• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Apr-19-2014)
(e.g. Apr-20-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: MEMPHIS
  • Distance From Hotel: 6.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Due to the high quality of our room furnishings and bedding, pets are not allowed.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
University of Memphis - on site
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Elvis Presley's Graceland
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Downtown
Distance From Hotel:6.0MI
Attraction:
Memphis Zoo
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary outdoor parking. ADA spaces available.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2009
  • Total number of rooms:82
  • Total number of suites:82
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:24
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:58
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:82
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4
  • FEMA Property Number:TN5021
Enjoy the Holiday Inn University of Memphis All Suite Hotel on your next visit. We are poised to offer you the best facilities and service in the city. If leisure travel brings you our way, our city central location is perfect for your needs. You can enjoy Downtown Memphis which is just 15 minutes away. Take in a Redbirds Baseball game or a Grizzlies NBA game, walk along the Mississippi river, or you can take in exciting Beale Street. If you are in Memphis on business, we are the place to be. Major
View More
Enjoy the Holiday Inn University of Memphis All Suite Hotel on your next visit. We are poised to offer you the best facilities and service in the city. If leisure travel brings you our way, our city central location is perfect for your needs. You can enjoy Downtown Memphis which is just 15 minutes away. Take in a Redbirds Baseball game or a Grizzlies NBA game, walk along the Mississippi river, or you can take in exciting Beale Street. If you are in Memphis on business, we are the place to be. Major business centers and key corporate headquarters are close at hand. You’ll appreciate our meeting and event facilities offering of three amphitheaters and 14 meeting rooms available for any type of meeting. You’ll want to make use of our 1,000 seat ballroom and take advantage of our event coordination and audio visual departments. Swing by our Medallion Restaurant where you can enjoy an incredible burger or a continental cuisine dinner. After your meal, you can work out in our on-site fitness center or make use of the University of Memphis Health Center. The all suite Holiday Inn has anticipated your needs and our staff is ready to show you some first class Southern hospitality.
View Less
Features
This all-suite Holiday Inn® Hotel at the University of Memphis boasts over 14,000-square feet of meeting space. We're adjacent to the University of Memphis' Fogelman Executive Conference Center which is accredited by the International Association of Conference Centers. These quality facilities seamlessly cooperate to offer the best meeting and social environment available.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 154 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly and helpful staff I have been very impressed with the friendly staff. As they say, it's the people that make the business. Van drivers are safe, waitresses are friendly, the front desk folks are very helpful. I would like to put in a good word for Tina. She is very outgoing and has a calming, warm personality who welcomes me back week after week. Also, Cindy, marketing director/salesperson is very appreciated in making me feel welcome when I see her in the lobby/manager reception or near the parking area. I believe I speak for all the Mountain Air Cargo pilots in this regard. I realize that the hotel is still being updated/renovated, and when I sleep on a floor that has had the reno work, I like it. To be helpful, I believe the glass on the showers could be extended another 12 inches or so to cut down on the water getting on the bathroom floor. Maybe you could consider this before performing work on the other floors. Chairs could be more comfortable. Thanks for a great experience this year. December 25, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Hotel Staff The room was an average room. It was very clean just a little small. The location of this hotel was perfect!!! What made this hotel stand out was the staff. They were so very very friendly from the moment I walked into the hotel. I would recommend this hotel for the value. The hotel bar is fun and the food is good. December 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Accommodating staff We appreciate the last minute reservation during the marathon weekend, and also appreciate the flexibility shown by your staff with people who arrived in Memphis to run the marathon, but suddenly did not need a room when the marathon was canceled. I am sure this is not an easy financial decision, but do appreciate allowing those changes for people as a great business choice. Thanks! December 10, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great front desk staff! Very professional and helpful. She was very busy but was able to handle multiple customers at the same time. December 8, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Don't stay on the 12th floor! The room was lovely and the staff friendly. Unfortunately, the hotel was full, and only one of three elevators was working - and that elevator was erratic. It did not stop on every floor, even when the buttons were pushed. Many people were frustrated and used the stairs - difficult for us because we were on 12 and had luggage. November 27, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by 664 I was very disappointed. We were almost afraid to get on the elevators and the last day only one was working. The employee's were fine and very helpful but for the rest of it, the place is over priced….and needs to be rework from the ground up….There are to many nice places to stay to have what you have there. November 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Place I always stay here in this hotel when I come to Memphis. I love the area and this hotel always meets my expectations. November 25, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not worth the high price This is the second time I've stayed at this hotel....this time solely because it was not a far walk from Fed Ex Forum. You have to pay $15 per day for parking on top of the high price you pay just to stay there. The service elevator you have to take from the parking garage is very shaky & sounds like its about to give out. One time we waited on it from the lobby and it never came! The lobby is nice, but the rooms are outdated and could use come sprucing up. The staff was extremely nice. I wouldn't say "don't