Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-03-2014)
(e.g. Sep-04-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 63 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Overall good service and hotel the Air conditioning in my room was horrible! it was always cold and took a lot of time for the room to heat. not to mention it was very noisy! the staff were very nice, and the service was excellent. July 23, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Room with food debries of previous guest and poor lunch options As platinum member I was offered an upgrade to a suite. Unfortunately the window of this room faced the street and could not be closed properly making the room quite noisy. The general setup of this suite is not practical for a person traveling alone. Once I requested a down grade to a standard room I felt better. During my second night I decided to watch TV on the sofa. In order to have a better view I moved it towards the bed. What a surprise !!!!! Bellow the sofa some Barbeque bones were left over from a previous guest. I was shocked, and called the manager on duty. In all the hundreds of nights that I spend in hotel rooms every year this has never happened to me. For two days I tried to have lunch around 2pm at the hotel. The restaurant was closed and I was refered to either the bar (sandwiches only) or to have room service, quite anoying. I ended up having lunch at the Radisson hotel accross the street were I was very welcomed and had an excellent lunch. July 20, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Bad one week, nice the week after My first week was quite bad (awful staff, issues in the rooms, wrong bill, pressing late, diner delayed, ...) ; but the second was better and nearly nice. Pros : • Good and tidy rooms, very restful beds. The executive suite is good but at the end of the corridor. • Restaurant for dinner ok. And small TV near tables in the restaurant is a nice idea ! • Real high-speed access Wi-Fi in the lounge and in the rooms. • Good fitness center (but somehow small). • Good location (on Rivonia Road) • Nice and complete breakfast. Cons : • First week, probably the worse welcome I ever had: desk unfriendly and incompetent, room service staff do not even know what a smile and courtesy is, platinium membership not rewarded (no newspaper in morning, no valet, no voucher for drink, no room upgrade...) • Very slow service for dinner (the staff prefers setting table for breakfast than attending clients … and I was the only one left !) • If you want to use the parking, either you pay cash at each exit, or you have to stamp at the desk your parking ticket EACH time you go out. Amazing … • Bookings are handled quite strange: you pay 1 night before arrival, the rest of the nights when you arrive, but you have the bill at the end of the stay (in other words you pay without being able to check your bill). And of course mine had a mistake. • Hoovering at 10 p.m. seems normal to housekeepers who were also chatting just near my door. Nice ... July 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good value, good location, great concierge! Room was clean and quiet, location was good, food was good (though service is sometimes slow if you go in with a large group). Concierge was great - organized several tours, and the guides, who are provided by the hotel, were excellent! July 8, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Shower and Restaurant This hotel needs to look at installing shower curtains is the bath tub and for God's sake dinner ought not take that long (45 minutes to 1 hour) to be served in the Restaurant in the evenings! June 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A wonderful experience at the Sandton Holiday Inn Before traveling to South Africa from the United States I was searching for a nice hotel to stay in for 2 weeks that would provide all the comforts of home. After researching several hotels in the area and reading their reviews I was still not sure if I could get that warm and fuzzy feeling that I was looking for. After talking with a friend that had stayed at the Holiday Inn Sandton she convinced me to try it. After my 2 week stay I would highly recommend staying at the Sandton Holiday Inn on Rivonia Road. Although the hotel rating is 3.5 stars my overall experience was 5 stars and the customer service was beyond my expectations. I am a businessman from the United States that travels to South Africa at least 3 times per year. I am happy to say that have just found home away from home. June 9, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not a platinum member friendly hotel This is the worst hotel for the platinum member. You will not enjoy benefits offered elsewhere. The executive lounge and gym are poorly constructed. The daily bottled water could come with open cap. It took 2 days to recover the missing laundry clothes without an apology. Your expectation can’t be high if you choose this hotel. May 19, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Platinum service? Overall the hotel was fine but some promises made for Platinum members were a little disingenuous. The promise of 'valet of one item of clothing' turned out to be the ironing of a shirt - not quite what I expected as valet of laundry item. Newspapers were available to all guests so this was no additional benefit to Platinum members. I didn't get an upgrade to my room nor even any offer or explanation (this aspect of Platinum service is very vague - so many hotels don't bother mentioning it especially if you stay more than one night). The restaurant menu is very limited. The way the tiling had been done in my shower area meant the water never drained and so there was a slightly unpleasant smell in the bathroom because of stale water. On the positive side, breakfast was good, some of the staff were very helpful (get a shoe shine - the lad who does it is very helpful) and the hotel is in a pleasant area. the gym is truly mini but has a god range of equipment for its size. April 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service Had a good break, staff very friendly and