• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-31-2014)
(e.g. Aug-01-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: CLEVELAND
  • Distance From Hotel: 8.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:12
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Polish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Hotel only allows service animals

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Cuyahoga Valley Scenic Railroad
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Cleveland Metroparks Zoo
Distance From Hotel:8.0MI
Attraction:
Cleveland Botanical Gardens
Distance From Hotel:11.0MI
Attraction:
Pro Football Hall of Fame
Distance From Hotel:35.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:750
  • Car Parking Available
  • complimentary open surface lot

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:364
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:206
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:158
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:328
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:12
  • Executive floors
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5

See Cleveland, Ohio with Hotel's Free Shuttle

Experience warm hospitality just outside the city at the Holiday Inn® Hotel Cleveland - S. Independence. The hotel's prime location in Independence, Ohio puts guests at the crossroads of I-77 and I-480 for easy access to the Cleveland Clinic, Lake Erie, Cleveland Browns Stadium and other exciting attractions in downtown Cleveland.

Nearby, our hotel's guests can hike or take the scenic railway through the gorgeous Cuyahoga Valley
View More

See Cleveland, Ohio with Hotel's Free Shuttle

Experience warm hospitality just outside the city at the Holiday Inn® Hotel Cleveland - S. Independence. The hotel's prime location in Independence, Ohio puts guests at the crossroads of I-77 and I-480 for easy access to the Cleveland Clinic, Lake Erie, Cleveland Browns Stadium and other exciting attractions in downtown Cleveland.

Nearby, our hotel's guests can hike or take the scenic railway through the gorgeous Cuyahoga Valley National Park. Visit downtown Cleveland to dine and dance in the Historic Warehouse District, tour the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and take in a hit show at PlayhouseSquare, the second-largest theatre complex in the country.

For your next meeting, take advantage of our well-appointed event space and top-notch catering. If you upgrade to an executive-level room, you'll enjoy key access to a lounge with a free continental breakfast, beer, wine and hors d'oeuvres. In addition, our free shuttle goes to Cleveland - Hopkins International Airport (CLE), Alcoa, Lubrizol and other corporations near our hotel's location.

Whether you're in Independence, Ohio for business or leisure, you'll love convenient amenities like free high-speed, wireless Internet access. You can unwind in the heated, indoor pool and sauna and dance to live music at the Impulse Lounge. If you're running late, grab coffee and a muffin at the Seattle's Best Kiosk in our lobby. Reserve your room today.

View Less
Features
It's hard to beat our strategic location just outside Cleveland, Ohio. This hotel's property is near the intersection of I-77 and I-480, minutes from downtown and Cleveland - Hopkins Airport (CLE).

