Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Nov-24-2014)
(e.g. Nov-25-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 81 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay when visiting Johannesburg I visited Johannesburg (for the first time) on business and I was concerned about the safety reviews I had read about the place. Sandton (apparently) is extremely safe and while in the hotel, you feel completely safe. Not only that, the service is fantastic and the hotel itself is one of the better Holiday Inns I have stayed in outside of Asia. If travelling to J'burg and a safe and pleasant hotel with excellent service is what you are after, then this is the hotel for you. June 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great and lovely reception Excellent check-inn rooms very clean and comfortable the Wi -fi very great....had a lovlely stay and thnx to a warm warm reception by Nandi and the IHG Loyaty check-inn was well executed....... May 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall Service Excellent location and very close to the Nelson Mandela Square. Kudos to Outstanding services received from a FANTASTIC Staff. I would highly recommend this hotel because it was my first visit to Johannesburg, South Africa! March 19, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by A comedy of errors that wasn't funny The management of this hotel aspire to provide a level of service greater than would normally be expected by a Holiday Inn but although the desire is there, the staff are not sufficiently competent to meet those aspirations. When we first arrived, despite our booking the hotel several weeks in advance, being a Platinum Ambassador and considering that check-in time was 2pm, we were told that our room wasn't ready, so we were offered a temporary room until ours became available. Unfortunately, when we went to the room, other guest's luggage was still there. When I called down to reception to inform them of this, they offered to move us to a different room, which they did. Frustratingly, the room card/keys wouldn't open the door. I went down to the front desk 3 times to have my cards re-keyed before a manager accompanied me back up to the room. When he tried my card/keys, neither of them would open the lock, so he used his master card/key to open the door. He explained that the lock needed to be re-programmed to accept my card/keys. Not wanting to have to wait for maintenance to re-program the lock, I asked for another room, at which time we were given (room 842). I tried to plug my CPAP breathing machine into the outlet near the bed and even though I had the correct adapter for the regular sized S.A. sockets, this socket was smaller than the norm in South Africa. My roommate went down to the reception desk to report this and they argued with her as to whether or not the power receptacles beside the bed were smaller than standard for the country. Eventually, maintenance came up and verified this to be true, eventually coming up with an interesting solution to the problem (cutting off the plug & a section of the lamp wiring to attach to my N.A. CPAP plug). By this time, it was well after 7pm( over 5 hours after our supposed check-in time) and we had missed going out to dinner with our friends. The next morning, we went down to the VIP lounge and my roommate went to make herself a cafe' au lait However, the lounge Hostess was more interested in ensuring that my roommate had a VIP lounge pass than she was in making the coffee for her. I went back up to the reception desk to obtain a second lounge pass for my roommate and when I took it down to show the hostess, she showed my roommate how to make herself a coffee. Unfortunately, in the process of making the coffee, my roommate didn't know how to turn off the milk steamer, so the machine wouldn't stop putting steamed milk in the cup, thereby causing it to overflow. The hostess was quick to clean this up. That evening, we met our friends (also Platinum Ambassadors) in the VIP lounge for a few drinks. As a result of the grief we had experienced so far during our stay we were given a cheese tray, compliments of the hotel On the third day of our stay, the carpet in the room at the foot of the bed was soaked with water, so I called down to reception to report this. They said that they would send maintenance up with a blower. Since a blower makes a lot of noise, I said that te would like to go to sleep & they may as well wait until 10am the next day to bring it up and start the process of drying out the carpet. We left the room about 11:00am to go shopping but the blower still had not arrived. When we returned from shopping about 5pm, the blower was there but not running (it turned out that when housekeeping came to clean the room, they removed the key from the socket in the wall, thereby turning off all power in the room, including the blower! As a result, the carpet was still soaking wet that afternoon. I reported this to reception & hey offered to move us to a different room but we decided that since we had already changed rooms so many times and finally had my CPAP wired into the wall, that we would try to stick it out for the duration of our stay. They sent maintenance up to review the situation & I explained how the power had been off in the room all day, so the carpet was still wet. That evening, we went down to the VP lounge to have some beer, only to find that the fridge had no beer in it. The lounge