• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Apr-23-2014)
(e.g. Apr-24-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: ST. PAUL
  • Distance From Hotel: 5.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets are welcomed but must adhere to a signed policy statement. This statement includes a 50 pet fee. Extended stays will incure an additional fee. Pet must be kenneled and under 25 lbs.
Pet deposit amount  50.00    per stay

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:400
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary Parking is available overnight for any registered guests.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:99
  • Total number of suites:25
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:52
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:47
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:74
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
Our distinctive boutique hotel is conveniently located near the Lake Elmo intersection of I-94 and Radio Dr. We are only 20 minutes from the Minneapolis-St. Paul Airport and 5 miles east of downtown St. Paul. Our hotel is nearby all St. Paul has to offer from business campuses to shopping, museums, and dining in downtown St. Paul, Minnesota. Elegantly appointed rooms and suites are ideal for leisure vacations and business travel to St. Paul. We have over 6,000 square feet of meeting and event space
View More
Our distinctive boutique hotel is conveniently located near the Lake Elmo intersection of I-94 and Radio Dr. We are only 20 minutes from the Minneapolis-St. Paul Airport and 5 miles east of downtown St. Paul. Our hotel is nearby all St. Paul has to offer from business campuses to shopping, museums, and dining in downtown St. Paul, Minnesota. Elegantly appointed rooms and suites are ideal for leisure vacations and business travel to St. Paul. We have over 6,000 square feet of meeting and event space that accommodates wedding receptions, business meetings and family reunions in St. Paul. Spacious suites are perfect for families and groups, and with dining at the award winning Machine Shed next door, a fitness center, and indoor pool, this is the ideal choice for complete rest and relaxation. Each guestroom is allowed to have up to 4 additional guests in the pool area.
View Less
Features
Our hotel features a 6500 square foot atrium pool area with a large pool, spa, and game rooms available until 11:00pm. We also feature a 24-hour fitness center, with treadmills, elliptical machine, and stationary bike. We also offer free weights.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.5 out of 5 by 334 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Drafty windows. We enjoy staying in the river view rooms when visiting St. Paul and we have been in 3 or 4 different river view rooms. The panes of the large windows appear to be high quality thermo-pane but there is a direct outside cold draft from around the frames of the windows. The room heat can be turned up but it results in about a 20 degree difference between head and feet when standing. If a maintenance person would only apply sealant around the frames of the windows a lot of energy will be saved. February 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Under construction but still a good hotel Staff was friendly and helpful. Construction is going on in quite a few places and it made for a little extra work in getting around but it wasn't too bad. I was not impressed with the sleep number beds as they feel like you are sleeping on an air mattress (I know that is technically what they are) and not a comfortable bed. Heating system is older and you have to have the noisy fan switch on to have the heat on. Room service was okay but I was missing some items from my order. The staff felt bad and apologized but I thought I would get some kind of comp for them having missed food items. Even though some things didn't go well this is a good hotel with a good staff. I have stayed here for years and keep coming back. I am sure once the renovations are done it will look great. One thing I would like to see them add...free parking in the ramp for hotel guests. February 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasant Surprise After booking the hotel at the last minute and despite some not so flattering reviews on TripAdvisor, I am so glad I did. We paid the little extra for a corner riverview room and it was one of the nicest rooms I have ever stayed in! I was expecting the usual cramped hotel room with two beds and little leg room, but instead, felt like I was in a suite. The beds and pillows were extremely comfortable and I got a great night's sleep! The whole experience beginning with an easy check in, an outstanding concierge (Yesheber#, amazing bartenders, and a tremendously fun valet staff who helped us get a taxi made a routine evening extremely enjoyable. Parking was extremely easy and reasonable. I understand the hotel is under renovation, but from our room on the third floor, I did not encounter any inconvenience. The pool area looked nice even if we did not get to use it. The hotel is walking distance to everything St. Paul and is easily accessible to the skyways and tunnel. We ate twice in the bar #great food and drinks#)and breakfast in the restaurant #great food and great coffee). February 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by What a dump We were there for Winter Carnival, and had an absolute blast. The hotel is going through a major renovation so maybe things will be better next year. But the hotel was in horrible condition, I've stayed in a lot of CP's around the country, and this by far was was the worst CP I've ever stayed. in. Again, it's being worked on so things may get better. February 3, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointing We were in town for a wedding. and received the wedding "group rate" for our stay. However, our experience was so bad we switched to a nearby hotel after a few nights. Even though we had to pay a little more, it was worth it. This was our second bad experience with a Crowne Plaza recently (the first was in Redondo Beach). Thankfully, none of the wedding events were actually at the Crowne Plaza, it was just where many of the guests stayed. Checkin: They didn't have a king bed (which we reserved) and put us in a room with 2 doubles (even though we arrived plenty early in the evening.) Room: They switched us to a king bed for our 2nd night, but the room was so small it didn't even have room for a chair (other than the office desk chair.) My wife had to do some work at the desk, and my only option, if I wanted to stay in the room, was to sit on the bed. The room's walls had cracks everywhere, and was evidently long overdue for a renovation, which leads to my next topic. Noise: The walls were paper thin. We could clearly hear every conversation from our neighbors and anyone walking down the hallway. Even worse, however, was that part of the hotel was undergoing a badly needed renovation, so the construction noise during the day was absolutely horrible. The hotel should have compensated us for this, or at the very least let us know beforehand, so we could have chosen another hotel. My sister-in-law, who also stayed here, also had a horrible experience which included having no hot water, but I'll let her write her own review. February 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Fine Hotel but Misled About Fitness Center This hotel was fine-- comfortable rooms, comfortable meeting rooms, good location downtown. However, I was a bit misled about the fitness center. The website I looked at (http://www.ihg.com/crowneplaza/hotels/us/en/st.