time. Overall, I had a very good experience, and would recommend this hotel to anyone needing an overnight stay in downtown Cleveland. October 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great room and view! Room stylishly appointed with great view of Cleveland from 15th floor. Love the high ceilings and wood floors. Room was very clean. Breakfast good. The air conditioning was very noisy but fixed by maintainance upon request. September 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Stay The Cleveland Downtown was a surprise. The rooms were spacious and bright. The beds were super comfortable and the pillows fantastic. There were floor to ceiling widows that faced out to Indians Stadium, where both nights we stayed they entertained us with fireworks. My friend slept on the sofa bed and she was almost as comfortable as the king sized we slept in. The staff was available to our every need, which weren't many. Check in was fast and the parking garage was right around the corner, and I felt completely safe walking back to the hotel. There is a neighborhood watch patrol that was ever present. We did not eat in the hotel, so I can not comment on the food, but the city of Cleveland is full of great places to eat, just look! A lot of people asked me why I went to Cleveland and my answer was because I have never been but if I return it will be to stay at the Cleveland Downtown and have breakfast at the Big Egg! September 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by What a building. What a cool location. What a GREAT building. Couldn't have been better. September 28, 2013
<<prev 10 11 12 13 14 ... 21 next>>
Exterior Feature
Exterior Feature
Select to close.
Exterior Feature Our lights are always on for you at the Holiday Inn Independence Our attractive lobby welcomes you!
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-20-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-21-2014)
Check Availability
Loading