hostess asked if we wanted her to go to the bar to get us some beer. We said yes but when she returned, she wanted to charge us for the beer! We asked if beer wasn't free for Platinum Ambassadors and she said yes, as long as there was some in the fridge. However, if there was none in the fridge, we had to pay for it (and It turns out that they only stock the fridge ONCE a day!) The next morning, the carpet in our room was even wetter than it was the day before, so we called down to reception to request another room (the 4th of our short stay). This time they moved us to an executive (King) room (743) and this time they thoroughly inspected the room before they moved us in (by this time, we were well known throughout the hotel as the guests who had experienced so much trouble during our stay). When we moved into the room, they had a bottle of champagne waiting for us, plus a SINGLE VIP lounge pass (even though we already had TWO passes). From that point on,everything about our stay was finally normal, with really great food and service in the VIP lounge. Overall, the three people I would like to single out for outstanding service during our stay was Tebo at reception, Thambo in maintenance and Carolyn (but just barely) in the VIP lounge. March 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Dinner If you want to have a decent dinner this is not the right place. It took 1 hour to receive the food. It was so bad , i had to call Macdonalds and ask them to send me some food. March 4, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Standards are slipping I have stayed in this hotel a number of times but my experience this time left me completely underwhelmed. I booked an airport pick-up which never arrived. Upon check-in, I was given a room directly opposite a construction site , it felt like I was right in the middle of it. The noise was deafening. I demanded to be moved . I was eventually moved and I beleive it was only because I insisted. I am diabetic so I am careful about what I eat. I ordered the only food on the room service menu that I could and was given the wrong rice for the dish. When I complained they said they had run out of the particular rice I wanted even though that is the particular brand of rice that was meant for that dish which they admitted to. I was told it would be replaced with vegetables , I waited all night, no replacement came and I did not receive a call to inform me why. I went to bed hungry. Too tired and hungry to complain. As if that was not enough, I had arranged meetings with a few business partners the next day at the Executive club lounge as I am a priority Club member , my guest was harassed by the staff and told he could not wait there and he would have to pay, when I arrived I was immediately confronted by the staff who asked me to produce my card and then promptly told me that I would have to pay for my guest's coffee. It was embarrassing and disgusting. I have never been treated so poorly ever. In the past I met my guests in the executive lounge which is the whole point so one can have business meetings in confidence without having to sit in the main lobby. I am seriously considering changing hotels . Very very poor showing , distinctly unimpressed. February 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Experience From the time we stepped into the front door until we checked out, we experienced friendly and efficient staff, clean and tidy facilities and just and overall stunning vibe. We as South Africans have become so use to poor customer service that when we do experience the good service we actually pay for we look at it at as a bonus. This is definitely not the case at Holiday Inn Sandton, they strive to impress and give yo a value for your money. I will be back and recommend them highly! February 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great front desk service. Check-in and check-out was hassle free. The front desk service was excellent. We were greeted and arrangements were quickly made inspite of our arrival before 12noon. Location wise - it's a 15mins walk to Mandela Square but easy accessible to main highways. The room was furnised with simplicity and offered free Wi-Fi which is a definate plus for us. Towels were short but was quickly replenished the next day. Overall, we enjoyed our stay at this hotel and was value for money! January 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel and a great location I booked this hotel as my regular hotel was fully booked and I was pleasantly surprised in that the staff were exceptionally friendly which I do rate as one of my main criteria when reviewing a hotel. It makes all the difference to your stay when the staff are amazing. My room was also upgraded and what a spacious and lovely room it was and very comfortable. The only unfortunate thing during my stay was the electricity went off which is not the hotel's problem however it took a log while to put the alarm off which I think should have been handled sooner and no-one seemed to take control of the situation. A small thing maybe but it could have been a bigger problem if there was a real emergency. The stay was however fantastic and I can highly recommend this hotel and the location is also very central. January 1, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Location & Accessible to GauTrain The staff was friendly and offered us Lounge Access however the choices are limited for the lounge with no complimentary