helpful. Our room was very comfortable, would stay there again. April 12, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff, poor maintenance Spent 3 weeks in the hotel due buisness in Juburg. Good place for one night air crew, not so much for long accomodation. The staff are awesome, very polite and quick to assist. Room is ok in overall, however broken kettle on/off switch, refrigerator wasn't working, and bath drain problem which was partially resolved. Door lock didn't identify the key, so it needed re encoding almost on a daily basis. Worst internet connection ever, and i have seen my share of hotels. Great staff, ok food, poor maintenance. If I had to stay on Juburg on my own expense, Holiday Inn Sandton would not be on my list. April 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 19 days away in South Africa As a South African now living in Washington DC, I have been traveling back to SA on business since October 2007 - I "always" stay at this facility I can honestly not fault a single aspect - an addition to their overall facilities could be an elliptical trainer, but frankly space is a challenge and its not short of work out equipment to suit most needs Friendly, helpful, accommodating are all comments that suit the staff, management and overall ambience 11 out of 10 folks - thanks very much April 10, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by enormous progress I am a regular visitor of Johannesburg (for business) and usually stay in the HI-hotels. More than a year ago I decided to stay away if the quality wouldn't be raised. I also went twice to other hotels in Sandton. Now I came back. I can say now that the change has happened and it exceeds my expectations. Congratulations to the chain, the management, the staff or whoever realized this metamorphosis. Now it is good stayin gin this hotel and I will for sure continue going there. March 21, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor hotel Had a poor experience at this hotel. Stayed in a business class room, I reported the air condition was not working properly. They sent maintenance to fix it on two occasions but still could not figure it out. The laundry service was just poor! Overall, I will not recommend this hotel. March 6, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Accomodation Poor We stayed two nights separately. The first night we had no bath towels, only one coffee cup and the TV didnt work. When I complained the next morning regarding the room I was given an apology but no compensation for the problems, considering I was returning in 2 days for the second night I found this very disappointing. In addition I wasnt recognised as a priority club member on the first night. The second night was better as I was recognised as a priority club member, but, the bed was missing a fitted sheet it only had a flat sheet very un hygenic. We had breakfast in the dining room at 10am within the breakfast time guidelines only to find staff too busy to serve us as they were setting up for lunch. The food wasnt great and many of the servery sections had no food, for example no fruit nor bowls. I would expect if we arrive within the breakfast timeline then all serveries should be well stocked and staff should be on hand to serve us. A very disappointing experience indeed. I am travelling to England in April and need to book accomodation in London for a couple of nights and I will not be looking at Holiday Inn as an accomodation option. March 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Home away from Home Always a great stay and awesome teams - first name basis January 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service as usual Stop here multiple times in a year, always great staff, breakfast is good value or I often have a coffe and bun in bar. 9th floor bar great views, but never that busy. Recent refurbishment of fitness centre welcome. Look forward to next visit. Sparkling wine as a platinum member on arrival a nice touch. December 22, 2012
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worst experience ever at any IHG hotel I made the booking as platinum member for 2 nights, through the prioriy club website. - Hotel cancelled booking without notice (I found out by accident and had the booking re-instated) - A arrival (early check-in) requested room was not available (which can happen - After 1 night, I was informed that I was already checked out... - Room service took more than 1 hour (food delivered to wring room initially) - When checking out after 2 nights, 2 bills were presented to me - And last but not least (probably because the admin mess created by the hotel staff), no priority club points were awarded for this stay (booking through the PC website a full rates should result in points...) In general my experience with this hotel is quite OK (I have stayed here more than 5 times of the last 18 months), but this was absolutely pathetic. December 17, 2012
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Platinum priority for what?? Location great. Staff not helpful and/or not very knowledgeable. Could not even provide driving directions to airport. Obviously, hotel was focused on financials first and customers second. Very cheap!!! December 11, 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Average services. There was no priority given for check in. No preference was given over other guests at reception. I stayed in Holiday Inn as it was booked by my colleagues. the hotel does have seprate section for priority member but it is not utilised. There is no staff to welcome/ take care. Overall No actractiveness for being a member of the priority club. December 9, 2012