stay here" , just be aware you're not quite getting what you pay for. I don't mind paying a little extra to stay in a nice hotel...but in my opinion this one is not worth the money. November 22, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Customer facing experience I am a novice traveler in a large city atmosphere and am treated pathetically. I am aware I am out of my element and your front desk staff wasted no time capitalizing on my plight (11/15/13). To boot, the heating system clattered through the night and my neighbor, the ice machine, could not have been louder. Overal a poor experience. November 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Room and Service Front desk staff was extremely helpful (called me a cab, recommended places to eat). Room was neat and clean, and the hotel is located in a great spot downtown. I would come here again if visiting Memphis. November 20, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by the suites are not suites I paid for a king suite and ended up getting a regular room with a pull out sofa. When I called to complain, they informed me that those were the suites. So if you want to stay in an actual suite, I cannot recommend this place. November 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic Staff, Great Location After reading reviews of this property in advance of my arrival, I was uncertain as to the quality of my stay - but due to the location (only 2 blocks from Beale Street and across the street from The Peabody), I was willing to sacrifice, if necessary. Imagine my surprise when I discovered the poor reviews were unwarranted. The lobby remodel was newly completed and I found the property to be clean and well maintained. Staff was exceedingly pleasant and accomodating - special thanks to front desk staff Stephanie and Michelle for being so friendly and helpful! The room - king executive with sofabed, fridge and microwave - was a corner room with a view and away from hall noise. Parking was easy in and out. The bar was small but pleasant. I was especially surprised to learn that as a platinum IHG Rewards member I received free breakfast credit along with a midweek manager's reception - what a nice bonus! I would not only stay at this property again but would highly recommend to all friends and family traveling in the area. November 18, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Average to Below Even though the lobby has been renovated the elevator is REALLY slow. It seemed that only two of the 4 even worked. November 18, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Three nice nights and three good days in Memphis Four instead of five stars for overall stay because: 1. only the staff (freight) elevator was dependable, although hotel management was doing its best to keep the elevator contractor on the job over a holiday weekend. 2. no valet parking (which is too expensive anyway) because, we were told, too many early arrivals drove in in large pickups and vans and filled up the hotel parking garage. OK, that can happen. But the valet left us to find our own parking spot in a private garage next door. We did, on the 7th floor (this was a Saturday night) and had to walk down because that elevator, too, was not working... 3. An inattentive waiter taking a breakfast order brought fried eggs, not the scrambled that were ordered, and biscuits instead of toast. Too hurried to wait for a fix, I ate the eggs (they were good), When I brought it to the attention of the cashier, she refused to let me pay for the meal! The front desk people were great; the rooms and beds were very nice and the downtown location is fantastic. November 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Quite and plenty of room The only major problem I had was when I first checked in. I was told my room was not ready at 2pm . Then when I went back to check a hour later it was still not ready ...Then on my final try at 4pm I was told again it was not ready but someone intervened at the desk and advised me my room had been ready all the time. The lady who checked me in was not reading the PC right I guess. My Holliday Inn Reward card was never taken care of ..I was told the points would be applied to me but nothing ever came of it. I was with the Royal Order of Jesters group. November 15, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Enjoyed the Visit!! This was my first trip to Memphis and found the location of this hotel to be great. It was close enough to walk to Beale St, but then again just far enough away to be bothered. The room was clean and I slept well, but seemed to have a strong cologne type smell in it. Almost like an old man's Brut. We thought it may have been our room, but heard others complaining as well. Otherwise the room was good. Our room was right beside the parking deck so we were awakened by a car alarm that I think went off for an hour. Not the hotels fault of course, but was annoying!! All of the staff were great though. Very pleasant. The bartender in the restaurant downstairs was amazing! Very very kind and a hard worker! There were probably 15 people in there Saturday night (November 9th 2013) and she was doing it all with a smile. Taking food orders,drink orders,bringing out food, and I honestly believe preparing most of it as well. My stay was good though. No major complaints. I would stay there again! Thanks! November 14, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Warm, comfortable rooms and Courteous, friendly staff Great time staying here for first time. Valet service parking on-site was helpful in directing me in Memphis, even though I didn't have a car to park. Front desk were some of the most engaging, kind, and fun people to be around. They made me feel so welcome, almost like family November 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Excellent location ......... Excellent service........... November 13, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice staff; poor facility Much as we liked the location of the Memphis Holiday Inn Express we were terribly disappointed in the room and the breakfast. We reported the problem with the shower and it was fixed by the next evening. The breakfast was stone cold and we were not charged for it. The parking lot was in very bad shape and we were charged for parking! We will not stay at this hotel again. November 12, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by A place to crash If you are looking for a place close to the party clubs and just want to sleep, it's just that. We checked out and went to a different Hotel. November 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by MEMPHIS IN NOVEMBER Location was great. Staff was helpful and courteous with directions about getting around. The suggested carridge ride around the downtown was fun November 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and outstanding