• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Aug-01-2014)
(e.g. Aug-02-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: CLEVELAND
  • Distance From Hotel: 8.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:12
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Polish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Hotel only allows service animals

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Cuyahoga Valley Scenic Railroad
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Cleveland Metroparks Zoo
Distance From Hotel:8.0MI
Attraction:
Great Lakes Science Center
Distance From Hotel:8.0MI
Attraction:
Cleveland Browns Stadium - Football
Distance From Hotel:8.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:750
  • Car Parking Available
  • complimentary open surface lot

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:364
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:206
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:158
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:328
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:12
  • Executive floors
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5

See Cleveland, Ohio with Hotel's Free Shuttle

Experience warm hospitality just outside the city at the Holiday Inn® Hotel Cleveland - S. Independence. The hotel's prime location in Independence, Ohio puts guests at the crossroads of I-77 and I-480 for easy access to the Cleveland Clinic, Lake Erie, Cleveland Browns Stadium and other exciting attractions in downtown Cleveland.

Nearby, our hotel's guests can hike or take the scenic railway through the gorgeous Cuyahoga Valley
View More

See Cleveland, Ohio with Hotel's Free Shuttle

Experience warm hospitality just outside the city at the Holiday Inn® Hotel Cleveland - S. Independence. The hotel's prime location in Independence, Ohio puts guests at the crossroads of I-77 and I-480 for easy access to the Cleveland Clinic, Lake Erie, Cleveland Browns Stadium and other exciting attractions in downtown Cleveland.

Nearby, our hotel's guests can hike or take the scenic railway through the gorgeous Cuyahoga Valley National Park. Visit downtown Cleveland to dine and dance in the Historic Warehouse District, tour the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and take in a hit show at PlayhouseSquare, the second-largest theatre complex in the country.

For your next meeting, take advantage of our well-appointed event space and top-notch catering. If you upgrade to an executive-level room, you'll enjoy key access to a lounge with a free continental breakfast, beer, wine and hors d'oeuvres. In addition, our free shuttle goes to Cleveland - Hopkins International Airport (CLE), Alcoa, Lubrizol and other corporations near our hotel's location.

Whether you're in Independence, Ohio for business or leisure, you'll love convenient amenities like free high-speed, wireless Internet access. You can unwind in the heated, indoor pool and sauna and dance to live music at the Impulse Lounge. If you're running late, grab coffee and a muffin at the Seattle's Best Kiosk in our lobby. Reserve your room today.

View Less
Features
It's hard to beat our strategic location just outside Cleveland, Ohio. This hotel's property is near the intersection of I-77 and I-480, minutes from downtown and Cleveland - Hopkins Airport (CLE).