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by A great disappointment for the Holiday Inn Brand Key issues with this hotel: - staff lack a customer service attitude on the main desk with no empathy to guest needs, no apologies for problems or poor service - poor internet facilities, requiring continual requesting of passwords - key cards repeatedly fail in doors, often requiring a reset - terrible menu choice and poor quality food relative to other hotels and local restaurants, items on the menu repeatedly not available - smell of corridor paint was overwhelming in first room, broken kettle - moved to king size room that had a perpetual smell of stale smoke (despite being non-smoking room), broken, drafty window However... - concierge always very friendly and quick to get taxis - breakfast duty manager very friendly and bent over backwards to make amends My work colleagues staying at the hotel this week have all vowed never to return. As a platinum member I will return on last resort only, and/or Holiday Inn make significant amends November 28, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location Good location to Sandton and Mandela Square. Hotel very nice. It was our second stay there from the U.K. Rooms very clean and spacious. Reception staff very efficient, professional and friendly. Unfortunately the same could not be said for the bar staff who were not in too much of a hurry to serve you or be pleasant. One issue was that the business centre computers were all out of order for three of the four days we were staying at the hotel because the lines had gone down and were still not fixed when we left which was very inconvenient. Did not use the restaurant as there are so many great restaurants around the Sandton area, especially to eat outside on nice warm nights. Would stay there again and would recommend. Reception and downstairs lounge area very nice. Apart from a complimentary newspaper to be collected from the reception area and a complimentary drink in their 9th floor cocktail bar there was too much recognition for Priority Club Members. November 11, 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by unpleasant experience As I checked in, the air conditioning in the room was erratic. I raised the issue and it took 5 days for it to be addressed. In the end I was moved to another room with gross stains on the carpet, overall very tired furniture, missing paper bin and other niceties. I used the laundry service twice and the second time my laundry came back late, with my underwear mixed with the one of another guest and black stains on a very expensive t-shirt which are impossible to remove. I saw staff in the breakfast room just brushing the crumbs off used plates rather than replacing them, dirty plates and cups on the table. Staff were unattentive and just going through the moves, not offering a quality service. Regarding the reception desk, my key was demagnetized and it took over 40 minutes to have it prepared again, with unhelpful staff that wouldn't find the reference to my room in the system. On a rainy day I asked to borrow an umbrella to find out that the hotel had run out. Is it something to expect in a Holiday Inn?? I am only going back there because there are no other hotels available on the booking system of my company. November 11, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable bed good prompt service overall it was okay like the serenity love the ambience except i wasnt well treated as a gold card priority member October 27, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Stay This Hotel is very well located just a few blocks from Nelson Mandela Square and Sandton City Shopping Center. The room is very confortable and big. There are coffee maker and hot water to prepare tea, coffee, hot chocolate. The brekfast is amazing and everyday they have fresh and just baked muffins!!!!! October 5, 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by From ‘Average’ to ‘Poor’ This is my second review of this hotel and I have to report that things are not much better. I was provided with an Executive Suite on the 6th floor, but there was not much “executive” about it. As I mentioned in a previous review of this hotel, it appears that the housekeeping staff do not actively note or report defects. During this particular visit, as soon as I turned on the shower, there was more water gushing down the handle of the shower head than actually coming out the shower head. Being somewhat of a handyman, I unscrewed the assembly and attempted to reset the culprit ‘O’ ring. While this reduced the leak to more of a steady trickle, the shower head is very obviously in need of some repair. Having solved the leaking shower, I proceeded to enjoy a relaxing hot shower following a long, 14-hour work day. I soon realised however that the shower stall was becoming a bath as the partially blocked drain appeared unable to cope with draining the shower water. After about 10 minutes I had to turn the taps off to prevent the inevitable flooding of the bathroom floor. With a late afternoon checkout, my routine includes ordering a light meal from Room Service, followed by a short nap. The search for a Room Service menu proved fruitless and there was no hotel directory available in the room either. A call to front desk resulted in having the publication delivered to my room. While unhooking the security chain to open my door, I noted that the chain’s anchor point was suspended by a single screw which was barely holding the chain. So much for security. The final straw was when I asked the front desk for a feedback for to report the room defects. The staff first tried to avoid the question, then mumbled something about airline staff not being eligible to fill one out (!). I gave up and resolved to write a full report here and on TripAdvisor. In all, another disappointing stay. My last review mentioned bathroom drainage problems and it looks as though this hotel has yet to sort them out. Perhaps hiring a new plumber is in order? I also believe that the housekeeping staff are either not empowered or not diligent enough in checking the room’s furnishing and equipment to ensure that they are maintained to a high standard. I can understand not realising that the shower plumbing might require maintenance, but surely the security chain dangling by one screw should have been noticed and reported? But the missing directory/room-service menu and lack of response to my request for a feedback form appear to be indicative of a customer service that – well – that isn’t. September 29, 2012
<<prev 2 3