drinks or food during our stay due to "an event". I would recommend this property as they offer a shuttle service between the GauTrain station and the Hotel and it's a five minute walk to the Mandela Square where there are many shops and affordable dining options. It's in a relatively safe area of Johannesburg for tourists. December 3, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by poor service and awful food Chose the buffet dinner. Waited 10mins for a bottle of water. Plenty of people asked how I was but no interest in service. The food was poor, with more bones than meat. No more feather pillows at a hotel chain that used to offer a pillow menu. The lady making the omelette at breakfast was very cheerful and made great food. The only highlight of the stay. October 7, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by POOR SERVICE Front Desk staff at HI Sandton in dire need of customer relations skills. Housekeeping poor, NO handsoap in the rooms - NO tissues September 10, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Overall good experience I stayed at the hotel for 5 nights and it was a positive experience. The rooms are nice and spacious. Very nice bathrooms. The gym is a bit small, however has all the basic things. Nice rooftop bar. Attentive staff. Nice location, walking distance to the Nelson Mandela Square. For me the only "deal breaker" was the internet. Although it was included in the rate it was very very very very slow. Sometimes even had troubles opening normal sites (news papers, weather, facebook). Download relatively big attachments (3mb) almost impossible. September 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Payment confusion I booked for a night redeeming my points but your front desk made me pay the full amount. I called the global reservation number and they confirmed that points were taken for my stay at your hotel. I will appreciate it if a refund is done to my credit card please. I always enjoy my stay at holiday inn hotels. August 27, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good experience good location, well trained and profeesional staff, beds were awesome and overall experince was 9/10. August 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by GOOD STAY Good Hotel at a very good location. Nice clean rooms, good service for a comfortable stay. Recommended for the business traveler Missing some recognition for a platinum member. Lounge can be better but all in all a very good HI property. August 19, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Best holiday inn experience This must beone of the best holiday inn we have ever stayed at. Extremely helpfully staff and Excelent location. August 18, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by My stay at Holiday Inn Fantastic place indeed.had a nice time! The staff were observed to be very dedicated and friendly.rooms very neat.however noted that the AC and heater in my room 809 was not properly working. August 4, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Overall good service and hotel the Air conditioning in my room was horrible! it was always cold and took a lot of time for the room to heat. not to mention it was very noisy! the staff were very nice, and the service was excellent. July 23, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Room with food debries of previous guest and poor lunch options As platinum member I was offered an upgrade to a suite. Unfortunately the window of this room faced the street and could not be closed properly making the room quite noisy. The general setup of this suite is not practical for a person traveling alone. Once I requested a down grade to a standard room I felt better. During my second night I decided to watch TV on the sofa. In order to have a better view I moved it towards the bed. What a surprise !!!!! Bellow the sofa some Barbeque bones were left over from a previous guest. I was shocked, and called the manager on duty. In all the hundreds of nights that I spend in hotel rooms every year this has never happened to me. For two days I tried to have lunch around 2pm at the hotel. The restaurant was closed and I was refered to either the bar (sandwiches only) or to have room service, quite anoying. I ended up having lunch at the Radisson hotel accross the street were I was very welcomed and had an excellent lunch. July 20, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Bad one week, nice the week after My first week was quite bad (awful staff, issues in the rooms, wrong bill, pressing late, diner delayed, ...) ; but the second was better and nearly nice. Pros : • Good and tidy rooms, very restful beds. The executive suite is good but at the end of the corridor. • Restaurant for dinner ok. And small TV near tables in the restaurant is a nice idea ! • Real high-speed access Wi-Fi in the lounge and in the rooms. • Good fitness center (but somehow small). • Good location (on Rivonia Road) • Nice and complete breakfast. Cons : • First week, probably the worse welcome I ever had: desk unfriendly and incompetent, room service staff do not even know what a smile and courtesy is, platinium membership not rewarded (no newspaper in morning, no valet, no voucher for drink, no room upgrade...) • Very slow service for dinner (the staff prefers setting table for breakfast than attending clients … and I was the only one left !) • If you want to use the parking, either you pay cash at each exit, or you have to stamp at the