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 499 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel I stayed here for a couple of nights in March and was very pleased with the hotel, staff and location. The room was great, very unique compared to standard hotel rooms. I slept more comfortably at the hotel than I do at home so no issues with noise, etc. the hotel is within walking distance to great restaurants and nightlife. Parking was easy, just turn right on past the hotel and it is the lot for 515 which is on the left hand side. If you bring your parking ticket to the front desk they can put the charge to your hotel room and then stamp your pass so you can have in/out access if needed. Staff at the front desk were extremely friendly and helpful. We did not eat breakfast at the hotel so I did not comment on that. The jacuzzi tub in the room was also great. March 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Rooms We stay in the Cleveland area several times a year for various events. This was the first time we have stayed at this hotel. We were very pleased with the room. Clean and comfortable with nice amenities. The location is within walking distance to many downtown area activities. Parking is at a ramp around the corner. Check in process was not real smooth - room was not ready, a long line of people checking in, and not enough people to handle. One of us had to circle the block in car as limited unloading spots were full and not clear as to what ramp to park in until explained at check in. After check in, no other issues. March 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by In the Center of Many Thyings We had a wonderful time in Cleveland and being able to stay in a great hotel that allowed us to walk to just about everything we wished to see was great. The hotel and its staff were excellent. We loved the refinished wood flooring and every staff member we met said good morning or good afternoon to us. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. March 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful rooms. We love this beautiful downtown hotel. Have stayed twice in the past 4 months. Will definitely stay again! The breakfast is a perk, too. Very tasty and fresh. Lots of choices. The check in staff is friendly and helpful. Parking garage is so convenient . March 15, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by This time, not so good We have stayed in your hotel a number of times with no complaints but this time there are a few. We checked into our room on the 9th floor. The room was clean but it looked worn. Our jacuzzi was old and some of the jets didnt work. The motor sounded like it was going to quit working at any moment. The floor was very noisy. Also, we had asked for a late checkout (1 pm). Nobody had informed the housekeeping dept so they knocked on our door twice. Then we felt rushed to leave. March 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Front Desk Attention is Great All Holiday Inn staff is very nice. BUT, for the first time I had the distinct pleasure of having someone perform the Gold Member Dance for me. Tiffany at the Cleveland Downtown performed her 10 second "shuffle" which made the day complete for me. I travel all over Ohio, Pennsylvania and New York and on that day she made my check in worthwhile. * Thank you for making my stay perfect. March 10, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Room nice, area depressed It was my first time in Cleveland, the hotel is okay, the area is depressed and at night there is really only one block that has restaurants. Parking is not convenient. I will be coming back to the area twice a year, but will not return here. March 7, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not that great an experience When I got there, the room was not ready. When it was ready, I went t the room and found tha it had not been readied for occupancy. They changed my room and I went to the desk and got a key. I was put next door. I moved to the adjacent and found that there was no tv remote. I was going to call the desk but the phone didn't work. I called the desk on my cell and they said that they would send maintenance up. They never did. I went back to the first room I was assigned (I still had the key). I took the TV remote and found that the phone was just unplugged. They still never sent anyone to fix it. Not very impressive. March 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel This hotel was a pleasant suprise. I loved the high ceilings and hardwood floors. More character than the usual ultra modern downtown hotels. The front desk staff was excellent. Great location March 6, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Saturday Night We booked a bigger suite for a reason. They said that check in was 4pm. I told them we might be early and requested early check in. They said no problem. We show up at 430pm and the room wasnt ready. If check in time was 4pm and we showed up at 430pm the room should have been ready. WE said we were going out and would be back later. We show up after a night of partying and the room was given away. Are you kidding me. That was a bunch of bull. I was already there once, not my fault the room wasnt ready. Had to settle for 2 smaller rooms. I wouldnt go back. March 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel My stay at the holiday inn express downtown was great. My girlfriend and I stayed there for one night and went to the Casino. It was a Great hotel and the staff was very helpful. The room was bigger than I had expected. The Beds were comfortable, and the parking was very close to the hotel. Overall I was very happy with my time spent there. February 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful Facility! Best kept secret in the chain. Old style beautiful facility with service to match. We won't stay anywhere else in the area having spent the night here. February 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by WE LOVED OUR STAY My wife and I stayed over a Sunday night after seeing