service. The service was outstanding. Everyone was extremely helpful and friendly. This included the front desk (prompt and informative), housekeeping staff (clean rooms), dining and breakfast area (friendly bartender, friendly breakfast server, concierge, night manager, and parking valet. The location was ideal. Next time we are in Memphis this is where we will stay. November 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good service and great location. My family and I stayed over the weekend and had a room with a city view and it was very nice. The hotel overall was real nice but would recommend the hotel upgrade their roll-away beds. The one we were given was very, very used and should have been thrown away, other than that, nice place to stay downtown and close to Beale street. November 6, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Small bathroom, fair service Not It all impressed by this property. Service elevator not working properly and in need of upgrading the floors, doors and push buttons. Got stock in it for a couple of minutes. Of the 6 or seven workers at the front desk (at different times)..only one seemed to care when I checked in. At other times No one seemed to care if you had a question. I found a door key card on a table and was trying to turn it in (No customers were present) The two ladies working the front desk kept on talking to each other. I showed them the card key and got no reaction or response ....so I just dropped it on the counter. I went by the counter an hour later and the card was still there. On check out I tried to get the service Elevator to the parking garage and gave up after a good 10 minutes. So we took the regular elevator to the lobby and after another 5 minutes or so the service elevator finally arrived. Hotel appearance seemed always dirty. The same for the breakfast area. Received no water or free breakfast with my room?? November 2, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by SO SO Room I thought it was going to be better but I hav to say the bed and the pillows were great . The bathroom was so small two people could not fit and the door was right up against the toilet. No hot water either. it was a cold weekend too. Also one pack of coffee and one decaf, but no sugar, cream etc. It was a confortable room except for those items. Which are really my main things I need in a room. I really wish I would have complained before because it was not worth my stay. The location was fine, but it had been ten years since I have been to Memphis, so I did not know about the other surrounding hotes. Fix you plumbing and I may come back. Liz October 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Where the action is in Memphis! A room that was comfortable and clean with all the amenities to stay there all day. But, better yet, was the easy proximity to Beale Street, the Mississippi River walkway, a peak at the Peabody ducks, a variety of good restaurants and historic sites like the Cotton Exchange and Civil Rights Museum. A great place to be between events for a family wedding! October 24, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location At the time of our visit the reception area was in chaos with building work being carried out. The receptionist was friendly and cheerful despite the chaos. Priority Club membership was recognised with a welcome pack. The room was good with double aspect and the location was a short walk from Beale Street. Poor staff experience for breakfast on the first day but much better on the second day. Due to the reception area chaos when we came to leave they could not find the master key to our safe deposit box but this was eventually resolved. October 22, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by NEEDS WORK While I understand they were working on renovations of the lobby for look when we went to check in there was a line of 8-10 guest and only one operational computer and one clerk at around 4pm. Later they added one clerk with an additional computer but the line was already long and waiting times were unacceptable. Seems like they would have done counter work at night when check in/out was less demanding. The elevators were another head ache as I had concerns since they continuously were slow, opened on floors going up or down when no one was there to get on and one even failed and was out of service for awhile with the doors looking pried open from the top in a strange V shape. The cleaning staff left the old bed sheets in the room on the floor after making the bed. Had to call front desk to get the room finished. While in the parking garage saw the valet parking person hit another guest parked car with a guest truck she was driving. Went to the lobby and notified the front desk manager and she was unaware that the incident happened even though the valet was on her cell phone telling someone she had hit the vehicle. She went up to the car she hit and tried to wipe off the white paint mark left by the hit but the car had a crease in the body where she struck it. If you are going to park at this location self park and look for a location protected by a column. In dinning room for breakfast I ordered the same item both days but it was prepared differently low carb ham and cheese omelet added link sausage, the link sausage on the second day was very dried out looked like it had been under heat lamp for a couple of hours. While it appears that some of the visual appearance is being updated mechanical needs to be looked at especially the elevators and layout of the parking garage. October 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by perfect location Hotel is in the perfect location five minute walk from beale street, rock n soul museum and fed ex forum. Opposite peaboby hotel famous for duck parade. Twenty minute walk to sun studios which is on the same avenue as hotel. Fifteen minute taxi ride to gracelands. Staff are all friendly and nothing too much trouble, breakfast very good. Would come here again when we come back to memphis. October 18, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by It is all about location You could not stay in a better location. Within walking distance to just about anywhere downtown. They are in the process of renovations so it should be even better in the future. October 18, 2013
<<prev2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Awards

Torchbearer Award

Torchbearer Award


The Torchbearer Award is given to hotels that have achieved the highest level of excellence in all aspects of operations - from quality to customer satisfaction. Created to honor the best of the best as measured by our guests, this award is presented to hotels that raise the bar even further. These outstanding hotels “carry our torch”, and represent the highest achievement in quality and service.

Terms & Conditions
Kids Stay and Eat Free at all Holiday Inn Hotels.