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 499 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly Staff and Impressive Room We were thoroughly surprised by our room on the 15th floor considering the age of the exterior and lobby. Large clean room, hard wood floors with floor to ceiling windows, very modern. Definitely not at all what we expected. The internet was unavailable during our stay which was a bit upsetting but there is enough to do in this area that it wasn't missed at all. Staff were very friendly and helpful, smiles from each one. Would definitely stay here again. August 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely room Loved the rooms and the staff was very, very nice. We plan to go again in December. Would definitely reccomend to friends August 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love the rooms We stayed twice this summer and was on the 15th floor both times. Really liked the view from up there. Love the wood floors, high ceilings, windows and the comfortable bedding. The hotel is in a great location for walking distance to downtown things. We only did breakfast once (the first day of first visit), and while the selection was good the eggs were not how I would have liked along with other breakfast items I would choose, but it is typical of what we have encountered at other basic breakfast offerings at other hotels. The ladies working the breakfast area were extremely friendly and helpful. August 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great room The room was spacious, clean and comfortable and the breakfast was very good. Great location for Cleveland nightlife and restaurants. August 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Tigers Weekend in Cleveland Great location, value, and overall experience. The only downside was the internet wasn't working our last two days. Loved the breakfast bar, and the fact that it was located so close to the fourth street alley as well as Progressive Field. Would definitely stay there again. August 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Room I had the king bed and jacuzzi room and it was really nice. There were hardwoods floors and I had a great view of the city and lake. I would recommend this room to anyone! August 12, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location ,no Internet service. This hotel was vey close to everything we wanted.However was very disappointed that we could not access the wifi in our room at all.The first afternoon we were there the front desk gave us passwords that didnt work at all.Later when we went down the concierge told us the wifi doesn't reall work in the rooms only in The lobby which had no where to sit and hang out in.We did request extra pillows and were promptly delivered to our room.It was very quiet at night.The whirlpool tub was nice but we had to prop open the plug with a shampoo container just to drain it.Did love the hard wood floors in the rooms instead of carpet.Thought the violent video game in the game room for the kids was inappropriate.Saw a boy shooting a person in the game with blood splattering everywhere while we were waiting in line for breakfast.:( August 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by All excellent Came for the Detroit Tigers / Cleveland Indians baseball game. Hotel centrally located for EVERYTHING we wanted to do. Rock & Roll Hall of Fame, casino, restaurants, bars, Progressive ball park. Never touched our car for two days - able to walk to everything we did. Easily and safely! Enjoyed every minute of the two days we stayed in Cleveland and at the Holiday Inn Express! Front desk and staff - AWESOME! August 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful room Although we did not use all of the services available to us, we thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast buffet and our beautiful room...what a luxury! Wish all hotel rooms looked like this one! August 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic Room with Great View We recently stayed at the hotel during a sightseeing vacation in Cleveland and enjoyed it very much. We were somewhat anxious about parking, but it turned out very easy to use the nearby garage. When asked at check-in whether we preferred upper or lower floor, we said upper and were given a corner room on the top (15th) floor. Huge room with city views and the lake in the distance. Hardwood floors were nice and the room had very high ceilings. We hardly ever heard a door close and never heard any voices. The complimentary breakfast was OK, although the fresh fruit options could be improved. The hotel is in a perfect location for walking to all the key tourist locations, including Rock & Roll Hall of Fame and the baseball stadium. Very close to East Fourth Street with good restaurants. We enjoyed the free popcorn in the lobby as an afternoon snack one day. Overall this hotel is a great choice for staying in downtown Cleveland. August 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Customer Service and Nice Rooms I was there for a few long extended stays on business. Customer service all around was very pleasant, courteous, and helpful with suggestions to restaurants and things to do in the area. Rooms were large and open with everything needed for an extended stay and the beds were comfortable. August 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love this Historic Building If you like historic homes, you'll feel right at home here. I loved the high ceiling and hardwood floor in our room. I reminded of a hotel room that I had in Paris several years ago, only this time I didn't have to walk down the hall to the bath. Our room had a fancy new bath. If I come to Cleveland again, I will stay here, love it. August 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic Room, not the best stay I have become a fan of the Holiday Inn Express chain. I stumbled upon them in Michigan and now book if available where I'm going. There was just one problem with this location - the loud noise in the middle of the night! It sounded like someone was jackhammering in our bathroom. We called down to the front desk and we were told "someone will check on it". Someone did knock on our door, and another guest popped out of his room and said he also hear it - it was VERY loud. After that, we never heard again from management. This noise happened again in the morning (right after we got up). When we checked out we mentioned it to the clerk and she said "Ma'am, I'm sure nobody was doing construction during the middle of the night." Now I said it "sounded" like someone was jackhammering, not that someone was. This went on for a few minutes, I felt like she wasn't listening to what I was saying. Finally she went "in back" and came out and offered us a discount on our stay. While this was very nice, this was still off-putting to me. The room itself was absolutely lovely, spacious, hard wood floors, well done. There was sawdust on the floor, and there was about a 2" gap between the floor and the door to the hallway. Just a little odd. Overall I loved Cleveland and had a wonderful time. August 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Impressive room and view with great