• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Nov-27-2014)
(e.g. Nov-28-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: SUBURBAN OTTAWA
  • Distance From Hotel: 15.0KM
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:2
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. French
  4. Polish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets are not accepted. However, we can recommend an appropriate comfortable local kennel service.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Kanata Centrum Shopping & Entertainment District
Distance From Hotel:0.5KM
Attraction:
Landmark Cinemas
Distance From Hotel:1.0KM
Attraction:
Bell SENSplex
Distance From Hotel:3.0KM
Attraction:
Canadian Tire Centre - NHL & Concerts
Distance From Hotel:3.0KM

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:152
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary onsite parking, and overflow parking lot ideal for buses & campers. Parking lot is lit.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:152
  • Total number of suites:91
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:111
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:47
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:152
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:2
  • Executive floors
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:9

Guests loves the hotel's proximity to Canadian Tire Centre and Tanger Outlets

We invite you to stay and experience our newly refreshed hotel! You will see and feel the difference at Holiday Inn® & Suites Ottawa Kanata from the moment you arrive. As you step inside our lobby you'll notice stylish touches, our signature sound and scent, and an efficient and friendly check in from our Guest Experience team, inspired to extend to you a warm reception.

Our hotel is only minutes from
View More

Guests loves the hotel's proximity to Canadian Tire Centre and Tanger Outlets

We invite you to stay and experience our newly refreshed hotel! You will see and feel the difference at Holiday Inn® & Suites Ottawa Kanata from the moment you arrive. As you step inside our lobby you'll notice stylish touches, our signature sound and scent, and an efficient and friendly check in from our Guest Experience team, inspired to extend to you a warm reception.

Our hotel is only minutes from Canadian Tire Centre, home to the NHL Ottawa Senators Hockey Club as well as world class concerts & events, the Bell SENSplex, and right next door to the Kanata Centrum Retail & Entertainment District featuring over 50 exciting shops and restaurants.

Enjoy movies at Landmark Cinemas, swimming at the Kanata Wave Pool, skiing at Mount Pakenham and Calabogie Peaks, and skating on the Rideau Canal, the longest skating rink in the world.

With immediate easy access from Highway 417, we are just a short 20 minutes drive to downtown Ottawa, centrally located in the heart of Kanata, within minutes of major High Tech Business Parks, and government offices including Department of National Defence (DND).