a show, rather than drive 3 hours home. We had a large, clean room with a great view. The front desk was very polite and accomadating. Parking was not a big deal, liked mentioned in other reviews. It was only $12 to park overnight. We simply parked our car in the garage and walked over to the hotel with our pull behind bags. Checking in late Sunday made life much easier too, most likely. I do have to say that hard wood floors everywhere gave this hotel an unusual asset that I don't evr get to enjoy in all other Holiday Inns I stay. Our room was so unique, because of the flooring. We stayed on the 15th floor and that also made the stay special for us both. I plan to make a point to stay there again :) February 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Highly recommend this Holiday Inn We were greeted out front by a gentleman who loaded our bags and brought them to our room. We had a suite that slept 6 and this room was beautiful. High ceilings, hardwood floors, kitchenette, comfortable beds and CLEAN ! When we checked out the 2 women at the desk were so friendly and had the answers to our questions regarding the history of the building. I would highly recommend staying here and I will absolutely stay here next time I'm in Cleveland. Also this is located within walking distance to great restaurants and the House of Blues ! February 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Priority club? Upon check in they did not even recoginize that I was a prority club member and a Platinum at that. It would have been nice to have gotten a room upgrade. Also they now charge for parking? It is more than if I had paid my own? What is the use of getting validated if I am getting charge $2 more a day than direct with the lot? other than that this is a great property. February 8, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by HIE in Cleveland I love HIE but staying at the downtown on Euclid was not a good experience. Parking is off site somewhat which is not unexpected in a major city but there is very poor way to load and unload in the front. The building seems to house several business other than HIE so there is no dedicated person to police the loading zone. I had no luck at loading in front or unloading because the cars just stayed there. The day of my arrival, there was a work truck parked out front taking up two spaces. Obviously they were there to work on the hotel but with a minimum of loading space, it seemed like a poor place to eat up space. My room was fine but parking and loading need a redo. February 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place Checked in early on a Sunday & rooms weren't ready, but the staff told me were to go and wait because I didn't have a car and they would get my room ready and come get me. I had to wait about 20 mins and room was ready . Very pleased with effort, Room was as clean as any I stayed in before. Of all the Hotels I have stayed this is top of the list place, Spacious,view & location a 10,, January 29, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Tough Guy Security After a concert at the house of blues we may have been a little loud, but rather than call the room and ask us to quiet down a security guard comes to the room and right away gets aggresive and threatens to throw us out of our room. It was very unprofessional and disrespectful. A simple call from the front desk would have solved the problem. January 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by priority club gift I did not recieve the priority club platinum gift like I usually do. The woman next to me got one as she checked in. Unfortunately I was in a hurry as we had a surprise party starting so I did not say anything. January 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful room We had a wonderful time! The room was spacious and beautiful. The staff was very nice and helpful. We were surprised by the variety of breakfast items-it was absolutely delicious! The location was perfect for being able to walk to many different fun things to do downtown. January 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent staff and great room!! Wonderful room, but most importantly GREAT customer service!! The staff was very helpful in answering all of our questions and EVERY employee was SOOO FRIENDLY!! From the gentlemen that checked us in, to the man in the elevator taking towels to someones room, to Jeannette in the kitchen area working hard to keep everything full and clean, to the lady cleaning in the morning, to the lady that checked us out. I have never stayed at a hotel that EVERY employee was friendly, smiling and enjoying their job!! We will DEFINATELY visit this hotel again and I have already told friends and coworkers what a great place to stay if they need a hotel in Cleveland!! January 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wow I was really impressed with size of the rooms. I love the high ceilings. The staff were very friendly and extremely nice and courteous. January 25, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful buildings and room but poor service The receptionist at the front desk had an attitude when I checked in. I did not have my AAA card on me, and I asked her if she can look my number up online with my name and address. I even said that it's fine to not give me the AAA discount -- she gave me the discount but was curt to me and told me off for not having my card; I would have prefered she not give me the discount and just be pleasant. The next morning, although I had the do not disturb sign outside cleaning staff kept trying to get in the room from 1030 - 1100. I understand they want to get the rooms clean, but both incidences lead me to believe staff at this facility do not really care about the guest experience. On the plus side, the building has been beautifully restored and the rooms are wonderful. January 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Great service Affordable, great location, good price. Went for a getaway night and enjoyed the hotel immensely. The staff was fantastic. January 8, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Overall, great experience I was mostly impressed with newly renovated rooms. Wish I could add a picture. Truly gives the Downtown Cleveland loft apartment feel. January 6, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and lots of space This is one of the more unusual HI Express properties I've stayed in. I loved the hard wood floors, spacious rooms, and comfortable beds. Even the bathrooms were a good size. The large windows let in plenty of light during the day. The elevators were a little small and the hallways were devoid of any decor and could use some carpet or something to dampen the noise of other people coming and going. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful with parking validation and WiFi access issues. The location is great - being within walking distance of a number of really good restaurants and bars. January 3, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointing experience, but final room was nice. We paid upfront (advanced booking rate) for a 6 person non-smoking suite. We all arrived together and were warmly greeted by the front desk attendant. The 'lobby' was unique and appreciated. When we got off the elevator, the hallway reeked of smoke. We got into our suite and confirmed it was a smoking room. We called down to the front desk with our issue and was informed that our non-smoking room was out-of-order. #So did they give us a smoking room thinking we wouldn't notice?# Obviously we were not able to stay in the smoking room. They provided another room with two beds and a $40 discount and they would bring in a rollaway bed. We went to that room and it was not a suite. When I asked if the $40 was off of that room price, she said no it was off of the suite price... making it more than I would have paid for advance purchase price on that room!? After asking for two non-smoking rooms to make sure my guests were comfortable and each had real beds she explained that she would have to charge me an additional amount. That was not happening!! At this point I had spent a good hour with 5 hungry adults staring at me on the phone with them. I was totally embarrassed and extremely disappointed, it seemed like they tried to 'trick' us twice! Finally the mgr approved us to have a King suite and an extra room for the price we paid. This was nice but it was too little too late. They offered NOTHING for our time and inconvenience of moving our luggage three different times. Final room was on the 14th floor which actually had a view that I had read about. Loved the vaulted ceilings and big rooms. December 28, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Chandra Golla Good hotel to stay but there are few things that hotel to improve... Room is really specious and I love it but at the same time, the room service was not good. Out of my 2 weeks stay there were couple of time, I really need to call them and ask for service (it was due for 2 days and third I called and asked for it) Room is not cleaned at all within that 14 nights, which was embarrassing... There is popcorn available in the evening but was never told. I would recommend this hold for someone who is proactive December 21, 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by smells like sulfur, thermostat stopped working Hotel location and appearance was inviting but hotel needs a little more attention. I went up to my first room, 1003, changed clothes and cranked up the heat since thermostat read 68 and it was ice cold with the hardwood floors. I then left my room to have dinner and come back to an even colder room. The thermostat now read 65 and was blinking. I called front desk and after 5 minutes they called back telling me they shouldn't have put me in the room because they have been having issues. Out of courtesy she did offer me a suite on 12th floor and discounted my stay. I accepted with no other choice but had to pack everything back up, which was a task at 9:30-10pm. The only benefit the suite had over the standard room was a jacuzzi tub that was improperly installed. The jacuzzi jets were so dirty brown in color that i could not force myself to try it out. These must be cleaned!! I woke up at 4am and could not go back to sleep due to the awkward stinch of sulfur/rotten eggs. This smell carried throughout the entire hotel. The hardwood floors are not clean, my white socks proved this. My rate was discounted due to the thermostat issue but in result of discounting my room rate i was not given the amount of points i would've gotten under the normal rate. I feel i should've atleast received the points i would've received for paying in full. Paying to park around the corner is a major downfall as well, HI Express should accomodate this. December 20, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Getaway in Cleveland. Went to Cleveland for a getaway to see the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, some sporting events and a little gambling. Everything is in walking distance so a car is irrelevant. Location-Location- Location. Price of the suite was very good and I appreciate Tami and Autumn for adding on the extra day without changing rooms although I had to make a new reservation. The process was still very painless due to their help. it was nice dealing with locals versus the 800 service. The suite was huge. The bed and pillows were A plus. I might add a microwave to the suite but a refrigerator and coffee pot were included. Breakfast was beyond the typical although I am a yogurt and fruit guy. There was eggs and bacon. Definitely would book this property again if I had business or pleasure in downtown Cleveland. December 19, 2012
<<prev 14 15 16 17 18 next>>
Exterior Feature
Exterior Feature
Select to close.
Exterior Feature Our lights are always on for you at the Holiday Inn Independence Our attractive lobby welcomes you!
Select to close.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-31-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-01-2014)
Check Availability
Loading