customer service. My husband and I really wanted to stay at this hotel because we liked the photo on the website. We were delighted when we saw our room. The room was very comfortable with a lot of amenities. We loved the view. The hotel staff was very helpful during our 3 day stay. We enjoyed all the different choices of food that were offered for breakfast. The hotel was convenient to so many places that we walked to during our stay. We felt very safe walking back to our room after an evening baseball game or taking in a play or dining. August 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Perfect Getaway My wife and I were looking for the ideal place to celebrate our 30th anniversary and this Holiday Inn Express was just what the doctor ordered - beautiful, clean, and quiet. The staff was friendly, courteous, and helpful. It was not cheap but worth every penny! August 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Your staff I had every intention of writing to you to express my great satisfaction during my stay. First and foremost the front line desk staff were great ambassadors for the hotel. Any request was taken care of immediately and most importantly with a smile. Staff at the breakfast were also very attentive and so pleasant when they greeted us. I was fortunate to win a gold medal during the games and the desk staff were almost as pleased as I was. Coming back to the hotel after a post race dinner at Flannerys Irish Pub It was an added pleasure to find balloons and a card on the room door. I have the card which will not only go the rounds but remain with me as a fond reminder of my stay in Cleveland August 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean Hotel in a Great Location This newly renovated hotel is one of my favorite travel stops. The views of Downtown Cleveland are unparalleled. The hotel staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms are super clean and every amenity is up to date. The internet worked wonderfully and the breakfast was superb. But wait, there's more... It is wonderfully situated close to everything you want to see or do in downtown Cleveland. Don't hesitate to stay here. August 7, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor customer service I would have given Holiday Inn Express 4 or 5 stars if it weren't for the front desk staff and customer service issues I had during my stay. I had booked a 2 queen bed suite for my sister's bachelorette party. I am from out of town, so I had made the reservations for my sister's special day well in advance. Before booking, I called Holiday Inn to verify I would be able to get an early check in -check in is 4pm- because I had made specific plans with my sister at 4pm, and wanted to get into the hotel early to decorate and set up for the evening. The person I talked to had said an early check in would be no problem, just call closer to my actual visit. My stay was a Saturday night, so I called the Friday before my stay, and the front desk staff said to call Saturday. I called Saturday morning, they said to call back later in the day. I called back at 1pm, they said I could check in around 2:30. However, they never took my name, and when I arrived at the hotel at 2:30, after waiting for the front staff to finish their personal conversations #there were 3 people at the desk and it took 10 minutes for one person to finally address me# my room wasn't ready. I waited in the lobby and checked at the front desk again at 3pm #after waiting several minutes for the staff to finally help me# and the room STILL wasn't ready, and the front desk staff finally decided maybe they should send the cleaning staff to my room. So it turns out I was unable to get checked in early, and it was wasted time and energy on my part and was an added stress to what was supposed to be a fun day. I was very disappointed because I had never had an issue with an early check in at any other hotel. Then, the next morning, although check out is 11am, the maid knocked on our door at 9:00am to clean! It is surprising that considering it took all day to clean my room the day before, forcing me to wait to the last minute to check in, suddenly I am getting woken up by the cleaning staff who cannot wait to get into my room to clean it. The room itself was nice, and I would have rated this property much higher if I didn't have such a terrible experience with checking in and then being rushed to get out of my room in the morning, hours before check out. August 6, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by overrall great location Centally located; which is great since I was here with my volleyball team to compete in the Nationals. We had never been to Cleveland, so every recommendation and site to see was easy to access. Our venue was at the new convention center and we could easily walk to it, after a hearty breakfast. The staff that set up breakfast were constantly adding fresh eggs,fruit, cereals, & drinks. I noticed some athletes were making their own peanut butter and jelly sandwich to take with them. Good idea. When I landed at the airport, the airport staff directed me the RTA transit system, for $2.25 the subway takes you to the Tower Center which is your stop for downtown. Next the free trolly system take you to your hotel, how stress free is that. We were able to walk to progressive field to take in an Indian game and the famous 4th street is across the st. and you can choose all kinds of great music and resturants. I also recommend the Lolly Trolly for a 2 or 1 hr tour about the history of Cleveland and great arts and culture scene recommendtions. Cleveland Rocks August 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Very good visit I wouldn't say excellent because the wireless internet service was terrible. I was able to go online for at most 5 minutes, then would have to close out of Firefox and reopen it. My children's iPod had similar issues. I did think the room was great, breakfast was plentiful, and the location was fantastic for the Rock and Roll HOF, any of the sport venues, and the House of Blues. If their wi-fi improved, it would be rated excellent. August 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly and great service We recently stayed at the hotel during a family vacation to Cleveland and we were treated very well. The hotel is in a perfect location for walking to all the key tourist locations. It is clean and comfortable and provides friendly service. We loved the popcorn machine in the lobby and the Fitness centre. The complimentary breakfast was decent but not great but did have a variety of choices. It was handy to have a fridge and microwave in the room. The rooms are large comfortable. August 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Front desk knowledge of public transportation When I asked if there was a hotel bus or public transportation from the airport to the hotel the person on the telephone said no and I would need to take a cab. She gave me a name and number to call. There is a train which goes from the airport to within 4 blocks of the hotel. There is also discount fares for seniors. I think the hotel staff should know the public transportation and how a guest can use it . August 