• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-16-2014)
(e.g. Sep-17-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: MEMPHIS
  • Distance From Hotel: 6.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Due to the high quality of our room furnishings and bedding, pets are not allowed.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
University of Memphis - on site
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Pink Palace Museum
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Botanic Gardens
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI
Attraction:
Dixon Gallery and Gardens
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary outdoor parking. ADA spaces available.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2009
  • Total number of rooms:82
  • Total number of suites:82
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:24
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:58
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:82
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4
  • FEMA Property Number:TN5021
Enjoy the Holiday Inn University of Memphis All Suite Hotel on your next visit. We are poised to offer you the best facilities and service in the city. If leisure travel brings you our way, our city central location is perfect for your needs. You can enjoy Downtown Memphis which is just 15 minutes away. Take in a Redbirds Baseball game or a Grizzlies NBA game, walk along the Mississippi river, or you can take in exciting Beale Street. If you are in Memphis on business, we are the place to be. Major
View More
Enjoy the Holiday Inn University of Memphis All Suite Hotel on your next visit. We are poised to offer you the best facilities and service in the city. If leisure travel brings you our way, our city central location is perfect for your needs. You can enjoy Downtown Memphis which is just 15 minutes away. Take in a Redbirds Baseball game or a Grizzlies NBA game, walk along the Mississippi river, or you can take in exciting Beale Street. If you are in Memphis on business, we are the place to be. Major business centers and key corporate headquarters are close at hand. You’ll appreciate our meeting and event facilities offering of three amphitheaters and 14 meeting rooms available for any type of meeting. You’ll want to make use of our 1,000 seat ballroom and take advantage of our event coordination and audio visual departments. Swing by our Medallion Restaurant where you can enjoy an incredible burger or a continental cuisine dinner. After your meal, you can work out in our on-site fitness center or make use of the University of Memphis Health Center. The all suite Holiday Inn has anticipated your needs and our staff is ready to show you some first class Southern hospitality.
View Less
Features
This all-suite Holiday Inn® Hotel at the University of Memphis boasts over 14,000-square feet of meeting space. We're adjacent to the University of Memphis' Fogelman Executive Conference Center which is accredited by the International Association of Conference Centers. These quality facilities seamlessly cooperate to offer the best meeting and social environment available.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 164 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by tv not work properly I said it all already. The tv had sound but not picture and there was noises in the hallway at night. August 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The Very Best in Memphis. Excellent in all areas, especially the front desk people!!! Only thing was no breakfast buffet as in other places for the same price. Also didn't have a fridge, but not sure if it was being remodeled since there was a spot behind the door of the unit which was empty. Annual family reunion so don't expect to go back, but I definitely would if given the chance! August 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellen staff and accommodations! Customer care and quality service was number one with each and every staff member at the Crowne Plaza, Memphis Downtown Hotel. I must give a special 'shout out' to the restaurant staff - the food was excellent - fresh and well cooked! The restaurant staff were sincere customer service agents, who always wore a smile. We could not have asked for better customer service during our week-long stay! This is definitely our hotel of choice whenever we are in the Memphis area. August 20, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Ants on the 8th floor We were on the 8th floor for two nights and there were small black ants all along, and climbing, the wall that the tv cabinet was on and in the bathroom. The hotel was 100% booked and the only option was to have the room sprayed. I disposed of over 100 ants over those 2 days. This hotel has seen better days. August 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay we had a good time. my main problem was that I could not get into the restraint in the afternoon when I was available to eat lunch and had to leave and find some place to eat August 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by very comfortable, very good service all employees were very courteous and halpful, no matter what I wanted or wanted to know August 20, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Showing its age It seems that only one person in the resturant has any get up and go . Hard to eat food due to flies in area. Flowers on table were in vases that were filthy dirty. Staff were friendly and helpful.Breakfast buffet pulled way before advertised time. Not up to Crowne standards. August 20, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Wonderful Staff The staff at this hotel were very friendly and helpful. The room was not up to standards and is in need of sound proofing. I could hear voices, alarms and phone calls from adjoining rooms. The rooms need updating and the bathroom was not super clean. August 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay I stayed at this property for business. The staff was great. Everyone very friendly. I've stayed at this property in the past and will in the future. August 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic guest service! The staff is always exceptional! And very engaged with their guests. Daryl at the front desk has gone above and beyond. I travel with my job, and spend a great deal of time in Memphis. (Almost like a second home). It's close to downtown. I would suggest this property to everyone I know that travels to Memphis. August 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable bed, good service. Our first oppinon of this hotel was that it was a little tired looking towards other Crown Plazas we have stayed in but the great attitude and service of the staff more than made up for this. The best thing about this Hotel for us was the free shuttle service that was available anytime to take us where we wanted to go, we never had to wait more than 10 minutes for it and the driver's were very knowledgeable and informative about the area. August 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by amenties ice machine was not working, they said they would fix, i did not notify until I was leaving because I was getting to ready to leave anyway. I wish there were microwaves in room. August 14, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Decent hotel The hotel staff were all very pleasant and accommodating. The hotel could use a good updating, deep cleaning. Fresh paint. Everything was nice, just seemed a little dusty and dirty in places. The driver for the shuttle service was excellent. August 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by tlgreen Everyone was super nice. I left my shoes in the room after we checked out and left the hotel and when I called to tell them they had already