-paul/mspsp/hoteldetail/amenities) indicated the hotel fitness room was limited but there was an extensive off-site fitness center nearby for a small additional fee ($10). When I arrived and inquired about the location of the off-site center, they said they do not have that agreement with the off-site gym and directed me to the local YMCA; the staff at the front desk seemed less-than-concerned about the misrepresentation on the website. I then walked 15 minutes through the skyway to the Y only to find they don't administer day passes unless you are the guest of a member. On my walk back I came across the St. Paul Athletic Club nearby, a beautiful, upscale gym that was well appointed but charged $25 for a day pass. I went ahead and paid that and enjoyed their fantastic facility. Overall, the room and bed were comfortable though a bit small, the water pressure in my room on one of the upper floors was a bit weak, but in general it all was fine. The bar was a fairly typical hotel bar, which on the Saturday night was full of folks in suits attending a local meeting or conference. Not the most hip and happening place. January 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Staff made the difference.... I was at this location for three nights for work. It's sometimes hard to judge a hotel when they are undergoing major renovations...but there were some housekeeping issues that surprised me. What did make the difference though, were three of the staff members. The woman in the coffee shop was delightful. Always greeting with sunshine and smiles. A great way to start your day. The person that truly stood out was Joan, who worked in the restaurant and delivered room service. She was delightful. She had a great way of making a weary business traveler feel at home. I had commented about her to the front desk when checking out and my colleague overheard my comments. She later asked me what staff member I was speaking about and then we had a good laugh over her feeling the same way that I did. Joan is a standout that made a difference in two guests stays. We'll be back. January 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Our January 11, 2014 Stay We were upgraded and the corner room was very large and comfortableThe staff was very helpful and friendly January 16, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not what I expected This was the first time we had stayed at this particular hotel. We came in to town for a hockey game and got the event package. When I booked the room, it said we would be getting a King Executive room so naturally I expected a spacious room but it was not even close to spacious. There was only room enough for a bed, desk, chair and tv. The bed was a "sleep number" however the remote did not work properly so neither of us ended up with a good night sleep. The breakfast buffet was good however the food was not hot...it was luke-warm. We stopped by the lounge after we came back from the game and when my husband approached the bar, the bartender basically looked at him and turned away. Waited at least 5 minutes and after no success in getting a drink, we left. Staff was friendly and check-in was easy. I did make sure to check my bill when it was left in the door and I'm glad I did - I was overcharged for the parking (was supposed to be a reduced rate with the event package). I took it to the front desk and they gladly reversed the charges and corrected the error. Overall the stay was OK - would probably only stay there again if we went for a game again. January 16, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed The rooms had horrible soundproofing. We could hear a party going on in the room above us until 3am. Since we had to be at the airport early the next morning we weren't very happy about the lack of sleep. I was disappointed as I had stayed there in the past and had a better experience. This time it was definitely not worth the cost. Probably won't stay there again. January 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by clean and comfortable glad they got ride of sleep number beds. They were under construction, but the noise was not a problem. would recommend hotel to anyone. January 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfy bed, great customer service we stayed at the st. paul crowne plaza-riverfront during the weekend of 01/03/14-01/05/14. we had excellent customer service. valet parking was excellent. food was great. pool area was nice a clean. i would definitely stay here again! January 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Big fun in St Paul Had a very nice stay. Bed was firm but comfortable. Sunday brunch was excellent and a great value. Only issue was signs for an executive level lounge that apparently was under construction. Great location for lots of things in St Paul (we went to the science museum) and we will stay here next time we have an event at the Excel. January 8, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Loud and cold, close to Xcel This was my 4th time staying at the Crown Plaza. First time I had any issues. The heat didn't work good, we were cold all night . The noise level was extremely loud on this stay. I don't ever recall having such a problem with hearing every single thing going on in the next room. I called the front desk 2 times over a 2 hour time period. Both times they said that someone would come up. No one came. My daughter and I didn't get to sleep till after 3:30 am cause it was so loud. The location is good for attending an event at the Xcel Energy Center. It would have been a better stay if we were able to get a good night sleep. January 4, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by No Hot Water for showers, Keys not working, adjecent rooms not connected. Many issues while here. Restaurant was fine and well managed. Front desk seemed confused, although Jordan was great. Too many trips to the front desk for fixes. No hot water for hours Sat morning, got it just before we checked out. Keys failed, rooms