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel in Downtown Cleveland I stayed here while in Cleveland for the Senior National Games. I booked a suite since it was the only room type that was available even though I booked early. The suite had a large sitting area (~ 16' x 18'# separated from the sleeping area by a full and half wall. This arrangement would not have been good with two people if one wanted to sleep and the other was up with the light, or TV, on in the sitting area. There was also a small kitchenette with a mini-fridge and a microwave. The fridge did not have a freezer compartment. The kitchenette had a hot mitt, bottle opener, cork screw and numerous glass glasses. All of the other plates/bowls were Styrofoam. There was a small table for dining at in the sitting area, but there was only the desk chair to use at the table. This would have been a problem if two people wanted to eat together at the table. The bed was firm, but comfortable. I slept very well. The room was quiet and dark. The bathroom was well lit, but there is no exhaust fan #too common in many hotels# so the mirror fogged up when you shower. The shower head is high on the wall and the water flow in the shower was very strong. The bath towels were soft. While I saw numerous comments about the parking before I got to the hotel, I found this to be very straightforward. The parking garage is located just around the corner from the hotel and you just need to have your parking ticket validated at the front desk every time you return from the garage. This allows you to exit the garage without paying. You can enter and exit as much as you need to and the daily charge for parking is just added to your bill. While I think that $14 a day for parking is a little high, the logistics seemed to work just fine. The hotel has very little carpeting. Almost all of the flooring is wood with some marble tile. In fact, it took me a while before I noticed the few places there was any carpeting #entertainment center, one flight of stairs, etc.#. I found this to be really nice due to my allergies. The breakfast in the morning is standard Holiday Inn Express fare. Even though the hotel was very full there seemed to be enough seating in the breakfast area and the staff kept the food well stocked. The only exception was the first morning when they ran out of bananas which I imagine were in great demand due to the large number of senior athletes staying at the hotel. There was no shortage for the next three days. The hotel is conveniently located in downtown Cleveland. I walked every day to the Convention Center #about 7 or 8 blocks# for our volleyball competition. It is also within walking distance of the Quicken Center and the baseball park. There is an RTA stop in the front of the hotel. There are also many restaurants within a few blocks of the hotel. August 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Location We chose this hotel because of the proximity to the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame. The hotel is located in what used to be a bank building. The room was quite spacious. Staff was professional. Our only complaint was that while we were told where to park, we were not told to have the parking validated. We did not find out about this until I was checking out and the desk person asked if we had a ticket stamped. Unfortunately, my husband had already picked up the car, paid the $20 fee, and was loading our luggage. August 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel! I just got back from a weekend in Cleveland and stayed at holiday Inn express. The room was beautiful! High ceilings, tons of space and very comfortable. We went to see a Cleveland Indians game and were able to walk to the stadium and then walk to bars and restaurants afterwards. Location couldn't have been better. Now let me just tell you how impressed I was with the breakfast. I didn't realize it was free and it was hot. We had a long drive ahead of us and were very pleasantly surprised to find the breakfast area and the selection. Great hotel in a nice city! August 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely stay... The room was beautiful and the location was perfect. August 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Large room for family We were surprised by the size of each guest room. They are huge. Hard wood floor. two queen beds in the room. It is perfect for family with kids. We enjoyed our stay in hotel. Kids had a lot of fun in the rooms. July 30, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Experience 1. I'm a Platinum Priority Club member and on check-in I was not offered water, was not given internet access info with the 2 key codes required at this facility. When I called down I was only given 1 of the 2 codes needed. I was not aware I needed 2 code numbers until I called tech support. I was finally able to get Internet Access but the delay could have been avoided. 2. The off-site parking procedure was not thoroughly explained. 3. My room keys were apparently not set and I could not get to my room when I returned after a long day of meetings and needed to access bathroom ASAP! Employee verified my key didn't work but did not replace my key. I did later get key replaced. 4. On check-out I requested assistance with my bags and I had to make the call twice. After a long wait person came with no cart and had to go back and get one. THIS WAS MY WORST EXPERIENCE WITH A HOTEL STAY! July 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location and New/Fresh Rooms Was very surprised - located in an old bank-style building in downtown Cleveland, walking distance to great areas - East 4th, Progressive; Rock n Roll HOF; West 6th. The rooms were obviously very new, and everything was above expectations. Only downside was the complimentary breakfast, ltd options and not very appetizing, didn't eat it. Lots of other food options in the area. Pkg was slightly inconvenient, but just adds an extra 10 mins to your check in. Would go back definitely. July 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Stayed for the Senior Games I have really enjoyed my stay at the Holiday Inn Express while here for the Senior Games. The hotel staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful. Everyone goes out of their way to say hello and ask if if they can be of service. I came in a day earlier than expected and had to be put in a more expensive room. I thought I would have to change to another room the next day, but they told me I could just stay and not have to move. That was excellent customer service. When my A.C. was not working correctly one night, it was corrected immediately. Any time I called the front desk, the staff took care of my request quickly. Location can't be beat. Bus line right in front of the hotel and w/in walking distance to the Rock 'n Roll Museum. July 24, 2013
<<prev 10 11 12 13 14 ... 18 next>>
Exterior Feature
Exterior Feature
Select to close.
Exterior Feature Our lights are always on for you at the Holiday Inn Independence Our attractive lobby welcomes you!
Select to close.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-01-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-02-2014)
Check Availability
Loading