desk your parking ticket EACH time you go out. Amazing … • Bookings are handled quite strange: you pay 1 night before arrival, the rest of the nights when you arrive, but you have the bill at the end of the stay (in other words you pay without being able to check your bill). And of course mine had a mistake. • Hoovering at 10 p.m. seems normal to housekeepers who were also chatting just near my door. Nice ... July 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good value, good location, great concierge! Room was clean and quiet, location was good, food was good (though service is sometimes slow if you go in with a large group). Concierge was great - organized several tours, and the guides, who are provided by the hotel, were excellent! July 8, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Shower and Restaurant This hotel needs to look at installing shower curtains is the bath tub and for God's sake dinner ought not take that long (45 minutes to 1 hour) to be served in the Restaurant in the evenings! June 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A wonderful experience at the Sandton Holiday Inn Before traveling to South Africa from the United States I was searching for a nice hotel to stay in for 2 weeks that would provide all the comforts of home. After researching several hotels in the area and reading their reviews I was still not sure if I could get that warm and fuzzy feeling that I was looking for. After talking with a friend that had stayed at the Holiday Inn Sandton she convinced me to try it. After my 2 week stay I would highly recommend staying at the Sandton Holiday Inn on Rivonia Road. Although the hotel rating is 3.5 stars my overall experience was 5 stars and the customer service was beyond my expectations. I am a businessman from the United States that travels to South Africa at least 3 times per year. I am happy to say that have just found home away from home. June 9, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not a platinum member friendly hotel This is the worst hotel for the platinum member. You will not enjoy benefits offered elsewhere. The executive lounge and gym are poorly constructed. The daily bottled water could come with open cap. It took 2 days to recover the missing laundry clothes without an apology. Your expectation can’t be high if you choose this hotel. May 19, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Platinum service? Overall the hotel was fine but some promises made for Platinum members were a little disingenuous. The promise of 'valet of one item of clothing' turned out to be the ironing of a shirt - not quite what I expected as valet of laundry item. Newspapers were available to all guests so this was no additional benefit to Platinum members. I didn't get an upgrade to my room nor even any offer or explanation (this aspect of Platinum service is very vague - so many hotels don't bother mentioning it especially if you stay more than one night). The restaurant menu is very limited. The way the tiling had been done in my shower area meant the water never drained and so there was a slightly unpleasant smell in the bathroom because of stale water. On the positive side, breakfast was good, some of the staff were very helpful (get a shoe shine - the lad who does it is very helpful) and the hotel is in a pleasant area. the gym is truly mini but has a god range of equipment for its size. April 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service Had a good break, staff very friendly and helpful. Our room was very comfortable, would stay there again. April 12, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff, poor maintenance Spent 3 weeks in the hotel due buisness in Juburg. Good place for one night air crew, not so much for long accomodation. The staff are awesome, very polite and quick to assist. Room is ok in overall, however broken kettle on/off switch, refrigerator wasn't working, and bath drain problem which was partially resolved. Door lock didn't identify the key, so it needed re encoding almost on a daily basis. Worst internet connection ever, and i have seen my share of hotels. Great staff, ok food, poor maintenance. If I had to stay on Juburg on my own expense, Holiday Inn Sandton would not be on my list. April 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 19 days away in South Africa As a South African now living in Washington DC, I have been traveling back to SA on business since October 2007 - I "always" stay at this facility I can honestly not fault a single aspect - an addition to their overall facilities could be an elliptical trainer, but frankly space is a challenge and its not short of work out equipment to suit most needs Friendly, helpful, accommodating are all comments that suit the staff, management and overall ambience 11 out of 10 folks - thanks very much April 10, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by enormous progress I am a regular visitor of Johannesburg (for business) and usually stay in the HI-hotels. More than a year ago I decided to stay away if the quality wouldn't be raised. I also went twice to other hotels in Sandton. Now I came back. I can say now that the change has happened and it exceeds my expectations. Congratulations to the chain, the management, the staff or whoever realized this metamorphosis. Now it is good stayin gin this hotel and I will for sure continue going there. March 21, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 next>>