put them aside for me because they felt I would be returning due to the value of the shoes. This hotel is AWESOME. August 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff really cares I'm not sure one person failed to ask me if they could help me in any way or that didn't verify that I was having a great time. Here for business, it felt like a vacation. Keep up the good work! August 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place to stay Staff is very friendly and accommodating at this location. I suggest using the shuttle service provided with the room; Cleo is great and is the most friendly wonderful shuttle driver. August 9, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Horrible Customer Service First of all, I would like to say that I travel EVERY WEEK with my job. This is the first and last time that I will stay here. When I arrived I was asked for my personal credit card for incidentals. My company always prepays for my room. I was advised that they would hold $25 on my card but not be charged for the room. Well that didn't happen. They held $25 and they charged the room to my personal credit card. I called to have this situation resolved and the lady was rude. It took 5 days for the money to be applied back to my card and I was not even offered anything for my inconvience. I would have been satisfied with points but was only offered a half felt apology. I filled out a survey 5 days ago and stated I wanted a call from management and still haven't heard anything. I am very disappointed that they treat their Platinum Members that way. August 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Stay Our stay was wonderful, the hotel and staff was great and very friendly, the rooms were very clean and spacious. We will be back to stay again!!! August 5, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by friendly staff service comfortable bed The staff was very friendly while not being at all helpful or accommodating in meeting my needs and request with the issues that we came across at our recent stay. They denied my requests but did so with a smile on their faces. August 3, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Just so so in the downtown area at the same price Room is clean, but furniture are old. No safety box, no refrigerator. Free wifi, but very slow. Add $10 for two-full breakfast, good! Free beverage, but just coffee, ice water. Older than other hotels, such as Courtyard, sleep inn ect. July 24, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by No A/C, broken toilet, TV w/o picture Arrived at 9pm after 14 hrs on highway. Checked into room. Hot air blowing from AC. Room at 79 degrees. Called front desk told maintenance would be right up. 15 min later manager called and said they need twenty minutes to replace AC unit. Would comp my bar tab and take off an amount off my hotel rate An hour went by no AC. Manager says it will take another 20 minutes to find one. Sat in bar for over an hour before it was 'fixed'. Room was still warm- never went below 74 degrees. Upon checkout no rate discount. Front desk employee new nothing about it and asked how much of a reduction I would be comfortable with. Seriously? Also, bartender served us a margarita, even though he ran out of tequila during the first pour. Walked to a table and grabbed table salt from a salt shaker, and shook it on a napkin to salt the glass. Served the Margaritas in beer glasses. July 23, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by No Good thought the name of the hotel was its reputation go here if you want to over pay to have a lot of drunk collage students running around in halls and knocking on your door at 3am go there the halls and elevator are hot this was a waist of money for me would stay at a Hampton inn and suites cheaper and a lot better value July 19, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice shuttle service Overall, our stay at the Crowne Plaza was not too bad. The reason I do not rate it as excellent is b/c there was a TON of fraternity kids there that impeded upon what we wanted to do (swim). The pool was very small, however, it wouldn't had mattered if larger b/c of the amount of college kids there boozing it up!! I understand I had no way of knowing they were going to be there and the hotel would have taken a chance losing business telling potential customers they had a big even like that going on. So, not really the hotels fault. I guess the one legitimate complaint I do have is that the elevator was really slow (and one was not working), and there were LOTS of mosquitos in the lobby. July 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Location - Good Value I went to Memphis for the 4th of July. I found the Crowne Plaza to be centrally located to the attractions in the City. The hotel was clean and the staff was friendly and professional. I would highly recommend the Crowne Plaza to those who are visiting the City of Memphis. July 15, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Personal muy amable, pero no parece un Crowne Es un hotel comfortable con gente muy amable y eficiente en el servicio. Sin embargo, la calidad del desayuno y las instalaciones del hotel no corresponde a lo que se esperaria de un hotel Crowne Plaza, sino más bien a un Holiday Inn Express o un hotel de calidad similar a los Holiday In express. No sé si en Estados Unidos sean así, pero es muy diferente a las experiencia que he tenido en Europa y Sur América. July 15, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by review Hotel is old and dated. Should be torn dow and rebuilt. I requested a toothbrush from the front desk an they would not deliver it to my room - said I had to goto front desk to get one July 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Just one thing you need to know Wireless internet does not reach the rooms near the ends of the hallways. Other than that, everything is close to perfect. July 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great staff and good value I stayed in a king-bed standard room. Air conditioner was working well to keep the room cool during the hot summer days in Memphis. Bathroom amenities were nice which included shampoo, conditioner, and lotion. HBO channel was not working for the first three days. Wired internet connection was not working. Wireless internet connection had a poor reception. I'm assuming this is due to the room being at the end of the building. There were mosquitoes flying around in the lobby but the whole city pretty much has that problem. Breakfast is not complementary. Parking is quite expensive. The best part of the stay was the staff. They were all friendly, always smiling, and willing to help. July 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay We were just in town for one evening. We booked this hotel for the price and felt it was a great value with a convenient location. July 14, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Just ok I was disappointed that I was not recognized at check-in as a gold member July 12, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>
Awards

Torchbearer Award

Torchbearer Award


The Torchbearer Award is given to hotels that have achieved the highest level of excellence in all aspects of operations - from quality to customer satisfaction. Created to honor the best of the best as measured by our guests, this award is presented to hotels that raise the bar even further. These outstanding hotels “carry our torch”, and represent the highest achievement in quality and service.

If you are not already a member, join now.
Earn at least two free nights, 50,000 bonus points or 10,000 miles. Book Now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-16-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-17-2014)
Check Availability
Loading