• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-28-2014)
(e.g. Jul-29-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: MEMPHIS
  • Distance From Hotel: 6.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Due to the high quality of our room furnishings and bedding, pets are not allowed.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Memphis Zoo
Distance From Hotel:4.0MI
Attraction:
Elvis Presley's Graceland
Distance From Hotel:10.0MI
Attraction:
Botanic Gardens
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI
Attraction:
Dixon Gallery and Gardens
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary outdoor parking. ADA spaces available.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2009
  • Total number of rooms:82
  • Total number of suites:82
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:24
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:58
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:82
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4
  • FEMA Property Number:TN5021
Enjoy the Holiday Inn University of Memphis All Suite Hotel on your next visit. We are poised to offer you the best facilities and service in the city. If leisure travel brings you our way, our city central location is perfect for your needs. You can enjoy Downtown Memphis which is just 15 minutes away. Take in a Redbirds Baseball game or a Grizzlies NBA game, walk along the Mississippi river, or you can take in exciting Beale Street. If you are in Memphis on business, we are the place to be. Major
View More
Enjoy the Holiday Inn University of Memphis All Suite Hotel on your next visit. We are poised to offer you the best facilities and service in the city. If leisure travel brings you our way, our city central location is perfect for your needs. You can enjoy Downtown Memphis which is just 15 minutes away. Take in a Redbirds Baseball game or a Grizzlies NBA game, walk along the Mississippi river, or you can take in exciting Beale Street. If you are in Memphis on business, we are the place to be. Major business centers and key corporate headquarters are close at hand. You’ll appreciate our meeting and event facilities offering of three amphitheaters and 14 meeting rooms available for any type of meeting. You’ll want to make use of our 1,000 seat ballroom and take advantage of our event coordination and audio visual departments. Swing by our Medallion Restaurant where you can enjoy an incredible burger or a continental cuisine dinner. After your meal, you can work out in our on-site fitness center or make use of the University of Memphis Health Center. The all suite Holiday Inn has anticipated your needs and our staff is ready to show you some first class Southern hospitality.
View Less
Features
This all-suite Holiday Inn® Hotel at the University of Memphis boasts over 14,000-square feet of meeting space. We're adjacent to the University of Memphis' Fogelman Executive Conference Center which is accredited by the International Association of Conference Centers. These quality facilities seamlessly cooperate to offer the best meeting and social environment available.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 79 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Needs Work This was a fair to average property. I stay at many Holiday Inn Express properties and would rate this one as needs work. The most concerning issue was the shuttle transportation they offer. The van is in SERIOUS need of MAJOR work and boarders on UNSAFE. You may want to consider other options. January 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Southaven location We recently stayed at this location because of the closeness to the airport. We were very pleased. However,I do have one suggestion to their management. You need new equipment in the fitness center. There were only two treadmills and one was broken. The other one is old and the way it was set up was terrible to use for a tall person- very hard on your back. The exercise bikes were horrible. I realize that not everyone works out while traveling but some of us do and this was a very disappointing experience. Still I would stay there again as the place was clean, modern and they had a pretty decent breakfast too. January 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Experience My wife and I stayed here as a weekend get away. We had a good experience and would recommend this property to others. January 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding service This is one of the best Holiday Inn Express we have stayed in. Don't know why it gets unjustified reviews the staff and standard of rooms are excellent will be back again for sure. Special mention to Phillip the night guy he went out of his way to help. January 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and good location I would return. Its nice if you need airport shuttle. January 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by very nice one of the best properties I have stayed at. I'm there every other week Very friendly and professional staff. Clean and looks like its new. Only dig is that the beds and linens are very comfortable but the towels feel cheap like they were purchased at walmart January 4, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Breakfast One of the main reasons I stay at holiday inn express is for the complimentary breakfast which I can count on being available at 6 am promptly. As a business traveler on a schedule timing is everything. When I left my room just past 6 to go get some breakfast it was not available. I waited for about 5 minutes and the staff showed up and began to converse amongst themselves instead of getting the food out. Another 5 minutes past and still no food. At this point all I wanted was a coffee but there was no creamer. When I asked if I could get some creamer the waitstaff said "they would have to go across the street to get some" and "the coffee is probably cold", which it was and that someone else should have made fresh coffee earlier. I ended up leaving at 6:22 hungry without coffe and frustrated. I will most likely continue staying with holiday inn express (not this location) but thought this issue had to brought to someone's attention. There was another gentleman waiting for breakfast this morning as well and when one of the waitstaff was rolling out a cart the gentleman was in her way and she made a gesture behind his back like she was going to hit him with the cart - which I saw and though was extremely unprofessional. December 23, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by cleaning agent smell in room and on bed The room had a very strong smell of cleaning agent or bleach, as if to mask something. The beds and pillow also wreaked of this smell. The bathroom had a bloodstain or blob in the bathtub which was disgusting, so I hurriedly showered and got out of there. The staff were gossiping in the kitchen area where my children were eating, very unprofessional. December 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Memphis trip This is a great place to stay in Memphis. It's nice and quiet and comfortable for a business trip. I would recommend this hotel to everyone. December 