View Less
Features
Book Our Special Offer and Save up to 9%! With immediate access to Hwy 417 and within walking distance of over 50 shops and restaurants in the Kanata Centrum Retail and Entertainment District; Holiday Inn and Suites Kanata is the best place to meet in Ottawa’s West End.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 172 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel This location is in great proximity to all of the great sights and attractions in Ottawa. While the parking garage and one elevator was under construction, they didn't have any effect on our stay. Unfortunately, upon check out, I learned the hotel is closing at some point. Disappointing because we would have definitely stayed there again. July 7, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Room, Bad Experience the room was very nice, the bed, another story, way to soft, could feel things when laying on the bed. Not a good nights sleep and was there for 2 nights. the sofa, again way to soft, could hardly get up after sitting in it. the room if you didn't sleep in the bed was very nice, the staff in the hotel were EXCELLENT, very helpful but again they didn't sleep in the room or sit in the ofa. July 3, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Old, under heavy maintenance I choose this hotel to be able to get some rewards points as an IHG member, the hotel is horrible and old, there isn't a decent breakfast, the elevators takes ages to show up and internet is very slow. Apart of all the sacrifice i had to stay in this hotel, when i discover that i did not get single point for my stay this was really the end point. Never again, i highly recommend not to stay there, other others i visited in Ottawa are much better and with better price. I want my IHG point credited in my account....... July 3, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Tired building, scary elevators The building is tired, cramped lobby, and scary elevators. When they do arrive, the doors open before the cage has stopped. They drop like a stone, when the brakes are released. More like a ride at kiddies world than an elevator. Staff were polite, friendly and helpful. No notification the parking building was under construction, but the parking was cheap, two blocks away under city hall. June 30, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Old, under heavy maintenance I choose this hotel to be able to get some rewards points as an IHG member, the hotel is horrible and old, there isn't a decent breakfast, the elevators takes ages to show up. Apart of all the sacrifice i had to stay in this hotel, when i discover that i did not get single point for my stay this was really the end point. Never again, i highly recommend not to stay there, other others i visited in Ottawa are much better and with better price. June 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Cooper St. Great staff and location. Very convenient to Elgin St. and Byward market. I always stay here when I need a hotel in Ottawa. June 28, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by uncomfortable bed but friendly staff This hotel is clean with friendly staff, but the bed was very uncomfortable - basically like sleeping in a bowl. The room also lacked amenities like a bar fridge. June 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by to bad it will close this is a great hotel in a great location. to bad it will not be a holiday inn any more. the staff at this hotel is first class, even with the parking garage work they got me indoor parking and a excellent rate and very close to the hotel. I hope this staff has the opportunity to stay with holiday inn. June 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The home away from home Always a pleasure to come to this hotel. They treat me excellent every time I show up. It makes me feel like I am sleeping at home. I am very disappointed to find out that they are closing leaving no holiday inn express suites downtown This is a tactical error June 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great room and great bed Everything about our stay was great except that the parking was still not in operation. That was a bit of a disappointment as the parking in Ottawa can be very challenging at times. We did get one ticket because of this. June 24, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Ask questions before booking As usual, comfortable clean room. Construction of parking - noisy!! Best customers get suites right at construction side !! When asked to move, told the hotel was fully booked (NOT the truth , as another member of the family called half hour prior to inquire about room availability and given lots of choices). Seems the staff unwilling to accomodate any requests, unwilling to anser simple questions, and plenty of attitude! Housekeeping enters rooms at will- 8am start- even though check out is at noon! Other than the clean, comfortable room (sometimes temperature is controlled by "hotel standards")(too cold...) staff was really ill tempered. The only "friendliness" came from restaurant/room service staff...maybe they should be at the front where it counts as well... June 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 fine hotel enjoyed our stay, short but good. Close to downtown area, June 20, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Parking Nightmare Based on the availability of parking I would refrain from recommending this hotel otherwise the hotel and staff were fantastic. June 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Short and Pleasant Stay I usually don't stay at the Holiday Inn but, based upon my last visit, I will endeavour to locate a Holiday Inn whenever I travel. June 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Most Relaxing room was very comfortable and the staff was very pleasant, received a room upgrade. would have no issue staying there again. June 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by bed was comfortable and knowlegeable staff The stay at the hotel was excellent. The view was excellent from our room. However was a little disappointed to find that the parking area was a mess however being rebuilt had to happen. Would have loved to return to this hotel, but found out that is being sold and turned into a student residence or something like that. June 12, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Uncomfortable stay - Dirty bathroom, dirty bed linen and elevator service very slow but breakfast server (Lorraine) excellent service. June 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Front desk service Attention to detail by front desk staff during checkin was superb! Thank you for the wonderful skillful check in and exceptional interaction. June 8, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Very poor stay Hotel arrival was terrible. Website not up to date. Renovations to elevators create long wait times. Staff not responsive to requests/complaints. No parking on site even though parking tab on website states limited parking available. Room was not clean. June 6, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by clean and well located hotel I like the location of the hotel as it is next to the Ottawa marathon starting line and good restaurants. We knew the garage was in construction and the elevator was very slow and one not functioning. As the price is high and services were missing - a credit would have been appropriate. June 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient Location Close to many restaurants in the area. Close to city hall. Walking distance to downtown tourist area, such as Parliament, Byward Market. June 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always a Pleasure to Stay here Whenever we are in Ottawa, we stay here. It is very conveniently located.....right in the thick of things, but on a quiet street. The staff are excellent! They go out of their way to make things right for guests. The room we had was a one bedroom suite with a full kitchen. It was nice having the extra space and the full size fridge. The beds are SOOO comfortable and there is lots of closet space. It was