changed, lounge cold. No fridge in our room. The lobby needs a lot more plants and regional accoutrements. December 31, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Needs a lesson in customer care Hospitality is not this hotels strong suit. If you want to be taken care of and treated like a guest, I strongly encourage you go elsewhere. Only after I went above the front desk staff to complain was my displeasure in my accommodations even addressed. Then, instead of apologizing for my inconvenience, the person who finally made time to speak to me was dismissive of my complaint and seemed as though they had much better things to do than take care of a guest in their hotel. Like I said...if you are looking for great hospitality this place is not for you. December 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay in downtown St. Paul The rooms are nice and spacious with wonderful views of the Mississippi River. Restaurant food and service was good. Many amenities to use (pool, exercise room, etc.) They are in the process of remodeling and I hope they will redo their parking ramp. I don't drive a large vehicle but the back of my crossover vehicle grazed the roof when leaving the ramp! Bathroom (especially inside of door) could use some cleaning. December 22, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Old Hotel, slow service, non-working hot tub Swimming pool is a metal tub with peeling paint, hot tub was under construction (?), slow service in restaurant, old hotel in need of great repairs. December 18, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Would not stay here again Rooms are in dire need of a renovation, walls and floors are very thin with little soundproofing and as a result you can hear people in the room and above you very easily compromising sleep quality. The bathroom ceiling was peeling and the toilet is partially underneath the sink. Rooms are very small and offer double beds or a king, no queens. There were noticeable stains on the curtains as well as on the carpets. I expected much more from the hotel for the cost of the room. I was hesitant to rate this 2 stars but the staff and service both at the front desk and restaurant were excellent. December 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by very good place to stay in downtown St.Paul The lobby was very hectic while checking in. Clerk apologized and had the bellman escort me up the service elevator to my room. Nice touch. My view from the 8th floor was terrific. Food in the hotel dining room was just ok, but service was very good. SW December 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Please update rooms Carpet in room old and wrinkling. Bathroom ceiling paint peeling. December 15, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Unfriendly staff I booked my 3 rooms online with the hotel and when I got there I had to argue with the staff even after I proved my confirmation. I was very disappointed. I travel a lot and never have I augured that much to get the price I booked online! December 11, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Outdated Hotel and Rude Front Desk Staff The hotel itself was very outdated. Not what I expected for the price I paid. Additionally the front desk staff was rude and not very helpful. Seemed rush and did not give even basic information about where the room was and parking. Additionally we had to call for the internet code as it was not provided in our key envelope. The only nice thing about the hotel was the attentive and friendly staff in the lounge. Even though they were very busy they gave great customer service. December 9, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location But thats ALL! I have stayed at several Crowne Plaza Properties and have to admit that the location of this property is beautiful! However, the rooms leave a lot to be desired! Dirty & cramped! I refused to shower, my husband showered and the water was up to his calf when he finished...GROSS! December 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always Great Have stayed at this property 4 times in the last 5 years while in from Canada. Convenient location, great service and staff always make it a good stay. Always recommend! December 3, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not what was described... This Hotel when I booked it looked very nice and because I'm a IGH member made it a perfect place to stay for my visit to St Paul. the room was described as a executive suite with a river view. It was not a suite and the view was not the river. My second bedroom in my house was bigger than this room. To add insult to injury the hotel was under construction so there was noise and the water coming out of the pipes was rusty. Now I work in construction and I understand the changing of old pipes but for a hotel to allow rusty water to come out is unacceptable. There was no notice of the ongoing construction or any warning of the rusty water. Also because it was 9 degrees outside I turned up the heat and there was a very nasty smell coming from the vent. Because it is Minnesota I would assume the heaters would have been on weeks ago and the smell of burning dust would have been gone. So I'm very disappointed in my stay and the lack of concern by the front desk staff. December 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Room with View We stayed overnight for a concert at the Excel. Gorgeous view of the Mississippi. Room was clean and beds comfortable. We used room service in the morning. The coffee was great and so was the service. November 29, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Needs updating No complaints except for condition of carpeting. The carpeting is in need of replacement. You are able to see the waves from stretching of the carpet. November 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service Staff was very helpful and service was excellent. The bed was so comfortable. You woke up to the best continental breakfast I ever had. You did have to walk a few blocks to get to the excel center November 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and nice view We had a riverview room on the 7th floor. Loved the view. Room was clean, staff was friendly. Nice big shower with great towels. Bed was comfy. Overall nice and relaxing stay. Negative side--Pretty sure my tablet got hacked while using their WiFi . November 26, 2013
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>
Holiday Inn St. Paul Hotel Exterior
Holiday Inn St. Paul Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Holiday Inn St. Paul Hotel Exterior Front Desk Concierge Holiday Inn St. Paul Hotel Lobby Holiday Inn St. Paul Hotel Lobby Holiday Inn St. Paul Hotel Lobby Holiday Inn St. Paul Lobby Lounge Holiday Inn St. Paul Lobby Entrance Exterior Feature Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.