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff and comfortabe room Everything was great except for breakfast which could have been better. Coffee was barely warm. But overall the hotel and staff were excellent. December 20, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Does not meet IGH Standards. Hotel is being run down. Lack of maintenance, high staff turnover, penny-pinching supervision. Lack of respect for customers. My group has used this hotel since it opened and have spent over $1,000,000 here. Every time I stay it is worse. No more. December 16, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by some good some bad The good front desk Marissa and Rita the glue that holds this hotel together. They should not be left alone at night. we told housekeeping to come back in 5 minutes never made up our room left to Rita and Marissa. Breakfast good but could use some fruit.If our room had been taken care of it might have been an excellent stay November 26, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Return Visit Had a nice stay here a couple months earlier for a weekend away so when I had to come to the area for a conference it was my hotel of choice. Unfortunately they were booked for the first night we needed a room so we stayed at another nearby IHG hotel which was terrible. I was so glad when we were able to move here for the second night. Being that I prefer to stay on the top floor I was concerned when our room was going to be on the first floor right off the lobby. It turned out to not be a problem at all. Was very surprised that I didn't hear any noise and because of their small breakfast area it turned out to be a blessing to be able to get breakfast and take it to our room. We returned and will probably return again. November 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasantly Surprised Booked stay here because of location and the great rate we received. Upon arrival wasn't sure how we felt about the area but it turned out to not be a concern and our experience was very good. Was there to relax for the weekend and enjoy the Southaven area and was able to do just that. November 24, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Was not very pleased with cleanliness My room was very musty and smelly will not be back or recommend . November 14, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointment Not a good choice for this area. Needs significant improvement. November 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by met all expectations great overnight stay close to the airport in memphis. on a quiet street so very quiet and comfortable night. slept like a baby. staff very friendly and accommodating to all requests from the front desk to the housekeepers. very clean hotel November 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beds are high Perhaps you could consider a step stool for climbing into the beds, for the height challenged guests! Otherwise, a perfect hotel room. November 4, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good room, great bed I stayed at this location for one night and slept well. The parking lot is a bit weird as it is completely behind and to the side of the facility, which makes for longer walks to and from the vehicle. The breakfast had few options and was one of the least attractive that I have had at HIE facilities! November 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay I've stayed at this property for years. I always feel like I'm nearly at home! :) October 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay close to Downtown and Graceland. I travel quite frequently and have stayed at many IHG properties this one is one of the better ones located near Memphis. I felt safe and the rooms are updated and comfortable. The staff was very accomidating and I got a good nights sleep. I guess that's all you can ask for. October 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay Staff was warm and friendly. Room was clean and no noise. Sleep well. Hope to go back again October 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service and comfortable room I thoroughly enjoyed my weekend at the Holiday Inn Express Southaven, MS. The staff was friendly and made me feel at home. I will definitely stay there again. I am proud to be an IHG Rewards Club member. October 23, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by My stay Hello, I have always stayed at this Holiday Inn when visiting the Memphis area. This time I was not satisfied. My room had too many spiders. Even while taking a shower - a large spider creeped from the shower head and was trying to avoid getting in the path of the streaming water... which made me uncomfortable and hurrying to finish my shower. The morning of my departure..I am guessing my neighbors had a room full of children... then ran up and down the halls screaming with their breakfast in tow. I ended up leaving earlier than planned. I have always loved this hotel. October 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff !!! Front desk staff and management went over and above the high standards of Holiday Inn. October 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Memphis bound Nice HI Express in South Haven, just a few miles from Memphis. Love the fact that they have smoking rooms available. Very conveinent to stores and restaurants. Cheap gas available too. September 30, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by So so... Room was o.k., but 2 problems-- ALL of the pillows on one of the beds were covered with hair (hence I didn't sleep in that bed) and the microwave was filthy. Like I said, o.k. for one night, but I probably wouldn't do an extended stay. September 22, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Experience I have stayed here several times and have always had a great experience. September 12, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Clean The room was clean. The maid staff the 2 nights we were there were very nice. Breakfast was poor. I have had much better breakfasts at other Holiday Inns. Pickings were slim to say the least. Being platinum I usually get upgraded to a much better room, if available. Here they did not even try. I was told at check in that this was the room I was assigned and they could not upgrade me. Too bad. On the way back home from vacation, they will not be my assigned hotel. September 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice The young lay ht checked me in was so nice , she was busy but took time to talk to me, I was worn out from traveling and she new it! September 2, 2013
<<prev2 3 4 next>>
Awards

Torchbearer Award

Torchbearer Award


The Torchbearer Award is given to hotels that have achieved the highest level of excellence in all aspects of operations - from quality to customer satisfaction. Created to honor the best of the best as measured by our guests, this award is presented to hotels that raise the bar even further. These outstanding hotels “carry our torch”, and represent the highest achievement in quality and service.

Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-28-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-29-2014)
Check Availability
Loading