quiet and cozy and we enjoyed it all. We even invited friends into "our" apartment one night for drinks and snacks. The front desk personnel were the best.....particularly Shirley and Adam. Shirley went out of her way to help me retrieve some items that I had left behind and made sure they were sent back to me. Thanks you for a wonderful stay!! May 31, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Overall Experience The king size bed was comfortable and rooms were a nice size. The pullout couch which had to be used was not that comfortable but managed. The food in the restaurant was excellent and prices were comparable to other restaurants in the area. It is a good location for taking in the other sights in Ottawa. For the Ottawa race weekend the prices were fairly similar to other hotels, and had to book two nights even though just wanted to book one. this was also true for other hotels in the area. Overall I would certainly stay at this hotel again when visiting Ottawa. My grandchildren would have liked a pool and in room movies which would have certainly added to our enjoyment of our weekend in Ottawa. One elevator and the parking garage are being renovated so that should be a plus in the near future. May 29, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed this time We stayed for the second year in a row at this hotel Holiday Inn in Ottawa, for the Ottawa race weekend. This hotel has a perfect location, between the start and the finish lines for the races. Last year we were very happy with this hotel, but one year can make a big difference. The status of the hotel room had decreased. The kitchenette looked wornout. No fan in the bathroom. The sound in the TV disappeared intermittently. The elevators were being renovated so there were only two working ones, which was pretty annoying as there are 16 floors... And there was no possibility to have late checkout at 1 PM instead of noon, which was very disappointing and due to this I won't choose this hotel next year for the race weekend. This was the first time we were refused for a late checkout. It has worked for other hotels in Ottawa and other cities, especially when there is a major event in the city where most of the guests participate in. One positive thing this time was the cleaning lady, who nicely put my daughters soft animals in her bed. My daughter was very happy with that. And the staff in the restaurant were very nice. May 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Consistency matters Does not matter when I go there I. Never surprised by what I expect and what they deliver. A great room and amazing staff all the time. With being on the road so much this always feels like home. Keep up the great work CW May 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff Was a little irritated upon arrival that the parking garage was being repaired. Had to park at city hall which was not far but still somewhat inconvenient. Everything else about the experience more than made up for this. Excellent staff, especially in the restaurant. Thank-you very much. May 22, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Decidedly 'Meh' A bunch of friends booked this hotel together when we were in town for a wedding. Here was the gist of the hotel situation: PROS: *They were accommodating of our requests to have rooms together (or rather booked it that way since we all booked on one reservation). *The rooms were fine for the most part and the bed was comfortable. *They accommodated many of our requests for a late checkout. CONS: Important to note they are 'revitalizing' a lot currently, and they aren't doing it very well in terms of customer service. *Parking: it's $25 per day and the lot is under construction. No solutions were forthcoming so we parked elsewhere for cheaper. I recommend doing this. *Elevators: being revamped - only one worked in the 'down' direction, so we regularly had to wait 5 minutes for an elevator and the ride was terrifying. We took the stairs down from the 10th floor often, but if you had little kids it would be BRUTAL. Again, they didn't manage this situation at all - an apologetic note on the elevator was all. *The TVs cut out regularly - it sounded like shows were constantly being `bleeped` for language. *No fans in the washroom. I get why this isn't easily fixed, but it was an annoyance at least. *cleaning staff made the bed by pulling the sheets over it. Anything I left on the bed in the morning was found inside the sheets at the end of the day. The cons are all reasonable and maybe there would have been some kind of placating that happened if we'd all gotten angry while we were there, but it didn't seem worth the time. Any small gesture would have been nice - maybe complimentary breakfast while the hotel had so many things going on. Me, I will just go somewhere else next time. May 22, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Location and clean room Good choice for IHG member in downtown area, good location for shopping and nearby attaction, such as Byward Market and Parliment hill. Temporary parking in City Hall is good for weekend stay. May 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staying in the heart of Ottawa Holiday Inn Downtown is an ideal location to be so close to restaurants , shops, and sights within walking distance. It is also located on a quiet street that you have quiet evenings to relax and yet easy walking distance to Elgin Street where there are many restaurants. The service is excellent and staff are very helpful and caring. I have now stayed there for 2 years while on business once a month. Over these years, they have continued to improve the facilities by improving their wifi, renovating their underground parking that was needed, upgrading their elevators. While their breakfasts are good and reasonable, the dinner meals need improvement even though the menu has changed. With restaurants close by, people want to try different places to eat; but I do think there would be more people who will chose to eat at their restaurant if the foods was freshly prepared. It is difficult to prepare fresh when you don't know how many people will be eating for the evening. Overall, I would highly recommend Holiday Inn as my first choice to stay in while in Ottawa. May 19, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed this time Our usual destination when visiting Ottawa was very disappointing this time. Triviago booking had no mention of parking not being available due to the parking garage having been demolished at the same time the elevators are being upgraded and the hotel is functioning on 2 elevators. After unpacking on the 11th floor we had to move to the 4th floor due to our little hypo-allergenic dog. Pet friendly floors only to promise guests complete cleanliness. Why did our dog find so many beer bottle caps? Why did we find a dirty towel laying on the floor between the beds? Why were there long dark hairs in our towels and in our sink? Our dog is cleaner than most people. Guess guests aren't guaranteed the cleanest facilities on pet friendly floors. The usually comfortable beds left us stiff and sore, tossing & turning throughout the night. Having to park in the underground at City Hall was not "convenient and a short walk" for an elderly person who uses a cane. Did not appreciate the tone used by a staff member pointing that out to my elderly mother. May 15, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>
The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ottawa Kanata
The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ottawa Kanata
Select to close.
The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ottawa Kanata Your Experience Begins Here! Where First Impressions Start Bell SensPlex & High Tech Business Park are minutes away! Let our Guest Experience employees take care of you! Located only 6 minutes driving distance to Tanger Outlets Welcome!  We've Been Expecting You! Stay with us when attending an event at the Canadian Tire Centre
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Nov-27-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Nov-28-2014)
Check Availability
Loading